Customer Reviews for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Contrast Ratio: 1200:1 Response Time: 5ms
Average Customer Rating:
2.846 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
6 of 13(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Review 1 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:November 22, 2009

No regrets

Pros: price, speedy shipping, easy set-up
Cons: annoying on/off light
Model Number: 32LB30Q
"First and foremost, for the price and the extra 2 years on the warranty ala Costco, I can't complain. Sure, my "wish list" includes more connectivity options, I wish the annoying blue when on and red when off light were an option (I've since used a tiny circle of electrical tape and all is fine) and I wish the control panel wasn't on the side of the unit and maybe, just maybe I had opted for 1080 - but I'd have to double the price to 'enjoy' those 'perks'.
Shipping was speedy - I had my TV, sans any damage, in something like 6 days. The base of the unit feels a bit "plasticy", but it's really quite sturdy. Set-up was fairly straightforward, although I continue to tinker with the various screen modes as one selection chops off the top of heads, another selection allows me to see only a portion (sorta like a window box) of the program and another selection seems to make everyone look like they are related to Gumby.
The sound gave me pause for the first couple of weeks - so much so that I spent a great deal of time and effort hooking this TV up to a stereo/speakers so as to bypass the sound woes - most of which were nothing short of a "rattle" and/or a constant "hum" during monologues.....until I started moving the unit around a bit and finally found that it was rather picky about how it sits/faces - although the armoire it sits upon seems quite level, I can only surmise something wasn't quite "level" for the sound - once I found the sweet spot, the sound has been fine, nary a buzz nor a hum regardless of what's being broadcast. I plan to mount this unit to the wall and I'm expecting (fingers crossed) the sound issue stays a nonissue.
The picture clarity doesn't rival that of my beloved Sony Trinitron, but then I didn't spend 1/4th what I spent on it for this unit, thus the colors and clarity are just fine for me :)
I use this unit in my master bedroom and it's just large enough that I don't have to wear my distance glasses to read subtitles (the TV sits about 12 feet from the head of my bed), a bonus for me.
The remote is fairly generic - not backlit, but trouble-free thus far. I haven't had much success configuring my universal remote with this unit, but I haven't made a huge effort yet either. All in all, for the price and purpose, an excellent purchase."
Review 2 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:indianapolis
Date:February 8, 2009

good choice

"Purchased as a 2nd TV for my extra room, excellent picture for the price.
Easy to set up and use. I have regular satellite, no HD channels, picture looks great,
will be connecting an antenna in the near future to view local channels in HD"
Review 3 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roswell Ga
Date:February 8, 2009

Good picture - Great value

Model Number: 381884
"This TV has a good picture, ample inputs and is easy to set up and use. It is definitely a great value."
Review 4 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2009

worst tv ever

"will return this TV tomorrow. constant hum from elecrical interferance or general low quality. definitely avoid this, even at the low price."
Review 5 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:February 5, 2009

Took Mine Back

"I ordered this TV online last week and took it back after 6 days. Once the TV warms up, it starts to buzz. The only way not to hear the buzz is to turn up the volume very loud. Also, our remote never worked on the first input. Sometimes it took three times for the numbers to register. Then there would be a very long delay for the channels to switch."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Buena Park, CA
Date:February 4, 2009

Worst TV

Model Number: 32LB30Q
"Bought this 32" Proscan TV last week. Simple hook-up and remote did not work. Had Proscan send me another remote and still did not work. Returning the TV this week."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:February 2, 2009

is that a hum or a rumble

Pros: good picture
Cons: terrible sound, lengthy remote delay
Model Number: Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
"Very disappointing experience. At low volumes the TV's rumbling hum is unbearable. It makes a droning sound that we could not tolerate. The reviews on this TV are low for a reason. The delay on the remote left me wondering if the actions I was requesting were even connecting with the TV. Despite everything else, the picture was fine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2009

Great my Proscan TV

"This is one amazing TV for the price.
After connecting with my Blu-Ray Player with HDMI, the quality of audio and video was very crispy and clear .
I love my new TV.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:February 2, 2009

Spend your money on something else

"The TV is not horrible, but I would recommend finding something else. I had trouble with the sound, humming and buzzing noises. Seems like a common complaint. My unit came with a cracked case. Buttons on unit feel cheap. Remote is giant, awkward to hold, and feels like cheap plastic that will never last. Bright blue light on front of unit is distracting. Picture is decent. Not horrible but I found a 32" Sylvania in the Costco warehouse for the same price. Much better tv...."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Westchester,NY
Date:January 30, 2009

Proscan 32"

Pros: ok picture
Cons: remote control, tuner, menus, quality
Model Number: Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
"Just received one of these this week. Total disappointment. The sound hums, and the case buzzes as certain frequencies. The tuner is slow to bring up the next station, and the remote control chinsy. The picture is not bad, but this is going back to Costco as soon as a I get a chance to return it."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orem, Utah
Date:January 29, 2009

Buyer Beware

Model Number: 32LC30Q
"I purchased this TV online. When it arrived it was DOA. I should have followed my instincts and purchased a name brand television. Thank goodness for the 90 return policy."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2009

Great buy on a TV

"Nice picture for the price. easy set up wtih great color and definition. love my new tv and will consider a pro scan for my next purchase."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise
Date:January 21, 2009
"Great Picture at an awesome price!"