Customer Reviews for EPIC Compact Training System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

EPIC Compact Training System

Shipping Included 150 Lb. Cast-iron Weight Stack, 15 Vertical Workout Settings
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EPIC Compact Training System
Review 1 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 19, 2011

Really good functional trainer for the price

Pros: suitable for many different exercises, bargain price, not a lot of assembly required
Cons: need a couple of helpers to set up, cable and pulleys not fully adjusted, packing not fully protective
Model Number: EPSY9618.0
"I have wanted one of these since I first saw it at a Costco warehouse. When it came online for much less than the warehouse price, including delivery, I told my family this was my Father's Day present. I worried about what condition it would be in upon arrival after reading other reviews on this site. Ten days after ordering it was delivered. My fears were not allayed when the UPS guy took it off the truck with the two weight boxes on top of the trainer shipping box and the shipping box top was fairly caved in. However, the UPS guy waited while I opened it up, and luckily there were no dents (or missing pieces). I had to wait for my two ex-rugby player sons to get home to get it out of the box and into the garage. While I waited, I took off the main aluminum pulleys and shot some white lithium grease (aerosol) into the bearings and then rebolted them so that they rotated smoothly. I shot white lithium grease into the other aluminum pulleys. I also greased the weight guide rods and the pulley carriage guides so that the weights and pulley carriages moved smoothly.
I second the comment of one of the others on this site: an equivalent functional trainer would cost $1200 to $2400. You can add a utility bench for $100 and a straight bar for $30 or so (from other online sites) and be fully equipped. There is no dragging or hanging up with the weights or pulleys (of course I had previously made sure they were working smoothly). It does take at least two and probably three people to get it out of the box and set up. If you have a hand truck, that makes moving it a lot easier.
It's a great deal for those who just want to increase their level of fitness and gain strength and tone muscles. 150 lb weight stack would not be enough for serious athletes or weight lifters."
Review 2 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:not important
Date:February 12, 2011

Horrid experience - Epic fitness

Pros: costco cares
Cons: epic doesn't care
Model Number: Epic compact Training System
"Finally got this delivered. Only one box came. ( not the weights - only the system ) It was so big and heavy that three huge guys couldn't get it in the house - much less up a flight of stairs. Got bids from $350 to $700 to get it in and installed. Finally opened the box and noticed one of the main rods is bent anyway. They send the body of the system in one piece so you can't remove the side panels to make it manageable to move it anywhere. So far, I have called 4 times ( and emailed several times ) to get it picked up and returned. It has been sitting outside in front of my house for over a month! I have called Costco who is trying to facilitate this and Epic who couldn't care less (obviously) as they had my money already. Finally Costco refunded the money on my credit card. It is still sitting in front of my house. Luckily, my house sits off the street."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lakeside, CA
Date:February 10, 2011

Nice machine, but...........

Pros: perfect fit and does what i need.
Cons: quality control missed this one, shipping damage
Model Number: EPSY9618
"There was no comparison to how fast I received my 1st machine (yes, 1st). I wasn't ready for it but not an issue since it was going in my garage. UPS driver was very accommodating and rolled it all the way in where I wanted it. However, when I opened it, one of the panels had a big dent in it. No doubt from 1 of the 2 weight boxes being dropped on the main box the machine was in.
No problem with the return process, costco was excellent as were the shipping companies. It just added 3 more weeks to when I could actually use the machine.
UPS freight driver objected to me opening the box for2nd machine so I could check for damage but I insisted I wasn't signing for it if there was damage again.
Nice footprint for this machine, I like it a lot. Takes up almost no room and it's a classy looking piece of equipment with all the bells and whistles I was looking for in a compact machine.
Now for the "bad" stuff. 2 of my pulleys don't turn and my cable is twisted causing the double pulley assembly plate on the back to bang on the back of the machine when weights are lifted and the pulley moves (has since worked some of it out on it's own).
This also causes the weights to be out of alignment for inserting the weight pin, the tension from the twist causes the weight rod to be lifted a little.
I did put in a service call for the cable twist issue but canceled it after a few days when the cables seemed to loosen up a little and the twist wasn't so bad.
I wish I hadn't canceled the call but I won't embarrass myself and call them again.
The fix seems easy enough to do on my own. Pull the cables all the way out and lay the them straight on the floor overnight.
Also, the bolts going through the pulleys in the pulley housings on the front of the machine are too tight which is binding the pulleys. I had to loosen up 3 of the thru bolts AND lubricate the bearings already. It's only been in use for a month, sporadically. Definitely not long enough to require lubrication already.
I should send it back and get it replaced but I'm now in a routine and don't want that to be disrupted."
Review 4 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 17, 2011

Solid Purchase

"I'm not an exercise buff and I hate going to gyms but I wanted to do something to exercise at home. This gym has been a great solution.
After three months of using it 2-3 times a week I see a huge difference in my upper body strength and muscle tone.
Pro:
- The price
- Ease of use
- Variety of exercises
- Great customer service
Cons:
- A pain to get in the house and set up, but that will apply to any home gym
- Broken parts at delivery and two months later (but they were promptly replaced free of charge, thus the customer service comment)
- It could stand to be 6-8 inches taller. I'm 6' 0" tall and the cables are too short for a few of the exercises and the highest positions a little bit too low.
For its price this is a great gym."
Review 5 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 13, 2011

Returned it twice

Cons: delivery
"I wanted this thing so bad but both times I ordered it it came to the house broken. EPIC needs to package the equipment better so it shows up looking NEW. Not sure how the equipment works as I never had a chance to set it up.
Washington State ... UPS was the carrier"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 3, 2010

Very Pleased!

Pros: compact, versatile
Cons: it could be taller for wider range of motion
"I was a bit skeptical when I purchased the Epic Training System, but after a very short time, I have to say that it is simply fantastic. It has smooth pulley/cable action and motion, it is extremely versatile and incredibily compact (when closed). My only thought to improve this machine is to make it taller, to accomodate taller people. I'm 5'10" and it has a good range of motion, but I find that I have to sit on the floor for some exercises, or reach the end of the pulley when standing with arms over my shoulders. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a moderately challenging workout. It is not for muscle-heads."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:September 1, 2010

Epic maintenance

Pros: lift slowly for max effect.
Cons: banging/clanging is bad
Model Number: EPSY9618.0
"1. Manufacturer recommends Teflon grease on the guide rods. If you can't find that, use Park bearing grease at a Bike shop.
2. I recommend taking the front pulleys off and lubing them with White Lithium Grease spray. This dramatically improves the pulley movement and they run cooler. Use the 'straw' nozzle extension to spray the rear pulleys.
Like to see a combo curl/lat bar with 2 attachment points.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 24, 2010

EPIC double weight stack

Cons: i"d vote for a simple single stack unit
Model Number: EPSY9618.0
"1. Nice unit optimized for home use. All the folding, screens, locks, etc. are to avoid issues with kids. I really only wanted a single stack unit, but hard to find.
2. Shipper is very flexible on arranging delivery. But it is strictly curbside.
3. I disassembled the unit to get it in the house. The center unit is wider than a door or hallway so has to go sideways. 98% of folks will need help; not a one-person job.
4. One piece of plastic trim was broken. They shipped 3 right rear frame pieces so have to call & get a leftie.
5. The secret to installing the weight stack is: unscrew the weight guide rods and remove, hang the header plate on a hook, stack the weight plates on the bumper pads evenly, install the header plate and put the pin in the 150 pound plate hole, insert the rods (need a little jiggling) and rescrew (I'd add a little Loctite).
6. Like to see advice on maintenance, lubing, etc.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake CIty, UT
Date:August 23, 2010

Love this machine!

Pros: great machine for the money, appearance
Cons: delivery could be an issue for some
"Expected 4-6 weeks for delivery and got it in 6 days! We were a little worried after seeing the reviews about getting the item in the house but found that with 2 guys and a 2 wheeler it was not a problem, although I must admit neither guy was a wimp when it came to lifting weight. Not hard to assemble. Great workout all from the comfort of home. If you hate gyms but love the machines, this is for you. Exercise chart showing different exercises and muscle groups targeted can be placed on the machine making it simple to create a workout program that fits your needs and time. Easy to fold up when not in use."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alamosa, CO
Date:February 4, 2010

Can't beat it

Pros: folds up into a corner
Model Number: Epic system
"Very smooth, very compact. The only difficulty is getting it into the house. It is extremely heavy (no kidding, it's a "weight machine"). Very pleased with purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Date:February 2, 2010

Good purchase! Support?

Pros: nice range of exercises, great design!
Cons: expect a workout taking it out of the box!, waiting 4 months for epic to warranty broken parts
Model Number: EPSY9618.0
"For the footprint, you can’t beat it; a great design that will fit almost any corner. Weight stack seems a little light at 150 lbs but will do most things for most people. The uneven return motion is due to bending of the weight stack guide rods during shipping. Don’t bother calling Epics customer support - they weren't very helpful."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2010

Great Home Gym

Pros: looks great, easy to assemble, fits perfectly in the corner of a room, comes with various grip adjustments
Cons: resistance is slightly uneven on the return motion, (but only on light weight settings)
"I have been a personal trainer for 8 years and recently "retired" from it because I returned to graduate school. I've always wanted to create legitimate workout room in my house. After checking out a bunch of similar pieces, I came across this one and couldn't believe the gym style quality and price! Similar gyms would go for $1800-2500.
You will need 2-3 people to get it in the house and to set up."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Perry Hall, MD
Date:December 28, 2009

Nice equipment - Need help moving 1 box

Pros: appearance, commercial grade materials, fold up, pre-assembled
Cons: delivery/packaging - weight, pre-assembled
"Excited that Costco finally got these back in! We have been waiting for about a yearl! On delivery the freight shipper basically dropped the boxes off in the street - not such a bad thing other than the unit comes in 3 pieces (2-75lb boxes of weights and 1-320lb fold up gym unit). The unit is in one large box and it is pre-assembled (which is nice for set up). The HARD part was getting it all around back, up the patio steps and down the basement steps (even with 3 of us and a dolly) - not the kind of weight lifting I expected to do with the equipment! Without advance notice of the package and shipping it was VERY difficult to get it in the house and set up! Thankfully 2 of my friends were around to help. We called manufacturer cust service and the rep mentioned that other folks had called in with the same problem -his reply was "good luck with that" - we expected a bit more! Upon inspection - after set up - we noticed 3 of the plastic border pieces were cracked or broken. Again we called manufacturing cust sevice - they promptly sent out the replacements and we have a service company coming out tomo to replace and briefly service (no charge). Overall for the 2 workouts we have had - so far - so good! A very nice piece of equipment. The cables/wheels rub a bit, the weight is, from time to time, when using both cables, heavier than the selected weight and the weight pin is a little difficult to get in. I turly believe that this is a nice piece of equipment and that as soon as the service guy gets a few minor kinks worked out, it will be worth every penny! We look forward to many future cable workouts! I recommend this product, just want you to know what to expect."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2009

Icons Best Product to Date!

"This is probably the single most quality strength machine that Icon has ever produced! The fluid motion of the cables and the versatility of the sliding cable mounts is awesome! Though the weight stack is only 150 lbs, there is still alot that can be done for even experienced gym goers. It comes with many attachments and is the perfect fit for any home gym with it's super small foot print. Though the ball is a cool feature, this system would be ideal with a free-standing adjustable bench for ultimate versatility, but that is an easy fix by purchasing a bench on the side. I would expect similar machines quality machines to sell for $2000 or more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EPIC Compact Training System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Oswego, OR
Date:January 28, 2009

Quality Machine

Pros: solid construction, good range of exercises, compact when folded
Cons: poor documentation, taller person might have issues
Model Number: EPSY96180
"My wife and I just purchased the Epic CTS in early January. We had previously used a Total Gym for over 10 years. The Total Gym worked well for us. My wife transformed her upper body, lost weight and gained strength. I also improved my strength and built some muscle. We decided it was time to get something that worked the lower body as well. We have not been disappointed so far. This machine is solidly built and seems like it will last a good long time. It folds nicely and the attachments are easy to change. The only downside thus far has been the lack of documented exercise programs. There was supposed to be a workout guide included with the machine and it wasn't. I called the company and they said they'd send one, but I still haven't gotten it. The included DVD shows the exercises, but doesn't outline specific training programs/goals. There is also no information on the Iconfitness website about this machine, which I find strange. One other thing that is a bit odd is that it seems a taller person would have difficulty with a few of the upward press exercises. The weight stack hits the top of the machine, even for me, and I am only 5'8". This seems like a design flaw. Overall, though, I give the machine high marks."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.