Customer Reviews for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance

w/8 Sony Sensor CCD Camera Kits & Pre-Installed 500GB HDD
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
15 of 21(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Review 1 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:california
Date:December 9, 2008

Bad Product- with the worst technical support

Pros: good image
Cons: terrible support, terrible network support
Model Number: QSD2316
"I bought this a month ago, Setup was easy and worked good with good image.
I can view the video over the internet but when I get to my office It will not run behind the firewall and crash IE 7. My wife had the same problem (it will load the software but show blue screen instead of images) when tried on my 3G cell phone I get the message that this software is not for my cellphone.
I sent 3 emails to the customer support and no response from them ever.
I called them and they did not have a clue as to why this is happening and blamed my laptop and my work firewall.
I work for IT and the firewall did not block anything. they total ignored the cell phone problem by telling me that it works on there cell phone (great).
And then they offered to exchange the box which will not do anything but they will only send the new one to you after you send your 1 month old DVR at your expense.
"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Holbrook, NY
Date:November 24, 2008

Great system

"This product is excellent for the price. It comes with everything you need to secure your environment. you can view it from anywhere in the world when you connect it to the internet. The only reason it did not get 5 stars is due to the quality of the included cables. If you have any technical ability, you can buy a spool of rg59 cable and connectors from active-vision.com and make them yourself. The parts you will need are:
ACA-BNC-1A (connectors) (1for ea end)
ACA-P2-21M (male power) (1 side)
ACA-P3-21M3 (female power) (1 side)
AW-RG59U-S-5B (500ft cable)
This will give you much better video quality."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 8, 2008

Great! Gets the job done

"Very simple setup. Bought it for surveillance and theft prevention at a retail store and having a 32" LCD tracking a customer's every move is very easing on the mind. Works as a great deterrent!
I would've given it 5 stars except for the fact that there is no mode for automatic switching between cameras (like a 5 second slideshow of each camera feed)."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, CA
Date:December 14, 2008

Good value, works fine & meets my needs

Pros: great value
Model Number: QSD2316L
"This system works fine for me. I've had no problems with any of the equipment. I needed a little help getting connected, and a fairly quick call to tech support had me up and running in a few minutes. The documentation could be a little better, but it's not too hard to figure things out. Since I bought it while 'on sale', it's an exceptional value and meets my needs well. Others should realize that there are higher quality cables available that may be needed, depending on the length of the run. I think the included cables should work fine for most home and small business installations. Same for the cameras. There may be some situations where you may opt to purchase a different camera, say for greater night vision distance or for a wider angle view, but the 8 included cameras are certainly adequate for most home and small business settings. I've had the system running for about 2 weeks now, with no problems. Some other reviews mention a noisy fan, but mine is certainly quiet enough. Still, I would not put the DVR unit where I sleep, but any other room should be fine. I would have rated this product with 5 stars, except for the documentation, which could be better."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 8, 2008

Great Product Out of the Box

Pros: easy to set up and install
Model Number: QSD2316L
"I installed this product myself for home security. It was easy to install and hook up. In addition to everything in the box I added an LCD monitor and I had to buy two cable extensions for cameras that were farther than the 60 feet cable provided. Once installed, everything worked right away. The hardrive was preinstalled and formatted. It does take some trial and error in reading the manual and adjusting the motion settings, however, overall pretty straightforward. To view it remotely over the internet requires port forwarding through a home network. This was a little time consuming to figure out and set up. If everything is not set exactly it does not work. There is a help file that can be downloaded from the Q-See website to get all the internet explorer settings correct. I had one call to the Q-See support line (toll free) to get the webcam.html file configured for Vista (the dpi resolution must be set to 96 dpi). I was on hold for 10 minutes and when answered Tony resolved the issue in about 2 minutes. Overall I am pleased with this product. Also while the manual could be improved, I found no errors and it is written in plain english."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Date:November 12, 2008

Solid value

Pros: includes cables pwr supplies etc, good night vision, lan connection works great
Cons: manual is chinese engineer-speak, fan on dvr box is noisy!
"This DVR bundle is a very good value since it includes cameras and cables for a very good price. The cameras are not very wide-angle so covering a given area from close range(such as a front porch, etc) can be difficult. On the the other hand, they allow better detail at a longer distance which means you could recognise someone walking up the driveway. If you are buying this system (16 channel DVR) you're probably thinking of adding cameras which will allow you to tailor the performance of the cameras to your application. I would recommend 1/3" CCD cameras for better detail. In most applications you do not need all 16 cameras to have the same level of performance so use the included cameras for side-yards, etc and buy better ones for entry-ways, etc. The night vision performance isn't bad (depending on the distance and the background) but could benefit from additional illumination for distances past 30 feet.
The good: Network connection makes viewing and administering convenient. Cameras are reasonable quality and will allow you to easily identify a stranger at 20 to 30 feet. I can recognise someone I know at distances of 75 to 100' during the day.
The bad: Not all functions are available through the network connection. The manual is a combination of chinese/english and engineer-speak. Not the worst I've ever seen, but not great.
The ugly: The fan is noisy and you sometimes need access to the front panel controls and mouse , these make it difficult to locate the box in a remote/hidden location.
The unknown: I am still learning how to use this system... the only problem is I can't figure out how to save a snap-shot on my computer. It might be a Vista problem or anti-virus program conflict. Q-see's tech support has been available and willing to work with me."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:December 13, 2008

Very good value, spotty quality control

Pros: good value at discounted price, long storage time with h.264, customer service fairly responsive
Cons: quality of cables, dvr locked after a month-
Model Number: QSD2316L
"After having submitted an extensive review but being rejected for length, I'll keep it short.
Manufacturing assembly of the cables is iffy. I've encountered two cables that intermittently shorted power to the video.
Company replaced it, and new cable was a different type that can't short out the same way.
After about three weeks of use, the unit locked up and would not reboot. Contacted Q-See and they had me ship the unit back, and received a refurb replacement about 2 weeks later. Don't know if it was a fluke or not. If it happens again in a month I'll know, and will have to give up on it and return. On the plus side, the replacement unit was quieter than the first one, which had a high pitched whine that sounded almost like an piezo alarm.
Web server function works well with the H.264, frame rates are good and storage time with the 500GB drive should be over a month with the 8 channels operating.
Camera focus is normally fixed but can be adjusted by removing the cover.
Overall, it's an excellent value, but be sure to screen out the bad cables if you can, before connecting them up. Use a UPS to make sure the unit doesn't lose power, as that may have caused the failure."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spfld, Ma
Date:January 6, 2009

Simply Awsome

Model Number: QSD2316C8-500
"Title says it all. Purchased this recently after looking for years at surveillance equipment. I own a small auto related business, each time I had a security issue arise, I'd look at systems. I finally pulled the trigger this time and glad I did. The install has been easy, the quality of pics is excellent, the support when I called with a few questions was excellent. I am home and monitoring my shop as I type.... I read the reviews here, saw the positive ones, saw the 2 neg. ones, called tech support with my concerns and could see this was the best deal... if you need a system, don't hesitate, this one is Awsome!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:OP, Kansas
Date:February 25, 2009

A fine product

Model Number: Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR
"Bought this few months ago and had it installed at one of our offices. The DVR has been up and running since then, very stable. I suspect it's because of the Linux OS, which is known for high reliability. The cameras are very good, easy to install. One of the cameras installed is in a totally dark room, but I could see what's going on there, thanks to a zero lux. The power supply for cameras went bad once. So I called their customer service. It was a breeze to order a replacement. I don't even have to send back the faulty parts. Excellent customer service!!!
3 things I wish this DVR has: 1) it allows me to remotely access it from a surveillance software (like Active Webcam), ie, the DVR should act like a network camera; 2) it should have a small LCD screen built-in, to see basic functions performed; 3) its software has a reboot button, so we don't have to physically disconnect power cable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Concord, Ca.
Date:March 20, 2009

Poor night Vision

"If you're putting theise in on the outside of your home, forget it! You'll just see black. The night vision is useless. The Lorex cameras which are sold. by Costco have twice the LED lights and range at night for about the same price."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2009

Good Cameras, POOR tech support!

Pros: good cameras
Cons: very poor unresponsive tech support.
"Installed on Saturday and have everything hooked up. I am able to get to the log in of the DVR but unable to get in to view camera footage over the internet. Today is Wednesday and Tech support has NOT been of any assistance."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio
Date:January 30, 2009

Great system for a home or small business.

Pros: great value, easy setup, internet viewing is good even with low bandwidth, camera's double as motion sensors for alarm
Cons: mouse becomes unresponsive for no reason, remote doesn't always work.
"System works awesome. I got much more than I was expecting when I purchased this system.
Recording options are VERY customizable. each camera can be configured for each camera.
Reviewing video is very easy and finding what you are looking for is a snap.
Internet viewing is where this takes the cake. I only have 15 kbs MAX upload and once the ActiveX control is installed (takes a while to download it and you only need to do it one time per computer) the system is responsive and very usable.
Integrates with your alarm system."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:June 2, 2009

Excellent Peace of Mind

Pros: easy to install great picture for both day/night
"We installed this last weekend in our home and I'm thrilled with this product. We live in a remote rural area with a lot of theft of items like BBQs and tractors. Our neighbors are all gone during the day and that is when the theft happens the most. With this economy, the papers are warning that crime is on the rise.
The cameras installed easily and there's plenty of cord to stretch from one end of the house to the other. The night vision is excellent - like it changes to a black and white camera and you can see everything without any exterior lighting very clearly. I love the ability to shadow out portions of the screen for the motion-detection so the record feature doesn't kick in when a car drives down the street, but will still activate if someone comes in the driveway. I hooked the cameras up to an old color CRT monitor and had absolutely no trouble with an instant picture for all cameras. I have not yet activated the DVR playback feature to an external DVR or the remote monitoring, but after reading these reviews, that is my next step. For the money, this is an excellent system."
Review 14 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AL
Date:January 8, 2009

Great value for the price

Model Number: QSD2316L
"System was easy to set up and worked as expected. Instructions were better than most low priced equivalent items. You need to understand a little about networking to get the remote monitoring configured, but that is expected as no two environments are the same. I was able to get everything up and running and accessible for remote monitoring without any calls to tech support. This seems like a great value for the price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LOS ANGELES
Date:December 30, 2008

WHAT A GREAT VALUE

Pros: everything
Cons: haven't yet found
Model Number: QSDF8204-C4
"I CAN'T IMAGINE MORE "BANG FOR THE BUCK"... AM NOT A NERD BUT IT WAS EASY HOOK UP FOR 69 YR OLD REAL ESTATE GUY. I USE IT FOR THE OFFICE AND DON'T EVEN NEED ALL CAMERAS... I FIND THE NIGHT VISION REALLY GREAT... I'M SURE THERE ARE BETTER UNITS AND BETTER CAMERAS BUT, FOR THE MONEY, THIS IS TOPS."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:February 7, 2009

Great Price

Pros: excellent price, great customer service based on my experience, easy to use except for network set up
Cons: manual should be better written, access remote set up isn't easy
Model Number: QSD2316L
"I bought this for our home and it works great. Nice clear picture. DVR is easy to use. However, access remote is a pain to set up. I learned a bit after having it successfully set up. Anyone needs help, go to qsee website and do a live chat with customer service. It is so much faster than calling them. There's no holding time. I'm glad I found this great system for more than half of the price all those security comp would want to charge you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 6, 2008

Very reasonable for the price, good quality camera

Pros: good quality picture, manufacture has provided everything require to ins, support 2 hard drives of 500 gb each could store
Cons: little noise fan
"I brought this one at Costco online, took me 4 hours to install 8 Cameras. Extremely easy to setup. Like the picture quality and coverage. Great value for the price!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 12, 2008

Not good at all

"I purchased this system and set it up prior to mounting to see the quality and the quality was so bad I packed this junk up and returned it. Would not recommend any Q-see product. If you want a good system you need to step up."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento Ca.
Date:June 2, 2009

No Tech support!

Model Number: QSD2316C8-500
"Had a problem with the remote, the "enter" button was inop, and I tried emailing twice but was given the sales dept. phone number not tech support; and finally when I got someone on the phone from so called "tech support", the guy wanted to argue with me about the enter button saying it was my batteries when the other buttons that I tried worked.
Further, cables included are poor quality and the fittings are too large to go through the cable feedthrough bushings that are available locally to go through a wall. No way custom fit the 60 ft cables included with the kit as the main wire is undersized and one piece.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Q-See 16 CH H.264 DVR with Mobile Phone Surveillance
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:November 18, 2008

Without hard drive

Pros: easy intallation
Cons: missing harddrive
"The box had a sticker saying 500GB included, but hard drive bay was empty.
Other than that, this product is easy to install and use.
But without hard drive, this can not record any thing.
My friend orderred this one four days later and he got the one without hard drive, too."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>