Customer Reviews for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Contrast ratio: 2000:1 Brightness: 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
8 of 16(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 1 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:March 4, 2009

1st One with Bad Pixel

Model Number: Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
"I have several Sceptre's but this one has a Bad Pixel, it's like the scene from Austin Power's: I'm drawn to the pixel (Mole, Moley).
I hate the idea on re-ordering or returning but this one might go back real soon."
Review 2 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:March 4, 2009

Problems after 1 week

Pros: nice picture (when it worked)
Cons: epic fail after 1 week
Model Number: 40" Sceptre LCD 1080p
"Everything worked fine for about a week, until I started having problems with the Component connection. The picture was dark and very green. I tried a DVD player and an Xbox 360 (using different sets of cables) and the picture was dark and green on both. Costco concierge hooked me up with Sceptre but no amount of trouble-shooting solved the problem. Sceptre said they'd do an exchange and then a day later emailed me and said they didn't have any of these TVs in stock and that I would have to return the set to the Costco B&M. I'm going for a refund so that I can buy a different brand."
Review 3 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nyack N.Y.
Date:March 3, 2009

Best TV I ever bought!! A+++++

Model Number: 40" 1080p
"This Sceptre TV superceeds any other TV in my home. I have 4 HDTV's..all big brand names. None of them compare to this one..in picture, sound, & longevity.
I did not just buy this TV, I waited to write this review...to really see how good Sceptre is.
I can't say enough good comments about it. Every PRO that you read in the reviews are true. I see no cons at all.
Ok, I have since bought a 32" Sceptre TV & love it, & a Sceptre 22" pc Monitor that is great. From now on, I will stick to Sceptre. (I hear that Vizio is also very good but I'll stick to Sceptre)
"
Review 4 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:O.C., CA
Date:March 2, 2009

Upside Down

Model Number: Septer 40" LCD 1080p
"I purchased this set online and got it setup with new HD statelite system without much difficulty. The set looked pretty good with the exception of poor remote. One week later when I turned the set on the setting screen came up UPSIDE DOWN and I was unable to get it to correct. I called the consierge service, trying to reset the T.V. without success. The next day I called Septre and the suggestions they gave did not help as well. Unfortunately I had to return the T.V. at my local Costco. The return was easy. Getting it back in box.... Not so easy. I will be looking for new flat screen soon but will wait reviews to comeout before jumping into it ."
Review 5 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:palo alto ca
Date:February 27, 2009

Excellant TV

Pros: picture & sound
Cons: none
Model Number: 400bv-fdh
"I have a 40" Sony in my family room
and the pictture and sound on this tv is
equal or better than that set.Couldn't be
more satisfied.
"
Review 6 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:RPV, CA
Date:February 26, 2009

PRICE SAYS IT ALL - YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

Pros: low price, good digital tuner, great dtv picture
Cons: lousy analog picture, analog signal has distracting background noise, cheesy remote
Model Number: Sceptre 40" 1080P TV Model 400BV-FHD
"Overall this is not a bad deal but you get what you pay for. This is very evident when watching analog channels. I called SCEPTRE's tech support and they were unable to find the solution to the background noise.
I'll give it a few more days but I think this set will need to go back."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 26, 2009

Not worth the trouble

Pros: low cost
Cons: poor quality
"TV has dead pixels, bad refresh rate, dark at times, had to reset twice already by disconnecting. I guess for the price it is a decent buy, but if you are looking for a great TV for the family pass on this and go with a better TV. This is good for the kids' room to play their playstation."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, wa
Date:February 26, 2009

OK Unit

Pros: great picture, great qam tuner
Cons: bad pixel, poor web chat support
"Ordered as a gift for my wife. We like it, for the most part. It has a clear picture. features are hard to figure out. Great tuner (QAM). It didn't like the signal non-HD from our Comcast HD tuner.
We returned it due to a bad pixel.
Another problem I had was with Sceptre web support. They didn't want to answer questions, just solve problems.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 26, 2009

Not suggested

Pros: display was nice bright and clear when it worked.
Cons: display died. now i have to take it back.
Model Number: 40" LCD 1080P
"Bought the 40", only watched about 10 hours of TV before the display went out. Audio still works but display just never came back. Not happy with it, but you get what you pay for. Going to return it to get a Vizio."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:February 25, 2009

Very Happy with Purchase

"I am not an expert on televsions as some of the other reveiwers so I don't know all the technical format and lingo but all I know is that I bought this TV a week ago, hooked it up to Comcast cable, programmed the Comcast cable remote for the TV and everything works great. Speakers are adequate and can be improved with a surround system but works just fine for me. This TV has a great picture even without the Comcast HD box. I am just your average television viewer and I haven't noticed any dead pixels or white ghosting or any of the other defects mentioned in other reviews. I very happy with the price and picture of this television and would purchase it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lafayette, Oregon
Date:February 25, 2009

Works great so far

Pros: comes with hdmi cable
Model Number: Sceptre 40" 1080P TV Model 400BV-FHD
"Just got tv today. Fast delivery. Great picture. Well packaged also. So far have not seen any bad pixels and although still going trough all the setup and testing of each function, it seems to work very well. Will up date more as I finish testing with HD cable and upconversion. All connections are on back, would have liked one HDMI on front, but connections are recessed and out of way. Comes with one HDMI cable and it worked well. Also, with Costco 2 year warranty really makes it a great buy."
Review 12 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:February 24, 2009

Remote did not work... no codes for DirecTV

"The remote that came with this TV did not work. Tried the troubleshooting suggestions in the manual, and still did not work. DirecTV does not have codes for this TV. They suggest using Sony codes. Those did not work. I also tried codes suggest from various Internet forums... again without success.
The price is great. The VGA hookup/pic was excellent, stand def pic was very poor, and w/o a mean to controll remotely this one is a no go for me. Going back in the box and back to Costco."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 23, 2009

Beware of a Great Deal !!!

Model Number: 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
"Bought Mon, Deliver Wed. No Screen Sun! Lasted 5 days"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2009

Jury still out

Pros: the quality of the picture is great, the hd tuner is also very good
Cons: dead pixels
"I have purchased the 32 and the 40 TV from costco and they both have had dead pixels. This seems to be a company problem. The remote is not great as others have stated, but it functions fine."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Clarksburg, MD
Date:February 19, 2009

Good TV, But.....

Pros: great price, uses sony remote codes, 3 hdmi inputs
Cons: screen has inconsistent darkness, lame remote
Model Number: 40BV-FHD
"The TV arrived and it was very easy to set up and get started. Sceptre inclues a screwdriver and HDMI cable in the box. I had the set on the stand and working in about 10 minutes.
The remote is still a bit on the lame side, but it does what it needs to do....I have programmed another remote so I use that most of the time.
The set itself is all black with a glossy finish, no silver edge like my Sceptre 32" and the clarity of the picture with the HDMI hookup is awesome. It's a very attractive unit. It has multiple HDMI inputs and as I said earlier, setup was a breeze.
The 1 issue I have is the LCD panel itself. While it has 1 tiny pixel that is blue and I can easily live with that, there are areas of the panel that are not as dark as the rest of the set and this is noticeable during dark/night scenes. It's almost as if someone is shining a dim flashlight on parts of the screen. I'm not sure if I can live with this flaw, but that's just me. If it wasn't for that 1 issue, this would be a GREAT TV.
One other note, the TV reads the date/time automatically off of TV Signals, so if you don't have an antenna hooked up to it, there is no way to adjust the date/time. They probably should have added a manual adjustment.
Sorry that I don't have more info, but I just got the set about 14 hours ago."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $599.99 after $100 OFF Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Burbank, IL
Date:February 15, 2009

Recommended only for a low budget

Pros: low price., very decent 1080p definition.
Cons: poor standard defintion viewing., underscan of picture in 1:1 view
"Very blocky picture in standard definition such as regular dvds. TV is good in high-definition 1080p format only. Nice feature is slight-swiveling base (about 15 degrees either way) Problem with TV in 1:1 visual screen mode. We often see white banding at top an bottom edge. Most of the time it is eliminated by changing video zoom to 16:9 setting. I would not buy it again. I had to reset the TV once by pulling the electrical plug and waiting 30 seconds. It reset itself and started working again. If you have the money spend more on a better brand but if you have a low budget and want the biggest screen you can get for less money then this set will be fine for high-def and standard dvd-players with GOOD up-conversion."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.