Customer Reviews for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card

Customized Meal Plan 35 Breakfasts, 35 Lunches 35 Dinners and 35 Desserts
Average Customer Rating:
3.726 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 186
(out of 186 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (186 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
56
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
29
140 of 186(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Review 61 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:May 2, 2010

nutrisystem

"I BOUGHT A GIFT CARD FROM COSTCO FOR NUTRISYSTEM IT SEEMED LIKE IT WAS NOT RECONIZED BY NUTRISYSTEM IT TOOK 11 TIMES TO TRY AND ORDER FOOD AND FINALLY THE OPERATOR HAD TO DO IT FOR ME FOOD IS GOOD NOT AT ALL HAPPY WITH THE PROCESS"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:December 29, 2010

Good Idea, but...

"My review is on the food only...not good tasting at the time I tried the program....five years ago or so and loaded with sodium.
Check the sodium content of any prepackaged food, if water retention is an issue."
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2009

Don't Purchase

Cons: barely edible
"The Nutrisystem food is barely edible and is grossly overpriced. You'll lose weight because you won't be able to stomach the food after the first day. Honestly, we have two dogs and their food looks and smells more appealing. Losing weight is a life saving gift you give yourself. You are worth the extra effort to buy, prepare, and serve yourself the highest quality food available. Nutrisystem isn't that by a long shot."
8 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2010

Great Program!

"This program teaches you portion control with great tasting food. You will need to add in your own fruit/vegetable/dairy choices to complete your menu. Those can't be packaged. :)"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:May 26, 2010

Works but boring

Pros: works, enough food
Cons: boring, mediocre taste
"I lost 10 pounds in 5 weeks but it was quite boring. Breakfasts, lunches, and snacks taste pretty good but dinners were overall mediocre to disgusting: too salty or funny after taste, etc. My husband says that I have been smelling like onions since I started the diet."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 26, 2011

Food is terrible

Pros: easy
Cons: food taste, gas
"I just cancelled my Nutrisystem after 3 months. My sister and I went on it at the same time and both had the same complaints. Dinners were disgusting ( I had vegetarian she had regular program). Lunchs are okay, but how many dried beans can a person eat? That said, there is also something referred to on the Nurtisystem message boards called "Nutri-toots", because you will get stomach aches from the gas. It is unbelievable! So bad my dogs would look at me in disgust as they left the room! So, I guess it is great for Beano sales... That does work and is necessary if you do this program, so stock up!
The program is easy if you don't care to eat regular food. I decided to try WW, at least I can eat real food.
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southeast Indiana
Date:March 14, 2011

Dog food heaven!

Pros: great for the dog!
"Ycch!!!!! I thought since Marie Osmond could eat this food then I could too. Marie, how can you stomach this garbage? I don't know how anyone can eat this. And they all taste alike! At least my dog likes it so it won't go to waste."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:November 7, 2010

never hungry

Pros: prepared portion sizes, no refrigeration needed, great online and phone support
Cons: it still hurts to put out $ but it pays for itself
"I am so happy i made this purchase. I had reservations when reading the reviews and wondering if i could stomach the food. actually the food is really great. of course, its not gourmet, but we are on a DIET! it is filling and i have begun to see the proper way to portion my food. the online meal planner has been a terrific add on for me, plug in the food you eat and it tallies up the nutrition numbers. even though you have to supplement w/ produce and dairy, its a great way to lose weight and re-learn how to eat properly."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Saint Helena, CA
Date:January 6, 2011

It's a CARD!!

"My fault...I did not carefully read the details. I was hoping to start the New Year off with this program but it's going to take over a week just to get the card in order to order the food. Then it will take another 2 weeks to get the actual food. Forget it!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Paradise Valley, AZ
Date:January 28, 2010

Not so much!

"I tried Nutrisystem,( various dishes), for a reasonable amount of time and found it inferior in taste and quality to medifast."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Bend, WI
Date:March 25, 2010

Highly processed high sodium food

Pros: you will lose weight if you stick to it
Cons: terrible taste, highly processed, must have a ton of preservatives, high in sodium
Model Number: Women's program
"I was very excited to order NS through Costco. I need to lose 25 pounds. Having been 50 pounds overweight in the past, I was anxious to quickly lose the 25 pounds I had regained. I thought Nutrisystem was the answer. According to the NS counselors, I would only need to be on the program 2-3 months to reach my goal.
I received my shipment and followed the directions, sorting by meal. I was so excited!
The next day, I started my first day of meals. My first breakfast was an Apple Streudel bar. It was actually tasty, but had a very strange consistency. I noted the high protein count, and assumed that something was added to account for the protein (flax seed, etc.). For lunch, I had the red beans and rice. Flavorful enough, but again very high sodium. Also, I found that this particular entree created excess gas, which I very much didn't like! Dinner was a chicken breast sandwich, but I had neglected to read all the directions and didn't realize that a whole-grain roll (suggested to go with the chicken breast), was not included. The chicken itself tasted ok, but the consistency was terrible - more like a mushy sponge! "Dessert" was a bag of sour cream & onion rice cakes. Now I've had rice cakes before, and in comparison these were absolutely awful! No flavor at all, and the consistency was like biting into a dry packing peanut (styrofoam).
I had been so excited about this program's potential, that I had signed up for automatic re-shipments. This enabled me to choose the foods that I thought I might like (without any previous experience with the food to base my choices on). After 3 days of trying to consume this food, I decided to contact NS to cancel the auto-ship.
That was a bit of a nightmare. In order to cancel anything with this company, you must first talk with a "counselor", who is nothing more than a glorified super-sales person. It took 20 minutes on the phone with this person to convince her that I was NOT going to finish the food I had received, nor would I want to continue to receive more of it. She pressed the fact that I would only need to be on the program 2-3 months to reach my goal weight, etc., etc. I finally convinced her to cancel the auto-ship, which she did, providing me with a confirmation number (one which I will hold on to for dear life, in case a shipment makes it to me anyway).
Then, I went on the NS website to discover they have a guarantee on their food. If you dislike it, you need to call and arrange a return within one week of receipt of your shipment. I called, and was informed that because I ordered this through Costco, I would have to return it to Costco. I plan to visit my local Costco warehouse tonight after work to do just that. According to the Costco terms on this item, food must be returned, along with the order card. Hopefully I'll be able to find the card - fearful that I have already tossed it in the trash.
If you have a strong stomach and don't care what you put into your body, then you will lose weight with this program. However, be prepared to be left less than excited about the taste and texture of this food.
One last thing, I opened the box labeled "Turkey Hot Dog" to find a single hot dog in an airtight wrapper. I have yet to open the wrapper - I'm just not interested in finding out what's inside the plastic.
If you want to lose weight without the hassle of trying to figure out your menu, there are free websites out there that will do the work for you. You just need to write up a shopping list and purchase what is recommended. With NS, you still have to purchase your whole-grains, fruit, vegetables, dairy, and even some protein. NS is NOT a program that is free of any work on your part. That was my misconception in the forefront.
It just goes to show that weight loss is not easy, no matter what you try. But hard work and perserverence wil pay off in the end. Good luck!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:July 28, 2010

It really works!

Model Number: 35 Day Women's Basic
"This is my 5th week and I'm down 12 lbs. I wanted to loose 30 lbs., and am surprised I'm almost half way there! I'm over 40 and female, 5'6" and truly am happy with this program. Don't forget to exercise, but rigorous exercise is not necessary. The food is more fun when you add steamed veggies or some onions, tomatoes, etc. to it!"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 17, 2010

I know how these foods are made !

Pros: quality company and product
Cons: note quite a cheeseburger and fries
"I used to work in the food processing business and one of my customers was the factory that manufactures the Nutrisystem product. I can tell you that they spend some very serious money on their food science, very serious to them. Quality Control is extremely high as well. Are any of you aware that the foil packets themselves cost more than the food ? Only the highest quality of packaging materials are used to insure freshness.
Please realize that the main goal here is to loose weight then, you can supplement with other more socially acceptable eating habits. I assure you, this company holds very high quality standards and YES I have used the product. In 3 months I lost 40lbs.
"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland Oregon
Date:March 11, 2009

Delay

"I ordered this product through Costco.
I then ordered the food through Nurtisystem. I called and got a live operator who took my info and was suppose to have ordered food for me. It takes 4-10 business days for food to be delivered. After the 7th day of waiting, I decided to call the Nutrisystem 1-800 to inquire about my order. I found out that the 1st operator made an error and did not process my info correctly and my food was never ordered. I complained I was going to have to wait another 4-10 days again for my food. I feel I should have been offered some free food because of their error! So now I have to start this annoying process over again. I recommend when ordering your food, do it on your own through your computer.
"
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 23, 2010

Food is disgusting

Pros: weight loss, this really makes you appreciate real food.
Cons: food is horrible, the people that work there
"Now let me start by saying that I stuck with this for the 35 days. I lost 11 Pounds. I feel like this is the jump start that I needed to get my weightloss going. However......
The food looked nothing like the photos. I would often refer to it as dog food. You do have to buy some of your own stuff. So the value really is not that great. It made me appreciate other diets with real food. Often if you cook these foods with the directions on the package...they come out cold or not cooked. I am surprised that so many people gave this good reviews. Thinking of the chicken in these dishes...makes me want to vomit. Their was a couple dishes that were surprisingly ok tasting. I am not sure if that was because I was starving.
The people that work there...I called once...they only want to sell you more food. They are not counselers. So don't count on that. The web support from other members is good. I feel like you could find that on any diet website though. They call you once a week...when you weigh in to ask if you want to reorder. Ha ha ha.
If you have never done Weight Watchers. I would suggest that. It was just not working for me...because I was playing games with it. This made me appreciate the real food and the real world of Weight Watchers.
I hope this review helped someone."
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Date:March 15, 2010

High sodium content and processed food

Pros: portion control, convenience, costco guarantee
Cons: extremely high sodium content, chemicals, not really healthy food, somewhat expensive
"I decided to try the Nutrisystem program to jump start my weight loss for the New Year. (big surprise) I figured Costco was the way to go because they guarantee all of the products that they sell so it was a win win situation. The price was right and I liked the idea of doing it at home, I didn't want to deal with meetings, joining a group or weigh ins etc. Now I'm no stranger to processed/diet foods and generally ate Lean Cuisine, Healthy Choice or Smart Ones meals for lunch 5 days a week. The Nutrisystem food pales in comparison. First of all it is VERY high in sodium, it has to be since none of it is refrigerated, and the amount of artificial ingredients and chemicals is staggering! A few of my co-workers said they couldn't stomach the food and did not complete the program. I though the food was ok for diet food, it was not nearly as bad as I thought it would be, especially after reading some of the reviews. I would avoid the beef products and try to stick with the chicken dishes, the powdered soups were not my favorite but I actually enjoyed the oatmeal and muffins, actually the breakfasts in general were pretty good. I'd have to say that the dinners were the least appetizing. The desserts were okay but laden with sugars. After reading about eating right in You on a Diet I am more self aware about what I am putting into my body. You may loose weight with this diet but my thought process is that it can't possibly be good for you to eat so much processed food. I actually tried to do it for about a week but the though of what I was putting into my body really turned me off of the whole program. I never really had a big problem with portion control and only needed to lose 15-20 lbs so I figure I'll continue with the Dr. Oz plan and exercise regularly. I suppose if you have a lot of weight to lose and don't have a lot of self control this may be the plan for you. As far as being easy to do I would say that cooking the food is quick and easy but I found the prep and planning to be a little time consuming, i.e. ensuring that you have all of the fruits and veggies cut up and ready to go and your snack planned out. I just got it all together the night before, you could even leave some items at work if you have a break area. I was never hungry and actually found it hard to eat everything that was required because the meals were very filling once you added in your own fruit, veggies and proteins. I just can't imagine that it's healthy to take in all of those artificial ingredients and chemicals that are in their food, perhaps short term it's okay but I would talk to your Physician first to make sure it's the right thing. I bought You on a Diet from Costco and highly recommend giving that a shot first, the book is less that $15 and they go into so much more than just dieting. It's the mechanics of the body and how it works plus so many other benefits that you will use for a lifetime. I want to make sure folks are aware of the nutritional content in the meals. I read the labels on many of the items and just couldn't justify sticking with it based on the nutritional (or lack thereof) content. I feel like the food that you have to add in (fruits, veggies and proteins) is so much healthier than the food that you are buying from them.
Just a note: While waiting for my card from Costco and my food to arrive from Nutrisystem I followed the advise in "You on a Diet" by Dr. Oz and Dr. Roizen to eat better and took inventory of my fridge and pantry. I wound up giving away all of the processed and refined foods i.e. white flour, white bread, anything with high fructose corn syrup or artificial sweeteners within the top 5 ingredients was banned from the house. Mind you I was a JUNK FOOD JUNKIE so this was not an easy process. I decided if it was in the house I was going to eat it so it was best to not be tempted. I was surprised that I actually lost 4 lbs before even receiving my Nutrisystem package in the mail. With a little willpower I think you can lose weight on your own the right way by eating healthy and exercising regularly. There are other frozen diet foods that are a lot healthier and with less artificial ingredients that you can buy at Costco that cost less than the Nutrisystem plan.
"
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:January 22, 2010

Not a Waste, But Not Great...

Pros: takes away excuse to eat out
Cons: food is not very tasty
"I purchased the 35 day women's plan. I am 7 days into it and very hungry. I am a 30 year old working mom with 3 young kids and I figured this would be an easy thing. Not having to worry about what to cook or “where to stop”, which is the more likely case ...is very convenient and has contributed to 3 pounds of weight loss...but with a price.
Once I received my gift card (took about 4 days), I immediately began to order from the website. Although picking out my food was really fun, I noticed the breakfast items largely consisted of “sweet stuff”. Although I enjoy dessert, I prefer non-sweet items for breakfast. When I completed my order, somehow the website had tricked me into “auto delivery” and I had to call the company to figure out how to customize my plan without inadvertently signing up for another 35 days. Took about 5 days to get my food. I was pretty excited, until I had my first breakfast. Bland, too sweet and bad texture…but tolerable. That generally describes all 7 breakfasts that I’ve had. Onto lunch- To me the soup entrees were a waste of money, the pastas in generally (make sure they are not the ones you have to add water to) are tolerable, and at least filling when you are as hungry as I am. The fruit and vegetable you add in are all on you, so this negates some of the “convenience factor” but I suppose this is food one should be eating anyway.. Now on to dinner- same as lunch…not as tasty as a frozen food entrée, but not to the point where I would throw it away. The pictures on the box makes you fantasize about a delicious meal inside, but the dream is crushed when you open the box. With the desserts- I have to say they are pretty good and much better for you than a normal dessert so I suppose they fulfill their intention of taking that specific dessert craving away…. So in the end I am going to try my hardest to stick out the 5 weeks. I typically eat out 1-2 times a day and since I’ve started I haven’t cheated. My rationale is that already I spent the money on this and 5 weeks out of the whole scheme of my life shouldn’t be too much of a sacrifice. If I can get through this 5 weeks, I may have a hope to continue with the portion control.
Pro:
Takes Away Excuse to eat out
Convenient to Eat
Meal Planner is Helpful
Less calories than I normally eat
Con:
Food is not very tasty
All entrées taste similar to one another
Breakfast is mostly sweet stuff
"
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:The Jersey Shore
Date:July 3, 2011

High sodium + make believe food=DISGUSTING!!!

Model Number: 35 day plan
"All went well with my purchase and items were as I had ordered. The first day on Nutrisystem (Monday), I found the food unappealing, but I knew I was in it for the long haul! By Thursday night, I was questioning my sanity. Friday morning after breakfast, I made my decision to return the unused portion back to Costco, where I was able to get a full refund. I found the food to be extremely high in sodium and overly spicy (to add some flavor I assume). The breakfast items were extremely dry and cardboard tasting. I was able to force those down by dipping them into my yogurt. The Italian Wedding soup was so thick, I stood my spoon up in it! It, too, was overly spiced. This food also wreaked havoc with my blood sugar readings. I did manage to lose 5 pounds on this diet program. With my refund, I went to a "competitor" where I could eat REAL food. Nutrisystem claims that you don't have to weigh your food. That statement was true for their pre-packaged items only. I still found myself measuring/weighing my food that I had to purchase. I will continue my ongoing quest to lose weight "watching" what I eat. Real food, that is. Don't waste your time or money on this program. God bless you, Marie. I don't know how you did it on this plan."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:June 30, 2011

Custom Order - Not really

Pros: seems to work., doesn't require a lot of meal planning
Cons: nutrisystem reserves the right to substitute.
"I purchased this product from Costco. It took 4 days for me to get the card.
Then after I redeemed the card on a Thursday evening I didn't get my delivery until late Monday afternoon. So all in all it took a full week to receive the order. I wish Costco still had the redemption cards in the warehouse.
Anyhow, I custom ordered my foods and when the package came it seems Nutrisystem took the liberty to give me quite a few substitutions. I don't like Tomato soup or Minestrone but I got both... and i didn't order them . Also not a big fan of Orange Chicken but I got it too. Nutrisystem states that they reserve the right to substitute, but come on... I wasn't prepared for the extent of the substitutions. Just be prepared.
All in all, I am happy with the weight loss and the foods I ORDERED and have tried are good. Costco provides this plan at a great value to its customers. Next time I will order via live Nutrisystem advisor and specify what substitutions I will not tolerate.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Nutrisystem® Women's Advanced Program Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:bay area, CA
Date:April 13, 2011

Nutrisystem experience

Pros: food is good and tasty esply their pasta dishes, desserts like walnut cookie
Cons: number of options have been reduced from before., had trouble getting my order through
"Getting the card from Costco was easy and quick. Getting it through the Nutrisystem online was not so, not sure why but it took several tries, plus phone calls to them to get it working."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>