Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

Scans negatives and slides into 5MP digital images
Average Customer Rating:
3.443 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
(out of 79 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
22
51 of 79(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Review 1 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:July 30, 2009

Amazing - I love it

Pros: quick and easy to use, free shipping, oh yeh free shipping
Cons: none -
Model Number: F2D Image Scanner
"After reading the reviews, I was pretty secure in my purchase, but after getting it and using it ... WOW! It exceeded every expectation. It is easy to use, fast and if you keep the lens clean, it bring the slides to life. The digital images are perfect - as perfect as your slides, that is.
A great product."
Review 2 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2009

Very good

"Works good and quick. New slide holder
works great, has magnets that replaced
hard to open tabs. Did about 100 slides
in the first hour.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dubuque, Iowa, home of Nat. Mississippi Riv. Muse.
Date:July 3, 2009

Easy, Effective, Productiv

Pros: responsive support, easy to use, reasonable price
Cons: light level could vary--but that would up the cost
Model Number: F2D
"It was up and running in no time. I have been scanning to a regular scanner with adapter, a much more cumbersome process. I will be using this for filmstrips as well as slides and negatives. The filmstrips will go on my wife's website to be shared freely. The negative/filmstrip carrier required cutting the negatives, so I called Wolverine who told me about their new slide-through strip adapter and sent it to me at no cost. A GREAT COMPANY!
When you order, if you are going to do negatives/filmstrips be sure to ask for the new adapter.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maricopa, AZ
Date:July 2, 2009

Exactly What I've Been Looking For

Pros: works great!, very easy to use.
Cons: won't work well without reading the instructions.
"I've been searching for something like this for a long time. I read ALL of the reviews - good and bad - before I purchased this. I was prepared for the worst - BUT....it is an amazing little machine. Like an earlier review said, read the instructions first. I messed with it for a couple of hours until I had it down perfect. No blur. No problems. Our slides are about 20 years old - wonderful experience!!! Thank you!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hesperia, CA
Date:May 30, 2009

Best Purchase Ever

Model Number: F2D
"I read all the reviews before I purchased this Slide Scanner. I was apprehensive about spending the money. I have 2000 slides from the last 50 years and also probably as many pictures(negatives). It would have cost me a fortune to convert all my childhood memories and my children's childhood memories so that we could have the pleasure of seeing them again. I LOVE IT! It is the greatest thing. I have already scanned the 2000 slides and am now working on the negatives. I have already downloaded the slides and been cleaning them up. The quality of the picture depends on the condition of the slides. Some of mine are great!! Some are a little faded. Maybe not as clear. But they are pictures I would never to be able to see again if it were not for this scanner. I used canned air in spurts to clean them and the scanning went fairly quickly once I got a routine going. The cartridge is a little difficult to open but, I mastered that with speed. I THINK THIS IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY AND DID A GREATJOB !! I am so excited about seeing my forgotten pictures again and being able to share them with my children and grandchildren! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE PURCHASE OF THIS PRODUCT!! It has already paid for itself many times over."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Great job for the price

Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"I just converted about 600 slides and found the process to be quick and easy. The biggest hassel was organizing the slides....the slide ferry must have gotten to them! My slides were not exposed to dust so that wasn't an issue.
There are machine that probably do a higher quality scan but for my purposes this is perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:April 18, 2009

Wolverine Slide Scanner did a fantastic job

Model Number: F2D
"I recently was going on a trip to Australia and had a last chance in a life time to scan my Dad's many, many slides from the 1959-1960's. I spent a lot of time checking out scanners and from what I learned it appeared that to get one worth the effort, you had to spend $2,000 and up. I decided to check our the Wolverine before I went, and after reading the many negative remarks, I found that it did a fantastic job.
I bought one and had six weeks to visit many relatives and friends, and scan over 1,000 slides whilst in Australia. Although on first use the trays were a little stiff, once broken in, they were no problem. The results were fantastic, and better than viewing the slides through a Slide Projector (which we had there). The results were so good a friend who saw what I had done with it asked me to sell it to her after I frinished the slides in Australia. I am now back in the US, and I am now ready to purchase another one so that I can continue to scan my own slides. I am thrilled with the results."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 13, 2009

Great for cataloging film-based photos

Pros: fast, compact, portable, easy to use
Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"This is a wonderful device for converting and then cataloging film-based photos into digital format. Once in digital format the photos can be handled by whatever program one uses for tracking photos.
It is small, simple and very easy to use. I've used it while watching TV or converting LPs to digital (MP3 files) format. The scans are generally of acceptable quality for "snap-shot" type prints of 3x5 and 4x6.
An important caveat: this product will not produce high quality, high resolution scans. That really isn't what it is meant to do. It is for quick, good quality scans and it does that superbly. As I scan the film and slides, I'm also filing and cross referncing my negatives and slides so that I can access them (based on the digital image) when I want a high quality scan, which must be done on another scanner.
One tip: removing dust and debris is important and the little cleaning device provided did not do the job for me. What did work was using a can of spray air (with the "concentrator" straw attached and holding the little door open (you'll see when you have one of these).
A great little device when used for its intended purpose: converting film to digital."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beavercreek, OR
Date:March 13, 2009

Best purchase ever

"We scanned approx. 500 slides that were anywhere from 20-40yrs. old. This product exceeded our expectations. If we would have sent them out to be done, it would have cost a fortune. The slide holder was a little hard to open but it served the purpose. I have friends wanting to borrow it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gresham,Oregon
Date:March 12, 2009

Very Good Product

Pros: makes great copies
Cons: the holders could be easier to open
"I too like many other's reviewed this site before the purchase of the F2D. I love it!
Makes a great copy of the negative and slides to my PhotoShop Element, or to the free download of Picasa 3. I have made great copies from either program. The only negative part of this F2D is the opening of the holders for the slides especially.
Would highly recommend this product.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale Heights, IL.
Date:March 10, 2009

Great product bar none...

Pros: very nice price and results.
Cons: images a little soft.
Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"I read a few of these reviews before I ordered the Wolverine F2D unit and figured that I would give it a try even after some of the reviews were negative. I have to say I'm thrilled with the F2D unit all of the imaged scanned are a little soft but I sharpen them in Photoshop and they are great. Like some of the other reviews the opening of the film and slide holders is a little difficult but not impossible. I WILL HAVE TO GIVE THE WOLVERINE F2D TWO BIG THUMBS UP."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:boulder, co
Date:March 9, 2009

great purchace - easy to use - good quality

Pros: quick and easy
"I read reviews on the dust problem. I bought some compressed air and squirted both sides of the loaded tray before inserting into the reader. I can hardly find any dust traces.
The tray is difficult but you get used to it.
The resolution is acceptable. It was so easy not having to deal with the computer and bed scanner. I scanned 650 slides in one weekend, dumped them to my computer and was very pleased with the results. I have been dreading this task for years and now I'm excited to get back at it.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW, Tx
Date:March 5, 2009

Very Nice

Model Number: F2D
"I was able to scan three hundred plus slides well within the five second range given. The holder for the slides takes some getting used to and if you have thousands to scan you may want to purchase additional holders. One loading one scanning, would speed up the job. I scanned slides dating back to the fifties and what I found the 5MP picks up every little spec on the slide. That of course is to be expected. Some of these slides were in very poor condition but the scanner did its intended job well. So make sure you store your slides securely so they will not pick up the dust etc. Another nice thing you can plug the USB into your computer which will power it and transfer pictures over without having to mess with the card. Speeds up the whole process if time is an issue. I had purchased this for my dad whom I was visiting and wanted to get as many photos as I could to take back with me. Googles Picasa 3 did and does a fairly nice job of cleaning up the noise on the slides. For free you cant beat it. So if you have ever attempted to scan in your slides using a flat bed scanner do yourself a favor and get one of these."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:February 20, 2009

Easy to use with a bit of jury-rigging

"I purchased this scanner to convert old family slides to digital format for archiving and sharing with my brothers. We have thousands of slide photos taken by my father during our childhood and do not have room to store them all. I wanted something that was faster than my flatbed scanner that had reasonable image quality. I was quite pleased with the image quality for this purpose (preserving family memories). I did not think the images came out too dark as some other reviewers have found. I did find the slide tray hard to open, but solved this problem by filing down the tabs on the middle and ends. It no longer snaps shut, so I just make sure the slides are securely in their slots and hold the tray firmly closed when I insert it. I also carved out small depressions in the edges of the slide holders for ease in removing the slides - now I can get a fingernail under the slide. You do have to be careful to clean the dust from the interior glass and from your slide or you will see small dark spots on your images, but I would think you have to do this with a scanner as well. I am going to purchase a second slide converter so my brother can help me digitize all of these slides and then get started on the negatives! This scanner is the best thing I have found for volume scanning of slides."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:January 15, 2009

Get this copier for slides

Pros: easy to use, small, no computer needed
Cons: slide tray can be difficult to open, flimsy entry/exit doors
Model Number: F2D
"I have, or should I say had, thousands of slides to copy. My first purchase was a good scanner -- I got 500 slides done in one month and tied up a computer doing it. Then I ordered the Wolverine. I can do 500 slides in a DAY!! It's easy to use, small, and is used without a computer. The quality is very acceptable. I have been recommending this to everyone I know who needs to archive slides."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:January 7, 2009

Very Useful Product is Understatement!

Model Number: F2d Slide Converter
"I think this is the greates product since sliced bread! It allowed me to get all my cherished slides off the shelf - after many, many, years and enjoy them once again as never before! Looking at all my children and my beautiful wife (still is) was a great pleasure. These slides were begun in 1960 and 1963 - the years my children were born, and I had not looked at them for over 30 years! Now I have all on my computer and can review and print them whenever I choose. My only complaint is that the plastic slide holder is a bit difficult to open, especially for older fingers, but other than that, I am very, very satisfied with this product. It is simple to operate, amounts to just pressing one button twice, and that is it! Sincerely, Bugs"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 28, 2008

Fast Results, Great Images

Pros: great price quick results
Cons: manual needs an update
Model Number: Wolverine F2D scanner
"I have 1000's of older negatives to scan. I tried the scanning-the-photos route, but that was taking FOREVER. I have a great flatbed scanner with negative scanning capabilities. Great scans but WAY too long.
This little scanner is so easy to use. I was able to use it straight out of the box. I emailed Customer Support quickly and received a response in less than 1 hour. I am very satisfied with this negative scanner.
I purchased an extra set of negative trays so I could scan even faster. An extra set of slide trays is next on my list."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:December 28, 2008

Awesome little machine!

Pros: great value, no computer needed just download to flashcard, fast and simple
"I've been using this thing to convert my old 35mm film and it's been everything I expected. No need to send my old film to an expensive shop to convert to digital format. It's quick, easy, and the best part no computer needed. I was able to convert hundreds of negatives in an hour and now I can revisit them on my computer, TV, and share with my family all over again. I highly recommend this product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:December 28, 2008

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

Pros: easy to use, clear photos, great tech support, great brand!
Model Number: F2D
"This is such a great product and so easy to use! I very much enjoy the simplicity and fast speed of this product, all the finished photos after coverting are great quality and I'd be able to share the photos easily with my family members. This product is also great since being a semi-professional photographer, I still love the clearity of film photography. However, with this product, I can easily scan the film photos for my clients and not have to send it out for professional scanning. Lastly, the unit does not require a connection to a computer like other products AND the unit comes with a viewing screen unlike others. Love this product and will recommend to all my friends/family/fellow photog colleagues."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Date:December 26, 2008

Fantastic, precious, fragile negatives saved.

Pros: can also be loaned out and has a pass-around value
Cons: the on-off button was difficult to use
Model Number: F2D Scanner
"We purchased for our adult daughter, she transferred over 200 photos in about one hour. Stored into her computer and edited red-eye, removed excessive backgrounds, zoomed in for better people photos, etc., etc., and loves it! She has about 3000 negatives and not only can she edit them, she can now share them with others through e-mail. We recommend you purchase this scanner, save your money from having a profressional do it, this is super simple to do."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>