Customer Reviews for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC

Model: 00346C
Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
21 of 30(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Review 1 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:July 11, 2009

Good concept, poor execution

Model Number: Neat Receipts V3.0
"I have owned this product for more than a year and not used it much. Here are pros and cons:
Pros:
- Scans quickly once you have started the application
- Scans to PDF
- Can organize your receipts if you want (but interface is too complicated to use this feature). I always end up scanning to PDF
- Can recognize $ amount but I would rather enter it by hand for it picks up wrong numbers 30% of the times.
Cons:
- App takes up too much CPU and memory. Freezes my PC with 3 GHz Intel CPU and 2.5 GB RAM
- App takes too long to start
- App hangs frequently
- App does not work on newer faster 64 bit machines
- Have to pay 30$ to upgrade to 64 bit
- Its so slow to connect and use that I never use it.
If you like cool toys and you plan to use this thing to only scan receipts of major purchases, go for it. If you are a serious user with tonnes of receipts, find another solution (I still hand enter receipts and stick them on paper).
"
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Townsend, WA
Date:December 29, 2008

Helpful tool

"Have used the scanner for several months now. Had little problem scanning into desktop running XP, but when away from home using laptop running Vista, the receipts if scanned directly into Quicken, were so magnified to be unusable. This was just fixed with a new update. My frustration is the incompatibility between Neat Receipts and Quicken. If you scan first into Neat Receipts, you create a file that must be imported into Quicken. In so doing, the scanned receipt doesn't come along and is lost. (in my experience). I like the way it "reads" the receipt and I wish it would transfer directly. The way I have ended making it work, is to wait until the transaction has been processed by the credit card company, then downloading the transaction and then splitting the transaction into the appropriate categories -- household, sales tax, etc. I then scan the receipt directly into Quicken. I now have only one file and by adjusting the receipt scan to minimal resolution, it takes much less space and scans much faster. I wish that the scan would go directly into quicken without the hassle."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:September 17, 2009

Great for a road warrior

Pros: great for producing a wonderful expense report., great for calculating expense report for the year., great for scanning business cards., great for scanning 1-10pg docs., great for scanning and organizing home receipts.
Cons: receipts only scan in b/w., scan only up to 3-4 pages/minute., sometimes it does not recognize receipt amounts., limit on number of charactors to save a doc/folder
Model Number: NR-030108
"If you are purchasing this model for your home, then this is NOT the product for you. There is a larger and faster desktop version of this (albeit more expensive) for the home user. If you have a scanner, again this is not the product for you because you are purchasing a duplicate device. This product is for business purposes.
BUSINESS CARDS: I travel extensively and carry this everywhere I go. I receive business cards all the time. I scan the card and transfer the data to my Outlook Contact (then sync to my phone).
RECEIPTS: I have to submit travel receipts. So I scan the receipts and the system tallies the amount and gives me a really nice expense report to send to payroll for reimbursement. I can also see how much I spent on expenses year to date, or the entire year and allows me check a box for receipts that were not reimburseable so I can file that as personal business expenses on my taxes. I also receive receipts (hotel, rental car, airlines, online purchases) via email. Without printing, I can simply import them to my folder to be tallied.
DOCUMENTS: Sometimes I have documents that I need to send back the company. Rather than copy them, I scan and emailed them to the company. All Images can be saved in JPEG, PDF and other popular formats.
For the home user the larger version, is probably a better choice for you because it has all the same functions but scans and processes at a faster rate. Regarding receipts, if you itemize on your taxes this is also great for you because you can scan the receipt and tell it what tax category and/or IRS Schedule Forms (medical, auto repair, child care, etc...). You can export data to Excel, Quicken,QuickBooks, and TurboTax. There is no need to have several hundred receipts floating around because you can scan it, toss the receipt and your accountant and the IRS will accept an original image.
One note on functionality: Once the image (business cards, receipts) is scanned, it will either read the image and tell you what it says or if the image is misread you can manually input the information. You can archive and backup the data. It will take time to learn how the system works. I took a weekend day and spent about 3 hours playing with it."
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Stony Point, New York
Date:January 31, 2009

Not Ready for Prime Time

Model Number: NR-030108
"Although this product is a great idea, it is hampered by poor OCR software that is slow, unreliable, and routinely forgets that is has scanned stuff. Large receipts printed on 8x11 paper will not scan in as such and are classified as documents instead of receipts, which is exceedingly annoying given most Internet receipts are in 8x11 format. Small receipts are easily scanned in but longer ones sometimes are turned in the scanner as they go causing stretched and distorted images that cannot be read by the unit's OCR program, which results in you scanning them twice. Larger 8x11 receipts usually have this happen and you have to cross your fingers each time you scan them hoping your fourth or fifth time will actually work.
The only pro for this unit was that it setup without difficulty in Vista & XP without any problems other than having to download a newer version of the software from Neat's website to run.
If you plan to use this unit as advertised, be prepared to spend an awful lot of time re-scanning your receipts multiple times and correcting the OCR's output in almost every field to make it work. Too bad my ScanSnap scanner cannot use Neat's software, as I think it would really make a difference and make Neat's software actually worth something."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Date:October 27, 2008

Effective spending tracking

Pros: small easy installation., scans to pdf well., trash receipts after back-up without worry.
Cons: wrinkled receipts difficult to feed., trickey file management., may need to keep original receipt for returns.
"This reader reliably reads receipts with good character recognition. Great search functions. Imports to Quicken require extra step because it only imports to a cash account. From there it must be moved to the correct catagory/account. The reader adds all sales tax paid for any time period. A great item for those wanting to know exactly what your money is spent on."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009

Very useful

"I don't know what the other reviewer is talking about. I scan 8.5 x 11 receipts consistently. All my hotel bills fly through and the software will scan straight from pdf files and others. I save all my internet receipts in Adobe and then transfer them straight to NR file.
Only complaint is sometimes the data is mixed up (dates are wrong or costs are wrong) so you have to double check the report. Its very easy to correct though.
Prints full expense reports. Great tool
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, Nevada
Date:October 27, 2008

I Love This

Pros: eliminates having to keep paper receipts, eliminates clutter
Cons: can't think of one con on this product
"This scanner does exactly what I thought it would do. It eliminates receipts piling up all over the place. I could never get organized with all the gas, restaurant, market and other receipts laying around. Now I just scan them and throw them away. Great product!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:January 31, 2009

Best Portable Scanner

Pros: compact lightweight, easy to install, big time-saving device/software
Cons: slow processing of scanned images, doesn't always transfer document data accurately, can't scan wrinkled receipts well
Model Number: Version 4.0
"I've owned this scanner for 3 months now and I'm very pleased with it. Bought it based on the recommendation from another co-worker who's been using an older model for almost 2 years now. Initially, installed on a computer with Windows XP Pro and then installed on a new computer with Vista 64-bit. It took me a while to find the SP1 update on the NeatWorks website. The update makes the software compatible with Vista 64. I downloaded the software directly from the website and now the scanner works like a charm. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because it's slow to process a scanned image and some of the information off an invoice or receipt has to be manually entered, b/c it's not "translated" accurately. However, it's still a big time saver and works very well for expense reports."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern CA.
Date:March 1, 2014

Neatdesk scanner

Pros: very compact size perfect to keep in laptop bag
Cons: software queue slow
"The scanner seems to operate as described. After you get the software setup, its important to then create all your folders, like Costco, Amex, ATT, etc. then start scanning your documents/receipts into their perspective folders. the software seems slow to input the documents into the queue so be patient. ** important note: Be sure to backup your files to another external drive or thumb drive for safe keeping."
Review 10 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:March 16, 2009

A great device

"In Washington, sales tax is deductable on federal income taxes. This neat little device makes it a snap to keep track of sales tax. Scan your receipts, and it reads and categorizes sales tax. Of course it isn't perfect -- it may make an occasional mistake -- but it's easy to correct them. I recommend this device without reservation!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 15, 2009

Saves me Money

Pros: compact easy to operate straight to pdf scanning
Cons: does not like slick documents
"I need a portable scanner and the price was right for this product. Sure the software scans 8.5 x 11 as documents sometimes, but the great thing is that you do not have to rescan the document. Just drag the image to the receipts side and it reprocesses the image as a receipt, that simple. The reports this products help my accounting department quickly process my internal expense reports. I work for a fortune 500 company and all the reps now have this product."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland OH
Date:February 23, 2014

Love This Product!

Pros: easy. time saving.
"This is such a great product! What a time saver! So easy to use, and reads all of the receipts and document I've entered so far. Only missed one name of an obscure restaurant, and that was so simple to edit. I'm not sure what some of the other reviewers are talking about. This is an outstanding product. I am so happy with this purchase!"
Review 13 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coeur d'Alene, ID
Date:March 9, 2009

The Neat is VERY NEAT for Travel

Pros: great for travel, great for small spaces, works with vista program with no problems
Cons: smooth out staple holes before scanning, smooth out wrinkles before scanning
Model Number: NR-030108
"I find this scanner is works very well on my VISTA system and XP. If you need a PORTABLE scanner... this should do it.
Fits nicely into my Computer Travel case. Does everything it claims. Just came back from 2-weeks in Cabo and another 2-weeks in Palm Springs. It was a life saver, scanned full documents in Color and B/W, receipts, brochures and photos. Totally eliminated my need for a fax machine!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:December 10, 2008

FINE PRODUCT

Model Number: NR - 030108
"Product does all that I expected. Did take some time to become accustomed to it, but if you are somewhat of a computer whiz, you are home free. Contrary to reports, found the teck depart very helpdul"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, CA
Date:January 22, 2009

VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT

Pros: eliminates paper and documents all of your items
Cons: none
Model Number: Neat Receipts Scanner Ver. 4.0
"I took this product out of the box, followed the installation directions, installed it on my computer with Vista 32 and was up and running immediately. This product works best when you have at least 3gb of Ram. I started scanning receipt, documents etc and had no problem with the scanning of these documents. The software is very easy to work with and it will now allow me to get rid of all the paper and receipts that I have sitting around."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MT
Date:September 22, 2009

scanner

Pros: lightweight and portable, simple plug and play option to get started
Cons: crashes when scanning, takes lots of time due to losing scanned receipts, very time consuming if you are scanning multiple r
"The only postitive thing about the Neat scanner is that it is portable and lightweight. But it does not work very well. Everytime I had to do my expenses it would crash in the middle of scanning and take many hours of frustration. I finally returned it and decided to use my desktop printer with scan mode. Much easier and faster."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:November 30, 2008

Good Product

Pros: less items to file
"Not a bad product. It requires a lot of memory to really work quickly. I'm disappointed that 64 bit is not supported... it think the company missed the boat on that issue. There reasons did not make sense. they say that 64 bit will be supported in Dec 2008. But for taxes and overall paperwork -- I love this product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, NY
Date:November 18, 2008

Too slow and inaccurate data recognitiion

Cons: slow, inaccurate
"It takes about a minute to scan each receipt and recognize its data.
Also, the data that is recognized is not accurate.
Moreover, you need to hold the receipt in your hand. Not having a document feeder makes it inefficient."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2009

Only works with its own scanner

"The concept is great, but the Neatworks software only works with the Neat Receipts scanner. I have scanners aplenty and a multifunction printer with automatic docoment feeder. Why should I need another scanner? Yes, the scanner is portable for someone on-the-go, but I don't need it, so I'll return the Neat Recripts and instead scan my receipts directly to PDF."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NeatReceipts Mobile Scanning and Desktop Filing System for PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, Oregon
Date:September 29, 2009

More than Receipts

Cons: wish i had more control over some of the file tabs
"I love this little machine. It will scan pictures and you can save them as a jpeg, etc. Great way to organize any of your paper type documents. I use mine with my pc and my laptop."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>