Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

For maximum aroma and flavor retention nothing beats the Infinity Conical Burr Grinder series.  The Metal Die-Cast Housing makes the grinder quieter, has less friction and is twice as heavy then non-metal grinders.  Computer controlled special grinding heads cut the angles and shapes of the steel burrs to within 0.1 mm precision (1/250 of 1 inch). Burrs are produced as matched pairs and are hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit. The multiple gear motor produces the slowest grinding action (< 450 rpm) resulting in highest precision grinding from Turkish fine to percolator coarse.   Heavy-duty brushed Metal die-cast housing   Extremely wide range from Turkish fine to coarse for all kinds of coffee preparation   Clearly marked fineness settings: 4 extra fine, fine, regular, & coarse; total of 16 settings   Commercial grade, solid conical steel burrs w/advanced cutting design for high precision grinding   Gear reduction motor grinds slow w/reduced noise & little static build-up   Slowest grinding speed in its class creates less friction & heat build up preserving max aroma & flavor in any grind setting   Safety lock system   Upper conical burr removable for easy cleaning   Tight fitting ground coffee container (holds up to 4 oz. of ground coffee)   See through bean container holds up to 8.8 oz. of beans   Timer can be set to grind from 5 to 60 seconds   Pulse grinding possible   Elegant, timeless and user-friendly design   Cleaning brush and measuring scoop included   Watt/Volt/Hertz: 100W, 120V, 60Hz   UL Listed   Dimensions: 10.8” x 5.4” x 7.7”   Weight: 6.1 lbs.   1 Year Limited Warranty for Household Use   Made in China For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554. Model: 565.04
Average Customer Rating:
4.284 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 215
(out of 215 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (215 reviews)
5 stars
133
4 stars
47
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
14
183 of 215(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh
Date:August 17, 2015

Great - quite

" Excellent - much better than the previous burr grinder we had. Much less noise. "
Review 2 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 3, 2015

Great Grinder Upgrade

Pros: simple to use
Cons: not all parts dishwasher safe
Model Number: 565.04
" Easy to use with excellent results. Makes a richer cup of espresso than my old blade grinder. "
Review 3 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester, NY
Date:July 25, 2015

great grinder

" Very quiet, easy to use, attractive, nice grind choices "
Review 4 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Durham
Date:July 14, 2015

Best Coffee Grinder

Pros: consistency sound and heftiness.
Cons: none
" This is my 3rd burr grinder and this replaced my ancient Braun. The motor is commercial grade and very heavy duty. Grinds coffee to perfection and sound is a low-frequency rumble rather than the higher pitched sound from my previous grinders. Highly recommended "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2015

Careful what you grind

Pros: nice consistent grind, solid base, strong motor
Cons: bad for oily beans, bean holder is a little flimsy
" I've had this as my home machine for over 10 years and never had a problem. The grind is steady and even and has come to the rescue when other grinders have failed. Based on that alone I'd give it 5 stars.
That said, I've purchased one for the office on 3 separate occasions and it failed each time; the most recent only a few weeks after purchase. The common denominator appears to be oily beans. It causes clogging and clumping much more frequently than its worth. Two of the times inexplicably caused irreversible damage. This alone deserves zero stars. Fortunately Costco took it back without any problem. This machine is ideal for small dense medium roast beans with a nice dry finish. If your preferred is French or some other oily dark roast, I suggest getting another grinder.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:June 27, 2015

BEWARE! Read instructions before use!

Pros: hoped this would be a good grinder capresso poor, customer service scared me into returning it, unused.
Cons: poor capresso service. ask yourself why would, they tell you to not grind longer than 3 minutes!
Model Number: 565.04
" Luckily I read the owners manual prior to using this CAPRESSO grinder. It states :
1. Only grind what you will
use within an hour
2. DO NOT GRIND LONGER THAN 3
MINUTES
CAPRESSO customer service very bad. Had one of their other burr grinder, used it only 12 times in 13 months and it stopped working. Their CS said irregardless how few times I used it, or if I NEVER used it was 1 month beyond their 12 month warranty so there was nothing they would do! (Not purchased at Costco)
When I saw Costco had this grinder on their website, I bit the bullet and ordered it, knowing Costco's return policy. Upon receiving the grinder and reading the "proper use of the grinder," and my previous negative experience with CAPRESSO CS I figured their warning to not grind over 3 minutes and to grind ONLY what you will use in an hour was
Capresso's failsafe way to invalidate their warranty if you failed to heed their warnings.
Plus, the exterior finish is strange, leaves print marks with the slightest touch. "
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oxnard, CA
Date:June 9, 2015

replaces Mr. Coffee blade grinder

Pros: quiet
" Just replaced my Mr. Coffee blade grinder with the Jura/Capresso.
Like other reviews have revealed, this unit is really quiet.
There is the issue with the static charged coffee grinds that others have mentioned but I have only been grinding about 4 seconds of medium grind and don't have much of an issue of any grinds flying around after tapping the sides of the container before removing it. "
Review 8 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:June 5, 2015

Timer is the weakness

Pros: quiet; does a great job grinding coffee
Cons: timer is the weak link
Model Number: Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
" Love the way it grinds coffee. But after just a month and a half of once daily usage, the timer stopped working properly - it would get stuck and keep running. Returned it for full refund. But liked it so much that I'm ordering another one. "
Review 9 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, CA
Date:May 29, 2015

Most Excellent

" Works like a charm. Different settings for coarse to fine. Would buy again. "
Review 10 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, Ca
Date:May 26, 2015

Good grind BUT

Pros: good grind
Cons: makes a big mess that you need to clean up
Model Number: Model: 565.04
" It produces a good uniform grind but my big problem with this grinder is that the outside and grind container are made of plastic that gets massive amount of static electricity when you grind the coffee. No amount of tapping as the instructions say will release the static. When you pull the container out from the unit, coffee flies everywhere. When you dump the coffee out, it flies all over your hands creating another mess. I even tried to use my old turntable anti static device, but it did not help. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western NC
Date:May 26, 2015

Very Quiet

Pros: quiet
Cons: not sure how much coffee you are grinding
" Compared to other machines I have had this is whisper quiet. The grind is nice once you figure out which you want. I am using a between medium and fine for my espresso maker. The girinder is on a timer so the number does not equate to amount of coffee. "
Review 12 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2015

Quiet (well maybe much less noisy) coffee grinder

Pros: quiet - easy to use
Cons: none
Model Number: 565.04
" Works well - the timer is easy once you determine how long it takes to grind the amount of coffee you need. I use a french press and the coarse setting works well. "
Review 13 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2015

It's OK

Pros: quiet
Cons: needs a larager collection hopper
" I like that the grinder is a lot quieter than most others I've had but I wish the hopper that collects the coffee grounds was larger. I set the time on 5 and then empty it and then set the timer on 6 to get the amount of coffee I use. When I tried setting the timer on 10 the ground coffee was everywhere and I got tired of brushing/cleaning the grounds up. "
Review 14 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:May 13, 2015

One key to great coffee is a consistent grind

Pros: makes great coffee, quiet
Cons: assembly process can be tricky
" I bought this to replace a cheap Cuisinart burr grinder that failed after 4-5 years of daily use.
This grinder makes a consistent grind, which is the most important thing to me. I consistently make great coffee at home now using a Chemex coffee maker.
It's quiet. I can run it with someone on the phone or having a conversation in the room and nobody has to stop what they are doing to to wait for it to be done. Also, it has more mass and a heavier grinder, so that it's not just destroying the beans during the process. It has high quality steel grinders, which is why it's consistent.
Negatives: The plastic hopper does have to be in the correct position when you assemble it, or it will break. The problem is that on mine the black dots were lined up, and the hopper didn't fit at the correct position. I had to put the plastic sleeve on the hopper into the right slot and actually turn the gears to make it line up. I did break it in the process and they sent me another in a couple days. (I repair all my appliances, gadgets, etc and this is an exceptionally poor design, but once it's in place it doesn't matter because it works fine)
Static: There are reviews of static, and for some reason the grinds are charged when they come out of this unit The result is that you can get some coffee grinds on your sleeve and hand. Not sure why this happens but I totally don't care as it makes good coffee. I think there's more friction in the grinding process, rather than it just getting knocked around like in a cheap one. I've had a similar issue with an hand crank wood one. "
Review 15 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:May 12, 2015

Best Ever

Pros: great grind, quiet
Cons: the bean cup could be bigger
Model Number: 565
" I second, and third all the other rave reviews. This grinder is quiet! (low rpm motor). Very consistent grind with very little fine coffee dust. Also, it seems insignificant, but the ground coffee pours out of the cup very easily, and there's no lid to fiddle with. "
Review 16 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Loveland, CO
Date:May 5, 2015

Excellent Burr Grinder

Pros: wide choice of grinds available., very quiet., easy to clean if you don't wait too long
Cons: none
Model Number: 565.04
" Best burr grinder I have owned. I was impressed by how quiet it is. Routine cleaning is necessary depending on the oil content of the coffee beans being ground, Allowing build up in the grinding chamber and the outlet to the ground coffee container will decrease performance of the unit. "
Review 17 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern Utah
Date:May 4, 2015

Good unit

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: haven't found any yet
Model Number: No idea
" This is new so I can't speak to durability but I can say that at the fine side of Medium grind it will grind enough coffee for our 1/2 gallon airpots with the touch of a button.
That's exactly what we needed for our retail store. Yes, it's commercial but coffee is low volume so we're only doing a pot or two a day. Plenty rugged in build for that kind of use. Plenty of flexibility in grinds too - even if we set it and forget it.
"
Review 18 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:May 2, 2015

Apparently a disposable item

Pros: decent grinding
Cons: loud seems prone to failure
" I will mostly second what others have written in their reviews: this grinder is noisy, and somewhat messy. The timer is not particularly accurate. And after having it for less than a year mine just died too. I had a Breville conical burr grinder before this one and I don't recall it generating so much fine coffee dust (which is probably what caused this unit's failure) "
Review 19 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix,AZ
Date:May 1, 2015

So far so good

Pros: looks nice on counter
" Quick grinding and not overly loud. Super convenient with little mess. Play with grind to get it right for espresso. "
Review 20 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Date:April 30, 2015

Coffee Grinder

Pros: great coffee
Cons: none
Model Number: 565
" Very easy to use and I get good coffee every time if you use this grinder you will never buy ground coffee again. This is a bargain if you want very good coffee. I put my water in the coffee maker and the coffee beans in the grinder in the evening and then grind the beans and put the grounds in the coffee maker in the morning just b4 making the coffee. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>