Customer Reviews for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress

Sealy Posturepedic Mattress Set Box Spring Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.186 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
13
25 of 43(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Review 1 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:December 9, 2009

Worn Out After Three Months!

Pros: pillow top is nice, length is great for tall people
Cons: mattress developed ruts after just three months, too soft, uncomfortable to sleep on due to sloping padding
Model Number: Sealy Waterbrook Queen Size Bed
"I was very excited about this bed, not only for the price, but because of the Sealy Posturpedic name and reputation. Sadly, it has not lived up to these expectations.
My main complaint is that after just three months the bed developed a significant rut on the side where I usually sleep. I weigh 180 pounds, so I don't think this should be considered 'normal' wear. If I try sleeping on the other side of the bed, I feel as if I am going to roll or slide down into the hole on the opposite side. Using a level, it looks like the slope is about 10 degrees!
Since this mattress is one-sided, flipping it over is not an option.
On a lesser note, the bed is much softer and less supportive than I expected from the Posturpedic line. Given that some folks here complain it is too hard, I wonder if there is some seriously inconsistent manufacturing to blame.
I noticed no unusual smells from the mattress."
Review 2 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:pocatello Idaho
Date:November 30, 2009

best mattress for me!

Pros: great pricebuild qualitynice plush top.
Cons: none so farexcellent bed!
Model Number: Sealy Posturepedic Waterbrook plush
"I've had this mattress since august and it's the best mattress i've ever slept on!
the chem odor faded within 15 mins and I put quality bedding on it and it's been great ever since! NO sagging,NO body impressions,just a plush top with great support for my back in the innerspring unit that responds to my weight(165),I turn it once a week and it sleeps like brand new!
"
Review 3 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:November 29, 2009

Hard As A Rock

Cons: hard
"Purchased Sealy Fenway Mattress in 2005, no longer available had spring coming thru mattress contacted Costco and then their Global Resources/Sealy Dept to get a warranty replacement, they sent the Waterbrook mattress and it was hard as a rock, we hated it and now going to the steps and hassle to get it picked up and refunded and was told it could take weeks. Unfortunately Sealy was not willing to replace the mattress with something else."
Review 4 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Grove, Ca.
Date:November 29, 2009

And to all a Good Night...

Pros: no hassle pricing, fabulous customer service
Model Number: Waterbrook Plush Queen
"My previous mattress was the Mira Loma. I purchased it over ten years ago and loved it. It is most challenging to compare cost and quality on mattress sets,so I called Costco and they let me call their Sealy rep. directly. Jessica gave me this model and was very helpful .
The Waterbrook has the same amount of coils and similar comfort level. I did not experience any odors at all as stated in some other reviews.
"
Review 5 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:November 27, 2009

Don't do it!

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap
"Bad chemical smell even after 9 months of airing it out. Really regret buying this mattress."
Review 6 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:October 28, 2009

Nothing to worry about

"I have this mattress for a little more than 1 year. The reason why I've got this mattress from Costco is that I had two other mattresses from other stores during 3 months before. Both mattresses had problems and it was a headache to return them to those furniture stores. So, I just bought one more from Costco thinking that if this one would have problems I will not have to fight over the return. However, as usual Costco has a great product for a good price. So, this mattress is a great bargain and I have no complaints about it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:September 3, 2009

Love it!

Pros: very comfortable can't beat the price!
Cons: no delivery will be nice to have in cushion firm
"I read lots of reviews about the bad chemical smell. Trust me I was looking out for the smell when I bought this mattress 08/21/2009. It wasn't as bad as some ppl claim, it was gone in one week! My boyfriend loves it! he says its very comfortable, and my friends say the same. I paid $499.99 in store, saved me $250.00 buying from costco than from other mattress stores. I will recommend it if you want basic comfort and want to save money. if you want luxury and have the money then try something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hayden, ID
Date:August 31, 2009

Horrible smell

Cons: very bad smell
Model Number: Queen
"Had this for about 3 weeks. Thought the smell would go away but it didn't. Returned it and was very unsatisfied."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:August 22, 2009

Great for sleeping - unsure about other activities

"I'm using this bed without the box spring because of my bed frame and have had it for about a month. The mattress is very comfortable for sleeping because it feels initially soft but provides what I perceive to be a good amount of firmness. At the same time, the amount of softness can be annoying when you are trying to sit up in bed as you 'sink in' to the mattress slightly. I'm still undecided about the comfort level when sharing the bed. There was a slight odor when initially installed but it went away after a few days."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:August 22, 2009

Not supportive

Pros: weak chemical smell, partner is comfortable, soft
Cons: caused back pain, springs make some noise when side of bed is pushed
"My partner and I arn't particularly large people (180 and 120 lbs respectively), however, when sleeping together in a queen size waterbrook, I began to develop back pain as a result of my hips sinking too far into the mattress, or rolling over onto my stomach. We had thought a plush would've been a good mattress for us, as the mattress we were replacing was a 7 year old pillow top, however, it is a very, very soft mattress. In retrospect, I feel that the previous ultra plush pillowtop was more supportive. This was our second mattress from costco, and we will be going on our third (a firm) shortly!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Date:August 22, 2009

Ruts where you sleep

Model Number: Waterbrook King
"A month after buying this mattress set I began to notice ruts where we sleep. Firm and high where we don't, flat/soft and low where we do. I'm 175LBS, so I don't think my size is doing it. After 6 months of ruts, and feeling bad about wanting to return it, I am today."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009

Not bad

Pros: price
"I was pleasantly surprised with this set! It's hard to buy a mattress online since you can't test it out, but this is pretty good. I was surprised at how tall the box springs and mattress are. When you put it into a frame, you almost have to jump in and out of it! It feels pretty high quality. Speaking of jumping, I like the quietness of it when getting up or going to sleep. No creaking or squeaks. It isn't as firm as I wanted it to be, but I knew that before I purchased it. In case it wasn't obvious, the pillowtop means you can't flip it, in case that's important to you. My delivery experience was quite nice. The man called, showed up, and hauled it it. Simple as that! So overall, I think this is a great mattress for a great price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:June 22, 2009

So Far So Good

"I have had this mattress for approximately one month and am very pleased with it. It does have an odor, but maybe since I had a memory foam topper that also had an odor I don't notice it that much like some of the other reviewers. I (and my herniated disc) appreciate that it is firm but soft and comfortable. My only problem has been waking with the occasional limb asleep from not moving all night, which means I'm actually sleeping instead of tossing and turning trying to get comfortable. Mattresses are a very personal choice, so if you have access to a local Costco store I would definitely recommend checking them out in person before buying. Plus if you are very sensitive to smells the beds stocked in the store probably would not have a strong chemical odor. I am interested to see how well this mattress holds up, but for now I am very happy with it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:June 18, 2009

Wonderful Bed

Pros: good for body type, price
Cons: none
"I am a larger sized person and love this bed. It is not too soft, but conforms to my body curves and lets me get a good nights sleep. I don't smell anything at all and I have allergies."
Review 15 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 27, 2009

Chemical Smell

Pros: really comfortable, not too hard not too soft, great price, excellent costco delivery
Cons: horrible smell, really horrible smell
Model Number: Waterbrook Queen Mattress
"I have been waiting for the chemical smell in the mattress to diminish but, it has been about 10 days now and it is as strong as ever. I have two fans in the bedroom and I have been leaving all the windows open all night. I have been unable to sleep on it because I feel like I've been run-over by a MAC truck when I wake up. It's a terrible smell.
Besides that, the mattress is super comfortable. I wish I didn't have to return it.
Last August I bought the Sedona Springs Cal-King from Costco and I am really disappointed in that mattress. There are already troughs where each of us sleep imbedded in the mattress. We have tried turning the mattress, as the instructions state, but that has not helped. Not sure what to do about that.
As far as comfort, the Waterbrook is slightly firmer than the Sedona Springs and I really like the feel. Too bad the smell is so bad."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:May 13, 2009

So so, most likely returning it

Pros: overall build quality is very good, pillow top on medium-firm mattress
Cons: box spring is too bouncy, slight chemical smell for few days
"Overall not a bad mattress but too bouncy and soft for our liking.
Box spring + mattress on my platform bed (from Ikea) was far too high, practically had to climb on to the bed. We worried that our son would fall off and hurt himself so we removed the box spring after a few days. It feels better now (not as bouncy), but still not very comfortable.
This mattress replaced my 10 yr old cotton futon. After trying this mattress for over a week, we prefer to sleep on the futon instead of this brand new mattress. Obviously this is going back !"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Commerce Twp, MI
Date:May 11, 2009

Disappointed

Pros: low cost
Cons: saggy, smells
"Very disappointed. I've had mattress almost a month, and it still has chemical smell despite uncovering it and leaving windows open almost everyday. Also, not supportive enought...too much sag in it...I have had a sore back everyday for past month but not when I sleep in another bed somewhere else...so I think I'm taking this back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2009

Disappointing

Pros: reasonable price with the coupon
Cons: too soft & squishy
Model Number: queen waterbrook
"a plush mattress not an ultra plush but a bit too soft & squishy for me; not much support; wake up a tad numb every morning --i'm healthy and weigh about 150 -- ; will return and look for a cushion firm mattress or something.
does anyone own or have experience with the cushion firm called waldron that costco currently carry?"
Review 19 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:May 7, 2009

Chemical smell - returning mattress

Pros: comfortable
Cons: chemical smell, no handles on the mattress, paper cover on box spring, box spring has wood structure instead of metal
"We bought the Waterbrook mattress at the Kirkland store. The chemical smell was overwhelming as soon as we took off the plastic cover. We're returning it today. We had also ordered one online to be delivered to another residence and we cancelled that order today. After reading other reviews, they're definitely having a problem at the factory and we don't want to risk having this issue again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay area, CA
Date:May 4, 2009

Terrible chemical smell

"Bought it yesterday, have to open all windows and use fan to minimize the odor. I am thinking to return it. Not sure if it was my bad luck or they all have the same smell. Will the smell go away? If so, how long does it take? Thanks."
1 2 3 next>>