Customer Reviews for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill

20” x 60” Treadbelt
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 54
(out of 55 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
16
36 of 55(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Review 1 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:November 14, 2008

Digging my new Nordictrack ZS

Pros: solid unit, fast delivery, easy assembly, stable to run on, display large & easy to read for 40+ yrs old
Cons: needs stronger fan, volume adjustment would be nice
"I ordered a NT Commercial 1500 a few weeks ago and thought it would take 2 -3 weeks to arrive. 2 days later I get a call from the shipping company! They delivered my machine the next day (all the way into the garage, not at the curb), and it was a NT ZS (which I guess is NT's replacement model for the 1500).
I agree with other reviewers that the assembly is easy, the weight of the unit is challenging. However, running on it is AWESOME. I run 4 days/wk, 7 - 7.2 mph and the unit doesn't shake or vibrate. I also wish the fan was stronger, and the speakers are great but not as loud as I would like them (although it has a subwoofer, which is neat)!
For those of you thinking about what to put the treadmill on: I went to the local feed store and bought a 4' x 6' horse stall mat. It is about 1" thick and the unit fits on it perfectly. It was $40, versus the $100+ you would pay for a fitness equipment mat. Warning: the mat weighs about 90 lbs, so have a helper load it into your vehicle.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Long Branch, NJ
Date:August 23, 2009

So far, so good

Pros: great price, big motor, free delivery, huge walking/running pad, folds up
Cons: very heavy
Model Number: NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
"I was worried about buying this because of the mix of bad reviews. Not sure if every machine is bad, or just a batch. Regardless since Costco has an amazing return policy, I decided to chance it.
My local Costco had these in stock for the same price but since it is a huge machine and quite heavy, I decided to take advantage of the free delivery.
It was delivered a week and a half ago. No problems with the delivery. Note: this treadmill is heavy and moving it down stairs will not be easy.
Was able to set it up by myself in a couple of hours. It should have taken less than an hour but ran into a snag with the bolts not aligning (HINT - using a flashlight, align the bolts from the top looking down into the tube with someone else turning them from the bottom as you align them).
We've been using the treadmill for the past 8 days with no problems at all. My wife and daughter both love it.
For the price, you cannot beat this treadmill. I'll keep my fingers crossed that it does not break."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West New York, NJ
Date:December 12, 2008

Worst purchase ever

Pros: none
Cons: difficult to install, does not work
"This probably is the worst purchase I have ever made. I would have rated 0 star if I can. IT SIMPLY DOES NOT WORK! Just like the other reviewer mentioned, the installation is very difficult due to it's size and weight. And after I put all the pieces together, guess what? It does not work. It turned on fine, then after running by itself for a few seconds, it stops. I thought the belt might be too tight so I adjusted it, no help. It stops after running either a few seconds or a few minutes. Called customer service today and was told the same thing as what the other reviewer was told - something wrong with the motherboard. What's worse, they are now out of motherboard, which means I have to wait until their next shipment arrives. And they don't even know when their next shipment will arrive. I really doubt whether installing a motherboard will help after reading other buyer's comments. I guess I am going to take it back to the store and get another one."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 23, 2008

Poor Customer Service

Pros: good cushioning and sound system
Cons: $45 charge for warranty work, speed fluctuates on its own, console is too far forward - hard to reach, heart rate sensors are not accurate, expensive $100 heart rate strap not included
"We purchased this treadmill based on high marks by a review site. However, our unit fluctuates in speed on its own and the heart rate monitor is way off (by the way, your Polar heart rate strap will not work with this unit. You have to buy theirs at $100).
With these problems, we contacted customer service expecting to get this fixed under warranty. Well its not free! They want $45 to do warranty work - each and every time you need it. What is the use of a warranty if you have to pay for it.
Therefore, we are taking are unit back to Costco. What a pain. Save yourself the trouble and buy a better treadmill.
The only plus is that Costco always stands behind your purchases and we can still return the unit. Thanks Costco.
"
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 9, 2008

NT Commercial Folding TM

Pros: motor sound system
Cons: hard deck horrible customer service
"I bought this treadmill approximately one year ago. Overall, it is an OK treadmill with a strong motor and a great sound system, but has its share of problems.
I wish the deck were a bit softer. This deck is definitely much harder than other treadmills I have owned, without much give.
The TV is nice, and keeps me entertained while I run. For some reasone, it does not get all the channels that my cable provides (excluding HD channels). I have talked to customer support, and they agree this is a problem, but do not know how to fix it.
That brings me to the customer service. Oh, where do I begin? Icon Fitness has probably the worst customer service in the industry. While the TM is under a full warranty, they will ship you the part, but charge you for shipping. If you need a tech to come out and repair the problem (which shouldn't have occured in the first place), they charge $45 for "travel fee".
Overall, an average treadmill, and horrible customer service."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008

Great Deal

"I bought this treadmill a couple of weeks ago based on reviews from other websites. I have put around twenty miles on it so far with a combination of walking and running. I am around 200 lbs right now and this machine holds my weight perfectly and is very quiet. I wasn't planning on using the sound system but after listening to it I have used it every time so far. Setup only took around fifteen minutes but I had to adjust the belt (loosen) because it felt like it was stopping as I was walking/running. After making that adjustment, which only took a minute after reading the manual, it works perfectly. It is a little bulky to move around but it can be done if necessary. I actually prefer this treadmill to the ones I have used in my local gyms."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Monroe, WA
Date:January 3, 2009

Bad Warranty and Customer Service

Pros: when working this was a great treadmill
Cons: broke less than two weeks after purchase.
"I purchased this treadmill less than 20 days ago. The first two weeks I was very happy with my purchase. Since then, I am not. It stopped reading the speed. I adjusted the sensor and calibrated the treadmill while on the phone with the customer service agent. No luck. The told me I need a new display and it will take 2 - 3 months before they can ship this item since they are out of stock. I just made this purchase from Costco, how can they be out of stock?
I asked for a supervisor at the customer care for NordicTrack and was told they are not available to talk with customers. This had to be the worst experience with any Call Center I have ever had. I will never purchase from NordicTrack again."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Jordan, UT
Date:October 27, 2008

Good Treadmill, Icon Service Issues

Pros: strong 3.0 hp motor, very quiet, costco customer service, a lot of workout options, easy to set up
Cons: icon's customer service is lacking at best
"After a TON of research, we decided to pick up this treadmill from our local Costco. It has one of the best motors for the money, a huge jogging surface, and is very quiet. We got it home, setup was a breeze, and all seemed well.
On the third or fourth day I decided to workout with my iPod attached. The sound was good, but the left speaker was blown. I called Icon (as the packaging insert requests) and the lady on the phone said that this model doesn't have a left and right speaker...it only has one. Now, I am not a total idiot. I could hear sound out of the right side and out of the subwoofer (yes, this treadmill has a subwoofer) but I could not hear sound from the left. Looking through the metallic grille I could see a speaker and i communicated this to the Icon rep. She insisted that my model did not have those speakers and that I need to be referred to a product development specialist.
Needless to say, that seemed like a lot of work for a bad part on new treadmill. I called Costco and, in keeping with their tradition of excellent customer service, they swapped out the console and now all is well…including great sound from mystery speakers that supposedly don’t exist :-)"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vernon, NJ
Date:December 30, 2008

WELL WORTH IT!

Pros: sturdy well designed, 3.0 chp motor, 60" long running surface, great display, costco warrenty!
Cons: none so far
"This treadmill is great... VERY stable. I've had 3 others in the past eight years... ALL were several hundred dollars more than this one and were not built as well as this one. Even the side rails are better with anit-slip treads and they don't squeek when you step on them like on some other models. The sound system is surprisingly good and the volume is semi-adjustable... read the directions. I use my LG phone as an MP3 player, but you can use anything with a standard earphone jack.
Sure it was tough getting up to the 2nd floor of my house, but 2 strong people should be able to do it. It went together with no problems and there is no "smell" that I can detect. It's a very 'solid' trreadmill.
I'm a walker/jogger and do about 5 miles (about an hour) every morning while watching the morning shows.
I also own a NT Commercial Eliptical which has been great too! We bought both machines from Costco this year and love them both. My last readmill was an Image1080 purchased at Costco about 3 years ago. When the motor went a couple of months ago, I called Costco to ask what I should do and they said bring it back for a full refund! I did and they gave me this new, better treadmill, plus a beautiful, new Berkline swival-glider-recliner... and $300 BACK!!!!
How can you go wrong?
I love Costco!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:October 27, 2008

So far, so good...!

Pros: 3.0 hp commercial grade, stable, easy to assemble, grippy belt, ipod feature/speakers, good looking, space saver folding, costco price/return policy, warranty
Cons: nordicktrack owned by proform, pretty large & heavy, massive box to temporarily keep around the house
"Just picked this up a few days ago to replace my old ProForm Sport. I weigh 190 lbs. and tend to run 6-7 mph for 3-6 miles 4 times/week. I wore out my ProForm Sport 1000 very quickly, as it was not commercial grade (1.75 HP).
This 3.0 HP machine is incredible! Very stable, love the iPod plug in, excellent display and ease of use. During a run, my water bottle hardly shakes... My wife and I put it together in under 30 min. I noticed the smell of new plastic/rubber (actually, I like it) however, it is in our garage, not the house...
Found it in stock at my local store for $799.00 vs. $899.00 online. Worth checking out.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:October 23, 2008

One drawback

"The treadmill is sturdy, easy to operate and works well, consistently. My only issue with it is the odor; our unit gives off a very pungent unpleasant smell that has not dissipated in the 5 months we've owned it. If I knew about this at the time of purchase, I would not have bought this unit."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 29, 2008

Incline motor failed

Pros: very sturdy and feels solid
Cons: very very heavy. not easy to fold
Model Number: Nordictrack Com 1500
"1 year and 1 week after buying this treadmill, the incline motor failed. The incline is now stuck at 12%. Called customer service and they asked me to run few diagnostics and concluded that the motor has failed and needs replacement ($150). Thanks to costco's return policy, I will be taking it back to costco.
I have seen few more people complain about the incline motor as well. Its really frustrating to take such a heavy piece back to costco to return.
I like the treadmill though. Its very sturdy and feels good. I might end up buying the same machine again!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 22, 2008

Great treadmill

Pros: good value, speaker system
Cons: preset workouts aren't very adjustible, odor
"We have run about 75 miles on this treadmill so far at varying speeds; I run a 10:00-12:00 pace and my BF does a 6:00-7:00 pace with 5:00 pace on intervals. The primary reason we chose this particular model was the fact that it goes up to 12 MPH (5:00 pace). The treadmill has worked great for us so far. We have had no mechanical incidents to speak of and have been using it for about 8 workouts a week for up to 6 miles at a time. The speakers are a great feature, and I think it should be mentioned that they don't only work with an iPod--you can use any portable music device because it connects to the treadmill through the headphone jack. The treadmill is heavy and somewhat hard to move, but I can't understand why other reviewers are complaining about this. Don't you want a sturdy treadmill?!! Assembly took under an hour with the two of us. The only con I can think of, which other reviewers have mentioned, is there is somewhat of a smell to the treadmill. At first I thought it was my BF's B.O. from running, but it is in fact the treadmill. It really isn't too bad and I think it may abate over time. My only other minor complaint is that the preset workouts are not very adjustable; you can adjust the speed or incline but when it moves to the next workout segment it goes back to the default. You can get around this by programming your own workouts but we haven't tried this yet. I'm not convinced that this treadmill will last us for 20 years of heavy use, but it seems to be good quality for the price and is perfect for getting in our winter workouts. We are very happy with this purchase. P.S. – Check your local warehouse as it is cheaper there than online."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DeSoto, Kansas
Date:December 28, 2008

Great if you don't need to hold on...

Pros: quick speed changes for doing interval training
Cons: handles are too low
"The item was shipped quickly. It works great for me! I love it! I jog at 6-7 and sometime do windsprints on it at 8-9. The treadmill does and great job and feels solid. The only thing I don't like is the front handles seem low. If you walk and need to hold on or want use the heart rate feature, I don't think it's comfortable at all. I am 5'8" and it seem low to me. I was trying out the incline and found it uncomforable to hold on. I wish the fan blew harder but it's better than not having one. It works great for me but the handles might be a problem for a person that needs to hold on while walking. I just wanted to pass that observation on."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 23, 2008

Great Treadmill for a Great Price

Pros: great motor sturdy numerous features
Cons: none so far
"Just got this unit setup a few days ago, and have now had the opportunity to try out all of the features. I'm very satisfied with this purchase... the unit is very sturdy, relatively quiet, has a powerfull motor and has nice bells & whistles like the fan & aux input. I keep telling my wife that it compares very favorably to the treadmills in the gym at my office, which is really the whole point with this unit - a commercial treadmill for an "average" price.
As others have said, installation took approximately an hour with 2 people, and was very straight-forward.
Finally, thought that the online price was a great deal as it includes curbside / garage shipping. It's a few bucks cheaper in the store, but not if you have to rent a truck to move it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 29, 2008

It Does the Job...

"I've had this treadmill for a few months and run on it 5-6 days per week. I have only done 2-3 miles at a time. I do running/sprinting intervels as well. With the pounding that goes on while running and sprinting, I'm just overall impressed that any treadmill can withstand that type of force, and this one seems to be holding up. The speakers are pretty cool, too. My husband also pounds our treadmill at the max 12 mph speed with no suspecting issues. So I think our treadmill will hold up for at least a few years without any major issues."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:November 7, 2008

Great priced machine

"Pros: 3.0 hp commercial grade, stable, easy to assemble, grippy belt, ipod feature/speakers, space saver folding, costco price/return policy, warranty
Cons: pretty large & heavy, could use a stronger fan
Bought this machine last year at holiday season, and have put several hundred miles on it. Still runs like a champ. Easy to adjust speed and incline. Truly has been a great addition to our home workouts. I really like the extra long belt for running."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 17, 2008

Item stops working shortly after purchase

Cons: difficult to move into house, stops working after one use
"The first time I used this machine it worked fine. The second time I got on the machine, turned the speed up to 3 mph and instead the belt started flying at 7+ mph. I had to step to the sides of the machine due to the extreme speed and when I hit the stop button it beeped but nothing happened. The emergency stop cord had to be pulled in order to get the machine to stop. Once I got back on the machine the time and distance meters kept running but the machine would not work. I tried to reset the machine and change outlets etc but nothing worked. This should not have happened after using the machine only once!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 30, 2008

great treadmill

"I have used a treadmill at the gym for years. My schedule had simply goptten too hectic to get to the gym, so we decided to put together a home gym. This machine is similar in quality to the machines at my gym, though the gym machines have a more powerful fan. My husband, who is 6 foot 2 and 240 lbs uses this and loves it as do I at 5'6, 130. There isn't a ton of assembly, but assembly is a two person job for sure. I was hesitant because I wanted an extended warranty and costco does not offer them, but there is literature in the package to order an extended warranty from the manufacturer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NordicTrack ZS Commercial Folding Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Date:September 3, 2009

Solid Treadmill, Minor Problems Addressed

Pros: solid machine sold by costco
Cons: length of time to receive parts
Model Number: NTL09108.1
"After researching new & used treadmills, we bought this one for its high rating in its class and because of Costco's great return policy. It was a beast to carry and maneuver but, as others have said, we knew from past experience that we wanted a heavy treadmill that wouldn't rock or vibrate during running. My husband & son had a hard time moving it around a corner, only to discover later that the front "legs" could be adjusted. Wish the instructions had mentioned that the front legs can be pivoted during set-up.
Once the treadmill was set up, it made a thumping sound in the back. I called ICON, which referred me to a service company and sent me a rear roller free of charge. (We did use it a few times and were very happy with the performance.) The technician put in the new roller (also free of charge) but had to order another part. After a total of about 4 weeks, the treadmill is now running beautifully. Based on earlier reviews, we knew the risk but have been very pleased with the performance, service and response (and just had to be a little patient). It's a solid, quiet treadmill, and the features are great. Worth the effort, and you're dealing with Costco, which stands by its merchandise."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>