Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

Hot & Cold Water Stainless Steel Dual LED Night-lights
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
(out of 72 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
16
45 of 72(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Review 1 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whittier, California
Date:May 16, 2009

Best Water Dispenser Ever

Pros: the hot water protection feature, received it in 2 working days
Cons: isn't available in white
Model Number: 900129
"I am very happy with this dispenser. I comparied different models, read the Costco reviews and although Costco's description that this model comes with a shelf is incorrect, I decided to make my purchase. The dispenser runs exactly as stated, the cold water IS cold and the hot water IS very hot. The sound of the pump and the intensity of the light that others complained about are NO BOTHER. I followed directions to let it level for 5 hours, plugged it in, waited 1 hour for the thermostat to cool the water and it was good to go. There is a plastic taste to the water at first because of the new pump however that went away after the first day. Now my family has a great looking, SAFE, convenient, easy to use water dispenser that makes our water all the more tastier when we select cold. We don't even need to use ice anymore and the dispenser accomodates tall pitchers and glasses that can be filled in a leveled position."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:January 1, 2009

junk

Pros: it looks nice.
Cons: poorly/cheaply made., lousy quality control
Model Number: item #281726
"I wanted to replace my old water cooler with a bottom loader, in stainless steel. This met the bill. I ordered it from Costco.com and it was sent directly from Primo. The first time I opened the cabinet door, it fell off. The entire bottom pull out tray [ that the water bottle sits on] was missing. I called Primo and they said that they'd send one right out. Next, after waiting the recommended time period before plugging it in, the thing had a extremely strong electrical smell. After 12 hours it dispensed hot water, but the "cold" was warmer than room temperature. I called Primo again and they had me take the top of the unit apart while talking to them. When I took the top off there were broken plastic clips in a couple of different places. Then they had me take the top of the reservoir off. It seem the unit was assembled without a necessary control tube rendering it unable to make the water cold! Primo wanted to have a service tech call me, but said that it might be several days. By this point I was disgusted with the whole thing. The quality control from the company is terrible. I took it back to a local Costco where I was promptly credited."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, California
Date:September 17, 2009

Trepidation to Satisfaction

Pros: bottom loading
Model Number: 900129-N
"I was very uncertain about ordering this product after reading a number of unfavorable and/or marginal reviews. However, given two factors - Costco's easy return policy and a bottom loading dispenser - I decided to give it a try. I was one of the lucky recipients of a lemon-free product. The reservoirs filled within minutes, the hot water was hot after about ten minutes, and the dispenser was easy to hook up. The only problem was that I had to wait for at least six hours before the cold water got cold. The taste of the water was perfect, and I couldn't be happier."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Plano
Date:February 27, 2011

Is the pump supposed to be this loud?

"I had to google this water cooler to find out if my pump was louder than normal. When the reservoir gets low, the pump kicks in and it's very loud. Doesn't last long, but I wasn't expecting this.
The normal motor of the cooler is quiet and I've had no problem with the water temps.
As for the taste - I have purchased and returned 12 different coolers in the last 3 years in an effort to find one without the chemical taste. The only one I found was the Oasis brand, but 2 of them died within a year. First, they stopped heating, then they stopped cooling.
I stored one unit (can't remember the name) with undrinkable water in the garage for 1 year. When my Oasis died, I pulled it out to see if the chemical taste was gone. Viola. It was perfect, but it also quit cooling after a year.
So, yes, the water in this Primo cooler tastes funky and I'm not comfortable ingesting these traces of chemicals but it's not any worse than any other brand. Unfortunately, I think it's like carpeting and you need to allow for the off-gassing.
"
Review 5 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eagle, CO
Date:January 18, 2011

Great Water Cooler

"We received the Primo Water Cooler from Costco fast and the product was in great shape in and out of the box. We were nervous about this product due to the mixed reviews. When we got it, we read the instructions and did everything it said. We did rinse the bottle and the water cooler tank and lines one extra time because we were worried about the smell and taste of plastic that some reviews mentioned. We have had the water cooler for about 3 weeks now and use it many times each day, hot and cold water. The water does come out faster than our last water cooler (GE Profile) that we replaced, which is nice. We do buy our 5 gal. water jugs from Primo, so they never have a smell or taste to begin with. The only con I can say is that when draining the tank, the hose in the back to drain the water is a poor design. I'm glad you don't need to access it but periodically for cleaning the tank."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:November 6, 2010

Great Water Cooler

Pros: the not having to lift and flip a bottle is great, really nice looking, lots of room for bigger glasses and mugs, night lights allow you to see what you are filling
Cons: when the pump is running it makes a tiny noise.
"This water cooler is great. I read a ton of reviews and they all go both ways on how great the product is and how the water doesn't taste good.
As far as taste, we have had no problem. The instructions even tell you to pump about a quart of water through the machine before drinking. I pumped about a gallon and a half through both the cool and hot water and had no problem with the taste.
When the pump is running, it does make a little bit of noise, but it is not too loud. You can not hear it from the next room, not much louder than a normal refrigerator."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Broadlands, VA
Date:May 6, 2010

Works as expected

Pros: bottom loading, much better looks than standard top-loading units
Cons: the nightlight cannot be turned off, no room temperature water
Model Number: 900129A
"Before purchasing this particular model, I read reviews on various sites. It seemed like a lot of people had problems with bottle loading models, mostly when a good seal wasn't formed around the neck of the bottle.
Thanks to Costco's generous return policy, I decided to give this model a try. It's replacing a free, cheaply made, refurbished top-loading rental unit from a big name water delivery service.
I followed the instructions, including the cleaning process, as some people have complained about the cooler adding an unwanted taste to the water.
I'm using standard 5 gallon bottles. The seal is quite tight. The unit does make more noise than a top loading unit, since it has to pump water up. But, I don't really notice it. It's on par with a refrigerator (when it's pumping, which isn't that often for me), and it's certainly drowned out by the fish tank that's nearby.
The unit looks MUCH nicer. The bottle loading is a blessing. The nightlight cannot be turned off, which annoys me more from an eco-friendly perspective more than anything else.
I don't notice any unwanted tastes in the water. I'm not sure how the internals of it works and if algae will grow on it, like it did in the top loading unit. I would have to regularly clean the plastic "plate" inside the reservoir. I would also have to clean (as best as I could) the algae growing deep inside the reservoir. I hope that because there is minimal (to no light), that there won't be any algae. The top loading model allowed plenty of sunlight through the bottle itself.
Overall, I would recommend this to anyone. Costco's price is competitive, their return policy is great, and this unit does what it's supposed to do."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:June 7, 2009

TERRIBLE- Do not purchase!!!

Pros: good concept
Cons: terrible taste, water not cold
Model Number: 281726
"I bought the cooler because of the great concept of never having to lift a bottle of water. Well, we've been through 6- 5 gallons of water and still have the foul taste. I even cleaned the tubing as directed and it's still very bad. Company never got back with me. Also, the water is not cold."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:September 28, 2010

Great Cooler

"We have been using this cooler for about 2 weeks now. I was somewhat hesitant to purchase because I was concerned about the pump mechinism and was also worried that the water would not come out fast enough. The device that attaches to the water bottle is well made, and easy to use. The water comes out faster than most coolers that I have used in the past. There is a slight taste of plastic for the first 5 gal bottle of water, but none after that. The water is very cold and very hot. There is a lot of room to fit water bottles and big glasses, when filling, so you don't have to tilt at an awkward angle. Overall, we are very satisfied."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alhambra, CA
Date:January 7, 2009

Fittings only for rental water bottles

Cons: must use subscription water
Model Number: 900129
"Cooler arrived without pull-out tray where one puts the 5 gallon water bottle. But the real problem is the system pressurizes the water bottle to force water out a tube. The unit is advertised to work with both 3 gallon and 5 gallon bottles, but the problem is we've already bought our own bottles and get 20c/gal refills at a local store. The cap and the pump are made to only work with rental water (Sparkletts and Arrowhead) bottles that have a compression-fit top. It will not fit our bottles (screw-cap).
I don't know if it's another problem or not but the pump tube has two pieces and you're supposed to be able to take one piece off in order to fit a shallower 3 gallon bottle, but with our screw-cap bottles the remaining tube would not be long enough to pump the last gallon out of the bottle. Maybe Sparkletts/Arrowhead 3 gallon bottles are shallower.
Edit: An insert says if you buy from their company two water bottles they'll rebate you the cost of one. But, the company is in NC. I'll return this to Costco instead. The equipment should fit the market it's sold in. The market here is for screw cap bottles (how else do you get the bottle home without spilling water all over your car?) I tried buying a screw-top lid that had a hole in it for the dip tube, but the outside diameter and lack of taper of the screw-top just won't mate with the water cooler's apparatus."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ellicott City Maryland
Date:August 23, 2010

Primo Bottom Loader may be for U

Pros: looks great! pumps fast, gets 99% of the water on 5 gallon jugs
Cons: 1st 5 gallons had a plastic tatste
"We were looking to replace our top loading cooler and were intrgued yet cautious of the Primo bottom loading unit as we didnt know much about the functionality. Functionality was equally important as looks and we read all the reviews and decided that with Costco's great return policy it was worth the gamble.
We already were aware of the static lights and prepared for minor pumping noise. Overall our expecations have been exceeded. We ran 5 gallons though the system which eliminated the slight plastic taste some have described.
Its been a month and we do not regret the decison."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kenosha, WI
Date:February 4, 2009

Great Product-Innovative

Model Number: 900157
"I purchased this bottom loading cooler for my wife so that she could replace bottle when I am out of town on business or at work. We are both excited about the styling and ease of use. No more lifting of heavy bottles. I was hesitant based on the few reviews regarding noise, but we are glad we made the purchase. The unit only makes a pumping noise when first filling unit and as it replaces the water as it is used so the pump noise did not bother us. The unit even has night lights that flash and beeps to let you know if water is empty or if you have an air leak. I set the unit up in under 5 minutes following the the simple startup instructions supplied with Unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:July 2, 2010

Better than expected

Model Number: 900129
"A good (air tight ) seal is required at the top of the bottle because this unit does not suck water out of the bottle. There are two hoses on the "snorkel". One for air going in and the other for water being pushed out. It uses a small (and very quiet) air pump to pressurize the bottle with air which then "pushes" water up to the heating and cooling tanks in the upper half.
Documentation states that the heater unit uses 425 Watts which appears to be a straight forward resistive unit. The cooling unit uses a very small compressor (with evaporator coil on the rear) and is stated to use 125 Watts. However, it runs for a very, very long time to cool a single tank of water.
Both the heater and/or cooler can be turned off individually with a rocker switch on the rear panel. Whichever side is turned off renders the water on that side as "room temp" water. In the month that I've had it, I think think the greatest power savings could be realized by turning off the cooling side. We have ice in the fridge if we want cold water.
The night light is an LED. It uses hardly any power and could be brighter. This LED flashes and the unit beeps (quietly) periodically when the bottle needs to be replaced.
Make sure you let the unit sit upright for 4 hours in its final resting place before turning it on. this allows the refrigerant to settle in the right places for the Carnot cycle."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WV
Date:June 2, 2009

Poor Quality Control

Cons: poor quality control
"This unit is good looking and I reluctantly purchased it after reading mixed reviews. After a few days we awoke to find four gallons of water leaked out all over the floor."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 15, 2010

Leery but hopeful

Pros: simple, easy to use, good balance of features, reliable hot water, separate switches for hot and cold water features
Cons: "night light" is always on, water reboils periodically noisy, first one a lemon
Model Number: 900129
"Bought one of these a month ago. It worked great initially but has developed an air leak which results in it thinking the bottle is empty, beeping continuously to nag you to change the bottle, so I had to turn the whole thing off. About to order a replacement since I absolutely have to have a bottom loading model - hope to have better luck with this one.
Costco took the first one back even without the box - good service as always.
When working normally, it really only pumps air when you draw water off, since this is how it repressurizes the bottle. The noise from the pump is not that big a deal.
Loading water bottles is relatively painless but uses a large threaded locking ring that requires a bit of effort to turn. On the other hand it doesn't seem to be necessary to tighten it very much to hold a seal.
The hot water function works great and is my primary use for the dispenser. The one major down side is that it "reboils" the water periodically, apparently on a thermostat. If you are a light sleeper as I am you might be bothered by the sound of the reboiling water throughout the night. I am using it near my bedroom so consequently have to turn it off every night. Not sure but this might be the way they all work...?
The "night light" is on 24/7 and can't be turned off which is very annoying and a waste of power, even though I think they are LEDs. Once I'm sure this one isn't a lemon I'll disconnect the lights, problem solved.
One very cool thing is that you can turn the cold and hot water features on/off separately with switches on the back. I don't need cold water so this saves wasted energy use, plus it is easy to turn the heater off for the night when I don't need it anyway. Heats up pretty quickly in the morning, and you can hear the water boiling when it is ready.
Will try to re-review after reordering."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:March 7, 2009

Quite Pleased Overall

Pros: no more lifting bottles!, the 2 year old can't reach the buttons!
Cons: not all bottles work with this cooler
Model Number: 900129
"There was no pullout shelf as noted in many other reviews, but it really doesn't matter. It's easy to slide the bottles in and out without one. We purchased this to replace a cooler that had started leaking and one of our bottles did not work with the unit. It seems that the neck of the bottle needs to be tall and thick to work well. That aside, it's easy to set up, easy to use and is attractive - and I'm not a big fan of the stainless look. Plus, our 2-year old cannot reach the buttons to dispense water when we're not looking (a huge plus!)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 16, 2009

A bad start, but better now

Pros: nice looking, easy loading
Cons: night lights can't be turned off
Model Number: 900129-N
"Like the other reviewers, mine did not come with the pull out tray. Customer Service told me I had a newer model that no longer used the pull out tray. When I first set it up and it started pumping, water started coming out of everywhere. I disconnected the power, cleaned up the huge mess and called CS. They walked me through opening the top and I found that the tube from the water bottle was not connected to the water reservoir. CS thought it might have been disconnected during shipment, but it's a pretty snug fit, so I tend to think it wasn't connected in the first place. I had to take the back grill off to dry everything off since the water poured through the compartments containing the motors. CS assured me all the motors were waterproof. Putting the grill back on was a bit difficult. We also bought this unit because we thought the bottle would be hidden from sunlight (our old top loader developed some algae problems), but there is only a grill in the back so everything is still exposed. Once I got everything back in order, the unit has been working very nicely. The hot water is hot, the cold water is cold. There was a chlorine taste at the beginning (probably due to their sanitation procedure, but that is gone now). They give you two caps (we're using Arrowhead water bottles), but given that they're plastic and they'll be pried on and off a lot, We'll probably need replacements. After 1 breaks I'll probably order 6 from the company. They are $2.50 each. We're happy with it now, my only complaint is that you can't turn the nightlights off and they are quite bright."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 23, 2011

Very Satisfied

"I have read some bad reviews and good reviews on this water dispenser. We have had this product for nore than a month now and I have not had a problem with it so far. I did have a plastic taste when we first used the dispenser so I flushed the system with lemon water and the taste is normal now. In fact it's perfect."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 23, 2010

very satisfied

Pros: nice looking
Cons: none
Model Number: 900129a
"We have had our water cooler model # 900129a for about a month and are very pleased.The unit is really quiet you can hardly hear it run.We filter our own water and it tastes great.Refilling is a breeze.The independent switches for hot and cold water and the night lights are a plus."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Samer Diego, CA
Date:March 15, 2010

Worth the few cons

"Its awesome not to have to lift a bottle of water. The flow is excellent better than any other device. It looks great!! Negatives are ... beeping when it runs out of water and night light both of which are completely outweighted by the pros."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>