Customer Reviews for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset

New for 2009 100% North American Timber
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
43 of 45(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Review 1 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WV
Date:September 25, 2009

excellent

"Ordered this product on a tuesday - expecting 2-3 weeks for delivery to my new home. It was actually going to be delivered by the next monday, before I actually owned the house. Was able to move delivery back a few days, but was very impressed with how quickly it came. It is priced well below the Rainbow vendor price. Delivery company was helpful in getting it to a good spot on the property."
Review 2 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Oh
Date:August 6, 2009

Excellent playset

Pros: well crafted playset, very sturdy, great value for money, somewhat reconfigurable, great service from rainbow
Cons: quite involved and intensive to assemble, need basic power tools to assemble quickly
"This is a great play set. Took me 5 days to fully put it together. At times I needed a second person to help, other times the 2 C-clamps helped me get it done as a predominantly one person job.
Definitely need a good electric driver with the sockets to drive in all the lag bolts. Need a spare battery to alternate. I also used a second electric diver loaded with a drill bit for all drilling so I don't have keep switching the socket with the drill bit.
It is very well crafted play set and once put together and staked, it does not budge/ move or feel flimsy.
I was even able to reconfigure where the slide attaches with the rock wall. I also changed the orientation of the picnic table. I had to install it on a slightly sloping yard and used a few concrete blocks to level the playset.
The directions are very well written and the DVD is extremely useful. There were couple of missing/ warped pieces that were quickly replaced by calling Rainbow.
I am totally satisfied, so are my kids and wife.
"
Review 3 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2009

Excellent price and quality

"We had this set installed last week and love it. For the price you can't go wrong and the quality is excellent. We were thinking of spending $4000 but are glad we didn't. The only minor problem is the floors could use some extra support which I will do but that is it. Our boys and neighbors love it. They like the picnic table below to eat and play on as well.
You won't be sorry if you buy it! Received it within 7 days.
"
Review 4 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Weston, CT
Date:July 14, 2009

Great Playset

Pros: great set for the money, thought instructions were thorough
Cons: a lot of pieces, prepare to give up at lease one day for setup
"Best play set for the price! Looked at a lot of places and ended up choosing this one. Was a little intimidated by the construction and number of steps (37) but followed the suggestions listed on the other reviews and completed it in 8 hours of actual build time - probably had about 4 hours of prep and staging. Highly suggest you watch DVD & read instructions and other reviews. Make sure to separate the hardware (tons of it) for each step & also do the same with the lumber. Set comes with a nice large guide for each steps parts. I had a neighbor help for most of it but mostly in a support capacity. Make sure you have all the right tools as well. Buy an impact drill or rent one - it will save you tons of time and effort. Have at least 2 wood clamps, 3 cordless drills (impact, drilling pilot holes, driving in screws), 2 tape measurers and the other items recommended on the DVD. Pre-Assemble the Rock Wall, Ladder and Roof Fans to save time on the actual build. Kids absolutely love it and I had fun building it! Take the time in the beginning setting up the steps though!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 8, 2009

Worth Every Cent!!

Model Number: 2009 double decker
"My husband and I put this together over 2 days (21 hrs) total. He did all physical work, i seperated hardware etc.. He said this is built better than our house. My 8 yr. old can stand up in the fort. We are so impressed with the quality. our 3 kids will love this set for many yrs to come. We searched for 2 weeks, even went to the rainbow showroom, almost spent 3,000. on a set, so glad we didn't. This is way worth the money. Best quality for the price. it does'nt even budge when all 3 are swinging at the same time... LOVE IT!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:July 5, 2009

Great Quality Play Set

Pros: great quality great instructions and video
Cons: kept running out of beer before i finished it.
"I just finished putting together this play set and I could not be happier with it. Great quality, very sturdy, should last for years. I put this set together myself over a period of several days. I am far from a contractor or anything like that, just an average guy with average abilities. I took my sweet time, watched each step on the video and then went outside using the manual to complete each step, no problem. Take special care during the first few steps in assembling the main structure making sure it is square. If it is not square you will have a lot of issues with things not lining uplater. I highly recommend you take time to inventory and mark each part before you start. Will save you a ton of time later. Also this gives you a chance to inventory everything and if anything is damaged or missing you can order parts from Rainbow and have them when you are ready rather than finding them missing halfway through the project and having to wait a week for the part to arrive. I had no missing pieces which is amazing because there are a million pieces. I did have one broken wood part but called Rainbow and they sent me a replacement no questions asked. So, even if you are an average Joe, don't pay some one else $500 to put this thing together, do it yourself. If I can do it anybody can!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:June 16, 2009

Fun Filled Days Ahead for Summer!

Pros: great price for quality of set
"We purchased this set for our 6 year old daughter. Now all we have to do is sit back and enjoy the summer. We had a professional install the set. The set is really sturdy and well made. Great purchase, wondering why we didn't purchase it earlier!"
Review 8 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim Hills, CA
Date:June 3, 2009

Worth the money and the effort!

Pros: 2 decks picnic table solid product
Cons: a lot of work but worth it
"This playset is a great purchase and has already paid off significantly because it's the first thing the kids (ages 3 and 5) run to when they come home from school each day. It took my husband and me 2 full days (about 9 hours each day) to build it, with a few extra hours sprinked throughout the week for finishing touches. My husband did all the building himself, and I organized the wood and hardware for him before he got to each step of the instructions (there's about 37 steps). If I had to criticize something, it's that the finish on the wood is uneven in spots and the the floor of each deck would feel sturdier with 2x4s. That being said, we are extremely happy with our purchase and highly recommend both the playset and the rubber mulch that Costco also sells to go on the ground around the playset. The rubber mulch transformed the area of our backyard with the playset into a professional-looking park and added a lot of aesthetic appeal."
Review 9 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Haymarket, VA
Date:June 1, 2009

Love it!

Pros: price, quality
Cons: the next project
"Sort the pieces beforehand, have the proper tools, enlist the help of a friend and you can't go wrong with this. The kids love it. Took one day to assemble. I'd do it again."
Review 10 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:June 1, 2009

nice playset

Pros: sturdy, fun
Cons: a lot of work
"we put this set together on one weekend, it will take about half a day sorting the wood and hardware- we labled everything and sorted it by steps, then we had friends over to help us and we were able to put it together on one weekend with 2 guys and 2 wifes ( mostly chasing around the toddlers).
You will need a long drill bit and renting or buying an imact gun seems like a good idea in retrospect ( we didn't use one but had plenty or ratchets on hand- there are a LOT of bolts)- the wood clamps were a life safer too...
Other than that pretty much anybody would be able to assemble this set with a little patience and time - the instructions are pretty helpful and the DVD helps too.
The quality of the wood is good - way better than those cheaper playsets with thicker boards and the finished product is VERY sturdy- we had a teenager swinging as high as she could and the set did not move one bit.
Our son loves it and the set provides plenty of shade too - good product !
"
Review 11 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beaver Falls, PA
Date:June 1, 2009

Great Product

Pros: sturdy easy to follow video
"Took me 18 hours to assemble for the most part by myself. The instructions could be confusing at times, but watching the video was the best for me. I pretty much assembled the whole set by following along. Seems very sturdy, some of the pieces for the rock wall were cracked and will have to call and request new ones. My 2 1/2 year old loves it. I would recommend this to anyone."
Review 12 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco east bay, CA
Date:May 31, 2009

My son loves it

Pros: great quality for the price., it appears to be a very doable project for 2-3 ppl
Cons: can't get my son off of the thing., local delivery cost $130 assembly approx. $500
Model Number: All American Double Decker
"We purchased this from Costco and had it delivered and assembled after reading the reviews here about needing 2-3 adults and several days.
The 2 assemblers had it up in about 5 hours and aside from missing a couple of screws on the side safety rails they did a great job.
It is very sturdy and will support my weight as well as my 50 pound son. I may end up beefing up the floor supports, but it seems very well built."
Review 13 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:May 29, 2009

Great set for the money

Pros: great set for the money.
Cons: they don't tell you which box to find the wood.
"This is a good set for the money. Quality is good, but it will take you a while to assemble. I put in about 16 hours during the past week doing it almost all by myself. But the kids love it! Yes, you can spend more money on higher-end systems but unless you plan on having this for more than 10 years I wouldn't worry. The most time consuming part is sorting the wood. They tell you which bags to find the hardware, but not which boxes the wood pieces come in and that was a bit of a pain (5-stars if they had). I assembled a similar one about 5 years ago at my previous house and I think the quality is the same or even better over the years."
Review 14 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:May 25, 2009

Great Playset!!!

Pros: great price, very sturdy, instructions were easy to follow
Cons: no cons at all
"This playset is built to last!!! It took two of us just about two days to put it up. Make sure you have an Electric Impact Gun, it will save you so much time!!! We marked all the wood with tape and put the hardware in marked baggies. I would suggest to mark all your stuff first. The directions were not hard to follow at all. I think they packed it great too! how else would you pack a million pieces for a playset. I thought about paying $500 to have it installed, I am so glad I didn't pay that amount. After leveling it off it was a lot of fun to build!!!!!! I had all the parts and didn't have to get any replacements. I would recommend this product to anyone. I have the neighbor kids knocking at the door as soon as we finished. Love this playset!!!"
Review 15 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MINNESOTA
Date:May 22, 2009

VERY DISAPPOINTED

"I PURCHASED THIS SET AT MY LOCAL COSTCO AND THEY HAVE IT BUILT AND PLACED ON A LARGE PALLET RACK. I COULD NOT GET CLOSE ENOUGH TO THOROUGHLY INSPECT THE SET. WHEN I GOT IT TO MY HOUSE AND STARTED TO BUILD IT, NUMEROUS PARTS HAD NO LABELS AND A TON OF HARDWARE. THE STAIN WAS LITERALLY RUBBING OFF ON MY HAND AS WE WERE PUTTING IT TOGETHER. I WAS SHOCKED AT HOW THIN AND BRITTLE THE WOOD WAS. I HAVE A 2 YEAR OLD NOW, AND I CANNOT IMAGINE THIS LASTING HIM TILL HE IS 4. I DEFINITELY LET PRICE STEER ME INTO BUYING THIS. I NOW WISH I HAD GONE TO A BONAFIDE SWINGSET STORE AND TALKED TO SOMEONE WHO COULD HAVE TOLD ME THIS. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stillwater, MN
Date:May 19, 2009

Great Product for the price

"For the price point, this is a great purchase. Beware though, installation is very tedious. I hired it out for $500, and it took 2 guys 12 hours to do it, and they both used to install for Rainbow. But most importantly, my 2 year old already loves it!"
Review 17 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:May 14, 2009

Well built!!

"Wow...after reading reviews I was worried we would have troubles assembling the double decker. Not the case!! Yes, there are a ba-gillion pieces, and there are 30+ steps to putting it together, and the wood pieces are not marked. But use a tape measure, pull out all necessary pieces for each step, read the instructions thoroughly and you will have no problems. 2 drills, one with a phillips bit and one with a socket, are a must. If you use one dril and have to continually switch from the bit to the socket and back and forth, assembly will take twice as long. My husband and I have worked on it 6 hours yesterday, and 6 hours today...plus running after 2 toddlers in the meantime, and we have the double decker forts all up...just the swing beam left. And this set is STURDY...WOW. Being a box kit, I was wondering about how sturdy it would or wouldn't be. There is NO give at all when you push on it. I have no worries that it will not hold up to the 4-6 kids we would have playing on it at one time. DH is 270 pounds and I am 160...we were both up there at one time putting the roofs on and there was no give at all. I'm just hoping the swing beam is just as sturdy as the forts...which I'm sure it will be. When we get moved out to the country in a couple years we will definitely buy another rainbow!"
Review 18 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:May 14, 2009

This is a great Playset!

Pros: great playset great value and good instructions
Cons: packaging and labeling
"This set is great -definitely a 5 star Playset and a 5 star value. That said, I gave it 4 stars due to the packaging.
I highly recommend, as others have, organizing all of the hardware and labeling the wood (we had to have 4 split pieces replaced by rainbow -which was actually a breeze). We watched the video twice, pre-built the ladder, rock-wall, and other pieces; so when building day came we got it done in 12 hours with 2 guys.
The prep time saved us hours; and the kids absolutely love it!"
Review 19 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 14, 2009

Great Product. Kiddos love it.

Cons: hardware needs to be packaged better
"1. Use a high impact drill for socketing bolts. Saves a ton of time.
2. Pre-sort all wood and hardware as other posters have recommended. We labeled Ziplock bags and put the hardware in them for easy access. Stacked wood and labeled with tape.
Plan on an hour or two to organize. It took my husband and his friend, both are fairly handy, about 8 hours to assemble."
Review 20 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:May 10, 2009

We love it!

"We are so excited to be done putting this beast together. I would recommend it to anyone. We labeled all of the hardware and all of the wood in about 2 hours. My husband and I then built the frame in about 2 evenings. When it was GO time, meaning friends who volunteered to help were set to come over on a Saturday, we simply put the bags of hardware in numerical order on a camping table by the set. In the garage were the boards, all labeled. We had one person stay ahead reading directions and 2 people building. It went so smooth. If we had questions, we used my son's portable DVD player and went to the step in question. Two recommendations: get 6" vices to secure boards when drilling and watch the first couple of steps. It's imperative to offset the boards so you don't drill all bolts into the same place on the beams."
1 2 3 next>>