Customer Reviews for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress

Sealy Posturepedic Mattress Set Box Spring Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.186 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
13
25 of 43(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Review 1 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:February 16, 2009

Excellent Mattress

Pros: quality build, comfortable
Model Number: Waterbrook queen
"I've had this mattress for approximately 2 weeks and I could not be happier. It is very comfortable and has a high coil count. Recently I thought it was age related that I woke up sore every morning. As it turns out, I just needed a new mattress because I am no longer sore."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:June 22, 2009

So Far So Good

"I have had this mattress for approximately one month and am very pleased with it. It does have an odor, but maybe since I had a memory foam topper that also had an odor I don't notice it that much like some of the other reviewers. I (and my herniated disc) appreciate that it is firm but soft and comfortable. My only problem has been waking with the occasional limb asleep from not moving all night, which means I'm actually sleeping instead of tossing and turning trying to get comfortable. Mattresses are a very personal choice, so if you have access to a local Costco store I would definitely recommend checking them out in person before buying. Plus if you are very sensitive to smells the beds stocked in the store probably would not have a strong chemical odor. I am interested to see how well this mattress holds up, but for now I am very happy with it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2009

Great Buy

Pros: love the foam edge, great price compared to local stores, little to no motion transfer, feels like great quality
Cons: too firm for our taste (fixed with a topper), costco won't deliver from local stores
"My husband and I love this mattress (we actually bought our at our local Costco rather than online). It was a little more firm that we were used to (thus the 4-star rating vs. 5-star)-- but luckily we already had a memory foam mattress topper (which makes this mattress perfect!). Motion doesn't transfer very well and the foam going around the edges makes it feel so huge! It feels like great quality for an even better price!"
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:February 14, 2009

Very happy with purchase

Pros: great support even with 2 people of different wt.
Cons: none at this time
Model Number: Waterbrook Queen Set
"I have spinal arthritis & lower back disc and nerve problems with the usual back pain and stiffness by the morning. This mattress is really making a difference, with much less hip-joint pain by the morning and overall a better night's sleep. I didn't expect to see any difference, since we had a pretty good mattress before, but the supporting-yet-soft feel is fantastic. We just bought a 2nd set. Hint: saved $100 by getting from the warehouse and not having it shipped."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 27, 2009

Chemical Smell

Pros: really comfortable, not too hard not too soft, great price, excellent costco delivery
Cons: horrible smell, really horrible smell
Model Number: Waterbrook Queen Mattress
"I have been waiting for the chemical smell in the mattress to diminish but, it has been about 10 days now and it is as strong as ever. I have two fans in the bedroom and I have been leaving all the windows open all night. I have been unable to sleep on it because I feel like I've been run-over by a MAC truck when I wake up. It's a terrible smell.
Besides that, the mattress is super comfortable. I wish I didn't have to return it.
Last August I bought the Sedona Springs Cal-King from Costco and I am really disappointed in that mattress. There are already troughs where each of us sleep imbedded in the mattress. We have tried turning the mattress, as the instructions state, but that has not helped. Not sure what to do about that.
As far as comfort, the Waterbrook is slightly firmer than the Sedona Springs and I really like the feel. Too bad the smell is so bad."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:February 21, 2009

Great Comfort

"Great comfort for people looking for a mattress that is not too firm nor too soft. Just right. Supportive but still allows you to settle into the foam so that you also feel supported where you "curve in". Very low motion transfer. Great value."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:October 28, 2009

Nothing to worry about

"I have this mattress for a little more than 1 year. The reason why I've got this mattress from Costco is that I had two other mattresses from other stores during 3 months before. Both mattresses had problems and it was a headache to return them to those furniture stores. So, I just bought one more from Costco thinking that if this one would have problems I will not have to fight over the return. However, as usual Costco has a great product for a good price. So, this mattress is a great bargain and I have no complaints about it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Date:August 22, 2009

Ruts where you sleep

Model Number: Waterbrook King
"A month after buying this mattress set I began to notice ruts where we sleep. Firm and high where we don't, flat/soft and low where we do. I'm 175LBS, so I don't think my size is doing it. After 6 months of ruts, and feeling bad about wanting to return it, I am today."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:December 9, 2009

Worn Out After Three Months!

Pros: pillow top is nice, length is great for tall people
Cons: mattress developed ruts after just three months, too soft, uncomfortable to sleep on due to sloping padding
Model Number: Sealy Waterbrook Queen Size Bed
"I was very excited about this bed, not only for the price, but because of the Sealy Posturpedic name and reputation. Sadly, it has not lived up to these expectations.
My main complaint is that after just three months the bed developed a significant rut on the side where I usually sleep. I weigh 180 pounds, so I don't think this should be considered 'normal' wear. If I try sleeping on the other side of the bed, I feel as if I am going to roll or slide down into the hole on the opposite side. Using a level, it looks like the slope is about 10 degrees!
Since this mattress is one-sided, flipping it over is not an option.
On a lesser note, the bed is much softer and less supportive than I expected from the Posturpedic line. Given that some folks here complain it is too hard, I wonder if there is some seriously inconsistent manufacturing to blame.
I noticed no unusual smells from the mattress."
Review 10 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2009

Good Support

"This is much better than a previous Sealy we owned which we returned because it was hurting our backs. If you like very firm this is not for you. It provides good support but with a softer feel. The memory foam gets a little warm but nothing unbearable. Will need to see how durable this is. So far quite happy but we have had mixed success with the Sealy brand... but that's what's great about buying from Costco, the hassle free customer service!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009

Not bad

Pros: price
"I was pleasantly surprised with this set! It's hard to buy a mattress online since you can't test it out, but this is pretty good. I was surprised at how tall the box springs and mattress are. When you put it into a frame, you almost have to jump in and out of it! It feels pretty high quality. Speaking of jumping, I like the quietness of it when getting up or going to sleep. No creaking or squeaks. It isn't as firm as I wanted it to be, but I knew that before I purchased it. In case it wasn't obvious, the pillowtop means you can't flip it, in case that's important to you. My delivery experience was quite nice. The man called, showed up, and hauled it it. Simple as that! So overall, I think this is a great mattress for a great price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:May 7, 2009

Chemical smell - returning mattress

Pros: comfortable
Cons: chemical smell, no handles on the mattress, paper cover on box spring, box spring has wood structure instead of metal
"We bought the Waterbrook mattress at the Kirkland store. The chemical smell was overwhelming as soon as we took off the plastic cover. We're returning it today. We had also ordered one online to be delivered to another residence and we cancelled that order today. After reading other reviews, they're definitely having a problem at the factory and we don't want to risk having this issue again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin TX
Date:February 27, 2009

Wonderful. Worth $800.00 or more.

Pros: great price, nice and level
Cons: costco does not deliver
"Just purchased this mattress last night and am very happy with it. I am 205 lbs, and most mattresses feel like they cave in towards the center when I lay on them, even very expensive ones. This mattress feels utterly level, and the sleep surface is consistent all the way to the edge. Some mattresses have a hard rim around the edge.
This is a great deal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:February 26, 2009

Bad purchase

Pros: none
"We bought this mattress a few days ago. I feel like I sink into the mattress. BTW I weigh 105 lbs., so weight isn't the issue. Everytime my husband rolls over I feel the motion and wake up. Normally I am a really sound sleeper. I purchased this set based on reviews, but it is awful. I don't get it.... Buying at the warehouse did save $100..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 2, 2009

Terrible Chemical Smell

Pros: comfy
Cons: very stinky
Model Number: Waterbrook
"This mattress was actually very comfortable but the smell was horrendous. It got better after a week but it never went away. The great thing is as always Costco stands behind the product and I returned it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 25, 2009

Love this Mattress!

"The mattress is incredible and I've enjoyed 3 great nights sleep! I will comment though, like others, the chemical smell is pretty strong. It is fading though.....Still a good buy and worth owning."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:August 22, 2009

Not supportive

Pros: weak chemical smell, partner is comfortable, soft
Cons: caused back pain, springs make some noise when side of bed is pushed
"My partner and I arn't particularly large people (180 and 120 lbs respectively), however, when sleeping together in a queen size waterbrook, I began to develop back pain as a result of my hips sinking too far into the mattress, or rolling over onto my stomach. We had thought a plush would've been a good mattress for us, as the mattress we were replacing was a 7 year old pillow top, however, it is a very, very soft mattress. In retrospect, I feel that the previous ultra plush pillowtop was more supportive. This was our second mattress from costco, and we will be going on our third (a firm) shortly!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 13, 2009

Somewhat disappointed

Model Number: Queen Waterbrook Set
"Fast delivery. (about 2 weeks even tho made to order). I don't use the boxspring as I have platform bed. The bed is not as high as advertised. I can't say I have had a bad night's sleep but it lacks some of the cushion I expected and saw on the ones actually at the store. I bought online. Sealy was quite nice about it and offerred a new one to be made or a refund. I opted for trying a new one but I'm wondering if I should just go with a regular memory foam instead.
I can't complain about the service as it was very fast. Maybe it would be different if it was on the boxspring."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:August 22, 2009

Great for sleeping - unsure about other activities

"I'm using this bed without the box spring because of my bed frame and have had it for about a month. The mattress is very comfortable for sleeping because it feels initially soft but provides what I perceive to be a good amount of firmness. At the same time, the amount of softness can be annoying when you are trying to sit up in bed as you 'sink in' to the mattress slightly. I'm still undecided about the comfort level when sharing the bed. There was a slight odor when initially installed but it went away after a few days."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Waterbrook Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:September 3, 2009

Love it!

Pros: very comfortable can't beat the price!
Cons: no delivery will be nice to have in cushion firm
"I read lots of reviews about the bad chemical smell. Trust me I was looking out for the smell when I bought this mattress 08/21/2009. It wasn't as bad as some ppl claim, it was gone in one week! My boyfriend loves it! he says its very comfortable, and my friends say the same. I paid $499.99 in store, saved me $250.00 buying from costco than from other mattress stores. I will recommend it if you want basic comfort and want to save money. if you want luxury and have the money then try something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>