Customer Reviews for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset

New for 2009 100% North American Timber
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
43 of 45(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Review 1 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Oh
Date:August 6, 2009

Excellent playset

Pros: well crafted playset, very sturdy, great value for money, somewhat reconfigurable, great service from rainbow
Cons: quite involved and intensive to assemble, need basic power tools to assemble quickly
"This is a great play set. Took me 5 days to fully put it together. At times I needed a second person to help, other times the 2 C-clamps helped me get it done as a predominantly one person job.
Definitely need a good electric driver with the sockets to drive in all the lag bolts. Need a spare battery to alternate. I also used a second electric diver loaded with a drill bit for all drilling so I don't have keep switching the socket with the drill bit.
It is very well crafted play set and once put together and staked, it does not budge/ move or feel flimsy.
I was even able to reconfigure where the slide attaches with the rock wall. I also changed the orientation of the picnic table. I had to install it on a slightly sloping yard and used a few concrete blocks to level the playset.
The directions are very well written and the DVD is extremely useful. There were couple of missing/ warped pieces that were quickly replaced by calling Rainbow.
I am totally satisfied, so are my kids and wife.
"
Review 2 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Weston, CT
Date:July 14, 2009

Great Playset

Pros: great set for the money, thought instructions were thorough
Cons: a lot of pieces, prepare to give up at lease one day for setup
"Best play set for the price! Looked at a lot of places and ended up choosing this one. Was a little intimidated by the construction and number of steps (37) but followed the suggestions listed on the other reviews and completed it in 8 hours of actual build time - probably had about 4 hours of prep and staging. Highly suggest you watch DVD & read instructions and other reviews. Make sure to separate the hardware (tons of it) for each step & also do the same with the lumber. Set comes with a nice large guide for each steps parts. I had a neighbor help for most of it but mostly in a support capacity. Make sure you have all the right tools as well. Buy an impact drill or rent one - it will save you tons of time and effort. Have at least 2 wood clamps, 3 cordless drills (impact, drilling pilot holes, driving in screws), 2 tape measurers and the other items recommended on the DVD. Pre-Assemble the Rock Wall, Ladder and Roof Fans to save time on the actual build. Kids absolutely love it and I had fun building it! Take the time in the beginning setting up the steps though!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:June 1, 2009

nice playset

Pros: sturdy, fun
Cons: a lot of work
"we put this set together on one weekend, it will take about half a day sorting the wood and hardware- we labled everything and sorted it by steps, then we had friends over to help us and we were able to put it together on one weekend with 2 guys and 2 wifes ( mostly chasing around the toddlers).
You will need a long drill bit and renting or buying an imact gun seems like a good idea in retrospect ( we didn't use one but had plenty or ratchets on hand- there are a LOT of bolts)- the wood clamps were a life safer too...
Other than that pretty much anybody would be able to assemble this set with a little patience and time - the instructions are pretty helpful and the DVD helps too.
The quality of the wood is good - way better than those cheaper playsets with thicker boards and the finished product is VERY sturdy- we had a teenager swinging as high as she could and the set did not move one bit.
Our son loves it and the set provides plenty of shade too - good product !
"
Review 4 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 25, 2008

quality playset

"We bought this for our daughters 3rd birthday. She loves it and all the neighbor kids do too! And as the saying goes you get what you pay for... my friends have purchased less expensive playsets and the quality is sub-par. This set however far exceeds my expectations. You can just tell it's of high quality. Yes, it took forever to assemble but in the long run it's well worth it. We were considering buying a set from a local Rainbow store were they do the assembly for you but these sets are approx $1000 to $1500 more for the same features."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:October 28, 2008

Great swingset - especially for the price

"We looked at several swingsets before we purchased the Sunray playground in the spring 2008. It was somewhat difficult to put together, but that was more due to the fact that we were installing it on unlevel ground and worked to make it perfectly vertical. Overall, the instructions were clear and the parts marked well. Our daughter was ~18 mos old when we got her this and she's now grown into most of the activities. She constantly wants to play outside. We definitely consider it a great purchase.
We have noticed the wood on other older sunray swingsets in our neighborhood is starting to wear from rain/sun/etc., so we chose to apply an additional sealant, which has left ours looking beautiful.
Highly recommend this product."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim Hills, CA
Date:June 3, 2009

Worth the money and the effort!

Pros: 2 decks picnic table solid product
Cons: a lot of work but worth it
"This playset is a great purchase and has already paid off significantly because it's the first thing the kids (ages 3 and 5) run to when they come home from school each day. It took my husband and me 2 full days (about 9 hours each day) to build it, with a few extra hours sprinked throughout the week for finishing touches. My husband did all the building himself, and I organized the wood and hardware for him before he got to each step of the instructions (there's about 37 steps). If I had to criticize something, it's that the finish on the wood is uneven in spots and the the floor of each deck would feel sturdier with 2x4s. That being said, we are extremely happy with our purchase and highly recommend both the playset and the rubber mulch that Costco also sells to go on the ground around the playset. The rubber mulch transformed the area of our backyard with the playset into a professional-looking park and added a lot of aesthetic appeal."
Review 7 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Valley, Ca
Date:November 7, 2008

Superior in every aspect

"We looked at a lot of play structures, and this one is by far the biggest and nicest one, especially for the money(shipping included in price). other ones this size were well over $3000 without shipping. the manual is overwelming at first. so just go one step at a time and follow them in order. we tried jumping around at first. it took 2 of us most of the day to put it together after sorting the pieces the night before. i highly reccomend the rubber bark offered in the "other items of interest" on the right side of the page. if and when we move, i will buy this again. A+ product as expected from Costco."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Olathe, KS
Date:April 8, 2009

Great, but not perfect

Pros: great price/value
Cons: some cracks out of box too much drilling, not modular warranty
"We made the mistake of purchasing a $400 wood set from a local "toy store" 6 years ago. It was getting to the point of being "unsafe" -- even after replacing several boards every year. Thus, we tore it down this Spring. Lesson learned -- should have paid more and bought a quality set originally. I'm currently in the process of putting this new Double Decker together. The instructions and hardware are great. It would be nice if all hole were pre-drilled. This set requires a lot of drilling. Some of the main boards have major cracks out of the box (will call for replacements) -- as did the store display. I don't believe this to be of the same wood/quality of the real "Rainbow" sets. This is obvious of the warranty and wood composition: "1/5 yr warranty" vs. "Lifetime", "Whitewood" vs. "NA Redwood & Cedar". According to the instructions, this set is not modular -- nor are you supposed to modify it in any way -- unlike real "Rainbow" sets. We would have liked to purchase a tire swing instead of the useless trapeze arms. Still, this set is of tremendous value, and I'm sure it will provide years of fun for our children. For the same price, you can't get close to this set."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western, Massachusetts
Date:April 27, 2009

Good Deal for Decent Quality

Pros: price size options!
Cons: floorboards should be thicker., they realy should have the wooden parts labeled.
"I just got done putting two of these together. My friend and I each got one and figured we'd help each other build ours. The first time went fairly smoothly and we were very glad that we opened all the boxes and labeled all the wooden parts with their corresponding numbers. Figure on about an hour just to do that. Once you get going it's not too bad but you have to make sure to pay attention to details. First time took us 2 whole days. Second time a day and a half. An extra set of hands is very helpful for many steps.
Quality of wood is decent. We wished the floor boards were thicker but sturdy enough to hold two adults and many kids. Some boards have some warps and twists to them but still worked. Stain was poor on a few pieces but not too bad.
Price wise you get a lot for the money compared to other local places we looked at.
I hope the type of wood lasts but will just have to wait and see on that."
Review 10 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA and a 100 mile radius
Date:March 11, 2009

Great product for a great price!!

Pros: easy to assemble-for me anyway., good quality, 2 decks, sturdy slide
Cons: still wish they made 3/8" lags and not 5/16"
"The new Double Decker is a great product (swingset) that I will recommend to any of my customers. I have built 4 of these already and I can't complain about the quality. Plus, you can swap the swing beam to the left if you want."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:July 5, 2009

Great Quality Play Set

Pros: great quality great instructions and video
Cons: kept running out of beer before i finished it.
"I just finished putting together this play set and I could not be happier with it. Great quality, very sturdy, should last for years. I put this set together myself over a period of several days. I am far from a contractor or anything like that, just an average guy with average abilities. I took my sweet time, watched each step on the video and then went outside using the manual to complete each step, no problem. Take special care during the first few steps in assembling the main structure making sure it is square. If it is not square you will have a lot of issues with things not lining uplater. I highly recommend you take time to inventory and mark each part before you start. Will save you a ton of time later. Also this gives you a chance to inventory everything and if anything is damaged or missing you can order parts from Rainbow and have them when you are ready rather than finding them missing halfway through the project and having to wait a week for the part to arrive. I had no missing pieces which is amazing because there are a million pieces. I did have one broken wood part but called Rainbow and they sent me a replacement no questions asked. So, even if you are an average Joe, don't pay some one else $500 to put this thing together, do it yourself. If I can do it anybody can!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2009

Great Playset!

"This is a great playset for the money. It is a Rainbow Playset that when purchased through a Rainbow dealer would be much more expensive. It did take my husband who is very handy and has tons of tools 3 full days to put it together. Some of the pre-drilled holes were not the best and some of the wood was not perfect but I think that is to be expected. We would recommend having someone help you build it.
The shipping says it takes 2 to 3 weeks but once we ordered it we recieved the shipment in 5 days. I really love that it has a double fort (one has sandbox below and the other has a picnic table). The other really nice thing is that it has wood roofs on the forts. Many playsets have the fabric canopy's and after a while they look very worn. The wood roof is much better looking and helps keep the sun out well.
All in all my 3 year old son just loves it! Great buy!"
Review 13 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LaGrange, Ga
Date:October 27, 2008

Great purchase

Pros: all wood construction
"Grandparents bought this for our daughters, 6 and 3, and they love it. As the other reviewer noted, the assembly could have been easier. It took as much time to sort the pieces as it did to assemble them.
I would only change the spacing of the swings from the sides of the main set, for an added margin of safety. the roof is great, keeps out all but the hardest rain, allowing the kids to have a little private area. I do wish that some sort of mulch/rubber mulch/mats could be purchased along with the set to place around the unit. Kids absolutely love it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Paso, YX
Date:December 2, 2008

Excellent Swing Set

Pros: built to last!
"I bought this Swing set for my 3 yr old son, believe me my wife and I shopped around and compared prices. To tell you the truth this is not the cheapest we found but after further examing the display model, it seemed sturdier and built to last. I already have about a little less than a year and its still very sturdy and the paint still looks new. Make sure you plan ahead to arm (dont arm alone), have plenty of tools, an electric screw driver (preferably a drill for the sockets). It took me and 3 others 4 days to build (average 4 hours per day)!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 8, 2009

Worth Every Cent!!

Model Number: 2009 double decker
"My husband and I put this together over 2 days (21 hrs) total. He did all physical work, i seperated hardware etc.. He said this is built better than our house. My 8 yr. old can stand up in the fort. We are so impressed with the quality. our 3 kids will love this set for many yrs to come. We searched for 2 weeks, even went to the rainbow showroom, almost spent 3,000. on a set, so glad we didn't. This is way worth the money. Best quality for the price. it does'nt even budge when all 3 are swinging at the same time... LOVE IT!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:May 10, 2009

We love it!

"We are so excited to be done putting this beast together. I would recommend it to anyone. We labeled all of the hardware and all of the wood in about 2 hours. My husband and I then built the frame in about 2 evenings. When it was GO time, meaning friends who volunteered to help were set to come over on a Saturday, we simply put the bags of hardware in numerical order on a camping table by the set. In the garage were the boards, all labeled. We had one person stay ahead reading directions and 2 people building. It went so smooth. If we had questions, we used my son's portable DVD player and went to the step in question. Two recommendations: get 6" vices to secure boards when drilling and watch the first couple of steps. It's imperative to offset the boards so you don't drill all bolts into the same place on the beams."
Review 17 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:April 23, 2009

Bad Wood

Pros: good price - you get what you pay for
Cons: cheap wood
"Purchased the all-American set not knowing what type of wood and warranty was offered. Turns out the "North American timber" is a cheap whitewood, otherwise known as poplar. This is not a good exterior wood for the outdoors and certainly is not warrantied against bugs and termites (per Rainbow's customer service). Missing parts and warping out of the box is also a concern. Taking it back!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oak Lawn, IL
Date:January 12, 2009

Money well spent

Cons: was a challange to put together.
Model Number: Sunray Premium Playground 2008
"My husband is a very handy fella & this took him 3 days to put together & tried his patience! There's no doubt it's very sturdy & a good investment. Our daughter was 3.5 when we purchased this & she has gotten alot of use along with friends & family & kids up to 12 yrs old."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:May 25, 2009

Great Playset!!!

Pros: great price, very sturdy, instructions were easy to follow
Cons: no cons at all
"This playset is built to last!!! It took two of us just about two days to put it up. Make sure you have an Electric Impact Gun, it will save you so much time!!! We marked all the wood with tape and put the hardware in marked baggies. I would suggest to mark all your stuff first. The directions were not hard to follow at all. I think they packed it great too! how else would you pack a million pieces for a playset. I thought about paying $500 to have it installed, I am so glad I didn't pay that amount. After leveling it off it was a lot of fun to build!!!!!! I had all the parts and didn't have to get any replacements. I would recommend this product to anyone. I have the neighbor kids knocking at the door as soon as we finished. Love this playset!!!"
Review 20 for Rainbow All-American Double Decker Playset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eden Prairie, MN
Date:May 4, 2009

Very solid, great looking playset

Pros: great engineering, great directions
Cons: costco should add another instruction book, or just print your own.
Model Number: All-American Double Decker
"This playset is extremely solid. I'm not sure why people state that they should label all parts. All that would do is add cost and it's just as easy to measure. I layed all boards out on the lawn, sorted by size, then it was very easy to measure. I put all bolts and screws sorted on a large table and taped the sizing chart to the table so I could easily match it up. It was a lot of work but the instructions were excellent. I had two pretty handy friends help me out and we had it done in about 9 hours. Key tools were lots of 18V cordless drills and quick clamps.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good deal on a playset and is willing to put some sweat equity into it. It looks awesome and my daughter absolutely loves it."
1 2 3 next>>