Customer Reviews for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
31 of 32(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Review 1 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:September 24, 2010

Horrible Casters, but great shelving

Cons: horrible casters, additional casters not available
"I really like these shelves. They are easy to setup and are strong. Having items stored on wheels is great -- you can put shelves double or triple deep and move them out when needed.
The casters and the threaded inserts, however, are of poor quality. The insert at the bottom of the leg has ripped out on one shelf (a taller insert may help). The 3/8"-16 threaded stem is too light duty for a shelf rated for 800 lbs, and several caster stems have bent after moving the shelves around. (If the tubing inserts had threads all the way to the bottom, the stems may not bend so easily. Or better yet, use a 1/2" threaded stem and a taller insert). I have had one caster complete fall apart.
This shelving unit could be great with some minor product modifications. Please try moving these shelves around with 800lbs and hitting a bump or a door threshold or two.
Also, where can I get replacement / additional casters that are the same size? I was expecting to be able to buy them at Costco.com."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:August 15, 2010

Several configurations are possible

Pros: add a pro
"I recently bought 3 of these and have used them to organize our garage. The outside wall of our garage has about 1' of foundation, then the walls are studded above that. So if I put all 4 feet on the floor of the garage, there was a gap between the shelves and the wall. That seemed like wasting space and those extra 5" come in handy when you have a car with big doors.
These things are so configurable I was able to make the back legs short, so they sit on top of the foundation wall. The front legs are long so they sit on the floor. The adjustable leveling feet let me make sure that the shelves tip slightly away from the cars (toward the garage walls).
The end result is that I have AWESOME shelves snugged up to the walls, and the other half of the shelving system makes a great rolling cart/shelves for the basement.
So to recap, each unit made 1 3-tier shelf that is customized perfectly to our weird garage walls PLUS a 3-tier rolling shelf/cart."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Idaho
Date:August 28, 2009

Expandable & versatile

"I concur with most reviewers, this is an excellent product. I have many sets in closets (pantry and storage) and in the garage. Each set I purchased came with 6 shelves. I found this too many for my needs. If all are used, the shelves are quite close together. So, you can build longer units by combining sets. I used 3 sets (6 sets of legs) to make one 20 ft long unit by using the 12 legs and staggering shelves across the entire unit. This takes two people and some thought as you put it together, but it works great and it is quite an economical use of all the shelving. (Hint: you must put the entire unit together from the bottom up - work from one end to the other, starting with the bottom shelf between each pair of legs, then put in the next higher shelf, end to end,, continue until you reach the top shelves. We started with th units on their sides, but stood the eentire 20 foot length up after the lowest shelves were in place. The higher shelves were installed with the unit standing upright.) It results in shelving that is spaced 18" - 30" apart (vertical measure). This is ideal for the large plastic storage boxes I use to store things in. If you know what you want to store on your shelving, build your units to most efficiently accomodate the size of your items. Empty, the whole unit rolls easily on a clean garage floor. Loaded, I would be very careful moving it and suggest 2 or more people. Up for more than two years in the garage - look like new. Great product! Bought mine art the store."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:November 22, 2008

Not for anything of weight

"I bought 5 of these for storage in my garage with the idea that I could wheel them in and out easily. What I discovered was that the post that attaches the wheel to the shelve cannot support very much weight (I think I had about 300lbs on the entire rack) and began to bend. To avoid the potential of my shelving collapsing I took all the stuff off them and replaced the casters with posts. I was very disappointed and do not have an easy way of returning these to Costco."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stuart, FL
Date:July 30, 2009

Great buy!

Pros: easy to assemble., nice looking too!, well packaged.
Model Number: 786529
"I bought these yesterday after reading the other reviews. I was going to have Costco ship 2 of these to me but decided to keep the shipping fees. My local store is a bit of a ride but was worth the trip as this item was in stock and was $10 less in the warehouse.
It took me 1 hour to remove from the box and assemble. I didn't have any help and found it a bit tricky to get the first shelf on and tip the rack up. After that it was easy going. A little bit of strength is required as the shelving is weighty. It's even nice looking. I bought the shelving to store all of those excess pots and baking pans that don't fit in my kitchen. This will definitely fit the purpose. I'm a very petite 57 year old woman."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:February 22, 2010

Attractive AND utilitarian

Pros: adjustable shelves, price, appearance
Cons: shelf sagged a little with less than 50% weight
"Husband noted instructions were not the clearest, luckily it's simple design. At 230 lbs. he sat on shelf to check strength and I did see some give although not enough for concern personally, we are not using for very heavy items. (because it did hold, I did not feel this was enough reason to downgrade to "Good" quality.) Wheels seem to be sturdy. I agree 6 shelves seems a lot for height, but nice to have, needs change down the road. Seems a good buy, we purchased in store for better cash and carry price. For pantry, laundry or similar I'd say fine but this does not seem as strong as another Costco shelving unit we purchased previously for similar price (but not with chrome appearance)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:November 2, 2010

Good, lasting shelves but not rust-proof

Pros: solid good value
Cons: not rust-proof
"I have 3 of these in my garage. 2 units I bought over two years ago and they are still looking great, the last unit I bought one year ago, and even though it looked identical, several of the shelves show considerable rust and will need replacement. I guess, a change in manufacturing quality?
Assembly is fairly easy though and they offer good value, except for the rust..
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:denver, CO
Date:October 12, 2010

highly recommended

Pros: well constructed pieces fit together easily
Cons: heavy but very durable
Model Number: trinity NSF 6 tier 48" chrome shelf
"well thought out construction -not cheaply made and certainly does NOT look cheap - snag-free and no sharp ends to cut hands- stylish, sturdy, wonderful chrome-look - we purchased 2 as closet storage shelves - this can be split as 2 3-ft high shelves, and they give you enough black ends to top off the 2 sets but only give you 4 regular "feet" pieces so you'll need to use the 4 wheels (included) to finish the 2nd set - I also recommend to assemble the bottom 3 tiers first then add the top-poles if you're going to go for the 6 ft look ( saves a LOT of time/ energy) AND also to fit the back guards on the shelves first. And by the way, don't be concerned with the black plastic rings that fall apart during shipping - they're only used as buffers betw shelves during shipping and will be discarded"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wyckoff, New Jersey
Date:January 19, 2011

Solid and flexible

Pros: easy to assemble, flexible shelf height
"I have purchased 9 of these adjustable racks for both my factory and home. They are fully adjustable & strong. The ability to use the racks with either wheels or fixed bottom stops offers more flexibility in their use.
The recent addition of the back stop is a plus when placing smaller items on the shelves especially when there is no solid wall or material behind the unit.
The value is as solid as the construction of the solid metal rack."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chicago area
Date:November 29, 2008

hi quality product

"Have bought several of these always at retail-- priced usually at $80 but the online price includes shipping and they are very heavy.
Very high quality, can stack at 6 feet or two three foot units, assembly easy but two people make it easier-shelf heights adjustable.
These will last forever. Wheels make them easy to move around.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:September 16, 2009

Must Haves

"I purchased 2 a while ago to organize my basement. Recently decided to do the same to my "shoe room", but local Costco's didnt have any in stock. Easy to assemble and move around. I've priced these at other stores and the price can't be beat from Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:November 15, 2010

trinity nsf 6 tier all purpose shelving unit

Pros: easy assemply very veritile
Cons: wheels not strong and tend to bend if moved with w
"I have about 10 units I use them in my storage unit, pantry and back poarch. I find them very useful. the only thing I would like to see is a cover to keep dust out even if it were to be an after market excessary to be purchased."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:August 10, 2009

Perfect Choice for your Storage Needs

Model Number: 341584
"I order these units for my company frequently. They have been used in a veriety of ways and have lasted through some harsh conditions on the job sites. The perfect choice for any storage need."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, TN
Date:October 3, 2010

Great shelves

Pros: great customer service, sturdy, easily reconfigurable
"These are great shelves. I have a chrome set on wheels and a gray finish version I just bought from Costco online.
The most recent set was purchased for extra storage in my garage. I put it in a configuration where the units are hooked together which spans most of the length of my garage. It is sturdy yet easy to reconfigure based on my needs.
With the last purchase, there was one shelf which had been damaged. I contacted Trinity directly and sent them a photo of the bent shelf. They responded immediately, apologized for the inconvenience, and immediately shipped a replacement shelf entirely at their expense. Excellent customer service!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Livonia, MI
Date:June 13, 2009

Excellent Decision

"One of the best choices I have made. I purchased 2 similar shelves from another place, and saw these on sale including shipping and handling...what a great deal! I wish I would have purchased a couple more. I hope they go on sale again. They assemble easily (and I am a short woman..I put them together in less than 30 minutes each by myself) and look great. They hold a lot of stuff, and I can move them around in my basement. I think I would like some in my garage as well. The shelves I got from the other place did not assemble nearly as easily...the parts didn't fit well. I was much more impressed with the Costco purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 7, 2010

Best Storage Option

"This system is strong and flexible. I have four of these along the wall of my garage all on wheels. I can wheel them out to clean underneath or to just reorganize as my storage needs over the years change. I place large items on it directly or get clear plastic containers to place smaller items. It currently holds all my holiday decorations, patio cushions, paint, tools, toys, etc. Even after five years, it may be a little dusty but everything held up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomery, WV
Date:August 24, 2010

Trinity 6-tier shelving rack

Pros: includes back stops to prevent items from falling
Cons: none really.......none.
"I bought one for my new garage thinking it would be a temporary fit for what I really wanted. However, I couldn't ask for anything better than this product. It can be assembled as one six shelve unit or two three shelve units--all the necessary hardware is included to use the castors or leveling legs. Extremely sturdy and excellent quality unit. I just bought another unit for our pantry and noticed it went on sale for $15 off. (Bummer)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2011

Shelving - Trinity

Pros: good for what i need
Cons: not as good a quality s the first one i bought
"I bought this product when it was first brought to Costco and loved it and been using it for long time. So I order this new set which is ok for what I need it but not as good a quality as the first. For some reason this is true with all costco products!!!
Any rate the other factor I did not like was the fact that I had to pay shipping... never did that before buying costco on-line!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 27, 2010

Great Storage

Pros: easy to assemble, customer service is good
Model Number: TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
"I purchased these shelves for storage. They are excellent and have stood up to heavy uasge very well. I would not, however, attempt to move the shelves on their casters while fully loaded as this put undue stress on the connectors but if lightly or moderately loaded and the bottom shelf is in place close to the bottom of the upright poles where the casters are attached they do well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TRINITY NSF 6-tier All-purpose 48" Wide Chrome Shelving Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 19, 2009

Awesome Shelving

Pros: quality construction highly adjustible
Model Number: Trinity 6 teir Shelving Unit
"I must own at least 20 of these units now and they are incredibly useful. Because of the wheels it has help me maximize the storage area in my basement as I can roll them close to one another to maximize floor space and they roll very smoothlyeven under significant weight."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>