Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation

SPF 15 Available in Light or Medium 2-pack .32 oz (each)
Average Customer Rating:
2.917 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
(out of 72 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
25
36 of 72(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:January 29, 2010

Surprisingly Good

Pros: natural appearance, good coverage, nice brush
Cons: dark shade
Model Number: Light
"I'm glad I tried Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation. It has a beautiful finish, a light-diffusing "glow" and feels light and natural. Even on my dry, dehydrated skin with blemish and complexion issues, I can use this powder with just moisturizer - no concealer or blush required! It is "pearly," but that's what masks imperfections so well. My only issue is that the "light" color is still deeply pigmented. I am Irish/Hispanic with both a ruddy/olive complexion and dark hair/eyes, but even I found the light color to be on the dark side. It will look better when I get my spring tan. So I would think this color may not work with fairer skins."
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 28, 2010

A little shimmer - but still nice

Pros: awesome brush
Cons: more pearl finish than the color kit
"As noted in previous reviews - this is a very nice mineral foundation with a fabulous brush. It does - however, have slightly pearl finish. Not glittery - but it is there. I bought the 2 pack foundation at the same time I bought the color kit. Interestingly enough, the light-medium color kit has a similar shade of foundation as the "light" foundation in the 2 pack but WITHOUT the shimmer. Either they have updated, or provided an alternate formulation. So if you don't like the shimmer, buy the combination kit - as it does not have the pearl finish. I like both formulations depending - but would wear the matte finish on a more daily basis."
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The South
Date:January 1, 2010

LOVE IT!!

Pros: quality, price, healthy glow it gives your skin, blendability, easy to use, lasts a reasonably long time, nice brush, pretty much everything
Cons: limited color options that won't please everyone
"This is hands down the best foundation I have ever used. It covers well, blends amazingly, last throughout the day, and adds an outstanding glow to your skin. The container is very easy to use. Unlike most makeup that comes with a brush, the brush with this makeup is really nice. You will not need to buy another brush to use it. I live in one of the hottest and most humid places in the US, and this makeup holds up even when I start sweating a ton. I love it and am so glad my hunt for the perfect foundation is over. The price is amazing for what you get. This makeup alone is worth my Costco membership
If you've never used mineral makeup before, it can take several uses to figure out how to do it correctly. But this mineral make up is very user-friendly since it blends so well.
Be aware that the colors are a bit weird and dark, so I imagine that they will not work for everyone. I'm so glad they have a color that suits me! I normally wear medium shade makeup but bought the light version of this due to what other reviewers said about the product being darker than you'd expect. This was a good choice. Also, like all makeup, you must use a nice face lotion!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:December 19, 2009

Not good for yellow undertones and too shiny

Pros: excellent coverage, best price
Cons: too shiny, lacks yellow base, inaccurate shade
"I'm an Asian American female in early 40's and I personally prefer matte finish without any glow. After reading others' reviews, I decided to give it a try myself. The coverage is excellent and it goes on smooth but it definitely lacks yellow base which most women have. Also, it has too much "glow" which seems to contribute the overall tone to appear "darker" than desired shade and leaning toward "pinkish" tone. In addition, the foundation must be applied right after moisturizer has dried, it can appear "cakey." If it didn't give as much "glow" as it does, I'd definitely keep it."
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sacramento, ca
Date:December 15, 2009

love this!

Model Number: medium
"I decided to try this product out because costco had a promotion on this product if you buy the variety set. I got this in medium and I love it. Like the other reviewers, this products gives your skin a nice glow! I love the brush that comes along with it and also try their blush as well its soo nice on my asian skin. Not only does it cover well but its a fraction of the bare essentials price. I tried bare essentials before but stopped using it because it didnt give me enough coverage but this product works great and of course if you dont like it...u can always return it! I have already recommended this product to my friends!"
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:dry climate
Date:December 2, 2009

Love it!

Cons: none
"I have red hair and freckles and the use the medium on my eyelids (more) and all over (less) as a foundation. I can't really see it and that is what I'm looking for. :) Very smooth."
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Danville, CA
Date:November 5, 2009

Orange Hue!!

"I purchased this in Light. I've always used Fairly Light in Bare Escentuals and hoped the Kirkland brand would be comparable. Not only is the 'light' dark but it is very 'orangey'. The color is off and does not provide very good coverage. Going back to the tried and true ~ BE."
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:October 31, 2009

Try it! You'll like it!

"I sold department store cosmetics for years so I was familiar with Borghese name and the quality of their products. However, I like to try before I buy. My sister has used it for a while and raves about it, so I purchased the "light" foundation. I read all the reviews and was concerned I'd have the same experiences as the negative reviewers: too shiny, to orange-y, etc. I'm pleased to say that it is a perfect match for my skin. The coverage isn't too heavy, it doesn't turn yellow or orange after I've worn it for a while, and the brush feels wonderful! I noticed the "glow" that other posters weren't happy about, but I think that's because they might have been after more of a matte finish. For someone with oilier skin, this may not be the best choice, but my skin is dry and can be dull, so the glow from this makeup is fine for me. The sheen is really soft & subtle, in my opinion, and it's not at all like wearing glitter on your face. I plan on purchasing the color kit as well, because I am so pleased with the foundation. If you've been on the fence about it, definitely give this product a try, especially if you tend toward drier skin and don't like heavier foundations. Others have mentioned Costco's generous return policy, so you have nothing to lose!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:October 26, 2009

Love the Mineral Powders

"I am a light colored 63-yr old Asian. I have both the medium and light shades and both work well for me. The kabuki brush that comes with it is awesome. I purchased more as a 'reserve' in case Costco stops selling them. For the price, get yourself extra supply."
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Date:October 20, 2009

Great Powder!

"I am 46 years old with a 22 year old daughter. We both love this loose powder. It goes on very even and not shiney like another popular brand which has been referenced in other reviews. The Borghese powder does not high light my wrinkles, but rather minimizes them. The medium color is perfect in the summer months and the light in the winter when our tan fades away! It is perfect for a very busy working mom and her busy daughter in college!"
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Clarkston, MI
Date:October 9, 2009

Light is way too dark

"I am of Swedish and Irish descent, have a fair and pink complexion with freckles and melasma, and am very sun sensitive. Until I found this loose mineral powder, I have never had any success finding anything (other loose mineral powders or liquid makeups) that could actually cover the freckles and melasma, and cover nicely (no flaking, clumping, smearing, bubbling, etc).
In order to protect my very sun sensitive skin, I need to wear high level (30 to 45) sunblock and moisturizer under my makeup and that has caused a lot of the makeups I tried to cover "funny" (especially if it was warm or humid when I put on makeup").
This powder did a really good job of covering my freckles, giving my skin an even color, and it covered well - no caking, flaking, clumping, etc. However, the "light" color is way too dark for me. It makes me look like I'm a tanning bed goddess. In that regard it looks unnatural. But it would look good on someone with a medium toned complexion.
I had to buy another brand of fair colored loose mineral powder to use for my face powder. For better color, I then dab the Borghese "light" powder on my cheek area, a light swipe across my forehead, down the top of my nose, and a dab on my chin. If Borghese could come out with a lighter shade than this current "light" I would buy this for my makeup for the rest of my life.
The product covers really well and looks smooth, and natural looking as long as you are not fair skinned.
Please come out with a "fair" color for your melanin pigment impaired customers!"
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:October 4, 2009

Highly Recommended

"This doesn't dry my skin like Bare Minerals! Good coverage and makes your skin grow!"
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:california
Date:September 11, 2009
"I love this stuff wonderful coverage better than bare minerals if you need a bit more coverage"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:September 3, 2009

Great find!

Pros: good value, skin looks natural and glows
Cons: not the best blemish coverage
"I'm 44 years old, live in a cold climate and have red hair. You can't even imagine how pale my skin is. For the past year or so, I was using another mineral makeup that shall remain nameless (its' initials are B.E.). It generally worked fine for me and was excellent at covering a couple of unslightly red spots and blemishes on my checks. However, it looked cakey around my nose, even after using a primer. It was difficult to blend around my eye area, even with lots of buffing. I've been looking for alternatives to B.E., however, I refused to use anything cheap and junky on my skin. Quite the dilemma!
I saw the Kirkland/Borghese makeup at Costco, and thought "makeup at Costco... how nice, but I'm used to buying at the mall". Then I thought to myself "Borghese is a very high-end makeup brand, and ounce-for-ounce, it's HALF the price of B.E.! I should look into this". I went home and read reviews on this site. The complaints I've read here are that the light shade is too dark, and that the foundation is too glittery. However, I read enough positive things where I felt I could give this a shot.
The first day I wore it the Kirkland/Borghese foundation, I decided that it didn't look fake or unnatural at all, even though the color was darker that the B.E. shade I had been using (remember, I'm pale).
This blended into my eye and nose area much better than the B.E. foundation. The brush included is far superior too. Blemish coverage wasn't quite as good, but still acceptable. Overall, this looks far more natural to me.
At 10 p.m. that evening, my husband looked at me and said "I like this new makeup better. Your skin is glowing". That sealed the decision for me, as he has a good eye for this sort of thing. I have now switched and am happy with the decision.
Kudos to Costco for providing another quality, high-end product at a reasonable price!"
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:August 16, 2009

Too Dark and WAY too much Shimmer!!!

Pros: lightweight
Cons: shimmery, too dark
"This product needs some dramatic improvements to be a great product for someone over 30 and light/fair complexion, like myself. I was shocked at how dark the light was - it would work for someone with a much darker complexion. Also, the shimmer is over the top!!! I think it would be suitable for someone in their early 20's.
I was hoping for more of a matte product that would blend with my skin tone - not the case with this! If this product was improved to eliminate the "shimmer" and was available in a lighter shade I think it would work well. This was definitely lightweight!
Thankfully Costco is great at taking back items if you don't like them as I tried this once and returned it immediately."
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:August 3, 2009

I'm Hooked!

Pros: skin perfecting, skin healing, natural glow
Cons: can be too dark for truly pale skin
"I use the medium during the summer when I have a tan and the light during the winter. I agree that the light is more appropriate for a medium-toned skin and is too dark for truly light complexions. I don't agree with the shine problem. I feel like the minerals give a healthy luster to my skin, not a disco shine. Since using these products, my skin has cleared of blemishes and the redness around my nose is gone (probably mild rosacea). One tip...use the translucent powder over the loose minerals for even more perfection and to lighten the overall appearance. I'm thrilled to have found a product that looks great, feels great, makes my skin healthier and is economical. That doesn't happen too often."
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern, NJ
Date:July 27, 2009

Disco Shimmer

"Very disappointing. Leaves your face with a shimmer reminiscent of 1980's disco scene. If your preference is a matte, pore minimizing finish, look elsewhere."
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:July 17, 2009

Love it!

"This product is great! I purchased this thinking skeptically that when it didn’t work out that I could just mix it with my other mineral makeup… I love this foundation and am very happy that I tried it. The particles seem finer, yet with better coverage than the other brands I have tried. The foundation mixes well with the bronzer for a darker summertime look. The quality of the buki brush is great too. It's very silky and feels lovely on the skin. I will definitely be trying some of the other products by Borghese for Kirkland!"
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:July 8, 2009

Too shiny and dark

"Love the brush - it's thick, plush and soft - much better than the brushes you would get with high-end products.
The powder is very soft but too shiny and dark. I tried the "medium" and it looks like I am using a dark bronzer as my foundation, plus I get too much of a glow.
Costco - please re-tool the product to obtain better colors and less shine."
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mojave Desert,CA
Date:June 29, 2009

Not for fair skin-no way-no how

"Light base is probably best for a medium skin tone only. Once applied, it looked as if I had used a brown base bronzer instead. Does have some shimmer that settled down after a time. I have yet to find a mineral product that is truly for fair skin w/o too much yellow or brown."
1 2 3 4 next>>