Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Solar Powered Attic Ventilator

Ventilates up to 1250 Square Feet
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
45 of 50(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Review 41 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 7, 2009

This Roof Vent is a Blast

Pros: powerful and quiet
Cons: instructions not perfect
"Well, when you combine a 38 Volt motor with a superior silicate panel and powder coated metal you have a great product. Just be sure to install it properly to avoid leaking."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, Va
Date:December 5, 2009

Watch for steep roof installation.

Model Number: Powered Attic Ventilator
"The only thing surprises me is that the rain can get in through the opening on steep roof of my garage. I guess it is not the fan's problem but, after installation and on a rainy day, I went up and check from under my garage attic and found that it is a little wet. It turns out that if your roof is steep you shouldn't install a this fan... not sure if other fan has the same problem though.
Other than that, everything else about this fan really is great. It works well on a sunny day and it stops when it is not.
Paul"
Review 43 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:September 12, 2009

Great humidity reducer!

Pros: ease of installation. low profile on roof
"Installed this fan over an extremely hot and humid kitchen and noticed results instantly. The temperature in the house has been reduced by only a few degrees, but the humidity has had a major reduction, making my house more comfortable. A/C now runs less and I'm saving on my electric bills. Buying 2 for my parents home so they can get rid of their electric attic fans."
Review 44 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:July 11, 2009
Pros: good solar fan
Cons: not designed for tile roof installation
"I bought two of this product and have it installed on my tile roof by professional installer recommended by the manufacturer (US Sunlight). After the installation, I noticed that the gap between the fan cover and the tile is less than an inch. As a result, the volume of air it can discharge from the attic is somewhat restricted. I think this solar attic fan is not designed for tile roof."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, ca
Date:September 27, 2009

Not work for Cathedral Ceiling

"This fan requires direct sunlight, when the sun is down, it will not spin.
In a cathedral ceiling structure heat raises and accumulates, and waits for the hot air to suck out by the fan. However, during sunset, when heat is still accumulated in the structure, the fan stops due to sunset.
The heat is still trapped. It is green, but solar system might not work as we wanted for attic fan
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009

Assembled Backwards

Pros: it was easy to install but...
Cons: quality control
"The install could have been fast if the fan had not been assembled backwards. I placed the fan with UP facing the peak of the roof, very easy. Next I tried to tilt the solar panel as illustrated on the box however the solar panel had been mounted with the hinge at the top of the frame so when tilted it faced north., it also would not rotate on the housing because the wires are attached to the frame. Be sure to take time off work to do this job because you must call them at their convenience, probably while you are at work. i spent over an hour tying to figure out what was wrong."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Duvall, WA
Date:September 11, 2009

didn't work as hoped

Pros: easy install, quiet
Cons: it didn't work at reducing the temp inside
"I purchased and installed this product in June. Our weather here in Washington State has been extremely hot this Summer. I installed this (one only) in a 1000 sq. ft. home and it has made zero difference. Our home has full southern exposure and when the temps were in the 90's, so was inside our home. I had to buy an air conditioner. Their customer service department tried to help but nothing helped cool our home. Even when it's only 70, so is our home. Very disappointing. I see it worked for some. They must be in the shade?"
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:August 3, 2009

Doesn't Work, Don't Waste Your Money

Pros: solar powered
Cons: doesn't work
"I was so excited when read the reviews for this, but have been HORRIBLY disappointed by the fan's performance. I have a 4/10 pitch roof, less than 1200 sq ft and this fan does NOTHING.
I have A/C, my top floor is baking and my bottom floor is always cool. I thought this fan would help, but it has don't nothing. I've repeatedly gone to the roof to see if it's even working. And even had a professional electrician look at it.
Don't waste your money. You can buy an electric fan for $96 at a big box home improvement store and have it installed. It will work for 3200 sq ft and actually WORK!
Even though I'm in the Seattle area, we have had record heat this summer of multiple days in the 90+'s. It's not the weather. It's the fan."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon
Date:July 28, 2009

The not-so-effective-fan

Model Number: Solar powdered attic fan
"I purchased this attic fan from costco.com and had it installed for about a week now. Very easy install, but only runs when sun directly on unit. The elec unit we had on another house would run for 16 hrs a day if needed, this one a max of 8 only. Our other unit cost $150 and would displace 1600 cfm, this one only 850 cfm. So for less than 1/2 the price and twice the volume of air it would take you at least 10 yrs to make this solar unit cost effective. By then the motor would have been replaced 2 times. Think about that before evaluating weather this unit will work for you; good luck."
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2009

BEWARE!!!!

"These solar fans have NO battery backup so they ONLY work during the middle of the day and ONLY if it's sunny out. Is it worth $319 plus installation costs to get some air out of your attic from 10 to 2!!?? I think Not!!!!"
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3