Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac

Model: 00315
Average Customer Rating:
3.289 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
13
27 of 45(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Review 21 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 23, 2013

Not as expected

Pros: fast scan even in duplex, nice image on greyscale, good clean image on bi-tonal, easy to use software, able to scan while ocr runs is good, cropping and deskewing is good
Cons: very large image size poor compression, few configuration options on the software, changing type from receipt to document slow, unable to add a page to existing document
Model Number: ND1000
"I have a lot of paper to scan but with images as large as this product generates I'll run out of space quickly. Scanning Documents seems to produce a nice greyscale image that can be as large a 4MB per page. Scanning Receipts is better but still large at about 1MB per page. My older scanner produces similar quality images a tenth the size. Neat support reply is image compression cannot be adjusted."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Date:March 20, 2013

best purchase ever

Model Number: ND 1000
"Would like to give the neat desk a 2 thumbs up. So easy to use my 14 yr old granddaughter wants to scan her homework so she doesn't loose anything again. The the IRS won't catch me again. My husband is a over-the-road truck driver and we lost his logs in a tractor trailer accident, did the IRS care when we were audited and couldn't prove his perdium. That made my mind up to purchase it. I LOVE IT"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 17, 2009

Best Purchase Ever

"If you have receipts of any kind and need to save them as well as calculate the total of each expentiture this is the one. Store Documents, Business cards, receipts, and its easy to access any one of them for tax purposes, or just to see your total dollar spent over the month or year. This one you should not pass up on.
It would make a great Fathers Day gift or a gift to anyone.
"
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2012

Worth every cent!

"I bought this scanner in an attempt to transition home paper files to e-files as I was saving too many papers. The software that comes with it is terrific and allows you to set up a FILING CABINET for all your records: Receipts, docs, business cards, etc.
If you don't want to use the NEAT software you can simply scan to PDF and use whatever system you have.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 30, 2012

Garbage out of the box!

"I bought this after researching and I wanted a compact scanner that could handle larger documents and convert to PDF. Right out of the box this thing wouldn't even scan a piece of paper - including the included "calibration paper". It continually said "paper jam". This is exactly why I only buy electronics at Costco...the quality today is total junk!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tucson AZ
Date:May 17, 2012

Okay

Model Number: NeatDesk® Desktop Scanner
"It has a nice scanner but the software is so so. I guess I have to work with it some more but it is not as user friendly as they would lead you to believe. It is a lot to pay for a scanner and some ok software. I guess I expected something that was more plug and play with a shorter learning curve. Go figure they over sold their benefits."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2009

NeatDesk

"My reason for purchasing this product was for its ability to scan multiple copies. This can scan up to 50 pages at a time - to the software that comes with the hardward. I'll need to export those docs to other files... My accountant is thrilled with the receipts portion and my ability to keep those receipts necessary for tax purposes."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 1, 2012

Won't work on 64 bit

Cons: does not work on 64 bit
Model Number: 00315
"I was given the smaller NeatDesk unit and have never been able to use it as it doesn't work on 64 bit. Both my desktop and laptop were bought at Costco(HP) and so was the scanner.This company has made scanners for several years and with most all computers going to 64 bit why don't they get on the ball and make software for 64 bit."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2009

Can't get software to install

"Sounds good.
But I haven't been able to get their software to install (SQL runs as a service, and the service won't start.
Twain recognizes the scanner, but their software is required to calibrate it. It won't run without calibration.
Neatco product support has made some suggestions, but they haven't worked."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, NC
Date:September 29, 2011

I like this scanner!

Model Number: ND-1000
"Scanning has come a long way... and the NeatDesk is the next step on my journey. I have the NeatReceipts scanner as well, but needed the desktop model for my business scanning needs. It is quick and gives good results. If I could make any change, I would have the documents slot adjustable rather than fixed"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City Utah
Date:February 26, 2013

Doesn't Work

Pros: it looks pretty on my desk. ha
Cons: i would have better luck making copies with a rock
"The company, NEAT, told me it wasn't calibrated coming right out of the box. We tried, I tried, everybody tried and it still didn't work right. After scanning in over 13 receipts only 3 got all the information right. Not good odds. Returned the product and would recommend Costco discontinue carrying it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012

Super product

Model Number: Neat Desk Scanner
"Been using a Neat portable scanner for years. Finally took the plunge and bought a desk model. So far, fantastic. It's quick, does both sides of a pager at one pass and combines 8.5 X 11 and store receipts inter-mixed at one pass. Still learning the features but love it so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cathlamet, WA
Date:October 7, 2013

OK for homebodies

Pros: easy set up
Cons: a little larger than expected
Model Number: Neat Desk ?
"Easy set up for easy things like gas receipts grocery receipts and the like however more detailed for other things it does do what i want it to do so i am happy as a housewife who wants to track her expenses and costs
alittle slow but ok
MORE expensive than it should be
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, Washington
Date:January 18, 2013

Internet Beware

Pros: it printed wrinkled receipts without wrinkles, if it takes it in on a slant it will straighten it
Cons: it needs a back up button for easy return, it required the internet for setting it up
Model Number: 00315
"I bought this product thinking I should be able to run the setup disk on my computer, and start sorting my billing. To my surprise I needed the internet to setup the program, I wasn't very happy, because I didn't have ability for internet at the time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:November 9, 2009

OMG!!! This is so NEAT

"This product is life changing. Easy Setup, and then you are off. I have already gotten rid of several stacks of documents via the shredder and the scans set neatly on a harddrive that I will be backing up. EZZZZZZZZ Thanks NEAT!"
Review 36 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:March 26, 2013

Decent

Pros: works better than expected.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: ND1000
"Not a big fan of products found on "As Seen on TV". But this scanner works better than other professional scanners we use here in the office. The drivers are great for network and cross platform users."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St. Charles, MO
Date:March 29, 2014

Works OK

Pros: scans receipts well
Cons: does always recognize names script fonts
Model Number: 00315
"The Neat Desk scan works for what I need for (receipts). However, I wish that it would not scan documents as separate a pages. It scans receipts well - I do have to verify amount and Business name."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Seattle WA
Date:March 30, 2012

Neat Scanner

Pros: easy to install, easy to use
Cons: pdf program was expired
Model Number: Neat Desktop Scanner
"I have another scanner that will scan business cards. This scanner does everything and both sides at one time. So this scanner is much nicer than the old one that copies only one side."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2012

Very - intuitive-usefull-desktop tool

Cons: non yet
"Spoke with customer service at Neat.
Based on the east coast of USA
Spoke English, was helpful and it sounds like a great all around good purchase."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC or Mac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LAS VEGAS, NV
Date:February 10, 2012

NeatPro Scanner

Pros: 2 sided scanning, price perfect for a small business investment
Cons: not network available
"I have the travel scanner from NeatDesk for years and keep in my computer bag but my office needed a better scanner and this was the perfect fit"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>