Customer Reviews for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1680x1050 Contrast Ratio 1000:1 Brightness 300 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
3.474 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
13 of 19(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Review 1 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:December 10, 2008

I Took A Chance...I'm Glad I Did!!!!

Pros: great picture, great price and value
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 22" Envision HDTV
"I have spent some time(months) researching small LCDs for my bedroom. First, this LCDTV is the best value I have been able to find. Second, I typically stick with name brands as well, but I must say I have been pleasantly surprised by the HD picture quality. I connected this to my HD Box and tried both 720p and 1080i settings via component connection and I could not tell a difference in the picture quality. Probably because of the size of the monitor. I watched a little bit of a NBA game to see if I could detect motion blur and I could not! Third, as far as sound quality, it is adequate. Most LCD TVs this size do not have great sound.
My only concern at this point is the long-term durability. I am comforted that Costco extends the warranty to two years on TVs.
Buy it, you won't be disappointed!!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, MT
Date:November 23, 2008

Sound lacking

"Bought this tv based on specs and price. The picture is great and install/setup was easy. Took the TV back after two weeks due to the low quality of the sound. Sound was very "tinny" and distorted if turned up to any level other than very low. Speakers are not good, better values for a few bucks more, bought the Vizio and loved it plus it came with a free HDMI cable (VIZIO did). Would not recommend Envision for purchase"
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 28, 2008

TV/Computer Monitor

Pros: functions adequately as both a tv and computer mon, remote well designed, great price, bought it from costco
Cons: needs more calibration options as a monitor
Model Number: L26W761
"I bought this TV to replace a Sony LCD monitor and an ATI video TV tuner card in my computer. I found the ATI card and remote unsatisfactory as a TV. This Envision TV/Monitor is a great comprimise for both viewing and computing, the color is great and the resolution adequate. I do a lot of photo editing using Photoshop, and find that I have to calibrate the "monitor" occasionally. Fortunately, the calabration for the PC/HDMI function doesn't effect the TV calibration, so I can adjust the color for each seperately. Envision used to make only computer monitors before entering the LCD TV arena, I hope that their monitor experience improves their TV products. Clearly, the functions on the remote show that this TV was targeted for both the TV and Computer industry. Finally, I use seperate speakers, so the quality of the TV speakers doesn't matter to me. I also play my VCR and DVDs thru this TV, also Great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Venice, CA
Date:November 30, 2008

SO FAR, BETTER THEN EXPECTED

"Just bought 2 today. Haven't been able to get it to work with my laptop yet, it powers off when I switch input to D-sub, since it's Sunday Envision is closed. Concierge isn't sure if it will work with a laptop. It works great with a PC, Playstation etc. I have noticed a small blue dot (pixel?) on one...... uh oh?! Oh well, I can always return it and get another right? It is from Costco......I think it's great, especially for the price."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Fl
Date:December 11, 2008

Very good for the price

Pros: crispy image
Cons: poor sound
"For that price you can not ask for more. It has a crispy image and a very good contrast, I will recommend it as a Pc monitor or as a Bedroom TV. The remote control is very simple and the sound is poor, you probably needs to hook it up to a sound system."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:January 4, 2009

Using as a TV and Computer Monitor

Pros: performs well - good pic and sound, excellent value/price
Cons: does not support higher pc resolutions
"I am using the unit as both a Television and Computer monitor in my home office for about one month. Works very well in both roles. Excellent TV picture when provided a digital signal inout. The sound is fine as well. Great computer monitor using the VGA input from the computer. Does not do the higher resolutions a dedicated computer monitor can do - but that is not an issue for me as I like it fine at 1024x768.
Any other brand [when I bought] with comparable specs and screen size is about $100 more than than I paid - making it an excellent value."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Coast USA, NA
Date:December 17, 2008

Super HDTV & Monitor too!

Model Number: AOC L22W898
"Set-up - simple. Use D-SUB input choice for PC. Great picture. TV has One HDMI input. Using TV as Monitor also, so it's not a bother. My DVD player uses other connections as well as HDMI. BUY AOC"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:HOLBROOK, NY
Date:November 27, 2008

WOW!!!

"I TOOK A CHANCE ON A BRAND I NEVER HEARD OF. I'M GLAD I DID. THE PICTURE AND SOUND ARE GREAT. WOW!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:December 24, 2008

Good Product!

"Works as a TV and a computer monitor. Color is good. Sound is okay. Sufficient input options. Good product for the price. It is a perfect fit for occasional viewing, for sure."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 9, 2009

Eight Month Torture Test

Pros: dependable & cost effective hdtv / monitor, lots of input options for the money
Cons: underpowered speakers
"I purchased two of these AOC Envision HDTVs last December and I have tortured both of them daily for upwards of 6 to 10 hours a day. They are mounted to the wall over my desk, one is used strictly as a computer monitor with a VGA input and the other is used as both an HDTV and an RCA video input for a security surveillance system. And yes, I am constantly switching back and forth between the two inputs on that second monitor by using the remote control.
I'm picky, but I'm also a practical person. For the low price offered by Costco, I am very happy with how these two monitors have worked out for me and held up. The picture is not as bright or detailed as my 42" Sceptre and the sound isn't even close, but what do you expect for this super low price?
The sound is really underpowered. As a test, I put one of these monitors about 10 feet away (like you might use the TV in a bedroom), and I almost had to turn the volume up all the way to hear it. I'm not hard of hearing - the sound is just tinny, with no bass, and some shows are just not enjoyable watching through this TV because of it. However, for having the news on there at my desk, it works just fine.
The overall appearance of the monitors is great. In fact, I have had many comments how good the two monitors look mounted next to one another. They are not cheap looking at all and even the base (which I no longer use) seemed to be pretty well designed with an easy tilt feature.
Overall, they have both been very dependable monitors for the past eight months and if your needs are similar to mine, I think you would be hard pressed to find a better deal than this for a multiple input HDTV / monitor.
In addition, these qualify as HDTVs for the Directv rebate program so, I know I ended up getting one of mine for free after rebate (but that was many months ago).
Buy it and try it - you can't really go wrong with Costco's 90 day return and 2 year warranty."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2008

Super Deal for the Holidays

"After getting my first one and watching HD w/comcast, I ordered another one for a gift. The picture is great!! You can not find another 22" like this for the price. I hooked up external speakers and the sound fills the room. Costco always offers the best value for the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tustin, CA
Date:January 6, 2009

Would not recommend

Model Number: AOC Envision 22"
"I was very disappointed and returned this T.V. Sound quality was poor and picture not sharp."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, Ca
Date:December 5, 2008

Great Picture, horrible speakers

Pros: great picture
Cons: horrible sound quality
Model Number: 22 inch Envision
"This set has a great picture in HD, once I adjusted it.. It shows on the on-screen detail as 480p, but looks good at this size. That was the highest resolution I could get out of it.
Unfortunately, the speakers have absolutely horrible sound - your telephone sounds better. So, if adequate sound is not high on your priority list, this is your set, as the price is great.
It comes with one of the skimpiest manuals I have seen in a while, but at least the HDMI and other cables are included, even if the manual says they are not.
I think I will wait until after Christmas and prices drop some more and get something else."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:December 4, 2008

More than I expected

Pros: best bang for your buck, excellent picture for its size
Cons: sound is just alright
Model Number: L22W898
"Let me just start off by saying that I am truly overwhelmed by the picture quality this little lcd tv brings out. Even though its only a 720p , the visuals are truly crisp .Plus, thats all you need since Comcast digital cable's HD channels only has the capabilities to broadcast in 720p - for now. I, however, agree with cheifsfan that the sound quality isn't the best, but it still delivers pretty good audio. And besides, what kind of sound do you really expect from a little 22 inch?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rochester Hills, MI
Date:January 6, 2009

Excellent for the price

Pros: nice crisp picture
Model Number: AOC Envision L22W898 22
"We bought this as a kitchen tv to replace our 13-inch which can't be converted to digital. We don't have cable tv, and still the picture is excellent. Prior reviews have indicated problems with the sound, but we are finding it completely acceptable. Our only problem is that the screen has two barely noticeable dead pixels, a common problem with all LCD screens. So far we are not returning it in the hopes they will become "unstuck"."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 8, 2009

Dead on arrival

Pros: great costco service
Cons: terrible aoc service
Model Number: L22W898
"After spending an hour with the Costco representative (they are great; very courteous) the rep. had to call the factory only to find that the TV will not work in HD. The only way to remedy the problem is to send it to their facility in Industry or just go to the store and exchange it. Any company that sends out DOA products is not going to get my money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:phx, az
Date:December 10, 2008

value for the money

Pros: great picture, really lousy sound, great value for $$$'s
"picture is great.. sound pretty well bites.. has a really tinny sound to it and doesnt go very loud.. with a head set the sound is excellent.. got it for a second monitor/tv set so I could listen with head set if I wanted to watch something different than the other tv. has inputs for my pc/hdmi and s video.. great deal for what I bought it for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:December 7, 2008

Wimpy sound

"This is my first LCD flatscreen tv. I am satisfied with the picture quality, but the sound is very wimpy (at the loudest, it still can't be really heard over my son's little toy train) and not very robust. Will probably take it back, though it is painful to forgo the $15 S&H fee that I paid."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AOC Envision Series 22" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spokane, Washington
Date:December 8, 2008

Fuzzy picture and poor sound

Pros: always like dealing with costco
Model Number: 22" LCD Envision TV
"Picture quality was poor as was the sound quality. Returned to Costco for a refund."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.