Customer Reviews for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress

Average Customer Rating:
3.883 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
(out of 120 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (120 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
16
88 of 120(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Review 1 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:August 25, 2010

Best mattress I have purchased but.....

"I am not sure if I should recommend this product to others. I loved this mattress. When i first bought it, my sleep quality actually did improve (just like they say in some other commercials....) and I woke up with no back pain and so much more fresher. But within three years the mattress started to sag in the center and did not hold it's form. I had to sleep as close to the side as possible, since if I slept in the center my back would not lie flat. My back started to hurt really bad when I woke up. Novaform had become Nomoform. Thanks to Costco's return policy, I was able to return this mattress without any issues. Just called the customer service and they helped me with the returns even though the product was more then two years old. This mattress did get me used to the memory foam mattresses and I am not sure if I can go back to sleeping on a regular mattress anymore.....I am still hunting for a good mattress now."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:June 20, 2009

Great Mattress

Pros: no back pain, sleep like a baby
"We had a memory foam topper on our old mattress and it was very soft, so I was initially surprised at how firm this mattress is. Because I have hips & a bum that stick out quite a ways I thought the mattress was too firm to be comfortable. Then I slept on it. As you lay there, the mattress conforms to your curves, while still giving good support. My back hasn't felt this good in years. On our old, worn out mattress I was waking up several times during the night & flopping around to try to get comfy, now once I'm out, that's it 'til morning. My old mattress pad was too thick to reap the benefits of the memory foam, which conforms as it responds to your body heat. I replaced my old mattress pad with a slim cotton allergen barrier cover, and that is working well. One of the other reviews said something about the mattress being hot. Well, I run hot and live in a very warm area of CA, and this mattress is quite cool. I wonder if that person might have an older one without the Nutratemp foam."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:September 16, 2009

Great Mattress, Great Price

"After 1 month of use:
I did a lot of research before getting this mattress. After going to a big mattress store and trying their brand, which was twice the price as this one, I decided to go with Costco. You just CANNOT beat Costco's return policy.
The mattress came in 3 days (wow). We unboxed it, cut the plastic, and watched this sucker inflate.
As other reviewers have stated, there is an odor. However, it was gone in less than a day. We put it on the bed and didn't sleep on it the first night, but by the second night we were comfortable that it had fully formed.
Man, I have never slept so well in my life. My wife and I loved the mattresses in Germany, and this one is similar. The mattress is, strangely, very soft yet very firm. My wife loves firm beds, and she loves this bed. I love soft beds, and I love this bed. Go figure.
In sum, you won't find a better deal. And if you don't like this one, take it back--it's Costco!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 10, 2011

Way to firm for us

Pros: great price looked good arrived fast easy setup, great return policy
Cons: way too firm, like sleeping on the floor, backache every night, does not live up to it's name
Model Number: Nova Form Pure Comfort
"I read all the reviews and compared products and I was really looking forward to owning a memory foam mattress and enjoying a blissful night of sleep. I couldn't wait to get my new mattress and it arrived in the time promised. It was a breeze to setup there was no smell no sags we were able to sleep on it the first night. But the blissful sleep did not come, I was waking up in the middle of the night with terrible back pain. My husband prefers a firm bed and even he was having problems. But we thought we needed to get used to it and give it some time. A month later we're still not used to it. When I called Sleep Innovations they did tell me that this is the firmest model they have. Thankfully I can return it and I've ordered the upgraded one hopefully not as firm. Now waiting for my new mattress. If this one does not work maybe a memory foam mattress is not for me. Still searching for that blissful night. I'm so glad that Cosco has the return policy it does so I can do this till I find the perfect mattress for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Palm City, FL
Date:July 27, 2009

Just Ordered

Pros: customer service responsive
Model Number: NovaForm Pure Comfort
"My husband has a herniated disc in his lower back and in spite of the fact that our last mattress was very expensive, he still has increased morning pain. We thought maybe the Tempurpedic might help and had decided on the Rhapsody. I didn't realize Costco carried memory foam mattresses and after much research, we decided to try a NovaForm instead. From past experience, we knew that, unlike other companies, Costco's prices, customer service & return policy are unparalleled.
Thanks to everyone for their reviews. They were extremely helpful.
I was confused about which mattress to order so I e-mailed Sleep Science and got a very fast reply. This was their reply - it may help some of you still looking:
Below is a break down of our mattresses at Costco.com from firmest (1) to softest (7).
1. Our Pure Comfort Mattress will be our firmest and most supportive mattress. This 12” mattress consists of: 2.5” of NutraTemp™ memory foam as the top layer, 9.5” of premium base foam, and a smooth top cover. The Pure Comfort has a 20 year warranty.
2. Our Pure Comfort Deluxe mattress also has a 20 year warranty and will be firmer than the Pure Comfort Grand, but less firm than the Pure Comfort Mattress. We use 3" of NutraTemp™ memory followed by 9" of our conventional base foam. The Pure Comfort Deluxe mattress has a smooth top cover.
3. Our Pure Comfort Grand 12” Mattress consists of: 3” of NutraTemp™ memory foam as the top layer 2” of high resiliency foam for added comfort and support, and 7” of premium base foam. The cover is a Quilted European Box Top Mattress Cover with water and stain resistance. The Pure Comfort Grand has a 20 year warranty.
Closeouts below have a 30-day warranty after receipt of merchandise.
4. The Comfortluxe has 1.5" of NutraTemp™ foam, 1.5" of 6 lbs foam, 2" of a 5 lbs density foam, and 7" of conventional base foam.
5. The Novaform Elite is 3" of NutraTemp™ foam followed by 9" of conventional base foam. It comes with a thin white cover.
6. The Fresh Dreams has 1" NutraTemp™, 4" of 5lbs density foam and 7" of base foam. It is soft.
7. Our Grande Elegance is our top of the line mattress; however it will not be our firmest. The foam is polymer enriched, which is less likely to sag or make impressions. There is 1" of 4lb density Cool wave breathable memory foam, which amounts to less body heat retaining in the foam. Then there are 3" of 5lbs density foam followed by 1" high resiliency foam which makes this mattress so supportive. The Grande Elegance also has a quilted padded cover on top.
My husband needs a lot of support and weighs about 240 so we decided on the Pure Comfort. We are still a little concerned about the heat factor (since I live in South Florida) but we definately want to give it a try.
I will update this when we receive the product and get a chance to use it for awhile."
28 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 30, 2010

Pretty good but dont use a mattress pad with it.

"It is very comfortable. Its not too hot or cold. The foam is very comfortable. We opened it around dinner time and slept on it the first night. At first we noticed it was quite firm. Almost too firm. We gave it some time to get used to it. By co-incidence, we removed the mattress pad that we put on it and what a difference. It was a whole new mattress. I may give it 5 stars. We're gonna give it some time just to make sure.
***Dont use a mattress pad under your sheets, it insulates your body heat from the mattress. This doesnt allow the foam to work properly. It feels like your sleeping on concrete and believe me, your back and neck will not feel good in the morning.*** If you have one of these mattresses and use a mattress pad, remove it and try it for a couple nights. It makes a difference."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, Ca
Date:March 25, 2012

Best sleep EVER!!!!

Pros: can't feel anyone get out of bed with you!, great support to sit up and watch tv, no more arms going to sleep before the rest of me!, no more shoulder pain, wake up without pain and fully rested
Cons: first night i did get hot but only the one night
"I haven't slept well in over 3 years as I recently had my neck fused and now am waiting to get my low back fused. I tossed and turned all night, going to different areas of my home to sleep every few hours. Have been wanting the expensive Foam beds but couldn't see spending the money. I saw this online at Costco and drove to my local Costco as I couldn't wait for delivery. So Very glad I did!!! I sleep all night long and no longer wake up tired and sore. I used to wake myself up everytime I turned or moved on my old mattress due to pain...not on this mattress! I have not woken up one night in pain and really can't believe this bed made this kind of difference in my life! It has made me feel so much better I may just be able to put off that back surgery even longer! If you are even considering a new mattress you should not buy anything until you try this product! I was concerned it would be too soft but it is like magic....is so soft but so firm/supportive at the same time and I am not a feather but I feel like one in this bed!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 27, 2010

Great at first - Sags within 2 years

Pros: fantastic for the first 18 month
Cons: it developed "the pit" within 2 years
Model Number: NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
"This mattress was very comfortable, cool in all seasons, supportive, and just generally very nice to crawl into at the end of the day. (Just look at all these great reviews and you'll notice they are all from new buyers)
That great feeling lasted for about 16-18 months before the mattress developed a deepening sag in the center. At this point I'm trying to sleep as close to the edge as possible to avoid falling into the center pit.
I only weigh 155 pounds and tried to sleep in various positions on this mattress (left, center, or right sides). I rotated this mattress once per month for the first 4 months, and then once every other month thereafter. In other words; intentional, even wear.
As soon as I find a replacement, this will be returned to Costco. I would not buy a novaform again."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 19, 2012

Great mattress

Model Number: NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Cal-King Mattress
"I've waited to do this review because of reviews that I read before the purchase, some good but some bad. With Costco's return policy, I purchased with confidence regarding any issues being resolved.
Infomation: I am 6'3 and 195 lbs., my partner is 6'1 & 180 lbs. He sleeps warmer than I do.
We have had the mattress since July '11 and are enjoying a great nights sleep. We like a firm mattress and these mattresses are firmer when cold and a bit softer when they warm up with body heat; if anything it could be a bit firmer once it's warmed up for our liking. We might try flipping it over to see how it is to sleep on the reverse side, apparently it has two sides. One with a memory foam topper, the other without.
There was no issue with it re-forming out of the box or issues with indentions that don't go away after sleeping on it; we will see how that is after a few years. It has a different "feel" than a spring mattress, smoother, and we like it. But we had been using a mattress topper for a few years already and were used to the "molding around the body" that memory foam does.
It has a 20 year warranty and if there are warranty problems the company will probably "pro-rate" it down to nothing; but I keep all my receipts in a file and will have no problem in 10 or more years hauling it back to Costco, or having them pick it up, if there is an issue. My feeling is, if you offer a "__" year warranty, you should honor it...period. If your product can't hold up for the number of years you "say" it's warranted for, be honest up front.
The only thing I would suggest is a note on the packaging stating "head or foot, up or down" so that before you slice into the packaging and the mattess starts unfolding, you can position it correctly.
Anyway, great product and would buy it again."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 27, 2009

A great buy!

Pros: great price for the value!
Cons: it comes only in white
"After breaking my head, much reading & visiting show rooms, I purchased this. It's a great buy (specially when purchased at the store... & no one could match the price for these inches of memory). This mattress is great: sturdy but not firm/hard; my tall/sturdy boyfriend, who enjoys firm mattresses, really likes it. Its hard to explain w/out using the traditional descriptions. It molds to the body where you need it (shoulders, buttocks, back), yet it returns to it's shape. The box fit in my car, it even had wheels resembling luggage, easy to set up, no funny smells, made in the US (actually in CA) & it was manufactured in March 2009! Where can you get that kind of newness! No foundation needed but to get that traditional look (mattress + box spring) at a local well known mattress store I bought just a box spring specifically used for the expensive memory foams which range in the thousands. This is perfect!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Schaumburg, IL
Date:November 16, 2010

Sleepless nights with this mattress!

Pros: great customer service from sleep innovations
Cons: very poor support for the body, causes back aches and neck pains
"I have been using this mattress from last 2.5 months and I am terribly disappointed with it. I used to wake up every 2 hrs each and every night that I slept on it. I dont have any back problems yet my lower and upper back as well as my neck hurt each morning. Even my sides hurt with sleeping on the sides. My husband has back problems and needless to say he also faced the same problems.
Then we thought maybe the mattress is too soft and so we flipped it over to the firmer side (this side is supposed to be the bottom side).....well the problems did not go away. With sleeping on the firmer side I dont wake up in the night but I have back and neck pains which lasts the whole day. I would have given this mattress 0 stars for the quality but the company has excellent customer service. The mattress that we bought from costco did not come to shape after opening it. it remained bent and undulated for 4 days. On contacting Sleep Innovations they promptly replaced it. But now I have to return this one too as I am unable to cope with this lingering pain everyday.
I dont know how this mattress has such great reviews...I bought it initially reading the rave reviews...but I surely am not one of happy customers.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2009

Great

Pros: comfortable, price is right
Cons: dont have enough time to sleep in it
"I've been sleeping on this mattress for 2 months now and its great. I choose the pure comfort because it is the firmest of the three. I didnt want to sink 12 inches in foam when i'm trying to sleep. I'm 6'3 230 and it fits me like a charm. I wouldnt waste your money on the novaform pillows though.
Yes i agree the mattress feels firm but let yourself sink in and your worries will go away. I was a skeptic at first because of the low price and i know that tempurpedic mattresses cost triple if not more. But from what I can tell this is a well made product.
There was a slight odor for a couple of days. I put a waterproof mattress pad on and have yet to get a whiff of foam odor.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:June 29, 2009

Great at first, bad later

Pros: great the first year
Cons: if you're over 190 i wouldn't recommend it
Model Number: NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
"I'm glad I didn't review this when I first got it because it would've been similar to all of the other reviewers. I LOVED this mattress for the first 6-12 months. Without exaggeration I looked forward to lying down on this bed.
The problem: Maybe I'm just too heavy for this mattress (230lbs I'm also well over 6 feet so the weight is distributed a bit), I didn't see any weight restrictions, but after sleeping on it for a while I noticed my side started to sag. It was initially pointed out by some friends that I was recommending the mattress too. One of them was on my side and one on the other side, the person on my side hated it because it "felt like I sunk way too far into it" the other person liked it.
I'm going to try and take it back to costco this weekend."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:January 12, 2010

pretty good-just depends on your back

Pros: still in good condition
Cons: may need a foam topper
"The bed I use to have was too soft after I had back surgery for a herniated disk. Then I decided to buy this bed becuase my sister had it and I noticed every time I layed on her bed it felt very comfortable. It's been almost 2 years and now the bed is starting to feel too hard for me, but I think that is becuase my back is not as bad as it use to be. I'm considering putting a foam topper on it becuase my sister also tried this and it worked. It also does pretty good with my husband's weight and I haven't noticed any sinking in the bed and my husband is 6 feet tall and weighs 220 pounds along with my weight of 150 pounds so I think the bed is pretty good."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 29, 2009

Not for Side Sleepers

Pros: cannot feel my 250+lb husband roll around, not a "hot" mattress. air circulation is good, no funky chemical smell when you open it up, packaging makes it easie rto get into the house
Cons: too firm for side sleepers
"I would say this is a good buy but not excellent. This is a very firm memory foam mattress. We had a softer mattress with a 4 inch memory foam topper that was destroyed in a flood so I am used to a softer mattress combo. This is definitely a better mattress than what we had (firmer) but the memory foam aspect isn't as strong - I think because it is so firm.
I shopped for mattresses at at least 3 different big name shops but none could come close to the Costco price on this baby. At one point I made the mistake of laying down on an incredibly expensive $8,000 mattress - never do that!!! You'll never want to get up :) This mattress is a phenomenal deal.
We've been sleeping on this mattress for 2 weeks now. I am currently in my third trimester of pregnancy and sleeping is generally uncomfortable. I do not find this mattress to be at all conducive for side sleepers because my shoulders don't meld in deep enough into the mattress. If I was on my back or stomach this would not be an issue but I'm stuck in my side for another few months.
My husband says that there is only one problem with this mattress: He's never wants to get out of bed!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2009

Don't expect long life comfort

Pros: very comfortable in the begining
Cons: didn't last as long as i hoped.
"We have a platform bed, with drawers, so can't accomodate the height of a full box spring and mattress set. We bought this mattress about 3 years ago, and it was very comfortable to start. After 3 years the support appears to have disappeared in the areas where I sleep. The mattress doesn't have an obvious sag when no weight applied, which is evidently a requirement for warranty, but the center still has some of the original support whereas the area I sleep on no longer retains any firmness and feels like I'm sleeping in a 4" trench creating back and shoulder aches. I probably got a little over 2 years of decent comfort with the 3rd year beginning to feel the breakdown. I was hoping for 5-7 years of use. I am going to step up in price and try the latex, but I don't hold out much hope for a long term mattress solution."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 6, 2009

Great Bed

"I a big guy, almost 300 pds. My lower back pain has gone away, and I am sleeping better.
I also like how the bed comes, in a box with wheels. Its easy to roll on the floor and very easy to take out of the box."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:March 22, 2009

Very comfortable!

Model Number: NovaForm Pure Comfort -Queen
"Shipping was very fast, 3 days instead of the 10-15 days stated when I ordered. The mattress came folded in a large box. It was a "W" shaped fold. It expanded immediately after we removed the plastic. The bed does smell a bit, but the manufacturer states that this is normal and will disappear quickly. The smell is sort of like wet paint, but not overpowering. There are no ridges or fold marks visible from the shipping. We've slept on the bed for 3 nights now and love it. I'm hoping that this product lasts for years. I was skeptical about ordering a mattress in a box, but with Costco's fabulous return policy, how could I go wrong?"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 21, 2011

Terrific Sleep, Great Value

Pros: comfort, price, ease of installation
Model Number: 383202
"We purchased this mattress after sleeping on a friend's top-of-line Tempurpedic (the orginal multi-thousand dollar one) on vacation. This value-priced version equals its more expensive counterpart. We experienced the opening odor only on the first night; after that it had dissipated. We have been sleeping on it for two weeks and now we HATE getting out of bed in the morning. We used to dread wake-up time with the aches and pains of our old mattress. Now: no discomfort, just pure sleeping bliss and we love waking up well-rested. Obviously, haven't had it long enough to experience some of the challenges the longer-term owners have expressed, but even if we only get a couple of years of use out of it, that's 730 nights of awesome sleep for less than a dollar a night, right? Goodbye overpriced mattress stores - we discovered NovaForm at Costco prices!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Huge Disappointment

Pros: thank god we bought this at costco so we can retur
Cons: great at first but breaks down over time, sleeps hot
"I read all the reviews on this site before I purchased this and most were positive so we went ahead and bought it, but we are taking it back. A couple things you should consider when you read the reviews. How long have the reviewers had the product, what type of foundation they used and if they are side, back or tummy sleepers. It's very hard to tell when you have as many glowing reviews as bad ones, but this is an honest review from people who have used the product for 2 years.
We purchased this mattress in 2010 and have had it for 2 years. We initially had it on top of the foundation from our old Cal King bed and noticed some uneven spots after a couple of months. We quickly replaced it with the wire foundation that Costco has which specifically states that it is great for memory foam beds. At this point I'm not sure which product is worse. The wire foundation was good for awhile, but after a year or so it really started to sag and squeak. Not at all a good product. We took that back to Costco a few months ago and replaced it with a platform bed with "bunky boards" that provide a flat even surface for the mattress. We hoped that would fix it, but it did not. I literally woke up crying the other day. I could not stand to sleep on it another night. I am a side sleeper and my husband is a back sleeper. It bothered me much more than him. Basically the mattress ended up with two ditches where we lay and a mound in the middle where it was still firm. The ditches are noticeable even when no one is laying in the bed. For me when sleeping on my side, my head and top part of my back stay in one place, but due to the sagging, my hips and lower back roll backward and I'm basically sleeping with my spine twisted all night. Not good.
I'm not sure if things would have been different if we started with a good support for the mattress. I tend to think not."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>