Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

For maximum aroma and flavor retention nothing beats the Infinity Conical Burr Grinder series.  The Metal Die-Cast Housing makes the grinder quieter, has less friction and is twice as heavy then non-metal grinders.  Computer controlled special grinding heads cut the angles and shapes of the steel burrs to within 0.1 mm precision (1/250 of 1 inch). Burrs are produced as matched pairs and are hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit. The multiple gear motor produces the slowest grinding action (< 450 rpm) resulting in highest precision grinding from Turkish fine to percolator coarse.   Heavy-duty brushed Metal die-cast housing   Extremely wide range from Turkish fine to coarse for all kinds of coffee preparation   Clearly marked fineness settings: 4 extra fine, fine, regular, & coarse; total of 16 settings   Commercial grade, solid conical steel burrs w/advanced cutting design for high precision grinding   Gear reduction motor grinds slow w/reduced noise & little static build-up   Slowest grinding speed in its class creates less friction & heat build up preserving max aroma & flavor in any grind setting   Safety lock system   Upper conical burr removable for easy cleaning   Tight fitting ground coffee container (holds up to 4 oz. of ground coffee)   See through bean container holds up to 8.8 oz. of beans   Timer can be set to grind from 5 to 60 seconds   Pulse grinding possible   Elegant, timeless and user-friendly design   Cleaning brush and measuring scoop included   Watt/Volt/Hertz: 100W, 120V, 60Hz   UL Listed   Dimensions: 10.8” x 5.4” x 7.7”   Weight: 6.1 lbs.   1 Year Limited Warranty for Household Use   Made in China For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554. Model: 565.04
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
(out of 202 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (202 reviews)
5 stars
125
4 stars
47
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
173 of 202(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2015

It's OK

Pros: quiet
Cons: needs a larager collection hopper
" I like that the grinder is a lot quieter than most others I've had but I wish the hopper that collects the coffee grounds was larger. I set the time on 5 and then empty it and then set the timer on 6 to get the amount of coffee I use. When I tried setting the timer on 10 the ground coffee was everywhere and I got tired of brushing/cleaning the grounds up. "
Review 2 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:May 13, 2015

One key to great coffee is a consistent grind

Pros: makes great coffee, quiet
Cons: assembly process can be tricky
" I bought this to replace a cheap Cuisinart burr grinder that failed after 4-5 years of daily use.
This grinder makes a consistent grind, which is the most important thing to me. I consistently make great coffee at home now using a Chemex coffee maker.
It's quiet. I can run it with someone on the phone or having a conversation in the room and nobody has to stop what they are doing to to wait for it to be done. Also, it has more mass and a heavier grinder, so that it's not just destroying the beans during the process. It has high quality steel grinders, which is why it's consistent.
Negatives: The plastic hopper does have to be in the correct position when you assemble it, or it will break. The problem is that on mine the black dots were lined up, and the hopper didn't fit at the correct position. I had to put the plastic sleeve on the hopper into the right slot and actually turn the gears to make it line up. I did break it in the process and they sent me another in a couple days. (I repair all my appliances, gadgets, etc and this is an exceptionally poor design, but once it's in place it doesn't matter because it works fine)
Static: There are reviews of static, and for some reason the grinds are charged when they come out of this unit The result is that you can get some coffee grinds on your sleeve and hand. Not sure why this happens but I totally don't care as it makes good coffee. I think there's more friction in the grinding process, rather than it just getting knocked around like in a cheap one. I've had a similar issue with an hand crank wood one. "
Review 3 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:May 12, 2015

Best Ever

Pros: great grind, quiet
Cons: the bean cup could be bigger
Model Number: 565
" I second, and third all the other rave reviews. This grinder is quiet! (low rpm motor). Very consistent grind with very little fine coffee dust. Also, it seems insignificant, but the ground coffee pours out of the cup very easily, and there's no lid to fiddle with. "
Review 4 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Loveland, CO
Date:May 5, 2015

Excellent Burr Grinder

Pros: wide choice of grinds available., very quiet., easy to clean if you don't wait too long
Cons: none
Model Number: 565.04
" Best burr grinder I have owned. I was impressed by how quiet it is. Routine cleaning is necessary depending on the oil content of the coffee beans being ground, Allowing build up in the grinding chamber and the outlet to the ground coffee container will decrease performance of the unit. "
Review 5 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern Utah
Date:May 4, 2015

Good unit

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: haven't found any yet
Model Number: No idea
" This is new so I can't speak to durability but I can say that at the fine side of Medium grind it will grind enough coffee for our 1/2 gallon airpots with the touch of a button.
That's exactly what we needed for our retail store. Yes, it's commercial but coffee is low volume so we're only doing a pot or two a day. Plenty rugged in build for that kind of use. Plenty of flexibility in grinds too - even if we set it and forget it.
"
Review 6 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix,AZ
Date:May 1, 2015

So far so good

Pros: looks nice on counter
" Quick grinding and not overly loud. Super convenient with little mess. Play with grind to get it right for espresso. "
Review 7 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Date:April 30, 2015

Coffee Grinder

Pros: great coffee
Cons: none
Model Number: 565
" Very easy to use and I get good coffee every time if you use this grinder you will never buy ground coffee again. This is a bargain if you want very good coffee. I put my water in the coffee maker and the coffee beans in the grinder in the evening and then grind the beans and put the grounds in the coffee maker in the morning just b4 making the coffee. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:April 28, 2015

Excellent Burr Grinder

Pros: very quiet and heavy duty made
Cons: messy cleaning french roast grounds in container
Model Number: 565.04
" I am very pleased that this model is very quiet for a conical burr grinder so I don't wake up my neighbors in the morning. This heavy duty grinder hardly vibrates while grinding the beans. The instructions for this grinder is user friendly. The only drawback is when grinding french roast coffee beans, clean up of the ground coffee container is a bit messy because of the static from the oily grounds. Otherwise, most non-oily coffee grounds pour out of the container easily and there is hardly any clean up. "
Review 9 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:April 27, 2015

Gets the job done!

Pros: it is user friendly.
Cons: first time i ordered it the product was damaged.
" It is a very easy and user friendly product. I purchased my first one and unfortunately it didn't work when I received it. I returned it, in hopes the next one I ordered would be functional. I am pleased, especially being a newbie at grinding coffee. "
Review 10 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newark, DE
Date:April 25, 2015

Best Grinder I've Owned

Pros: sturdy design, excellent performance, clean no mess, quiet operation, nice looking, easy to clean
Cons: none
" I bought this to replace our Cuisinart burr mill, whose electronic timer started behaving erratically and finally quit. It would turn on randomly, so we'd have to slide the timer to off, and now it won't turn on. Compared to the Cuisinart, it is very quiet and I can grind in the morning without waking anybody else (unlike the Cuisinart which was very loud). I like the simplicity of the mechanical egg-timer and the robust design. We're grinding dark beans for drip coffee and get excellent results on the medium-fine setting. I've read some reviews complaining of static and grounds spilling, but this has not been a problem for me at all. Ours has a grounded (3-prong) plug which probably grounds the stainless steel housing and helps with any static issue. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:April 24, 2015

Product not to be trusted

Pros: cast metall shell burr components estetich.
Cons: overall technical design & components quality.
Model Number: 387776
" 1. The Capresso 565 grinder was received as described.
2. After unpacking, visually inspecting the grinder I found a suspicious oily layer in the grinding chamber (the burrs location); this is very bizarre: the burr chamber shall be very clean, dry & not contaminated, for safety & grinding quality reasons.
3. Concluding the above, I stopped inspecting the product & phoned Jura - Capresso Customer Service. My 1st question was if Jura supplies internal replacement parts for this model. The answer from Jura C.S. was equal to the attitude of a bad "used cars dealer":
"Jura won't supply internal parts and / or technical documentation because an inherent conflict with the UL (Underwriters Laboratories) insurance policy"
Such absurd answer was sufficient for me to stop the conversation.
4. Usually such upscale product is not purchased only for the time period of the 1 year factory warranty, therefore an initial in-details inspection is very desirable.
5. My personal technical opinion: in terms of engineering: The overall product design seems to be Incoherent. Peripheral components seems to be a class behind the burring pair components. The design of the burring chamber is an example that the product was not designed specifically for the Jura burrs, but for other alternatives also, resulting a cumbersome grind particles flow.
5. I won't comment the grind quality of this product because I haven't grind any beans with it.
6. Further, the product was repacked and returned the same day to a Costco retail warehouse.
7. Costco price for this product is very competitive & attractive. Costco knows well what is a good "Customer Service", they have it, therefore it is enigmatic to me why Costco have chosen to distribute this product, from this vendor (???).
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hayward ca
Date:April 22, 2015

Coffe lover

Pros: grinds very fine or coarse and is quite.
Model Number: #565
" We just love it ! Grinds for drip or espresso machine. And got here in no time.thanks "
Review 13 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:April 20, 2015

Excellent grinder at a bargain price !

Pros: grinds evenly quietly with very little static.
Cons: grinding time switch(1-10) a bit confusing.
Model Number: 565.04
" I have owned several coffee grinders(Braun, Krups, Cuisinart); this unit has proven far superior. The solid metal body and the steel conical grinding burrs are of a superior quality found only in commercial grinders costing much, much more. The grinder is easy to clean--and this should be done once a week to remove oily coffee deposits from the grinding chamber. Use an old toothbrush for this simple task.
By trial-and-error, you must adjust the grinding timer (1-10) to determine the proper amount of coffee needed for your brewing method (i.e. extra fine for espresso OR coarse for French press). I expect this grinder to give very satisfying results for many years to come.
"
Review 14 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:April 14, 2015

Quality Grinder

Pros: produces a consistent fine grind
Cons: not industrial strength construction
" I bought this expressly to grind beans for an espresso machine. Other grinders I have used did not grind the beans finely enough to produce a good extraction even on their finest settings. I had problems first assembling the machine (attaching the bean hopper) in that I could not get the grinder mechanism to operate. I was on the verge of returning it but tried one more time and it functioned properly. It allows me to grind just the right amount of beans fine enough for a good extraction. I do not even have to use the finest setting. One plus would be if it allowed grinding directly into the filter basket. "
Review 15 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:April 13, 2015

Quality is So Surprising

Pros: consistent grinds, heavy and ultra quiet, no static holding onto coffee bits, grinds fine enough for espresso and beyond
Cons: none that i have found
Model Number: 565.04
" I couldn't believe you had to spend hundreds of dollars to have enough grind choices to satisfy espresso machines. I took a chance and this grinds for a perfect shot and beautiful thick crema. The grinder is heavy, handsome and quiet. No static when you pour out freshly ground beans. Haven't used my brush since I plugged it in. "
Review 16 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Tennessee
Date:April 10, 2015

Top Quality Grinder

Pros: perfect control, quiet, huge capacity, easy to take apart
Cons: hopper is so clear i keep pouring beans on the lid
Model Number: 565.04
" Grinds perfectly. It replaced a tire old Cuisinart burr grinder that did well, but not this well. Very easy to take apart and clean. It's also nice and quiet. It's not cheap plastic. You'll figure that out when you pick it up. "
Review 17 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:April 4, 2015

Nice grinder

Pros: quiet grinding, even grind, slow speed grinder
Cons: slightly bigger than expected
Model Number: 565.04
" Slightly bigger than I expected, however it works excellent. Very quiet grinder and is able to grind very evenly. Good build quality. I'm very impressed with this grinder. I would definitely recommend. "
Review 18 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Coastal GA
Date:March 26, 2015

First time grinders should be warned about static

Cons: static
" First time coffee grinder here surprised by how much mess there is in grinding your own coffee. It clings to everything and is an unbelieveable hassle to clean, its simply not worth it to me. Product seems to work fine and be reasonably well engineered aside from the static which per some online research, occurs in most coffee grinders. Humidity may be an issue. I will be returning shortly. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maine
Date:March 20, 2015

So far..... So good!

Pros: uniform grind quiet heavy duty.
Cons: initial set up instructions vague.
Model Number: 565-04
" We have only used this grinder to grind one half pound of Expresso beans, and it did a fine job. Very uniform grind, and the adjustable grind gauge is very easy. The timer dial is convenient and will just take a little while to get used to how long to grind a specific quantity of beans. The model we got is the solid cast (6 lbs), so it feels sturdy and stays in place when grinding. It is remarkably quiet compared to our previous Krupps whirly-bird grinder (Granted, this is completely different level of coffee bean grinder - not a fair comparison.) And finally, as always, Costco has the best price available for this model - and if it wasn't what we wanted, returns are always so Costco simple. ps: When you initially unpack it, make sure the conical grinder burr wheels are seated BEFORE you try to install the bean hopper. DO NOT force the hopper, it should turn very easily if seated properly. If it doesn't turn easily, check the grinder wheels. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Date:February 23, 2015

Excellent Home Grinder!!

Pros: grinds coffee beans evenly., easy to use/change grind settings, consistent, low static, quiet for a grinder, solid construction, low price
Cons: leaves quite a bit of grinds in burr section
Model Number: 565.04
" I love this grinder!! It is heavy duty and grinds coffee like a champ! I don't seem to have the static problems that some of the other reviewers have and I live in the desert. I use an Aeropress, Hario V60 and a french press, all of which require a different grind. So, I needed a grinder to suit the needs of different brewing techniques and this grinder fits the bill. I highly recommend it! At this price point, I don't know of a better grinder. I would recommend buying a better brush for cleaning. My only complaint is the amount of grinds it leaves in the burr section. Even with that being said, I still rate it 5 Stars for build, quality, price and ease of use. "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>