Customer Reviews for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft

Ozone Friendly R-410A Refrigerant, Auto-Evaporation Function, Dehumidification Function
Average Customer Rating:
3.682 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 154
(out of 154 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
54
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
24
112 of 154(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Review 1 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2012

Loud

Pros: effective cooling
Cons: noisy, ineptly designed window panel
"The product is outstanding at cooling a large room, and I prefer the two-hose system. It is, however, excessively loud -- far too noisy for a portable machine. Additionally, the window panel was ineptly designed. What was included did not fit. It had to be altered to fit. After a few weeks, I returned the product to Costco and ordered a DeLonghi. Costco's return policy is outstanding -- no questions asked. But I was disappointed that Costco offered this noisy product and apparently had not read the reviews on other sites about the noise and ineptly designed window panel."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:May 7, 2012

Loud like a Train!

"This unit is very loud and does not cool well at all! I returned it right away. I have 2 units by Sharp, they are very quiet and works really well. Will stick to Sharp from now on."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:August 9, 2011

not a good purchase for me

Pros: portability
Cons: didn't cool my house
Model Number: cpn14xc9
"This air conditioner is supposed to cool 700 sq ft. I could only get it to cool 1/2 a room and the bathroom. The good thing about it is it is portable."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2011

Junk

Pros: dehumidifier function worked
Cons: might be able to cool a closet but not a room
"Bought this last year, returned it after finding the best it could do after running 14 hours was to keep a 240 sq. foot room at 81 degrees when it was 78 degrees outside."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dublin, CA
Date:July 29, 2011

Not Recommending

Pros: cold fast
Cons: noisy, heavy to lift to 2nd floor
Model Number: Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
"This unit is loud and heavy. Because it is too heavy, I couldn't drain out the water from the unit. And it stop working on the second day. Glad Costco has a good return policy!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Roseville, MI
Date:July 25, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: removes humidity
Cons: doesn't cool, cheap window kit
"I bought this unit to cool our living room. We do not have central air. I have small units in each bed room. My whole house is only 900sqft. When it was in the 70s in the evening it worked great, but as the day would go on it would keep the room at 84. It did pull out the humidity, hence, the one star.
I did close up all openings to the living room still didn't work any better. Also, the window kit is cheap! The pvc window insert was too light to hold the hoses and kept falling out of the window. After everything was assembled there were lots of holes and open areas. I had to use a lot of duck tape to secure and also some foam padding to block all holes. Returned unit yesterday to local store. Costco gave me no problems with the return. Yeah Costco!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:July 21, 2011

DO NOT BUY

Pros: arrived quickly
Cons: does not cool, loud
"Unable to cool one small room below 88 degrees. Our 10,00 btu window unit did a much better job cooling than this unit."
Review 8 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Delaware, Ohio
Date:July 18, 2011

Do Not Buy This

Model Number: Haier 14,000 BTU
"The unit may be great. I would not know. UPS delivered today. I got out the window bracket and started assembling. The window bracket that the hoses connect to is cheap plastic. The screws that hold the hose connectors to the bracket would not hold the brackets firm. The pilot holes that are factory drilled are a larger diameter than the screws. Returning in the morning."
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2010
Pros: prompt shipping
Cons: poor customer service unit did not work
"do not buy this product - it came promptly but did not work. called haier for service ( as reccomended in the manual) - haier scheduled a service person who did not show after i took off afternoon. ended up returning it and buying the delonghi unit which is worth the extra money. Haier said there was nothing they could do about poor service.
YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR
"
Review 10 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:June 24, 2010

poor service

Pros: price
Cons: bad qc
"after i got item,just try make call to company for exchange,because when you start use it, the unit sound like you sit beside jet plane.after hard to reach customer service. so i return to store."
Review 11 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:June 14, 2010

Not good

Pros: 14000 btu
Cons: no manufacturer support, only 3 months of use and broke down
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"Have it running for 3 1/2 months and stop working. Screen shows STOP and do nothing. Haier doesn't have a phone customer service only email and I already send email a week ago and no answer on what is wrong with the unit.
The one star is for the manufacturer support and the unit performance.
I have to give Costco 5 stars since the customer service was quick to offer a replacement unit or money back. GREAT JOB COSTCO, I definitely will continue buying there.
I will not buy Haier product anymore, that is for sure.
"
Review 12 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:April 27, 2010

Poor Design

"loud
top vent doesn't work
have to empty water
not cool enough for Maryland
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:August 11, 2009

Not Good

Pros: blows cold air
Cons: top vent broken, compressor is really loud, just not a good design
Model Number: CPN14XC9
"This air conditioner is just way too loud. When the compressor kicks in be ready for some serious noise. This one is going back to Costco asap. Also the vent is broken on the left side. The only positive for this unit is that it does blow cold air, but the noise is unbearable."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 6, 2009

THE worst purchase ever

Pros: you will burn lots of calories dealing with this
Cons: everything
Model Number: CPN 14xC9
"Save yourself money, huge disappointment and time and never get that air conditioner for your home. It is not meant to function in a normal home. Despite its description and specs, it does draw a heavy load of power during its compression cycle.....much more than the 11.5 amps that it claims to use. Typical household line of 15 Amps won't cut it for this huge monster. Even if you unplug all appliances from the line, it will trip your breaker every single time.
If you have 20 amp line at home-it might work, however, as we all know, most US homes have 15 amp lines.
Run away from it, otherwise you will waste a lot of time packing it back and returning this monumental piece of junk to Costco (close to 100 pounds...).
The only good thing is the Costco return policy.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 1, 2009

Don't buy this air-conditioning unit.

Model Number: CPN14XC9
"A typical air-conditioning unit is designed to keep the indoors up to 25 degrees cooler than the outdoors. When the temperature in Seattle reaches 102 degrees outside, this unit should cool down to 77 degrees. But it only cools down to 95 degrees, leading me to think it is malfunctioning."
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 23, 2009

Not worth it / bad customer service

"We ordered this on a very hot day seeking some relief from the California heat. We received it, set it up, and turned it on. After about 30 minutes it would shut itself off with a warning that it needs to be drained (a small rubber stopper on the rear bottom of the unit).
After doing this repeatedly, customer service had no clue what the problem was and would not cross ship a functional unit. They wanted to send a repair person to look at it. Our view was that this unit was a lemon and we didn't want to start a 1 year relationship on a faulty unit.
Frustrated, we just brought it back to Costco. We wont buy a Haier again."
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:la california
Date:July 20, 2009

haier 14,000 btu air condition

"7/20/2009 i just ordered 2 a week ago both aircondition was damaged defective start leaking water now i have to return so idont know yet if it is a good or not good luck"
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chama NM
Date:May 31, 2009

Poor Quality, LOUD

Cons: not for a bedroom
Model Number: CPN14C9
"I purchased this unit thinking it would be the same quality as the 2 units I purchased from Costco last year. This unit came broken, Costco had another unit sent right away ( it was not broken when it arrived) Installation was about the same as the units purchased last year (WindChaser brand), however this one is about twice as NOISY or LOUD as the (WindChaser) units.
I thought I was buying the same quality as before from Costco. Price was OK and I do not believe it cools as good as the 12000 btu (WindChaser).
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2009

Bad unit

Pros: don't know did not have long enough
Cons: buying it in the first place
"Bought this from Costco.com. As others have stated vent was broken. Ran the unit for less than 1 hour and it started making a horable noise. Sounded like a bearing was going out on the motor. Got cool enough I guess, but certainly the quality was not worth the effort."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Haier 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools up to 500 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:May 22, 2009

What a waste

Pros: quick delivery
Cons: entire unit
"This product was noisy and came with ill-fitting plastic parts. Directions were poorly written. Window fitting did not fit no matter what combination of given parts were used. Unit did not move well on hard floors and not at all on carpet. Cooling was barely adequate. Total waste of money."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>