Customer Reviews for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft

Ozone Friendly R-410A Refrigerant, Auto-Evaporation Function, Dehumidification Function
Average Customer Rating:
3.682 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 154
(out of 154 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
54
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
24
112 of 154(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Review 1 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 1, 2010

Good Product

Pros: good quality, looks good
Cons: hose adapter hard to remove
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"I ordered this from costco.com on a Sunday, it arrived at my door on Tuesday. It is heavy, approx 95 lbs, but the casters are already installed. Some people have mentioned not using both hoses. You should DEFINITELY use both hoses. If you know anything about how cooling systems work, this a/c will be much more efficient if you have both hoses attached (don't leave the intake hose unattached). Speaking of hoses, I can't figure out how to remove the hose adapters after you clip them to the intake and outtake on the a/c side. You need to be able to push in the clips in order to pull the plastic adapter off the unit, but on the a/c side, the clips are recessed and you can't get to them once the adapter is clip in.
This unit is about as loud as my old 10,000 btu wall unit, it's not as loud as some people think.
And those people that complain about having to empty the water drain, it's either because they don't have both hoses attached, or because they live in Florida where the humidity is 95%.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:June 8, 2009

Cools well, reasonable noise, window piece is bad

Pros: cools quickly, reasonable noise level, looks nice
Cons: window vent unit is terrible, window vent - requires lots of tape
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"this is a 3 1/2 star rating...The unit itself is fine. i have had other portable units and well they are loud by nature. This one is not more so then any others and it cools my space very well. We are in VA and my office has no other A/C. I can still talk on the phone while it's running and not feel that I have to shout.
The window piece is dreadful...the two vent attachments had to be taped to the plastic insert because the holes were too big for the screws. Also, it's not a "maybe use some duct tape for a better fit" it's use a LOT of duct tape to even get it to stay in the window (my are vertical). Also, the top vent flap on the unit seems to be missing a part or broken. It wont stay all the way open or close all the way. Could return it but then I would be too hot while waiting. Over all a decent A/C unit.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2011

Haier 14,000 BTU portable air conditioner

Pros: great value for the price
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"I am very happy with the Haier 14,000 Btu portable air conditioner. It is relatively quiet, easy to use and install.
With a relatively easy modification, I installed the exhaust duct thru a casement window by cutting a piece of masonite, painting it for weather protection, and mounting the plastic window adapter on the masonite, and cut the hole thru the masonite to fit the hose/plastic mount. Used tube window glazing to install the Masonite to replace the one glass in the casement window.
This unit has hose and adaptor for two hoses, however after running the unit in my garage before installation, I discovered that the second hose would be drawing in outside air rather than discharge hot exhaust air. I elected to not use this second hose. In south Texas there is no reason to bring in outside air, often around 100° air and then try to cool that air.
I would recommend this unit to a friend. I ordered this unit from Costco on line on a Sunday evening, and it was delivered to my door within three days on a Wednesday afternoon - superb."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:September 14, 2011

Performs far above my stringent expectations

Pros: dehumidification, self-evaporating condensate from dehumidify, easy rolling casters (on hard floors), thermostat control, dual exterior exchange hoses, hose mounts can be modified for use in other mount, looks better than most all others, remote control
Cons: weight (if you need to carry it), no way to see condensate reservoir level, noise (if you are light sleeper)
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"This little unit is AMAZING! I am a master industrial electrician and my standards are very high, I research any purchase such as this extensively to see what the market has to offer, check price points, specs, recalls, complaints, features, construction, durability, and any other info that will help me make the very best decision. There is not a lot out there on this particular model because I believe this model number is unique to Costco. I looked at the sister model from Haier for a basis of comparison to other vendors. There are a lot of problems it seems with portables these days that appear to be both poor design and quality. So bearing that in mind I say this unit is excellent. My house is a small 2 bed ranch that has around 1100sq. feet of interior space, the bath has no exhaust fan, we cook a lot, have poor windows, poorly insulated brick walls that get blasted by the sun half the day and four living bodies living here. This sets the stage for a perfect test of a portable: massive humidification, interior wall temps that exceed 90deg F and indoor air temps up to 95deg F.The dehumidification function performs very well and the auto-evaporative feature really works. I know that the unit has removed a rather large amount of moisture from the air but I have not once had to empty the reservoir. I personally wish you could see what the liquid level was but it really is of no consequence if you don't have to drain it. I have read so many complaints agains other vendors regarding failures in this system alone, most of them centered around not pulling enough water out of the air and/or shutting down several times a day because it cannot evaporate the condensate quick enough. The cooling capacity is listed for 450-500 sq feet, and it has to work at it but this unit will cool my ENTIRE HOUSE! I use a pair of 6inch vornado fans to push the cold air along the floor and into the back rooms with great success. Having two hoses for air exchange over the coils is the key to its performance. Single hose models use interior air that has been conditioned to cool the coils and then exhausts it outside the house. This creates a vacuum inside the house which pulls in hot exterior air through every available crevice thereby reducing the overall effect of the unit. The dual hose design pulls in outside air to cool the coils (which works even when it is 110+ deg out) and exhausts it again taking with it the evaporated condensate from the dehumidification function. This design separates the air used for the coils from the ambient interior air. Upon initial startup the outdoor temp was around 105 deg, the indoor temp was around 93 deg with the interior walls measuring 92 deg surface temp. In three hours the humidity was removed and the interior temp had dropped to 83 deg. The exterior exhaust air temp was over 125 deg and the conditioned air being discharged was below 54 deg! Keep in mind that the entire house has become a thermal battery at this point, releasing its heat back into the air but the unit was able to keep up and make headway. The noise one room from the bedroom is very tolerable even for me, by nature portables will make noise but this isn't bad at all. The window adapter works only for sliding windows but i built my own for casement (crank out) windows for less than $50. Remover the screen and get a piece of plexiglass 1/4" thick cut to the dimensions of the screen. use a 5" hole saw to GENTLY core out two holes. place the hose adapters into them and trace the mounting holes, then bolt them up with 4-40x3/4" screws and nuts. cut two circles out of aluminum screen 5 1/8" diameter and insert in between the adapter and the hose to keep the bugs out . Line the outward facing outer edge of the plexiglass piece with foam weatherstripping and replace in the window as if it were the screen. Overall a very easy mod and superior performance."
36 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:July 28, 2009

Great Product

Model Number: 14,00 BTU
"I ordered two of these to cool 1200 sf condo in the battle of the Northwest's record beaking hot weather. I received them in three days when no store in the whole region had even a fan left to buy. They installed like a dream in about 20 minutes each by myself (female if it matters!). Not a single piece of duct tape was required. They move easy if you push them the right direction with the wheels(front to back not sideways). Within 5 mintues of starting, the condenser kicked in and they were blowing very cold air and my condo cooled rapidly! So far so good.!!"
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:July 2, 2010

Great Air Conditioner

Pros: quiet for the size of the compressor.
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"Just got the air conditioner delivered yesterday. It was very easy to setup. I have looked for a long time to find a two tube AC for a resonable price and this is it. Last summer it got up to 107 so this is insurance. Big enough to cool our large den so we can invite over our kids and dogs if it gets really hot again.
For those that don't understand two tubes - that is for the compressor - one for intake - one for exhaust. The room air is cooled and recirculated. If you only used 1 tube for exhaust it would create a negative air pressure in the house and would then suck in outside hot air through the windows and doors..
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC Iowa
Date:July 10, 2012

Works great

"We have both the 14,000 BTU unit (pictured above) and the 12,000 BTU unit. The bigger one (the one for sale here) we use to cool the main floor of a 112-yr old farm house with ceilings near 9 foot. It keeps the entire first floor comfortable with a small fan to move the air into the kitchen. I had to get creative to mount the exhaust/intake vents (used screen door that we don't go in and out of much), but figured that out with little trouble. We have crank out casement windows, so normal mounting was not possible. The 12,000 unit I use in my office in an upstairs bedroom. It has only one hose and needs to be drained (we use the water to water plants), but the larger one has not needed to be drained in 2 years of service -- including this past week of over 100 several days in a row. We also have window units in upstairs bedrooms and like the portables better. We have had no trouble with the hoses coming loose or the mounting screws not holding. Great product! Both units arrived with boxes rather beat up but units themselves were fine. Will likely buy another 14,000 unit. The two hose design is key in our minds for it not needing to be vented. Noise? Some, but I'd rather be cool."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009

Barely fights heat

Pros: air is cool and nice, cut electricity bill
Cons: loud (but i got used to it), "auto evaporation" is a bit misleading
"My review is based on the purchased of this Portable AC from costco and have used it for 7 months. (haven't used it lately because winter)
Works wonderfully even though it barely fights heat at my bedroom when outside is around 95F and inside is around 75F (my bedroom is about 340sqf with high ceiling)
It is loud. That's the con of many portable AC. Most AC are stuck to the wall, and the noisy part is outside. But I got used to it.
After 3 months constant usage, "Auto evaporation" started to not work. I didn't read the manual so I don't know if it was mentioned, BUT, if you do not open the water hole, the AC will start leaking water and almost ruin my wooden flooring.
So I bought 2 trays. One small try to lift up the AC, and the large tray to contain the water. Depending on the humidity you will get little water or more water. On constant usage, I don't have to drain my tray for 3 days straight.
Quick tip, if it is still hot, I like to sleep right beside it but not right in front of if.
Finally, it always come to my mind to return this product to costco, but the hassle in returning it and also it does cool down the room despite of the manual draining of the water, cleaning the filter up, and the trays that I had to buy, They're still tolerable because it reduces my electricity bill significantly.
I haven't tried any other AC, but I do get used to maintaining it and I will use it till it does not cool down anymore."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 2, 2009

Questionable Reliability - Reasonable A/C

Pros: respectable cooling when it works, better construction than royal sovereign
Cons: questionable reliability, not quiet, no portable a/c provides full rated cooling
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"This is my second portable A/C. The first was a Royal Sovereign 14,000 BTU that is no longer offered at Costco. The Royal Sovereign was not very good and imploded at about six months. This Haier unit seems somewhat better, and worked respectably but also for just about six months. Now the compressor is seizing up. The Haier phone service reps were quick to answer and very efficient, but they appear to contract out to local repair staff, so I don't know how they will be. I'll post back on that experience. Overall, the unit is not quiet but not extremely loud. It does require a lot of power, so make sure the circuit you plug it into can deliver nearly 15 amps. We have not had any drainage tank filling problems, but our location is fairly dry. For any portable A/C, you can't expect nearly the cooling rating that is published. For instance, for this unit, although you might get 14,000 BTUs of cooling coming out of the output vent, you must remember that all the internals of the appliance create heat, and they're also in the room you're trying to cool, plus the hoses radiate heat as well. I'd guess that for any of these units you're actually only getting 1/2 to 2/3 of rated cooling if you calculate net effect. Keep that in mind to keep your expectations realistic."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Clemente, CA
Date:August 8, 2009

Why the Complaints? It's WONDERFUL!

Pros: works well, appealing design/colors, effective
Cons: none
Model Number: Commercial Cool CPN14XC9
"After reading some of these reviews, had I not been familiar with Haier portable air conditioners I doubt I would have purchased this item. But I am and I am so glad I did buy it. Haier makes, what I believe to be, the BEST portable A/C units available. They're effective, easy to set up & move, require little, or no, maintenance and WORK! You want a dependable A/C unit that has the capability to turn your home into a meat locker? Then BUY THIS ONE!
NOISE: Yes, it's somewhat loud, the motor is INSIDE the house, NOT OUTSIDE, as with a forced air unit. I like white noise. I sleep better and don't hear the idiots who climb the fence to use our pool and spa every summer. I have one friend who doesn't like the noise, he's also extremely sensitive to any little noise. When he's here and makes a comment, my home is cool enough to actually turn the unit off until he leaves.
PORTABILITY: Maybe I have a lower pile carpet, but I have not had ANY problems, or difficulty, moving any of my portable A/C units.
SET-UP: Yes, the screws need to go in from the front. The screw head is what you want to see inside your home anyway. No, the window kit does not fit a patio door, or some types/makes of window, but it's not that big of a deal. I put the kit together, take a piece of white foam core, (some use wood, some plastic) cut it to the size of the space where the PVC comes up short and use white duct tape to tape the foam core to the top of the PVC. I slide this modified PVC/foam core unit into the groove in my patio slider frame and viola! ready to go. It stays there until the hot season ends. The window kits I have in my bedroom are left year-round as I actually cut my blinds around the vent hole and I'm not into replacing blinds every year. I also purchased some longer screws to accommodate a nut and used those, rather than the ones that came with the unit.
FYI: No brand of portable air conditioner window kits fit ALL windows, but it's NOT a difficult problem to solve.
MAINTENANCE: Two things - The Filter - check it frequently & clean when it appears dirty. Draining - I have NEVER had to empty either of my Haier units. Even at season's end there is no water in them. The drain plug is high enough off the ground that one could easily place an oblong Pyrex dish under it to drain the accumulated water, rather than attempting to "drag" the unit someplace. If yours stops due to needing to be drained constantly, go to your local hardware store, purchase some small hose, a clamp effective for water and set it up to continually drain to the outside. Another thing to try is running the unit on A/C ONLY rather than the dehumidifier. That might reduce the need to drain for those of you who have had to drain.
APPEARANCE: Very appealing, sleek exterior, darker colors, suitable for a living area.
EFFECTIVENESS: Can you say meat locker? This unit is incredibly effective in cooling my entryway, living room and dining room. When friends walk into my home, the first thing they say is how nice it feels. They all love it. I love it.
BENEFITS: I could write a book (actually I almost did) on how PERFECT these Haier portable A/C units are and the benefits to owning one. I LOVE this unit, it's undoubtedly the BEST purchase I have EVER made! Perfect for developments that have homeowner associations as nothing protrudes from the window. Able to stay cool in hot, muggy weather and sleep without waking up drenched. Moves easily from room to room. There ARE handles on the sides (contrary to one reviewer). Cools a large size area. For crying out loud, BUY IT and deal with the extremely minor problem of tweaking the window kit, its WORTH IT!
"
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:May 17, 2009

Good for a portable AC

Pros: best portable a/c unit ive bought for the money
Cons: kind of a beast to move around
"This has been an absolutely fantastic A/C for the money. I dont quite understand the other reviews actually *complaining* that this unit has 2 hoses. Lets be clear, having 2 hoses is a very good thing as it allows for more efficient cooling. I was actually quite excited when I unpacked it and saw it was a 2 hose design, even though the product description/picture only shows a single hose.
So far, this has been the best portable A/C unit I have ever purchased. As I type this, it is 103 degrees outside, and this unit is keeping half my house at a nice 79 degrees. I've had no issues with needing to be on its own circuit, though you just have to understand that at near 1500 amps, you just cant have any other big power hitters on the circuit."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:May 7, 2009

I'm Sitting Here Freezing and it's Hot Outside!

Pros: very frigid output, easy controls & remote, quieter than expected, nice exhaust hose design/bracket
Cons: 24 hour timer is only on or off - not both, has 2 hoses which is not obvious in pic, heavier than expected - no easy handles, user manual lacks detail
Model Number: Haier CPN14XC9 14,000 BTU Portable AC
"So I took the plunge and ordered the Haier without being able to find a lot of info on the model and it arrived by UPS a mere 2 days after ordering. Thanks Costco. The UPS guy tipped it down off the truck (BAD) so had to let it sit 24 hours before operating it as instructions say hold-off if it is tipped.
I've since set it up and ran it all day. It was shoving out loads of cold air and was quieter than I thought given the size and BTUs. I decided to set up the unit inside a closet and cut an opening in the side so it wasn't visible but it works like a charm, is even quieter this way and I still can operate it with the remote. I ran the heat exhaust hose under the house to vent it outside.
Couple notes for those who wonder - the unit recommends a dedicated circuit and they say not to use an extension cord so you have to place it near an outlet. Also, when running the AC, it automatically acts as a dehumidifier. (The alternate setting of 'dehumidifier' is a solo function so just select AC for both functions together. I called Haier for this info as the manual doesn't explain it.)
As for the air - feels great, simple operation and heavy as a monster - but was able to get it around okay once I got it downstairs. Two of the wheels are designed NOT to turn so don't assume they are broken like I did.
There is an additional set of controls on the unit beneath the remote for anyone wondering so even if the remote goes missing you can operate it. Also there are 2 hoses - one for heat out and the other for air-in. They appear to be 5" diameter so had to step up to a 6" standard exhaust hose to run air under the house but was easy.
All in all, I'd say it was a good buy having run it a full day and freezing myself down to 63 degrees before I had to turn it off. With summer coming, am glad to get it now as last year every store I went to had run completely out of everything AC related!
I'd recommend this but it's a heavy item and if you have to lug it up or down stairs, be careful and assume the delivery folks tilted it and wait 24 hours before using just in case.
Lastly, speaking of '24 hours' - the timer they mention does not work like I expected. You cannot set it to turn on and off during the day - you can only set it to turn off after it is already running... or set it to turn on when it is idle - so not an 'on-and-off' kind of timer which I was expecting when they said 24 hour timer. Also, the timer is in full one-hour increments.
If you are going to buy one of these somewhere, I would suggest Costco because the price compares well with other places that sell these and if heaven-forbid you find it is nothing like you thought, their guarantee is worth it."
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakland Hills, CA
Date:April 22, 2009

Powerful Duel Hose A/C Unit

Pros: 14000 btu powerful a/c & quite
Cons: none
Model Number: Haier 14,000 Btu
"I purchased and returned serveral portable room a/c units for being too noisy and not very powerful. or looked poorly built. I ordered this unit 4/19 and it was delivered on 4/22 Way to go Costco ! I knew Haier makes good a/c and freezers and they work well and last long. So I got this 14,000 Btu unit... good my my large bedroom cools room quickly digital display early to read BLUE Lcd - remote control 6 large buttons great sytle. Duel Hose system larger diameter then most a/c units . Quality in hardware / hose design connector & window pannel. Well styrofoam packed shipping box with nylon straps tops lifts off whole unit Box weight is 109 Lbs. glad unit is on wheels. It's a keeper"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 9, 2009

Haier customer service is a horrible!

"Hope you never have to deal with them. They require a hard copy of your reciept mailed in within 30 days of the order date to get any replacement parts needed. This is near impossible! I was quoted 30-60 days to receive the window kit piece that was missing making my AC unit worthless. I havent got to try the unit so no review on the actual product."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:May 28, 2009

It works. It's not too loud.

Pros: simple installation nice looking works well
Cons: heavy getting it to the 2nd floor, on casters but isn't really easy to move
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"As with all mechanical products made by humans, most units will work fine and some will have problems. Nothing's perfect. I bought this unit earlier this month. It was easy to install but I agree the window mount isn't designed well; I used 1" insulation foam strips and some duct tape to get rid of gaps and get a better fit. The unit isn't all that noisy--I don't get why some people think it should be quiet...there's a compressor and motor running inside after all!. It works well and I like that I don't have to empty a water pan. If it's cooling the space of the reviewer who lives in Arizona it should work great as the weather heats up in the Northwest."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cocoa Beach, Florida
Date:June 22, 2010

Love it

Pros: easy set up, no water to empty out
Cons: none so far
"We live on the Space Coast of Florida and bought the air conditioner as a back up in case of a hurricane. We aren't able to run our 5 ton air conditioner off our generator. Little did we know that the day this air conditioner arrived our unit would go out. We weren't able to get anyone to come service our big unit for 2 days. When the UPS driver showed up I wanted to kiss him. We set the unit up in the family room that is about 400 sq. ft. The temp in there was 98. We noticed that the humidity went down quickly. We set the temp to 75 and it did shut off during the night. We set up a blow up mattress in the room and pretty much stayed in there for 2 days. We would recommend this unit to anyone. We don't regret buying the larger 14000 BTU unit. It did just what they said it would do and you can't ask for anything more than that. We know that when the hurricanes come and we loose power we have this unit to fall back on. Piece of mind is priceless."
Review 17 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2011

Great! But it stopped working after 6 months

"Purchased this on line @ Costco about 6 months ago for an upstairs bedroom suite in a Palm Springs home to supplement regular whole-house air cond system. Perfect for the job, and was satisfied with the purchase.
After 6 months, the unit just stopped working. Dead. Luckily, my local Costco store took the unit right back and gave me a cash refund without hassle. So I purchased another one-exactly the same- on line again. It's up and running now, and works great.
No problem except for the hassle of taking the old one in and getting a new one. Hope I don't have to do this every 6 months........but the simplicity of just taking the old faulty one back to Costco sure beats the expense and hassle of packing it up and shipping it someplace-hoping the manufacturer will respond in some way.
Thanks Costco for standing behind your products, and making things right in a relatively painless way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, Hi.
Date:August 13, 2009

ok

Model Number: CPN14XC9
"I purchased this model and BTU for my master bedroom and it cools the room but it takes hours. I live in Honolulu, Hi. so our rooms ain't big at all. At night it's fine but in the day time, don't bother trying to keep the room cool. I have to shut my bathroom door and the end of room is still not cool at all. I purchased it for my cats, since my split unit gave out, I had to find something quick. I think I will just replace my split and return this unit. Plus, it's like having a window unit, it's pretty loud. It was cheap but the shipping cost me an extra $100.00, still cheaper then any portable unit. I don't know about it being portable, it's very heavy and hard to even move, forget about rolling it.
I'm not saying it's a bad unit, I just expected a little better. My fault for assuming...good luck.
Mahalo!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:July 8, 2009

Very Delicate

Pros: power
Cons: cheap material, weight, short window block
"The vent opening and wheels are very delicate, both of them broke in a few days.
Keep in mind that this is not portable at all with the dimensions and weight being a lot more than I thought.
Very difficult to use on carpeted floor.
Also if you have a long window opening the extension would not fit."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:May 15, 2009

Arrived broken

Model Number: Haier 14000BTU portable
"My experience with this unit is similar to another reviewer in that the right vent hinge arrive broken. Upon calling the factory they advised me that this was a known problem with many of the units and that I should use a stick to hold the vent open and they would get back to me within 35 days. It's outrageous that upon recognition of the problem they didn't do a quality control inspection prior to shipment of the batch. It's now been 15 days and no call. It goes back to Costco who unfortunately is blameless."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>