Customer Reviews for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV

w/ BRAVIA® Internet Video Link DMX-NV1 Module Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Contrast Ratio: 3000:1
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
19 of 23(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:March 28, 2009

Best TV available

Pros: lots of inputs, amazing picture, great sound
"I have owned a Vizio, Philips, and Toshiba, but this Sony is by far the best of all. The picture quality is truly unmatched and the sound out of the built in speakers is top notch as well. Watching a Blu-ray or playing PS3 on this display is unbelievable. After testing out the market with various brands, I will only buy a Sony from now on. They are worth the few hundred more than a regular LCD. Plus the Sony is a lot more stylish and sexy compared to the rest."
Review 2 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chatsworth, CA
Date:March 25, 2009

Superb picture quality

Pros: nice picture & sound
Cons: crippled internet link module
Model Number: KDL46WL140
"Got this tv after returning Samsung 52" 5 series. Samsung have a nice HD display (but not as good as sony). Sound and display for non-HD signal is so terrible. Samsung tv is ideal if you're going to use it just as a monitor using external tuner (HD Cable or Satellite) plus a good Audio theatre system.
For my Sony Bravia:
Sound & Display are amazing. One issue I am worried about (I do not know if it's a valid concern) is that faint ticking sound I hear (when sound is muted) while navigating the menu. I do not know if others notice it.
DMX Internel Link is a cool device but I say it's still crippled at this point in time. Materials and funcionality is very limited (yet). I workaround to patch my own video on-demand library but too cumbersome because it has to be set in my server computer to bookmark to TV for each file (not directory). If you want a simpler setup and use PS3. Way better!"
Review 3 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:March 21, 2009

The One and Only

Model Number: 46" Bravia
"Best quality and picture. Friends and family always comment on the beautiful picture. I own another Sony TV and Blue Ray DVD and although Sony products cost more, they have the best product available."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St louis
Date:March 19, 2009

excellent purchase

Model Number: KDL-46WL140
"Bought this TV almost 4 weeks ago and couldn't be happier. The picture is so good I got dizzy watching the car races. lol If the picture was any better i would think I was on set while they film."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:March 17, 2009

Excellent quality for the price

Pros: good variety of inputs, great picture
Model Number: KDL-46WL140
"I have bought a lot of Sony products over the years and all have been excellent and so far this set is holding that record. This is my 1st LCD set, but it's replacing a great Sony 36" CRT set that was still working perfectly after more than 9 years."
Review 6 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:March 17, 2009

Impressive TV

Pros: tv controls/adjustments, great hd picture
Cons: auto sound feature a bit clumsy
"There was no doubt in my mind I was going to buy a TV from Costco; the only question was which one?
This one's not rated #1 on Consumer Reports; however, price may play too much a factor in their ratings. After all, it is a Sony, and you are paying a premium for the brand. I played with a few sets in the warehouse; with a focus on the picture adjustments. Sony definitely stood out in the crowd. I'm no videophile, but I know how to properly calibrate the picture on a TV and this set gives you the tools to adjust quite a few aspects of the picture.
No experience with the internet bundle, and doubtful I will take advantage of it. It did include an HDMI cable which was a surprise.
I watch only OTA TV (Local Broadcasts and Fortec Star), and must say the TV does incredibly well with HD signals. Standard definition leave something to be desired, but I imagine that to be the case with any tv larger than a 37".
Overall, a great set. Still happy with the purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles,CA
Date:March 2, 2009

Excellent Picture & Great Sound

Pros: picture sound and look
Model Number: KDL-46WL4100
"I bought this TV after doing all the research and comparing all the prices. Comparing with lot of other place and pricing, I felt lot more safer & easier to buy in costco, both from cost wise and warranty wise. I haven't made any changes to the settings. the original setting which come with it perfectly fine. I have lot of sunlight in my apartment, TV adjusts itself and give the great picture. I can see the difference when it is about sunset and display and picture changes to set according to available light.
I wanted to buy a Home theater with blue tooth compatibility for speakers and the player, the system is costly . But after listening to inbuilt spears sound, there is no need at all. Surrondsound is really great.
Internet link was another great feature. works like a charm.
Just Buy It."
Review 8 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orem, UT
Date:February 27, 2009

Beautiful

Model Number: 46WL120
"I don't know what that Sony Sucker guy was talking about but this TV is great. The system link didn't work. I took the TV back, thinking it was just a lemon in a bunch and when I got the exchange, the system link is really cool! See you later blockbuster! I can view all the latest movies and trailers at the same price if not cheaper and free and never leave home. Blue-ray and other DVD’s look amazing!! I love it! I got it on sale which makes it even better."
Review 9 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:February 25, 2009

Excellent

Pros: picture, ease of setup, did i mention picture?
Cons: expensive
"Just got the TV on Feb 23. Picture is fantastic and the menus to setup sound and picture are easy and intuitive. Haven't tried hooking up the internet device yet and not sure if I will. Watched a basketball game in high def and it's incredible. Very smooth picture with the 120 refresh rate. You'll pay a little more for a Sony, but it's worth it in the long run. My family has always owned Sony's and we've never been disappointed."
Review 10 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Date:February 24, 2009

Very Nice TV

Pros: beautiful picture!
Cons: would have rather had buttons on the sides.
"To start out... I am a retailer for direcTV and Dish Network... And I Still go out and install about 20 jobs a week. Most of which are HD. I have seen alot of TVs and for the price... I think the Sony is one of the best out there. Beautiful picture. Not cheap looking. And pleanty of added features. I have to admit, I dont see much difference in the 120Hz but maybe thats just me. I would like to say that I see fewer problems connecting Sony TVs to HD recievers (especially via HDMI. Some cheaper brands act funny). I did have a little a little hassle hooking to the internet but it wasnt all that bad and it seems to be working fine. I think my problems were my own confusion rather than the modem not working properly. And by the way... Some high speed internet has a shaky service that Im sure would give problems with a device like this... but the person complaining would also have trouble with VOIP phone and anything else that requires consistant high speed service. the menu is very cool looking and high tech... but its a little confusing. takes some time to get used to. And...The remote is nice . if you think the remote could use a little, more ...... Take a look at any Vizio remote. Looks like it fell out of your kids Toybox!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Venice, CA
Date:February 23, 2009

STAY AWAY...

"The picture on this television is great. The thing that hooks up to the internet is TOTAL GARBAGE and you're paying hundreds of dollars for for that gadget. Trust me people, stay away from this combo. I spent hours trying to get it to work. It didn't and the Sony guy told me the product went out before it was ready. SAVE MONEY DON'T BUY THIS TV WITH THE COMBO INTERNET DEVICE."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2009

Sony At It's BEST

Pros: best lcd ive seen
Cons: no backlit remote
"I walked into Cost Co prepared to buy the 47" Vizio 120Hz LCD. I ended up walking out with the 46" Sony Bravia 120Hz(they were sold out). With a few minor tweaks to the color this LCD's display is the most amazing Ive seen. I have my 360, Blu-Ray, PS3, and HD cable box running on it and EVERYTHING looks so crisp and clear. The sound is great, the picture is great, the colors are great, and the price was just right."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:February 9, 2009

Great product

Pros: sharp image, picture quality, terrific sound, tons of picture settings
Model Number: KDL-46WL140
"I bought this LCD TV the day after Thanksgiving and I'm still in Awww with the picture quality and very sharp image, especially with a Blu-Ray. In fact I bought a Samsung 40" LCD with the 120Hz and this Sony Bravia is bar none more superior than the Samsung. Picture quality is better on the eye with the Sony."
Review 14 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2008

Sony LCD

Pros: sleek design
"Great TV!
It was between the Sony or Toshiba.
I love the picture, many great features like built in TV Guide, channel favorites, easy set up and user screen. Best price for the best TV.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2008

Worth the Price

Pros: i could use my mastercard on line with costco, price was the best i found
Cons: cox cable pip requires a splitter, setting cable box up was harder than setting up tv
Model Number: KDL46WL140
"I bought my previous TV in 2000 it wasn't HD. I thought big screen nice picture why change. Then I got curious.
This TV has a lot of features. I love the split screen picture in picture. Half the 47" screen on one show, Half on the other. The set up was easy the piano black finish is great. The Cox Cable guy said that a TV like this would have cost around $10K less than 3 years ago. He was impressed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Date:December 10, 2008

Great product from Sony as always

Pros: memorize individual picture settings for each, video inputs.
Cons: only one i can think of right now is that sony, should have made the internet video link module, wireless so you can link it into your home or, office wi-fi router.
Model Number: KDL-46WL140
"This tv has the best picture quality compare to other LCD on Costco floor. Costs more but than again, it's the quality that you pay for.
Picture is razor sharp and vivid on Blu-ray discs.
The 120 hz refresh rate is one of the smoothest I've ever seen. So smooth that sometimes you feel you are right in the scene itself. This motion flow feature can be turned down to 60 hz refresh rate or off and you can select 24p true cinema for those who prefers a more film like experience.
Four HDMI inputs version 1.3 ensure enough ports for your HD connections and future expansions."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mesa,AZ
Date:December 7, 2008

bad display

"after just two days vertical lines show up from left to right. They dispeared after 20 min. Wait for the sony tech to check it.
If can't fix it, return it to buy samsung.
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mesa, Arizona
Date:November 24, 2008

Got A Lemon

Pros: perfect quality for 3 days.
Cons: getting repairs is taking to long
"I received this TV and 3 days later the picture started having pin stripes from top to bottom. Sony tech. came to fix it and he said it needs a new display. The bad electronics are part of the display panel. Still waiting for the new display. I have owned the set for 17 days and not working for 14 and it is still not working. I mail ordered the set because I am handicapped. I am trying to be patient but its wearing thin. It worked beautifully for those 3 days. I really have had good luck with Sony products in the past but I am having doubts now."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Torrance, California
Date:November 12, 2008

Sony all the way, Costco is the place

Pros: great color, great audio, plenty of adjustment, very sharp
Cons: so so remote
"Before this TV I have bought 2 others (don't want to name them), the first one picture lags so much it's not even funny, return that and bought the second one, this one picture and movement came out much better but the audio is horrible, I was thinking of getting a home theater system to improve the audio then last week we went shopping at Costco and have a chance to compare the 3 models up close, 46' 120hz, Sony was one of them, sitting side by side, I must have spent a good 45 minutes to compare the color, sharpness and movement, the only 2 things I've found so so with this TV is the remote, power and other button place on top of TV, I have mine installed high off the ground so reaching these buttons, at 7 feet is a pain, but the remote solve this problem. I was sold by this Sony even the other were cheaper by $400.00 to $500.00 but got to have this TV, been using it everyday and enjoy the sound, color and most of all there are plenty of adjustment to fit your taste, this TV is great, won't return it at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080p Motionflow™ 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MI & CA
Date:November 11, 2008

Excellent as always, thanks Sony!

Pros: brilliant crisp picture
Cons: do not care for piano finish
"KDL-W-140 - Brilliant Picture!
Do not care for the Piano finish, collects dust(quick!) and reflects light and background. Make no mistake, not on screen, has a luster finish. Some TV's have gloss finish screen and it is very annoying, because of background reflection.
I also own KDL135 - 40"&46", of course from Costco, I am very pleased with all my Sony TV's!!!
"
1 2 next>>