Customer Reviews for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft

Ozone Friendly R-410A Refrigerant, Auto-Evaporation Function, Dehumidification Function
Average Customer Rating:
3.682 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 154
(out of 154 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
54
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
24
112 of 154(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Review 1 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northbrook, IL
Date:August 21, 2012

Does what it claims

Pros: cools very well., easy to operate.
Cons: can be a challenge to get a good fit in the window
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"It is cool... does what it's supposed to do. Show me a quiet portable AC and I'll show you one that doesn't work! My only negative would be that they should be able to improve on the window filler piece. I used caulking where the sliding sections joined together (for a better seal) as well as some foam insulation around the border, and that makes the "portable" aspect of it non-existent unless my next window is exactly the same size."
Review 2 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:August 12, 2012

Overall good

"The product overall is good. The only problem is where the hoses attach to the window insert. The screws are too small to attach the hoses to the window insert and thus the hoses just fall off. You will have to get bigger screws to replace the ones that come in the package."
Review 3 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 1, 2012

Good AC unit

Pros: works well, unit doesn't need draining
Cons: plastic seal is a bit cheap
"I bought this unit for my kids apartment where window units wouldn't work. Installation was pretty easy into horizontal sliding window. I didn't even have to remove the exising screen. I managed to strip the threads of one screw in the soft plastic window seal, but the remaining three seem to work fine. The unit is about as loud as a typical AC window unit with the same BTU output. I think the two tube window connection is much better than the single tube other units use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 1, 2012

Like this product

"As we have had the hottest record ever in Colorado this year, I have to say I am overall happy with this unit. I find it very much like the reviews state. I am cooling more area than it says it will do on the upper level of a barn with high barn ceilings. When the temp outdoors is 95 it seems to stay a constant 72 indoors. A nice relief from outdoors. It is a little loud but doesn't bother me. It was easy to install with a little adjustment to the window plate. Looks nice. I have the unit sitting on carpet and have had no problem with the self draining water pan."
Review 5 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Date:August 1, 2012

Very pleased with this unit

"I am very pleased with the quality of the unit. It's not too loud, puts out a good volume of nice cold air. I will purchase another one in the future if I need another unit."
Review 6 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:July 31, 2012

Welcome Relief

Pros: great cooling power
Cons: a little noisy
"This unit has been wonderful at cooling off our family room, a welcome relief from the unusually hot weather we've been having. It is a bit noisy, but no more than any other window or portable air conditioner I've used and it's a small sacrifice for the comfort it provides."
Review 7 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:July 31, 2012

Nice unit

Pros: cools well
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"I bought this unit to cool down a 550 square foot porch that had been glassed in, but never had AC installed. It does the job, keeping the space comfortable, up until about 4PM on the hottest days when the sun hits all the windows. The room has NO insulation and I knew when I purchased it that the room was on the large size for it's capacity, so I'm totally happy with its performance. The air temperature coming out of the unit is COLD.
Since the windows are all single hung sliders, we had to craft something to plug the remainder of the height of the window, but that only took an hour or so.
We have a similar unit, from another manufacturer, in our computer room at work and I prefer this Haier unit. Time will tell if it lasts as long as that one did. (3 years 24/7/365)"
Review 8 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Elmhurst, NY
Date:July 30, 2012

Not that great in performance

Pros: portable, operates with remote controller
Cons: installation is lot more hastle than a regular ac, once installed is more difficult to move, occupies a lot of room with its installed fixtures, consumes a lot of power
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"It reduces the inside temperature a little but does not feel the cool of an air conditioner. The air conditioners that I have in the window and the sleeves in other rooms performs lot better that this portable one in the living room."
Review 9 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:July 28, 2012

So far So Good!

Pros: auto swtich-on after power loss, don't have to empty condensate water tank, easy install
Cons: a little noisy, no louver movement
Model Number: Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"Needed an air conditioner that would auto restart after power outage. This one does it.
On time delivery and as promised . Easy installation and portable. Does not switch off if reservoir fills up with water and no need to empty out water. All good pluses. Have not seen full performance on a 100F day though...otherwise "so far so good"
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:July 27, 2012

Haier 14000 BTU A/C

"I love this unit. My bedroom was an attic converted into a bedroom. I have tried a number of A/C's and nothing cooled this room when the temperatures hit 100*. Putting in an A/C or Swamp Cooler was going to be too costly to install as the room is so high up and window units just weren't cutting it. Not only is this unit cooling the room down but it is much quieter than the window mounted A/C's I have tried. I'm finally getting a good nights sleep."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:July 26, 2012

Horrible Instructions

Pros: cools large room
Cons: fan runs continously, unit is noisy, bad instructions
"This unit works fine, however the fan runs all the time in the cooling mode. Haven't had it long, so not sure how it will effect the electric bill. The instructions for venting the unit are absolutely horrible. A six year old could have done a better job explaining. The materials for venting are plastic, so appear pretty cheap. Also, accurate pictures would help. There are two vent hoses, but this unit only uses one, which is very confusing."
Review 12 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:July 26, 2012

The Best one yet

Pros: easy set up better than advertised
Cons: none
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"I have owned several portable Air Conditioners. My last one was a most beloved Haier, it ran for many years. No problems.
I ordered this one because it too was a Haier.
It is quiet very efficient, Quite attractive.
Best of all and I never thought it would be possible, it is better than my last Haier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 26, 2012

Exactly What We Were Looking For

"This air-conditioner had to meet a multipurpose job in our home. In our combined kitchen and family room we would prefer to leave the windows open for a cross breeze, but sometimes it is too hot, and sometimes the neighbors are a bit loud. So this air-conditioner allows us to cool the south facing room and it disguises the noise from the neighbors! It is a bit loud; conversation is fine, but TV has to be cranked up pretty loud! (The machine sits near the TV in our house, so that might be a factor.) I don't know how it compares with other machines as I haven't experimented. It cools the room quickly, even when I am cooking. I don't run it enough to say how many degrees how fast, but I do know that it makes both the heat and the neighbors bearable! I can also roll it into the bedroom at night if it is too hot to sleep. So glad we bought this!"
Review 14 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, OH
Date:July 26, 2012

So glad we picked this one!

Pros: true cooling, built-in water auto evaporation
Cons: heavy - need assistance if moving up/down stairs, operating lights are bright in dark room
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"Even though we have whole-house AC, the 2nd floor of our 1952 home was never built with enough hot and cold air returns - thus we have the need for an auxiliary cooling source in the 1/2 story, 400 sq. ft. dormitory type space. We had been using a Sharp portable AC with fairly acceptable success. But, then this year, that AC unit started collecting so much water that it had to be emptied every 3 hours - unmanageable and unacceptable. And, we never considered the cooling capabilities truly all that great - but we assumed that was the reality of this style of cooling unit. The good news: though it was purchased in 2009, we bought it at Costco, and they gave us a full refund - which was wonderful.
We had done our research and found this Haier 14,000 BTU portable unit being offered. It seemed to offer the EXACT SOLUTION to our problem - it features automatic water evaporation back out into the outside air via a second air return hose. Installation of the window dual venting system was quick and easy - and the heavier-duty plastic parts seem to be built well to hold up over time. Attachment of the AC unit to the venting system was literally a snap. Operation of the unit is simple - enough choices for detailed control without too many bells and whistles. When we started up the unit, the room temp was 91 very humid degrees. We set the desired temp to 75 degrees. And - IT WORKs SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE SHARP UNIT EVER DID!!! The initial 16 degree cool down took about 2.5 hours. Today's outside temp is 89 degrees with 67% humidity - and our entire upstairs space is truly comfortable and cool. YIPPEE!
The operating noise level may be just slightly louder than our previous unit - but it's still acceptable - especially when we consider the trade-off in real sleeping comfort. And, the continuous fan noise becomes white noise over time. But, all in all, we are SO HAPPY we bought this new unit. We think we found a winner! We hope it continues to hold up and work well for future summers."
Review 15 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Ana, CA
Date:July 25, 2012

Great so far

Cons: it does get louder when it starts cooling
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"I've only had this A/C for a little while and it's been great, especially during an entire week of hot and humid weather. My room is 10' x 12' and this unit cools it from 86F to 78F in about 15 minutes. The first time I ran it, I set the temperature to 74F but raised the setting to 78F because the room felt very cold. The dual hose feature seems to be perfoming as it should because it hasn't needed to be drained as stated in some reviews for other brands and models.
Installation was fairly easy for me."
Review 16 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:July 24, 2012

Works well, useless fan

"I used to have central A/C in my house and moved out of State into an apartment without A/C. The unit works well either in a/c or dehumidifier mode to keep our 1500sq feet apartment from transforming into a sauna. It does not make it cold but comfortable enough.
It is noisier than I would have hoped especially compared to central A/C and would not recommend it for a bedroom, it's quite too large for a bedroom anyway, but in the living room we get used to it, it's a trade of for being more comfortable.
The fan function is useless because it just circulate the inside air, I would have hoped that it takes fresh air from the outside.
This model cannot be used as a space heater."
Review 17 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:July 24, 2012
Pros: quiet
"This unit replaced a De'Longhi that failed twice. The Haier cools much better and is quieter. I like the dehumidifaction function."
Review 18 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2012

not a fan

Pros: blows cold air
Cons: doesn't cool the space
"It blows cold air, but it doesn't cool the room. I suspect the amount of heat generated by the compressor, etc is not much smaller than the BTUs of cooling provided.
It does blow cold air, but it doesn't cool off the room.
This is a room of under 300 sq ft, in an insulated house, with an outdoor temp of under 90F."
Review 19 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wa
Date:July 20, 2012

Nice air conditioner

Pros: keeps whole upstairs cool!
"This is a very nice portable air conditioner. It isn't very loud and cools the upstairs of my house.
The window panel attachment is of poor design and quality. After fighting with the mounting screws that wouldn't hold once the hose was attached, I finally put my own bolts and nuts on it. it is now holding, but the mounting attachment has cracked in a few places. Haier has said they will replace the two pieces, but I must mail (can't fax or email) the receipt to them. Wonder how long this will take....
Would buy this item again, but definitely would not use their mounting screws.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC Iowa
Date:July 10, 2012

Works great

"We have both the 14,000 BTU unit (pictured above) and the 12,000 BTU unit. The bigger one (the one for sale here) we use to cool the main floor of a 112-yr old farm house with ceilings near 9 foot. It keeps the entire first floor comfortable with a small fan to move the air into the kitchen. I had to get creative to mount the exhaust/intake vents (used screen door that we don't go in and out of much), but figured that out with little trouble. We have crank out casement windows, so normal mounting was not possible. The 12,000 unit I use in my office in an upstairs bedroom. It has only one hose and needs to be drained (we use the water to water plants), but the larger one has not needed to be drained in 2 years of service -- including this past week of over 100 several days in a row. We also have window units in upstairs bedrooms and like the portables better. We have had no trouble with the hoses coming loose or the mounting screws not holding. Great product! Both units arrived with boxes rather beat up but units themselves were fine. Will likely buy another 14,000 unit. The two hose design is key in our minds for it not needing to be vented. Noise? Some, but I'd rather be cool."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>