Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

Model: 00315
Average Customer Rating:
3.02 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
20
27 of 50(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Review 21 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:September 8, 2009

Irreplaceable

Pros: cool looking, fast scanning
Cons: slower to scan into an existing pdf file.
Model Number: Neat Desk
"This is a great system. It takes very little place on my desk, and looks great too. It has very quick scanning; typically can scan duplex (both side) of a sheet in a matter of seconds, plus some time to process the image. It is incredibly convenient. The first time I installed it, it seemed to scan very slowly, but once I rebooted my system, it was lightning fast. I highly recommend it to anyone that needs a home or small business scanner to get organized, or to keep track of receipts."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 16, 2012

Neatdesk - Software Buggy

Pros: upright
Cons: technical support, speed, software
Model Number: ND1000
"The scanner is not as fast as people say andt God help you if you need tech support or want to use the software. I've been using this product for a couple of years for my business. The software is buggy and poorly explained and organized. For example, the logic that most people use is to think about their filing like a filing cabinet. Fine, that works, but not in Neat. The organizational levels are odd, not explained, and don't make sense. What you end up having to do is create a few big category headers where you store everything. Since you don't have the choice of scanning and storing as PDF's (you have to create them AFTER it scans a stores) this is an added inconvenience. The software is buggy. I've run this on Windows Vista and Windows 7, various versions of the version 5 and previous 4 software and both are horrid. Perhaps the worst part is their technical support. You get a small time window then you have to pay, worse than Microsoft. This should be a major concern for anyone buying the product as virtually every update to the software causes some issue that needs either research or assistance. I would really think twice before using this product and consider the Fujitsu or other scanner. It's just not worth the headache, especially the lack of technical support that should come free for life with a product that costs as much as this one. While this product is advertised as fast, it's not. Yes, it zips through the scanner, but the required software takes many minutes to process what is run through it and if you want a PDF, well you have to first input data about what you scanned through the software they supply THEN creat the PDF. Seriously, stay away from this product if you can. I'm running this on a quad core Intel 7 system with 12 megs of ram and a 3TB Drive...so, if you have anything less, you might consider your experience may be far worse."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bastrop, TX
Date:December 2, 2008

Very handy

Pros: faster than to older models
"I love this. I have been able to get rid of so much paper in the house. It's very easy to use. I got one for my daughter."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2012

Worth every cent!

"I bought this scanner in an attempt to transition home paper files to e-files as I was saving too many papers. The software that comes with it is terrific and allows you to set up a FILING CABINET for all your records: Receipts, docs, business cards, etc.
If you don't want to use the NEAT software you can simply scan to PDF and use whatever system you have.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland,Ohio
Date:March 13, 2013

Not exactly what I expected

Pros: the product is a great help for organizing all the
Cons: would love to have a little more support
Model Number: S/NCNLF128W3521
"It was easier after I found out how to set up the program. The instructions on the CD were lengthy, over 100 pages. I called the company for support, I was told they only gave support if there was a problem with the CD. I also called Costco's concierge, they were able to go over the information that was on the CD with me that was somewhat helpful. The concept is wonderful, wish I could have gotten a little more support from the company. As I work with the neat desk I am learning more."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 17, 2009

Best Purchase Ever

"If you have receipts of any kind and need to save them as well as calculate the total of each expentiture this is the one. Store Documents, Business cards, receipts, and its easy to access any one of them for tax purposes, or just to see your total dollar spent over the month or year. This one you should not pass up on.
It would make a great Fathers Day gift or a gift to anyone.
"
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 1, 2012

Won't work on 64 bit

Cons: does not work on 64 bit
Model Number: 00315
"I was given the smaller NeatDesk unit and have never been able to use it as it doesn't work on 64 bit. Both my desktop and laptop were bought at Costco(HP) and so was the scanner.This company has made scanners for several years and with most all computers going to 64 bit why don't they get on the ball and make software for 64 bit."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2009

NeatDesk

"My reason for purchasing this product was for its ability to scan multiple copies. This can scan up to 50 pages at a time - to the software that comes with the hardward. I'll need to export those docs to other files... My accountant is thrilled with the receipts portion and my ability to keep those receipts necessary for tax purposes."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cathlamet, WA
Date:October 7, 2013

OK for homebodies

Pros: easy set up
Cons: a little larger than expected
Model Number: Neat Desk ?
"Easy set up for easy things like gas receipts grocery receipts and the like however more detailed for other things it does do what i want it to do so i am happy as a housewife who wants to track her expenses and costs
alittle slow but ok
MORE expensive than it should be
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Valrico, Fl
Date:June 30, 2012

Non compatable scanner

Pros: great promo on what youre looking for in a scanner
Cons: doesn't link with quickbooks or outlook, very poor customer service
"The product scans really fast as it indicates, but from there it doesn't perform as advertised. The software program is very inefficient and not easy to use. I tried to synch it with Quickbooks and Outlook and was not able to, which is what I purchased it for. I attempted to contact the manufacturer, but all I received was their sales pitch videos on how great it was and what it could do, there was no real customer support. When I finally got in touch with someone, they sent me a corrected link that did not correct the problem with synching to Quickbooks and Outlook. I returned the product to Costco and had a great expereince in promptly returning my money. This is a definite don't buy."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tucson AZ
Date:May 17, 2012

Okay

Model Number: NeatDesk® Desktop Scanner
"It has a nice scanner but the software is so so. I guess I have to work with it some more but it is not as user friendly as they would lead you to believe. It is a lot to pay for a scanner and some ok software. I guess I expected something that was more plug and play with a shorter learning curve. Go figure they over sold their benefits."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lake Mathews California
Date:January 23, 2013

Overpriced piece of Junk

Cons: long waits for support and incompetent techs
Model Number: ND-1000
"The first one delivered was a dud and after spending 30 minutes on the phone waiting for support and 25 minutes of the tech testing the Neat device he determined that the unit had to be replaced.....confirming the purchase to Neat personnel was complicated and I wish no one the experience that I had to go through. The neat Software has been updated and now the serial number Keys are no longer required....nice of them to let us know....the upgrade software, good luck downloading that took another 1/2 hour and in doing so, faulted our printer in terms of making cards for birthdays and anniversaries. The 3 day select from UPS with the replacement took 5 working days, not happy with the service. When we called tech support again with the software problem I received no help at all and that was another 30 minutes waiting and 15 minutes for the tech to scratch his head and tell me that it was a windows problem not Neat....well it was a neat problem and reloading the original disk again and reloading my printer software the problem was resolved, no thanks to Neat Techs.
Beware if you have problems with the Unit, tech support is a lot to be desired and good luck if the software messes up your printer installation....like I said, the NEAT Device is way overpriced and I would not recommend it to anyone....."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:February 22, 2012

good software, horrid hardware

Pros: software but that can be bought by iteself 4 less
Cons: hardware (the scanner)
Model Number: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner
"The software is not too bad, and is worth looking into. But the scanner itself is a piece of garbage. Failed 9 out of 10 time I would try to scan and would not autofix skews or bad feeds with any reliability. Neats tech support on the issue, just reload and rescan the document. so lets see cut scan time in 1/2 since you have two sided scanning but take at least 10 scans to get one good one. So that is 5 times the time to scan as my cheap flatbed scanner for 4 times the cost. Sounds like a great deal to me, NOT!!!!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Date:March 20, 2013

best purchase ever

Model Number: ND 1000
"Would like to give the neat desk a 2 thumbs up. So easy to use my 14 yr old granddaughter wants to scan her homework so she doesn't loose anything again. The the IRS won't catch me again. My husband is a over-the-road truck driver and we lost his logs in a tractor trailer accident, did the IRS care when we were audited and couldn't prove his perdium. That made my mind up to purchase it. I LOVE IT"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2009

Can't get software to install

"Sounds good.
But I haven't been able to get their software to install (SQL runs as a service, and the service won't start.
Twain recognizes the scanner, but their software is required to calibrate it. It won't run without calibration.
Neatco product support has made some suggestions, but they haven't worked."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City Utah
Date:February 26, 2013

Doesn't Work

Pros: it looks pretty on my desk. ha
Cons: i would have better luck making copies with a rock
"The company, NEAT, told me it wasn't calibrated coming right out of the box. We tried, I tried, everybody tried and it still didn't work right. After scanning in over 13 receipts only 3 got all the information right. Not good odds. Returned the product and would recommend Costco discontinue carrying it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:March 26, 2013

Decent

Pros: works better than expected.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: ND1000
"Not a big fan of products found on "As Seen on TV". But this scanner works better than other professional scanners we use here in the office. The drivers are great for network and cross platform users."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, Washington
Date:January 18, 2013

Internet Beware

Pros: it printed wrinkled receipts without wrinkles, if it takes it in on a slant it will straighten it
Cons: it needs a back up button for easy return, it required the internet for setting it up
Model Number: 00315
"I bought this product thinking I should be able to run the setup disk on my computer, and start sorting my billing. To my surprise I needed the internet to setup the program, I wasn't very happy, because I didn't have ability for internet at the time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 30, 2012

Garbage out of the box!

"I bought this after researching and I wanted a compact scanner that could handle larger documents and convert to PDF. Right out of the box this thing wouldn't even scan a piece of paper - including the included "calibration paper". It continually said "paper jam". This is exactly why I only buy electronics at Costco...the quality today is total junk!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 15, 2011

End Paper Clutter Fast

Pros: good quality, compact, easy to use, very fast scanner
Cons: no security
Model Number: ND-1000
"I have a tendency to keep a lot of documents and receipts so I have to maintain multiple file boxes which I would love to get rid of. This product will definitely do the job.
The software installed easily without any problems, it is simple and easy to use and the scanner is compact, nice looking and very fast.
I’ve had it for a week now and so far I am very impressed with it. I would highly recommend it to anyone that would like to cut down on paper clutter.
To me the only downside so far is that it has no security features (that I know of) in case your computer gets stolen. You may want to refrain from filing documents with sensitive information until they address this issue.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>