Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

For maximum aroma and flavor retention nothing beats the Infinity Conical Burr Grinder series.  The Metal Die-Cast Housing makes the grinder quieter, has less friction and is twice as heavy then non-metal grinders.  Computer controlled special grinding heads cut the angles and shapes of the steel burrs to within 0.1 mm precision (1/250 of 1 inch). Burrs are produced as matched pairs and are hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit. The multiple gear motor produces the slowest grinding action (< 450 rpm) resulting in highest precision grinding from Turkish fine to percolator coarse.   Heavy-duty brushed Metal die-cast housing   Extremely wide range from Turkish fine to coarse for all kinds of coffee preparation   Clearly marked fineness settings: 4 extra fine, fine, regular, & coarse; total of 16 settings   Commercial grade, solid conical steel burrs w/advanced cutting design for high precision grinding   Gear reduction motor grinds slow w/reduced noise & little static build-up   Slowest grinding speed in its class creates less friction & heat build up preserving max aroma & flavor in any grind setting   Safety lock system   Upper conical burr removable for easy cleaning   Tight fitting ground coffee container (holds up to 4 oz. of ground coffee)   See through bean container holds up to 8.8 oz. of beans   Timer can be set to grind from 5 to 60 seconds   Pulse grinding possible   Elegant, timeless and user-friendly design   Cleaning brush and measuring scoop included   Watt/Volt/Hertz: 100W, 120V, 60Hz   UL Listed   Dimensions: 10.8” x 5.4” x 7.7”   Weight: 6.1 lbs.   1 Year Limited Warranty for Household Use   Made in China For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554. Model: 565.04
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
(out of 155 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (155 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
11
131 of 155(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:November 13, 2009

Every Day, I Get Misty-Eyed

Pros: solid, uniform grind
"Every time I use this machine, or really, even look at it, I wonder how I can love an inanimate object so much. My coffee doesn't only smell great when I brew it, but now when I grind it, my whole house smells magical. I pull out the basket to find beautiful, fluffy, uniform grounds and NONE of that awful staticky dust that used to adhere to the sides of my old La Pavoni Alpina grinder. I am amazed that it only costs a few dollars more than that "budget" burr grinder by La Pavoni, yet it's a night-and-day difference between the two.
Best of all, I can't believe I found such an awesome machine for so much less $$ than the coffee snobs would have me spend. I have spent so much time on coffee forums, discovering that it's nearly impossible to find an objective review. You either have the die-hard snobs who say it's simply impossible to pull a shot of decent espresso without investing $2000 in equipment. And then you have the novices who will give any piece of junk a gleaming review. If you're lucky, you can spot their "tells" and know to disregard their review in favor of a less biased one. And when you find a coffee pot, grinder, or espresso machine that is truly good quality for a good price, I guess you fall in love with it the way that I have with this grinder.
Other pros: This is a solid, heavy machine. The beans fall right into the burrs without getting hung up or stuck. This machine rarely needs cleaning. Even when I do clean it, there really isn't a lot of buildup BECAUSE IT DOESN'T PULVERIZE YOUR BEANS INTO DUST. Oily beans may present a more pressing need for cleaning. I don't use oily beans because generally, an oily bean is an over-roasted (read: burnt) bean. OK, there's MY tell, I guess I am a coffee snob after all.
I have owned and used this machine 1-2 times daily for 6 wonderful months."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:October 4, 2010

no static cling

Pros: no static cling
"We have a burr grinder in the office - static cling causes all the grounds to stick inside the cup so badly you end up losing half of them, get coffee all over yourself, etc. No so with this grinder. It must be the 3-wire plug. The grounds just slide right out of the cup, into your filter or French Press or whatever."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 20, 2009

Definitely worth the price!!!

Pros: great grinding consistency, quiet, sturdy, heavy (will not "scoot" away), attractive, great price for what you get, durable and classy metal exterior, easy to clean, less static than most due to slower grinding speed
Cons: need to lift & tap grinder to get all the grounds
Model Number: Brushed Chrome
"This burr grinder is an incredible value. First of all, it is sold most places for $140. But the only other comparable machine in this "upper-middle-class" of grinders is from Baratza and costs about $200. In addition, that machine has a narrow hopper in which the beans get stuck and need constant nudging (via a spoon handle or chopsticks, in my brother's case).
The Infinity has served my house well for about 1 1/2 years of daily use (often 2-3x a day). It's easy to clean and grinds coffee really consistently without a lot of noise or static (unless you use super-dark roast beans which have very little moisture content left in them). I've used it for everything from espresso to french press and have never been let down. The only downfall I've discovered is that about a teaspoon of ground coffee gets left up in the chute before the vertical drop into the bin, so I have to lift the back of the machine and "spank it" a few times on the side to get them to fall into the bin, so they don't get stale and come out in the next batch I grind. It's a small price to pay for such well-ground coffee and an attractive, sturdy machine that I know will last for years.
FYI, the "brushed chrome" finish is neither brushed nor chrome. It's actually more of a matte steel finish and looks really nice. (Not as bright and shiny as brushed stainless steel.)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 22, 2009

Jura-Capresso Grinder

Pros: good value that gets a good outcome
Cons: little difficult to thoroughly clean.
"Big improvement over the cheapo bladed types. Works like a charm all the way down to very fine setting. Makes almost no mess. Quiet operation, timer (doser) works well.
Only complaint is that it is a little bit hard to get spotlessly clean. I've only done that once in 2 months so not a big deal. Also it is possible to cross up the coffee bean container. It's easy to correct by turning the inside base to its home position using two fingers to rotate it back into position (with power off) but it could be a disaster if you force things. The thing to do is always line up the dot before installing the bucket."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:January 31, 2014

Major flaw

Pros: good quality grinding fast
Cons: plastic is too brittle and conducive to static
"Grinder does a good job, but plastic used for bean hopper and grounds is too brittle. I tapped it lightly on my counter to loosen residue and it broke second day after receiving it. Also, this type of plastic generates a lot of static causing grounds to stick to container and fly out when lid is opened. Returned to Costco, and bought a highly rated Bravatza Encore instead. Similar grinding capabilities but much better receptable design."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:November 12, 2013

Not for French press's coffee..

Pros: looks good on the counter, probably good for espresso grind.., quiet
Cons: not grinding coarse enough for french presses, time consuming cleanup every time you used it., limited parts e.g. no replacement bottom burrs, cleanup nightmare
Model Number: 565.4
"The machine works quietly, looks pretty good, is a cleaning nightmare as others had previously reported (it grinds in 40 seconds, but it takes 15 minutes to take the burrs out and clean the large amount of coffee remains out of the the grinding changer, chute etc). Eaven at the coarsest setting, the coffee is too fine for my French presses, and too much coffee powder remains at the bottom of the cup. Does not taste good, does not look good. I called capresso customer service, the say this is a common complaint and for French presses they recommend to return this model and buy "one of our less expensive models that don't grind so fine..""
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maine
Date:January 10, 2013

Good grind, but beware the lid

Pros: less static than my old grinder, grinds well
Cons: lid fits too loosely
Model Number: 565
"I have been using my grinder for 2 weeks. Whether you would like this grinder might depend on the way you use it. I grind at the lowest "fine" setting. I have not tried "extra fine". I do not store beans in the container. I measure the amount of coffee beans as I load the bowl and grind all of them. This avoids using the timer to grind the desired amounts. I store the grinder in a pantry and move it to the counter when needed. I do not try to use the cord storage. Having it snaked behind the grinder does not bother me. What does bother me is the lid's propensity to fall off during transit. It has a very shallow lip that fits into the bowl. I manage to knock it off about 50% of the time I move it. Today it fell all the way to the floor and broke. I'll be contacting Capresso to order one or more. They cost $1.30 plus shipping."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:October 9, 2012

Great, but a little messy

Pros: great grinder, quiet
Cons: a little static, a little messy when cleaning, too much grinds leftover in grinder
Model Number: 565.04
"Excellent grinder, only drawback is a little static which can be avoided if you wait about 20 minutes before emptying. My only peeve is that there is alot of grinds left in grinder after you are done. Cleaning is a little messy, especially with dark roasted beans - maybe that's why Capresso has directions to clean your grinder daily."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:September 11, 2012

Best grinder that I have owned

Pros: fast, quiet, consistent
Model Number: 565
"This is by far the best of several grinders that I have owned. The reduced burr speed of the Capresso makes a uniform grind that is never clumpy (I use fairly dark roast beans from Peets with some oil on the surface). My curiosity was peeked by several complaints of statically charged, flyaway grounds. I have experienced none of that. The normally higher relative humidity near the ocean dissipates static charge quite effectively. Those in dry climates will have a very different experience."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 5, 2012

Excellent grinder when used properly

Pros: uniform grind, low maintenance, doesn't heat ground coffee
Cons: the collection container can jostle loose
"I've read a bunch of negative reviews (although most are positive) and have the following points to make:
1) green coffee beans are meant to be roasted whole - there's no purpose whatsoever in grinding them green
2) if you wait for about 3-5 minutes after grinding, the static dies down in the container and you can rap it on the table and the grounds will uniformly fall to the bottom - without flying out; then emptying it into a filter is a piece of cake
3) you cannot grind frozen beans directly from the freezer, you must thaw them out first for at least an hour or so
4) it's a poor idea to grind the beans in advance and then store them as grounds - the best aroma and flavor are obtained by grinding immediately before use - so the comments about capacity and storage are ill-conceived
5) I use a Capresso CoffeeTEC pot and setting the grinder to 10 makes a full 50oz pot of coffee that's strong and flavorful; it's hard to imagine how much more one would need to grind at one time.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 9, 2011

Solid, entry-level burr grinder

Pros: solid reliable, bargain
Cons: grind not as adjustable as "infinity" implies
"We've had this grinder for about four years and it receives pretty heavy use on a daily basis. No problems other than the occasional need to clean: so a "check" on reliability from me.
It's likely this will meet the needs of many, but not all.
Certainly if all you have ever used is a blade grinder, you'll notice the difference immediately and it's a relatively cheap and cost effective upgrade. It's perfect for drip / pour-over / french press -- consistent grinds and can be fine-tuned easily.
If you're grinding for espresso, it's not as clear of a choice. The adjustment at the extra fine end of the scale used for espresso are not as fine as "infinity" might suggest, small adjustments make a big difference. It takes a little experimenting to "dial in" a grind depending on the beans you use (there's a big different between beans depending on the roast.)
My guess is that if you have a sub- $300 semi-automatic espresso machine, this grinder is very likely to work for you. You will be happy, and this is likely to be a very satisfactory grinder that will last for a long time.
If you are semi-obsessive about your coffee technique (consciously work to craft a perfect shot) and have a more expensive machine, this machine may do for you, but it's likely you'll want something more over time. But if this balances the budget on the purchase of a better espresso machine and you're comfortable that you may want to buy a better grinder in a year or two, then this also may makes sense and likely it will be a good hand-me-down grinder for a family member or friend, even after a year or two of use."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Metro Detroit
Date:June 16, 2010

Grinds Great

Pros: easy to get the exact grind you want, easy to clean, 565 is quite for this type of grinder
Cons: can't judge how much coffee you are grinding
Model Number: 565
"I think this product lives up to the hype relating to the quality and flexibility of the grind and ease of clean up. My only complaint is that the dial on front is a timer not an amount to grind. You have to run several grinds and keep a chart to know how long it takes to grind the amount of coffee you need to brew the amount you want. Seems like a silly design decision on an otherwise superb machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 4, 2010

Best Grinder EVER

Pros: fast quiet even & consistent grind
Model Number: Infinity 560
"This is an awesome conical burr grinder for those wanting to step up from a blade grinder or pre-ground beans for better, fresher coffee. Yes, it takes a little getting use to, but the effort is worth it - and did not warrant less stars, in my opinion.
I saw a 100% improvement in the quality and taste of my coffee with this grinder. It is much quieter than my old blade grinder and the grinds are very even and consistent. And now that I know how to completely empty the chamber, there is no mess.
For best results, measure out only the amount of beans you need for the pot of coffee you're about to make. Then allow the grinder to completely grind ALL of the beans - go a few seconds past the end of the grind. This will ensure that all of the grinds in the chamber have fallen. If you don't want to measure out the beans for each pot, and would rather store the beans in the holder, then at the end of your grind, simply give the grinder a quick pat or two to help make sure there are no coffee grinds left in the chamber.
Fresh ground coffee beans are a must and this grinder MORE than delivers! Highly recommended."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 25, 2009

best coffee grainder

"I have tried many different coffee grinder from cheap to expensive and this one is the best by far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:May 2, 2014

Quality product

Pros: quiet ease of use no mess
Cons: none at this time
"Replaced a Cuisinart grinder from Costco and decided to upgrade. Used for drip coffee and the Capresso performs very well. Easy to use, quiet, clean, holds plenty of coffee. Appears very heavy duty and hopefully will last a long time. Much more solid than the Cuisinart."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambria, CA
Date:April 22, 2014

Heavy duty grinder

Pros: easy to use
Cons: cleaning a little messy
"First stand alone burr grinder. Heavy duty and grinds quietly"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:January 4, 2013

Makes Great Coffee

Pros: makes great coffee, very stylish
Cons: round cord storage worthless, very messy, inconsistent timing
Model Number: 565
"When the timer setting of my previous Cuisinert grinder became inconsistent I decided to look for a new device. Since my wife and I both are coffee perfectionist I decided to research the various types available. My research showed that a gear driven model was best because of the lower temperatures generated during the grinding process. The reviews of the various products also indicated that Capresso 565 was the best in class.
Although the Capresso grinder is very attractive and makes the best coffee I've ever made at home, the attention to functional details is missing.
The excess cord storage under the grinder is virtually useless because the round cord is not held securely in place. Additionally, the cord diameter is larger than the height of the rubber feet on the bottom so every time the grinder is moved the cord pops out and makes it unstable on the counter top.
As mentioned above the grinder is very stylish. Unfortunately the stylish design of the ground coffee container make it difficult to scoop the coffee out of it. The container is held in the grinder by the split plastic base that is open to the surface below. Invariably, some of the ground coffee falls through to the counter below and makes a mess that requires cleaning.
Lastly, this model does not have a power switch or other means to prevent the grinder from starting once the timer setting is moved from the off (0) position. Because there is no way to prevent the grinder from starting, the amount of coffee ground is only somewhat relative to the timer setting. Therefore, if one turns the knob slowly and releases it more coffee is ground than if one turns the knob quickly and releases it immediately. This makes it necessary to always measure the amount of ground coffee at least if one desires consistency of taste and strength as my wife and I do. This also makes the maximum position (10) on the grinder wasteful if the coffee maker only brews a maximum of ten cups as ours does. This is because a slower turn will grind more than the recommended for ten cups and the remainder of will need to be discarded or saved for another day.
In summary, if you don’t mind holding the cord every time you move the grinder, cleaning up the counter every time you use it, and always measuring for the perfect brew…it makes wonderful coffee.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The county north of Memphis
Date:September 28, 2012

Comparison to a $40 grinder

Pros: very quiet no electromagnetic interference (emi)
Cons: the grind cup has a flat bottom
Model Number: 565.04
"I have been using a Braun Coffee Grinder that I bought about 12 years ago for $40. In some ways these are very similar, both are burr grinders, both have the same number of grind settings and the grind settings are about the same. I have to use the finest setting on either machine for my Gaggia Espresso machine.
I like the Capresso better simply because it is much quieter and does not cause electrical interference with the TV set. The Braun has a loud, high frequency pitch that sets off the tinnitus (ringing) that I have in my ears.
The Capresso grinding burrs are a lot larger than the ones in the Braun and since they turn slower, there is nowhere near the "static cling" in the grinds.
The one thing that Jura could take from the Braun is the shape of the cup that holds the grinds. The Capresso has a flat bottom so if you only grind enough beans for one or two cups, it is difficult to get them out of the cup with a normal scoop. The Braun has a cup shaped (rounded) bottom so you can scoop out all the grinds. Also the Capresso scoop is pretty much useless, the handle is too short, but I use the scoop that came with my Gaggia."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 2, 2012

Awesome product but stick with Costco CS

Pros: perfect 'sweet spot' for affordable burr grinder
Cons: manufacturer's customer service
"Upon arrival the unit failed to function due to a broken hopper (clear plastic 'bean container') so I followed the directions on the enclosed fluorescent-colored insert to "Don't Return this product; call us.." with 1-800-etc. I figured getting a new part sent was better for all parties than ordering a complete new unit from Costco.com and returning the first to a local warehouse. Long story short: don't deal with Capresso directly. The part, sent 1st class mail, never arrived. The next attempt, sent UPS '2-day delivery' took nearly a week because it took 2 days to leave the Capresso service center. When THAT part arrived, the grinder still didn't work, so (now nearly a month later) I ordered a whole new grinder anyway......which arrived fast and works GREAT! Highly recommended; love it for French Press coffee. Zero problems, not even with dust like others have mentioned. I just tap the top of the appliance at the end of each grind--and then right before the next for good measure (often just a bit of dust which I discard, stale)--to knock out any trapped particles, and it's BEAUTIFUL. Awesome gift, especially for yourself. I don't even mind the timer-as-power-switch design which actually works well in everyday use. Great alternative to the cheap-n-cruddy (original word censored by site) Krups grinders now on the warehouse shelves, which I recommend avoiding... in favor of this unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:February 18, 2012

Great grinder

Cons: no power switch
"This grinder works great. It can be a pain to clean, but any grinder is. My only complaint would be the dial to turn it on. I wish there was an on and off switch and a way to get the exact amount of grounds every time. Once I get it down I would like to store my coffee beans in there. For now I scoop out the amount of beans i will need and then grind them all, no big deal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>