Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

For maximum aroma and flavor retention nothing beats the Infinity Conical Burr Grinder series.  The Metal Die-Cast Housing makes the grinder quieter, has less friction and is twice as heavy then non-metal grinders.  Computer controlled special grinding heads cut the angles and shapes of the steel burrs to within 0.1 mm precision (1/250 of 1 inch). Burrs are produced as matched pairs and are hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit. The multiple gear motor produces the slowest grinding action (< 450 rpm) resulting in highest precision grinding from Turkish fine to percolator coarse.   Heavy-duty brushed Metal die-cast housing   Extremely wide range from Turkish fine to coarse for all kinds of coffee preparation   Clearly marked fineness settings: 4 extra fine, fine, regular, & coarse; total of 16 settings   Commercial grade, solid conical steel burrs w/advanced cutting design for high precision grinding   Gear reduction motor grinds slow w/reduced noise & little static build-up   Slowest grinding speed in its class creates less friction & heat build up preserving max aroma & flavor in any grind setting   Safety lock system   Upper conical burr removable for easy cleaning   Tight fitting ground coffee container (holds up to 4 oz. of ground coffee)   See through bean container holds up to 8.8 oz. of beans   Timer can be set to grind from 5 to 60 seconds   Pulse grinding possible   Elegant, timeless and user-friendly design   Cleaning brush and measuring scoop included   Watt/Volt/Hertz: 100W, 120V, 60Hz   UL Listed   Dimensions: 10.8” x 5.4” x 7.7”   Weight: 6.1 lbs.   1 Year Limited Warranty for Household Use   Made in China For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554. Model: 565.04
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 159
(out of 159 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
34
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
11
135 of 159(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hudson, OH
Date:September 24, 2014

Excellent Value Grinder

Pros: inexpensive, quiet, consistent grind size, decent grind speed
Cons: doesn't have a power switch
"I love coffee, and I love to make coffee. In my kitchen, I rotate methods depending on my mood: french press, Aeropress, Chemex, even the old-fashioned Farberware percolator when mom visits. Having this grinder allows me to adjust my grind size to suit my method and it does an excellent job at keeping an even grind consistency.
I also own a Bodum Bistro burr grinder, used only for flavored beans, and here's where I feel the Capresso is better. The Capresso has a heavier, sturdier build and grinds at half the decibel level as the Bodum. Grind TIME is longer with the Capresso, too. The Bodum Bistro recommends grinding a maximum of 20 seconds, then allow a five 5 minute cool down between batches to avoid overheating the motor. This isn't enough time at a Fine setting to grind for two people. The Capresso can grind up to 3x60 seconds (3 minutes), plenty of time to grind for the morning crew. At a comparative grind setting, the Capresso grinds 1/4 cup coffee beans at a Fine setting in about 17 seconds whereas the Bodum took 22 seconds.
I wish the Capresso had a power switch. It operates solely on the timer, so if you overestimate the grind time or something gets caught in the grinder, you either have to unplug the machine or rotate the hopper beyond the coarsest setting to stop the grinding action. The Bodum Bistro has a power switch for an instant shut-off.
I don't consider the plastic grinds container a weak point. If you have a lot of static, it's because your beans went stale and dried out. I've ground stale beans in the Bodum, which has a glass canister *rumored to be anti-static*, and the grinds stuck all over the sides of the glass like a Magna Doodle. Correct this problem by storing only a week's worth of coffee beans in an airtight container and the rest in separate, airtight batches."
Review 2 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:chicago, il
Date:September 23, 2014

Great Grinder

Pros: quiet operation, consistent grind
Cons: static causes grinds to stick
"Great grinder. It's quiet, nice looking, and grinds as described. I have also owned a Mr. Coffee burr grinder. Both are good grinders for the price, but the Capresso gets my vote for its quiet operation."
Review 3 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 5, 2014
Pros: great value
Cons: none yet
"Great grinder, easy to operate and clean. For the price it's a great product. I never thought before that a grinder would make such difference with the taste of an espresso."
Review 4 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2014

Best Value Concical Burr Grinder

Pros: efficient, quiet, heavy-duty conical burr, amazing value, accurate grind
Cons: plastic catcher
"This Grinder puts everything else in it's price range, and the next price range up, to shame.
The actual Conical Burr that is housed in the grinder is of a beautiful professional quality. It grinds beans evenly and quickly every time. The value to grinding your own coffee can't be overstated. The flavor and freshness gained is amazing. When it's ground well in a grinder like this, you multiply that enjoyment.
Something to note here: This grinder is only for coffee. I'm afraid if you want an espresso grind, this is not for you.
This is the second model I have bought. The first was in another country so I had repurchase here.
The only downside, and this is really splitting hairs here, is that the catcher is plastic. At times it can create a bit of static. However, using a nice wooden utensil to discharge that is easy enough.
At the end of the day, you would need to get into professional grade grinders to find one better than this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:July 19, 2014

Best grinder of the three brands I've owned

Pros: quiet consistent grind cleans easily
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 565
"The Capresso grinds quickly and quietly with the least amount of static of any of the three brands I have used. The grind is consistent. The cup empties easily. The grinding mechanism is easily accessible for cleaning. It is very quiet compared with my prior two brands that really sounded like rock crushers in comparison. Time will tell about product durability. So far, I am extremely pleased with this product."
Review 6 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Williamsport, PA
Date:June 2, 2014

Very happy with purchase but...

Pros: quiet and heavy duty
Cons: static makes it a little messy
"The only thing that kept this from being a 5 star rating is the static buildup that causes some coffee grounds to come out of the container when pulling it out to empty into coffee maker. My Cuisinart grinder had a lid on the container that helped minimize this."
Review 7 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2014

coffee grinder

"We love thus far. Usually need grind for regular and espresso. Does both fine. Too knew of purchase to know how it will hold up, feels solid"
Review 8 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, WA
Date:May 25, 2014

Quality burr grinder

Model Number: 565.04
"This burr grinder exceeded my expectations. You can turn it on and walk away. If you want a great grinder that is easy to use and quieter than most I highly recommend this. Plus if you don't like it Costco's return policy is like no other."
Review 9 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:May 19, 2014

Outstanding Grinder

Pros: quality, durable, wide range of grinds, quiet, excellent price
"This is probably the best quality grinder you can find at a fair price. Shipping was very fast and the product works very well. I love the ability to "fine tune" the grind."
Review 10 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:May 12, 2014

Great Grinder for the Money

Pros: consistant grind, quiet
Cons: none for me
Model Number: 565
"Use it daily to grind the beans for my Aeropress. Does a great job and does it quietly. Easy to clean and maintain. A couple of taps to the grounds bin takes care of any static cling. Was looking at a $400+ ceramic grinder, went with this one instead, and am very happy I did."
Review 11 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:May 2, 2014

Quality product

Pros: quiet ease of use no mess
Cons: none at this time
"Replaced a Cuisinart grinder from Costco and decided to upgrade. Used for drip coffee and the Capresso performs very well. Easy to use, quiet, clean, holds plenty of coffee. Appears very heavy duty and hopefully will last a long time. Much more solid than the Cuisinart."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambria, CA
Date:April 22, 2014

Heavy duty grinder

Pros: easy to use
Cons: cleaning a little messy
"First stand alone burr grinder. Heavy duty and grinds quietly"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York NY
Date:April 15, 2014

automatic burr

Pros: grinds well
Cons: not made for long lasting
"works good for as long as it lasts and there is the problem in a nutshell. After 1 year of use it conked out on me. I bought twice and both times this happened."
Review 14 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:April 10, 2014

Best "budget" coffee grinder

Pros: quiet, uniform coffee grinds
"When I became a serious coffee drinker I knew that it was important to have freshly ground beans for every cup. I use the pour-over and french press for making coffee so the brewing is taken care of. I had the Cuisinart Burr Mill grinder for a while and was disappointed. It ground unevenly and was loud and spewed coffee grinds on the counter-top. Then I bought this grinder and it is pretty much perfect. It is quiet, the coffee grinds are uniform, and it stays clean. A great purchase and highly recommended!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:January 31, 2014

Major flaw

Pros: good quality grinding fast
Cons: plastic is too brittle and conducive to static
"Grinder does a good job, but plastic used for bean hopper and grounds is too brittle. I tapped it lightly on my counter to loosen residue and it broke second day after receiving it. Also, this type of plastic generates a lot of static causing grounds to stick to container and fly out when lid is opened. Returned to Costco, and bought a highly rated Bravatza Encore instead. Similar grinding capabilities but much better receptable design."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ridgecrest, CA
Date:January 12, 2014

problem cleaning

Cons: cleaning
Model Number: #565
"I bought this last April and after taking it apart to clean it won't go back together. The bowl won't go on."
Review 17 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 4, 2014

Quick and Easy Grind

Pros: quick for fresh expresso in the am!
"I love this grinder and replaced the Cusinart with it. It grinds quickly and I have not found it hard to clean. I found the extra fine setting does not work well with my expresso machine. The fine setting works great."
Review 18 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upper left corner of Oregon
Date:November 22, 2013

Recommend this Grinder!

Pros: makes the coffee smell better than ever!
Cons: it requires counter space!
"We've owned it for almost a year. We use it for drip coffee and are so delighted with it that we just bought one for a gift. It makes a consistent and controlled grind for repeatable results, unlike a blade grinder.
We put a mark on the (invisible) cover after twice dumping beans over the top of it.
"
Review 19 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Wyoming
Date:November 18, 2013

Excellent product

"I've used my new grinder several times since I bought it and I'm very happy with how it works. It seems to be heavy duty and should last me many years. I recently bought another one to give for a Christmas gift."
Review 20 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:November 18, 2013

Excellent Burr Grinder

Pros: grinds perfectly
Cons: dulls and fragile bean holder.
Model Number: 565.4
"I have had several of these over the years and use it at least twice a day. It does exactly what it is supposed to do very well. I clean it after each use takes a minute or two. The problem is that the burrs get dull after about 0ne year and I usually take one back now and then and the bean holder is very fragile and breaks very easy on the tips."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>