Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Solar Powered Attic Ventilator

Ventilates up to 1250 Square Feet
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
45 of 50(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Review 1 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Great Fan!!

"We live in the bay area so the heat isnt TOO bad but I really notice a differance on those really hot days. We just installed another fan in our garage attic and what a differance it made. Very easy to install too"
Review 2 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:dc suburb
Date:January 3, 2010

impressive outcome

Pros: quiet inside and low profile outside
"wasn't sure what how this would play out. but i'm very pleased with the outcome after installing this product in my attic space. i was pleasantly surprised at the breathable and quite bearable air and temperature i found in my attic one dog day of summer that allowed us to work and clear out stuff. in winter, not so stone cold we can't go up for an occassional search. glad about how this worked out."
Review 3 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, Va
Date:December 5, 2009

Watch for steep roof installation.

Model Number: Powered Attic Ventilator
"The only thing surprises me is that the rain can get in through the opening on steep roof of my garage. I guess it is not the fan's problem but, after installation and on a rainy day, I went up and check from under my garage attic and found that it is a little wet. It turns out that if your roof is steep you shouldn't install a this fan... not sure if other fan has the same problem though.
Other than that, everything else about this fan really is great. It works well on a sunny day and it stops when it is not.
Paul"
Review 4 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:November 17, 2009

Great buy, worth the money

"I have two installed and they work great. I can really tell the difference. I don't have to leave the air conditioner on for my pets on hot days, it keeps the house at a comfortable temperature."
Review 5 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:October 19, 2009

Worth the money

Pros: cost, warranty, self-installation, comparable to competition
Cons: no predrilled (small) screw holes on flashing
Model Number: 383172
"Product works and is worth the money. I live in Hawaii in a single story house. Before installing this fan my ceilings use to be so hot I could not even touch it. We use to go outside to cool off because the buildup of heat from the roof would enter the living areas. Now the ceiling is cool, we cannot even feel the heat we used to. Family member had a solavent installed which cost him 2,000 out of pocket before tax rebates and savings, yet this product is just as comparable, plus you can tilt the solar panel on this item. Excellend warranty compared to industrial standards. The only thing I noticed was that the solar panel tilts north so it forces you to rotate it to face south. Also, the flashing does not include predrilled small holes, but this is not that big of deal. Would recommend caulking the sides of the flashing and bottom with roof caulk. Easy to install, took me 1.5 hours because I had to install from the outside because there was no access to my attic and I had to find the beams from the outside. If it was not for this I would have completed in 30-45 mins. Definetly a valueable investment."
Review 6 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:October 7, 2009

Works extremely well

Pros: easy installation, great support, tax rebate, green
Cons: none
"I live in San Diego, we have sun 99.9% of the time. My hallway would get into the 90s during the day. You could feel the heat on the walls past nightfall. I installed this fan and it has made a huge difference. Since the sun is always out, the fan never stops exhausting heat from the attic. The installation was very easy, and took less than an hour. The hardest part was getting the motivation to go into the scorching attic to mark the area to cut the hole."
Review 7 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:October 1, 2009

Best buy I've ever done

Pros: easy install, pays for itself
Model Number: 9912TR
"I have 3 solar attic fans on my home, I enjoy the fact that they are super quiet. Installed so easily any home owner can do it....the fan starts running soon as the sun comes up and does exactly what it is suppose to cool my hot attic. I wish I had done this sooner. GREAT Product! Well Built and the company gives great customer support."
Review 8 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Patterson, CA
Date:September 28, 2009

Wonderful Product

"I just had one installed on my house and it has made a huge difference. I already notice that the air conditioning kicks on about 2 hours later than before.
Wish I did this earler this summer."
Review 9 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, ca
Date:September 27, 2009

Not work for Cathedral Ceiling

"This fan requires direct sunlight, when the sun is down, it will not spin.
In a cathedral ceiling structure heat raises and accumulates, and waits for the hot air to suck out by the fan. However, during sunset, when heat is still accumulated in the structure, the fan stops due to sunset.
The heat is still trapped. It is green, but solar system might not work as we wanted for attic fan
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:September 15, 2009

let the sun shine

Pros: easy install. use the sun for energy
Cons: stops when overcast and no direct sun
"Purchased 2 units. Installed with no problems. Have an extension which is open beam and is very hot with no circulation. Cut 2 vents/grills to suck the air from that area which normally would not be able to cool. Extreme difference.
For those that already installed unit, and not happy, disconnect and override the temperture so it will go on when the sun hits.
"
Review 11 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:September 12, 2009

Great humidity reducer!

Pros: ease of installation. low profile on roof
"Installed this fan over an extremely hot and humid kitchen and noticed results instantly. The temperature in the house has been reduced by only a few degrees, but the humidity has had a major reduction, making my house more comfortable. A/C now runs less and I'm saving on my electric bills. Buying 2 for my parents home so they can get rid of their electric attic fans."
Review 12 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis MN
Date:September 12, 2009

Works well, no electric hook-up needed

Pros: no expensive electrician needed for installation, virtually noiseless, requires no electricity, environmentally friendly, works very well
"I've been very satisfied with this solar-powered attic ventilator since I purchased and installed it over a year ago. Virtually no noise, and no electricity (or expensive electrician to install it) needed. I find it keeps the air circulating very well, which is it's purpose. Good ventilation in the attic helps keep moisture from accummulating and getting into walls and ceiling. It does not, as one reviewer expected, keep your house cool in a hot summer by itself. You need more than adequate insulation to better accomplish this task. Adding another product called Reflectix can also help prevent heat from entering your home through the attic as well."
Review 13 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Duvall, WA
Date:September 11, 2009

didn't work as hoped

Pros: easy install, quiet
Cons: it didn't work at reducing the temp inside
"I purchased and installed this product in June. Our weather here in Washington State has been extremely hot this Summer. I installed this (one only) in a 1000 sq. ft. home and it has made zero difference. Our home has full southern exposure and when the temps were in the 90's, so was inside our home. I had to buy an air conditioner. Their customer service department tried to help but nothing helped cool our home. Even when it's only 70, so is our home. Very disappointing. I see it worked for some. They must be in the shade?"
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 25, 2009

Best Investment

Pros: no electrician needed, whisper quiet
Cons: none to speak of.
Model Number: 9912TR
"I had 2 fans installed on my home after the first heat wave we had, it has been a great investment for my home. Before I had them installed it was always hotter in my house at night then it was outside, now I come home and it is cooler in my house than outside. I like the whisper quietness of the fans also. The installer that the manufacturer recommended was great as well, if I had known it was this simple to cool my home without using electricity I would have done this a long time ago. I have recommended this fan to all my friends and family. It is a wise investment that doesn't break your pocket book."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:August 18, 2009

Best Purchase Ever

"We installed two fans in our house at the begining of this summer and boy has it done wonders for our electric bill. We have seen a huge difference. Our air doesn't have to come on as much. The best was when we were out of town for a week and our house was locked up and no air and it was 105 out side we came home and it was 82 inside. I would recommend this to anyone!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MIAMI FL.
Date:August 16, 2009

BEST DECISION EVER TAKEN

Pros: no noise at all., ultra quite, no cons
"I WAS LITTLE SKEPTICAL ABOUT THE PRODUCT IN BEGINNING. I NOW REALIZE THAT THIS WAS THE BEST DECISION EVER TAKEN. INSTALLATION WAS A BREEZE. NO PROF INSTAL IS AVAIL FOR MIAMI FL. A ROOFER CHARGED ME $200.00, WORTH EVERY PENNY. DEFINITELY GOING TO PURCHASE ANOTHER FAN NEXT MONTH; HIGHLY RECOMMEND ANYONE WHO WANTS TO BE COOL IN SUMMER AND PAY HARM AND LEG TO FPL. (LOL)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Truckee, CA
Date:August 13, 2009

Mom swears by it

Model Number: 9912TR
"Purchased this product for my mom and she swears by it. Her energy bills have gone down due to the fact that the air conditioner does not come on till late afternoon and it requires no electricity to run. The video makes it eay to install. After my moms bragging my wife is having me install 2 in our home."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:August 13, 2009

Good product

Pros: quite fan, easy to intall, well design flash
Cons: a littel bit pricy
Model Number: Solar Powered for 1250 sq.ft.
"I installed this fan two month back. It really works very well. It is quite and the DC motor works very well. I see the cooling effect during the day time. On average it works from mid morning to late afternoon which is a good time of the hot day. The installation is easy and straight forward. Make sure you orient the solar panal in the right visible direction and there has to be some breathing outlest in the attic itself. The access to the attic has to be well insulated cover; other wise the hot air would be damped down wards. Except the price, I think it is a good, simple, quite fan. It serves the purpose for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 10, 2009

Awesome Product

Model Number: 9912TR
"I have installed 2 on my home, there is a hugh difference in the tempature of my home, especially in the afternoon and evening. I do not run the air conditioner as much as I had prior to installing the fans. My utility bill has decreased.
Thanks!
"
Review 20 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:IL
Date:August 6, 2009
Model Number: 9912TR
"I'm very very happy with my Solar attic fan! We installed it early this summer ourselves and it went smoother than we thought most projects would. It's a lot quieter than my electric fan was. Our electric bill is much less during the hot months compared to last years bills ."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>