Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue

6-cell battery Integrated Webcam Multi-in-1 Media Card Reader
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
13 of 20(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Review 1 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:February 26, 2009

Love and hate relationship

"Received the long anticipated netbook yesterday. Ordered it Thursday and received it on Wednesday, standard shipping. Bought the netbook because I wanted to lighten up on my travel computer bag: two 15-inch laptops, scanner, headphones, books, cables, USB port expander, etc. The bag is over 30 pounds. The netbook is so wonderfully light compared to the HP and IBM laptops.
My first day with the netbook:
1. Amazed by the beautiful crystal clear and sharp screen.
2. Wireless connected easily in a few seconds.
3. Took a long time for the Ethernet connection to establish. Watched the Ethernet properties with lots of send packets and zero received. Tried disable/enable card several times. Tried command prompts ipconfig release/renew. All failed and then I stepped away for lunch and came back and it was connected. Go figure.
4. Deleted McAfee...it was bothersome. Installed AVG Free and freebee Iobit Advanced SystemCare 3 for malware. Worked great.
5. Installed my Verizon broadband wireless app for airport work. Works great.
6. Installed magicjack for VoIP phone. Made calls from it all day. Worked flawlessly.
7. Played Netflix movies just perfectly. Watched one movie on it last night. Did not try to attach to external LCD.
8. Sound is tinny but acceptable, have not tried my ear buds on them yet.
9. Transferred all my required apps on CD and .exe files via thumbdrive. Worked great without a CD/DVD-ROM.
All worked perfectly but, and the main reason I am returning the netbook.....
The biggest problem I have is the trackpad bar...it is not responsive. Very frustration using it. Sometimes it works and sometimes it does not. I know it is my personal opinion. There is no feedback. After 8 hours of use I am going to return the netbook to Costco. The trackpad bar is too much frustration to live with especially when traveling. I read in other feedback about the trackpad bar and people said they learned to live with it. I thought I could also, hence I bought the netbook but unfortunately after a full day of use I realized that I was not that tolerant of the bar. The keyboard layout is great but not the trackpad bar.
If Acer fixes the trackpad bar (the standard two bars will be nice) the netbook will score a perfect 5 out of 5 and I would be happy to repurchase the laptop."
48 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frederick,MD
Date:April 4, 2009

Amazing Mini computer! And fast

Pros: price, 160gb hard drive, 1 gb ram upgradable to 2gb for like 25$, very clear bright screen, runs fast and smooth, windows xp is better than vista
Cons: none
Model Number: Netbook Atom N270
"Im an A+ certified technician and I was looking for something very small to just surf the net and instant message with when im out and have spare time. This thing is amazing. DEF worth the money and it runs great and has a 6 hour battery life and runs cool not hot on your lap. GREAT BUY"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Forward AO
Date:June 3, 2009

Notebook Lite

Pros: price, performance, battery life, lightweight, portability
Cons: none
Model Number: Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
"This is a very capable machine once you uninstall the preloaded junk programs. Speed becomes much improved. For websurfing,checking email or using MS Office it can't be beat for the price. I will do the 2gb ram upgrade just to give it a little more juice. Of course this is not a Quad core or Core 2 Duo processor but the Atom 1.6 is impressive for this application. So much easier to travel with versus the 17in really 20in wide 7 pounder with extended battery. I had to pay $15 to fly each way when I carried that on the plane.By the way that had a 2.5hr battery life vs the Acer Netbook I get 6hrs plus."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 25, 2009

Great for the $$$$$

Model Number: AspireOne 10"
"So far I can say I just love this computer. Have to get use to the smaller keyboard, but it is not as small as the 8.9 Acer. I purchased a wireless mouse because I prefer the mouse to the trackbar. Easy set up. Have used the wireless at two different locations with no problems. Can't wait to travel with it."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2009

Great laptop for the price

Pros: great battery life good wireless
Cons: screen & keyboard could be too small for some
Model Number: Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270
"This is a great little laptop for the price. We took it on a 3 week trip to Europe where it was needed for a conference and then digital photo storage. It worked beautifully, even the wireless detection.
I uninstalled the bloatware that Windows machines come with and added our preferred software using an external DVD drive & dowloads. The laptop recognized the external drive (as well as thumb drives & an extra card reader) with no problems. The battery life is excellent; we got nearly 6 hours of use on a long flight.
For the price, this is a great item. I'll be curious to see how long and well it holds up."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 15, 2009

Highly Satisfied

Pros: screen clarity and bright, small size makes it easily transportable, sound with headphones is awesome, costco's 2-year warranty
Cons: screen size too small for everyday work, keyboard may be problem for those with large hands
Model Number: KAV10
"Great purchase. Highly recommended.
I bought this netbook for my girlfriend, thinking it would be used just for email and web surfing. Well, with the addition of the external DVD drive (Costco sells one separately for it) and a 2 GB memory upgrade, this little jewel of a computer is great for watching movies, too (had to install separate DVD movie viewing software). Don't let its small size fool you as it is a very capable netbook. Now we don't have to buy a separate portable DVD player.
The first thing I did after taking it out of the box was to remove any pre-installed software I knew we would not use. I then backed up the hard drive to blank DVD disks.
After setting it up for proper configuration, it connected to my home WPA2 secured wireless "N" network without any problem. We have also used it to easily connect to other wireless networks when away from home.
Due to its small compact size, we are finding that we much prefer to take this one with us when traveling rather than hauling a full sized laptop around.
I personally would not use the Acer One as a primary laptop, as its size is just too small for me. However, if small size and portability rank high on you list as deciding factors, this netbook will not disappoint you. Enjoy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona/California
Date:March 14, 2009

A Very Good Computer

Pros: great color sound and general execution
Cons: has a sticky keys feature i would love to remove
Model Number: Acer Aspire One 10"
"This is my second try at a netbook and this one is a keeper. I first tried the 10" MSI and found it had poor sound and a primitive left and right clicker. The blue color is a big plus and it comes with Works as standard equipment. My plan is to use this on trips for email and photo cache. Acer is coming out with a red one and I know my wife would love one for herself. I hope Costco carries it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:miami, fl
Date:May 20, 2009

i like it

"works great for traveling or at bedside. Some slowing with video conferencing, wish it had a second RAM slot. It works a lot better and faster when you uninstall service pack 3."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jax, FL
Date:June 23, 2009

Very impressed

Pros: boots quickly., works like a champ.
"Just finished setting up, using, and creating a restore DVD for this is a great little computer. I opted for this smaller screen Aspire because I wanted a longer battery life versus the 12” model.
Inserting the battery required a little study because of it's shape but it just slides straight in.
The computer itself is small but the keyboard is not. I have no trouble using it. Some have complained about the touch pad but I had no trouble with that either; of course a mouse makes life much easier versus any touch pad computer. The Aspire boots (very) quickly and connected to my WiFi without issue.
Like most Windows computers, it came loaded with trial/junkware. I uninstalled all of it and added my own stuff until it was to my liking.
After having it on for a while it gets warm but by no means hot.
Finally I connected an external DVD drive and a USB thumb drive to make sure it saw them, it did. The Aspire One comes with a factory restore partition and a tool to make a DVD set of the hard drive to have in case the hard drive dies one day. I used a 3rd party app to image the drive after it was set-up. That's probably beyond the comfort zone of most readers so suffice it to say it can boot off the external drive if you wish to go that route to make a recovery DVD set.
A terrific little computer!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 27, 2009

Great Netbook

Pros: very well built, brite led backlet lcd screen., costco extended warranty
Cons: small touch pad, mouse button is a lttle stiff
"For the price it is a great netbook. it came with 6 cell battery that lasts up to 7 hours. and the 10 inch screen is easier on your eyes then the 8.9 inch model. Also the 10 inch model can upgrade ram and hard drive much easier then the old model. Overall a great netbook for the price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 27, 2009

Great Buy!

Pros: perfect for travel!
Cons: no cd/dvd optical drive
"I received the Acer Aspire One 10.1" on Feb25 and I can say that this netbook is truly impressive! Bright 10.1 screen, fan is really quiet, superb battery life (I got lucky with the 5800mAH!), mouse is better than the previous model and good-sized keyboard. Very light but powerpacked with 160 HDD! Such a great buy for its price!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:PA Dad
Date:August 5, 2009

Poor Service

Model Number: Atom N270
"I bought this computer for my daughter and instantly had an issue. I got great service through the Costco Concierge, but when it became apparent that the issue was major we had to go through Acer. The Acer rep was inept and spoke little English. I had the machine for 1 day and he insisted that I had to send it back to the manufacturer. I took it back to my local Costco store and got the HP. That one is working out well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, CA
Date:July 3, 2009

I got a bad one

Pros: it did connect to the internet well., concierge service and tech support were good
Cons: stiff mouse keys, keyboard failed after 2 months
Model Number: D150-1366
"The clicker key on the mouse pad on my computer was very stiff and hard to work. Then, after about two months of very little use, the tab and caps lock keys on the keyboard stopped working. I spent two hours with tech support and did a complete system restore, but the problem didn't go away. I think it's mechanical, and it doesn't speak well for the quality of the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009

best purchase ever

"really good laptop
prefect buy
i suggest you to buy it
just make sure to have a mous connected because the trackbar is hard to use....
i suggest you to buy it, it is very very very great!!!!!
i am happy with it. just remember there is no optical drive...
GREAT BUY
10/10"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:March 25, 2009

Nice comuter but awful trackpad

Pros: nice screen, good performance, nice looking, decent battery life
Cons: trackpad is unusable, battery sticks out, ships with a lot of junk installed
"We purchased the 8.9" Aspire One and returned it. The screen was just too small for us. 10" for netbooks seems just about right.
I like this computer but the trackpad is just unusable. I have attached an external mouse to do most of the work.
The computer is primarily for my wife and she doesn't want to carry around a mouse. So we will probably return this one as well.
That said, the performance is very good and the screen is nice. I just don't understand why they cut costs on the input device."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Junction City, OR
Date:June 30, 2009

Nice Unit

Pros: super quiet
Cons: shows fingerprints like nobody's business
Model Number: Acer Aspire One
"I bought both the Acer and a Dell Inspiron Mini to test (easier to test at the same time). I love this little Acer! It's so fun to use on the couch while watching TV and it's quiet as a mouse - hardly any fan noise at all. The only downside is that my particular netbook has a sticky space bar, so it will have to be returned (not fun to go back and add spaces in to sentences). I'm sure it's just a problem with this unit and not indicative of any other problems.
My CostCo warehouse now has an Acer Aspire 11.6", which I purchased yesterday. LOVING THAT ONE!!! All the pluses of the little Acer with a much larger screen and a full size keyboard. That's my keeper. I knew I would go with Acer, it was just a matter of which model."
Review 17 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:March 5, 2009

Mousepad and clickbar are horrible

Model Number: AOD150-1462
"I just got this netbook, and I thought that the mousepad and clickbar couldn't be that bad, but I was wrong. I tried playing a game of Soitaire, and it was nearly impossible to move the cards around with just one hand. Also, to perform a right or left mouse click, you have to push real hard on the bar as if you are pushing an an elevator button. Sorry, but it has to go back. I am going to wait for the Asus 1000HE to come out; the mousepad on it is supposed to be quite nice."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:July 27, 2009

Acer AOD150 Review

Model Number: Acer AOD150
"Nice unit. A bit hard on the eyes with its 10 inch screen. A bit hard to type on due to its small keyboard. Very light weight, excellent battery life. My unit is probably defective in that it will NOT "see" any secure wireless "G" networks. Only unsecure "B" networks. I brought it into work to verify this since I have 300+ wireless laptops at work to maiintain. The Acer is the only one that would not see my "G" network at work."
Review 19 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2009

Problems

Pros: small and easy to use
Cons: after a few days of use serious problems developed
Model Number: Computer already returned.
"Initially I liked this computer but after a few days I started to have problems. Screens kept opening & closing, the curser went flying around and finally the whole computer froze. When I returned it to Costco, the manager told me that they had been having lots of problems with this machine and I noticed that it was no longer in the warehouse."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Aspire One 10.1" Netbook Atom N270 1.6GHz 1GB DDR2 160GB HDD Windows XP Home Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:June 20, 2009

EXCELLENT !!!!!

Model Number: Acer Aspire One
"This is a great notebook. I have had zeio problems with it. I bought a hard drive to go with it ( portablea). It has been a lot of fun and adorable!! For this price....GREAT ! I use it more than my desktop."