Customer Reviews for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set

Bed, 2 Nightstands, Dresser, Mirror, Chest
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
7 of 13(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Review 1 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 26, 2008

Love the headboard!!!!

Pros: beautiful headboard
Cons: drawers don't have a smooth glide
"Just recieved the bedroom collection. The headboard is gorgeous and the overall collection looks good ( the wood with the black edging is a nice touch). My only complaint is that the drawers don't glide as nicely as I would like. For the price of the collection it's still a great deal. But if the drawers are a concern-buy the bed only and you won't be disappointed!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:March 12, 2010

Great purchase for the money

"For what we paid, this was a great purchase. Furniture looks very nice (i.e. not at all cheap). I was afraid of purchasing from a website without looking at the products in person, but I was pleasantly surprised. The delivery people were great. I just wish mirror set-up was part of the delivery services. Alas, the mirror has been sitting in the corner for several months now - my fault though."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2009

good purchase overall

"i'm very satisfied with the purchase, great, modern, sleek looking design. the wood is actually a darker finish than how it's shown in the photo (more close to cherry wood). i don't mind the darker finish, but just want to point that out. also, you don't need box spring since the bed is a platform bed. delivery and setup was great as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:May 8, 2010
Cons: poor quality
"The delivery was good; however the products are not. The stain was MUCH darker than the photo, which we are okay with the color. The wood seems to be light and not heavy. The craftsmanship was quite bad and the product quality is almost a 2 stars at best. We purchased the 6-piece king size for our guest bedroom. The stain on the headboard and footboard is uniformed and the surfaces are smooth. The headboard shakes if you wiggle it. (Unlike this bed, our other king bed in the master is very solid, absolutely no movement when you shake the headboard or push the bed around, even on hardwood floor.) One nightstand drawers does not close flushed and the opened shelf on the top has few stain drips. A few of the dresser drawers are also have stain drips on the inside of the door face. All of the DRAWERS ARE NOT FULLY EXTENDED AND THE DRAWER BOTTOMS ARE NOT SMOOTH AT ALL. They are quite sandy to touch. We were surprised that there were no protections of any kind on the bottom of the legs of the bed. Normally, we would see a plastic or felt piece attached to each leg.
We contacted Costco.com and they said the manufacturer will contact us. We have not heard from them yet.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:February 5, 2011

Bought two years ago and still get compliments

"Not that that many people get to see my room, but the lucky few love this furniture. The color is very nice. The finish is consistent. Set up was fast and perfect. One drawer broke a few months later and Costco overnighted a new drawer! The stuff is amazing for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2010

Disappointed

Model Number: 351288
"We were excited to receive our new Pescara bedroom set but were very disappointed when we saw the color of the wood. It doesn't look anything like the online photos. It is much darker.
We are returning it but would like to compliment Costco in their handling of the return. They were very courteous.
"
Review 7 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 24, 2011

Disappointed but hurray for Costco

Pros: build quality, delivery, setup, overall look
Cons: inaccurate color depiction, awkward drawer design, drawers do not open far enough
Model Number: Pescara 6-pc King Bedroom Set
"1) Was very deceived by the color in the pictures compared to real life. MUCH darker and more red that the picture. Can't believe it is the same finish in the picture.
2) I found the drawers in the dresser to be very awkward. They are very deep but narrower than what I am used to and do not open far enough to be useful. The width on the chest of drawers is much better but very shallow. They also do not open and close smooth or easy at all (might be by design).
Other than that, the quality was acceptable and I had not other issues. Delivery and assembly was done quickly and without damage. I am returning to Costco and buying another set..."
Review 8 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:July 12, 2011

Good Deal - Looks Great

Pros: looks good with decent quality, customer service and delivery/set-up was good
Cons: drawers don't pull out far or hold tons of stuff
"I had originally purchased the Marseilles collection - it was FAR too dark and "country" for my taste, and the quality was not up to snuff. I was very happy to return it for this Pescara collection. The color matched my other furniture and woodwork perfectly (although is is slightly darker than the photos here show,) and the quality was much higher than the Marseille. It's not quality of the furniture you had in your bedroom as a kid, but this set delivers what you expect for the price you pay.
I am now satisfied, and having looked at the prices of similar sets elsewhere, this is a good deal."
Review 9 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern california
Date:April 17, 2010

Different color

"Color is Not what is in the photos on this site. Its way darker, like cherry but no redness. look at the "Marseilles collection" on this site. Same manufacturer, same set except for headboard, but the color on that set is closer to what you will receive. I would say the color is in between the Pescara and the Marseille. In any case that's how it seems to my wife and I. The previous reviewer has the same impression so do your own research and come to your own conclusions. In any case my wife and I were looking for a slightly darker wood than in the picture and bought it based on the previous reviewer's impression of it being darker. We were not disappointed. The white glove delivery was very good and the set was not damaged in the least. I was disappointed that the draws are not on rollers. Even Ikea has rollers on their draws for Pete's sake. The draws work fine in any case. Very sturdy, elegant and with a beautiful uniform stain. High quality for sure. Just be present when the delivery guys are busy. They will be less likely to be rough and cut corners if you're standing there. Oh, one more thing, the bed frame does not require a mattress box because it has slats, HOWEVER, invest the $100 in a pair of good fabric covered 2" bunkie boards to protect the mattress from slats-marks and exposure of the mattress to the raw wood."
Review 10 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:April 15, 2011

Poor quality; amazing customer support

Pros: amazing customer support
Cons: poor quality
"First, let me say we are avid costco customers; I always speak highly about costco and the service we have received. This was the first time we ever had an incident with quality with anything we have purchased over >10 years of shopping. It was the first time we purchased furniture online in general but since we've come to trust the quality of previous furniture purchased in the warehouse we assumed there would be no issues.
After writing paragraph after paragraph of issues, I've decided to sum it up into this. If you have kids and/or have a big and tall spouse, don't by this set. The stain does not last; it's easily lifted with minor spills and scratches exposing raw wood. The first chest we had was extremely wobbly and replaced. The second was less wobbly without weight in/on it but better once drawers were filled but not completely corrected. The bed's support is awful unless you are a light couple or singleton. The three supporting legs that hold the center support beam are poorly constructed and strip easily when screwing in; we had to have this replaced and the second set was defective as well. Since there is basically no center support, several of the 13 "support slats" broke and upon inspection only a few of them were screwed into the side rails during assembly. After months of issues and back pain the whole side rail finally broke off.
I LOVED the look of the bed; I loved the color and shapes in picture and on arrival. We had no issues with it looking different then it appeared online; however that could be a monitor calibration issue and not misrepresentation on costcos' part.
Another positive is the customer service; our confidence in purchasing with costco was slightly damaged however, re-cooperated by the support we have received over the past year with repairs and finally a return and refund."
Review 11 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bonita Springs, FL
Date:July 22, 2011

Good Deal For The Money

Pros: sleek design, price, costco service
Cons: soft finish, support
"The product is darker than photo would lead you to believe, more like dark cherry than walnut. Our assembly team did a great job & screwed in every board to the frame. There are only 3 legs that support the middle of the bed, they are screwed in & a board is bolted along the top. The delivery lady said she has the same bed & her slats broke after her grandchildren were jumping on the bed. That's understandable, its a wide expanse for the boards to support. Even our queen bed has this issue. We are going to buy additional supports and perhaps some plywood sheets to ensure ours don't break. The finish is softer (ie might scratch easily) than I'd like, but we like the color & I expected it & wasn't surprised. I might put a glass top on the bedside tables for insurance. The mirror is small & does need hardware to hang and the drawers do not roll, but the tongue & groove construction is really nice. All that said, Its much nicer than comparable products I priced at discount retailers. We are using it for a vacation/rental & its perfect. I love the styling & am delighted with the price."
Review 12 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2011

A low quality bedroom set

Pros: price is good
Cons: bad quality
"I do not understand why this bedroom set was given a 5 star rating. I feel I have to give my review. I bought this set about half year ago. The delivery was fast and smooth. However this set smelled like human sweat in my bedroom. The slats supporting the mattress looked very fragile and the surface was rough, which may damage your mattress. One of the slat was broken 1 month later. I returned the set to the vendor in the end."
Review 13 for Pescara 6-piece King Bedroom Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:October 19, 2011

poor quality

Pros: costco costumer support; looks good
Cons: poor quality
"Center support legs and support bar are not durable. The support legs were broken down after one month later."