Customer Reviews for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight

Feels Like 3 Times the Heat, Costs 1/3 Less to Operate than Ordinary Electric Heaters
Average Customer Rating:
3.803 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
(out of 76 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
13
1 star
8
53 of 76(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Review 21 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:April 19, 2009

best heater

"this is simply the best heater; i'm on my 3rd over a period of several years. the efficiency, cost of running, purchase price-all excellent. i'd never buy another heater. the night light is a great feature!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Just right

"I have 2 of these heaters. I have a sister-in-law in Orlando Florida. When the temperature in Orlando dropped to 20 degrees I knew this would be the perfect gift for her. She loves it and carries it from room to room."
Review 23 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:November 11, 2010

Good focused heat but doesn't heat a room well

"I bought this heater for my little one room studio apartment but it doesn't do very well at taking the chill off. If you plan to be right in front of it then this might be the heater for you ... otherwise try something else ..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:February 16, 2011
"This is my second HeatDish. My first one
stopped working. The product that arrived
was a different color (black) and does not
have a footlight, only a small red dot in the
footlight area. It wasn't worth the hassle to
send it back.
"
Review 25 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2009

parabolic heater

"I've owned three of these in the last four years they are great but I find they only last about two season on average. but even knowing this I'm purchasing another one today. I've noticed no rise in my heating bills with this unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berkley, MI
Date:January 19, 2011

Pets love this!

"We have a dog and two cats and whenever the heater is plugged in, they're lying in front of it. Like other reviewers have noted, this is intended to heat people, not rooms. This is our third winter using the same unit and it still works great."
Review 27 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

Nice while it works

"Product is OK, while it works. Worked for us about a few months, then totally stopped working. Just one day stopped working. We used it completely according to instructions and were so disappointed when it just stopped. Would not buy one again."
Review 28 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:October 24, 2011

Awesome Heat Dish

"I passed my old Heat Dish to my Neice and brought a new replacement. We Live in a Mobile Home and the Dish is located in our living room, and provides more than enough heat to keep us warm on the coldest days, along with saving on running the gas Furnace."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Rutherford, NJ
Date:December 29, 2010

Good heat BUT

Pros: good heat, adjustable heat
Cons: too light, needs bottom weight, priced to high
"Produces good adjustable heat but there are drawbacks such as (1) very light and easily tipped - needs a bottom weight, (2) aluminum plate that replaces the light on the previous model is cleap and was dented, (3) overpriced, $39 would be a more reasonable price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, Texas
Date:December 10, 2009

I regret buying this heater

"I wouldn't buy this heater again. I wish I had spent an extra $10 and bought a heater that will heat a small room. The Presto Heat Dish heats only a few feet directly in front of the heater. Also, you can't clean the surface of the silver dish. There is no way to get the front grill off."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:simi valley, c.a.
Date:May 15, 2011

bad thermostat

"I had bought two of these over time. One after another. Heat is great, but the thermostat or dial broke really fast.
super dangerous. You turn it off and it starts to spark. And it's not off! Its still blazing hot. Its still blazing hot on low! Really scary, so I just ended up unplugging it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:July 10, 2009

Great!

Cons: none
"I have 2 of these heaters. The oldest one is around 5 years old. Never had one problem with either of them. I purchased the separate duster and that's all the maintenace I do on them. They really warm up a room. My cats love them too! They can lay right next to them without getting too warm."
Review 33 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 13, 2011

heatdish a hot item

"My 3 small puppies LOVE the Presto Heatdish. they lay on their puppy beds in front of it quite often. They have very ittle hair so they are always shivering and wanting to burrow under something warm.
We love the heat dish. It puts out very good warmth for my puppies and the rest of us too. :-)
"
Review 34 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dunwoody, Georgia
Date:October 18, 2009

Great at First!

Pros: great room filling heat
Cons: poor durability & difficult to clean the dish.
Model Number: Presto Parabolic Heater #0791206
"Great at heating large rooms but after the second or third year they over-heat and the alarm will sound. I've bought seven (one for each bed room and family room) but they are burning out.
It is also impossible to clean the dish because the protective screen can not be removed.
I will try a different brand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:November 28, 2009

Very limited use

"Only provide heat in a limited area. I had plan to use this in my small office to keep warm. The problem is I get warm but my feet is still cold because this provides heat is a very small area more like 1.5 square feet.
If you put this in your bedroom, it is very likely that one spot of your bed will get warm and that's it."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:March 7, 2011

Pleased with Presto

Model Number: 0791497
"I just purchased my fifth Presto heater. I have 3 Presto heaters in my home, one in my bedroom, one in my son's room and one in my grand-daughters room. I also purchased one for my church classroom and last of all I just bought this one for my office. I am very happy with the way they can heat up a room and there low energy expense."
Review 37 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:December 30, 2009

Very WARM purchase! :)

"I bought this as a gift for my husband for Christmas. Turned out to be a gift for me too. Uses little energy, puts out a ton of heat. Gave 4 stars because I wish the night light could turn off. Only way to turn off is to unplug. I think it must be a safety feature....Very light weight, it's really taking the edge of the winter cold!!!"
Review 38 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009

Works great

"This is a great little heater. It gives off a lot of heat. Most of the time we have3 it on Medium. The room we have it in is a 13x11 and it heats that very well. For the money and the amount of electric it uses (as much as a nightlight) I feel it does the job. No noise unless it is tipped over then it sets off an alarm. Great product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warren, Mich.
Date:December 18, 2010

Great HeatDish

Pros: footlight, heat settings
Cons: none
"I use this to heat my 25ft. trailer for deer hunting. It warms it up to 75* inside in 20* weather outside. Footlight is handy since we can walk around in the trailer without having to put all the lights on to see. Since we run our generators at night anyway this gives me free heat without having to run my furnace and using up my propane."
Review 40 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southeast GA
Date:December 16, 2010

Burr!!!

Pros: looks good
Cons: no fan
"I bought this Weds. and it's going back to Costco. I didn't realize that you had to point the heater directly at you to get heat. It works fine for one person, but unfortunately my husband would like some heat, too. I don't want to be anchored in front of a heater to be warm. This made me realize that I need a heater with a fan and thermostat.."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>