Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation

SPF 15 Available in Light or Medium 2-pack .32 oz (each)
Average Customer Rating:
2.917 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
(out of 72 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
25
36 of 72(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:February 15, 2009

Must be used correctly!

Pros: great brush!, price, spf, good coverage
Cons: colors are too dark, selection limited, should come with instructions
Model Number: Light
"Granted these colors are too dark for a lot of people and selection limited, but the beauty of loose mineral foundation is that you can MIX them to "individualize" the color. I buy a little lighter shade than I need in my favorite, more expensive brand, and mix it with this product to achieve the right shade. Mixing them also makes the more expensive brand last much longer and reduces the sparkle factor in this product.
Secondly, A little bit of mineral foundation goes a very, very long way. You need to apply a very small amount to the brush, tap it - to remove the visible powder, buff it onto your skin (in a circular motion), then buff some more. Repeat to achieve the desired coverage. The brush is the best part of this packaged set - and the most important. Buff, buff, then buff some more.
Over-application accentuates lines and wrinkles and leads to that "mask" look others have complained about - especially when applying the wrong color for your skin."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:March 29, 2009

Excellent

"This is the BEST loose powder I have tried. My last one was La Prairie ($80-$90 compact), and I have for years used Colorescience and Bare Escentuals - also pricey and not worth the hype. I am so glad to be saving money with this product while getting better results than with any of the above brands.
The good: The powder is very fine, and also has a bit of a shimmer, that for me is wonderful. Everyone has been comenting on how my skin looks radiant and flawles. I have light skin with freckles and the "medium" shade evens out my complexion.
Why others are complaining: Mineral powder is NOT the same as any other powder. First, because it's fine it will settle in the pores or the wrinkles and highlight them, unless you use a primer. This is worst if you have dry skin. (Also, the Colorscience compact is the worst in this regard.)
Second, it is not applied the same as regular powder - so definitely do not use as camouflage and cover every inch of the skin in a thick layer. It will be too strong, because mineral powder is concentrated pigment.
Third, note how all the negative reviews are due to the color mismatch - every brand will be terrible if you get the wrong color.
Bottom line, the problem with this product is the limited color choice, not the product itself. Do yourself a favor and give it a try - you might discover the best powder you ever used."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

Excellent product

Pros: price, quality&quantity
Cons: only two shades
"I am an avid user of mineral make up and love my Bare Escentuals powder foundation in Medium Beige. I tried the this product in Light and thought that it was a great match for my skintone. This means that it is definitely dark to be considered "light", but it does a great job on me.
Powder seems a little "glittery" in the jar, but just gives a nice glow when buffed on the skin. Coverage is quite sheer, but enough to even out imperfections and avoid the mask effect.
I recommend to set it with some Mineral Veil.
Overall great product, but with only two shades I think I just got lucky to find the right one.
Hope they add other products to their mineral collection.
Brush is really nice and soft, but does not give full coverage.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 11, 2008

Light is too dark

Cons: too dark
"I am a light skinned person (but not alabaster like Nicole Kidman), and I bought the Light color powder from the warehouse. I tried it on, and it was entirely too dark. It might be suitable for someone with skin like Jennifer Lopez, but that's not Light, in my opinion. It looked like I was wearing a bronze mask. I returned it the next day and got a full refund.
I think there be another shade included--perhaps Fair."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The South
Date:January 1, 2010

LOVE IT!!

Pros: quality, price, healthy glow it gives your skin, blendability, easy to use, lasts a reasonably long time, nice brush, pretty much everything
Cons: limited color options that won't please everyone
"This is hands down the best foundation I have ever used. It covers well, blends amazingly, last throughout the day, and adds an outstanding glow to your skin. The container is very easy to use. Unlike most makeup that comes with a brush, the brush with this makeup is really nice. You will not need to buy another brush to use it. I live in one of the hottest and most humid places in the US, and this makeup holds up even when I start sweating a ton. I love it and am so glad my hunt for the perfect foundation is over. The price is amazing for what you get. This makeup alone is worth my Costco membership
If you've never used mineral makeup before, it can take several uses to figure out how to do it correctly. But this mineral make up is very user-friendly since it blends so well.
Be aware that the colors are a bit weird and dark, so I imagine that they will not work for everyone. I'm so glad they have a color that suits me! I normally wear medium shade makeup but bought the light version of this due to what other reviewers said about the product being darker than you'd expect. This was a good choice. Also, like all makeup, you must use a nice face lotion!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Western North Carolina
Date:November 28, 2008

I want to Love It

Pros: softest brush...love it, price is super value.
Cons: light is too dark, a bit too shiney
"I am in my 60s and have used Bare Escentuals for years, in Fairly Light, and have a huge collection of products. The Borghese Light is too dark and bronze in color for me. Looks a bit like tanning powder. It is glittery but I tone it down with BE Mineral Veil. At my age I do like a little sparkle, as it makes my skin look fresher. Costco, please keep this line and improve the colors and glitter factor. In this economy we need more affordable beauty products."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:October 31, 2009

Try it! You'll like it!

"I sold department store cosmetics for years so I was familiar with Borghese name and the quality of their products. However, I like to try before I buy. My sister has used it for a while and raves about it, so I purchased the "light" foundation. I read all the reviews and was concerned I'd have the same experiences as the negative reviewers: too shiny, to orange-y, etc. I'm pleased to say that it is a perfect match for my skin. The coverage isn't too heavy, it doesn't turn yellow or orange after I've worn it for a while, and the brush feels wonderful! I noticed the "glow" that other posters weren't happy about, but I think that's because they might have been after more of a matte finish. For someone with oilier skin, this may not be the best choice, but my skin is dry and can be dull, so the glow from this makeup is fine for me. The sheen is really soft & subtle, in my opinion, and it's not at all like wearing glitter on your face. I plan on purchasing the color kit as well, because I am so pleased with the foundation. If you've been on the fence about it, definitely give this product a try, especially if you tend toward drier skin and don't like heavier foundations. Others have mentioned Costco's generous return policy, so you have nothing to lose!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:December 24, 2008

Needs some adjusting

"Great value..BUT, I have light skin and the light powder is definitely not light! Could use a little more coverage. I actually love the glow that it gives my skin. Just hoping they come out with fair color!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Streamwood IL
Date:November 23, 2008

Good product with problems

"I agree with others that the light product is too dark. I will not buy this product again unless they come out with a lighter color. It also has too much shine.
PRO: Quality product and brush great price
CON: Color too dark to be called light and too shiny.
I have mixed it with a light powder to lighten it up and take out the shine but that defeats the purpose of buying a mineral makeup. I have adult acne (Rosecea) and it has helped to clear up my face."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:November 13, 2008

also agree - Light is too dark

"Some years ago, you sold a Borghese/Kirkland liquid foundation in 4 colors, dark, medium, light, and fair. Now, no "fairs" can be found in anything you have in the warehouse. Believe me, no one would look at me and think the "fair" would work, but I ,too, agree with another reviewer in that the "light" is too dark. It makes me look orange/bronze instead of evening out my skin tones.
Will you be having "fair" once again? Please say "yes.""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Turlock, CA
Date:December 9, 2008

Costco/Borghese what happened??

Cons: not a true mineral makeup...clownish!
"I was really excited that Borghese was getting into the mineral makeup. I am very disappointed with this product. It is too sparkly and just sits on my face like power, it does not blend into the skin! It does not have a natural look or feel at all. The color "medium" is not a medium blend...not sure what it is.
I look like I have beads of sweat on my face. Sorry, need to go back to square one on this one.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hughson, CA
Date:November 28, 2008

Bummed Out!!

"Been a Bare Minerals user for years and was thrilled to see a costco version. Bought it right away. I am 38, and am a beige/tan in bare minerals and the costco "light" was what I bought and it was a good color. But.... Too much glittery shine. It would be ok for an evening out, but not daily daytime wear. I returned it after giving it a fair try for a full week. I was pretty bummed out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NH
Date:December 2, 2008

Very Disappointed!

"I was also ready to love this product. However, the Light color is too bronzey for anyone with a light skin tone. This would be better if sold as a bronzer.
I also found that the shiny quality of the product highlighted any creases I have on my face, even though I put the product on very lightly. Borghese should have done more product testing before bringing this to the market."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Bay
Date:November 13, 2008

No coverage-just strong color

Pros: the brush
Cons: too dark
"The Light shade was much too reddish and dark. Someone at work said I looked like I had a suntan! The powder also does not provide the coverage over my age spots. I will have to return it. The brush is better than others I had purchased that were 'excellent' quality."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:November 29, 2008

not good

"What I hated most about this make up is the glitter and shine. My nose tends to be on the red side.and is large. The mineral make up covered the red , but I was then left with a big shine. This is what I want to blend in not accent with glitter shine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2008

Too shiny

Pros: the brush
Cons: way too shiny
"I was so excited to try this but when I put it on my face looked like a shiny clown. They need to do this in a matte finish. The brush however is great. I kept the minerals just for the brush but will not purchase this again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 4, 2008

Way too much sparkly stuff!

"Too much glitter, made my face look sweaty or shiny. Product went straight back. Pity, nice consistency but no way could you wear this. Reminded me of the Mimes who paint themselves gold or silver!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:November 11, 2008

OMG greater than B.E. brand

"This is a wonderful product, the price, quanity & quality is UNBELIEVABLE! Highly recommend if you do us Bare E., this is great! Oh and the application brush is wonderful too!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2009

Toooooo glossy

"This product is way too shinney. I saw a glowing reflection in the mirror. Would be a decent product though if they made it in a matte finish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ by Borghese Mineral Loose Powder Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 21, 2008

Too Dark

"The shades are too dark, I tried the medium and it was too dark. The light seems better. Very glittery. A matte tone would look better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>