Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

Scans negatives and slides into 5MP digital images
Average Customer Rating:
3.443 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
(out of 79 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
22
51 of 79(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Review 1 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW, Texas
Date:December 3, 2008

Excellent-fast & easy to use

"Not sure why others had problems. I just received mine yesterday and I have converted both color slides and old black & white negative film strips .
I thought there was a problem at first but then I read the manual (DUH!) and everything works just as advertised. It just takes getting used to.
I had previously been capturing old film strips with my PrimeFilm equipment but it took too long. Decided to try this. It copies fast and the only trick is that you must read the manual to learn to navigate the various options.
I have looked at the pictures on both my PDA and then copied them onto my PC and they are sharp and clear. I brought my captured negatives into Photoshop Elements and converted them to black & white pictures and they look fantastic! I'll be using it to capture pictures from over 20 rolls of old black and white negative/film and about 250 slides.
Another great feature is that you can capture the pictures without having to hookup to a computer as well as the fact that it is compact!
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 26, 2009

OK for an "Instamatic" photographer

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: resolution is much too low for good results.
Model Number: F2D
"Just completed a complete review of this unit. It is basically an inexpensive digital camera with a fixed focus lens of 4 glass elements (cheap). The unit has a resolution of only 1800 dpi (dots per inch). 1800 dpi is inadequate for any kind of 35 mm slide or negative scanning.
In the past I purchased a 1800dpi PrimeFilm slide/negative scanner from Costco which is collecting dust because of the low 1800 dpi resolution. For acceptable results the resolution must be greater than 2400 dpi. Keep in mind that 2400 dpi is barely acceptable. A quality image on 35 mm film has a resolution approaching 5000 dpi. I found that a scan reolution of 3600 dpi yields good reults. A professional scanner uses 4800 dpi.
If you already have blurry images on film, or you are satisfied with low resolution images, then this unit is OK.
One more comment on the inconsistent results by the various users. If your film is not completely flat; if it has a bulge, your image will be blurred and out of focus - remember the "scan" uses a fixed focus lens with a very narrow dept of field.
"
73 of 73 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chesterfield, VA
Date:February 24, 2009

Pleased with results

Pros: excellent value, great tech support
Model Number: F2D
"I purchased my F2D from Costco.com in January. The first unit I received produced unsharp images which could not be corrected via post-processing. I called Wolverine Tech Support and got through almost immediately to Rico. He was very helpful and decided the unit was defective. He gave me an RMA# to return it at Wolverine's expense, which I did. After receiving it they shipped me a replacement unit (at their expense). It has performed very well. I have scanned over 500 black and white negatives and am very pleased. I have 3 suggestions for getting the best results:
1) Use a dust-removal brush (I used the Staticmaster 1C200) to clean negative strips before inserting in the carrier.
2) Keep your work area clean and dust-free
3) When scanning B/W negatives, bring them in as negatives, not positives. Then use your PC photo processing software to convert the negatives to positives. You will get a much better range of tonal gradations if you do this.
"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:April 18, 2009

Wolverine Slide Scanner did a fantastic job

Model Number: F2D
"I recently was going on a trip to Australia and had a last chance in a life time to scan my Dad's many, many slides from the 1959-1960's. I spent a lot of time checking out scanners and from what I learned it appeared that to get one worth the effort, you had to spend $2,000 and up. I decided to check our the Wolverine before I went, and after reading the many negative remarks, I found that it did a fantastic job.
I bought one and had six weeks to visit many relatives and friends, and scan over 1,000 slides whilst in Australia. Although on first use the trays were a little stiff, once broken in, they were no problem. The results were fantastic, and better than viewing the slides through a Slide Projector (which we had there). The results were so good a friend who saw what I had done with it asked me to sell it to her after I frinished the slides in Australia. I am now back in the US, and I am now ready to purchase another one so that I can continue to scan my own slides. I am thrilled with the results."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW, Tx
Date:March 5, 2009

Very Nice

Model Number: F2D
"I was able to scan three hundred plus slides well within the five second range given. The holder for the slides takes some getting used to and if you have thousands to scan you may want to purchase additional holders. One loading one scanning, would speed up the job. I scanned slides dating back to the fifties and what I found the 5MP picks up every little spec on the slide. That of course is to be expected. Some of these slides were in very poor condition but the scanner did its intended job well. So make sure you store your slides securely so they will not pick up the dust etc. Another nice thing you can plug the USB into your computer which will power it and transfer pictures over without having to mess with the card. Speeds up the whole process if time is an issue. I had purchased this for my dad whom I was visiting and wanted to get as many photos as I could to take back with me. Googles Picasa 3 did and does a fairly nice job of cleaning up the noise on the slides. For free you cant beat it. So if you have ever attempted to scan in your slides using a flat bed scanner do yourself a favor and get one of these."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 13, 2009

Great for cataloging film-based photos

Pros: fast, compact, portable, easy to use
Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"This is a wonderful device for converting and then cataloging film-based photos into digital format. Once in digital format the photos can be handled by whatever program one uses for tracking photos.
It is small, simple and very easy to use. I've used it while watching TV or converting LPs to digital (MP3 files) format. The scans are generally of acceptable quality for "snap-shot" type prints of 3x5 and 4x6.
An important caveat: this product will not produce high quality, high resolution scans. That really isn't what it is meant to do. It is for quick, good quality scans and it does that superbly. As I scan the film and slides, I'm also filing and cross referncing my negatives and slides so that I can access them (based on the digital image) when I want a high quality scan, which must be done on another scanner.
One tip: removing dust and debris is important and the little cleaning device provided did not do the job for me. What did work was using a can of spray air (with the "concentrator" straw attached and holding the little door open (you'll see when you have one of these).
A great little device when used for its intended purpose: converting film to digital."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 4, 2008

OK, if you're not picky about quality

Pros: quick & easy
Cons: quality
"Very easy to use, quick, straight-forward means of digitizing slide/film if you're not very picky about the results.
The biggest drawback to this unit is image quality. The unit provides no way to fine tune the focus or adjust the exposure setting. So, in most cases, the resulting digitized image will be less than sharply focused and slightly underexposed. The slide holder feels somewhat flimsy and is a bit akward to open/close, but it's workable.
They certainly have the right idea. There is undoubtedly a market for a simpler, faster alternative to true film scanners such as the Prime 3650U (also at Costco.com), but the quality trade-offs are just too much with this unit for those that are more serious about the results. After all, it's going to take some effort to go through your slides and digitize them... most of us would want to feel that the end result justified the time spent."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:March 20, 2009

OK item but there's better products for same price

Pros: small size
Cons: picture colors are not true; looks faded
"The scanned image quality is quite poor as far as color and pixelation is concerned. After I tried this item, I bought a CanoScan 440F for the same price and got much truer colors and overall scan quality. It was AMAZING the difference in colors when I did a side-by-side comparison.
The screen is too small and you can't always see if the images are backwards until you view them on your computer and have to fix them there.
The CanoScan takes a little bit longer to scan but if I'm going to go through the trouble anyhow, I want the best quality I can get. Plus, the bigger scanner does other things like scan old pictures.
I'm not promoting Canon scanners, but I am telling you that there are better options out there for the same price and same amount of trouble."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:December 4, 2008

Defective from the start

Cons: defective
"Straight out of the box, the memory card would not stay in place in the appropriate slot. It clicked when I inserted it like it would hold it in place, then immediately popped back out when I removed my finger. I planned to exchange it of course, but taped the card in place just so I could at least try out the scanning function (taping held it in place just fine).
Scanning was just as disappointing. It was easy enough, but the results were incredibly dull and old looking, nothing like the photos that were produced from the same negatives recently. The manual recommends that you clean the inside of the scanner between each set of negatives, which seemed excessive, but I did it anyway. A lot of lint still ended up showing through in each scan, which you can't see on the tiny screen provided, it's only visible once you're looking at the image on your computer..
I may still exchange it to see if the one I got was a complete dud (since other people seem to have posted favorable reviews here). But my first experience has not been positive."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2009

It's about your expectations

Pros: reasonable price
"At the annual town meeting of our small Vermont town we were arguing back an forth about what piece of road equipment to buy; a backhoe or a grader. Finally Lars stood up and said "When I drive by a backhoe I normally see a hole and when I drive by a grader the road always seems smooth" So the town bought the grader. If you want to take your slides and enter then in a photo contest get another machine, if your slides are in boxes tucked away on the top shelf of your closet and you want to enjoy the pictures of your parents while they were still here, your kids when they were young and, God forbid, you in long hair and bell bottoms, this little number does the trick. Directions are meager, but adequate, dust and right on exposure can be a problem, but you know, I somehow don't see that when I look at them through my smiles and email them to my friends and family."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:February 20, 2009

Easy to use with a bit of jury-rigging

"I purchased this scanner to convert old family slides to digital format for archiving and sharing with my brothers. We have thousands of slide photos taken by my father during our childhood and do not have room to store them all. I wanted something that was faster than my flatbed scanner that had reasonable image quality. I was quite pleased with the image quality for this purpose (preserving family memories). I did not think the images came out too dark as some other reviewers have found. I did find the slide tray hard to open, but solved this problem by filing down the tabs on the middle and ends. It no longer snaps shut, so I just make sure the slides are securely in their slots and hold the tray firmly closed when I insert it. I also carved out small depressions in the edges of the slide holders for ease in removing the slides - now I can get a fingernail under the slide. You do have to be careful to clean the dust from the interior glass and from your slide or you will see small dark spots on your images, but I would think you have to do this with a scanner as well. I am going to purchase a second slide converter so my brother can help me digitize all of these slides and then get started on the negatives! This scanner is the best thing I have found for volume scanning of slides."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austell, GA
Date:December 8, 2008

Excellent Product for its intended purpose

Model Number: Wolverine F2D Film to Digital Converter
"This review is based upon what the Wolverine F2D does and not what one may wish it could also do. Specific purpose and application must be considered in evaluating the F2D film converter. The F2D is a dedicated camera for the rapid conversion of 35mm film and slide frames into reasonably sized digital files. Because of this, the F2D is a great way to assimilate thousands (over 30 years worth) of old 35mm film negatives and 35mm slides into an organized collection of manageable size files. The F2D shines for this application alone.
The F2D can be used almost anywhere since it operates stand-alone (without the need of a computer) with reasonable power requirements. It produces compact JPEG digital photo files that it stores onto a standard SD memory card in the same format as the family digital camera. Images on the SD card can be transferred to a computer or directly read by many photo printers using the same process for digital camera pictures.
At 5 seconds per frame, the six frame negative carrier takes 30 seconds to acquire all six frames (plus a few seconds for pressing buttons and advancing the carrier.) This quickness is a very big advantage over scanning type devices when trying to organize a vast amount of negative strips. Once organized, selected images can be edited to produce fairly decent small size prints. Anything more elaborate should be done using the original film media with more precise equipment (more expensive high resolution scanner) or by a professional photo processing. While a medium priced scanner may provide higher picture resolution, it does so at an extreme cost of time and storage since its processing of just one negative frame can take 30 to 120 seconds and create a 100MB file! For an entire six frame negative carrier, that's 3 to 12 minutes and 600MB (one CD's worth) of files whose handling require a computer during all of this processing. This is acceptable for a few prized negatives, but an insurmountable task for 30-plus years worth of 35mm photo negatives and slides of which many are typically of inconsequential value.
Additionally, the F2D view screen presents a positive image of a hard to interpret orange tinted 35mm negative frame. Slide handling capability is an additional benefit, although it would be nicer if the slide carrier (cartridge) could have been designed to hold more than just 3 slides (but probably too long for included packaging.) The F2D is a good additional tool to one's digital picture arsenal - especially for its low price. This is a fairly new product for which Wolverine provides excellent and friendly direct technical support and is quick to supplement operating instructions (over the phone and on their web site) as the need arises. The SD card should be inserted horizontally with the gold contacts UP. The film media should be placed in the cartridge carrier shiny side UP (dull emulsion side down.)"
59 of 59 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hesperia, CA
Date:May 30, 2009

Best Purchase Ever

Model Number: F2D
"I read all the reviews before I purchased this Slide Scanner. I was apprehensive about spending the money. I have 2000 slides from the last 50 years and also probably as many pictures(negatives). It would have cost me a fortune to convert all my childhood memories and my children's childhood memories so that we could have the pleasure of seeing them again. I LOVE IT! It is the greatest thing. I have already scanned the 2000 slides and am now working on the negatives. I have already downloaded the slides and been cleaning them up. The quality of the picture depends on the condition of the slides. Some of mine are great!! Some are a little faded. Maybe not as clear. But they are pictures I would never to be able to see again if it were not for this scanner. I used canned air in spurts to clean them and the scanning went fairly quickly once I got a routine going. The cartridge is a little difficult to open but, I mastered that with speed. I THINK THIS IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY AND DID A GREATJOB !! I am so excited about seeing my forgotten pictures again and being able to share them with my children and grandchildren! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE PURCHASE OF THIS PRODUCT!! It has already paid for itself many times over."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dubuque, Iowa, home of Nat. Mississippi Riv. Muse.
Date:July 3, 2009

Easy, Effective, Productiv

Pros: responsive support, easy to use, reasonable price
Cons: light level could vary--but that would up the cost
Model Number: F2D
"It was up and running in no time. I have been scanning to a regular scanner with adapter, a much more cumbersome process. I will be using this for filmstrips as well as slides and negatives. The filmstrips will go on my wife's website to be shared freely. The negative/filmstrip carrier required cutting the negatives, so I called Wolverine who told me about their new slide-through strip adapter and sent it to me at no cost. A GREAT COMPANY!
When you order, if you are going to do negatives/filmstrips be sure to ask for the new adapter.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 4, 2008

I LOVE this product!

Model Number: F2D
"READ THE VERY CONCISE MANUAL CAREFULLY.....that is the key. At first I had a couple of stumbling blocks, but if you follow the manual carefully, this product is a gem. I just got mine yesterday, and last night I converted well over a 100 old slides that had been stored in my basement for years.....I also did a few negatives, though I don't have so many of those to scan. And it was fun. Not having to hook up to the computer is a HUGE asset too. Its a small unit that sits right on my computer table, and can be stored away when not in use.
I had a cumbersome converter before that used my scanner. It worked, but only 1 slide at a time, and painfully slow. This baby is FAST! I uploaded my slides into Picasa, a program that allows me to work, and improve them....and most old slides need that.
At first the slide carrier was a little tricky for me, but after I got going I became a whiz.....
I'm so glad I discovered this product.
Oh....and another thing, in the manual is a phone number for technical advise. I called it, and to my suprise a REAL LIVE voice answered, and answered my question very carefully, and professionally. I thought that was a BIG plus....."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:December 28, 2008

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

Pros: easy to use, clear photos, great tech support, great brand!
Model Number: F2D
"This is such a great product and so easy to use! I very much enjoy the simplicity and fast speed of this product, all the finished photos after coverting are great quality and I'd be able to share the photos easily with my family members. This product is also great since being a semi-professional photographer, I still love the clearity of film photography. However, with this product, I can easily scan the film photos for my clients and not have to send it out for professional scanning. Lastly, the unit does not require a connection to a computer like other products AND the unit comes with a viewing screen unlike others. Love this product and will recommend to all my friends/family/fellow photog colleagues."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:January 7, 2009

Very Useful Product is Understatement!

Model Number: F2d Slide Converter
"I think this is the greates product since sliced bread! It allowed me to get all my cherished slides off the shelf - after many, many, years and enjoy them once again as never before! Looking at all my children and my beautiful wife (still is) was a great pleasure. These slides were begun in 1960 and 1963 - the years my children were born, and I had not looked at them for over 30 years! Now I have all on my computer and can review and print them whenever I choose. My only complaint is that the plastic slide holder is a bit difficult to open, especially for older fingers, but other than that, I am very, very satisfied with this product. It is simple to operate, amounts to just pressing one button twice, and that is it! Sincerely, Bugs"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 29, 2009

Good Idea - Poorly Executed

Pros: fast scan, no computer needed to scan
Cons: blue cast to image, poor color saturation, post scan photo editing needed
"All images have a blue cast. The color saturation is low. Images are slightly soft focus. The film holder is not easy to open & close. But. it is fast and does not need a computer connection while scanning (you can sit in front of the TV while scanning tons of old photos). The resolution is reasonable at about 2520 x 1680 pixels for full 35mm frame.
If you are just trying to convert a lot of old snapshots and are willing to spend time with photo editing software to warm up, sharpen, and color saturate the frames that matter, it may serve your purpose. Otherwise, don't waste your time & money on it."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:November 29, 2008

Fast conversion; slow loading

Pros: rapid conversion of slides once inserted, very accurate conversion of color and brightness
Cons: only 3 slides in the cartridge at a time.
"This is compact. It converts slides very rapidly, and the digital images are accurate in color and brightness. I have tried other methods, and this is extremely easy to use"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 28, 2008

Fast Results, Great Images

Pros: great price quick results
Cons: manual needs an update
Model Number: Wolverine F2D scanner
"I have 1000's of older negatives to scan. I tried the scanning-the-photos route, but that was taking FOREVER. I have a great flatbed scanner with negative scanning capabilities. Great scans but WAY too long.
This little scanner is so easy to use. I was able to use it straight out of the box. I emailed Customer Support quickly and received a response in less than 1 hour. I am very satisfied with this negative scanner.
I purchased an extra set of negative trays so I could scan even faster. An extra set of slide trays is next on my list."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>