Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

Model: 00315
Average Customer Rating:
3.289 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
13
27 of 45(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Review 1 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:July 29, 2014

Do not buy this

Pros: it looks nice
Cons: it will only work for one tax prep
Model Number: nd_1000
"I bought this, at first it worked on my macbook but it was not as easy as all the advertising said it was going to be. Then it stopped working with my computer though is was just that computer so I bought a new macbook pro and it still will not work with that one either. I have tried to contact neat dest costomer service many times no one calls me back so basically this thing is one very expensive big paper weight on your desk. WASTE OF MONEY DO NOT BUY IT it only work one tax prep not worth $400+ I would rather pay my CPA to do all the work it would have cost me less money"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:June 27, 2014

Looks slick but it's a scam

Pros: nice looking design
Cons: foreever tied to neat to use your info, didn't connect with quicken, unable to print documents stored to my desktop
Model Number: ND1000
"I purchased one of these scanners hoping to have an electronic office. I quickly learned that the software provided wasn't correct. After a two hour 'help' session it finally worked. But now it wouldn't connect with my Quicken as advertised. It's been more than 2 months and still not resolved. So let's save to my own hard drive and back up to my external hard drive. Nope. Cannot print from there. So I tried the Cloud free trial. Yep but still would not print. So I let it expire. THEN I realized this is not about selling a product it's about selling Cloud storage for your important documents. Now you are tied to Neat forever at a yearly fee that I'm sure will increase just to access your documents that you could have stored on existing equipment. It's a loser system"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:June 20, 2014

Not so hot!

Pros: eliminate lots of papers.
Cons: not a time saver like it's meant to be.
"I saw presentation on tv and thought it would save me lots of time later in the year, so ordered it. The concept is good, but 8 out of 10 times it reads wrong dollar amounts. I always have to manually enter things. It will go from receipts to documents and then eliminate dollar balance, so I have to always manually change it. That's where the time saver goes in reverse. Had I not let the return time expire, it would have been taken back. Therefore, it's not worth the money."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:April 26, 2014

Dont waste your time. Life is to short.

Pros: none
Cons: no customer support to speak of.
Model Number: Neat Desktop
"I have spent weeks trying to get this working right. When you think you've got it working, it crashes again. I called Neat customer support which gives you a ticket number. Then you go back and forth with e-mails. I have spent the last 3 days going back and forth. I guess they think you have nothing better to do. I pulled the plug on it and took it back to Costco. I explained it to the employees what was wrong with it and there was no problem in returning it. The employees at Costco are great. Maybe the Neat Co can learn customer service from Costco."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pewaukee WI
Date:April 1, 2014

Love It

Pros: we are good to go at the end of the year
Cons: you actually have to feed it the receipts :-)
Model Number: 00315
"Best thing I could ever have to keep tract of our expenses. This works wonderfully."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St. Charles, MO
Date:March 29, 2014

Works OK

Pros: scans receipts well
Cons: does always recognize names script fonts
Model Number: 00315
"The Neat Desk scan works for what I need for (receipts). However, I wish that it would not scan documents as separate a pages. It scans receipts well - I do have to verify amount and Business name."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:February 28, 2014

Troubled Product & Software

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: more trouble than it's worth
Model Number: NeatDesk 00315
"We invested in two NeatDesk Scanners and both of them have had so many issues that we are returning both and going to try the Fujitsu."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:91325
Date:January 11, 2014

Receipts are more than just a total

Pros: all the parts were included
Cons: not a receipt organizer but a receipt totaler, wia driver scans images in reverse - useless
Model Number: Neat Desk 5.0
"I just bought the Neat Desktop and am disappointed in their concept of organizing receipts. How many people buy JUST ONE ITEM on receipt? So why does a NEAT organizer only give you to TOTAL? Take a typical Costco receipt; how many of us spend $200 + at Costco with 5, 10, 30 items on the receipt?
If i wanted to account for those items in Quicken, i would do a SPLIT for each category of items. Well guess what, Neat doesn't even grab the item description/sku number so you must manually SPLIT the items (with a limit of 10 - ten items at Costco before i get through 2 aisles)
Agreed, the scanner could not likely categorize the items, however, if it 'acknowedged' that there were 10 items on the receipt and listed them as separate items with their prices, then it would be useful.
I haven't had to fill out too many expense statements, but ALL of the ones i did create required me to do more than just give them the TOTAL. I had to itemize those items into categories.
I can quickly scan (with my eyes) my receipts and record the totals of 50 receipts, but wanted something to 'organize' my receipts by documenting what is on them, not just the Date and Total.
NEAT - Not Everything Adequately Thought out"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cathlamet, WA
Date:October 7, 2013

OK for homebodies

Pros: easy set up
Cons: a little larger than expected
Model Number: Neat Desk ?
"Easy set up for easy things like gas receipts grocery receipts and the like however more detailed for other things it does do what i want it to do so i am happy as a housewife who wants to track her expenses and costs
alittle slow but ok
MORE expensive than it should be
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:March 26, 2013

Decent

Pros: works better than expected.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: ND1000
"Not a big fan of products found on "As Seen on TV". But this scanner works better than other professional scanners we use here in the office. The drivers are great for network and cross platform users."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 23, 2013

Not as expected

Pros: fast scan even in duplex, nice image on greyscale, good clean image on bi-tonal, easy to use software, able to scan while ocr runs is good, cropping and deskewing is good
Cons: very large image size poor compression, few configuration options on the software, changing type from receipt to document slow, unable to add a page to existing document
Model Number: ND1000
"I have a lot of paper to scan but with images as large as this product generates I'll run out of space quickly. Scanning Documents seems to produce a nice greyscale image that can be as large a 4MB per page. Scanning Receipts is better but still large at about 1MB per page. My older scanner produces similar quality images a tenth the size. Neat support reply is image compression cannot be adjusted."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Date:March 20, 2013

best purchase ever

Model Number: ND 1000
"Would like to give the neat desk a 2 thumbs up. So easy to use my 14 yr old granddaughter wants to scan her homework so she doesn't loose anything again. The the IRS won't catch me again. My husband is a over-the-road truck driver and we lost his logs in a tractor trailer accident, did the IRS care when we were audited and couldn't prove his perdium. That made my mind up to purchase it. I LOVE IT"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland,Ohio
Date:March 13, 2013

Not exactly what I expected

Pros: the product is a great help for organizing all the
Cons: would love to have a little more support
Model Number: S/NCNLF128W3521
"It was easier after I found out how to set up the program. The instructions on the CD were lengthy, over 100 pages. I called the company for support, I was told they only gave support if there was a problem with the CD. I also called Costco's concierge, they were able to go over the information that was on the CD with me that was somewhat helpful. The concept is wonderful, wish I could have gotten a little more support from the company. As I work with the neat desk I am learning more."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:March 2, 2013

There are much better solutions - that works

Pros: fast dual side scanner., hardware did not broke
Cons: customer support not supporting, search function dont show where in the document, cant control scan quality, expensive and not working as expected, there are better and cheaper solutions
"I had installed it for home use, but it just bot provided the results I expected, - searchable scans.
The product stopped generating PDFs and would only scan to its internal DB.
Several re-installation attempts and even trying to install on another computer did not solve the problem.
After many explanation to customer support they asked that I will call them on phone, but the hours they work is also my working hours.
Since it took me a while to find an opportunity to call them, the closed the ticket as resolved.
No attempt was made to provide any help with the "PDF Creator" that was not creating PDFs.
Also no error message is generated for a failed scan to PDF or export from DB to PDF.
Text search is working in the product DB, but ... it will tell you which document but will not highlight the location inside the document itself. And some documents are long and made of many pages.
The document view is either to small or entire screen, nothing usable.
---
I'm using a much better and cheaper solution now:
An HP printer with dual side scanning that comes with OCR software and creates searchable PDFs. (Model WF-3520), It cost $150. + X1 search software that searches the entire computer, including office, emails and PDFs for $100
Working, doing much more and cost much less.
-----
A good word for Costco. They took back the Neat, althought it took me a long time to give up on the attempts to make it work and find another solution.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City Utah
Date:February 26, 2013

Doesn't Work

Pros: it looks pretty on my desk. ha
Cons: i would have better luck making copies with a rock
"The company, NEAT, told me it wasn't calibrated coming right out of the box. We tried, I tried, everybody tried and it still didn't work right. After scanning in over 13 receipts only 3 got all the information right. Not good odds. Returned the product and would recommend Costco discontinue carrying it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:February 15, 2013

Great desktop scanner

Pros: easy & fast scanner for multiple page documents
"Frankly I was so surprised at some of the negative reviews, that I felt compelled to respond.
The Neat does a great job of scanning in color, rarely jams the paper ( even though I put in stapled sheets by mistake!) AND it DOES scan PDF to a local folder IF YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO!!
It is VERY SIMPLE- instead of clicking the SCAN button at the upper left side of the Neat screen- hover the mouse so the drop down window shows SCAN TO PDF- it will automatically ask where you want to save the file. When I am scanning several documents ( think tax time!!), it will automatically recall the last folder I saved to BUT it allows me to select a different folder if I am working on a different client.
Documents and receipts scan great...have not tried cards yet.
I loved it so much I bought one for my desk at work and one for my desk at home.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lake Mathews California
Date:January 23, 2013

Overpriced piece of Junk

Cons: long waits for support and incompetent techs
Model Number: ND-1000
"The first one delivered was a dud and after spending 30 minutes on the phone waiting for support and 25 minutes of the tech testing the Neat device he determined that the unit had to be replaced.....confirming the purchase to Neat personnel was complicated and I wish no one the experience that I had to go through. The neat Software has been updated and now the serial number Keys are no longer required....nice of them to let us know....the upgrade software, good luck downloading that took another 1/2 hour and in doing so, faulted our printer in terms of making cards for birthdays and anniversaries. The 3 day select from UPS with the replacement took 5 working days, not happy with the service. When we called tech support again with the software problem I received no help at all and that was another 30 minutes waiting and 15 minutes for the tech to scratch his head and tell me that it was a windows problem not Neat....well it was a neat problem and reloading the original disk again and reloading my printer software the problem was resolved, no thanks to Neat Techs.
Beware if you have problems with the Unit, tech support is a lot to be desired and good luck if the software messes up your printer installation....like I said, the NEAT Device is way overpriced and I would not recommend it to anyone....."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, Washington
Date:January 18, 2013

Internet Beware

Pros: it printed wrinkled receipts without wrinkles, if it takes it in on a slant it will straighten it
Cons: it needs a back up button for easy return, it required the internet for setting it up
Model Number: 00315
"I bought this product thinking I should be able to run the setup disk on my computer, and start sorting my billing. To my surprise I needed the internet to setup the program, I wasn't very happy, because I didn't have ability for internet at the time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 20, 2012

Not NEAT at All..Bad Idea

Pros: my grandma likes it for her taxes
Cons: cannot do local pdf backup, software flawed-see other reviews, neat support desk is difficult to deal with, pdf is not easy and is doc by doc, proprietary neat software is convuluted, conflicts with other scanning software/all-in-ones
Model Number: 00315
"We bought this about 10 months ago. We have had nothing but software problems from the get go. Could not backup the product from day one-(even doing a proprietary backup, much less a pdf backup) and received several errors. My husband is extremely tech savy-code and such and I consider myself to be somewhat apt in that area. After 'updating' our software and going back and forth with them for 3 months we STILL cannot do any sort of back up. Finally, Neat help desk 3rd level tier supervisor "Dave" said there is a fundamental problem with the hardware on our computer! He actually then blamed the autodesk program I use for work? Anyhow, they are really not worth the time or effort since their software is so flawed. There are much better products out there.
After research we are trying a fujitsu scansnap s1500."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Valrico, Fl
Date:June 30, 2012

Non compatable scanner

Pros: great promo on what youre looking for in a scanner
Cons: doesn't link with quickbooks or outlook, very poor customer service
"The product scans really fast as it indicates, but from there it doesn't perform as advertised. The software program is very inefficient and not easy to use. I tried to synch it with Quickbooks and Outlook and was not able to, which is what I purchased it for. I attempted to contact the manufacturer, but all I received was their sales pitch videos on how great it was and what it could do, there was no real customer support. When I finally got in touch with someone, they sent me a corrected link that did not correct the problem with synching to Quickbooks and Outlook. I returned the product to Costco and had a great expereince in promptly returning my money. This is a definite don't buy."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>