Customer Reviews for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud

NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud

Model: 00315
Average Customer Rating:
3.341 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
12
27 of 44(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Review 21 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 30, 2012

Garbage out of the box!

"I bought this after researching and I wanted a compact scanner that could handle larger documents and convert to PDF. Right out of the box this thing wouldn't even scan a piece of paper - including the included "calibration paper". It continually said "paper jam". This is exactly why I only buy electronics at Costco...the quality today is total junk!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2012

Worth every cent!

"I bought this scanner in an attempt to transition home paper files to e-files as I was saving too many papers. The software that comes with it is terrific and allows you to set up a FILING CABINET for all your records: Receipts, docs, business cards, etc.
If you don't want to use the NEAT software you can simply scan to PDF and use whatever system you have.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 23, 2012

NeatDesk scanner

Pros: easy to use, quick set up, easy to understand
Cons: can't save to a network drive
"This product works really well, and I would reccomend it to everyone that wants to get the paper out of their lives."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Worth, FL
Date:April 10, 2012

Great Product

"I bought it 2 months ago. I love it. Also I bought the mobil version too."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012

DANGER LURKING

Cons: database can be irretrievably lost
Model Number: ND1000
"I purchased the NEAT desktop scanner in December and have loaded hundreds of tax and business documents. I thought the scanner did a good job until Sunday April 1 2012 (this was not an April Fool's joke). While trying to load the NEAT database from the desktop icon I was instructed to reset the database. I was given the option of YES or NO. I selected NO. I tried several more times and the popup continued preventing the existing database to load. The next time the popup arose I hit yes and the program loaded WIPING OUT ALL of my stored files. NEAT does not have a 24/7 customer service. NEAT was totally incapable of helping with this issue. BE WARE!The backup I used was lost as well, so beware."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Seattle WA
Date:March 30, 2012

Neat Scanner

Pros: easy to install, easy to use
Cons: pdf program was expired
Model Number: Neat Desktop Scanner
"I have another scanner that will scan business cards. This scanner does everything and both sides at one time. So this scanner is much nicer than the old one that copies only one side."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2012

Very - intuitive-usefull-desktop tool

Cons: non yet
"Spoke with customer service at Neat.
Based on the east coast of USA
Spoke English, was helpful and it sounds like a great all around good purchase."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012

Super product

Model Number: Neat Desk Scanner
"Been using a Neat portable scanner for years. Finally took the plunge and bought a desk model. So far, fantastic. It's quick, does both sides of a pager at one pass and combines 8.5 X 11 and store receipts inter-mixed at one pass. Still learning the features but love it so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LAS VEGAS, NV
Date:February 10, 2012

NeatPro Scanner

Pros: 2 sided scanning, price perfect for a small business investment
Cons: not network available
"I have the travel scanner from NeatDesk for years and keep in my computer bag but my office needed a better scanner and this was the perfect fit"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 1, 2012

Won't work on 64 bit

Cons: does not work on 64 bit
Model Number: 00315
"I was given the smaller NeatDesk unit and have never been able to use it as it doesn't work on 64 bit. Both my desktop and laptop were bought at Costco(HP) and so was the scanner.This company has made scanners for several years and with most all computers going to 64 bit why don't they get on the ball and make software for 64 bit."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:November 23, 2011

Mancrush!

"I've used this all afternoon for the first time and I am almost ashamed to admit that I have a mancrush on this piece of office equipment. It scans SO fast and the software it comes with is amazing. I've had to edit some amounts and enter vendor names...but it still cuts my reimbursement time by so much that I'll save TONS of time over the years I have this. I regret not buying one sooner and de-cluttering my house!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 15, 2011

End Paper Clutter Fast

Pros: good quality, compact, easy to use, very fast scanner
Cons: no security
Model Number: ND-1000
"I have a tendency to keep a lot of documents and receipts so I have to maintain multiple file boxes which I would love to get rid of. This product will definitely do the job.
The software installed easily without any problems, it is simple and easy to use and the scanner is compact, nice looking and very fast.
I’ve had it for a week now and so far I am very impressed with it. I would highly recommend it to anyone that would like to cut down on paper clutter.
To me the only downside so far is that it has no security features (that I know of) in case your computer gets stolen. You may want to refrain from filing documents with sensitive information until they address this issue.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, NC
Date:September 29, 2011

I like this scanner!

Model Number: ND-1000
"Scanning has come a long way... and the NeatDesk is the next step on my journey. I have the NeatReceipts scanner as well, but needed the desktop model for my business scanning needs. It is quick and gives good results. If I could make any change, I would have the documents slot adjustable rather than fixed"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:November 9, 2009

OMG!!! This is so NEAT

"This product is life changing. Easy Setup, and then you are off. I have already gotten rid of several stacks of documents via the shredder and the scans set neatly on a harddrive that I will be backing up. EZZZZZZZZ Thanks NEAT!"
Review 35 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2009

Great Product - Timesaver

"I have used this product for a couple of years. At first I had the portable scanner that was called "Neat Receipts". The portable one is nice because it's small enough to take traveling with you for scanning in business receipts or whatever.
About six months ago I decided to upgrade to the larger scanner because it's just easier if you do your paperwork primarily at home. It's very fast and you can load many sheets with different sizes at one time. The scanner will categorize them for you or you can choose for yourself whether to scan it to the receipt, document, or business card box. It sure has helped manage the clutter that used to be on my desk.
Yes, It does come with it's own database, but you can also use your own document filing system if you choose. You simply choose this scanner when importing in your application. I use this scanner with Quicken and the Microsoft Office Suite applications. I also have an HP all-in-one laser printer that scans, but this is much easier and quicker. I don't have to get up from my desk to lift the cover and scan one document at a time like I do with the all-in-one. I just sit in front of my computer and the small NeatDesk scanner is at my side waiting to receive the papers. All I have to do to scan is reach over and touch a button on the scanner or else click the scan button with my mouse from the computer.
The advantage to using the NeatDesk database is character recognition feature. Trying to find that Costco receipt when you purchased groceries, auto supplies, software and a camera all in one purchase would be cumbersome otherwise. This scanner will bring it up immediately."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:September 8, 2009

Irreplaceable

Pros: cool looking, fast scanning
Cons: slower to scan into an existing pdf file.
Model Number: Neat Desk
"This is a great system. It takes very little place on my desk, and looks great too. It has very quick scanning; typically can scan duplex (both side) of a sheet in a matter of seconds, plus some time to process the image. It is incredibly convenient. The first time I installed it, it seemed to scan very slowly, but once I rebooted my system, it was lightning fast. I highly recommend it to anyone that needs a home or small business scanner to get organized, or to keep track of receipts."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Newton, MA
Date:August 7, 2009

Software is the downfall of this product

Pros: duplex (simultaneous double-sided) scanning, very quick scanning in black/white/grey
Cons: software suite is unintuitive and poorly designed;, software crashes occasionally (tried w/2 computrs), & can cause loss of prev scanned items
"The "Desktop Scanner" itself (the hardware) is pretty impressive. It will scan both sides of an item simultaneously and do so very quickly in black & white (and gray), fairly quickly in color. It's only significant shortcomings are the lack of adjustable guides to keep items feeding straight and misfeeding more often than I'd expect on multi-item scans.
The "Digital Filing System," on the other hand, is poorly-conceived and unintuitive to use. Moreover, the software has crashed multiple times during my several weeks of using it, sometimes causing loss of already scanned and saved items. I consider this a fatal flaw in software that's supposed to reduce the need to keep hard-copy originals."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:July 15, 2009

Great for Personal Use

Pros: receipt scanning huge plus, paper sorter helpful, great for sales pros home users
Cons: property entry for each document cumbersome, categorization methods a little cumbersome, files stored within application database, not for higher volume business use
"So I bought both this scanner and the S1500 from Costco.com for both personal and business use. When I first got this scanner, I thought it was the best thing since sliced bread. It scans multiple doc types quickly and categorizes them automatically between cards, receipts and documents. The tray sorter comes in pretty handy for multiple uses. However, documents are managed completely from the Neat application. If you manipulate/distribute/search files, documents, contracts within your file system directly, then this isn't for you. Overall good scanner but better suited for home use or for sales people who can take advantage of receipt scanning."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2009

Can't get software to install

"Sounds good.
But I haven't been able to get their software to install (SQL runs as a service, and the service won't start.
Twain recognizes the scanner, but their software is required to calibrate it. It won't run without calibration.
Neatco product support has made some suggestions, but they haven't worked."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for NeatDesk® Plus Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System For PC and Mac with 6 months Free NeatCloud
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 26, 2009

AWESOME

Pros: priceless
Cons: none
"I absolutely love this product. I have barely scratched the surface of it's capabilities but have already scanned in a number of business cards, documents, and receipts. And, it is so nice to see the trash can full of things that have been cluttering my house. I don't understand the review about documents not scanning well. I have done everything from magazine and newspaper articles to shared Word documents and instruction sheets--No problems."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>