Customer Reviews for Red Roses 100 Stems

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Red Roses 100 Stems

Average Customer Rating:
3.946 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
28 of 37(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Roses 100 Stems
Review 1 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC and NC
Date:September 29, 2010

Superb Product

Pros: huge heads
"Ordered 300 for a charity event. I am a florist and know that roses (and most flowers) are shipped dry packed, so I took proper steps to rehydrate them. First, remove the 25-stem bundles from the box, but do not open the plastic or cardboard wrap. Make a fresh cut at least 2" from the end and immediately place the bundle in water for at least 1or 2 hours to allow water to make the stems turgid and to hold the heads straight. After the 1 or 2 hours, then unroll the bundle and remove all leaves that would be below the water line (decaying vegetation kills flowers) . Replace the roses in the water (after removing thorns), and allow them to rehydrate overnight. These roses look sad at first, but they are fresher than any roses you will have ever seen. Expect a few broken stems, which can be used for boutonnieres or petals; a little breakage is normal. It is unfair to Costco to reduce stars when this product is clearly labeled as "bulk" flowers (for lack of presentation wrap) or by those who do not understand that ALL flowers from the growers look dry at first and must be rehydrated. These roses are absolutely top quality and will open beautifully and last for many days."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York City
Date:October 22, 2009

Outstanding Roses

Pros: long lasting stunning velevet color
"A wedding florists secret: I use only Costco roses and most flowers. Why? The quality has been consistent, shipping and packaging excellent, and delivery on time. When dealing with a perishable mistakes happen, and on a wedding day this is not acceptable, but if you call Costco immediately upon delivery I have found, (the one time I received the wrong color), they will move mountains to assist you. I am able to not just give my brides a great deal, which I pass on, but the most amazing flowers. Wholesale markets have been very iffy of late due to the economy so sticking with a company that has such a good return policy is paramount to my business.
These long stem roses open up to a large bloom, stay fresh for an amazingly long time, and will evoke 'oooh's and ahhhh's' from your bride and her wedding party!
Be sure to order according to the forecasted weather in your area. If you want buds and not full blooms and if too warm they will bloom out more quickly.
Always hydrate your flowers by cutting with a very sharp floral knife at an angle to give the stem more area to 'drink' up the water, also after cutting place immediately in a commercial hydrating solution. It prolongs the flower, and ensures you do not end up with drooping heads. Call your local florist and ask to purchase a jug of the hydrating solution."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Auburn, WA
Date:February 16, 2009

Absolutely fabulous!

"I ordered the roses for my wedding in February 2009.
I checked a couple of days before the delivery date of 2/12 just to be sure. I got a response within 1/2 hour!
The roses arrived on the day stated. One broken stem. Every single rose was used! I am thrilled!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 3, 2012

Not the best this time around

Pros: can't beat the price
Cons: will recommend but with caution & advice
"We have ordered roses through Costco before. The last time we ordered 500 roses for a wedding and other than a delivery snafu that was handled beautifully the roses were terrific. Yes, they look questionable when you first get them but follow the directions and they should be great by day 2 or 3. We got them on a wednesday morning for a friday night wedding and they were perfect.
This time around, unfortunately, this wasn't the case. We recieved them early on a thursday morning for a Sauturday afternoon event, followed the steps to perk them up but even by Saturday morning alot of them were looking a little worn around the edges. Removing the guard leaves and a few more didn't help many of them.The arrangements were still pretty but not what we hoped for.
We will order these again as the price is great but we'll always order a few more days in advance of the event in case of issues.
"
Review 5 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Il.
Date:November 3, 2009

Gorgeous Huge Flowers

Pros: huge beautiful blooms
"The 100 red roses arrived on time and in excellent condition. The thorns were already removed, which make the flowers easier to handle when cutting the stems. After a few hours in the water, the flowers started to open right up and what a spectacle. Huge, perfectly shaped petals that were 4.5 to 5.0 inches wide when fully opened. Buy these flowers if you want to overwhelm the recipient and really make a statement. Everyone who saw them thought they were spectacular and wanted to know where they came from. An anniversary gift for my wife, which because of their incredible brillance and beauty, will be long remembered as the most stunning roses I ever gave my special lady."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:June 25, 2012

Bulk Roses - You won't be disappointed

"Pros: Service - They arrived on time and we received a prompt call from the florist with instructions on how to handle the flowers. The service was great! Value - The value is great as well. I can't imagine the price of 100 long stem roses from the florist! They opened up beautifully.
In terms of how long they lasted - it varied within our order. They were beautiful through the wedding on Saturday, but on Sunday afternoon, about 1/3 were droopy.
I want to manage people's expectations when ordering bulk flowers. There's a tip in one of the reviews which I highly recommend and have put below. When you trim, trim off a good 3-4 inches. Also, have that sharp tool handy. Some of the rose stems are thick. Bring your pals over as cutting all these stems would be time consuming by yourself.
Tip from previous review: Always hydrate your flowers by cutting with a very sharp floral knife at an angle to give the stem more area to 'drink' up the water, also after cutting place immediately in a commercial hydrating solution. It prolongs the flower, and ensures you do not end up with drooping heads. Call your local florist and ask to purchase a jug of the hydrating solution.""
Review 7 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2009

all dead

"last year I bought roses from Costco, they shipped it from Florida to San Francisco. Guess what? All dead. Very very disappointed. Buy at your own risk."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2009

Exceptional quality

"I ordered 300 Red and 100 White.
Came carefully boxed (100 per box).
Delivered to MN in January and were in excellent shape. Took a couple days for the blooms to open fully, but lasted well over a week.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2010

great buy

"The flowers arrived well-packed and perked up a few hours after I removed them from the package and placed them in fresh water. The blooms are huge, the colors are deep red and beautiful. Our color motif was black and white and the simple red flower arrangements added understated elegance and class to the setting. It's been a week and a half since our event and I still have beautiful arrangements around the house from left-over from the party. I just keep changing the water and cutting the stems everyday. Very happy and satisfied w/ this purchase!"
Review 10 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, MN
Date:February 15, 2012

cold weather destination - no

Pros: value, arrived on time
Cons: quality
Model Number: item #630586
"I ordered the 36-stem Red Roses Valentine's Day special. They arrived on time via FedEx all the way from Bogota, Columbia. But the tops of the flowers froze in transit so the blooms were not that great. I was home when they were delivered so they did not sit outside -- and it was just below freezing when they arrived. So somewhere along the way the flowers were exposed to the cold. Think twice about ordering flowers during the winter if you live in a cold weather climate. I would go with a local florist instead for the best quality."
Review 11 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA (delivered to Lakeside, MT)
Date:July 28, 2012

So happy with how the roses turned out!

Pros: scheduled delivery even to remote house in montan, easy to follow instructions, affordable, beautiful color
Cons: cutting stems thorns leaves
"I was so nervous ordering these and doing my own wedding flowers. I had scheduled them to deliver on Thursday for my Saturday Evening wedding (5pm). We received them by 11 am on Thursday (ordered 200). We cut the stems immediately, and removed any leaves + thorns at the bottom, filled up 2 5 gallon buckets with the solution + water. We then put them in a cool, dark garage until the wedding day. That day they were cut and assembled for our bouquets. They turned out EXACTLY like I had imagined. SOOOO happy."
Review 12 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan October Wedding
Date:October 29, 2011
"We ordered 400 rosses all red for the centerpieces at the reception. They arrived on time as promised and were all well packed. They were all the same color of red which I find commendable. The heads of the roses were beautiful. All of them opened nicely and were of exceptional quality. Everyone raved about the centerpieces and I was even offered a couple of jobs as a wedding planner! We also used the to decorate the wedding cake. As I write this review the roses are now over a week old and still look awesome."
Review 13 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples FL
Date:April 25, 2012

beautiful roses

"The shipment arrived in a timely manner. It contained instructions and a preservative to add to water while hydrating the roses. The next day we were able to create beautiful bouquets. Only needed to add greenery purchased separately. The roses were longer than expected, and the buds were very large. One of the 4 packages of 25 roses was not as good as the rest but Costco made good on their warranty.
We had a large reception and guests commented on the beauty of the roses.I would order again.
"
Review 14 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:June 30, 2012

Disappointing quality

Pros: on time and helpful service
Cons: poor quality
Model Number: 358151
"I ordered these for my son's wedding. Although they were delivered promptly, the flowers did not fair well during shipping and despite immediate care and attention, many of the flowers heads were sagging and could not be used for bouquets. Luckily, I also ordered the Calla/Roses combo box as well, which came from Columbia. The color of those roses was more vibrant and the condition was perfect. I was able to use those for bouquets and boutonnieres and used these for arrangements."
Review 15 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:October 11, 2011

Beautiful

"The roses came in the day I requested (on a Wednesday). I cut them and put them in water. I used them for my wedding on Saturday. We made arrangements and the bouquets/boutonnieres. I had multiple boxes, so it wasn't hard finding perfect roses for the bouquets and boutonnieres. We did have to de-thorn those, but didn't worry about de-thorning the ones for the arrangements. I would definitely recommend these roses! Especially the price!!"
Review 16 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2012

Promising - but disappointing in the end

Pros: delivered on time and looked fresh upon arrival
Cons: didn't last a day before drooping, buds never opened
"The roses arrived as scheduled on Thursday and looked good upon opening. I followed all the directions for preparing the flowers and simply placed them in vases (indoors) for a Kentucky Derby Party on Saturday.
The roses never opened - and most of the buds fell over looking sad and depressed after only one day. I expected them to open beautifully for the party - but instead I had to throw them out and buy local flowers.
"
Review 17 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Medford OR
Date:May 17, 2012

Long lasting and beautful

Pros: quality and price
"We purchased the roses for an event we were hosting. The roses arrived 3 days prior to the event and we kept them cool until the day prior to our event. The roses were then cut, arranged and set out to warm up a bit so they would open by the next day. The roses were beautiful and lasted a full week after the party so we were able to continue enjoying them long after the guests left."
Review 18 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Bay Area, SF, CA
Date:March 5, 2010

What a deal!!!

Cons: no flower preservative included.
"We ordered 300 roses to arrive 3 days before the wedding. Arrived on time (signature needed - be sure you're home) in good shape with only 1 rose unuseable. Following instructions - we trimmed and put in water for use in 2 days. BUT - no flower preservative included - have you ever tried to find flower preservative at night - in bulk? Stock up if you can :) Beautiful color - very very pleased."
Review 19 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:July 14, 2009

Gorgeous Red Roses!

Pros: beautiful roses, great price
"I can't stop raving about how beautiful these roses are! They arrived on time (2 days before my daughter's wedding) and were very easy to work with. Her bouquet that we made with the roses turned out absolutely gorgeous! And now, 2 days later, I have the remaining 18 roses in a vase on my table.... the heads and stems are still straight and looking just wonderful as the day I received them."
Review 20 for Red Roses 100 Stems
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Reedley, CA
Date:November 4, 2009

Could have been better

Pros: good price
Cons: not the best quality
"We order our roses so we would receive them two days before the wedding to give them a chance to open up. When we received the flowers they looked like they had been without water for a week. The instructions said they would perk up after a few hours. They never really did and some died completely. we ended up using just the flower petals. Everything worked out fine."
1 2 next>>