Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

For maximum aroma and flavor retention nothing beats the Infinity Conical Burr Grinder series.  The Metal Die-Cast Housing makes the grinder quieter, has less friction and is twice as heavy then non-metal grinders.  Computer controlled special grinding heads cut the angles and shapes of the steel burrs to within 0.1 mm precision (1/250 of 1 inch). Burrs are produced as matched pairs and are hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit. The multiple gear motor produces the slowest grinding action (< 450 rpm) resulting in highest precision grinding from Turkish fine to percolator coarse.   Heavy-duty brushed Metal die-cast housing   Extremely wide range from Turkish fine to coarse for all kinds of coffee preparation   Clearly marked fineness settings: 4 extra fine, fine, regular, & coarse; total of 16 settings   Commercial grade, solid conical steel burrs w/advanced cutting design for high precision grinding   Gear reduction motor grinds slow w/reduced noise & little static build-up   Slowest grinding speed in its class creates less friction & heat build up preserving max aroma & flavor in any grind setting   Safety lock system   Upper conical burr removable for easy cleaning   Tight fitting ground coffee container (holds up to 4 oz. of ground coffee)   See through bean container holds up to 8.8 oz. of beans   Timer can be set to grind from 5 to 60 seconds   Pulse grinding possible   Elegant, timeless and user-friendly design   Cleaning brush and measuring scoop included   Watt/Volt/Hertz: 100W, 120V, 60Hz   UL Listed   Dimensions: 10.8” x 5.4” x 7.7”   Weight: 6.1 lbs.   1 Year Limited Warranty for Household Use   Made in China For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554. Model: 565.04
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 189
(out of 189 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (189 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
11
161 of 189(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:April 14, 2015

Quality Grinder

Pros: produces a consistent fine grind
Cons: not industrial strength construction
" I bought this expressly to grind beans for an espresso machine. Other grinders I have used did not grind the beans finely enough to produce a good extraction even on their finest settings. I had problems first assembling the machine (attaching the bean hopper) in that I could not get the grinder mechanism to operate. I was on the verge of returning it but tried one more time and it functioned properly. It allows me to grind just the right amount of beans fine enough for a good extraction. I do not even have to use the finest setting. One plus would be if it allowed grinding directly into the filter basket. "
Review 2 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:April 13, 2015

Quality is So Surprising

Pros: consistent grinds, heavy and ultra quiet, no static holding onto coffee bits, grinds fine enough for espresso and beyond
Cons: none that i have found
Model Number: 565.04
" I couldn't believe you had to spend hundreds of dollars to have enough grind choices to satisfy espresso machines. I took a chance and this grinds for a perfect shot and beautiful thick crema. The grinder is heavy, handsome and quiet. No static when you pour out freshly ground beans. Haven't used my brush since I plugged it in. "
Review 3 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Tennessee
Date:April 10, 2015

Top Quality Grinder

Pros: perfect control, quiet, huge capacity, easy to take apart
Cons: hopper is so clear i keep pouring beans on the lid
Model Number: 565.04
" Grinds perfectly. It replaced a tire old Cuisinart burr grinder that did well, but not this well. Very easy to take apart and clean. It's also nice and quiet. It's not cheap plastic. You'll figure that out when you pick it up. "
Review 4 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:April 4, 2015

Nice grinder

Pros: quiet grinding, even grind, slow speed grinder
Cons: slightly bigger than expected
Model Number: 565.04
" Slightly bigger than I expected, however it works excellent. Very quiet grinder and is able to grind very evenly. Good build quality. I'm very impressed with this grinder. I would definitely recommend. "
Review 5 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Coastal GA
Date:March 26, 2015

First time grinders should be warned about static

Cons: static
" First time coffee grinder here surprised by how much mess there is in grinding your own coffee. It clings to everything and is an unbelieveable hassle to clean, its simply not worth it to me. Product seems to work fine and be reasonably well engineered aside from the static which per some online research, occurs in most coffee grinders. Humidity may be an issue. I will be returning shortly. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maine
Date:March 20, 2015

So far..... So good!

Pros: uniform grind quiet heavy duty.
Cons: initial set up instructions vague.
Model Number: 565-04
" We have only used this grinder to grind one half pound of Expresso beans, and it did a fine job. Very uniform grind, and the adjustable grind gauge is very easy. The timer dial is convenient and will just take a little while to get used to how long to grind a specific quantity of beans. The model we got is the solid cast (6 lbs), so it feels sturdy and stays in place when grinding. It is remarkably quiet compared to our previous Krupps whirly-bird grinder (Granted, this is completely different level of coffee bean grinder - not a fair comparison.) And finally, as always, Costco has the best price available for this model - and if it wasn't what we wanted, returns are always so Costco simple. ps: When you initially unpack it, make sure the conical grinder burr wheels are seated BEFORE you try to install the bean hopper. DO NOT force the hopper, it should turn very easily if seated properly. If it doesn't turn easily, check the grinder wheels. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Date:February 23, 2015

Excellent Home Grinder!!

Pros: grinds coffee beans evenly., easy to use/change grind settings, consistent, low static, quiet for a grinder, solid construction, low price
Cons: leaves quite a bit of grinds in burr section
Model Number: 565.04
" I love this grinder!! It is heavy duty and grinds coffee like a champ! I don't seem to have the static problems that some of the other reviewers have and I live in the desert. I use an Aeropress, Hario V60 and a french press, all of which require a different grind. So, I needed a grinder to suit the needs of different brewing techniques and this grinder fits the bill. I highly recommend it! At this price point, I don't know of a better grinder. I would recommend buying a better brush for cleaning. My only complaint is the amount of grinds it leaves in the burr section. Even with that being said, I still rate it 5 Stars for build, quality, price and ease of use. "
Review 8 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta,ga
Date:February 21, 2015

Meets Expectations

Model Number: 565.04
" Great budget grinder. Impressed with sturdiness and weight. Good design. Less problem with static than expected as almost every bit of ground coffee empties out when poured. Wish there was an on/off switch instead of a timer as this adds some extra needless steps. Housing is heavy and attractive but shows fingerprints, etc. but they wipe away. Love the ability to easily select desired grind. Relatively quiet. "
Review 9 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Culpeper, VA
Date:February 21, 2015

Capresso

Pros: grind percision and consistency, quietness, ease of grinding die removal for cleaning, big widemouth hopper for the coffee beans, no static ground coffee sticking to the grinder, clear instructions
Cons: none very happy with the performance.
Model Number: 565
" Excellent grind. After 9 years my Krups Burr grinder went belly up that I became accustom to for its operation and grind during my morning ritual. After the first pot of coffee from the Capresso I was sold as to what flavor I was missing. The consistency of the grind made a tremendous difference in the flavor, my wife asked what I did to the coffee she thought I changed the brand of coffee. I am an early morning riser at 0400 and the quietness of the grinder is a relief to my wife and family. The evening after dinner decaf cappuccino, excellent. I really like the feature of being able to remove the grinding die for cleaning which translates into no more stale coffee being spit out which was caught in the grinding die and tainting the flavor of the coffee. After almost a month of use I am more than satisfied with the performance and quality of the Capresso. "
Review 10 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015

exceeded expectations

Pros: relatively quiet and a consistent grind.
Cons: the switch ought to be scaled in seconds.
Model Number: 565.04
" after using A Cuisinart burr grinder for several years, I can tell you that this is so far above that product I am completely amazed and totally satisfied. I do not consider this to be loud nor do I have problems with static electricity. In short this works very well for me. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:February 19, 2015

Great coffee grinder

Pros: metal body reduced friction and heat, quality and consistent grind
Cons: static discharge of chaff
Model Number: 565.04
" I've purchased three of this Capresso conical burr grinder. 1 as a gift and 2 for me to have in different locations.
I am a coffee maven and have had many grinders through the years. This grinder is one of the best I've come across. The slower speed of the conical burr reduces the heat from friction that many other grinders impart, inclusive of commercial grinders. The extra heat will degrade the flavor and quality of the coffee grounds making a less than great brew.
The solid metal body is amazing. Good heft. You'd spend easily 4-5 times more for another metal encased grinder.
My only complaint is the static discharge of the chaff. All coffee grinders give off chaff. All of them! This one is more than the norm. In my opinion it is a nuisance. Coffee making is messy. The reviews slamming this grinder based on chaff is ridiculous.
I'd give this 5 stars for performance, speed, grind consistency and noise level. But took a star off for static.
I will continue to buy this grinder for any family or friends. For the price it is a no brainer. "
Review 12 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 18, 2015

Good Value

Pros: uniform non burn grind
Cons: requires effort to clean
Model Number: Model: 565.04, Item #387776
" First, Costco has the best price on this item. Next it does grind uniformly and slow enough to not burn the coffee. Cleaning the grinder itself takes some time, but is worth the effort. "
Review 13 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2015

over rated

Pros: quiet
Cons: does not have cup measurements for amount of coffe
" We have had Melitta and Krups coffee grinders which were much cheaper and did the same job. It is quieter but not worth the money. The coffee does not taste any different. If I had it to do over again I would have stayed with Melitta or Krups they are much cheaper. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:January 31, 2015

Great grind too much static

Pros: quiet, perfect grind, looks good
Cons: too much static, makes a mess
" This is a great grinder. I like my grounds fine for brewed coffee and this does the job and quietly. Unfortunately due to the static buildup coffee grounds fly everywhere when you pull the plastic container out. The grout on my FLOOR in front of the grinder is now dark. I am very sad but I have to return the machine. I can't live with the mess it creates. "
Review 15 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:January 29, 2015

Great machine!!

Pros: grinds evenly, quiet compared to other grinders
Cons: doesn't hold enough beans for two uses for me, a bit messy if you are using a finer grind
" I read a lot of product reviews for coffee grinders and decided on this one. I use a Melita system (pour over drip) to make my coffee, and this machine grinds so evenly, my coffee takes half the time to make. It drips through so quickly, I was amazed. I've also used the course grind for a french press and it could be a bit courser so as not to leave any grounds, but there are a few. I don't use it for expresso so I cannot comment on the finest setting. "
Review 16 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:January 29, 2015

Burr Burr Burr, Burr is the word

Pros: good grind, not as loud as some competitors, feels solid, easy to clean
Cons: static-prone plastic bin
" Having spent much more time than I should have shopping for a quality grinder under $200, I finally settled on the Capresso Conical Burr. The machine is feels solid. There's a black plastic version of it that I saw at another retailer and it just doesn't compare. The die cast model feels like its built for the apocalypse.
The grind it produces is very consistent and unless you're grinding up an entire bag, heat really isn't an issue. A light cleaning can be performed easily by lifting the top burr, while a thorough cleaning is possible by loosening a few screws. I can't call this machine quiet, but it's certainly not as loud as some of its peers and it performs it's duty at a decent pace so that the whirring noise doesn't last too long. The hide away chord wrap under the machine is nice touch worth noting.
The only flaw is the plastic pull out bin that is unusually prone to generating static which causes the inside walls to become coated with a fine layer of grind. When you pull the bin out a few small specs will annoyingly take flight.
Oh well. At this price point, I wasn't expecting perfection.
That said, this is a solid choice for your kitchen counter. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 28, 2015

Best Value for the Price

Pros: consistent grind size, very quiet, well built
Cons: a little time consuming to clean well
Model Number: 565.04
" Had settled on the 560 model when I discovered this model at Costco. I'm glad I did. the metal case adds to the stability and quietness of the grinder which is very quiet. I grind for use in a French press so have only used the coarse settings and it does this very well with a consistent grind.
The grinder is easy to use and the numbered timer is almost an exact match with the time per tablespoon of coffee beans. Static cling of the grounds is often mentioned by reviewers but I have not found it to be a big problem that a couple of taps on the plastic bin won't fix. The conical burr grinder is not difficult to clean but does require a brush and takes about three minutes to clean thoroughly.
I would recommend this coffee grinder to others. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:January 28, 2015

Great Grinder at Even Better price

Pros: fast grinding fairly quiet inexpensive
Cons: lots of static flimsy plasticky hopper and, receptacle.
" Got this so I can grind coffee beans myself, since the folks at Starbucks always give me the wrong type of grounds. Grinds beans fine enough for expresso. "
Review 19 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

Very good

Pros: quiet
" This replaces a kitchenaid coffee grinder. Does a better job than my old grinder. "
Review 20 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central PA
Date:January 27, 2015

Simple and effective

Pros: very quiet
Model Number: 565
" We had been using Cuisenart burr grinder (previously bought a Costco) but it went on strike. The Capresso infinity is a much simpler machine. The Cuisenart relies on an electricall switch with numerous safety switches to assure the ground coffee container is in place while the Capresso uses a mechanical timer and an admonition that you must always have the container fully inserted before attempting to grind coffee. This avoids the problem of those little safety switches that can fail "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>