Customer Reviews for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 50,000:1 Brightness: 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 of 24(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:January 31, 2009

First TV Return ever

Model Number: vizio VF550xvt1a
"I waited to purchase this TV after I saw it was coming out and the price it had. It is a 120hz tv which is supposed to make the motion better. The problem is the screen is jerky and at times it seems like it skips frames while being in slow motion. This has happened on every type of input.
Tomorrow I will be taking it back to the store. Hopefully I can find something to replace it with. If not I'll keep looking. This is a no buy TV. I have another VIZIO in my room which works great just not this one."
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Queen Creek, AZ
Date:February 1, 2009

awesome

Pros: price, size, picture
Model Number: VF550XVT
"After much debate over tvs and not really wanting a Vizio, we bought this one after reading consumer reports. They have come a long way since their first entry into the market. This tv is just as good as the Sony and Samsung we were looking at and for a bonus was $500 less with 3 extra inches. The picture is amazing. The menu is easy to use. It has plenty of HDMI connections. We are very pleased with it and might even buy one for the bedroom."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:February 1, 2009

Best TV on market

Pros: picture sound and price
Cons: black gloss border around tv reflects light.
Model Number: VIZIO 55" LCD
"I own 2 plasma's and 3 LCD tv's and just purchased the VIZIO 55" with 50,000 to 1 today. This picture is by far the best on the market. You cant beat the price as well. The sound system is also purfect."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:February 3, 2009

It was worth the wait.

Pros: execellent value for the size, 5 hdmi inputs plus the usual pc and component., hdmi cable included
Cons: sound bar is average, stand does not swivel.
Model Number: VF550XVT
"Images are so clear with FIOS HD. Old movies from the 60s look like 3D and really pop out as does network programming. Super Bowl was great with very little motion blur. The size was just right at 12' viewing distance to still appreciate the fine details. Off center viewing was also so good that I'm reconsidering mounting it on the wall."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:February 4, 2009

WONDERFULLLLLLLL!!!!

Model Number: VF550XVT
"I returned a Sharp 52" and was searching for something better. I bumped into this Vizio and fell in love! This is the best thing since canned beer! Fantastic picture. The menu is very simple to use. The owners manual is very easy to understand.
Unfortunately I went to a bar with my son and some friends to watch the super bowl. But I recorded it on my DVR and watched it again Monday on my Vizio! Wonderful!
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 10, 2009

Fantastic Value

Pros: picture quality ease of installation and setup
Cons: it does not make coffee or wash my car.
Model Number: 55" 120HZ Vizio
"I was nervous about purchasing the new 55" 120HZ as it had not been out long. Long story short, it is incredible!! We use it in a home theater set up and the picture quality totally exceeded all expectations. The setup and fine tuning was a breeze and it was up and running in about 30 minutes. It has a better picture by a significant margin than any HDTV set of any size, or price owned by anyone I know. As with any HDTV, make sure you have a good quality signal to start with (I had mine tested by the cable company), your cable/sat box is updated, and make sure all of your connections and cables are high quality. A bad connector anywhere in the connection loop will kill your picture quality. Also, take the time to walk through the menus and fine tune the picture to your taste. Take the time to install it properly and you will be blown away. At twice the price it would be a bargain."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aurora, CO
Date:February 17, 2009

No Brainer Buy!

Pros: lots of bells and whistles, smooth motion function
Cons: it's so clear i feel guilty
Model Number: Vizio 55" XVT 1080p 120hz
"This purchase at 55", 5 HDMI inputs, 1080p, 120hz refresh rate, with many more bells and whistles that no other brand offers for this price, IS A NO BRAINER! The only problem I have had with this TV is trying to fit it in my car! It was a very simple set up and the picture is outstanding. I had to do some fine tuning with it, since it has so many picture options, but it is good to go. I popped in a Blu Ray movie and the picture was extremely crisp. This is the best deal on the market, GO FOR IT!"
Review 8 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:February 25, 2009

It's unbelievable how SMOOTH this is....

Pros: film motion feature, price, clarity crispness, 55''? wow
Cons: like the last guy said it doesnt make me coffee
Model Number: VF550XVT 55" LCD
"Because the 55'' was new to the market and all that, I had reservations. Man, once that HD signal ran thru the included HDMI cable in my living room, it was OVER. There is no turning back. It is so CRAZY how nice this tv is, man. VIZIO has my respect, no doubt. And at 55''??? The Film-like motion feature is so amazing, my wife keeps telling me, "What is that? How does it do that?" I just laugh! I literally laugh at her (not recommended to husbands, but it's just so crazy!). And all I can say to her is "UNBELIEVABLE"."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2009

Super Buy, Excellent Value

"It is definitely the best TV set for the price. My friend has 50 inch Panasonic Plasma he recently purchased and he is ready to take it back and get Vizio.
It will take some tweaking to adjust the picture to your liking, other then that, great quality.
HD channels do look great, haven't tried in full 1080p yet with Blu-Ray.
Get it before they are sold out. Costco rules!!!
"
Review 10 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:baltimore, md
Date:March 10, 2009

BUY IT without a doubt!

Pros: 5 hdmi ports, 120hz at the same cost of 60hz, phenominal picture, great price, remote control is sexy
Cons: there are none that i can think of
"I bought this few weeks ago from costco warehouse after hours of research online since it's my first bigscreen hdtv buy.
this tv rocks, Vizio has come a long way since it's been out.
i compared it with sony 52 inch, samsung, as well as sharp.
it has the best picture with 120hz technology and we'd be paying around $800 more to any other brand for this technology and it's 3 inch bigger than the other leading brand names.
JUST DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND BUY THIS TV WITH YOUR EYES CLOSED BECAUSE I ALREADY DID A LOT OF RESEARCH FOR YA!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Germantown TN
Date:March 12, 2009

Vizio has it right!

Pros: great picture great price
Cons: large but to be expected for 55" set!!
Model Number: Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
"Vizio has come a long way with the quality of their TV's; and price is certainly spot on! Based upon research off the net, they are the fastest growing TV producer in the US. With online research and Costco extended warranty coverage, I purchased the Vizio 55" LCD set; What a wonderful picture! My wife made the comment that when watching a BluRay movie, it left the impression that you were immersed in the action; buy the set, you will not be disappointed!"
Review 12 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Provo, UT
Date:March 24, 2009

Great HDTV

Pros: beautiful picture (requires some calibrating)
Cons: really no cons
Model Number: Vizio 55" XVT 1080p 120hz
"I have scrutinized many choices, ranging from Plasma, DLP, to LCD. I had three criteria: 1) Large Viewing Area (greater than 50"), 2) Great Picture Quality, and 3) Perceived Value. While I did not have a fixed price range, I ultimately limited my search to sets below $4000--as I felt the perceived value was not present in sets above this price marker.
I actually purchased a Mitsubishi DLP (73835) set, but wasn't enthralled by the limited lighting environment in which it could be viewed; although, the shear size of a 73" screen was outstanding. I was retiscent to try the LCD sets as I wanted a larger viewing area than the prevalent 52" sets. I avoided the 65" Aquos LCD, as I found the picture quality lacking, due to over-saturated colors and skin tones--even after adjustment.
I ultimately decided to try the new 55" Vizio (took some persuading) feeling in my heart that I wouldn't be satisfied. That apprehension ended quite quickly as I spent a few minutes calibrating the picture. The image is amazing, once you turn off some of the bells and whistle which contribute to more of a soap opera-like look and feel. After I had defeated those settings, I was sold.
Truth be told, I would gladly spend twice as much for a 65" of this quality. The 120Hz truly shines, especially while watching March Madness.
Vizio has truly taken a step forward.
Just my two cents, as I thought I owed a recommendation after relying on the recommendations of so many others."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san jose ca
Date:March 31, 2009

Better than Sony I have

"I have a Sony and this is better that. I had a Vizio 47" at work which is good but this one has way better quality. The sound is good too."
Review 14 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Date:April 2, 2009

Amazing Quality

Pros: out of this world quality for your $$
Cons: none so far
"This is one truly amazing HD TV. The picture quality is - right out of the box - stunning and spot one. I adjusted it minimally, and am extremely happy with it.
The sound is for my smaller room, more than sufficient. I have yet to turn it more than 40% for really loud and powerful sound - yet no crackles or other sound issues,
The amount of connectors on this TV is simply enormous. I just tried hooking up my laptop - and it is simply perfect.
I can highly recommend this TV - you will not be disappointed, and with CostCo's premium service, you have nothing to loose."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 13, 2009

Great TV at a super price

"This TV is excellent, blows away the HD DLP rear projection we had. I normally read a lot of reviews and don't write them however the quality of the picture on this TV compelled me to write something.
The colors pop off the screen and the size is perfect for my room. The motion smoothing makes high def content look amazingly lifelike, almost too good in fact.
Connections are well laid out and easy to access. Setup was super simple. The remote looks decent, much better than my Vizio 42" plasma although I will end up using my Harmony anyway.
Only complaint is the stand is a little tweaked so the TV isn't quite level left to right. I am sure I can adjust it though.
My advice, for this price go snap this thing up!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:April 14, 2009

Pretty Good

Pros: good price, easy setup
Cons: sound sometimes is weirt, would like to remove unused inputs from menu
Model Number: Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
"Everything has been very good on this TV returned a Sharp Aquos that had a few problems. Picture has been good."
Review 17 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago Area
Date:April 14, 2009

Better than I could have imagined

Pros: easy to fine tune
Cons: none i can see
"I researched this purchase to a fault. Had my heart set on a 52" Samsung, but went with the 55" Vizio. No regrets, better than expected. Glad I got the 55", it is quite a bit more picture than the 52". Had to answer to the wife for getting a larger TV than agreed to, but...she loves this Vizio too."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:June 17, 2009

Good purchase

Pros: picture depth/quality, no glare
Cons: minor pixeling
Model Number: Vizio 55"1080 LCD
"I did alot of research on this size 55+. This is by far the best you can get for the money. Great picture, sound is ok. Minor pixeling with some movies. Still a good purchase..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:June 21, 2009

Right about everything but exterior design.

Pros: size, price, 5 hdmi, 120m hz
Cons: shining frame, speaker design
Model Number: VP550XVT1A
"This TV has everything correct (good sound, video, 120HZ, large screen, 5 HDMI, price etc) but I really dislike its exterior design. I put this TV in a family room facing two windows with shades. The shiny, beveled, black plastic frame reflects light and makes a shining frame around the TV that is really distracting. The speaker, although producing good sound, does not fit in with the TV at all. I am debating whether or not I should return the TV to the store."
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vizio 55" 120Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Home of the Cowboys, Arlington Texas
Date:June 25, 2009

Outstanding Value

Pros: great picture, great price, great value, thanks for the hdmi cable, tweaker's paradise
Cons: an upgrade sound would help
Model Number: VF550XVT1A
"Now I know techno-philes will deeply analyze one thing or another. I will say this, as my first Vizio, captivated me from the moment I saw it. It has all bells and whistles, but it simply seemed to dominate the displayed sets, even when in the middle, surrounded by eye candy. Save yourself the agony and enjoy the approving nods of your friends when they finally snap out of their HDTV trance. Extra year warranty, liberal return back by Costco, where can you go wrong? Maybe by ignoring the value and price, and trying to console yourself when you pass on 55 inches of the best picture this side of heaven. I bet even Billy Mays would quite down a decible or two when there is no snake-oil involved."
1 2 next>>