Customer Reviews for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive

Capacity Gauge Automatic Backup Includes: USB 2.0 Cable
Average Customer Rating:
3.55 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
4
13 of 20(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Review 1 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2009

Cheap

Model Number: Western digital
"Mine broke after 1 month of very minimal usage. It seems to be so cheap compared to the earlier models."
Review 2 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Brandan, FL
Date:June 18, 2009

Do not support external USB boot

"Everything is fine. However, it does not support external USB boot for Windows XP. I guess I have to return it."
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:February 4, 2009

Awesome

Pros: most compact you can get for a 500 gb drive, does not require external power, short usb cable so you do not have to tie-strap., very intuitive backup software.
Cons: led should have been on the front side
"Most Compact you can get for a 500 GB drive
Does not require external power
Short USB cable, so you do not have to tie-strap.
Very intuitive backup software.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:June 1, 2009

Highly recommended

Model Number: My Passport 500 GB
"Works great even with my notebook. If you have a cheap junk-o notebook you might have a power problem but mine worked just fine with this drive even on a 2+ hour flight!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Alameda, CA
Date:March 23, 2009

Does Not Work with Powerbooks

Pros: small relatively inexpensive.
Cons: no power adapter input so useless on some laptops
Model Number: WD5000MLC-00
"If you own a Mac Powerbook, don't buy this. The USB port on the Powerbook does not provide enough power to run the drive. It does run on my MacBookPro and on my new iMac, however."
10 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009

Open the case

"If you have a newer laptop just get "My Passport". Open up the case. Open up your laptop and now you have a laptop with a 500GB hard drive. Then put your old drive in the case and guess what you have an external drive."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, Texas
Date:January 27, 2009

BEWARE:Does not work with VISTA 64bit

Model Number: 500G Elite
"I bought this product for its back up capability, but back up software does not work with vista 64bit.
Vista 64bit has been around for a long time. This is supposed to be a "new product" should a new product be compatible with not so new technology?
I'm disappointed. I will return my purchase."
16 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:May 26, 2009

Best Portable USB Hard Drive

Pros: plug and play user friendly good backup software, easy to use good support site
Cons: you need to format it ntfs
Model Number: 500GB Elite
"This is my 2nd purchase of the WD Portable Hard drive. I already have a 250Gb one but wanted to have more portable storage space at my disposal.
I have never had a problem with these drives. This one comes with a good sync and backup software for free which is really helpful.
A must buy for people who need Large portable support"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle,WA
Date:May 13, 2009

not bad, not great

Pros: small 500gb with case & wire
Cons: slow
"average transfer speed 7-9 mbps,
what is very slow. My other one acomdata 320GB have 25 Mbps(65mbps with esata cable).FYI Hitachi brand makes the best ever portable HDs.
On other side this WD works with 64 bit Vista, looks great, small in size and big in capacity, comes woth soft case. Final verdict 500Gb with 8mbps speed rate will take about 2days to transfer your data.
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:May 29, 2009

Couldn't run off my laptop

Pros: small
Cons: doesn't work on laptops, slow
Model Number: wd5000mlc-00
"Tech support said most laptops don't provide sufficient power to drive to allow it to work!...even when plugged in, so they would need to send me a cable to plug into 2 USB slots at same time. I thought this was a "take it with you" drive. You'd think a hard drive company like WD would work out that problem first. "here's a portable external harddrive...that doesn't work on your laptop""
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wynnewood, PA
Date:June 3, 2009

An excellent purchase

Pros: excellent quality/price ratio
Model Number: Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite
"We have several WD 500 GB hard drives at home and I use them daily. None has ever failed. I read in an earlier review that the sync program does not work with Vista 64 - I had an HP with Vista (until Vista crashed) and the sync program did not work well - but neither did most of the other programs I bought. So it is a Vista problem really.
This hard drive works well with both an HP laptop and with a MacBook Pro - no power issue."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lahaina, Maui, HI
Date:September 9, 2009

Works OK on Vista 64

Pros: reasonably priced depenable
Cons: need to reformat to ntfs
Model Number: 500GB Elite
"There's a post here complaining about Passport not working with Vista 64. I strongly disagree with that post:
I have 3 units attached to my HP Laptop at the moment (Docking station used, too). All drives were reformatted to NTFS spec and WD backup software removed.
Not the fastest drives, not the slowest, either,
For me all have been very dependable and work without heat or noise issues. I recommend the drives as backups drives."
Review 13 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hanover, MD
Date:August 31, 2009

Software Problematic

Pros: usb power is great, protability
Cons: backup software is problem
Model Number: My Passport Elite 500GB
"First of all, the drive is exceedlingly slow. Secondly, the backup software is troublesome. When it encountered an error the application simply stopped while the troublesome file was requeued for a second attempt. I solved the problem by uninstalling the supplied software and did my backup using my Norton360 software. That worked great. Apparently one must pay another premium in order to backup a second computer using the supplied software. No problem with Norton360. Otherwise I have no problem with the drive itself."
Review 14 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntley, IL
Date:August 9, 2009

WD 500GB My Passport Elite--its a great buy!

Pros: runs cool and quiet and no hint of any problems
Cons: none
Model Number: WD 500GB My Passport Elite
"My Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite--it just works!
I use it as an external backup for two Macs: a MacBook Core 2 Duo and an Intel Mac mini.
The Passport Elite has two GUID partitions with HFS+ on each. I do backup bootable clones for each Mac about twice a week.
The drive runs cool and quiet with no hint of any problems since buying it late last year.
I will be buying more Passport Elites to replace external storage that I have now.
I do have two 1 TB drives for temporary storage of large files that I work on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:May 15, 2009

Good and small

Pros: small and fast
Cons: not free?
"I was about to complete a review on this product and give it 1 star, because it was way too sloooowwww. But then I decided to connect it to anothe USB port, and this puppy is flying! So this is a word of caution for you. If it seems slow, you may be using an old USB port (1.1).
The metallic finishing of the case is pretty nice. The plastic part however, I would say is slightly cheap, and I am expecting to see some scratches on it in a bit.
It has a nice LED display, which I think shows how full your drive is. Nice purchase overall."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:September 27, 2009

Reliable for data, but backup software did not wor

Pros: reliable
Cons: backup software
"I use multiple computers and needed something that would last during daily use. I've been through a dozen of thumb drives which lasted from 1 to 4 month and finally decided to go with a larger drive. I used this drive on daily basis for at least 8 hours per day for about a year. I used my personal computer as backup. I used it mainly on XP Pro and Vista, and occasionally on other non-Mac OS’s. Never had a problem. However, I could not get their backup software to work. I lost my drive last week and I’m going back to Costco to buy the same."
Review 17 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:So. Cal
Date:August 15, 2009

Good but slow

Pros: bus powered (for real), slim nice feel
Cons: slow
Model Number: My Passport Elite 500GB
"I can't entirely fault the product for being slow. After all it has wide compatibility, being able to run off USB bus power (no special double port adapter needed) even with our Macs which occasionally don't have quite enough juice to run some other USB powered drives. The finish is that soft-touch rubber like stuff that's pretty nice. And it's quiet.
But man, compared to Firewire, it's a dog. If you're lucky enough to have 6 pin (e.g. bus powered) firewire on your system, spend the extra for a Firewire+USB drive. On macs they can be up to twice as fast, real world speed - talking like 25MB/sec vs. 12MB/sec on this thing."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:September 12, 2009

Don't buy it

"This WD external hard drive worked okay for the first few months....then it stopped backing up. The diagnosis for the external hard drive was: "FILE SYSTEM CORRUPT". Now what do I do with it, return it with sensitive data, which can be recovered even if I wipe it?
My second complaint is that you cannot plug it into your USB or Unplug it without shutting down your computer first. There is a button on your desktop tray that should turn the Ext. drive off so you can safely disconnect it, but it does not reliably work..........according to the Wester Digital web site AND my own experience. My older - non portable external drive is 3 years old and works like a champ.
This is my first and last WD product."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:January 29, 2009

Passport Elite

Pros: easy to use quick and does not stress out your pc
Cons: tried registering the backup software - wd busy
"Purchased the WD Passport Elite 500 GB drive about a week ago. Wish I would have made the purchase weeks ago. There is nothing that can motivate someone quicker than to lose data on your PC or laptop. Recently lost years of e-mails for work and if I would have had this product, well, I would be happier today.
So far.. better than anything SimpleTech has to offer.
I believe the software is free with this version of the Passport but the Backup software (from the website) indicates I have less than 30 days for the Trial. It happens to be the latest version so I am working through this issue.
Try launching the software on the drive and let it run out to the web to update the software vs dragging the more recent copies down from the web.
The WD site claims to be busy or under going maintenance. I have been getting the message for days. Sent an e-mail / feedback to WD, still waiting for a reply."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Western Digital 500GB My Passport Elite Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Date:May 19, 2009

Great Hard Drive

Model Number: WDMES5000TN
"Great product! Very convenient and looks great! I love how it fits in a pocket. It's essentially a lap top hard drive in a plastic enclosure!
"Plug and play" rocks! I did not want all the unnecessary software it came with so I formatted my new drive to the NTFS standard for more room! This drive is worth is value and holds a lot of your goodies safely!
I'll be buying more of these. For the price you get so much bang for your buck! You cant go wrong getting one of these. I've had mine long enough to know it is reliable! I am very happy with mine and put it through some tests and it took it in stride!
I've loaded graphic files and music on mine and I still have room for more. My friends raved about it and were extremely impressed that something so small held so much information not to forget the great price! This little drive is contagious! Three friends purchased one a few days later because they liked mine and it's value! Kudos to WD for this drive!"