Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

Model: 00315
Average Customer Rating:
3.02 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
20
27 of 50(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Review 1 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:December 12, 2012

Don't bother

Pros: it does scann (somethimes)
Cons: not worth the money., software issues
"Well I've had this thing for about 8 months now, and I'm really not impressed. I've downloaded Neat's updates and even updated my Mac's software, and my opinion is simple: It's not worth the money. I stopped using it and ordered a Fujitsu, it should be here in a day or two. Hopefully I can return this thing and get the money back. The software is a bit flawed. What I mean by that is when you close out of neat; it stays open through the icon, and if you click on the icon to re-open it - nothing will happen. You have to Force Quit every time, then re-open it. There are other issues also, but I don't feel like going through them all. (Too many of them) I've sent numerous reports of crash to Neat and they keep sending me updates. None are really that impressive. I'd say at the most this thing is worth maybe one hundred even. I mean for the price you pay for this... to me it's just not worth it. Good luck to you if you get this. I should have just gotten the Fujitsu from the beginning. I've heard nothing but great things about it."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:91325
Date:January 11, 2014

Receipts are more than just a total

Pros: all the parts were included
Cons: not a receipt organizer but a receipt totaler, wia driver scans images in reverse - useless
Model Number: Neat Desk 5.0
"I just bought the Neat Desktop and am disappointed in their concept of organizing receipts. How many people buy JUST ONE ITEM on receipt? So why does a NEAT organizer only give you to TOTAL? Take a typical Costco receipt; how many of us spend $200 + at Costco with 5, 10, 30 items on the receipt?
If i wanted to account for those items in Quicken, i would do a SPLIT for each category of items. Well guess what, Neat doesn't even grab the item description/sku number so you must manually SPLIT the items (with a limit of 10 - ten items at Costco before i get through 2 aisles)
Agreed, the scanner could not likely categorize the items, however, if it 'acknowedged' that there were 10 items on the receipt and listed them as separate items with their prices, then it would be useful.
I haven't had to fill out too many expense statements, but ALL of the ones i did create required me to do more than just give them the TOTAL. I had to itemize those items into categories.
I can quickly scan (with my eyes) my receipts and record the totals of 50 receipts, but wanted something to 'organize' my receipts by documenting what is on them, not just the Date and Total.
NEAT - Not Everything Adequately Thought out"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:February 15, 2013

Great desktop scanner

Pros: easy & fast scanner for multiple page documents
"Frankly I was so surprised at some of the negative reviews, that I felt compelled to respond.
The Neat does a great job of scanning in color, rarely jams the paper ( even though I put in stapled sheets by mistake!) AND it DOES scan PDF to a local folder IF YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO!!
It is VERY SIMPLE- instead of clicking the SCAN button at the upper left side of the Neat screen- hover the mouse so the drop down window shows SCAN TO PDF- it will automatically ask where you want to save the file. When I am scanning several documents ( think tax time!!), it will automatically recall the last folder I saved to BUT it allows me to select a different folder if I am working on a different client.
Documents and receipts scan great...have not tried cards yet.
I loved it so much I bought one for my desk at work and one for my desk at home.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Golden, CO
Date:April 14, 2014

Worst Purchase Ever

Cons: poor paper feeding
Model Number: ND-1000
"Either it does not feed or it miss-feeds. If it worked half the time I could put up with it. Very disappointed."
Review 5 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southwest Georgia
Date:May 2, 2012

BUY AT YOUR OWN PERIL

Model Number: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner
"This product has issues. Read lots of OTHER REVIEWS. You will see just as many bad reviews for this equipment and its
software as you will see favorable. This is an expensive system touted to solve all your filing and tracking of expenses. It is
nothing but a headache with NO CORPORATE SUPPORT OR SERVICE. Once your 30-day trial is up, it is YOURS! You're stuck with it and good luck trying to work out software issues.
They will not accept return of the machine after 30 days.
Watch out when "upgrading" your software online. When I did, it corrupted my data and I lost all prior input (days of work).
THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM!
In short, do your research BEFORE you buy an expensive product like this. The red flags are there. I wish I'd seen them beforeI got mine.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE!
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:March 2, 2013

There are much better solutions - that works

Pros: fast dual side scanner., hardware did not broke
Cons: customer support not supporting, search function dont show where in the document, cant control scan quality, expensive and not working as expected, there are better and cheaper solutions
"I had installed it for home use, but it just bot provided the results I expected, - searchable scans.
The product stopped generating PDFs and would only scan to its internal DB.
Several re-installation attempts and even trying to install on another computer did not solve the problem.
After many explanation to customer support they asked that I will call them on phone, but the hours they work is also my working hours.
Since it took me a while to find an opportunity to call them, the closed the ticket as resolved.
No attempt was made to provide any help with the "PDF Creator" that was not creating PDFs.
Also no error message is generated for a failed scan to PDF or export from DB to PDF.
Text search is working in the product DB, but ... it will tell you which document but will not highlight the location inside the document itself. And some documents are long and made of many pages.
The document view is either to small or entire screen, nothing usable.
---
I'm using a much better and cheaper solution now:
An HP printer with dual side scanning that comes with OCR software and creates searchable PDFs. (Model WF-3520), It cost $150. + X1 search software that searches the entire computer, including office, emails and PDFs for $100
Working, doing much more and cost much less.
-----
A good word for Costco. They took back the Neat, althought it took me a long time to give up on the attempts to make it work and find another solution.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2009

Great Product - Timesaver

"I have used this product for a couple of years. At first I had the portable scanner that was called "Neat Receipts". The portable one is nice because it's small enough to take traveling with you for scanning in business receipts or whatever.
About six months ago I decided to upgrade to the larger scanner because it's just easier if you do your paperwork primarily at home. It's very fast and you can load many sheets with different sizes at one time. The scanner will categorize them for you or you can choose for yourself whether to scan it to the receipt, document, or business card box. It sure has helped manage the clutter that used to be on my desk.
Yes, It does come with it's own database, but you can also use your own document filing system if you choose. You simply choose this scanner when importing in your application. I use this scanner with Quicken and the Microsoft Office Suite applications. I also have an HP all-in-one laser printer that scans, but this is much easier and quicker. I don't have to get up from my desk to lift the cover and scan one document at a time like I do with the all-in-one. I just sit in front of my computer and the small NeatDesk scanner is at my side waiting to receive the papers. All I have to do to scan is reach over and touch a button on the scanner or else click the scan button with my mouse from the computer.
The advantage to using the NeatDesk database is character recognition feature. Trying to find that Costco receipt when you purchased groceries, auto supplies, software and a camera all in one purchase would be cumbersome otherwise. This scanner will bring it up immediately."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pewaukee WI
Date:April 1, 2014

Love It

Pros: we are good to go at the end of the year
Cons: you actually have to feed it the receipts :-)
Model Number: 00315
"Best thing I could ever have to keep tract of our expenses. This works wonderfully."
Review 9 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St. Charles, MO
Date:March 29, 2014

Works OK

Pros: scans receipts well
Cons: does always recognize names script fonts
Model Number: 00315
"The Neat Desk scan works for what I need for (receipts). However, I wish that it would not scan documents as separate a pages. It scans receipts well - I do have to verify amount and Business name."
Review 10 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012

DANGER LURKING

Cons: database can be irretrievably lost
Model Number: ND1000
"I purchased the NEAT desktop scanner in December and have loaded hundreds of tax and business documents. I thought the scanner did a good job until Sunday April 1 2012 (this was not an April Fool's joke). While trying to load the NEAT database from the desktop icon I was instructed to reset the database. I was given the option of YES or NO. I selected NO. I tried several more times and the popup continued preventing the existing database to load. The next time the popup arose I hit yes and the program loaded WIPING OUT ALL of my stored files. NEAT does not have a 24/7 customer service. NEAT was totally incapable of helping with this issue. BE WARE!The backup I used was lost as well, so beware."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 20, 2012

Not NEAT at All..Bad Idea

Pros: my grandma likes it for her taxes
Cons: cannot do local pdf backup, software flawed-see other reviews, neat support desk is difficult to deal with, pdf is not easy and is doc by doc, proprietary neat software is convuluted, conflicts with other scanning software/all-in-ones
Model Number: 00315
"We bought this about 10 months ago. We have had nothing but software problems from the get go. Could not backup the product from day one-(even doing a proprietary backup, much less a pdf backup) and received several errors. My husband is extremely tech savy-code and such and I consider myself to be somewhat apt in that area. After 'updating' our software and going back and forth with them for 3 months we STILL cannot do any sort of back up. Finally, Neat help desk 3rd level tier supervisor "Dave" said there is a fundamental problem with the hardware on our computer! He actually then blamed the autodesk program I use for work? Anyhow, they are really not worth the time or effort since their software is so flawed. There are much better products out there.
After research we are trying a fujitsu scansnap s1500."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:March 15, 2009

Does well with Receipts but not Documents

"When I first got this, I was excited to start digitizing all of my documents and receipts. The receipt function is awesome. It scans, crops and then actually reads the store that its from and the amount. This enables you to print out spending reports with ease (come tax time). However, I was very disappointed with the document scanning. The document scanning was like using an old copier. There were light exposure so that the document background was a little dark. Sorry, this won't do. My HP multi-function scans better documents than this."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Newton, MA
Date:August 7, 2009

Software is the downfall of this product

Pros: duplex (simultaneous double-sided) scanning, very quick scanning in black/white/grey
Cons: software suite is unintuitive and poorly designed;, software crashes occasionally (tried w/2 computrs), & can cause loss of prev scanned items
"The "Desktop Scanner" itself (the hardware) is pretty impressive. It will scan both sides of an item simultaneously and do so very quickly in black & white (and gray), fairly quickly in color. It's only significant shortcomings are the lack of adjustable guides to keep items feeding straight and misfeeding more often than I'd expect on multi-item scans.
The "Digital Filing System," on the other hand, is poorly-conceived and unintuitive to use. Moreover, the software has crashed multiple times during my several weeks of using it, sometimes causing loss of already scanned and saved items. I consider this a fatal flaw in software that's supposed to reduce the need to keep hard-copy originals."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 26, 2009

AWESOME

Pros: priceless
Cons: none
"I absolutely love this product. I have barely scratched the surface of it's capabilities but have already scanned in a number of business cards, documents, and receipts. And, it is so nice to see the trash can full of things that have been cluttering my house. I don't understand the review about documents not scanning well. I have done everything from magazine and newspaper articles to shared Word documents and instruction sheets--No problems."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 23, 2013

Not as expected

Pros: fast scan even in duplex, nice image on greyscale, good clean image on bi-tonal, easy to use software, able to scan while ocr runs is good, cropping and deskewing is good
Cons: very large image size poor compression, few configuration options on the software, changing type from receipt to document slow, unable to add a page to existing document
Model Number: ND1000
"I have a lot of paper to scan but with images as large as this product generates I'll run out of space quickly. Scanning Documents seems to produce a nice greyscale image that can be as large a 4MB per page. Scanning Receipts is better but still large at about 1MB per page. My older scanner produces similar quality images a tenth the size. Neat support reply is image compression cannot be adjusted."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:July 15, 2009

Great for Personal Use

Pros: receipt scanning huge plus, paper sorter helpful, great for sales pros home users
Cons: property entry for each document cumbersome, categorization methods a little cumbersome, files stored within application database, not for higher volume business use
"So I bought both this scanner and the S1500 from Costco.com for both personal and business use. When I first got this scanner, I thought it was the best thing since sliced bread. It scans multiple doc types quickly and categorizes them automatically between cards, receipts and documents. The tray sorter comes in pretty handy for multiple uses. However, documents are managed completely from the Neat application. If you manipulate/distribute/search files, documents, contracts within your file system directly, then this isn't for you. Overall good scanner but better suited for home use or for sales people who can take advantage of receipt scanning."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:February 28, 2014

Troubled Product & Software

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: more trouble than it's worth
Model Number: NeatDesk 00315
"We invested in two NeatDesk Scanners and both of them have had so many issues that we are returning both and going to try the Fujitsu."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2012

Heavy price for high hardware failure rate

Pros: fast scanner
Cons: hardware seems to be inferior., some of smaller receipts don't feed easily.
Model Number: Neatdesk
"I had 2 over 3 years.
First lasted 14 months (no longer fed paper). (90 - 100 items scanned).
Second lasted 13 months (no longer turns on) in that time approximately 60 items scanned (the one benefit of the software it keeps record of this).
Great when it works - but for $400+ scanner - I would expect more reliable hardware in the line of 3 year range."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2013

Software Disaster

Pros: pretty looking
Cons: not worth 20% of the price
"I purchased Neat Works years ago, and I've been using it, with all of the upgrades, for a long time. Unfortunately, the hardware is just barely OK. It really wants to scan in B&W if you don't want to spend all day. But the biggest disaster is the database software, which has gotten progressively worse over the years. If you open Neat and just scan in a receipt, it won't remember where you are, and will not allow you to scan until you pick a receipt folder. If you want to search your receipts by dollar amount, you have to type quotes before and after the amount, like "2.39" which is ridiculous given the standard Window's search experience. A much better scanner is the Fujitsu that Costco sells. Well worth whatever Costco sells it for! And the Adobe Acrobat software is awesome!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:October 24, 2012

Fundamentally flawed

Pros: double sided scans decent image
Cons: software is not up to snuff, easily corrupts data leading to data loss, can't put database on external or networked drive
Model Number: ND-1000 for PC
"I have had this product for about 6 months and regret the purchase. In the time I have had it, I have had the database get corrupted at least twice (managed to recover much, but lost some of the data) and there are fundamental flaws to the product.
1) Database easily gets corrupted, and no way to fix the database. To recover the database had to copy files from an old backup then replace one by one with the corrupted files until I found the bad one. Lost data from that bad file, but had most of my data. IMPORTANT: Keep frequent (e.g. every time you use) backups.
2) No support for multiple databases, at least for the PC version. And there is a cap on the size of the database of around 30-40 GB. More than 1/2 way there already. Very poor design. Ideally would be able to create multiple databases for different types of scanned documents.
3) No support for putting the product on an external drive or network drive. Must be on your C drive. Absolutely ludicrous.
4) Just tried to update the latest version. It requires that it backup your files for you before updating the database. Problem is, it needs at least as much space on your C drive as the size of the database. I have a 21GB database, and my C drive is a 120 GB SSD. No real solution -- can't back up to external drive because does all the work (e.g. temp space) on the C drive, so as soon as you run out of space on the C drive, the backup fails. Contacted support and they said I have to clear space on the C drive.
I deeply regret this purchase. If I did not have so much on the database and shreaded the originals I would get rid of it. Still may -- may just need to go back to plain PDF."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>