Customer Reviews for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress

with Organic Waterproof Cover
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
32 of 37(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Review 1 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Kansas City Area
Date:November 2, 2011

Great Value!

Pros: quality, price, costco return policy
"I have been looking for an organic mattress for a while...and they are hard to come by (ALL natural that is)...and very expensive! The mattress fit perfectly in the crib..I was a little worried based on others' reviews that it was too big. It also comes with the mattress cover already on the mattress. The only thing I did not love is that the cover has writing on it, so if you have thin sheets, as most baby sheets are, you can see the writing through it.
As the reviewer before me stated, the mattress also comes with an order form for additional mattress covers. They are $40 each...which means really the mattress itself is $140 and the cover is $40....a great deal if you ask me!
Our baby girl isn't due for a few weeks, but my sister-in-law stayed with us last week and my 10 month old nephew tried it out and slept later than he ever had before! So..I'm pretty confident Gabi will love it too! :-)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:October 5, 2011

Great quality mattress--and cheaper then elsewhere

Pros: organic, firm, nice feel
"I wanted a GOOD mattress for my baby. Nothing plastic or squishy. I wanted organic. Basically I wanted something I would sleep on.
I found another organic mattress that I would say was comparable (same number of springs, high quality, etc) It was 299.99 and that did NOT include waterproof cover! Great price and great mattress!
The mattress is a PERFECT size, just right for my crib (Cafekid Devon, also from Costco). The ideal size of a baby mattress is filling the whole crib, with no extra room, and this one is perfect!
I could not be happier with my purchase. Plus, when the mattress arrived there was a note from L.A. Baby to order an additional waterproof cover----very needed for those LATE NIGHT cleanups!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 13, 2010

Excellent Crib Mattress

"I was concerned that this mattress would not fit my crib (based on other reviews) and hesitated to order it. However, I carefully measured the crib (and double-checked the crib mattress specifications) and--encouraged by reviews which stated that the mattress DID fit into multiple crib styles--I ordered the mattress. It arrived in just 2 days. It is a very, very nice and firm crib mattress. My 5-month old baby is huge (19#) and this mattress is much more supportive than our previous mattress. I am a mother of 3, and this is clearly the highest quality crib mattress I've purchased. The water-proof cover was included and is also of good quality. AND, the mattress fits the crib perfectly. I am very satisfied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:March 24, 2010

measurements not correct

"We were very excited about this organic mattress at such an affordable price. After reading the product dimensions carefully online, we found that the mattress delivered was longer than indicated. The mattress we received was 52 3/4 in long, too long to fit correctly in our crib. If the mattress was the length specified by Costco's website, we'd be all set and satisfied. Unfortunately we will be returning the mattress.
Also, the product advertised on Costco's website says that it comes 'with Organic Waterproof Cover'. Ours did not come with a cover at all and specifies on the mattress labeling - "Must Use Water Proof Cover With This Mattress""
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winter Park, Florida
Date:July 25, 2010

Fantastic!!!!!

"The mattress arrived on time and in perfect condtion. It is wrapped in sealed plastic, which is perfect because baby won't be here for a few more months, and we won't have to worry about dust getting into the mattress. It is a lovely thickness and softness.
The mattress fits snugly into our new Graco Charleston crib, which is standard size. I am happy that it fits snugly enough that I won't have to worry about baby's arms or legs getting trapped between mattress and crib slats.
It came with a nice organic cover for the mattress as well, which is awesome, because other organic mattress covers can cost $50 or more.
I was so thrilled to find this mattress. I want the best for my child, but I was NOT looking forward to spending over $300 for a comparable mattress. Thanks to Costco, I can have the best for my baby at a MUCH more reasonable price! Yippee!"
Review 6 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:September 24, 2009

Affordable Luxury

"I thought a natural organic crib mattress was WAY out of our budget and then I found this one on Costco.com. This is a high quality THICK mattress and we had to move the hight setting down on our crib because of this. My son loved this mattress as soon as I took it out of the box. It is extremely difficult to get in and out of the crib to change the sheets due to its size, but the quality is worth the hassle to us. Standard size crib sheet barely fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 13, 2009

Excellent quality!

"I absolutely loved this mattress. It is of an exceptional quality.....
Unfortunately it did not fit in our crib, so we had to return it..... We tried three times to get it in the crib..., but... it did not work.... I was very, very disappointed, because I just LOVED the mattress sooo much....!!!
I would highly recommend this mattress, just make sure it will fit the crib!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:November 18, 2011

Just Perfect

"great quality, no chemical smell at all, and the included waterproof cover is a Godsend! i actually prefer this to the $400 pure latex organic mattress that we purchased for our first baby. If you buy only one organic product for your baby, let this be it. I had no fear of SIDS with my baby sleeping on this mattress (when she wasn't co-sleeping, of course)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boulder Colorado
Date:October 20, 2009

Great Buy

Pros: price
"I was worried about the quality of the organic mattress being sold at Costco. I was about to pull the trigger on a 350.00 one when my friend suggested this one. I am extremely happy and it fits great into our crib.
Works well with the Oeuf Classic collection Crib."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 17, 2010

Great mattress!!

"I bought this mattress because of all the great reviews and I have to say, they were right! I'm impressed with the quality of this mattress, it is comparable to other (more expensive) organic crib mattresses on the market that sell for $300-$400. A girlfriend of mine bought one of those expensive mattresses and I have to say, this one is nicer!! The quilted cover is so soft and comfy, but firm and safe for a baby. No phthalates, polyurethane foam, lead or toxic chemicals - no strange chemical smells when I took it out of the box. This fits my DaVinci crib nicely.
The waterproof cover is nice and says organic, although there is no label saying what it is made of.
Overall, I love, love,love that Costco offers such great quality at a great price. This is an amazing buy!"
Review 11 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2011

Very good mattress

"I am very happy with this purchase...I have been using it now for a year...I will purchase another one for the next baby."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Moosic, PA
Date:October 18, 2010

Not the same mattress as before!

Cons: quality has diminished
"I ordered this exact mattress from Costco a few months ago for my (future) baby's crib. The first one was FANTASTIC, plush, and comparable to other $400 organic mattresses we had looked at. We damaged the mattress a week ago by accident so we ordered (what we thought) was the same one. It arrived today and IT IS NOT THE SAME QUALITY! Very disappointing. We still have the damaged mattress and side-by-side it is evident that the second mattress is a LOT LESS plush, thinner, and not as firm! I think we will have to return this as it is not as sturdy as the first one. Even though it is a "deal" for an organic mattress, I don't want to settle for something less than I had the first time for the same price! I am very upset by this!"
Review 13 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 28, 2010

One of the best baby purchases we made

Pros: organic, safe, comfortable, breathable
Cons: none!!
"I must say, we weren't LOOKING for organic mattresses. However, we were looking for a breathable mattress that was not plasticky, but the organic nature of the mattress was a bonus.
To have an organic mattress that is breathable, firm, and awesome quality for less than $200 is amazing. When my daughter started sleeping on it at 6 months, she slept very well as she was not overheated and it was firm for comfort and safety. She still sleeps on it now at almost 15 months and we'll continue to use it as she moves into a toddler bed in about a year.
This is the best quality baby/toddler mattress I have ever seen!"
Review 14 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011

Larger than advertised!

Pros: organic
Cons: too big!
"My husband and I did quite a bit of research and settled on this organic crib mattress. We wanted to purchase one with minimal emissions and made from organic materials and was not over priced. This mattress seemed like it met all of our needs. We were very disappointed when we discovered that the mattress did not fit in our crib. We questioned whether or not it was the crib or the mattress and after measuring both items learned that the mattress was one whole inch longer than it was supposed to be according to the website. We were forced to return it to Costco which thankfully was not difficult to do at all."
Review 15 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:January 8, 2011

Too soft to support a new born baby!

Cons: too soft. smelly.
"I thought the extra heavy-duty 15.5-gauge coils are strong enough for a baby. It turned out that I was totally wrong. It's far from enough to support a 6 lbs new born baby. Then I found on the internet that many people have the same experience. Have to get it out of my baby's crib.
Another problem is it has some unpleasent smell - just like some kind of glue. I really doubt if it's a organic product. I exposed it in the air without covering it for several weeks, and the smell still existed.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 20, 2010

Aswome mattress!

"An unbelievable deal for an organic mattress. It also exceeds all of the safety standards for an infant matteress outlined in Consumer Safety Reports buyer's guide. I was so excited when I ordered this but was a little nervous it wouldn't fit since a few other reviewers had issues with it. It fits perfectly in my Delta Children's brand crib. It looks great and my standard crib sheets fit it just fine. Quite a deal with the included organic waterproof mattress pad."
Review 17 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bronx, New York
Date:May 10, 2010

Great Purchase for the Money

Pros: great quality for the price
"Received the mattress and I am very pleased with the quality for the purchase price. The mattress is firm and the specifications indicated fit my daughter's crib perfectly. It is worth the price considering I have been shopping and looking at other department stores which does not compare what Costco offers. The waterproof cover is an addition to what is included in the price. I must say it is a great buy and I would recommend this product."
Review 18 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Norwalk, CT
Date:December 28, 2010

Bigger than it says!

Pros: thick, plush, organic, nice fabric
Cons: wrong size, too big
"I was so excited to get this mattress because it's organic, a great price, and it looked great when we got it. It is thick and plush and looked really nice! No smell either. We finally got our crib set up and the mattress didn't fit! It was bigger than the dimensions specify. So dissapointed that we have to return it and start over. Now I'm unsure of ordering another one online in case it doesn't fit either. We only have 7 weeks to go!"
Review 19 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 16, 2010

Good product for the price

Pros: fabric lined, sturdy, carries an organic label
Cons: could be a little softer
Model Number: Item# 375594
"I would have thought it would have shipped quicker, but once it was in transit, we received it in a couple of days. I thought it could have been a little softer, but the wife says it was pretty good. The mattress pad is a definite bonus. Much to my surprise, many of the mattresses are vinyl. Would you sleep on vinyl ? Wanted fabric, and this fit that category for a decent price."
Review 20 for L.A. Baby Natural Organic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:September 3, 2010

Great Mattress

Pros: great price for organic
"Our baby just loves this mattress. He is 2 months old now and has slept in it from the day we brought him from hospital. We also bought a bassinett, but our baby likes his crib much better.
We were also concerned about the size from the other reviews, but the mattress fits perfectly in our Bellini crib. This is a great deal with the cover as long as it will fit in your crib.
"
1 2 next>>