Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter

Scans negatives and slides into 5MP digital images
Average Customer Rating:
3.443 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
(out of 79 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
22
51 of 79(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Review 1 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW, Texas
Date:December 3, 2008

Excellent-fast & easy to use

"Not sure why others had problems. I just received mine yesterday and I have converted both color slides and old black & white negative film strips .
I thought there was a problem at first but then I read the manual (DUH!) and everything works just as advertised. It just takes getting used to.
I had previously been capturing old film strips with my PrimeFilm equipment but it took too long. Decided to try this. It copies fast and the only trick is that you must read the manual to learn to navigate the various options.
I have looked at the pictures on both my PDA and then copied them onto my PC and they are sharp and clear. I brought my captured negatives into Photoshop Elements and converted them to black & white pictures and they look fantastic! I'll be using it to capture pictures from over 20 rolls of old black and white negative/film and about 250 slides.
Another great feature is that you can capture the pictures without having to hookup to a computer as well as the fact that it is compact!
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:December 4, 2008

Good unit for price

Model Number: F2D
"My order arrived today and with it was a very funky operators manual. At first I thought maybe I made a bad decesion getting this unit but after contacting the company they sent me a updated download manual that explains how to set up the unit for the operation you want to use. Only drawback is the holder only has room for three slides at a time but what to heck it just takes longer."
Review 3 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austell, GA
Date:December 8, 2008

Excellent Product for its intended purpose

Model Number: Wolverine F2D Film to Digital Converter
"This review is based upon what the Wolverine F2D does and not what one may wish it could also do. Specific purpose and application must be considered in evaluating the F2D film converter. The F2D is a dedicated camera for the rapid conversion of 35mm film and slide frames into reasonably sized digital files. Because of this, the F2D is a great way to assimilate thousands (over 30 years worth) of old 35mm film negatives and 35mm slides into an organized collection of manageable size files. The F2D shines for this application alone.
The F2D can be used almost anywhere since it operates stand-alone (without the need of a computer) with reasonable power requirements. It produces compact JPEG digital photo files that it stores onto a standard SD memory card in the same format as the family digital camera. Images on the SD card can be transferred to a computer or directly read by many photo printers using the same process for digital camera pictures.
At 5 seconds per frame, the six frame negative carrier takes 30 seconds to acquire all six frames (plus a few seconds for pressing buttons and advancing the carrier.) This quickness is a very big advantage over scanning type devices when trying to organize a vast amount of negative strips. Once organized, selected images can be edited to produce fairly decent small size prints. Anything more elaborate should be done using the original film media with more precise equipment (more expensive high resolution scanner) or by a professional photo processing. While a medium priced scanner may provide higher picture resolution, it does so at an extreme cost of time and storage since its processing of just one negative frame can take 30 to 120 seconds and create a 100MB file! For an entire six frame negative carrier, that's 3 to 12 minutes and 600MB (one CD's worth) of files whose handling require a computer during all of this processing. This is acceptable for a few prized negatives, but an insurmountable task for 30-plus years worth of 35mm photo negatives and slides of which many are typically of inconsequential value.
Additionally, the F2D view screen presents a positive image of a hard to interpret orange tinted 35mm negative frame. Slide handling capability is an additional benefit, although it would be nicer if the slide carrier (cartridge) could have been designed to hold more than just 3 slides (but probably too long for included packaging.) The F2D is a good additional tool to one's digital picture arsenal - especially for its low price. This is a fairly new product for which Wolverine provides excellent and friendly direct technical support and is quick to supplement operating instructions (over the phone and on their web site) as the need arises. The SD card should be inserted horizontally with the gold contacts UP. The film media should be placed in the cartridge carrier shiny side UP (dull emulsion side down.)"
59 of 59 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anna Maria Island, FL
Date:December 4, 2008

Great Product

Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"This is a really great product, but one needs to read the manual carefully. I have tried 4 different scanners and an outside service, but this worked as well or better in a fraction of the time. Technical support is also very good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 4, 2008

Excellent product

Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"The instructions are very simple. The scan for the negative is very fast. I don't
worry anymore for my stack of negatives because this machine is my backup.
I can edit the pictures using ADOBE Photoshop.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:December 6, 2008

Excellent idea and product

Pros: compact size, fast conversion, easy to learn
Cons: only 3 slides at a time
Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"My old epson scanner is now in my storage with the big negative feeder.
My wife can finally use the product without a learning curve on computer software. This is truly an excellent idea and product.
"
Review 7 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 28, 2008

Fast Results, Great Images

Pros: great price quick results
Cons: manual needs an update
Model Number: Wolverine F2D scanner
"I have 1000's of older negatives to scan. I tried the scanning-the-photos route, but that was taking FOREVER. I have a great flatbed scanner with negative scanning capabilities. Great scans but WAY too long.
This little scanner is so easy to use. I was able to use it straight out of the box. I emailed Customer Support quickly and received a response in less than 1 hour. I am very satisfied with this negative scanner.
I purchased an extra set of negative trays so I could scan even faster. An extra set of slide trays is next on my list."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF Bay area
Date:December 10, 2008

Couldn't be easier-fantastic buy

Pros: price- simple to use once you understand the menu
Cons: slide and film strip holders hard to open. should, come with at least 3 holders.
Model Number: Wolverine slide converter
"Cannot understand low ratings. Got mine yesterday, Converted b/w film strips and color slides. Came out beautiful and simple to use. I read reviews for the last year on the similiar devices that needs a computer hookup and they had many problems with setup and operating system conflicts. Ordered another one last nite for Xmas gift."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2008

valueable product

"After using F2D, just saying good products, i never seen this product in any shop, so cheap and valuable for me, i taken two and sent it to my brother, tow of us are really like it and save my memories, finally i suggest you buying one to try it, you will like it ........"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:January 15, 2009

Get this copier for slides

Pros: easy to use, small, no computer needed
Cons: slide tray can be difficult to open, flimsy entry/exit doors
Model Number: F2D
"I have, or should I say had, thousands of slides to copy. My first purchase was a good scanner -- I got 500 slides done in one month and tied up a computer doing it. Then I ordered the Wolverine. I can do 500 slides in a DAY!! It's easy to use, small, and is used without a computer. The quality is very acceptable. I have been recommending this to everyone I know who needs to archive slides."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:December 28, 2008

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

Pros: easy to use, clear photos, great tech support, great brand!
Model Number: F2D
"This is such a great product and so easy to use! I very much enjoy the simplicity and fast speed of this product, all the finished photos after coverting are great quality and I'd be able to share the photos easily with my family members. This product is also great since being a semi-professional photographer, I still love the clearity of film photography. However, with this product, I can easily scan the film photos for my clients and not have to send it out for professional scanning. Lastly, the unit does not require a connection to a computer like other products AND the unit comes with a viewing screen unlike others. Love this product and will recommend to all my friends/family/fellow photog colleagues."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:December 28, 2008

Awesome little machine!

Pros: great value, no computer needed just download to flashcard, fast and simple
"I've been using this thing to convert my old 35mm film and it's been everything I expected. No need to send my old film to an expensive shop to convert to digital format. It's quick, easy, and the best part no computer needed. I was able to convert hundreds of negatives in an hour and now I can revisit them on my computer, TV, and share with my family all over again. I highly recommend this product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:December 3, 2008

This really works

"Follow the instructions carefully. Insert
SD Card with the contacts up. Make sure Wolverine is setup to scan slides, if that is your first scan job. Touch up results with Picassa or some other photo software. The results are amazing. I have tried at least 3 other products and none of them produce these excellent results as fast. Buy it and enjoy!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:December 9, 2008

Great Deal

Pros: great quality, low price, works as advertised, quick processing of the image
Cons: manual feed is a little slow
Model Number: F2D
"I read some positive and negative reviews before purchasing the scanner, but after I got it home, I ran some negatives from 1985 through it, and I was amazed to see beautiful, clear, crisp, sharp and well-colored images. Each photo is about 800K in size and I couldn't be more pleased. It worked right out of the box as advertised. and yes, you do need to read the instruction manual before starting - that's a given."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008

Perfect quality for household

"Today i bought a F2D and start scaning film to digital image, in my experence i think it's excellent quality and easy to work, just one button and save to SD memory card, why did i say? All elder isn't familiar with computer then use this device just like using cell phone, my friends will get one this weekend, I think it's good deal....
Have a nice weekend"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 4, 2008

I LOVE this product!

Model Number: F2D
"READ THE VERY CONCISE MANUAL CAREFULLY.....that is the key. At first I had a couple of stumbling blocks, but if you follow the manual carefully, this product is a gem. I just got mine yesterday, and last night I converted well over a 100 old slides that had been stored in my basement for years.....I also did a few negatives, though I don't have so many of those to scan. And it was fun. Not having to hook up to the computer is a HUGE asset too. Its a small unit that sits right on my computer table, and can be stored away when not in use.
I had a cumbersome converter before that used my scanner. It worked, but only 1 slide at a time, and painfully slow. This baby is FAST! I uploaded my slides into Picasa, a program that allows me to work, and improve them....and most old slides need that.
At first the slide carrier was a little tricky for me, but after I got going I became a whiz.....
I'm so glad I discovered this product.
Oh....and another thing, in the manual is a phone number for technical advise. I called it, and to my suprise a REAL LIVE voice answered, and answered my question very carefully, and professionally. I thought that was a BIG plus....."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 6, 2008

Great product and idea

"Great product. Works extremely fast. It turns my old memories back to life. Instead of negatives that I never see again, I was able to convert them into quality digital images. Tech support was extremely helpful."
Review 18 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Ana, CA
Date:December 6, 2008

Great Gift or Price

"Those who had trouble with this unit must not of read the instructions or were Professional Photo people expecting original quality. This has worked beautifully and reduced the clutter in my Garage, as I can now throw out my old boxes of negatives.... I enjoyed the memories again while using this device...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:December 8, 2008

BETTER THAN HAMMACHER SCHLEMMER CONVERTER

Pros: speed and clarity, fast tech support
Cons: learning to quickly open slide containers.
Model Number: F2D
"I was going to rate this at 4 Stars until I used Wolverine tech support. I had instant response to my complaint about my difficulty understanding the F2D User Manual (Ver 1.00). Rico at Tech Support immediately emailed me the Ver 1.01 update. He also said you got to use both thumbs quickly on the FLIP and OK buttons to use the drop down menus as they only stay on about five seconds."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolverine F2D™ 35mm Film to Digital Image Scanner Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Califorina
Date:December 8, 2008

Great Product To Have

Pros: fast to convert easy operation
Cons: can't be slow to make your selection
Model Number: F2D
"I Bought and use this scanner for my family pictures. I love how fast and easy it was to use the film loader tray just push and click. I loaded up film at my Mom's house, and my Aunts house "All those Old Photo's they have "and stored it to my SD card . "I no the SD card was free, but I wish I had a larger card....LOL " when I went home I had Hours of fun. downloading pictures to my computer. Once i figured out the setup. It was on like donkey kong"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>