Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder

For maximum aroma and flavor retention nothing beats the Infinity Conical Burr Grinder series.  The Metal Die-Cast Housing makes the grinder quieter, has less friction and is twice as heavy then non-metal grinders.  Computer controlled special grinding heads cut the angles and shapes of the steel burrs to within 0.1 mm precision (1/250 of 1 inch). Burrs are produced as matched pairs and are hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit. The multiple gear motor produces the slowest grinding action (< 450 rpm) resulting in highest precision grinding from Turkish fine to percolator coarse.   Heavy-duty brushed Metal die-cast housing   Extremely wide range from Turkish fine to coarse for all kinds of coffee preparation   Clearly marked fineness settings: 4 extra fine, fine, regular, & coarse; total of 16 settings   Commercial grade, solid conical steel burrs w/advanced cutting design for high precision grinding   Gear reduction motor grinds slow w/reduced noise & little static build-up   Slowest grinding speed in its class creates less friction & heat build up preserving max aroma & flavor in any grind setting   Safety lock system   Upper conical burr removable for easy cleaning   Tight fitting ground coffee container (holds up to 4 oz. of ground coffee)   See through bean container holds up to 8.8 oz. of beans   Timer can be set to grind from 5 to 60 seconds   Pulse grinding possible   Elegant, timeless and user-friendly design   Cleaning brush and measuring scoop included   Watt/Volt/Hertz: 100W, 120V, 60Hz   UL Listed   Dimensions: 10.8” x 5.4” x 7.7”   Weight: 6.1 lbs.   1 Year Limited Warranty for Household Use   Made in China For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554. Model: 565.04
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 151
(out of 151 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
16
123 of 151(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:November 13, 2009

Every Day, I Get Misty-Eyed

Pros: solid, uniform grind
"Every time I use this machine, or really, even look at it, I wonder how I can love an inanimate object so much. My coffee doesn't only smell great when I brew it, but now when I grind it, my whole house smells magical. I pull out the basket to find beautiful, fluffy, uniform grounds and NONE of that awful staticky dust that used to adhere to the sides of my old La Pavoni Alpina grinder. I am amazed that it only costs a few dollars more than that "budget" burr grinder by La Pavoni, yet it's a night-and-day difference between the two.
Best of all, I can't believe I found such an awesome machine for so much less $$ than the coffee snobs would have me spend. I have spent so much time on coffee forums, discovering that it's nearly impossible to find an objective review. You either have the die-hard snobs who say it's simply impossible to pull a shot of decent espresso without investing $2000 in equipment. And then you have the novices who will give any piece of junk a gleaming review. If you're lucky, you can spot their "tells" and know to disregard their review in favor of a less biased one. And when you find a coffee pot, grinder, or espresso machine that is truly good quality for a good price, I guess you fall in love with it the way that I have with this grinder.
Other pros: This is a solid, heavy machine. The beans fall right into the burrs without getting hung up or stuck. This machine rarely needs cleaning. Even when I do clean it, there really isn't a lot of buildup BECAUSE IT DOESN'T PULVERIZE YOUR BEANS INTO DUST. Oily beans may present a more pressing need for cleaning. I don't use oily beans because generally, an oily bean is an over-roasted (read: burnt) bean. OK, there's MY tell, I guess I am a coffee snob after all.
I have owned and used this machine 1-2 times daily for 6 wonderful months."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:October 4, 2010

no static cling

Pros: no static cling
"We have a burr grinder in the office - static cling causes all the grounds to stick inside the cup so badly you end up losing half of them, get coffee all over yourself, etc. No so with this grinder. It must be the 3-wire plug. The grounds just slide right out of the cup, into your filter or French Press or whatever."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 20, 2009

Definitely worth the price!!!

Pros: great grinding consistency, quiet, sturdy, heavy (will not "scoot" away), attractive, great price for what you get, durable and classy metal exterior, easy to clean, less static than most due to slower grinding speed
Cons: need to lift & tap grinder to get all the grounds
Model Number: Brushed Chrome
"This burr grinder is an incredible value. First of all, it is sold most places for $140. But the only other comparable machine in this "upper-middle-class" of grinders is from Baratza and costs about $200. In addition, that machine has a narrow hopper in which the beans get stuck and need constant nudging (via a spoon handle or chopsticks, in my brother's case).
The Infinity has served my house well for about 1 1/2 years of daily use (often 2-3x a day). It's easy to clean and grinds coffee really consistently without a lot of noise or static (unless you use super-dark roast beans which have very little moisture content left in them). I've used it for everything from espresso to french press and have never been let down. The only downfall I've discovered is that about a teaspoon of ground coffee gets left up in the chute before the vertical drop into the bin, so I have to lift the back of the machine and "spank it" a few times on the side to get them to fall into the bin, so they don't get stale and come out in the next batch I grind. It's a small price to pay for such well-ground coffee and an attractive, sturdy machine that I know will last for years.
FYI, the "brushed chrome" finish is neither brushed nor chrome. It's actually more of a matte steel finish and looks really nice. (Not as bright and shiny as brushed stainless steel.)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Frederick MD
Date:May 20, 2013

Machine not sustainable

"With any coffee grinder the burrs will wear over time. This product has "Burrs ... produced as matched pairs ... hand-assembled in Switzerland for precise fit" yet a call to Capresso confirmed only the top burr can be replaced. Other manufacturers have engineered replaceable burr sets so I will continue my search for one that can be maintained over time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 22, 2009

Jura-Capresso Grinder

Pros: good value that gets a good outcome
Cons: little difficult to thoroughly clean.
"Big improvement over the cheapo bladed types. Works like a charm all the way down to very fine setting. Makes almost no mess. Quiet operation, timer (doser) works well.
Only complaint is that it is a little bit hard to get spotlessly clean. I've only done that once in 2 months so not a big deal. Also it is possible to cross up the coffee bean container. It's easy to correct by turning the inside base to its home position using two fingers to rotate it back into position (with power off) but it could be a disaster if you force things. The thing to do is always line up the dot before installing the bucket."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 25, 2009

best coffee grainder

"I have tried many different coffee grinder from cheap to expensive and this one is the best by far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 4, 2010

Best Grinder EVER

Pros: fast quiet even & consistent grind
Model Number: Infinity 560
"This is an awesome conical burr grinder for those wanting to step up from a blade grinder or pre-ground beans for better, fresher coffee. Yes, it takes a little getting use to, but the effort is worth it - and did not warrant less stars, in my opinion.
I saw a 100% improvement in the quality and taste of my coffee with this grinder. It is much quieter than my old blade grinder and the grinds are very even and consistent. And now that I know how to completely empty the chamber, there is no mess.
For best results, measure out only the amount of beans you need for the pot of coffee you're about to make. Then allow the grinder to completely grind ALL of the beans - go a few seconds past the end of the grind. This will ensure that all of the grinds in the chamber have fallen. If you don't want to measure out the beans for each pot, and would rather store the beans in the holder, then at the end of your grind, simply give the grinder a quick pat or two to help make sure there are no coffee grinds left in the chamber.
Fresh ground coffee beans are a must and this grinder MORE than delivers! Highly recommended."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:October 9, 2012

Great, but a little messy

Pros: great grinder, quiet
Cons: a little static, a little messy when cleaning, too much grinds leftover in grinder
Model Number: 565.04
"Excellent grinder, only drawback is a little static which can be avoided if you wait about 20 minutes before emptying. My only peeve is that there is alot of grinds left in grinder after you are done. Cleaning is a little messy, especially with dark roasted beans - maybe that's why Capresso has directions to clean your grinder daily."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:September 11, 2012

Best grinder that I have owned

Pros: fast, quiet, consistent
Model Number: 565
"This is by far the best of several grinders that I have owned. The reduced burr speed of the Capresso makes a uniform grind that is never clumpy (I use fairly dark roast beans from Peets with some oil on the surface). My curiosity was peeked by several complaints of statically charged, flyaway grounds. I have experienced none of that. The normally higher relative humidity near the ocean dissipates static charge quite effectively. Those in dry climates will have a very different experience."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:November 12, 2013

Not for French press's coffee..

Pros: looks good on the counter, probably good for espresso grind.., quiet
Cons: not grinding coarse enough for french presses, time consuming cleanup every time you used it., limited parts e.g. no replacement bottom burrs, cleanup nightmare
Model Number: 565.4
"The machine works quietly, looks pretty good, is a cleaning nightmare as others had previously reported (it grinds in 40 seconds, but it takes 15 minutes to take the burrs out and clean the large amount of coffee remains out of the the grinding changer, chute etc). Eaven at the coarsest setting, the coffee is too fine for my French presses, and too much coffee powder remains at the bottom of the cup. Does not taste good, does not look good. I called capresso customer service, the say this is a common complaint and for French presses they recommend to return this model and buy "one of our less expensive models that don't grind so fine..""
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Metro Detroit
Date:June 16, 2010

Grinds Great

Pros: easy to get the exact grind you want, easy to clean, 565 is quite for this type of grinder
Cons: can't judge how much coffee you are grinding
Model Number: 565
"I think this product lives up to the hype relating to the quality and flexibility of the grind and ease of clean up. My only complaint is that the dial on front is a timer not an amount to grind. You have to run several grinds and keep a chart to know how long it takes to grind the amount of coffee you need to brew the amount you want. Seems like a silly design decision on an otherwise superb machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 9, 2011

Solid, entry-level burr grinder

Pros: solid reliable, bargain
Cons: grind not as adjustable as "infinity" implies
"We've had this grinder for about four years and it receives pretty heavy use on a daily basis. No problems other than the occasional need to clean: so a "check" on reliability from me.
It's likely this will meet the needs of many, but not all.
Certainly if all you have ever used is a blade grinder, you'll notice the difference immediately and it's a relatively cheap and cost effective upgrade. It's perfect for drip / pour-over / french press -- consistent grinds and can be fine-tuned easily.
If you're grinding for espresso, it's not as clear of a choice. The adjustment at the extra fine end of the scale used for espresso are not as fine as "infinity" might suggest, small adjustments make a big difference. It takes a little experimenting to "dial in" a grind depending on the beans you use (there's a big different between beans depending on the roast.)
My guess is that if you have a sub- $300 semi-automatic espresso machine, this grinder is very likely to work for you. You will be happy, and this is likely to be a very satisfactory grinder that will last for a long time.
If you are semi-obsessive about your coffee technique (consciously work to craft a perfect shot) and have a more expensive machine, this machine may do for you, but it's likely you'll want something more over time. But if this balances the budget on the purchase of a better espresso machine and you're comfortable that you may want to buy a better grinder in a year or two, then this also may makes sense and likely it will be a good hand-me-down grinder for a family member or friend, even after a year or two of use."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maine
Date:January 10, 2013

Good grind, but beware the lid

Pros: less static than my old grinder, grinds well
Cons: lid fits too loosely
Model Number: 565
"I have been using my grinder for 2 weeks. Whether you would like this grinder might depend on the way you use it. I grind at the lowest "fine" setting. I have not tried "extra fine". I do not store beans in the container. I measure the amount of coffee beans as I load the bowl and grind all of them. This avoids using the timer to grind the desired amounts. I store the grinder in a pantry and move it to the counter when needed. I do not try to use the cord storage. Having it snaked behind the grinder does not bother me. What does bother me is the lid's propensity to fall off during transit. It has a very shallow lip that fits into the bowl. I manage to knock it off about 50% of the time I move it. Today it fell all the way to the floor and broke. I'll be contacting Capresso to order one or more. They cost $1.30 plus shipping."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 5, 2012

Excellent grinder when used properly

Pros: uniform grind, low maintenance, doesn't heat ground coffee
Cons: the collection container can jostle loose
"I've read a bunch of negative reviews (although most are positive) and have the following points to make:
1) green coffee beans are meant to be roasted whole - there's no purpose whatsoever in grinding them green
2) if you wait for about 3-5 minutes after grinding, the static dies down in the container and you can rap it on the table and the grounds will uniformly fall to the bottom - without flying out; then emptying it into a filter is a piece of cake
3) you cannot grind frozen beans directly from the freezer, you must thaw them out first for at least an hour or so
4) it's a poor idea to grind the beans in advance and then store them as grounds - the best aroma and flavor are obtained by grinding immediately before use - so the comments about capacity and storage are ill-conceived
5) I use a Capresso CoffeeTEC pot and setting the grinder to 10 makes a full 50oz pot of coffee that's strong and flavorful; it's hard to imagine how much more one would need to grind at one time.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:February 26, 2010

Very Solid Coffee Grinder

Pros: easy to use storage hoppers/containers, no real noisy
"The housing is cast metal and very stout. It helps keep the noise as down. This unit is quieter than others I have owned. The top bean hopper is easy to fill. The bottom tray is easy to empty. The whole process creates very little mess. There is a timer that tells the machine how long to grind, it's easy to use and hopefully will last a long time. Overall I'm very happy with the product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:May 10, 2010

Excellent Grinder

Pros: very uniform grind, significantly quieter than other burr grinders, heavy solid cast housing
Cons: none
Model Number: 565.04
"I have used burr grinders for over 20 years and this is the best one I have found for the price point. I knew that burr grinders produced a better cup of coffee than the blender type but I was amazed at how this grinder outperformed previous burr grinders. The coffee was smooth, rich, and mellow with no bitterness. Since I was in the middle of a bag of coffee beans when I received this grinder, the difference in taste can only be attributed to this device. I still use the same coffee maker, water filter, and brand of beans. I read the reviews from others stating the marked difference in taste and was a little skeptical that a grinder could make that much difference. Needless to say, I was convinced with the first pot of coffee using this grinder. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a burr grinder!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:July 2, 2010

A really good value

"We have had this machine about three months and have run a lot of beans through it. Most of the beans we have ground are heavily roasted and on the oily side, but I have cleaned the machine only twice and only because I thought I should do it, not because the machine jammed up.
We have probably owned eight or ten grinders, and this is our second burr grinder - this is far and away the best. Consistent results, quiet operation and trouble-free service. We like it so much we bought one for each of our two children.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:July 7, 2010

AWFUL

"first one broke within 3 months. ordered another one so I could do switcharoo and take broken one back in new one's box, and the new one was delivered yesterday and was broken out of the box. Actually it looked like it was previously used"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northwest Indiana
Date:February 4, 2011

Superb

Pros: quiet, heavy for it's size, very even grind
Cons: wish you could preset the timerfor exact amount
"Love it. Even grind and much easier (and quieter) to use that those cheap blade grinders. Only thing I wish this grinder did, is allow you to preset the timer (and just push a "start" button)....to get the exact amount each time. But, instead you have to dial it to a given time interval each time...and the dial is spring loaded, so it's a bit difficult to be exact. As an alternative, I measure my beans each time instead, and simply grind until they're gone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Capresso Metal Die-Cast Housing Conical Burr Grinder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009

OK

Model Number: 558
"It's an OK grinder but it is a messy operation. The grind setting wheel is real hard to work and I have to dig ground coffee out of the clogged spout on a regular basis.
It is easier to use than my old Braun blade grinder and I can grind enough coffee for a 12 cup drip. The Braun takes two times to grind enough for 12 cups. Of course the Braun costs a third the price.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>