Customer Reviews for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight

Feels Like 3 Times the Heat, Costs 1/3 Less to Operate than Ordinary Electric Heaters
Average Customer Rating:
3.803 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
(out of 76 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
13
1 star
8
53 of 76(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Review 1 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009

Works great

"This is a great little heater. It gives off a lot of heat. Most of the time we have3 it on Medium. The room we have it in is a 13x11 and it heats that very well. For the money and the amount of electric it uses (as much as a nightlight) I feel it does the job. No noise unless it is tipped over then it sets off an alarm. Great product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pinole, CA
Date:December 16, 2009

Fantastic!!!

Model Number: 57777
"If the Presto heat dish was a woman...I'd marry her! I actually didn't buy it, but found it discarded by my sister (on/off /low/med/high switch had fallen off) and covered in dirt and mud. I cleaned the dish (not easy to do, but doable) and it fired right up! The heat produced is excellent/cozy. Used it for my workbench...fantastic! Shortly after I got sick with the flu. Thank God I had found the device! It kept my bedroom toasty warm while I recovered. The beauty lies in its silent operation and directional heat. I have an electric fan heater, but the noise makes it disturbing to use at night. If this Presto ever breaks...I'm buying another one!!!"
Review 3 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009

lil fireplace

Pros: strong and fast
Cons: doesnt heat the room just you
"it only heats you, not the room, so it saves electricity and is hot instantly. Had it for years and it works great. But I have another small heater that blows hot air to hit the room itself if I need it."
Review 4 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Adirondack Mountains - COLD
Date:January 6, 2010

Fantastic Infrared heater - from manufarcturer

Pros: heats bodies not air, great value
Cons: need to buy 4 more kids want one each
Model Number: Presto Parabolic Heater
"As someone who has been in the business of manufacturing infrared heaters, I am very familiar with them. This is an EXCELLENT unit and well worth the price. I mostly use a wood stove to heat my house and when I'm in any area where the doors were closed so a room is cold, or in the garage or basement, I set the Presto up about 4-6' from where I'm working, and presto, I'm warm. When at my computer station I can only use the lowest setting, when on my deck in the winter I can sit outside with it on high, and I more than feel the heat. Realize infrared heat DOES NOT HEAT AIR, which is why it is so good, and why your rooms are so cold, because air is a terrible conductor (doesn't warm easily and does not hold heat at all), open a door, heat's gone, have a cathedral ceiling - now you know where your heat is. WIth infrared only the body is heated, not the air, so you never turn this on before it is needed and turn it off when leaving for 5 minutes, no need to heat nothing (like air).
Infrared heat is great where there is air flow like a garage, even outside with a wind you will feel just as much heat as if there were no wind.
This is an all around nicely made unit, and does EXACTLY what it is meant to do, heat bodies, not air, and it does it well."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 9, 2010

Best portable heater that we have had

"We first bought one of these 2 years ago and bought another one a few months later. We have a fairly open floor plan. We live in North Seattle. Even though our home is insulated rather well, 68 degrees is cooler in the house than it would be in a dryer climate. This heater heats very well and works well on the floor. If it is knocked or tilted, it releases a horrid sound, which is a great safety feature.
We usually unplug it overnight. It is still working well after 2 years with regular usage. Dust has not seemed to be the problem it was with the cheaper smaller heaters.
Our only problem is our small 9 lb dog loves the heat from it so we need to watch her carefully so that she does not get too close, but even within a few inches, she has been ok."
Review 6 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:King of Prussia, PA
Date:December 7, 2010

Best heater we have ever had

Pros: super energy efficient.
Cons: the night light is a nuisance.
"We have had this heater for about four years, and we can't imagine going through a winter without it. This heater being a radiant heater heats you while not directly heating the rest of the room thus saving energy. If you want to heat an entire room, don't buy this heater. If you want to heat you; buy this heater. Only con I have is that the night light is a nuisance. We unscrewed the bulb."
Review 7 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warren, Mich.
Date:December 18, 2010

Great HeatDish

Pros: footlight, heat settings
Cons: none
"I use this to heat my 25ft. trailer for deer hunting. It warms it up to 75* inside in 20* weather outside. Footlight is handy since we can walk around in the trailer without having to put all the lights on to see. Since we run our generators at night anyway this gives me free heat without having to run my furnace and using up my propane."
Review 8 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:January 2, 2011

GREAT BUY, IMMEDIATE HEAT!

Pros: immediate heat
Cons: none
Model Number: PARABOLIC HEATER
"I bought this for my son to use at his shop. It is cold and concrete flooring so any other type of heat literlly goes out the door. It is friendly to his electric bill which is a bonus! Lightweight and portable so he can move it with him easily. It has been a great heater and provides immediate heat! Don't see much need for the foot light but you can unscrew the bulb if you want. These types of heaters are not meant to heat a whole household and is perfect for direct heat while watching TV or in the shop, keeps your fingers thawed so you can perform manual jobs better. Best heater he has ever had at his workplace."
Review 9 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia, SC
Date:January 18, 2011

Presto HeatDish Heater

Cons: needs a way to turn of foot light
"Love this item!! Quiet, safe and gives ample heat for any room."
Review 10 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:February 7, 2011

Excellant

Model Number: 284457
"Got it for my bosses office and he loved it. Just what he needed to warm his cold office."
Review 11 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:February 16, 2011
"This is my second HeatDish. My first one
stopped working. The product that arrived
was a different color (black) and does not
have a footlight, only a small red dot in the
footlight area. It wasn't worth the hassle to
send it back.
"
Review 12 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 13, 2011

heatdish a hot item

"My 3 small puppies LOVE the Presto Heatdish. they lay on their puppy beds in front of it quite often. They have very ittle hair so they are always shivering and wanting to burrow under something warm.
We love the heat dish. It puts out very good warmth for my puppies and the rest of us too. :-)
"
Review 13 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quilcene, WA
Date:March 10, 2009

Efficient and Toasty Warm

Pros: very quiet.
"We have 2 of these parabolic heaters in the house and they've made a huge difference in our energy bill, while keeping the rooms at a very comfortable temperature. Our main furnace has hardly come on this past winter. These heaters are very quiet and do not stir up any dust - and absolutely nothing has gone wrong with them. The only thing we have done is removed the light bulb from the base - we do not need it lit up. Highly recommend them for office and/or home."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:April 19, 2009

best heater

"this is simply the best heater; i'm on my 3rd over a period of several years. the efficiency, cost of running, purchase price-all excellent. i'd never buy another heater. the night light is a great feature!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, Wa
Date:July 12, 2009

Can't live without this product

Pros: cozy-cozy-cozy
Cons: pedastal model needed. prefer white.
"We live in a large home in the Northwest that is very expensive to heat.
After finding this product on display in Costco, we purchased three to heat the bedrooms at night. It keeps the rooms heated nice an cozy. Since there is not a fan, it is blissfully quiet. Another huge plus is that our electric bills are reduced as we are only heating the rooms we use at night.
I am not fond of the new black color. Will the white color become an option? I would like to purchase one more for the living room.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:July 13, 2009

Excellent

Pros: quiet no noisy fan.
Cons: light burned out really quickly
"We have two of these heaters and we love them. They put off a great amount of heat that you can direct toward someone who may be more cold natured. What I like most is the quiet operation. I work at home so I like that fact that the fan is ultra quiet, no noisy fans. This allows me to keep the heater on during long conference calls. It also allows me to close my office door and turn down or completely turn off the furnace. We just bought a lake condo and I'll definitely buy at least one for the lake."
Review 17 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010

Best Heater Ever

Pros: heats like a champion, foot lamp stay on while plugged in, radient heat
Cons: none!
"If you on the fence, just get it! I've had two of these and looking to get my third. The first one died after 3 years of heavy use and the second one is running strong."
Review 18 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010

Best Heater

"Warms up in seconds and provides heat in the entire bathroom."
Review 19 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Thunderbird, Oklahoma
Date:December 17, 2010

Excellent for RV !!

Pros: directed head & warning buzzer.
Model Number: 07912
"I live in a 27 ft. RV on my 5 acres. My oldest Son raved about his HeatDish and sent me one for my Birthday. I have been using it as a supplement to the propane furnace. BUT… I use the propane mostly for cooking, not to heat my Castle. The HEATDISH is perfectly safe and keeps me toasty warm along with the $aving$ on both propane and electric! It cost me more to have two security lights than to use my HeatDish. And…it is TOTALLY SAFE to use in such close proximity. I had worried about using an open face electric heater in such close quarters, but not anymore! With the built in buzzer I don't worry about Betty the cat nor Boudreaux the Doxie knocking it over. And the footlight is sooo great when the grand babies come to visit. Best gift I've ever received. My son has wrapped me in warmth for many winters to come! Every mother should be so blessed!"
Review 20 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Just right

"I have 2 of these heaters. I have a sister-in-law in Orlando Florida. When the temperature in Orlando dropped to 20 degrees I knew this would be the perfect gift for her. She loves it and carries it from room to room."
1 2 3 4 next>>