Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

Hot & Cold Water Stainless Steel Dual LED Night-lights
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
(out of 72 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
16
45 of 72(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Review 21 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:January 25, 2011

Good idea

Pros: easy to use
Cons: plastic taste in water
"The first unit I received was covered with oil and the inside of the box was covered in oil. I cleaned the oil off the unit and followed the internal cleaning directions. The cold water side never worked, the oil was from the compressor that leaked out. I took that unit back to Costco and ordered a replacement. The second unit works fine so far, but even after performing a complete cleaning following the instuctions twice, there is still a slight plastic taste to the water. I am hopping that will go away with the next bottle of water. The unit is a great idea and I think they can correct that problem of the plastic taste by using a different type of plastic lines in the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010

love it

Pros: looks good, easy to replace bottle, instant hot water
Cons: first unit was a lemon
"This is the best water cooler I've owned. I no longer have to lift and flip a 5 gallon bottle. I let the cooler sit for 4+ hours as recommended by in another post. No problems with bad tasting water. Just from past experiences, the bad taste came from new bottles not rinsed thoroughly.
One caveat, inspect the item closely. My first unit was poorly put together. The button that the door presses when closed was mounted too high. It took me 4 hours to figure that out. The other problem with that unit was the cooler did not work. I waited 2 days for it to come on, but the water remained at room temperature. Thank God for the awesome Costco return policy! Second unit is flawless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:September 1, 2010

water cooler

Pros: no lifting of heavy bottles
"Excellent product. Nice not to have to flip over the 3-5 gallon jugs anymore. I have had this unit for 3 months and it works perfectly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Covina, CA
Date:July 20, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: good quality, don't need to lift the bottle, not that noisy as some customers said, i like it's cold and hot water temp.
"Fast delivery:
In the website it was written 5-7 business days to deliver it...
I got it within less than 2 days!!!
amazing.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moses Lake, Wa
Date:June 3, 2010

love it

Model Number: 900129A
"We bought this first for the price, second for the ease of use. I have a bad back and cannot lift the heavy water bottles, my hubby is not in much better shape.
The nitelight is perfect for seeing to get a drink without turning on a light.
the hot water is right temp for making hot cocoa in the morning.
It is not any louder than our refridgerators ice maker. The beep is low when the water bottle is empty but the blinking light lets you know its time to change the bottle.
Our water man brought us water today and picked up our rental machine. he was very impressed and was going to tell his boss to ck out the website.
We definately will recomend this to everyone.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:August 17, 2009

Not Happy

"I received the product a while ago and I have noticed the following problems. It is very noisy, the light of the dispenser is always on. The water gets the taste of the plastic water reservoirs. I am almost sure because I drank a glass of water before hooking the bottle to the dispenser and the taste of the water was fine. I would not recommend this product. I am sorry."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2010

Too bad...

"I really wanted to like this product. A great idea, bottom-loading the bottle so you don't have to lift it up over your shoulders. However, the drain plug leaked (all over my hardwood floor!!), and even after several calls to service I was never able to get any COLD water (HOT water worked without a hitch). I will say the unit looks great, and setup was a breeze...and if it WORKED, wow, it would be a great product. Even after the disappointment, I'm considering giving it one more try with a new unit. The good news is that Costco took back the unit without so much as a hiccup. Maybe I'll follow-up again with another review once I get a replacement unit. By the way, the product comes from PRIMO, and was on back-order the last I checked, so apparently it's pretty popular. But it WON'T be for long if they don't get a better handle on quality control."
Review 28 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2009

Even My Kid changes the bottles!!!

Model Number: 900129
"You know a product is easy to use when you can ask your teenage son to change out the bottles and he wants to do it. Yes it beeps to tell you that you need to replace the bottle but isn't that great? Don't you wish your refrigerator would beep to tell you when you are low on milk instead of going downstairs, pouring a bowl of cereal, and then opening the fridge only to learn that same teenager that changed the bottle of water just polished off the milk and did not tell anyone??? Cheers to the guy that invented the "your low on water" beep on the Primo Cooler."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Euless, TX
Date:January 9, 2009

We drink more water...but it's noisy

Pros: easy to load, easy to use, looks nice, hot is super hot, water comes out quick
Cons: noisy, cold water isn't real cold
"We love our cooler - we drink tons more water. But it is very loud. I guess since the bottle is below, it uses a suction to bring the water up. It lasts for about a minute a time and seems to happen on an hourly basis. It's not so loud as to wake me up at night (I'm a really light sleeper and our bedroom is near the kitchen), but I can hear it each time it happens. Other than the noise, it's great. The cold water is good, the hot water is HOT! And it looks nice too! I'd probably buy it again after looking at comparables."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 24, 2010

Read the fine print

Pros: easy to load
Cons: water doesn't taste very good
"Our office had such high hopes for this water cooler. It came, we read the laminated instructions and set the cooler up. Unfortunately the water tasted awful. We then went back and read the booklet that came with the unit, and after 2+ hours cleaning/filtering the unit we tried again. The water is better than it was, but still isn't good.
Our unit also came with a dent on the door. Not that big a deal, but still a little disappointing. It would be nice if the product had a bit more protection around it in shipping."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moreno Valley, CA
Date:June 3, 2010

Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

"I purchased this product about two weeks ago as a replacement to my previous one. So far the unit works the way it is designed, but the Pump motor seems to be a little noisy. The water cooling & heating work outstanding. There is no need to wait for hot water & the unit is Energy Saver. Another thing I like about the unit is the bottom loading idea in which I do not have to worry about having back pain no more. Yes, I would recomment this product to all Costco members. Thank you very much!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 3, 2010

Chemical Taste Won't Go Away!

"Have had the filter for 1 week. Did the initial cleaning (45 min) and have gone through 20 gallons of water. Still has this chemical aftertaste. Very annoying since we drink purified water in hopes of avoiding chemicals. Tastes and smells like remnants of their sanitizing solution. Has faded somewhat, but is definitely still there. Going to return the unit. Also, no room temp water is annoying. Like the idea of bottom feeder. Hope this helps."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:July 4, 2010

Awesome

Pros: easy to load, works beautifully, the extension tube is manually adjustable
Cons: add to troubleshooting in the manual, resolution: adjust extension tube
Model Number: 900129A
"I read the reviews for the Primo water cooler but had high hopes despite the few negative reviews.
On the second day the out of water beeper started to beep when there was still water in the bottle and I noticed the B extension tube was not fully extended. User errror! I had failed to fully extend the tube to reach the bottom of the bottle. Whoops, problem solved!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2009

Not Primo

"Cooler looks good, and its nice not to have to lift bottles or clean them. Our cooler, after 2 weeks started to constantly indicate that the bottle needed to be replaced when there was a full bottle in place. It flashes light and beeps, creating too much noise. The idea of a bottom loading cooler is great, but there seems to be too many defects."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 1, 2011

Disappointed

Cons: wouldn't recommend
"Water cooler is noise. Couldn't get a strange metalic taste to go away. Not sure if it is from the pump which must pump the water from the bottle. One of the reasons we purchased the cooler was the hidden bottle. Finally gave up after one bottle (5 gallons) of water. Returned cooler for a full refund"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chehalis, Wa
Date:May 31, 2009

Primo Water dispenser

Pros: easy to load bottle and fast pump night lights.
Cons: a little noisy and the lights stay on all night.
Model Number: Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser
"This was an upgrade so we didn't have to lift the bottle over head. It works great and gives us more room in the kitchen. I find them less likely to leak, my older one had a slow leak and after a week vacation had leaked all over the floor. Another good reason for this type of dispenser."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2010

disappointed

"This product worked well for six months then began leaking water onto the kitchen floor and the cold water tank stopped working. Attempted to resolve the problem but was not helpful. Product was returned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Normandy Park, WA
Date:October 24, 2010

Disappointed with Taste of Water

Pros: looks stylish, cold water
Cons: horrible taste, makes a sound
Model Number: 900129
"The water taste was horrible. We tried to clean it, first with lemon juice and then a second time with vinegar and it still had a bad taste. We finally returned it after 3 jugs of water."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Western Massachusetts
Date:July 22, 2010

Made Water Taste Foul

Model Number: Primo water cooler & Disp. Bottom Loading
"This cooler was the best priced I could find. I loved the option that the water bottle was underneath thereby eliminating the need to lift the bottles. The case was well made & attractive and the functionality was excellent... until you tasted the water. Unfortunately the holding reservoirs must be plastic as I could not get rid of the bad taste. Along with following the instructions to cleanse the unit with bleach if there was a bad taste, I even tried vinegar, which seemed to work. However, the next day the water had the same foul taste. The maker knew of the problem as instructions to remove taste were supplied... they just didn't work."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, Az.
Date:June 10, 2010

Excellent

"Very nice, good looking, easy to change the bottles, and the night light is nice. I am very happy with this machine and highly recommend it to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>