Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

Hot & Cold Water Stainless Steel Dual LED Night-lights
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
(out of 72 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
16
45 of 72(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Review 1 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2011

great system!

"this product allowed us to have the convenience of water hot or cold on demand, without having to look at the ugly plastic jugs and ease of bottom loading. we have never had a problem with this unit and neither has my brother who got one first. noise is not an issue -- it is only occasional and not bothersome at all."
Review 2 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:March 24, 2011

broken already

Pros: bottom loading
Cons: loud as truck, cooling mechanism broke after a month, too many plastic tubes that will break., plastic suction for bottle will break
"Only have had it for a month and the cooler has lost it's ability to cool. The water no longer gets cold it is room temp, and yes the switch is on in the back. Also, the reviews that say this thing is as loud as a truck are correct. I like the option of a bottom load water cooler but this machine has not lived up to it's expectations. I will be taking it to Costco on Saturday for a full refund. Thank goodness for Costco."
Review 3 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 24, 2011

Overall Good Purchase

Pros: bottom loading, no assembly required
Cons: louder than expected, quirky hot water button
"We have been comtemplating adding bottled water to the office for some time. This bottom loading unit is perfect as a majority of our office staff could not lift 5 gallons safely.
Some of the previous reviews stated that they had to send back a couple times or that the water took quite a while to taste "normal". We experienced none of these problems! We needed the child lock on the hot water-as we have children coming and going at our location...We had one person use the hot water so far and the button got stuck in the down position-continuing to let water flow. Yikes! Overall Good Purchase.
"
Review 4 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 23, 2011

Very Satisfied

"I have read some bad reviews and good reviews on this water dispenser. We have had this product for nore than a month now and I have not had a problem with it so far. I did have a plastic taste when we first used the dispenser so I flushed the system with lemon water and the taste is normal now. In fact it's perfect."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Westport, CT
Date:March 14, 2011

Water Cooler

Pros: no lifting/flipping
"All is as it should be .. water tastes fine, comes out quickly and cold/hot. Easy to install new bottle. Has a nice look. Kids are happy with it. There are moments when the cooler makes a noticeable sound but it's brief and infrequent."
Review 6 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs
Date:March 10, 2011

WATER COOLER IS EXCELLENT

Pros: bottom mount dispensing
Cons: would have liked a little higher
"I hear some complaints, and have not experienced any of them. Easy to install, great quality, no metalic taste (very clean taste), some small noise (but what do you expect it is a cooler), for some who are "sensitive" to sound, they may hear it, but we don't.
Had to the option to a "free" cooler from the water company, but chose to buy this one for both its looks and bottom loading feature.
I would buy it again.
One thing, the description did not say, there are 3 water options, HOT, cool, and COLD. Love it."
Review 7 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 1, 2011

Disappointed

Cons: wouldn't recommend
"Water cooler is noise. Couldn't get a strange metalic taste to go away. Not sure if it is from the pump which must pump the water from the bottle. One of the reasons we purchased the cooler was the hidden bottle. Finally gave up after one bottle (5 gallons) of water. Returned cooler for a full refund"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Plano
Date:February 27, 2011

Is the pump supposed to be this loud?

"I had to google this water cooler to find out if my pump was louder than normal. When the reservoir gets low, the pump kicks in and it's very loud. Doesn't last long, but I wasn't expecting this.
The normal motor of the cooler is quiet and I've had no problem with the water temps.
As for the taste - I have purchased and returned 12 different coolers in the last 3 years in an effort to find one without the chemical taste. The only one I found was the Oasis brand, but 2 of them died within a year. First, they stopped heating, then they stopped cooling.
I stored one unit (can't remember the name) with undrinkable water in the garage for 1 year. When my Oasis died, I pulled it out to see if the chemical taste was gone. Viola. It was perfect, but it also quit cooling after a year.
So, yes, the water in this Primo cooler tastes funky and I'm not comfortable ingesting these traces of chemicals but it's not any worse than any other brand. Unfortunately, I think it's like carpeting and you need to allow for the off-gassing.
"
Review 9 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sopchoppy, fl
Date:February 26, 2011

Works Great!

Model Number: 900129A
"We've had the cooler only 3 weeks. The water gets icy cold from the cold dispenser as well as steaming hot from the hot dispenser. Took a while to work out that plastic taste, even though I gave it both a vinegar rinse and a bleach rinse before using. Seems to taste fine now. You also have to get used to the noise the pump makes to refill the tank. Looks a lot better than the typical water cooler found at the office or in a doctor's waiting room!"
Review 10 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:February 25, 2011

Advice to Costco - Pull this product out

Pros: none what so ever
Cons: it is built with cheap plastic, for sure it will not last long, better to stay away, too pricey for the build.
Model Number: 281726
"I ordered and received Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading Item # 281726 today. On opening it, all kinds of plastic parts were falling out. I will return it to a store tomorrow though it is a pain for me due to the weight/bulkiness. In order to save the good name of Costco, I would strongly suggest that Costco should not carry this product. This product from Primo is sub standard. Packaging was in-tact but the product is not built with quality in mind."
Review 11 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:February 21, 2011

Impressive Looking...

Pros: looks great, does it's job for hot and cold water as it should
Cons: noisy and very noisy, lack of service from manufacture, major job sanitizing will be an issue..., in my opinion putting the bottle on top is easier, than the chore down below on this unit
Model Number: 900129A
"Gave this cooler about a month hoping to get used to the almost constant noise it puts out, and I am not talking pump noise which is significantly worse but not as often, very noisy machine...
Unit also has a vibration noise that can be stopped by adding a significant amount of weight to the top of the unit, a plastic issue.
Great concept, good looking and cools and heats water just fine, that's the best there is and that is to bad.
Got zero help from manufacture so had to return it to Costco, hated to stick them with it!
"
Review 12 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:February 9, 2011

Shawn

Pros: nice and neat
Cons: noisy, does not come with cup holder
Model Number: 900129A
"A little noisy. You will hear constant noise from the machine."
Review 13 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:January 25, 2011

Good idea

Pros: easy to use
Cons: plastic taste in water
"The first unit I received was covered with oil and the inside of the box was covered in oil. I cleaned the oil off the unit and followed the internal cleaning directions. The cold water side never worked, the oil was from the compressor that leaked out. I took that unit back to Costco and ordered a replacement. The second unit works fine so far, but even after performing a complete cleaning following the instuctions twice, there is still a slight plastic taste to the water. I am hopping that will go away with the next bottle of water. The unit is a great idea and I think they can correct that problem of the plastic taste by using a different type of plastic lines in the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:January 21, 2011

Best of Type

Model Number: 900129A
"The bottom loading Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser if far better than others of its type. I was easy to setup and the directions were clear. Quality in construction and design is shown immediately. There are two things that would improve the purchase. They do not ruin the purchase; however, would make the purchase a much better one. The water bottle should come with it. The procedure to adjust water temp should be included."
Review 15 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Desert Hot Springs, CA
Date:January 19, 2011

Great Water Cooler

"Love this bottom loading water cooler. Great because it's easy to load the water. The unit is not as high as the top loading units so it takes up less room. Perfect for our small kitchen. Once you get through to the 2nd fill/jug the taste will be perfect."
Review 16 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eagle, CO
Date:January 18, 2011

Great Water Cooler

"We received the Primo Water Cooler from Costco fast and the product was in great shape in and out of the box. We were nervous about this product due to the mixed reviews. When we got it, we read the instructions and did everything it said. We did rinse the bottle and the water cooler tank and lines one extra time because we were worried about the smell and taste of plastic that some reviews mentioned. We have had the water cooler for about 3 weeks now and use it many times each day, hot and cold water. The water does come out faster than our last water cooler (GE Profile) that we replaced, which is nice. We do buy our 5 gal. water jugs from Primo, so they never have a smell or taste to begin with. The only con I can say is that when draining the tank, the hose in the back to drain the water is a poor design. I'm glad you don't need to access it but periodically for cleaning the tank."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:miami, fl
Date:January 14, 2011

Worth it.

Pros: great looking, easy loading
Cons: you risk dings in the stainless steal
"Water tastes fine. Hot is very hot. Cold is very cold. Bottom loading excellent.
But as some other reviewers noted, unit did come with a ding in it which I will hammer out most of.
"
Review 18 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:December 14, 2010

Bad Taste

Cons: metalic taste
"This seemed like a great design idea to not lift a heavy bottle. But had to return this item because we could never get rid of the metalic taste."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010

love it

Pros: looks good, easy to replace bottle, instant hot water
Cons: first unit was a lemon
"This is the best water cooler I've owned. I no longer have to lift and flip a 5 gallon bottle. I let the cooler sit for 4+ hours as recommended by in another post. No problems with bad tasting water. Just from past experiences, the bad taste came from new bottles not rinsed thoroughly.
One caveat, inspect the item closely. My first unit was poorly put together. The button that the door presses when closed was mounted too high. It took me 4 hours to figure that out. The other problem with that unit was the cooler did not work. I waited 2 days for it to come on, but the water remained at room temperature. Thank God for the awesome Costco return policy! Second unit is flawless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ORANGE, CALIFORNIA
Date:December 9, 2010

This is the ROLLS ROYCE of water coolers

Pros: easy to load and safer also, safer if you live in an earthquake known area., easier on your back no lifting up heavy bottles., no water spills you load from the bottom., read your manual it tells everything to do first.
Model Number: 900129
"We oredered one last August from Costco and the shipping was lightning speed quick. When we got the cooler we followed the instructions to clear and clean it to avoid the plastic water taste you can get if you do not follow the instructions. It is so easy to load the bottles in and out, no water spilling all over floors like with the kind you put on top. The hot water is really great for instant foods like oatmeal and teas and hot cocoa. The kids love it and drink more water now than ever before. We are planning to purchase a second cooler for the upstairs of our home. I have seen and tried other coolers but this one is by far the very best one available. The cold water comes out ice cold and so refreshing. It is so easy to fill a water bottle on the go. I live in Southern California where we are known for earthquakes from time to time, Top loaders could easily fall over, this loads in from the bottom so there is no chance of it flying anywhere like a top loaded bottle would and could. I can;t say enough about this product, except on the other reviews I read that were not positive it seemed like those people did not follow their owners manuals or they would not have experienced the problems they did. Learn to read, It only takes a few minutes to set this beauty up right and enjoy the benefits."
1 2 3 4 next>>