Customer Reviews for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System

Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
(out of 27 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
18 of 27(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Review 1 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:November 24, 2009

"mostly" easy to follow instructions

Model Number: DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
"the illustrations were good and fairly easy to follow but 2 cabinets either had "assumed" information or I need to go back and read again.
Some "pre-drill holes" for the screw lock studs were a little loose and didn't allow for snug fit when screwing into panels.
I spent a total of 4 hours assembling all components, setting in place, leveling, etc...My finished product looks like the pictures."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morristown, NJ
Date:June 19, 2012

Excellent buy

Pros: easy but time consuming assembly.
"For the money, this is an excellent system. Sure, it's particle board made in China, but it is packed very good. One carton was torn, but no internal damage. Understanding the material, I used a screwdriver (not a power driver) to install the connection dowels so as not to strip holes. If you're in a hurry and want to blow this out with power tools, expect crumbling particle board if not done with care. It took about 12 hours to assemble. Very easy directions, all parts numbered. A ll mounting holes line up and everything is pre-drilled. No directions came with the shelf unit, but the picture on the carton saved the day. I would have preferred cardboard back panels in the cabinets, but for the price, I can't complain. A very nice touch is the wall cabinet mounting cleat has a built in level bubble and is pre-drilled for stud spacing. Many leftover screws. This is an economical system I'll leave with the house when we sell. It looks great in a freshly painted garage."
Review 3 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:April 26, 2010

Very Poor Quality

Cons: very poor quality materials, will not hold up to normal use
Model Number: 352861 Complete Garage System
"This product is very poor quality. The wood will not hold a screw. They will just spin before they tighten up. Several of the cam bolts holding the top of a cabinet pulled out with very little pressure. One of the cams brook when tightening. Again with very little pressure. All of this on just one of the five cabinets. I will be very surprised if these hold together for more than a few months. I am very disipointed that Costco is selling a product of this poor of quality."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:April 13, 2011

Very heavy but.....not worth it

Pros: none
Cons: heavy but cheap particle board
"We were so excited about this. Arrived super fast and delivered by a great carrier but that is where the excitement ends! WIth the very first set of company provided screws drilled in place the cabinets split. My husband is an exceptional craftsman and I can guarantee you, it wasn't due to installer error! This is the ONLY thing I have ever ordered from Costco that wasn't exceptional."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:April 12, 2010

Happy with product

Pros: looks great when done!
Cons: instructions are not too helpful
Model Number: DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
"This is a very nice product. As the other reviewer said, the instructions could use a LOT of help. Now that it's done, it looks great and even my wife (who was skeptical) is happy with our purchase. It took much longer than 4 hours for us to assemble, btw."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010

Poor Quality Product

"It is press board with a plastic coating that cracks. It comes in approx 10 boxes many of which are over 100 pounds. Only assembled one box, and that was enough to send it back. Had to use my own screws for half the project because the pre drilled holes where to deep and the screws were to short. One drawer bottom was cracked and was unuseable. It was just poor quality for the price paid. Not very sturdy,"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:April 27, 2009

++Great Price-Decent Product-Awful Instructions++

Pros: great look, great function
Cons: difficult setup, horrible instructions
"I am happy with my finished cabinets and the price was great at nearly half the price of others that don't look/function as well. That being said, setup on these was a nightmare. Read and reread the instructions before you begin and be prepared to improvise and learn as you go. The instructions show you to install pieces standing up, but you quickly learn it goes smoother when they are laying down. Also, you will learn to skip ahead and rearrange some of their steps. It took about 5.5 hours to set up the entire set and install in my garage. You don't have to have a second person help, but it may be to your advantage."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:May 5, 2011

Not worth the price

"This is a disappointing product - definitely not up to Costco standards. Flimsy, particle board, difficult to assemble. Laminate finish is very thin and cheap (more like paint) and easily damaged. Not durable for a garage.
Would have returned it for a refund if I hadn't invested two days in the assembly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2009

Great Price

Model Number: DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
"Received extra fast shipping on this item. Storage system is heavy duty and durable. It's a very nice set up for the price. The large storage cabinet does not come with any backing, a thin sheet of plywood would provide additional stability for this unit. Overall the 5-pc is a great set."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:October 10, 2010

Not a good purchase

Cons: not worth purchase
Model Number: Item #35286
"I am surprised Costco sells this product. The instructions are pictures only, no word instructions. The pictures show assembly that when attempted as shown result in parts breaking apart. Obviously no engineer was involved in these instructions. The holes are pre-drilled too large so the screws do not tighten as they should. Time will tell whether they will hold. Parts do not fit as they should, i.e., drawers do not fit under the tops when assembled and doors are difficult to adjust. Overall, I am sorry I purchased this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 27, 2010

Good quality for the $$$

Pros: looks great, good size
Cons: time consuming assembly, spilled battery acid on surface and it stained
"Overall I am satisfied with the purchase of this system. It does take A LOT OF TIME to assemble. The feet at the floor and hinges are adjustable so you can get everything to line up level. Must secure mount to wall or it's rickety."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:December 2, 2010

Challenging but fairly decent value

Pros: quality mdf, color, scratch resistant
Cons: lots of assembly required, extremely heavy, no backs on cabinets, metal handles on doors
Model Number: 352861
"When I first received these I was taken aback by how heavy the units where. After unboxing the Drawer base cabinet and taking about 2 hours to put it together, like others I considered taking advantage of Costcos liberal return policy. But comparing the price to what I have from another vendor in our other garage, I decided to move forward and assemble the rest of the cabinets. These cabinets where delivered well packaged on a skid.
I am very happy with the cabinets once assembled and moved into place. They function as expected. The rollers on the drawers work well and the drawers are easily removable. The hanging doors are easily adjustable up/down and in/out. I would expect over time you would need this. The finish is above average, seems to be scratch resistant for the most part. They are nicely raised off the floor and easy adjustable to level out. The single wall cabinet is easy to hang and comes with a mounting bracket with a level built-in and pre-drilled 16-in on stud mounting holes.
Like many others its pretty frustrating having to put your own cabinets together and these where certainly a challenge. I would NOT use a drill on any of these as you will strip the bolts/screws required for assembly. I was disappointed to see no backs on the cabinets, not a show stopper, but I can certainly see one or two of these down the road not backing up to a flush wall. The MDF boards are pretty heavy but I was able to assemble all the cabinets by myself. The Hanging doors where a bit of challenge at first. I found once adjusted to my satisfaction I had to drill/tap the xtra screws in each hinge to firm it up. One change I would have requested would have been to change the metal handles to a hard plastic or spray plastic over metal solution - I find them hard to grip when opening or closing. In the larger cabinet I would have preffered and easier adjustable shelf(s).
Overall I think its a good value here, just a significant amount of time to assemble. But purchasing cabinets pre-assembled is a costly endeavor and these certainly have value and quality at this price point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:S.E. Arizona
Date:September 29, 2010

Have no idea......only received one piece so far.

Cons: shipping company lost most of it., ask us again if we ever receive the item.
"We have been tracking this all over the country, arrived at Tucson, was supposed to be delivered to Willcox on 9/21/10, but instead went to Okalahoma, OK, then Albuquerque, NM, then Phoenix,AZ, then Flagstaff, AZ, then one piece was delivered here, along with 7 uninterrupted power supplies,had to return them. We are still waiting for the rest of the shipment. Says it was delivered, but only one piece, the wall cabinet, the rest are who knows where. We have been in contact with the shipping company, they are trying to track it down. We are really wondering about ordering on line for big items in the future. Very frustrating at the moment as we don't know what else to do. Already got charged the $600+ for this and only one item."
Review 14 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 14, 2012

Solid construction and looks good

Pros: looks and functions great
Cons: cheap nuts and bolts, very time consuming to assemble
Model Number: BS
"I have had this system now for 3 years. It still looks and functions as good as I first got it. The negatives I can give are that it was very time consuming to assemble, and that you have to take precautions in assembling the cabinets. Like other comments, the particle boards can break if you don't take care, or you screw in the parts to hard or deep. They need to provide better quality nuts and bolts too, which will break or snapped easily. They only provide you with exactly enough, so that when you break one of their cheap screws or bolts, you have to buy new ones at your hardware store. Overall, great price for what you get."
Review 15 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2010

Very disappointed

Pros: packaging and shipping
Cons: materials, poor craftmanship
"I was very excited when this product arrived. That excitement turned to disappointment when I constructed the first piece. The directions were very poorly written but that tends to happen with such products. I was able to overlook that. However, what I wasn't able to overlook was the poor quality of the materials. Several screws broke from the use of normal pressure and the wood splintered and cracked on several occassions. I am not going to bother to open the other packages and I will be returning this product. How disappointing."
Review 16 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Date:January 18, 2011

Awesome Cabinet System

Pros: nice design, modular to add components, affordable, good quality
Cons: no rear backing on cabinets, should be offered in more color choices
Model Number: Duracabinet set
"This is the second set of these cabinets that I've gotten for my garage. For the money, this is a really affordable and nice looking system. Ok, so it won't compare with the premium and steel cabinets out there but for the price - especially on promotion at Costco, it can't be beat. Looks great, works well, does the job I need it to do - that is provide organized storage for all my stuff in my otherwise cluttered garage."
Review 17 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 29, 2010

Definitely worth the cost

Pros: cost, looks great
Cons: med-light duty
"Spent 3 days putting it together, but mostly everything was straightforward and besides 2 broken cam pins (they did have some spare ones) it worked fine and seams to be a great fit for my garage. I was surprised with all the parts fitting perfectly and packaging material prevented any damage (even though boxes were pundered during delivery)."
Review 18 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Maria, CA
Date:June 14, 2012

Great Product and Value

Pros: easy to assemble well engineered.
Cons: if you have an assistant make sure they understand, the directsions so one doesn't have, to redo the assembly. it'll save some time.
Model Number: GSS-V01
"I'm not sure why others found this difficult to assemble or cheaply made but we found it easy to assemble. All of the pieces and parts were there and everything fit perfectly. It is well engineered. There was some chipping around some of the anchor posts but those were covered up when assembled."
Review 19 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 19, 2012

Fast and easy

Pros: very easy to setup
Cons: no con that i could find
Model Number: DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
"This cabnet set arrived on a pallet of 5 boxes I opened each box one at a time and assembled it. Took about three and a half hours and the set was done and secured in place they look great and so easy . Would have been easier with a second set of hands, so get a friend to help and do it in half the time great buy ."
Review 20 for DuraCabinet 5-piece Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:October 8, 2010

Excellent Product

"For 600 bucks plus free shipping this storage system cannot be beat. This thing is heavy; it must have cost at least $100 to ship. I don't know how in the world Costco makes any money off of this thing. Super easy directions, parts go together well, rugged, and looks great. I like it so much I'm buying another set."
1 2 next>>