Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

Scans negatives and slides into 5MP digital images
Average Customer Rating:
3.443 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
(out of 79 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
22
51 of 79(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Review 1 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2009

Overexposed Copies

Model Number: F2D Scanner
"I received this scanner as a present and really liked it in the beginning. However, when I started scanning slides that had mountains or light dresses in them, the total photo was overexposed and I could not see the mountains or dresses. The slides were beautifully clear but the scans weren't.."
Review 2 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seatlle, WA
Date:August 21, 2009

Poor Quality Photos

"I should have known that the old addage "you get what you pay for" would hold true for this. Although the product is easy to use, the photos come our discolored/washed out and have fiber marks (no matter how hard you try to wipe them away). I returned mine. My desktop scanner does a much better job at reproducing an image."
Review 3 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cold Springs CA
Date:August 8, 2009

Good Product

Pros: great value
Cons: user interface leaves something to be desired
Model Number: F2D
"A great product at this price point = value. The user controls and manual leave something to be desired. Easy set up (once you have learned how to use of controls), quick conversion of slide to SD card. I particularly chose this unit because it did not need a computer to do the initial conversion."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:July 30, 2009

Amazing - I love it

Pros: quick and easy to use, free shipping, oh yeh free shipping
Cons: none -
Model Number: F2D Image Scanner
"After reading the reviews, I was pretty secure in my purchase, but after getting it and using it ... WOW! It exceeded every expectation. It is easy to use, fast and if you keep the lens clean, it bring the slides to life. The digital images are perfect - as perfect as your slides, that is.
A great product."
Review 5 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2009

Very good

"Works good and quick. New slide holder
works great, has magnets that replaced
hard to open tabs. Did about 100 slides
in the first hour.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dubuque, Iowa, home of Nat. Mississippi Riv. Muse.
Date:July 3, 2009

Easy, Effective, Productiv

Pros: responsive support, easy to use, reasonable price
Cons: light level could vary--but that would up the cost
Model Number: F2D
"It was up and running in no time. I have been scanning to a regular scanner with adapter, a much more cumbersome process. I will be using this for filmstrips as well as slides and negatives. The filmstrips will go on my wife's website to be shared freely. The negative/filmstrip carrier required cutting the negatives, so I called Wolverine who told me about their new slide-through strip adapter and sent it to me at no cost. A GREAT COMPANY!
When you order, if you are going to do negatives/filmstrips be sure to ask for the new adapter.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maricopa, AZ
Date:July 2, 2009

Exactly What I've Been Looking For

Pros: works great!, very easy to use.
Cons: won't work well without reading the instructions.
"I've been searching for something like this for a long time. I read ALL of the reviews - good and bad - before I purchased this. I was prepared for the worst - BUT....it is an amazing little machine. Like an earlier review said, read the instructions first. I messed with it for a couple of hours until I had it down perfect. No blur. No problems. Our slides are about 20 years old - wonderful experience!!! Thank you!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hesperia, CA
Date:May 30, 2009

Best Purchase Ever

Model Number: F2D
"I read all the reviews before I purchased this Slide Scanner. I was apprehensive about spending the money. I have 2000 slides from the last 50 years and also probably as many pictures(negatives). It would have cost me a fortune to convert all my childhood memories and my children's childhood memories so that we could have the pleasure of seeing them again. I LOVE IT! It is the greatest thing. I have already scanned the 2000 slides and am now working on the negatives. I have already downloaded the slides and been cleaning them up. The quality of the picture depends on the condition of the slides. Some of mine are great!! Some are a little faded. Maybe not as clear. But they are pictures I would never to be able to see again if it were not for this scanner. I used canned air in spurts to clean them and the scanning went fairly quickly once I got a routine going. The cartridge is a little difficult to open but, I mastered that with speed. I THINK THIS IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY AND DID A GREATJOB !! I am so excited about seeing my forgotten pictures again and being able to share them with my children and grandchildren! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE PURCHASE OF THIS PRODUCT!! It has already paid for itself many times over."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:May 27, 2009

Poor Quality

"I am working on a book, and have to rescan a bunch of negatives at a higher resolution than negatives I had my photo store scan them at originally. Comparing the two scans, the ones by Wolverine I can't use. The negatives come out overexposed and the images are not sharp or clear at all. I can't use any of them, even though it does provide a quick scan. If you don't care about the quality of the image, this might work for you, but I wouldn't waste my time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 29, 2009

Good Idea - Poorly Executed

Pros: fast scan, no computer needed to scan
Cons: blue cast to image, poor color saturation, post scan photo editing needed
"All images have a blue cast. The color saturation is low. Images are slightly soft focus. The film holder is not easy to open & close. But. it is fast and does not need a computer connection while scanning (you can sit in front of the TV while scanning tons of old photos). The resolution is reasonable at about 2520 x 1680 pixels for full 35mm frame.
If you are just trying to convert a lot of old snapshots and are willing to spend time with photo editing software to warm up, sharpen, and color saturate the frames that matter, it may serve your purpose. Otherwise, don't waste your time & money on it."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe,NM
Date:April 23, 2009

For the money it is unbeatable

Cons: slide carrier needs impovement
Model Number: F2D
"Amazing bit of equipment-particularly when there are many slides to copy and store."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Great job for the price

Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"I just converted about 600 slides and found the process to be quick and easy. The biggest hassel was organizing the slides....the slide ferry must have gotten to them! My slides were not exposed to dust so that wasn't an issue.
There are machine that probably do a higher quality scan but for my purposes this is perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2009

It's about your expectations

Pros: reasonable price
"At the annual town meeting of our small Vermont town we were arguing back an forth about what piece of road equipment to buy; a backhoe or a grader. Finally Lars stood up and said "When I drive by a backhoe I normally see a hole and when I drive by a grader the road always seems smooth" So the town bought the grader. If you want to take your slides and enter then in a photo contest get another machine, if your slides are in boxes tucked away on the top shelf of your closet and you want to enjoy the pictures of your parents while they were still here, your kids when they were young and, God forbid, you in long hair and bell bottoms, this little number does the trick. Directions are meager, but adequate, dust and right on exposure can be a problem, but you know, I somehow don't see that when I look at them through my smiles and email them to my friends and family."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:April 18, 2009

Wolverine Slide Scanner did a fantastic job

Model Number: F2D
"I recently was going on a trip to Australia and had a last chance in a life time to scan my Dad's many, many slides from the 1959-1960's. I spent a lot of time checking out scanners and from what I learned it appeared that to get one worth the effort, you had to spend $2,000 and up. I decided to check our the Wolverine before I went, and after reading the many negative remarks, I found that it did a fantastic job.
I bought one and had six weeks to visit many relatives and friends, and scan over 1,000 slides whilst in Australia. Although on first use the trays were a little stiff, once broken in, they were no problem. The results were fantastic, and better than viewing the slides through a Slide Projector (which we had there). The results were so good a friend who saw what I had done with it asked me to sell it to her after I frinished the slides in Australia. I am now back in the US, and I am now ready to purchase another one so that I can continue to scan my own slides. I am thrilled with the results."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2009

Time Consuming!!!

Model Number: F2D
"I was so excited to get this product! I love the concept. I thought the price was resonable. But after 2 HOURS of trying to convert a dozen slides, I had 2 copies of three images. Some never worked at all. The photo dept. will convert slides to CD's (or DVD's if you want) for 29 cents a slide. For that same $100 I spent on this I can convert 350 slides and it won't take any time at all. I am returning this product. It seems really cheaply made, too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:April 14, 2009

Fast and Handy

Pros: fast accurate scanning, easy to operate
Cons: opening the carriers
Model Number: F2D
"Received the unit and began copying some of the 2000 slides I wanted to convert. The copy process itself is fast and accurate. After a week, the power converter stopped working and I called Wolverine - once my purchase # was checked, I received a new converter within three days. Another info call to Wolverine was handled quickly and well. Excellent support. Some quirks: the longest part of the process is loading the carriers - they hold only three slides at a time and you must order extras if you have a lot of slides to do. Opening the carriers is a little tough since they snap together in three places. The center snap opens a lot easier if a you use a small screwdriver to pop it open. Storage would be easier if slides could be scanned into individual directories rather than one large directory. Overall, am satisfied with the product - it does it's job well."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2009

Under Exposed

Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"Instructions are a little difficult to follow, so had to redo a number of copied slides. Another problem is that it always reverts to negatives and it is difficult to have to reset each time to do slides. BIGGEST problem is that slides that are clear and bright copy dark and exposure needs correcting on nearly every slide. I have decided to return it as unsuitable."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northwest Washington
Date:April 5, 2009

Total disappointment

Pros: returning it was easy
Cons: waste of time
Model Number: F2D
"Poor quality, off color scans of Kodachrome slides. Awkward operation. Returned it when slide holder jammed with 2 slides inside. Return Desk had to break it open to return my slides."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:March 20, 2009

OK item but there's better products for same price

Pros: small size
Cons: picture colors are not true; looks faded
"The scanned image quality is quite poor as far as color and pixelation is concerned. After I tried this item, I bought a CanoScan 440F for the same price and got much truer colors and overall scan quality. It was AMAZING the difference in colors when I did a side-by-side comparison.
The screen is too small and you can't always see if the images are backwards until you view them on your computer and have to fix them there.
The CanoScan takes a little bit longer to scan but if I'm going to go through the trouble anyhow, I want the best quality I can get. Plus, the bigger scanner does other things like scan old pictures.
I'm not promoting Canon scanners, but I am telling you that there are better options out there for the same price and same amount of trouble."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 13, 2009

Great for cataloging film-based photos

Pros: fast, compact, portable, easy to use
Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"This is a wonderful device for converting and then cataloging film-based photos into digital format. Once in digital format the photos can be handled by whatever program one uses for tracking photos.
It is small, simple and very easy to use. I've used it while watching TV or converting LPs to digital (MP3 files) format. The scans are generally of acceptable quality for "snap-shot" type prints of 3x5 and 4x6.
An important caveat: this product will not produce high quality, high resolution scans. That really isn't what it is meant to do. It is for quick, good quality scans and it does that superbly. As I scan the film and slides, I'm also filing and cross referncing my negatives and slides so that I can access them (based on the digital image) when I want a high quality scan, which must be done on another scanner.
One tip: removing dust and debris is important and the little cleaning device provided did not do the job for me. What did work was using a can of spray air (with the "concentrator" straw attached and holding the little door open (you'll see when you have one of these).
A great little device when used for its intended purpose: converting film to digital."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>