Customer Reviews for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger

Converts From Trailer to Jogger, Cabin Accommodates 2 Children, Collapses Flat For Storage
Average Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
11 of 17(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Review 1 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:November 28, 2009

Notthebest

Pros: 2 uses, shocks
Cons: front wheel veers, trailer attachment falls, child falls to side
"We bought this trailer hoping it would make it easy to get out but the front wheel when jogging is bent so it veers when jogging, also the attachment for the bike trailer drops and has to be adjusted continually. We will be returning this shortly as it's not worth the money for the inconveniences"
Review 2 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 27, 2009

Average trailer

"The trailer itself was easy to put together.
Pros:
1. minimum assembly required
2. easy on Velcro cover
CONS:
1. Vague instructions that refer you to the owners manual that is NOT included
2. The bar that attached to the trailer and the bike is not manufactured well for a proper fit. It is awkward to attach and get the locking pins in.
3. The trailer bar does not attach to anything other than a round tubular bike frame.
4. The clamp that attaches to the bike frame is a poor design. It scratches the bike frame terrible with every use. It also cracked with the first ride. It does not remove smoothly, it has a spring in the clamp that catches and is hard to remove.
5. the trailer bar is not bent properly so that it hits the rear tire."
Review 3 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:October 14, 2009

Competes with the best!

"This is hands down the smartest purchase we have made in a long time! I previously had a Chariot Cougar so I was very hesitant to go to a different brand and spent HOURS deliberating over all different brands/styles and had even considered purchasing the $800 double Chariot before I coming to my senses...
I can honestly say I was more than pleasantly surprised with the quality of materials, sleek design and function of this thing! For under $200 bucks, it is worth every penny. All the fun and use we will get out of the stroller makes me one happy and smart-shoppin mama!
Thank you Costco and keep the great quality and affordable products coming!!!"
Review 4 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:September 22, 2009

Great Design at a Great Price

Pros: well designed; lightweight solid smooth ride, easy to assemble and convert, safe; reflectors & color make for great visibility
Cons: no helmet cut-out for rider(s)
"I've looked at several trailer and joggers and was surprised at the price range. I was looking for a product that was sturdy, well designed and easy to convert. My husband assembled the jogger right out of the box in 20 minutes and to switch to the trailer another 5 minutes. It is very well designed; lightweight, solid, provides a smooth ride and the reflectors/ color choice make for great visibility. I'm used to a stroller so the fact that the front well is "fixed" takes some getting used to, but it is very easy to push.
There are two things that I wish they included in the design. First a helmet cut-out for a more comfortable ride. Second when attaching the stroller handle include padding on the clamps so it doesn't scratch the metal on the trailer/ stroller. They covered the bike clamp in rubber for this reason so for aesthetic reasons we're going to try to fix this with padding ourselves. We're also going to put strap covers to make our little rider more comfortable.
"
Review 5 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:September 12, 2009

Great Value!

"We looked at a lot of trailers (even purchased the schwinn trailer on this site and brought it back) before we settled on this one. The price was great, the ride is comfortable for our girls and it has allowed us to have a lot of fun as a family. It is the very best that you will find in this price range and you would have to pay several hundred dollars more for a trailer with more options (that really you probably wouldn't even need!)."
Review 6 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Provo, Utah
Date:September 11, 2009

Great Trailer

"Works great as a bike trailer and jogger. Wished the seat reclined some."
Review 7 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:September 6, 2009

Almost perfect!

Pros: great quality for the price!, sturdy front wheel for jogger/stroller
Cons: stitched over flag pole hole.
"I was a little hesitant to buy this after a few negative reviews came up. I am sure the more expensive versions are better, but for bang for your buck this is amazing.
It was simple to put together. Although the top of the hole to put int he flag was stitched over. The instructions were ok, but my wife and I managed to assemble this within 20 minutes.
It attached to my cheap generic mountain bike with no hassles.
we loved that the harnesses allowed you to center one child (as we have one) or put two side by side.
The storage in the back is ample. Fits a diaper bag, other stuff and the front wheel easy.
The front wheel to turn it in to a jogger is great! very sturdy. However it does not pivot, so when turning you need to sort of tip it up a little for a tight turn.
When towing it coasts along very well.
I would recommend to friends with no problems."
Review 8 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, CA
Date:August 26, 2009

Family Fun

Pros: light weight, easy to assemble, reasonable cost
Cons: no cup holder or pockets, no pads for the kids, needs better instruction on installing top cover, clamp design for hitch is ok but not the best
"Overall happy with the purchase. Straps may rub against your children neck. Big wheels good for absorbing the shock and high clearance from the ground. If you don't like just return it @ Costco...nothing to lose."
Review 9 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 21, 2009

Good value for the price

Pros: good value easy to assemble relatively spacious, easy to contact customer service
Cons: horrible instructions
"This trailer was easy to assemble, although the instructions were vague and misleading. I had a bit of trouble connecting the trailer to my Trek comfort bike bicycle due to the terrible instructions, contacted the company, got an answer on the first try, and was promptly emailed pictures clarifying how the connection should look.
Note: the stroller wheel in front is not to be used when it's in trailer mode (this is not clear from the instructions.)
The trailer has room for two toddlers and a space behind the seat for a couple bags of groceries.
It seems comfortable enough to push or ride in as as stroller, thought not as padded or with the features of a dedicated double stroller, and is a jogging stroller with a fixed front wheel.
For this price and my purposes, riding around town, this is a good purchase."
Review 10 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2009

lacks customer service

Cons: no response from customer service number.
"As a stroller ok. Now the bad news. The arm for the bike attachment was not bent properly and contacted the rear tire of the jogger when stowed. Called number on instructions and got a recording. Left detailed message. No response. Called again similar message. Returned product to Costco. Good thing, the Costco return policy ."
Review 11 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Jordan, UT
Date:June 7, 2009

Good Trailer

Pros: price, comfort
Cons: weight, assembly instructions
"I've had the trailer for several weeks now, and it has worked very well for us. I've pulled my own kids and neighbor kids, and they've all loved it. I haven't had issues with kids not fitting in the trailer or complaining about leg room, and I've pulled older kids (7 years being the oldest). Other than the fact that the instructions were very vague and difficult to follow, I had no problems assembling the trailer. The trailer is heavier than many of the high-end trailers, but at this price, I don't think it can be beat. The poor reviews almost kept me away from buying the trailer, and I'm glad they didn't. Overall, I'm very happy with the purchase. 4 stars because it's not perfect, but I think it's much better than people are making it out to be."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, TN
Date:May 31, 2009

Poor Design

Pros: the trailer itself is great for 2 kids., as a jog behind trailer this is great.
Cons: poor design.
"I have been working with the manufacturer for 2 months on this trailer trying to find a way to make it connect to my variable speed mountain bike. They sent me a connector, which connects to the axel, but flares out...this pinches the new spring connector they sent with it.
Also, when the arm is in the "designed" position, the bike cannot turn right. The first time I did this, it ripped my kickstand off the bike.
Today I had to throw in the towel and return it to my local warehouse.
If you have a 30 year old 10-speed (which the connector is designed for) this would be great for you. If you have a newer bike that has oval (thicker) back braces, instead of the skinny tubes like the old 10 speeds, you're out of luck for this one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009

Okay trailer

Pros: good value for the $
Cons: missing parts
"I thought the directions were a little hard to follow. The trailer arm did not come with a screw long enough, only the safety hinge could go through the hole? I called the company and we'll see if they can send me another one. Otherwise it seems to be made well, although not as much leg room as other models. All in all, we are still trying to decide if we'll keep it- really bummed that we can't use it this weekend! It would have been nice if all the parts were with it!"
Review 14 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2009

Just an ok trailer for me

Pros: lightweight, quality materials, padded seat
Cons: clamp design could be better
Model Number: XTerra Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
"This trailer looks good. I was quite impressed with the quality of the materials. The midsized wheels, padded seat, and suspension all contributed to smoothing out the ride.
The clamp design was a drawback for me. It didn't clamp securely on my bike with square chainstays. The clamp was bulky and my heel would occassionally hit it and cause it to turn into the wheel spokes. The frame protector was worn through after a couple of uses.
I wish there was an option to attach the trailer to the bike's rear dropout.
Bottom line, it the clamping mechanism was better, it'd be a keeper.
"
Review 15 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2009

Great value!

Pros: large cargo area, full suspension, large front tire for dirt roads, fantastic price/value
Cons: no cup holders
Model Number: XTerra Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
"I bought this stroller specifically because of the large front tire for jogging. I use it on uneven dirt roads and it works great. It is a super value compared to more expensive models. One thing the description doesn't mention is the cavernous cargo space behind the kids. We were able to put a small cooler, blankets and extra clothes back there with room to spare. The bike attachment arm is cleverly designed to swing around and stow on board when in jogging mode. What a great jogger/trailer!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Walla Walla, WA
Date:March 10, 2009

Impressive quality for the price

Pros: good value, lots of reflective piping
Cons: incomplete documentation
"This was given to us as a gift for our daughter's birthday. I was a little skeptical, because I've done some comparison shopping and read lots of reviews of various trailers and convertible joggers. Typically, the quality in this price range can't compare to brands like Burley and Chariot.
This little unit seems to be pretty great. The build quality is very good, and the materials are good quality. I haven't had a chance to try it out in really driving rain, but it does a great job of keeping the drizzle out.
I was skeptical about the single attachment point for the third wheel, and didn't think the jogger would track straight. Many of the better convertible trailers have a front wheel that attaches to posts at both front corners, locking the wheel into alignment. Turns out to be a non-issue, at least so far. The tolerances on the square tube they used are pretty tight, and when you tighten down the attachment screw, it locks in place very nicely.
Another big plus is the balance. Even with two kids loaded on board, it's very easy to change direction with a little downward pressure on the handle. I could wish that the handle had some sort of quick-release to fold down rather than simply detaching from the trailer altogether, but the solution is pretty simple: we just leave it attached. Similarly, the stroller wheel takes up a fair bit of space in the "trunk" if you take it along with you to the market, but I can live with it, I think.
There is some padding on the seat bottom, but not on the seat back. You can certainly fit two kids in there, but there probably won't be much elbow room. It would be great if there were some sort of sun shade available, or if the side windows zipped up, but at least you can roll up the front window, zip down the bug screen, and pop open the trunk for some airflow.
Finally, I like the ease of attaching the trailer to a bike. I wasn't too sure the first time I saw the clamp, but it makes it very easy to switch back and forth between bikes without having to buy an extra hitch, a big plus in my mind. I also like that the tow bar is permanently attached to the trailer, but it does mean that you have to completely unload the trailer before you convert it from trailer to jogger. You definitely can't leave the kids in for this operation! Also, I should mention that the clamp is a little troublesome for bikes equipped with coaster brakes. Coaster brakes are probably not the best choice for towing a trailer in hilly terrain anyway, but it can make attaching and detaching the trailer a challenge.
Assembly was a breeze, and it would disassemble pretty quick. Just be aware that it's a process measured in minutes, not seconds. The included instructions were pretty decent for assembly, but there are several features of the trailer that aren't even mentioned. They're not hard to figure out (like the brake), but it does seem a little strange that they wouldn't even be mentioned. Most people would probably assume this unit doesn't HAVE a brake.
The price plus Costco's commitment to quality and service makes this purchase a no-brainer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for XTERRA® Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 18, 2009

I love my Xterra Bike Trailer

Model Number: XTerra Deluxe Trailer And Jogger
"I just received my Xterra Trailer from Costco and I am very happy with the ease of assembly, the weight of the unit and the styling. The trailer appears to be constructed better than the other brands that I have researched at other stores. I want to thank the Xterra people for offering a great trailer at a fair price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.