Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

For maximum aroma and flavor retention nothing beats the Infinity Conical Burr Grinder series.  The Metal Die-Cast Housing makes the grinder quieter, has less friction and is twice as heavy then non-metal grinders.  Computer controlled special grinding heads cut the angles and shapes of the steel burrs to within 0.1 mm precision (1/250 of 1 inch). Burrs are produced as matched pairs and are hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit. The multiple gear motor produces the slowest grinding action (< 450 rpm) resulting in highest precision grinding from Turkish fine to percolator coarse.   Heavy-duty brushed Metal die-cast housing   Extremely wide range from Turkish fine to coarse for all kinds of coffee preparation   Clearly marked fineness settings: 4 extra fine, fine, regular, & coarse; total of 16 settings   Commercial grade, solid conical steel burrs w/advanced cutting design for high precision grinding   Gear reduction motor grinds slow w/reduced noise & little static build-up   Slowest grinding speed in its class creates less friction & heat build up preserving max aroma & flavor in any grind setting   Safety lock system   Upper conical burr removable for easy cleaning   Tight fitting ground coffee container (holds up to 4 oz. of ground coffee)   See through bean container holds up to 8.8 oz. of beans   Timer can be set to grind from 5 to 60 seconds   Pulse grinding possible   Elegant, timeless and user-friendly design   Cleaning brush and measuring scoop included   Watt/Volt/Hertz: 100W, 120V, 60Hz   UL Listed   Dimensions: 10.8” x 5.4” x 7.7”   Weight: 6.1 lbs.   1 Year Limited Warranty for Household Use   Made in China For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554. Model: 565.04
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 151
(out of 151 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
16
123 of 151(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

Worked for 4 times, then jammed / motor burned

Pros: coffee ground quickly
Cons: noisy, timer: too short for a full hopper, jammed repeatedly, motor burned on the last jam
Model Number: 565
"Had another Costco coffee grinder that worked great, when it did not overheat, thus tried this one. Positives: despite what others write, my version (2013 November) made very acceptable ground coffee at all settings.
Negatives:
1).Primary: jammed repeatedly; motor burned on last jam
2). NOISY
3). Timer - cannot do a full hopper on the timer provided
I bought this from Costco specifically to try it and, if unsatisfactory, to return, which I did (as I did the prior grinder). Great Costco policy, a shame about the coffee grinder.
End recommendation: stay away from this, get a cheap blade grinder....or be prepared to bring yours back to Costco
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 5, 2012

Excellent grinder when used properly

Pros: uniform grind, low maintenance, doesn't heat ground coffee
Cons: the collection container can jostle loose
"I've read a bunch of negative reviews (although most are positive) and have the following points to make:
1) green coffee beans are meant to be roasted whole - there's no purpose whatsoever in grinding them green
2) if you wait for about 3-5 minutes after grinding, the static dies down in the container and you can rap it on the table and the grounds will uniformly fall to the bottom - without flying out; then emptying it into a filter is a piece of cake
3) you cannot grind frozen beans directly from the freezer, you must thaw them out first for at least an hour or so
4) it's a poor idea to grind the beans in advance and then store them as grounds - the best aroma and flavor are obtained by grinding immediately before use - so the comments about capacity and storage are ill-conceived
5) I use a Capresso CoffeeTEC pot and setting the grinder to 10 makes a full 50oz pot of coffee that's strong and flavorful; it's hard to imagine how much more one would need to grind at one time.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:April 10, 2014

Best "budget" coffee grinder

Pros: quiet, uniform coffee grinds
"When I became a serious coffee drinker I knew that it was important to have freshly ground beans for every cup. I use the pour-over and french press for making coffee so the brewing is taken care of. I had the Cuisinart Burr Mill grinder for a while and was disappointed. It ground unevenly and was loud and spewed coffee grinds on the counter-top. Then I bought this grinder and it is pretty much perfect. It is quiet, the coffee grinds are uniform, and it stays clean. A great purchase and highly recommended!"
Review 4 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 3, 2012

Very happy with it so far

Pros: design, noise level
Cons: no pulse button, ground coffee container slightly skimpy
"I got this to replace my old Saeco Maestro Plus grinder, which I probably had for a decade before it finally gave up. Getting the downsides out of the way first, I miss the pulse button on the old grinder, although I've learned to manipulate the timer dial on this one to get pretty much the same effect. Also, the ground coffee container on this grinder is smaller than the old one, so I have to empty it more often.
However, the design of this grinder is very pleasant, with all the settings visible right on the front instead of wrapping around the sides (and into the dark shadows of my kitchen). Best of all, this grinder is noticeably quieter in operation than my old one. Also, you can take it apart to clean the burrs with a brush.
We are serious coffee drinkers and keep three different grind sizes on hand at all times. This grinder is easy to adjust and does a good job; time will tell if it lives as long as my other one did, but it seems solid and substantial enough to do so."
Review 5 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:November 12, 2013

Not for French press's coffee..

Pros: looks good on the counter, probably good for espresso grind.., quiet
Cons: not grinding coarse enough for french presses, time consuming cleanup every time you used it., limited parts e.g. no replacement bottom burrs, cleanup nightmare
Model Number: 565.4
"The machine works quietly, looks pretty good, is a cleaning nightmare as others had previously reported (it grinds in 40 seconds, but it takes 15 minutes to take the burrs out and clean the large amount of coffee remains out of the the grinding changer, chute etc). Eaven at the coarsest setting, the coffee is too fine for my French presses, and too much coffee powder remains at the bottom of the cup. Does not taste good, does not look good. I called capresso customer service, the say this is a common complaint and for French presses they recommend to return this model and buy "one of our less expensive models that don't grind so fine..""
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:November 13, 2009

Every Day, I Get Misty-Eyed

Pros: solid, uniform grind
"Every time I use this machine, or really, even look at it, I wonder how I can love an inanimate object so much. My coffee doesn't only smell great when I brew it, but now when I grind it, my whole house smells magical. I pull out the basket to find beautiful, fluffy, uniform grounds and NONE of that awful staticky dust that used to adhere to the sides of my old La Pavoni Alpina grinder. I am amazed that it only costs a few dollars more than that "budget" burr grinder by La Pavoni, yet it's a night-and-day difference between the two.
Best of all, I can't believe I found such an awesome machine for so much less $$ than the coffee snobs would have me spend. I have spent so much time on coffee forums, discovering that it's nearly impossible to find an objective review. You either have the die-hard snobs who say it's simply impossible to pull a shot of decent espresso without investing $2000 in equipment. And then you have the novices who will give any piece of junk a gleaming review. If you're lucky, you can spot their "tells" and know to disregard their review in favor of a less biased one. And when you find a coffee pot, grinder, or espresso machine that is truly good quality for a good price, I guess you fall in love with it the way that I have with this grinder.
Other pros: This is a solid, heavy machine. The beans fall right into the burrs without getting hung up or stuck. This machine rarely needs cleaning. Even when I do clean it, there really isn't a lot of buildup BECAUSE IT DOESN'T PULVERIZE YOUR BEANS INTO DUST. Oily beans may present a more pressing need for cleaning. I don't use oily beans because generally, an oily bean is an over-roasted (read: burnt) bean. OK, there's MY tell, I guess I am a coffee snob after all.
I have owned and used this machine 1-2 times daily for 6 wonderful months."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 4, 2010

Best Grinder EVER

Pros: fast quiet even & consistent grind
Model Number: Infinity 560
"This is an awesome conical burr grinder for those wanting to step up from a blade grinder or pre-ground beans for better, fresher coffee. Yes, it takes a little getting use to, but the effort is worth it - and did not warrant less stars, in my opinion.
I saw a 100% improvement in the quality and taste of my coffee with this grinder. It is much quieter than my old blade grinder and the grinds are very even and consistent. And now that I know how to completely empty the chamber, there is no mess.
For best results, measure out only the amount of beans you need for the pot of coffee you're about to make. Then allow the grinder to completely grind ALL of the beans - go a few seconds past the end of the grind. This will ensure that all of the grinds in the chamber have fallen. If you don't want to measure out the beans for each pot, and would rather store the beans in the holder, then at the end of your grind, simply give the grinder a quick pat or two to help make sure there are no coffee grinds left in the chamber.
Fresh ground coffee beans are a must and this grinder MORE than delivers! Highly recommended."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maine
Date:January 10, 2013

Good grind, but beware the lid

Pros: less static than my old grinder, grinds well
Cons: lid fits too loosely
Model Number: 565
"I have been using my grinder for 2 weeks. Whether you would like this grinder might depend on the way you use it. I grind at the lowest "fine" setting. I have not tried "extra fine". I do not store beans in the container. I measure the amount of coffee beans as I load the bowl and grind all of them. This avoids using the timer to grind the desired amounts. I store the grinder in a pantry and move it to the counter when needed. I do not try to use the cord storage. Having it snaked behind the grinder does not bother me. What does bother me is the lid's propensity to fall off during transit. It has a very shallow lip that fits into the bowl. I manage to knock it off about 50% of the time I move it. Today it fell all the way to the floor and broke. I'll be contacting Capresso to order one or more. They cost $1.30 plus shipping."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 20, 2009

Definitely worth the price!!!

Pros: great grinding consistency, quiet, sturdy, heavy (will not "scoot" away), attractive, great price for what you get, durable and classy metal exterior, easy to clean, less static than most due to slower grinding speed
Cons: need to lift & tap grinder to get all the grounds
Model Number: Brushed Chrome
"This burr grinder is an incredible value. First of all, it is sold most places for $140. But the only other comparable machine in this "upper-middle-class" of grinders is from Baratza and costs about $200. In addition, that machine has a narrow hopper in which the beans get stuck and need constant nudging (via a spoon handle or chopsticks, in my brother's case).
The Infinity has served my house well for about 1 1/2 years of daily use (often 2-3x a day). It's easy to clean and grinds coffee really consistently without a lot of noise or static (unless you use super-dark roast beans which have very little moisture content left in them). I've used it for everything from espresso to french press and have never been let down. The only downfall I've discovered is that about a teaspoon of ground coffee gets left up in the chute before the vertical drop into the bin, so I have to lift the back of the machine and "spank it" a few times on the side to get them to fall into the bin, so they don't get stale and come out in the next batch I grind. It's a small price to pay for such well-ground coffee and an attractive, sturdy machine that I know will last for years.
FYI, the "brushed chrome" finish is neither brushed nor chrome. It's actually more of a matte steel finish and looks really nice. (Not as bright and shiny as brushed stainless steel.)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:January 31, 2014

Major flaw

Pros: good quality grinding fast
Cons: plastic is too brittle and conducive to static
"Grinder does a good job, but plastic used for bean hopper and grounds is too brittle. I tapped it lightly on my counter to loosen residue and it broke second day after receiving it. Also, this type of plastic generates a lot of static causing grounds to stick to container and fly out when lid is opened. Returned to Costco, and bought a highly rated Bravatza Encore instead. Similar grinding capabilities but much better receptable design."
Review 11 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:October 4, 2010

no static cling

Pros: no static cling
"We have a burr grinder in the office - static cling causes all the grounds to stick inside the cup so badly you end up losing half of them, get coffee all over yourself, etc. No so with this grinder. It must be the 3-wire plug. The grounds just slide right out of the cup, into your filter or French Press or whatever."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Frederick MD
Date:May 20, 2013

Machine not sustainable

"With any coffee grinder the burrs will wear over time. This product has "Burrs ... produced as matched pairs ... hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit" yet a call to Capresso confirmed only the top burr can be replaced. Other manufacturers have engineered replaceable burr sets so I will continue my search for one that can be maintained over time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2009

Great Burr Grinder

Pros: well made, easy to clean
"I replaced my Solis Maestro grinder with this model and have been really impressed. It is very heavy and solid, beans don't get stuck (which was problem with the Solis) and it's easy to clean. Very happy with this and would recommend it highly."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 22, 2009

Jura-Capresso Grinder

Pros: good value that gets a good outcome
Cons: little difficult to thoroughly clean.
"Big improvement over the cheapo bladed types. Works like a charm all the way down to very fine setting. Makes almost no mess. Quiet operation, timer (doser) works well.
Only complaint is that it is a little bit hard to get spotlessly clean. I've only done that once in 2 months so not a big deal. Also it is possible to cross up the coffee bean container. It's easy to correct by turning the inside base to its home position using two fingers to rotate it back into position (with power off) but it could be a disaster if you force things. The thing to do is always line up the dot before installing the bucket."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The county north of Memphis
Date:September 28, 2012

Comparison to a $40 grinder

Pros: very quiet no electromagnetic interference (emi)
Cons: the grind cup has a flat bottom
Model Number: 565.04
"I have been using a Braun Coffee Grinder that I bought about 12 years ago for $40. In some ways these are very similar, both are burr grinders, both have the same number of grind settings and the grind settings are about the same. I have to use the finest setting on either machine for my Gaggia Espresso machine.
I like the Capresso better simply because it is much quieter and does not cause electrical interference with the TV set. The Braun has a loud, high frequency pitch that sets off the tinnitus (ringing) that I have in my ears.
The Capresso grinding burrs are a lot larger than the ones in the Braun and since they turn slower, there is nowhere near the "static cling" in the grinds.
The one thing that Jura could take from the Braun is the shape of the cup that holds the grinds. The Capresso has a flat bottom so if you only grind enough beans for one or two cups, it is difficult to get them out of the cup with a normal scoop. The Braun has a cup shaped (rounded) bottom so you can scoop out all the grinds. Also the Capresso scoop is pretty much useless, the handle is too short, but I use the scoop that came with my Gaggia."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:May 10, 2010

Excellent Grinder

Pros: very uniform grind, significantly quieter than other burr grinders, heavy solid cast housing
Cons: none
Model Number: 565.04
"I have used burr grinders for over 20 years and this is the best one I have found for the price point. I knew that burr grinders produced a better cup of coffee than the blender type but I was amazed at how this grinder outperformed previous burr grinders. The coffee was smooth, rich, and mellow with no bitterness. Since I was in the middle of a bag of coffee beans when I received this grinder, the difference in taste can only be attributed to this device. I still use the same coffee maker, water filter, and brand of beans. I read the reviews from others stating the marked difference in taste and was a little skeptical that a grinder could make that much difference. Needless to say, I was convinced with the first pot of coffee using this grinder. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a burr grinder!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ridgecrest, CA
Date:January 12, 2014

problem cleaning

Cons: cleaning
Model Number: #565
"I bought this last April and after taking it apart to clean it won't go back together. The bowl won't go on."
Review 18 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 18, 2013

Could be better!

Pros: well made.
Cons: could be a better design.
Model Number: 565.04
"My wife bought this for me for Christmas. The idea was to make freshly ground coffee instead of pre-ground coffee from the store. And it did provide that benefit. BUT, as is often the case, there were difficulties. First, the grinder must be cleaned every time it is used. Not a major problem but annoying just the same. Second, it grinds finer than we would like even on the coarsest setting. Third, the coffee became statically charged during the grinding process. This created a real mess when removing and pouring the coffee from the ground coffee container. Coffee flies everywhere (floor, counter, you, etc.) creating a mess requiring cleanup. Lastly, the chute that the coffee travels to the ground coffee container became jammed. This required me to remove the rotating head of the grinder to dig out the coffee in the chute. This cost me an additional half an hour for a grinding time of a couple of minutes. That soured me on this product and I simply returned it to the store. I don't need the cleaning chores that go along with this grinder no matter how well it grinds coffee."
Review 19 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 4, 2014

Quick and Easy Grind

Pros: quick for fresh expresso in the am!
"I love this grinder and replaced the Cusinart with it. It grinds quickly and I have not found it hard to clean. I found the extra fine setting does not work well with my expresso machine. The fine setting works great."
Review 20 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009

Better than hoped

Pros: does what it says
Cons: static buildup of grinds
"I was never happy with blade grinders. The grinds were either too course, too fine, or too inconsistent. I've had this burr grinder in my home for one year and been very pleased. The grinds come out even and smooth. I only keep whole beans in my home now. I even bought one as a present for my parents."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>