Customer Reviews for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife

Getting Started Guide, Cooking Class on DVD, Whole Food Recipes Cookbook and Whole Grains Cookbook
Average Customer Rating:
4.794 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 106
(out of 107 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
102 of 107(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Review 41 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chambersburg, PA
Date:March 30, 2011

WOW!!!!

Pros: high quality construction, versatile, simplicity of operation
Cons: size - needs lots of storage room
Model Number: Vitamax 5200
"Could not be more pleased! The quality and capabilites are as advertised which is excellent. Use everyday at least once a day and sometimes more to make shakes, guacamole, hummus, soups, the list goes on. The styling is a bit dated but who cares; just pretend it is 1960 again. Expensive? Not when you consider all it can do and how long it will probably last."
Review 42 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:March 24, 2011

The VitaMix is More than a Blender!!

Pros: powerful, great price!!!!, made in usa, 7 year manufacturers warranty
Cons: it is a little loud on high speed.
Model Number: VitaMix 5200
"I've only used my VitaMix a couple of weeks but I've got to say... it is FABULOUS!!! I have a lot of food limitations and it lets me create smoothies and ice cream (YES... ice cream!!) that I can eat. And, the smoothies and ice cream are the tastiest I've ever had. I know there is so much more it can do... soups, juices, etc... and I will do those soon. But for now, I am loving my smoothies and ice cream!!
Wait!!! You also get a Neova Saucepan!! It is great quality and the perfect size for daily use."
Review 43 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:March 19, 2011

Vitamix or Blendec

"Need help in chosing between Vitamix or Blendec which both are sold in Costco.
Vitamix is big and heavy, need to use the stick sometime. Blendec fits on counter better, but spilled over when i turned on for the first time. The lid seems flimsy.
They make great soomthies otherwise.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:March 16, 2011

Annoyed Often

Cons: blueberries stick to that plastic with a vengeance
"I bought this a few years ago at a Costco store demo. I use it daily to make smoothies. With limited counter space it is very annoying that the lid and tapper cannot be tilted up to fill the blender. You have to totally remove the lid and tapper to avoid problems. The tapper is about a foot long. I lack the counter space and patience. Total removal of the lid and tapper is annoying for those who just like to tilt a lid up and throw in ingredients, which I usually do. The lid is constructed to grab to the blender. This is not helpful when I try and tilt the lid to fill up the blender. Half way through, once a week, the plastic lid hooks to the blender before I'm finished. At this point, whatever am trying to put in the blender falls out. Today is that one day a week. I'm annoyed."
3 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 10, 2011

If I could give it 10 stars I would!

Model Number: 5200
"I purchased this at my local store while they had them being showcased. I did not opt for the dry chopper as I already have a food processor and/or coffee grinder works for that in my opinion. Anyway, I am having medical issues where I need to do smoothies, soups, etc. This machine does not compare to any other blender, seriously! It is pricy but you do get what you pay for. You could seriously put a steak in this thing and it would liquify! If you are able, spend the extra money it's worth it! They also stand behind their products if for whatever reason something goes wrong. These machines have been around for a LONG time and there's a reason. LOVE LOVE LOVE my VitaMix!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas
Date:March 9, 2011

Love it!!!!

Pros: easy clean up, chops anything in seconds
Cons: price is expensive
"I can make healthy smoothies for my family in a snap!!! It cleans sooo easy. I sends my kids to school after feeding them 3 kinds of fruit and yogurt for protein. I have them prepared and cleaned up in minutes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washingto,DC
Date:February 21, 2011

never knew a blender could be so good!

Pros: really easy clean-up!!!, thoroughly blends frozen items, makes use of less attractive fruit so none wasted
Cons: loud but not as loud as my teenagers
Model Number: vitamix 5200
"I am a mom of three teenage kids and this machine is like manna from heaven! Before its arrival, french fries and catchup were as close as veggies came to crossing their lips. Now, I can make them green smoothies (spinach, kiwi, green grapes, banana, and plain yogurt) and they beg for more! The other day, my son had half the basketball team over after practice. The boys all wanted "protein" shakes. So a green smoothie with a dash of protein powder and they were good to go. My son also makes a "rocky" shake (remember the raw eggs from the movie?) I wasn't about to feed him raw eggs, but pasturized eggs in a carton (also from Costco) worked just fine. Kind of gross in my opinion, but no worries of salmonella. I have used this for quick soups (heat frozen butternut squash in the microwave, add some hot chicken stock, and a dash of cream or half and half), fruit sorbet (buy the mixed fruit in the big bag from Costco freezer), and really easy mashed potatoes with cheese (just boil the potatoes a little bit firm). Oh, and also made wonderful frappacinos (much cheaper than going to the coffee house). We add vanilla yogurt instead of milk for a richer taste. This machine ranks right up there with my dishwasher as the most used appliance in my home...well next to the fridge and washer/dryer, but you get my point! One of the best purchases yet from Costco....thanks!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:January 29, 2011

Vitamix 5200

Pros: super easy to use
Cons: loud motor for about 5 seconds
Model Number: 5200
"I received this 3 weeks ago and have been using the vitamix 2-3 times a day making vegetable/fruit juice. I love this when I first asked my husband could I get it and he asked me the price, the look on his face was priceless! I had to laugh, but now he is using it as well. We are not wasting any fruits or vegetables in this house. We had an older juiceman, it require so much work to cleanup, that I didn't want to use it. With my vitamix, clean up is so easy! A drop of dish detergent and turning on the machine will do the job, no need to put it in the dish washer at all. Nothing to take apart. Good quality product and create tasty and healthy food. I would recommend it to everyone."
Review 49 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2011

Perfect!

"I bought the machine and used it to make sorbet and smoothies with vegetables and fruit. The taste is delicious. I enjoy this product very much. I purchased this at Costco because I have had good experience with customer service there. Since I became a member, I always purchase things from Costco. It is my favorite store!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tracy,ca
Date:January 15, 2011

Best Product

Pros: best product, quality product, made in the usa, reasonable price, thanks costco for keeping this
Cons: a little noise making but no problem
Model Number: Vitamix 5200
"This is best blender I have seen on this planet. I love this machine. It changed the style and taste of everything. I didn't buy anything from past two Xmas and saved money to buy this machine.It is worth of money. Made in the USA!!! Quality Product..."
Review 51 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boulder, Colorado
Date:January 9, 2011

Just Fantastic

Pros: versetile powerful and easy to use and clean.
Cons: the looks can be improved
Model Number: VM0103
"I ordered one for my daughter on line [Costo] as Xmas gift and once I sow what it can do, I got one for myself from Costco store with a smaller jar. I use it at least twice a day for making cashew milk, smoothies and ice cream. I also made soup once. It is just an amazing appliance."
Review 52 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2010

LOVE IT.

Pros: lids are dishwasher safe., will grind just about anything., can heat/cook certain recipes.
Cons: canisters are not dishwasher safe., loud. my husband calls it the jet engine., cannot grind dry spices per instructions.
"I use this ALL the time.
I purchased this particular package because I wanted the dry canister for grinding wheat. I also use it to grind coffee. There are numerous things you can do with it. It comes with a little cook booklet to give you a place to start.
It goes without saying that the wet canister can (and IS) used for endless possibilities. I've made tons of different kinds of veggie/fruit smoothies, and it makes my chocolate protein shakes seem like milkshakes. I've tried making juices, ice cream, vegan cheese sauce, butternut soup; the recipes it comes with are truly helpful.
Best Money I Ever Spent."
Review 53 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2010

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

Pros: blends anything you can put in a smoothie
Cons: little loud but i don't mind
"I got my Vitamix 5200 about six months ago and have used it at least once a day if not more. I absolutely LOVE it. I have had no problems what so ever. I make all kinds of smoothies out of fresh fruit and vegies and my kids slurp them down.
I also use the smaller container to chop onions and garlic for meals and it works great. I can't for sure say it's totally worth the money if you don't have the money to spend on it... save up for it :)
I normally am vegan and will say this is great for a vegan mama to have around (I'm pregnant now with #3 and am not vegan at the moment)
Overall i LOVE this machine and am so glad my hubby let me get it (it's my gifts for all occasions for the next 3 years, while we finish up school)
"
Review 54 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Loma Linda, CA
Date:September 13, 2010

Great product

Model Number: 5200
"I received this 2 weeks ago and have been using the vitamix 3-4 times a day making vegetable/fruit juice and smoothies, sauces, salsa, hot soups, sorbet, icecreams, grinding wheat flour for homemake wheat bread, soybean drinks, etc... There is no waste for all the fruits and vegetables compare with using a juicer and increase our daily fiber intake without even notice it. This machine is really amazing and versatile so I keep this right on my kitchen counter, with my food processor and kitchenaid stand mixer. That's all I need to make healthy meals and drinks everyday for me and the family. The cleaning of the vitamix is a breeze just like the demo. I have use avocado, heavy cream, etc... and one drop of dish detergent and turing on the machine will do the job, no need to put it in the dish washer at all. I have make carrot juice and so far no staining on the jar and no residue smell from spices and onion and garlic. Good quality product and create tasty and healthy food. I would recommend it to everyone. It is a joy to use this machine every day knowing that the whole family are eating more healthier foods. The healthier version of instance icecreams and smoothies are a hit for the kids."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Annapolis, MD
Date:August 23, 2010

Unbelievable (In a Really Good Way)

Pros: performance, customer service, warranty
Cons: cost, noise, size
Model Number: 5200
"I first heard about Vitamix at a cooking class in the local Williams-Sonoma and I just could not understand the looks, the cost and the fuss over this machine. A few days of internet research later, I got it. And I drove over 50 miles to the nearest Costco that was having a demo to see for myself.
It was worth the drive, definitely. One week later, and I am wondering where this machine has been all my life. My initial impressions after one week of daily use is that this machine is really as good as everyone claims it is. Using this machine is such an easy way to get fruits and vegetables into my diet that it is unbelievable (in a really good way).
This machine attains speeds as low as 11 mph and as high as 240 mph. As a result, it is possible to put whole fruits with seeds and cores, and stringy vegetables into this machine that barely cause a hiccup. While many blenders can master the typical smoothie, this is the one that can pulverize vegetables so completely that you would never know they were in there - no shreds, no lumps - just fruity goodness. Amazingly enough, this machine can produce a steaming bowl of pureed soup one minute and a frozen sorbet (with practice) just minutes later. I am hard pressed to think of any other appliance that is so versatile and productive. The patented tamper that comes with the Vitamix provides a great deal of control along with the variable dial on the machine. Although the machine does nor have a dedicated "pulse" lever, it is easy to chop or grind and do a pulsing action with the on/off lever or with the variable dial.
I am also impressed by the customer service provided by the Vitamix company. On the occasions when I have called Vitamix customer service, the reps have been very helpful. The 7year warranty beats the warranty for the closest competitor (Blendtec) because Vitamix pledges to repair or replace a damaged blender at their cost - even if the damage was due to the customer. They even pay shipping there and back..
The machine is noisy. In most cases, however, the blender is only on for 30 to 60 seconds. Soups seem to take the longest and that's only 6 minutes, at most.. So the noise is tolerable, in my opinion.
This machine makes ice cream, but it takes practice. At the Costco demo, I noticed that the presenter used frozen fruit , not ice cubes for a reason - frozen fruit works a lot better than ice cubes when it comes to ice cream. Even then, getting real ice cream takes an exquisite sense of timing. Still, it is possible, and when I manage to hit that sweet spot, the ice cream is delectable!
This machine is fantastic. and it is backed by a U.S. company that has devoted nearly 100 years to this one product. The design elements of this machine and its performance are top notch, I think owning this machine will greatly improve my health, perhaps even be life-changing. Time will tell..."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, Ca.
Date:August 11, 2010

I LOVE MY VITAMIX!!!

Pros: out performs any blender i've ever had
Cons: expensive but worth every cent
Model Number: 5200
"I wanted the Vitamix for over a year, so I saved my pennies and finally ordered it. It continues to exceed my expectations. It truly is an amazing appliance. I am transitioning to a raw food diet (let's stop eating dead , processed, fast food) and the Vitamix is making it alot easier for me. I look forward every morning to my green smoothies and they are a party for my palate! Health to everyone!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 9, 2010
Model Number: 5200
"Bought this product. I have been using it every day. Sooooo easy to use!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:July 29, 2010

I use it every single day

Pros: sturdy, built like a tank, sounds impressive
Cons: pricey, you won't feel bad about spending the money
Model Number: 5200
"I'll second what everybody else is saying. The blender is top-notch. It's huge, and the styling is cold-war-era Soviet - it's not terribly pretty. The landfills are full of pretty blenders, including a couple that I've sent there.
The controls couldn't be simpler: on/off, a speed dial, and another switch to choose the speed dial or the ridiculously high speed. Note that on the high speed your neighbors will complain about the noise, even if you live in the country.
This blender would probably make a smoothie out of a tire iron. I haven't tried that, but I have put a lot of frozen fruits in there and ended up with frozen fruit mush every time. A little liquid and you have a smoothie. Or something that tastes good and can be eaten without teeth. It's wonderful stuff.
Now, the bonus is the sauce pan. I expected a throw-away pan that was some sort of "but wait! there's more" deal. Instead, I got a very solid, finely crafted pan that would cost good money if bought separately. It's really nice and a good addition to any kitchen.
Vitamix gives you a recipe book, but it's also available online on their web site. I mention this because if you have a few ingredients laying around, it's useful to go to the web, type in what you have and see what comes up. Of course, it's not just their site that's useful.
I believe that when I'm old I'll be putting all my food through here so I can still eat the things I enjoy without my teeth."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmel Valley, CA
Date:July 24, 2010

best blender ever

Model Number: 5200
"Purchased my Viamix at Costco road show and just got the 5200 with wet container , booklets and dvd for under $200. Not sure you need the ultimate package.
Makes a great tomato and roast vegetable soup in just 10 minutes. Foam is controlled by turning down speed until a vortex is formed and foam drops into it. A few drops of oil and hardly any foam.
Yet, it makes the best hot chocolate ever for me with tons of foam which I want .
Still use my food processor for many items that would be too difficult to fully remove from large Vitamix container. And I use bread machine or food processor to make dough and it is much simpler.
Yet I use the Vitamix every day for something and don;t know how I lived without it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Vitamix 5200 Ultimate Package with CIA™ Masters Collection 7" Santoku Knife
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:July 5, 2010

nice blender, not my favorite

Pros: great smoothies juices peanut butter
Cons: foamy soups clean up not super-easy
Model Number: 5200
"Since my Blentec found a new home at my girlfriend's, I found myself back in the market for a new high-horsepower blender. Was convinced I would buy another Blendtec when a VitaMix show was going on at my Costco. The rep convinced me it was every bit as nice as my Blendtec so I bought it. Having used my Blendtec over 1000 cycles it didn't take me long to compare apples to apples. VitaMix is a nice machine. Makes very smooth juices and smoothies. Takes a little longer than with Blendtec. Hot soup takes much longer and comes out foamy. Both machines are very loud - I think Blendtec is a little louder but not by much. Ice cream is no contest - Blentec by a mile. Blendtec easier to clean. The VitaMix does everything the rep told me it would but after 80 cycles I've decided to return it when Blendtec comes back for another show. I like the power and results of Blendtec better, but I can see why most reviews of the VitaMix are positive. They are both nice. And both American made - very nice to see."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>