Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Solar Powered Attic Ventilator

Ventilates up to 1250 Square Feet
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
45 of 50(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Review 1 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mckinney, TX
Date:April 23, 2009

Solar Savings

"I installed 5 of these in my attic this spring. The key is to make sure you know how much sq ft of attic space you have to vent out and match with the correct # of fans.
Also, you need to check the FHA minimum requirements to make sure you have enough intake vents (e.g. soffit vents) or the fans can not pull air correctly. W/O correct intake vents the fans would be like sucking on a straw with your finger over the bottom. I added 41 soffit vents to my house before installing these fans. Yesterday the temp outside was 88 and my attic was only 97!!
The fans are very quite and the sun does not have to be directly hitting the solar panels for the fan to work. I have seen the fans work on cloudy days too!!
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Date:April 22, 2009

Great attic fan

Pros: check mfg website for installation tool list
"I replaced two static / convection vents with this solar powered vent fan. I installed it in the early spring at 6am to avoid a hot attic or roof. The manufacturer's website has a great tool list so you'll be prepared. It took me 1.5hrs from start to finish. Pay attention to instructions on blocking the appropriate static vents. Depending on roof size & pitch, you might need more than one. If the motor or panel should break down, the fan is 'open' meaning it would still allow hot air to rise through.
Since I installed this before the hot season, I don't have a before/after temperature difference. However, we just had two 90+degree days and our upstairs was comfortable. Usually, our AC can't keep 1 of our upstairs bedroom cool, but now it can. This is a solidly built product."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockville, Maryland
Date:July 3, 2009

Excellent Solar Attic Fan!

Pros: no attic electrical outlet or wiring needed, can be placed at any place on the roof, easy to install, tax credit eligible
Cons: a little bit pricey if not "on sale" or no coupon!
"Initially, I got only one fan as a "test-drive" since the fans were on sale at the store in Columbia, MD. The contractor said it was so easy to install and only took him literally 15 minutes to mount it on the roof. After a few days, the contractor got back to the attic area for some electrical wiring work, he noticed that the fan had reduced the temperature in the attic significantly, and the solar power panel apparently was more than sufficient to run it! (I could tell he was telling the truth because he looked a lot less sweaty.) He advised me to get two more fans for the two other sections of my house roof. He said they would help keep my roof and attic from premature damage by the heat and mosture. I listened to his advice, and now happy that I did. I cannot climb up the attic myself; however, I have noticed that my house is now significantly cooler , the bedrooms are a lot more comfortable in the afternoon (even without the air conditioning running). These fans qualified for tax credit too! My brother now wishes Costco will put these fans on sale again soon so he can get a few to install on his house roof!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mason Neck, VA
Date:June 24, 2009

Low Profile Works great

"We purchased from Costco in May 2009 and installed three of these fans on our 5500 square foot house. Has already made a really big difference in the indoor temperature. Our upstairs was always very hot, downstairs mildly hot and now our a/c units can actually keep the areas comfortably cool. We contacted the manufacturer and they helped us identify a company that has experience in the installation of these fans. It took a little less than two hours for the installation of all three of them. Once they were installed, I could not even hear them running. Also, during the istallation it was overcast (cloudy). They started right up despite the light clouds. Something to consider is if your home owner's association will have issues with the addition of these fans. They are very low profile but still something you may want to consider checking into. This was a GREAT investment for our family."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Date:March 25, 2009

I am impressed with the quality!

"When we purchased our home, there was an older solar fan from a different manufacturer on the roof that did not work, I think the solar panel shorted out, so I’ve been wary of replacing it. I found this new fan on the Costco website and decided to purchase it after reading the info from the company. I could tell right away when I took it out of the box that the solar panel
was way better that the one that’s on the fan on my roof. As far as I know, they are the only company that offers a 20 year warranty which was a big selling point for me. The panel tilts so I can maximize the angle of the solar panel and the motor is bigger too, it's really quiet and so far my upstairs has been cooler and it costs me nothing to run.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:April 16, 2009

Great protection for the South

Pros: extremely efficient at venting attic heat
Cons: expensive but worth the price
"I live in South Texas where it is often hot and humid. We had electric attic fans in our home to vent out heat (it was 160+ degrees in the summer), but the heat itself eventually killed the electric fans. Now we've installed two of these and within 20 minutes of installation, the temperature dropped more than 20 degrees ... these things suck out heat much faster than electric fans, and make the manual/convection fans look like a joke."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:April 26, 2009

Excellant Product

Pros: complete efficiency
Cons: none
"We purchased two of these fans in March 2008, and they have worked beautifully. Easy to install,the online installation video very helpful. Temperature in attic is dramatically cooler and really quite comfortable. Even with black asphalt shingles, these fans keep our 2,000 sq. ft. plus attic nice and cool very quietly and efficiently. Leave it to Costco to bring us such a great product! Every homeowner should consider these attic fans--it's a no-brainer!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:April 24, 2009

Easy to install - Great Buy!

Model Number: Item # 367854
"Extremely easy to install, 40 minutes and that was because we had to get down to get a forgotten tool. This operates silently and operates even in the partial shade of our neighbor's trees. We will add at least one more."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:July 11, 2009
Pros: good solar fan
Cons: not designed for tile roof installation
"I bought two of this product and have it installed on my tile roof by professional installer recommended by the manufacturer (US Sunlight). After the installation, I noticed that the gap between the fan cover and the tile is less than an inch. As a result, the volume of air it can discharge from the attic is somewhat restricted. I think this solar attic fan is not designed for tile roof."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 25, 2009

Best Investment

Pros: no electrician needed, whisper quiet
Cons: none to speak of.
Model Number: 9912TR
"I had 2 fans installed on my home after the first heat wave we had, it has been a great investment for my home. Before I had them installed it was always hotter in my house at night then it was outside, now I come home and it is cooler in my house than outside. I like the whisper quietness of the fans also. The installer that the manufacturer recommended was great as well, if I had known it was this simple to cool my home without using electricity I would have done this a long time ago. I have recommended this fan to all my friends and family. It is a wise investment that doesn't break your pocket book."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:July 29, 2009

A huge difference in utility bill

Pros: worth the price
Cons: none
"I bought 3 of these fans. One over the garage and two over the house. I have to admit I was a little scepticle at first but noticed my A/C was not kicking on as much as before. I would walk into the garage and it was like a furnace, not any more!! If you live in the central california these are a must!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009

Good Move to Purchase

"I not only installed 1 fan for my attic , but 1 for my attached garage. I have my washer and dryer in the garage and going out there in summer was like walking into a sauna. I feel a big difference in the garage and the home."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009

Excellent Investment

Model Number: Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
"I bought one of these for my parent's two-story home that is ALWAYS hot in the summer. The air-con could never keep up.
Installation was very smooth thanks to the online video. Once I had everything together, it only took about 15 minutes.
ULTRA QUIET operation! Other than seeing it on the roof, you'd never know it was there. Having said that, I was amazed at the amount of air that it moved. My parents have commented that they used to have to keep the air on at night, but no more thanks to the attic fan.
I'm definitely going to purchase one for myself!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:July 10, 2009

Good Product

"As the other reviews state, this is a very good product if you need some ventilation in your attic. I installed this with a friend and the hardest part was climbing the ladder onto the roof. My attic and upper level of my house are noticably cooler. No electricity is also good for the environment. The only thing I would change is to add a battery to hold the charge for a few hours in case there is a cloudy day"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Chester, OH
Date:July 19, 2009

Energy Saver

Pros: good instructions. easy to install
"Bought this to reduce energy usage. Easy to install with easy to follow instructions (as long as you are comfortable being up on the roof). Had a little help from son-in-law.
Took about two hours to install this in the location where an older passive low profile roof vent was. Had to cut a bigger opening.
Use a good roof flashing sealant when installing the unit.
Can feel a difference in temperature in the upper floor of the house. Plan to get a second unit when I can afford it."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westminster CA
Date:June 30, 2009

Under promised and over delivered

Model Number: 9912TR
"It doesn't get any better or easier than this!
It took all of about 15 minutes to install. If you read the instructions before you begin the only surprises you'll have are good ones.
This thing started itself up as I slid it under my shingles and was so quiet I couldn't believe it.
Inside my house it had already started cooling off from the time I went outside and talked to a neighbor for 15 minutes and took another 15 minutes to install it.
Easiest thing I've done in a long time!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon
Date:July 28, 2009

The not-so-effective-fan

Model Number: Solar powdered attic fan
"I purchased this attic fan from costco.com and had it installed for about a week now. Very easy install, but only runs when sun directly on unit. The elec unit we had on another house would run for 16 hrs a day if needed, this one a max of 8 only. Our other unit cost $150 and would displace 1600 cfm, this one only 850 cfm. So for less than 1/2 the price and twice the volume of air it would take you at least 10 yrs to make this solar unit cost effective. By then the motor would have been replaced 2 times. Think about that before evaluating weather this unit will work for you; good luck."
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, Calif.
Date:June 22, 2009

Great Investment!

Pros: good quality very "green" uses no electricity!
Cons: a little pricey but should pay for itself quickly
Model Number: Item # 367854
"Geez, we should have done this years ago. Seem sturdy, and solar panel looks pro. We got a good rebate from our local utility company.
Had them installed thru a company recommended by the manufacturer and they did a great, professional job. Put one in the attic, and one in the garage.
Garage is already much, much cooler. Now maybe our a/c will be able to cool the house with the attic cooled down."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 7, 2009

This Roof Vent is a Blast

Pros: powerful and quiet
Cons: instructions not perfect
"Well, when you combine a 38 Volt motor with a superior silicate panel and powder coated metal you have a great product. Just be sure to install it properly to avoid leaking."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Remington VA
Date:July 18, 2009

So far so very good!

Pros: great green product for us first timers
Cons: need to offer more colors than just black
Model Number: 9912TR
"Recently replaced the gable end vents and added this solar powered attic fan. This product ventilates at a slow steady rate, very nice. Location of the attic fan is very important to get the optimum efficiency, follow the instructions. Therefore, area @ 1200sqft and up you may need two (2) fans, if the slope of your roof is greater than 5/12. My only concern is how long will it last?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>