Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading

Hot & Cold Water Stainless Steel Dual LED Night-lights
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
(out of 72 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
16
45 of 72(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Review 21 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 5, 2010

Nice Concept

Pros: nice unit
Cons: defective water tank float
Model Number: 281726
"At this point we have returned the unit twice. Each time the float in the water tank fills up with water and causes the air pump to over pressurize the water bottle until it blows up like a balloon. Very disappointing. Sent an email to Primo to advise them of the problem but they are too proud to send a response. Evidently they don't care about their customers. Costco was great about the exchanges and we really like the convenience of the unit. Just wish Primo / Black & Decker would get their act together."
Review 22 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Great Neck New York
Date:November 24, 2010

Horrible tasting water

"I ordered this cooler twice and both times had the same exact problem. No matter what I did I couldnt get the horrible taste to go away. It's a shame that such a great concept has to get ruined by such a trivial thing."
Review 23 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2010

Too bad...

"I really wanted to like this product. A great idea, bottom-loading the bottle so you don't have to lift it up over your shoulders. However, the drain plug leaked (all over my hardwood floor!!), and even after several calls to service I was never able to get any COLD water (HOT water worked without a hitch). I will say the unit looks great, and setup was a breeze...and if it WORKED, wow, it would be a great product. Even after the disappointment, I'm considering giving it one more try with a new unit. The good news is that Costco took back the unit without so much as a hiccup. Maybe I'll follow-up again with another review once I get a replacement unit. By the way, the product comes from PRIMO, and was on back-order the last I checked, so apparently it's pretty popular. But it WON'T be for long if they don't get a better handle on quality control."
Review 24 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:November 6, 2010

Great Water Cooler

Pros: the not having to lift and flip a bottle is great, really nice looking, lots of room for bigger glasses and mugs, night lights allow you to see what you are filling
Cons: when the pump is running it makes a tiny noise.
"This water cooler is great. I read a ton of reviews and they all go both ways on how great the product is and how the water doesn't taste good.
As far as taste, we have had no problem. The instructions even tell you to pump about a quart of water through the machine before drinking. I pumped about a gallon and a half through both the cool and hot water and had no problem with the taste.
When the pump is running, it does make a little bit of noise, but it is not too loud. You can not hear it from the next room, not much louder than a normal refrigerator."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:gilbert, az
Date:November 4, 2010

Dissapointing

"Like some other reviewers, here I saw the mixed reviews and took a chance hoping I would be one of the "lucky ones" to have gotten an attractive cooler that works the way it should. Unfortunatetly, after having this product delivered to my work and then subsequently driving it home, I opened the box to discover the bottom was all wet with some kind of machine oil. I am afraid I would have to also say just stay away until primo get build a better quality unit."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Normandy Park, WA
Date:October 24, 2010

Disappointed with Taste of Water

Pros: looks stylish, cold water
Cons: horrible taste, makes a sound
Model Number: 900129
"The water taste was horrible. We tried to clean it, first with lemon juice and then a second time with vinegar and it still had a bad taste. We finally returned it after 3 jugs of water."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2010

disappointed

"This product worked well for six months then began leaking water onto the kitchen floor and the cold water tank stopped working. Attempted to resolve the problem but was not helpful. Product was returned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:September 28, 2010

Great Cooler

"We have been using this cooler for about 2 weeks now. I was somewhat hesitant to purchase because I was concerned about the pump mechinism and was also worried that the water would not come out fast enough. The device that attaches to the water bottle is well made, and easy to use. The water comes out faster than most coolers that I have used in the past. There is a slight taste of plastic for the first 5 gal bottle of water, but none after that. The water is very cold and very hot. There is a lot of room to fit water bottles and big glasses, when filling, so you don't have to tilt at an awkward angle. Overall, we are very satisfied."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:September 1, 2010

water cooler

Pros: no lifting of heavy bottles
"Excellent product. Nice not to have to flip over the 3-5 gallon jugs anymore. I have had this unit for 3 months and it works perfectly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2010

Disappointed with Taste of Water

"Returned after 2 five gallon jugs and 1 1/2 weeks. The pump worked great and water was very cold and hot. HOWEVER, the plastic chemical taste would not go away after several cleanings. Very disappointing!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 24, 2010

Read the fine print

Pros: easy to load
Cons: water doesn't taste very good
"Our office had such high hopes for this water cooler. It came, we read the laminated instructions and set the cooler up. Unfortunately the water tasted awful. We then went back and read the booklet that came with the unit, and after 2+ hours cleaning/filtering the unit we tried again. The water is better than it was, but still isn't good.
Our unit also came with a dent on the door. Not that big a deal, but still a little disappointing. It would be nice if the product had a bit more protection around it in shipping."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:August 23, 2010

Whata disappointment

Pros: looks
Cons: water taste
Model Number: Bottom fill model
"Saw it online and it was love at first site... Ordered and got it into my kitchen cleaned it just in case and then 5 hours later took my first cool taste and it tasted like 3m machine oil... So I took it thru the cleaning cycle again and thought I'd extend cleaning time x2. To my disappointment after this 2nd thorough cleaning the water still tastes like machine oil and I'm guessing it is from the pump. good I did not throw away my old cooler... Forgot to mention it sound like a truck in my kitchen when the pump and compressor came on at the same time. Back it goes... Too Bad"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ellicott City Maryland
Date:August 23, 2010

Primo Bottom Loader may be for U

Pros: looks great! pumps fast, gets 99% of the water on 5 gallon jugs
Cons: 1st 5 gallons had a plastic tatste
"We were looking to replace our top loading cooler and were intrgued yet cautious of the Primo bottom loading unit as we didnt know much about the functionality. Functionality was equally important as looks and we read all the reviews and decided that with Costco's great return policy it was worth the gamble.
We already were aware of the static lights and prepared for minor pumping noise. Overall our expecations have been exceeded. We ran 5 gallons though the system which eliminated the slight plastic taste some have described.
Its been a month and we do not regret the decison."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 3, 2010

Chemical Taste Won't Go Away!

"Have had the filter for 1 week. Did the initial cleaning (45 min) and have gone through 20 gallons of water. Still has this chemical aftertaste. Very annoying since we drink purified water in hopes of avoiding chemicals. Tastes and smells like remnants of their sanitizing solution. Has faded somewhat, but is definitely still there. Going to return the unit. Also, no room temp water is annoying. Like the idea of bottom feeder. Hope this helps."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Western Massachusetts
Date:July 22, 2010

Made Water Taste Foul

Model Number: Primo water cooler & Disp. Bottom Loading
"This cooler was the best priced I could find. I loved the option that the water bottle was underneath thereby eliminating the need to lift the bottles. The case was well made & attractive and the functionality was excellent... until you tasted the water. Unfortunately the holding reservoirs must be plastic as I could not get rid of the bad taste. Along with following the instructions to cleanse the unit with bleach if there was a bad taste, I even tried vinegar, which seemed to work. However, the next day the water had the same foul taste. The maker knew of the problem as instructions to remove taste were supplied... they just didn't work."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Covina, CA
Date:July 20, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: good quality, don't need to lift the bottle, not that noisy as some customers said, i like it's cold and hot water temp.
"Fast delivery:
In the website it was written 5-7 business days to deliver it...
I got it within less than 2 days!!!
amazing.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:July 4, 2010

Awesome

Pros: easy to load, works beautifully, the extension tube is manually adjustable
Cons: add to troubleshooting in the manual, resolution: adjust extension tube
Model Number: 900129A
"I read the reviews for the Primo water cooler but had high hopes despite the few negative reviews.
On the second day the out of water beeper started to beep when there was still water in the bottle and I noticed the B extension tube was not fully extended. User errror! I had failed to fully extend the tube to reach the bottom of the bottle. Whoops, problem solved!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:July 2, 2010

Better than expected

Model Number: 900129
"A good (air tight ) seal is required at the top of the bottle because this unit does not suck water out of the bottle. There are two hoses on the "snorkel". One for air going in and the other for water being pushed out. It uses a small (and very quiet) air pump to pressurize the bottle with air which then "pushes" water up to the heating and cooling tanks in the upper half.
Documentation states that the heater unit uses 425 Watts which appears to be a straight forward resistive unit. The cooling unit uses a very small compressor (with evaporator coil on the rear) and is stated to use 125 Watts. However, it runs for a very, very long time to cool a single tank of water.
Both the heater and/or cooler can be turned off individually with a rocker switch on the rear panel. Whichever side is turned off renders the water on that side as "room temp" water. In the month that I've had it, I think think the greatest power savings could be realized by turning off the cooling side. We have ice in the fridge if we want cold water.
The night light is an LED. It uses hardly any power and could be brighter. This LED flashes and the unit beeps (quietly) periodically when the bottle needs to be replaced.
Make sure you let the unit sit upright for 4 hours in its final resting place before turning it on. this allows the refrigerant to settle in the right places for the Carnot cycle."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 23, 2010

very satisfied

Pros: nice looking
Cons: none
Model Number: 900129a
"We have had our water cooler model # 900129a for about a month and are very pleased.The unit is really quiet you can hardly hear it run.We filter our own water and it tastes great.Refilling is a breeze.The independent switches for hot and cold water and the night lights are a plus."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Bottom Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, Az.
Date:June 10, 2010

Excellent

"Very nice, good looking, easy to change the bottles, and the night light is nice. I am very happy with this machine and highly recommend it to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>