Customer Reviews for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

Remote Control 3 Speed Fan 70 Pint Dehumidifier
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
5 of 9(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:June 7, 2009

Lemon shipped- no power from the get go!

Model Number: Model DPAC120068
"I am a person who hates to waste my time, and that's exactly what happened.
I researched these a/c units and based on their positive ratings, was eager to get my unit before the next heat spell. Once it was delivered, I made an extra trip to the hardware store to replace my window with plexiglass for the vents. Once everything was sealed and ready to go, I pressed the remote... NO POWER! I had plugged it in to my surge protector (APC) and thought that might have been the problem. Then I plugged it directly into the wall and STILL no power. I tried getting it to start manually on the machine's I/O button but I eventually threw in the towel and returned it to the warehouse. What a pain! The unit is extremely heavy, and I am not a weightlifter, so loading it into my van with two little kids almost gave me a hernia. Will I try it again? I'm waiting for the replacement as I type and hope that it will work right away. Luckily it's cooled off so my tempers' not flaring like it might have been."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 17, 2009

Well.... it couln't cool my small 180 sq ft room

Cons: does not cool, horrible customer service from danby
"I certainly did not have such positive experience with this unit as other reviewers here. I live in the heart of San Fernando Valley just north of Los Angeles, and this AC was struggling to keep cool a fairly small 180 square feet room with 90-95 degrees outside. The room was 83 degrees when I turned the AC on and set it to 77. It never reached 77. About 4 hours later, it showed 78 at which point I turned it off as it cooled down sufficiently outside and tried it the next day. Similar results. Then I called Danby customer support and told the lady on the other end the same thing I'm telling you here. She hung up on me, but at this point I though we just disconnected. Called back, and the moment she heard my voice, she hung up again. So back to Costco the unit went."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Dos Palos, CA
Date:May 11, 2009

Excellent Purchase!!

Model Number: Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
"We have now owned this air conditioner for over a year and it is still working as well as the first day we received it. It cools quickly and the oscillation feature and the dual hose design makes this the best portable air conditioner available. You will not regret this purchase!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009

Powerful,

Cons: a bit bulky.
"Does a very good job for our family. We live in a 1700 sqft home in California. Our house doesn't have A/C (most in the area don't), but for about 2 months in the summer (off and on) the temperatures get up into the high 70's and low 80's.
It used to get up to between 75-85 deg in the house, but his unit keeps it down to between 70-75 on the warmer days. Really a house this size would need 24,000 BTU. If you have a house or appt less than 1000 sqft then this would probably be ideal.
I recommend getting the largest A/C unit you can afford, you'll be glad you did."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2009

Works Well

"I bought hthis unit for my mom. She lives in central Alabama, and her house does not have air conditioning. This unit, having dual hoses, dehumidifies and cools great! There is no water problem, and the dual hose system puts the hot air back outside - where it belongs! It runs quietly, and brings my mom cool air right where she needs it. I plan to buy another one, to help with dehumidification and cooling in another room. The money was well spent."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cupertino. California
Date:May 19, 2009

Fantastic

Cons: came with a broken part which costco is replacing.
Model Number: Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner.
"I live in Northern CA without air conditioning. I bought this unit for my two-story 1600sq. ft. townhouse and put it downstairs next to the kitchen. It was 97 degrees outside and my house was 70 degrees inside. I started it in the morning when I knew that it would be very hot outside. It continued to put out cold air all day until I could open the house to cool air at bedtime."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clovis, Calif
Date:June 3, 2009

Didn't work, right out of the box

Cons: didn't work from the get go.
Model Number: danby 12 btu dual hose
"Read all the reviews and I thought ok sounds pretty good. Ordered one online, took over a week to get. Hooked it all up, seemed to run good. One big problem, NO COLD AIR. We took it back to Costco, no problem returning, think we will order this again and hope the first one was just a lemon. Will review the second one when we get it here and hooked up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 29, 2009

Poor purchase

"I ordered my air conditioner online, it took about 9 days to deliver. When it was opened it was noticed that there was a damaged corner on the packaging, So after removing all the wrapping material there were no cracks or breakage to the outside of the unit.
After hooking up the machine and turning it on the fan would run intermittently and when it did run it made a horrible sound, like an air compressor running in my living room. So I guess it was damaged on the inside, and of course I returned it to Costco the same day and purchased an a/c that I had purchased for my upstairs that Costco had in stock and I think I will stick with purchasing in the store. Its too bad because I read all the reviews that other people wrote and that's why I decided to get this unit. So beware of the packaging!!!.
"
Review 9 for Danby 12,000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Concord, California
Date:June 30, 2009

Works Perfectly Within Specs & Expectations

Pros: automatic settings or manual, more quiet than single-hose model, remote control, energy efficient, window kit fits patio doors
Cons: water can spill easily when moving unit
Model Number: Danby 12,000 BTU Model DPAC120068
"It's unfortunate that 3 people have recently received defective units. Let's hope Costco takes care of them promptly. Meanwhile, here are my positive experiences with this portable AC unit.
We live in a 1,950 sq. ft. single story, single family house in northern California. We have a 3.5 ton central AC unit. There are only 2 of us; as you can imagine, it's somewhat wasteful to cool down the entire house when we're basically in just 2 or 3 rooms 90% of the time. Two summers ago, we purchased a single-hose portable AC unit, before I discovered the advantages of a dual-hose design. So last summer, we purchased this Danby unit to supplement our central AC and the single-hose portable AC unit.
The Danby is much more efficient and effective than the single-hose unit!
The temperature delta of our central AC is approx 23 degrees. For the single-hose unit, it is approx 14 degrees. The Danby's delta is approx 18 degrees.
We use the Danby primarily in our combo family room/kitchen, an 18x27 area of 486 sq. ft. It maintains 78 degrees easily. For example, yesterday, it was 106 in our backyard and the Danby worked flawlessly and continuously from noon to 2 am, without ever having to empty its reservoir.
It's difficult to believe that this model can lower or maintain the temp of a 2-story, 1,600 sq. ft. townhouse at 70, if the outside temp is even moderately above 70. It's almost beyond comprehension that this is possible when outside temp is 97 (as claimed by another reviewer).
So apply common sense when reading, draw your own conclusions, and adjust expectations accordingly and you should be satisfied with this purchase.
I hope this review helps someone contemplating this purchase or anyone who is tired of paying high utilities bills."