Customer Reviews for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife

Getting Started Guide, Cooking Class on DVD, Whole Food Recipes Cookbook and Whole Grains Cookbook
Average Customer Rating:
4.794 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 106
(out of 107 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
102 of 107(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Review 41 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:September 24, 2011

Pays for itself

Pros: no chunks of ice or frozen fruit in anything, great way to sneak veggies and fiber
Cons: the price is hard to commit to, wish i had bought during a show so the book, would have been included
Model Number: 5200C
"I drooled over this machine for years before I bit the bullet and bought it as my birthday present to myself. My fiance was NOT happy about the price but is since singing a different tune. We already had a $40 normal blender as well as a Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker (we won that one at a raffle and it is NOT worth the considerable amount of cabinet space it hogs up).
This machine has finally led to vegetables being consumed in our house. I sneak them into smoothies and don't mention it until after the fact. Every morning I am making myself a smoothie (you don't need to follow the recipes, just throw in whatever you've got) with primarily frozen vegetables (broccoli, snap peas, green beans, spinach) and tossing in just a bit of fruit to make it taste like a normal fruit smoothie. Ice is unnecessary as long as you use frozen veggies and fruits which are less expensive than fresh and usually frozen at their peak.
I have a peanut and almond allergy but am oddly enough not allergic to walnuts so I'm looking forward to replacing peanut butter in my diet.
Finally, our machine is extremely well traveled. It came with us on a family trip to the Keys and a group trip to the Bahamas. We brought it with us rather than paying local prices on mixed drinks (anywhere from $5 to $10) and saved well over the Vitamix purchase price making frozen cocktails for our friends and family. In fact the bar at our hotel in Bimini uses an older model Vitamix to make their mixed drinks. A couple of our friends even headed straight over to Costco as soon as we got home just to purchase this machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia, Virginia
Date:October 25, 2008

Powerful!

Pros: powerful, easy to clean, built to last
Cons: price
"We bought this blender specifically for making peanut butter and it does a great job! It is so powerful that we can blend vegetables and herbs in our spaghetti sauce so our veggie-phobic son has no clue what he's eating! This blender blends soup to a beautiful creamy consistency rivaling restaurant quality. I have also dropped the blender container and it did not leave even a scratch on it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:August 30, 2009

Perfect

Pros: the last blender you will ever buy seriously.
Cons: price...but some quick math. 1 blender/yr adds up
"I saw the demo at Costco and, like everyone else, thought "That much money for a blender?" I remember seeing one in my grandmother's house, YEARS ago. Well, suffice to say I broke down and got it. Two years later and my partner and I are still using it daily for everything from smoothies to soups. Sure enough, my grandmother still uses her old one...at least 20 years old, runs like a charm."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:November 12, 2011

Wonderful Kitchen Tool

"Just to be sure, I bought a Vitamix and a BlendTec, tried them both thoroughly and settled on the Vitamix. While both are excellent blending devices, the Vitamix seemed to do much better on vaporizing the small seeds in things like black raspberries. It also has a bigger motor. They both have their pros and cons, but I bought it to blend anything I put in it and so far, so good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2008

Incorrect warranty period?

"The Costco demonstrator, the Costco website and one warranty insertion in the 5200 Vita Mix I just purchased mentions a 7 year warranty. But another insert invites me to register and the warranty period is stated to be only three years.
Until it is clear there is a seven year warranty, don't buy this product.
"
18 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By CostcoBuyer_SmallAppliancesSmall AppliancesOctober 22, 2008
Thank you for your comment. Until recently, the Vita-Mix product had been shipped with a registration card, offering a 3-year warranty. If the purchaser were to register the machine with Vita-Mix, the warranty would be extended to 7 years. In August of this year, the program has been changed to a standard 7-year warranty.
Review 46 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Beach, CA
Date:January 16, 2009

Best health purchase ever!

Model Number: 5200
"This is one purchase we are not the least bit sorry about! Seemed pricey, but it is used constantly. Our neighbor borrowed it once , ( teenagers wanted smoothies), and she was sold. Our in -laws were over, and they bought one of thier own the next day ! This helps us eat healthier, and ..the kids love it. There is never a battle to eat fruit or veggies with this in the kitchen."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MD, mom of 3, Flemington, NJ
Date:December 29, 2009

luxury item, can live without.

Pros: instant ice cream and freeze hot soup.
Cons: too expensive too loud not a necessary item., for people who have the will power to control diet
"My husband wanted to buy this 4 y ago, I told him every blender makes soup.. well this machine makes hot soup, but you can't just throw any leftovers and get delicious soup , you need a recipe, careful of the garlic and onion (cut in half), the soup comes foamy which I didn't like as a texture to my taste.
making ice cream is the miracle, though it does not come out as smooth as the one in the market, but is good enough for me, I make it low carb (sour cream,splenda,berries) ,you don't need to put it in the freezer for hours, instant ice cream or freeze in less than 30 sec.
shredding or chopping: use variable 1 only.
the item lost one star because it is VERY expensive.. worth every penny? NO..
can live without it ? yes..
make you eat healthy? what is healthy? if you don't watch your intake this machine is dangerous, because it makes delicious treats in seconds at your home, so you will gain weight even if it is low carb or fat and fresh stuff.
since we paid that much we have to use it almost everyday, smoothies in the morning, soups in the evening, baby food, treat at night..
I don't recommend it , too expensive for the use, unless you have a lot of money and you exercise a lot..
sometimes I have to wash it manually, too loud, if it cook meat I would give it 5 stars..
"
10 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilberts, IL
Date:October 28, 2008

OMG! I am in love

Pros: easy to clean, great warranty, easy to use
"I am in love with this blender. It can make soups in a flash, smoothies that are creamy and delish, nut butters in less than a minute with no added oils, salsa and the list goes on and on. It is so easy to use, so easy to clean. I say again OMG I love this blender. Warranty is 7 years. Well worth the money - money well spent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:March 19, 2011

Vitamix or Blendec

"Need help in chosing between Vitamix or Blendec which both are sold in Costco.
Vitamix is big and heavy, need to use the stick sometime. Blendec fits on counter better, but spilled over when i turned on for the first time. The lid seems flimsy.
They make great soomthies otherwise.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milpitas, CA
Date:September 3, 2011

Outstanding Product!

Pros: quiet and quick
Cons: none at all
Model Number: 5200
"Just love everything about this product!
It arrived two days after I placed the order. It's a delight to work with Vitamix! The mixer-grinder is so quiet and all it does is emit a soft hum. Behind the scenes, it's a daredevil, powdering and grinding everything that comes across its blades!! In contrast, the earlier product we had was very noisy and ineffective even in the simplest of jobs that took ten-plus minutes to complete. This Vitamix gets it done under a minute, and how silently! Wow!!
The icing on this Costco deal was the Santoku knife under which everything feels like butter!
I'd recommend anyone to save money and wait to buy only this, and nothing else, for their kitchen! Worth its price!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2009

The only juicer to buy

"I have always loved juicing but the clean up was such a burden I would never use my juicer. Not now. The Vita Mix is so easy to clean. You just fill it with water turn it on, and your done.
I put apples, banannas, berries, celery, mango, carrots and so many other fruits and vegestables in and the Vita mix turns them in to a smoothie. Yes, no strings from celery, or seeds from straberries. Its worth the price. I use it all the time.
My got cancer and couldn't eat while on chemo and radiation. I brought the Vitamix to him and started making him drinks. (apples and Strawberries) He loved it and it gave him energy to fight without forcing himself to eat a meal.
Lots of great things about the Vitamix"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore
Date:December 23, 2008

Still Going Strong

"I bought the Vita-Mix 5000 for myself last Christmas. We have used it almost every day since. The texture of the smoothies and frozen cocktails this machine produces is much better than any other blender I've ever owned."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WV
Date:September 27, 2011

BEST blender EVER!

Pros: fantastic warranty, is a serious multi-tasker!
Cons: none!
"This machine does it all and it does it fast. Whole foods taste so much better now! I am loving my VitaMix. If you've never owned one - you don't know what you're missing. It is worth its weight in gold!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 10, 2011

If I could give it 10 stars I would!

Model Number: 5200
"I purchased this at my local store while they had them being showcased. I did not opt for the dry chopper as I already have a food processor and/or coffee grinder works for that in my opinion. Anyway, I am having medical issues where I need to do smoothies, soups, etc. This machine does not compare to any other blender, seriously! It is pricy but you do get what you pay for. You could seriously put a steak in this thing and it would liquify! If you are able, spend the extra money it's worth it! They also stand behind their products if for whatever reason something goes wrong. These machines have been around for a LONG time and there's a reason. LOVE LOVE LOVE my VitaMix!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:May 31, 2009

Buy this machine!

"I bought a Vita-Mix after seeing a demo at Costco in 2003. It was the best investment I've ever made in a kitchen appliance. It sits on my counter top and gets used 5 to 10 times/week. My husband makes amazing BBQ sauce with it. I make amazing smoothies. The kids (teenagers) even use it. Also great for soups and sorbets. After having it about 3 years I bought the dry blade container and the smaller wet container. Both were also well worth the investment. I make amazing whole wheat bread from wheat berries in a matter of minutes. This package is well worth the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:irvine, ca
Date:January 22, 2012

can't meet the competition

Cons: blendtec is far superior to vitamix
"I had a Vitamix but traded it in for a Blendtec. Vitamix requires you to use a probe to keep pushing the food down towards the blade for proper chopping and you need to estimate the amount of time needed to achieve the proper results. The Blendtec is much superior because not only does the blade (patented) pull the food down to the blade automatically but you don't have to guess at the time needed to complete your project; just push one of the special buttons such as soup, smoothie, juice and the B does it all automatically."
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:June 18, 2010

The BEST Blender EVER

Model Number: VM0103
"This blender is the best by far I've had it for 5 years and to this day I can make green smoothies, hummus, healthiest cooked scrambled eggs in Vita-Mix no pots and pan need apply (yes just spray PAM non-stick spray and blend it'll cook in seconds) and peanut butter. By far the best of the best has arrived to Costco. I've loved this blender for a long time and learned all the incredible uses. Don't settle for anything less this monster of a machine is worth every penny. Try it and you'll never go back to a regular blender."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:March 16, 2011

Annoyed Often

Cons: blueberries stick to that plastic with a vengeance
"I bought this a few years ago at a Costco store demo. I use it daily to make smoothies. With limited counter space it is very annoying that the lid and tapper cannot be tilted up to fill the blender. You have to totally remove the lid and tapper to avoid problems. The tapper is about a foot long. I lack the counter space and patience. Total removal of the lid and tapper is annoying for those who just like to tilt a lid up and throw in ingredients, which I usually do. The lid is constructed to grab to the blender. This is not helpful when I try and tilt the lid to fill up the blender. Half way through, once a week, the plastic lid hooks to the blender before I'm finished. At this point, whatever am trying to put in the blender falls out. Today is that one day a week. I'm annoyed."
3 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 13, 2011

It's got everything!

Model Number: 5200
"Have been interested in a Vitamix for a while and was reluctant to spend the $$$ but now that it's here, I see it's worth the investment. It makes amazing fruit smoothies and milkshakes and is simple to use and clean. It would be a bit easier to clean if the blades detached from the blenders but I think their performance depends on the fixed setting. It's my understanding the individual blade components are replaceable if necessary but I don't anticipate that happening with regular household use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:December 9, 2011

Love this product! Highly Recommend it!

Pros: wonderful product, can use it to make healthy ice cream, can use it to make healthy nut butters, easy to clean, can be used for so many uses, portable
Model Number: 5200
"We just love this product. We use it to make breakfast smoothies, soups, grind rice into flour, grind oatmeal into flour, salsa, humus, make peanut butter, make almond butter, ice cream, meal replacement drinks and for many other uses. They are a great conversation piece whenever having friends or relatives over. They all want one after sampling what it can do. We would not ever want to be without one of these. Thank you for making such a wonderful product. I highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>