Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Professional-Grade Power
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Review 1 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:September 28, 2011

Serious Machine: Serious Results

Pros: superb cleaning results, even better results on upholstery and cars, pro-grade construction
Cons: heavy and a bit hard to handle
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"You would think there were enough positive reviews about this machine - but here is one more.
I rented Rug Doctors for years, and if I had the chance to buy one 20 years ago I would have been ahead financially.
This is a pro-model machine. High pressure jets shoot hot solution into carpet. Powerful vacuum removes solution and dirt. The carpet cleaner has a vibrating brush to loosen dirt from carpet fibres. Does a great job at cleaning carpets. It does take some muscle, but now that I own one I don't have to do the whole house in 1 day so I can return the rental. Doing a few rooms at a time is easier on the old body.
I'm surprised more reviews didn't mention the upholstery tool for furniture and cars. We clean the carpets and fabric upholstery in our cars once per year, and the carpets and seats look brand new. Gets many of the musty smells out as well. Don't use the upholstery solution on the seats as it causes a lot of foaming and if your seats get wet when you open the door in the rain, you can get little white spots where the soap foams up. Instead use the rug shampoo - just a bit more diluted. I have been doing this for years and the seats come out great. Stay clean longer because there is not a lot of soap residue.
This thing is built like a tank. I will be leaving it in my will to my children."
Review 2 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:mountain view ,ca
Date:September 26, 2011

Disappointed overall

Pros: cleans well, powerfull suction
Cons: bulky difficult to maneuver, corners small nook areas not reachable
Model Number: mighty pro x3
"just returned the Doctor. for me, the machine cleaned well, but not better than the Bissell proheat, which is sold for 1/2 the cost. i found the Doctor cumbersome to use. very awkward to navigate around things, and under things. the bulkyness of the machine, and needing to pull it backwards resulted it slower cleaning times as compared to the Bissell. also, small nook areas and corners are not accessible due to the bulkyness. the doctor uses more water, but has more powerful suction than the bissell, so the carpet is equally wet after (as compared to the bissell). i find that the bissell breaks every couple of years, and needs to be replace. the Doctor appears to be more solidly constructed and may last longer. in my model however, the locking portion of the handle would slip into other positions, very irritating"
Review 3 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Date:September 25, 2011

WOW

Pros: great price, no assembly, the best for less
Model Number: Rug Doctor X3
"This product is another reason I shop at Costco. My family laughs at me as most things have a COSTCO item number. Purchased less than 24hours ago and I have started cleaning my carpets....exceptional, very professional and my carpets are looking great not to mention how clean and fresh they smell. Costco has come through again."
Review 4 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pahrump, NV
Date:September 19, 2011

Out, damned spot! Out, I say!

Pros: removed old pet stains., restored carpet to look new
Cons: hard to see "wet" area under bright sunlight.
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3
"If Lady MacBeth had this machine, she would not have a problem getting the spots out of her carpets. On the other hand (lol) it may not have taken the blood off her hands.
I have used this on two rooms so far, and using the urine spot remover, have restored some grungy looking areas to a very clean state.
I found that it is easier to follow the tracks if you clean without bright sunshine in the room. When we did the living room, we were washing the curtains so had a lot of bright sun in the room, which made it difficult to see where the carpet was damp. When we did the media room, following the track was much easier under room lights.
We purchased ours at the warehouse as model as the Mighty Pro X3, so I'm not sure if this is the same machine sold on line.
"
Review 5 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 17, 2011

Great product

Pros: easy to use cleanup and store, works as advertised
Cons: may put carpet cleaning companies out of business
Model Number: MP-C
"Comes out of the box ready to go to work. No setup except for adding cleaner and water. Did a great job on a quality but very soiled carpet. Easy to use without breaking your back.
Easy cleanup afterwards and it goes right back into the box for storage until next use.
Construction seems very robust so it can be expected to last.
"
Review 6 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Champlain, NY
Date:August 17, 2011

Great machine!!

Pros: heavy duty, works!
Cons: heavy (duh)
"The difference between a good quality carpet cleaner is in the weight. You need your machine to really wring out the carpet. The cheaper smaller ones are fine if you want to get out a red wine stain without getting on all fours and scrubbing for the next hour but if you want to brighten up your carpets (and essentially your home) you need something with more power (cue Tim Allen grunting)"
Review 7 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:August 7, 2011

At last - a carpet cleaner that cleans

Pros: one great machine
Cons: none
"We purchased our first Rug Doctor today, and we're delighted with the results. It cleaned our nearly hopeless downstairs carpet in one pass, and in about half the usual time. Truly amazing. We have wasted a lot of money on competitors' flimsy machines over the years - none of them cleaned carpet very well, and their cheap plastic parts all leaked or broke. The Rug Doctor is a sturdy machine, it cleans very thoroughly, the cord is long, and there are fewer tanks to have to empty and reassemble after each fill up. This is a serious rug cleaning machine, for people who want clean carpets and are tired of throwing money away on cheap machines."
Review 8 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 2, 2011

Good but could be better

Pros: it does a wonderful job of cleaning carpets
Cons: connections are awkward
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"The Rug Doctor cleans very well. In some ways, it could have been designed to be more consumer friendly. Since the cleaning solution is put into a container that is not removable, it's not easy to remove the unused solution. I just lay the machine on its side in my driveway and dump it out. Attaching the tubes for cleaning upholstery and stairs is not easy. Also, when the cleaning solution is in the Rug Doctor, you had better be a strong person if you're going to carry it upstairs. The two main reasons I decided to keep the rug cleaner is because it does a great job in cleaning my carpets, it's compact after the handle is folded down and it has a five-year warranty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:June 16, 2011

Love it!

"Love this machine. It comes assembled, the directions are on youtube of all places and it does an amazing job. After spending $200 to have my carpets proffesionally cleaned I thought, buying this is a no brainer. I'll save a ton of money in the long run. So glad I bought it! Thanks Costco for having it at such a great value!"
Review 10 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2011

Yes Doctor

Pros: really deep cleans, strong and sturdy
Cons: needs to be refilled often
"This is just what the doctor ordered for my carpet! I was a little concerned about buying this procuct since I have tried several carpet cleaners. Most seem to soak the rug but didn't really scrub or clean the carpets. The Rug Doctor is the BEST carpet cleaner I have ever owned or used. It has strong brush scrubbing action and does some serious deep cleaning. Yes. It is true that you have to refill it about 3-4 times per room. However, for the way this thing cleans I would be willing to refill it 10 times. I highly recommend this product. It seems like a well made product that will last a long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:May 3, 2011

Good Product if you Know how to use it.

"The RugDoctor is the prime rental unit available for carpet cleaning for several decades. They resissted selling to general consumers for fear of canablising their sales to franchise rental companies. The rental machines sell for upwards of $2500.
I've rented the professional grade machines dozens of times over the decades. The only signficant difference I've noticed between the rentals and consumer machines is the brush is a bit softer.
First some misconceptions. The tank hold roughly 2 gallons. You don't want to put more than that in or you could damage the machine. Not by overflowing but ending up with too much in the recieving tank. The waste water tank is doulbe the size of the clean water tank to accomdate any foaming. if foam enters the air intake inside the waste tank then your machine will be ruined. You must remember to use anit-foam and if you see anything approaching the intake shut the machine off and empty the tank.
Second, if your carpet is too wet you are going to slowly. Your carpet should be moist but dry within a day. You should be able to do about 200sq feet per tank. In addition you should do one pass with soap and one without soap to remove any soap residue from the carpet as the residue will draw dirt and your carpet will get dirty quicker.
Finally you need to use very hot water, the hotest water you can get from your tap. The hotter the water the better the cleaning. Don't over use the soap, find the balance, every carpet needs a different amount. Berbers tend to need the most as they get the dirtyest.
I've also noticed that the pump lines dry out and take much longer to draw water through if you don't use the machine often enough. Just let it run till you get a normal spray going then clean. On my last cleaning I had to put almost one full 2 gallon run through before all the jets were working.
These are professional grade machines. Much like any professional grade equpiment you need to know how to use the machine. If you are considering buying one of these you should spend the $50 and rent one for a weekend and see if it meets your needs. You also need to read the instruction manual and probably have someone that's used one show you how to use it. Controling the speed and application of cleaning solution is key to how well the machine works."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OC, Cali
Date:May 3, 2011

Worth Every Penny!

"I will start by saying I currently have three BIG 85lbs labs. Before I purchased the Rug Doctor, I would rent it from Ralphs and was very satisfied every time! When I realized it was at Costco, I decided that it was worth my time and money ($30 per rental at the local stores) to purchase it from Costco. It does wonders for my house! I've had it for almost 2 years. Now my dogs are 3 and the Rug Doctor has cleaned EVERY potty accident that has ever happened on my WHITE carpet. I can happily state my carpets are still WHITE and they made it through my 3 dogs' stage and potty training. I also own rental property and use it to clean them instead of hiring a professional carpet cleaning company. I stand by the Rug Doctor as I am very OCD about my house! You will not regret the purchase and it's also exciting to see how dirty the water can actually get after cleaning."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano TX
Date:April 19, 2011

Best Machine So far

Pros: great hand tool
Cons: could be a little bigger
"I've owned many carpet clleaner machines over the year.
Hoover was good for a few cleanning.
Bissell Proheat stop sucking after a few uses.
I rented a Rug Doctor before and was not impress with the machine. It left too much water and feel like it didnt really clean because the brush is not spinning.
I decided to give it another try.
With COSTCO return policy, the worst I can do is return the unit.
I used the hand tool to clean the cushions for my out door furniture. it is amazing. 8 cushions in less than 30 minutes and they came out very clean.
I used it on the area rugs and the result is great. I remember reading one of the review and make sure I dont over spray the carpet.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Superior Colorado
Date:April 16, 2011

Well Worth the Money

Pros: water extraction, very effective hand tool
Cons: none that concern us
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"If you have rented the Rug Doctor to use in the past, and have been happy with the results, you will want to invest in the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro. We bought inexpensive Bissell model at Costco but returned it. The water extraction on the Bissell model was very weak and basically worthless. The Rug Doctor has powerful water extraction and the hand tool is very effective. It may be noisy and heavy, but who cares? We want results!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 22, 2011

Must have for pet owners

"After renting the RugDoctor for years, we finally decided that the offer from Costco could not be passed up. We had never been disappointed with our rentals, so we were well-familiar with the RugDoctor before our purchase. Having the guarantee that this model is the same as in the grocery stores, as well as Costco's infamous return policy for peace of mind, made the decision to invest in one a no brainer. With 3 dogs, being able to deep clean the carpets whenever we want without having to schlep the RugDoctor back/forth from the store has been well worth the purchase price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Cloud, FL
Date:March 20, 2011

Awesome Carpet Cleaner!

Pros: great cleaning power, professional grade
Cons: loud
Model Number: MP-C2D
"I am very pleased with the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner. It has been WELL worth the money paid. Does an outstanding job cleaning dirty carpet. It is nice to have it to use as needed in the house. A tool well worth the investment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 7, 2011

Best Steam Cleaner I have ever purchased

Pros: works excellent, hand tool great in vehicles
Cons: price?, heavy to use if you don't have to good back
Model Number: 9531
"We have returned no less than 3 steam cleaners to Costco in the past 5 years. All of the Bissel junk etc. I finally decided to go "overboard" and get this one and am happy I did. It is quite a bit more expensive than the other ones but it appears to have the potential to last a very long time. I used the hand tool to clean my cloth seats and carpet in a 10 year old Toyota truck that has never seen a cleaning and was amazed. It pulled old coffee right out of the seat cushions and more black water than I care to share with the group :) It works very very well inside the house on the little bit of carpet and few rugs that we have. Our dogs drag their back-side now and again on the carpet, so we decided that this would be the quick fix for that nasty habit aside from frequent visits to the vet of course."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 18, 2011

Buyer Beware.

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"You will spend more time filling the water tank than getting your carpets scrubbed.
The soap tank is inadequate.
The carpet is left so wet it takes two days to dry your carpet, you can't just go back over the wet spot and pull out the water because the suction does't work unless you are pushing the dispensing button.
"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:February 8, 2011

Left marks on carpet

Model Number: Rug Doctor Pro
"This cleaner did a great job cleaning. However, I still have lines/indentations on my carpet, apparently where the brushes dug in. I have a low plush carpet and vacuuming still has not pulled the pile back up. I am returning this machine today."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 31, 2011

The Jury is Still Out

Pros: no assembly needed, carpets do look clean, appears well-made, folding handle makes it easier to store
Cons: had to refill it several times for one small room, not easy to drain the clean water tank, expensive, heavy, very loud, short handle - hard on a taller person's back
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"I received this today in hopes of using it in our house in lieu of paying for professional carpet cleaning.
I started with my daughter's 11' x 12' room, which she shares with her (stinky) dog.
First, the machine is rather heavy but it didn't require any assembly. It was awkward to fill the clean water tank, because it is not removable and I didn't have a clean/new bucket to use for mixing the cleaning solution with 2.5 gallons of hot water. (If you get this machine, buy a designated bucket for mixing your solution.) And then, even though I was cleaning such a small room (I didn't move any furniture so I was cleaning a 6'x8' area) I had to refill the clean water reservoir THREE times for that small area. What a hassle! At first I went slowly as other reviewers suggested, but I ran out of clean water so quickly that I started to go faster and it still ran out quickly! I did as suggested and had slight overlaps. I had a hard time telling if I had any clean water left but I could see that it wasn't sucking as much water in, so I rightfully assumed I was out and it did take another 2.5 gallons. Also, even though I used hot, hot tap water - the water coming out was cool so it definitely loses its heat fast.
Other reviewers have said it's hard to empty out clean water, but I didn't have that problem - I was having to refill it often. But there is no easy way to empty the clean water reservoir - the manual suggests taking the machine outside to do this - odd. Also, the dirty water tank is much, much larger than the clean water tank. I guess you can run it without water and just suck up excess wetness from your carpet.
The carpet does look better in the room, so the machine obviously works but I am wondering if it is worth the hassle and expense. It is an expensive machine, esp. when I can get my carpets professionally cleaned for around $250 (open area, whole house.) I can't imagine how long it would take to do the living room and hallway areas if a small bedroom took that much water and trips back and forth to the laundry room, etc.
We'll have to think about this one, but we are leaning towards returning it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>