Customer Reviews for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function

RoHS Compliant, No Lead Or Mercury Auto Evaporation Function
Average Customer Rating:
3.423 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
20 of 26(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Review 1 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:July 11, 2009

Works as Advertised

Pros: cools nicely, looks nice
Cons: fairly noisy, bulky hose
"I bought this unit because I live in a two story house in Houston and was tired of cooling the entire house at night when I was only in the bedroom. Now, I can set the rest of the house at 83 and keep my room at 75. The unit cools well, but it pretty noisy when the compressor comes on an off. The fan is fairly quiet, but the plastic enclosure rattles when the unit is cooling. I will probably have to rig it somehow to reduce the noise. I set up a power meter on it and the fan draws about 60 watts - about 1000 watts with the compressor running. Even so, I did see a dramatic decrease in my electric bill since I was using this unit to cool the only room I was in at night. Easy hookup and installation, but with the hose, the unit can't get closer than about a foot to the wall."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 12, 2009

Does it's job.

Model Number: Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
"I purchased this unit to cool our master bedroom during the warm summer months. It's size is consistent with other portable air conditioners. It does make noise when the condenser turns on but it is not unreasonable considering its price point. If you want a unit that is quieter you can find them but you are going to pay another $100-150 for it. The remote is basic but works great. The unit cools well and a blows a good amount of air. Installation was very simple and only took approximately 15 minutes from start to finish. In addition, it has a heating feature for the cooler months. Overall, I think the Haier is a good value."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 20, 2009

Should of went with 14,000BTU's

Pros: sleek design, easy to assemble
Cons: loud, not as cold, pieces did not connect properly
"I've decided to use this unit for a week before giving a rating.
Installation was extremely simple - I only used a screwdriver to screw in the window panel adapter to the plastic panel (for the wndow). HOWEVER, the holes in the plastic panel for the window were too big for the adapter (where the hose is connected), and it kept falling out. Frustrated, I ended up using a thin durable string to connect the adapter to the window panel. Yet, it still looks like the hose wants to fall out.
I took away two stars because the unit does not cool a 200sq feet room to my liking, and the pieces not fitting properly.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:May 15, 2009

Awesome Value for what it is

Pros: cools a large room easily, very easy to set up, you don't have to empty any water it is self-evap
Cons: if you need quiet this is not for you
"We bought a home that has no AC and the windows are way too large for a window unit without doing lots of extra work to it. This was one of the better priced units I had seen, so I figured I'd take a chance and get one for the bedroom. Yes, it's loud, but almost any portable AC unit is. If you're like me and enjoy sleeping with a white noise machine, then this is the same. If you want quiet air, buy a central air unit for thousands of dollars. It cools a large bedroom perfectly. It was very easy to set up (15-20 minutes). We don't use the remote so I have nothing to say about that. Basically, it is what it is and if you're looking for quiet and to cool off a 2000 sq. ft. house, keep looking. If you have 1 room that needs cooling and you're a good sleeper, this is for you. I'm ordering another one right now for our living room."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas TX
Date:May 15, 2009

Just Read This Rating...

"Yes, it's a bit noisy...but the price is spectacular and it works like a champ. I'm not sure what others were expecting as far as noise, but as a rule, window units are a little noisy anyway.
I bought this to put in my bedroom which always tends to be a bit warm...not now!
Hooray for Haier!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:June 10, 2009

Easy Install but this model has no heating

Model Number: CPN10XC9
"Very easy to install-the people who had the problem with the screws were putting in the window panel adapter backwards, so really not a problem. A couple of reviewers mentioned that the unit doubled as a heater in the winter-actually this model doesn't so keep that in mind. I actually bought this thinking it had dual function but that is a different model number than this. This is just an air conditioner and dehumidifier."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:May 27, 2009

DOA - Heier Unable to Repair

Pros: apparent value for the money
Cons: doa service unable to repair, large unit shipped to house returned to store, heier cust. svc. unable to help on phone
Model Number: CPN10XC9
"I have purchased both the 10K and 14K BTU units and was quite pleased with the 14K unit. Unfortunately, when I went to order another, Costco was out of stock, so I thought I'd try the 10K. When it arrived, I eagerly unpacked it and moved it up to our bedroom, where it did nothing but flash a "STOP" light after it was plugged in. I called Heier, and they knew nothing other than what they read in the manual (which I had already consulted). They sent out repair technicians (2!) who didn't have a clue - no manual, no tech info, nothing. They wasted almost 2 hours tearing the unit apart and were unable to get it to run or do anything else other than flash the "STOP" on the LCD display.
I can't comment on noise for this unit since it never did work for us. We're returning to the warehouse and most likely purchasing a different unit. After our experience, I would recommend AGAINST purchasing this unit, but the 14K unit gets two thumbs up!"
Review 8 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:san jose, CA
Date:June 27, 2009

not pleased

Pros: easy to set up, looks good
Cons: lacked cooling power, cumbersom to move around
"We bought this hoping to fight off the hot summer days since our house does not have AC. Now having our first real heat we are seeing that this unit is not what we hopped. It had trouble cooling our sons very small room. Its only about 8x9 feet and when the temp was 93 outside it could not get it much lower than 81-83 and this was after a couple hours of running. I have had window units on the top floor of an apartment when its 90+ turn a room twice the size of my sons into a meat locker. I don't know if its the heat coming off the tube or the unit is defective and not getting low enough.
On the positive side it was very easy to set up. The screws for me worked fine and only took a few min to have it from the box to the window."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009

Nice Portable AC

Model Number: Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
"This is a nice looking AC and does its job very well. I bought it due to the increased number of hot days here in California. This machine is super easy to set up and now I'm enjoying it in my living room while outside is burning hot.
The price is right compare with the similar products. I got the best deal at Costco with coupon this month.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Altamonte Springs, FL
Date:May 11, 2009

Too LOUD

Pros: it cools
Cons: too loud, never shuts off just switches from ac to fan
"(1) Assembly was a pain. Took forever to pry cap off of circular piece that goes in the panel that fits in the window. (2)Would have been better if it oscillated back and forth instead of at a fixed point.(3) If you do buy this be careful removing the remote control which is precariously attached to the front. When I removed it, I also apparently removed a small bump on one side that keeps the remote attached to the unit.(4) Takes up too much room with the hose. (5)If I had it to do over again I would've just bought a window AC, they're much cheaper and they don't take up any floor space.(6) Would be great for a garage.(7) You can only set how many hours you want it to run, I thought you would be able to set what times during the day it would come on and off.(8)Extremely Loud"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:May 27, 2009

Works well, a pain to assemble

Pros: cools the room very well, great price
Cons: pain to assemble, takes up a lot of room
Model Number: Haier 10,000 BTU
"If you get past putting it together, it is a decent unit esp at this price. The holes for the screws to hold the bracket in the window adapter are too big. Had to replace the screws to keep it from falling out. The hose is huge and not very flexible. The adapter that goes on either end of the hose is threaded and only sort of screws on. Kept falling off. I used smaller ductwork, and used foam to hold it in. The window adapter is easy to work with, unlike the other parts. The unit operates well, easy controls, good remote. It cools a small room well, but takes up a LOT of room, (standing out into the room, due to the hose) much more than the pics look like. I think it is worth it, but if you aren't as stubborn as me, might not be for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:riverside, ca
Date:July 13, 2009

Not very good

"This AC unit is as loud as a lawn mower. We have it in our bedroom and it can not sleep with it on. Does not cool beyond 82 degrees when outside temp exceeds 90. I believe another review noted this too. Works, but does not work well enough."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 18, 2009

Great Job!!

Pros: cools fast, sleek style, nice remote control!, price!!!
Cons: none
"This AC is great, it cools my daughters room quickly and I like the setup and the way it looks! Some say it's too loud, but I say it pumps out the AC....Great Value!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:May 18, 2009

it didn't work well in my home

Pros: sleek design
Cons: a bit noisy for causal conversation
"I have a upper level condo that gets the afternoon sun. I was hoping that this unit could replace an very old window unit that came with the condo. Due to the afternoon sun and the heat radiating from the exhaust hose, I was only able to keep the room slightly cooler than outside (outside: 95 deg F, inside: 82 deg F, and I prefer ~ 78 deg F). Until the afternoon sun hits, it kept my ~750 sq foot condo below 80 deg F. I believe the dehumidification function worked well because I never felt sticky.
I am most likely returning it to the warehouse, unfortunately, and revert to an updated window unit. If I didn't get the afternoon sun, the unit would probably work out for my needs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:July 23, 2009

Unit works; authorized service doesn't

Model Number: CPN14XC9
"I bought the 14,0000 BTU version, delivered in early May. It came with a defective top vent, so it has to be propped open. Haier said it was a known issue and I would be contacted about installing the replacement part.
Now that the part has supposedly been created, authorized factory service has stood me up twice (after making me wait 4 hours on the first day before they bothered to tell me they had only ordered the part THAT DAY. Now one part of the authorized factory service says the model # doesn't exist in their system at all, while the other part says the replacement part was shipped to me day before yesterday. Interesting because supposedly they were going to install it today, but they acknowledge their purported shipping date would not have gotten it to me in time to install today. Also interesting, because Haier says they never ship parts to the customer
.
Particularly frustrating because I have an electrical engineer in-house who could have installed it if, in fact, the part had been shipped. But since this is at least the third story I have been told by the authorized factory service folks, I doubt seriously the part has been shipped.
So, I'm limping along with my dorky propped-up vent, wondering what I will do if the unit ever needs a functional repair (as opposed to one that is merely a matter of convenience). So I would never buy another Haier because I cannot get warranty service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 4, 2009
Model Number: cpn10xc9
"I like the Unit's look and its a good coolin effet.Perahaps it is not quit unit if you have are very close to the unit. Good price and worth it."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 25, 2009

Great Value & Easy Set up & Use

Pros: price, cools room well, delivers to residence
Cons: sometimes the screw for panel doesn't fit well, heavy about 60-70 lbs but has wheels
"I just purchased this at end of June & was very happy with product. First it got delivered in one day. Second very easy to put to together, simple. Then just plug in & turn on...like the remote control. Third - Best thing is it does it's job...can cool a room about 500 squre ft at 95 degrees to 72 in less than an hour! (was purchased for master bedroom). Highly recommended to sister who just bought this too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orlando
Date:May 18, 2009

O.K.

Pros: good price, sleek design
Cons: too noisy
"It's used to cool a master bedroom with good success. The unit was easy to install. The only down fall for me is the amount of noise it makes as it cools then idles. In the bedroom it has taken some time to sleep with it running throughout the night. The price is good considering it cools and heats"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South coast area California
Date:July 19, 2009

a very good purchase

Pros: best price for the money, screwholes are too big, cools bery fast even my room is 13.5x14.5 ft
Model Number: 10,000 btu Haier portable A/C
"Although I've only had it for about 5 days now, I'm very satisfied with the item. It's very easy to set up, cools very quick. Yes it's noisy when the compressor is on but when it is idling, its ok. Will buy another for the other bedroom."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Haier 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Dehumidification Function
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tacoma
Date:August 21, 2009

Not too bad

Pros: good price /value
Cons: weak
"It would be very good for a small room. For a larger room it helps only if you seat close the the unit. I guess not all 10,000 BTU units are created equal :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>