Customer Reviews for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Contrast Ratio: 1200:1 Response Time: 5ms
Average Customer Rating:
3.743 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 218
(out of 218 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
59
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
42
160 of 218(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Review 201 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:March 6, 2009

Poor Quality Sound

"Great price, horrible buzzing sound. Unhappy w tv."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 202 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF, CA
Date:April 24, 2009

A Sleeper Special

Pros: price and picture quality
Cons: remote is easy to understand but slow to switch, channel to channel when you manually input
Model Number: PROSCAN 32" LCD TV
"Don't buy-in to some of the reviewers' complaint about sound or single pixal problems. This TV has great picture and sound. At this price it is the #1 sleeper of Costco's on-line products. I have bought 5 major items through Costco's on-line products, all great, this is #1 of my purchases."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 203 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Highland Park, NJ
Date:March 25, 2009

A decent value, but not good enough

Pros: adequate picture quality works well enough
Cons: lack of adjustments, insensitive tuner, lousy sound
"I had hoped this would stack up to the slightly more expensive Vizio VW model we have, but we prefer the Vizio overall. The Proscan's picture menu doesn't have enough color adjustments to make flesh tones look right. That said, blacks look nice and deep and motion blur is minimal. Viewing angles are better than the Vizios. The panel is however very inconsistent with hotspots at all four corners and no way to tone them down. It's always running too bright, which some may like, but we get headaches.
Other high points include a nice electronic program guide for HD OTA people. It's tuner isn't as sensitive as the Vizios though so for those of us at the bottom of hills with tall buildings all around it's kind of a deal breaker. The remote IS annoying but it has some cool features (freeze, aspect button) lacking on the Viz.
All told though, this isn't as polished a product as the Vizio."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 204 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:April 30, 2009

Don't be fooled by bad reviews!

"I purchased this on 3/31 and it has exceeded all expectations! The sound, picture, remote, and over quality for the price is unbelieveable!! After I received it and saw what a great deal it was I went back to get another but it was no longer available. I can't believe it is back and I am ordering another one ASAP!!!! Forgot to add don't forget about Costco doubling the warranty!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 205 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Harrison Twp. MI
Date:May 11, 2009

New Model

Model Number: 32LC30S57
"I was shipped the newer model number 32LC30S57.
The set arrived in it's original box which had a hole punched in it's side but luckily there was no damage done. There is no packing protection, other than a plastic bag, between the cardboard box and the screen. I cannot understand why Costco doesn't place it in another protective shipping box.
I have had the TV for only 3 days but my initial impressions are:
Construction - 4.5
Fit and finish are fine. Good looking.
Remote - 5
Has logical layout. All functions available.
Menus - 5
Easy to follow. Initial setup procedure is automated.
Connections - 5
Has jacks to connect virtually any type of input device. Both analog and digital audio-out as well a headphone jack are provided.
Sound - 4
For the size of the speakers, the audio is decent - not tinny. Absolutely no audio hum as reported for the "B" model. An equalizer is provided to permit adjustment to ones preference. Not much bass but that was expected. An inexpensive 2.1 computer speaker system could be added to vastly improve the sound.
Picture - 3
Adjustments limited to brightness, contrast, saturation, hue, sharpness, and color temp. No adjustability of individual color bands or backlight.
This model does not provide access to the service menu via the 9876 code as previously reported for the "B" model.
Some motion artifacts and moir are visible with complex moving objects such as panning across stadium seats or a checked shirt.
The SD image is rather soft.
Black levels are so deep as to obliterate detail in dark objects. Brightness and contrast can be increased to improve this but results in an unacceptabally bright picture. I'm still trying to find the optimal settings.
This set, considering it's cost, is good for the den or bedroom but I wouldn't use it as my primary viewing.
Because of it's low price, I gave the set 4 stars. Had it cost over $400, it would only rate it a 3."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 206 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:L.A.
Date:March 8, 2009

Get the Sylvania model at the store instead

"A green pixel near the middle of the screen was stuck glowing. The sound quality was poor. The remote was poor. I returned it to a Costco store a couple days after I got it and picked up the Sylvania one offered in the store. Same size, about the same price. A much better unit."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 207 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stow, MA
Date:May 4, 2009

Awesome Deal - Awesome TV!!

Pros: price and excellent picture and sound.
Cons: nothing wrong here.
Model Number: 32LC30S57
"The tv arrived in just 5 days which included over the weekend. The setup was super simple with the on screen wizard. I hooked it up to cable and within 10 minutes of pulling it out of the box it ran through the setup, did the channel scan, and produced an awesome picture. This tv certainly is much better than some of those that cost much more. If you need a 32 inch HDTV this is certainly the one to buy! Shipping is super fast, tv works great, and you'll never find a better price for a quality product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 208 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 19, 2009

Terrible Purchase

Pros: costco's return policy.
Cons: buying this tv could be a gamble!
"It looks like this product is a gamble! I read all of the reviews and I decided to take a chance...I lost. The delivery was prompt, I took the item out of the box, read the instructions and then tried to use the remote to set up the TV. The remote did not work. I called Costco's Concierge service and they tried to help but to no avail. They were baffled also and without a remote it is impossible to set up. I just boxed it up, went to our local Costco and they refunded my money. I then walked over purchased a Sylvania 32". I then took it home, plugged it in, it went through some set up procedures that took about 15 minutes (I was getting a cup of coffee while it went through its set up procedures) and then my daughter was able to watch a movie (the Sylvania I purchased had a built in DVD Player). The TV works great. The best part of this purchase was dealing with Costco. I will not buy a TV or any other electronic equipment from any other store."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 209 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2009

PROSCAN 32" LCD HDTV

"the shipping was so fast .
we received this only four days after ordering.
it was sent by UPS which was very concerning to us, but to our amazement, they did not throw it out on our lawn from the moving truck, they actually stopped the truck, got out of the truck and put the package in our gated back yard, and closed the gate! awesome!
it was incredibly easy to set up. 15 minutes and we were watching the gorgeous picture and listening in surround sound on our existing system.
i dont find the buzzing that others have found, i dont think the sound system within the set is bad, as others have said, although we prefer to listen through our existing stereo system.
we have had no problem with the picutre- it is beautiful! no dead pixels like others have stated. the set itself is very nice looking and i like the stand very much.
super easy to operate. i would love to replace every television we have with this set. what a fabulous deal.
thank you Costco!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 210 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 6, 2009

Horrible sound and manufacturer support

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: horrible sound quality
Model Number: 381884 / 385582
"Horrible sound quality. Sounded like people were talking with a mouth full of cotton and like it was coming from a tin can. When you call the manufacturer all you get is an answering machine and they dont call you back. I returned it and got a Vizio that I should have gotten to begin with."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 211 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 16, 2009

For The Money, Nothing Comes Close!

Pros: price picture quality multiple av connectors
Cons: bright screen corners
Model Number: 32LB30Q
"I don't know if I just lucked out, but I've had this TV for a week, and i haven't run into any of the kind of problems other reviews had.
I've spent months trying to find a budget level 32" LCD TV. Looking at viewsonic, Vizio, and others, but I couldn't find anything with a final price less than $450.
The picture is bright and sharp. The only problem I could mention is in watching a dark scene you will notice that the corners of the screen is brighter than the center. It can be distracting at times."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 212 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pomona, NY
Date:April 25, 2009

Glad I chose this tv

"After reading numerous positive reviews on this tv, I decided to give it a try. For the price this is an amazing bargain and the tv is definitely as nice or nicer than a lot of what can be seen in the store at a far lower price. Everything went well with this purchase from the ease of ordering online to the delivery and installation. Don't hesitate to make this purchase!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 213 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles,CA
Date:July 2, 2009

Pretty Good - Thanks to Costco

Pros: lots of ports for input, 2 day shipping
Cons: probably for all lcd tvs black is not black enoug, remote is not as user intuitive.. but is just fine, input change is not adequately user friendly, first time pwr on it did not go into a setup mod, user interface ( menu) is not very mature
Model Number: 32 inch
"2 days of usage till now - pretty good in all respects. The price is fair too. In my humble opinion, for smaller apartments a TV of 32inch is a fair size. Was able to set it up in 10 mins. Costco delivered this in 2 days ( excellent) and as some of the reviews complained - no huming sound when off. Remote is indeed a bit sensitive that it has to be pointed nearly straight.. not a big issue..but could be better. Am glad that I tried this.. If this was not from Costco, would not have bought it at all.. Costco 2 yr warranty and easy returns gave me the confidence to take a risk( not Sony, Samsung Toshiba etc) and it has come out well.."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 214 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:June 29, 2009

Proscan 32" TV Excellent Air Reception

Pros: all good so far.
Cons: instruction manual could use improvement.
Model Number: 32LB30Q
"The delivery was very fast, I think four days. I waited awhile to open the box because of previous commitments .... but when I did, the setup was easy. I could lift the 32 inch without help. (Old analog 21" weighed more)
I was easily able to lift the TV (small female age 68) and put it on the stand I prepared and followed the on screen guidelines.
I read the directions (this is FREE air reception since I am only a mile or so from Mt. Wilson CA where most of the station antennas are) and called Costco Concierge a couple of times but things went perfectly and I consider that I did it myself, albeit with Costco assistance. I used my previous indoor antenna and the reception is exceptional.
Instruction manual could use improvement. I'm a manual reader and know when one is good or not.
I like the 90-return policy and two year warrenty. Costco Concierge was excellent. I plan to buy electonics from Costco now on after this experience.
."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 215 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ky
Date:March 16, 2009

Returned

Pros: good picture
Cons: bad sound
Model Number: proscan 32 in
"I was nervous about this tv since it was so cheap compared to anything else and I had never heard of this brand. I did some research and found some ratings which were not favorable. I decided to try this tv anyway since the price was so low and I needed a second tv for the bedroom. Costco's return and warranty policy sealed the deal.
TV looks fine and was easy to set up. The picture was actually preety good and I do not have hd programming. There was a dead pixel though.
The real problem is with the sound. It was just bad. Either it was muffled or it would go extremely loud even on the lowest setting. I finally decided to return the TV as I knew I could not deal the the sound issues. Also another note. It might seem Like a small issue but the power light on this TV is extremely bright and distracting. It is bright red off and bright blue on!I am going to buy a trusted brand name tv. thanks to Costco ifor being great to deal with when there are issues.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 216 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Helena, MT
Date:July 6, 2009

So far so GOOD!

Pros: easy to set up. takes no time at all, can easily change the preset picture and sound.
Cons: preset picture was only ok.
Model Number: 394472
"We waited over a month to review this TV, just to be sure that we could offer an accurate appraisal. So far, it has lived up to our expectations, and seems to be a good quality set.
For the money, we really thought that we would be getting a lesser television. On the contrary, the picture is excellent at the 1080i or 720p settings. The preset picture settings are ok, but we quickly added our own settings, which is nice to have!
We live way up in the mountains of Montana, so our options for programming are limited to the local cable company and the satellite providers. We started on the local cable company, that offers only a few HD channels. The picture on this TV was amazing on HD channels. We have since switched to Direct TV and took full advantage of the rebates. If you are looking for a lot of HD channels, this is the ONLY way to go in our opinion. The signal, even in heavy thunder storms is at it's lowest, 720p, which is as much as the cable company. Mostly, we get the full 1080i reception. Plain digital channels are adequate as well.
In conclusion, we are very satisfied with this TV, and would cheerfully recommend it."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 217 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roseville, MN
Date:March 8, 2009

If yours hums try this:

Pros: price, warranty: costco
Cons: some must be tweaked to sound good
Model Number: 32LB30Q
"Please follow these instructions, should fix the hum issue:
1. Turn tv on
2. Input mode should be tv
3. Turn volume to zero
4. With remote enter 9 8 7 6
5. A menu will appear on left side
6. Arrow down to backlight and with right arrow key move number from 81 to 83, press menu button twice,
7. Turn up volume and listen if hum is gone.
"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 218 for $50 Price Reduction Proscan 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:April 22, 2009

hum issue can be fixed

Pros: good price
Cons: hum at low volume but can be fixed
"I bought proscan 26"hdtv/w dvd, There was hum when I turned the tv on, then I followed the instructions to fix this issue. I hope my review will help others.
1. Turn tv on
2. Input mode should be tv
3. Turn volume to zero
4. With remote enter 9 8 7 6
5. A menu will appear on left side
6. Arrow down to backlight and with right arrow key move number from 81 to 83, press menu button twice,
7. Turn up volume and listen if hum is gone."
It works,no hum.
"
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11