Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Professional-Grade Power
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Review 1 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:November 13, 2010

Outstanding

Pros: great extraction, outstanding cleaning
Cons: heavy, hot water added manually, must refill frequently
"This machine works very well, and it's construction is very high quality. Brass compression fittings, sturdy plastics, thick hoses. You get the same Instructions as the version rented from stores. I cleaned one room and a sadly stained couch and both exceeded my expectations when dry. The machine had much better extraction than the Bissel. it is heavy, and you have to add hot water and mix solution and add manually to the machine. It does pump a lot of water into the rug or upholstery, so you do have to refill frequently. The superior extraction more than offsets the volume of water, so your carpet dries quickly. While the Bissels have the convenience of a water heater, they also have the "convenience" of dying after a couple of years and leaving your carpet wet. I've loaned out to friends who were very appreciative, which is nice to be able to do. I loaned my bissel to my mom and it died on her. Bottom line, if you're the type who is considering owning a carpet cleaner, this is it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brunswick, GA
Date:December 24, 2010

Rug Doc Rx

Pros: cleans well, easy to use
Cons: price, handheld attachment design is awkward
"I don't write many reviews, but felt the quality of this machine warranted it. This is our first carpet cleaner so I can't compare it to the other brands. We do have a hard surface cleaner from one of the other major brands and have never been pleased with it, so we didn't want to take a chance on "their" carpet cleaner.
Judging by the color of the water, this machine works. I think this, in part, can be credited to the Rug Doctor cleaning products as well. The machine is easy to use and works well on our carpet and upholstery (although the design of the handheld tool is not the best). We have two kids and a dog so it is nice knowing that we are getting some of that dirt out of the carpet. Some of the negative reviews mention the machine leaving the carpet too wet. I suspect this was caused by excess soap suds, or too many passes over an area. Ours has done an excellent job extracting water. The instructions are easy to follow, and should be followed for best results.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OC, Cali
Date:May 3, 2011

Worth Every Penny!

"I will start by saying I currently have three BIG 85lbs labs. Before I purchased the Rug Doctor, I would rent it from Ralphs and was very satisfied every time! When I realized it was at Costco, I decided that it was worth my time and money ($30 per rental at the local stores) to purchase it from Costco. It does wonders for my house! I've had it for almost 2 years. Now my dogs are 3 and the Rug Doctor has cleaned EVERY potty accident that has ever happened on my WHITE carpet. I can happily state my carpets are still WHITE and they made it through my 3 dogs' stage and potty training. I also own rental property and use it to clean them instead of hiring a professional carpet cleaning company. I stand by the Rug Doctor as I am very OCD about my house! You will not regret the purchase and it's also exciting to see how dirty the water can actually get after cleaning."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:September 16, 2010

Better than the Professionals

Pros: excellent cleaning job, easy to use, better than my "professional" job
Cons: not wide track
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"I have 5 kids and light tan carpets. Several years ago I paid a professional to clean my carpets, but there were some stains he missed. I called him and he came back to try those spots again and used a professional cleanser and scrubbed the spots, but still could not get the spots out. He told me since it was a new house it was probably tar from the road and that it would not come out. I was sad. A few months later my mom and I rented a Rug Doctor Wide Track to do the rugs ourselves (since a professional coundn't clean them to my liking.) Those "tar spots" that would "never come out" came right out!! My carpets in general looked better than the second time the pro came! All I did was use the High Traffic formula on the major pathways and go over it twice (maybe a third time to rinse again?) I was AMAZED!!! I'll never use a Professional again! For years I've rented the Rug Dr and LOVED it. Last year my mom and I bought the Rug Dr from Costco. It's still going strong and if it weren't, it DOES have a 5 yr. warranty too. The only thing I wish is that Costco would offer the WIDE track version which holds more H2O (less refilling and emptying) and covers more area in each pass. We almost bought the wide track elsewhere, but then when Costco had such a great price AND the coupn, we setteled for the regular. It is great, but it did make a BIG difference on how many times you had to empty and refill it compared to the Wide Track.."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 7, 2011

Best Steam Cleaner I have ever purchased

Pros: works excellent, hand tool great in vehicles
Cons: price?, heavy to use if you don't have to good back
Model Number: 9531
"We have returned no less than 3 steam cleaners to Costco in the past 5 years. All of the Bissel junk etc. I finally decided to go "overboard" and get this one and am happy I did. It is quite a bit more expensive than the other ones but it appears to have the potential to last a very long time. I used the hand tool to clean my cloth seats and carpet in a 10 year old Toyota truck that has never seen a cleaning and was amazed. It pulled old coffee right out of the seat cushions and more black water than I care to share with the group :) It works very very well inside the house on the little bit of carpet and few rugs that we have. Our dogs drag their back-side now and again on the carpet, so we decided that this would be the quick fix for that nasty habit aside from frequent visits to the vet of course."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Avondale, AZ
Date:July 7, 2009

Best Carpet Cleaner I've Ever Used

Pros: powerful excellent deep cleaning. easy to use., built to last. bigger tanks than any other brands., fewer refill trips. virtually no cleanup., awesome!
Cons: none
"I was hesistant at the price but compared many models and read countless reviews. This unit does all it says and it's obvious it is built to last! Five year warranty says it all. Amazing power. Cleaned most areas in one pass. I did, however, go over the traffic areas more than once, but boy oh boy did it clean thoroughly! Better than the last "professional" job I had done! Use the green bottle, it lasts much longer and cleans better than the red bottle, although both did excellent. Green bottle only cost a dollar more but covered 3x the area. This is without a doubt the last carpet cleaner you'll ever need! Buy it!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:May 3, 2011

Good Product if you Know how to use it.

"The RugDoctor is the prime rental unit available for carpet cleaning for several decades. They resissted selling to general consumers for fear of canablising their sales to franchise rental companies. The rental machines sell for upwards of $2500.
I've rented the professional grade machines dozens of times over the decades. The only signficant difference I've noticed between the rentals and consumer machines is the brush is a bit softer.
First some misconceptions. The tank hold roughly 2 gallons. You don't want to put more than that in or you could damage the machine. Not by overflowing but ending up with too much in the recieving tank. The waste water tank is doulbe the size of the clean water tank to accomdate any foaming. if foam enters the air intake inside the waste tank then your machine will be ruined. You must remember to use anit-foam and if you see anything approaching the intake shut the machine off and empty the tank.
Second, if your carpet is too wet you are going to slowly. Your carpet should be moist but dry within a day. You should be able to do about 200sq feet per tank. In addition you should do one pass with soap and one without soap to remove any soap residue from the carpet as the residue will draw dirt and your carpet will get dirty quicker.
Finally you need to use very hot water, the hotest water you can get from your tap. The hotter the water the better the cleaning. Don't over use the soap, find the balance, every carpet needs a different amount. Berbers tend to need the most as they get the dirtyest.
I've also noticed that the pump lines dry out and take much longer to draw water through if you don't use the machine often enough. Just let it run till you get a normal spray going then clean. On my last cleaning I had to put almost one full 2 gallon run through before all the jets were working.
These are professional grade machines. Much like any professional grade equpiment you need to know how to use the machine. If you are considering buying one of these you should spend the $50 and rent one for a weekend and see if it meets your needs. You also need to read the instruction manual and probably have someone that's used one show you how to use it. Controling the speed and application of cleaning solution is key to how well the machine works."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:June 27, 2009

Wow Does This Thing Clean !!!

Pros: very easy to use
Cons: a little on the heavy side but it is well worth it
Model Number: Mighty pro ( blue one )
"Have two Great Danes and nobody takes their shoes off when walking on carpet. We had a bissell proheax x2 for a year and thought it was a good cleaner. Well I had no clue what a good carpet cleaner was until this one came along. I give it 5 stars just because I can't go any higher. This thing is quick, sucks up water like a champ and with the vibrating brushes it really deep cleans. I know it's a little more pricey ( well more than double ), than the bissell but if you can make the sacrifice you will not regred it. This is really commercial grade and it will outlast and outperform any other carpet cleaner. I'm not one to post reviews but because I am so impressed about the performance, I just had to tell the world. hope this helps. Oh yeah I forgot, if you have stairs you will love the stair and upholstery tool, you will finally know what clean stairs look like."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:February 16, 2010

Good, but not excellent

Pros: good scrubber design, solid construction, big dirty water tank
Cons: leaves the carpet too wet, have to lift-and-move
"I already have an old Hoover SteamVac that is about 10 years old, and was impressed by the suction rating on the RugDoctor's box. So, I decided to give it a try.
The brush system of the RugDoctor is a motorized back-and-forth mechanism. It works better than the spin brush of my older SteamVac. One pass cleans more.
The dirty water tank of the RugDoctor is also a bit easier to empty compared to that of the older SteamVac.
However, the RugDoctor leaves the carpet much wetter than the SteamVac. I know this because I could use the SteamVac to "clean up" after the RugDoctor, and collect quite a bit of water. This was surprising and disappointing, considering the superb suction power of the RugDoctor. As an engineer, I wanted to find out why that is the case.
It has to do with the shape of the suction nozzle. The shape of the SteamVac's suction nozzle is better shaped, so it can such more water from the carpet despite a lower suction rating.
Since I have to keep my SteamVac to make the carpet dry faster, I just found it difficult to also keep the much more expensive RugDoctor. To compensate for the lack of cleaning power, it is cheaper to use a floor polisher/scrubber (Hoover used to make one)."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodland Hills, Utah
Date:January 12, 2011

Why did I wait so long ???

Pros: easy easy to use !!, great instructions on line video, sucks up tons of water, leaves carpets lookin new again, adjustable handle to fit everyones needs, easy to drain waste water, easy to clean after finished
Cons: not sure how to empty clean water if not all used
Model Number: Rug Doctor Professional Grade Mighty Pro
"I have been putting off buying the Rug Doctor Carpet Cleaner thinking the cost was a little high. I recently decided to go with the Bissel beacause I had one for about 5 years and it seemed to do okay. After doing one room I realized it just was not sucking up enough water. I was worried about the smell of mildew if I didn't get the water back out. Sure enough about a week later the smell appeared. I took the Bissel back to Costco and purchased the Rug Doctor. I recleaned the room and was suprised at the dirty water it was pulling out. I continued to clean all of my rooms after that and was so amazed how black my return water was. Here I always felt I was a fantastic housekeeper, vacuming on a regular basis and limited shoes off at the door. I am so impressed with the quality of this that I wish I had not waited so long. I will be ordering the tile floor cleaner from the rug doctor website, no more mops for me. I cleaned my carpet on the stairs and the hose was long enough to reach from top to bottom. I was happy with the results. I fell like my whole house has new carpet again. I am sold on the Rug Doctor and with the high quality that this cleaner was made with I know I will have it for a very long time. Thank you Costco for offering a fabulous deal and always standing behind the products you sell."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:June 30, 2010

It's a beast!

Pros: sucks up the water incredibly well., compact with a long accessory hose, built like a tank, easy to add water too., it's very simple
Cons: wish it held more water., hard to get under some items
Model Number: 267156 Might Pro
"We have had many Hoover Pro-Heat cleaners over the years. Dogs and young children makes it a necessity. Our carpets were not coming clean anymore. I rented a Rug Doctor to see if it made a difference based on a friends recommendation who does commercial carpet cleaning.
It worked great. Things of significance: Since it doesn't use a beater bar, we weren't pulling up a lot of the carpet with the shampooer. The key is to go slow and be patient. Some people mentioned that they felt it too long for the carpets to drive. We moved the cleaner at about 1 ft per 3 seconds. I would then go back over it again with just the vacuum. Talking with Rug Doctor they said that is what is recommended, as you will not see any more water come up, but it gets rid of the moisture. Carpets were dry in an hour. If you have berber, it will tell you in the manual that they do take longer to dry. Bottom line on this is because it is sucking water at a much higher pressure, its doing a much better job. We were really impressed.
Another nice thing was that you have an 800 number to Rug Doctor for questions. It helped. The upholstery kit is really heavy duty. All the compression fittings are brass, very heavy duty.
I did the car tonight, Nasty stuff came our, and it was dry in about an hour.
Very impressed, Costco clearly has the best deal on this machine. Our Hoovers wear out after two years because of heavy use, I don't know what is going to break on this. It's a beast!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:April 7, 2009

Powerful Home Cleaner

Pros: heavy duty, easy to use, use it more often for small messes.
"This machine is the same as the larger machines for rent at supermarkets and Home and Garden Stores. You will use it everywhere...for general dirt in carpet, pet stains, sucking up dirt and messes on car seats, car upholstery and carpet, etc. The accesory hose is powerful for getting into small places. At $25 average rental cost per day, , all you need is to use it 8 or 9 times, and its paid for. You will surely be loaning it out to extended family, friends and neighbors! Why keep renting?"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dearborn, MI
Date:September 22, 2009

Cleans very well but will soak-up your carpet

Pros: cleans well, costco return policy and customer service
Cons: can not maneuver and soaks up the carpet too much!, frequent refilling
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"Received it about a week ago and used it the next day. I have a berber carpet. It cleans very well and better than any other cleaner I have used, however, it will soak up your carpet very bad. In my case, it took almost 5 days to dry up completely using several fans. My wife believes it has a problem with some sort of leakage but I don't think so. I am starting to see spots from the carpet's backing material that don't seem to be going away. I do not recommend it if you have a berber carpet. It works best if you have an area rug or a runner. Also, you can not maneuver it. you can only pull it backwards and must use the hand held attachment for corners and where the carpet meets your hardwood floor. I think I am going to take it back becasue I am not willing to wait another 5 days before my carpet dryes next time I use. My wife is begining to believe our carpet is starting to smell a little ands wants the hardwood floor back again!"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:December 18, 2010

Fantastic!!

Pros: cleans well good machine, easy to clean after use
Cons: hand held attachments don't really work on stairs
Model Number: MP-C2D
"Bought this about a year and a half ago. I absolutely love it!! recommend it highly. It does a fantastic job on the carpets, and is easy to clean. It uses a lot of cleaner. There are 2 drawbacks.If you want to just extract the water while the brush is agitating you have to wait until the solution tank is empty, there is no way to agitate and extract without dumping more solution onto the carpets. The second drawback is that it doesn't do stairs well. It has the hose attachment, but doesn't do a good job."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:September 11, 2010

Extradinarily Simple, Extraordinarily Good

Pros: very simple and sturdy
Cons: incredibly heavy
"I have a dog and cat - say no more - and I've had a number of carpet cleaners over the years to deal with them - a Hoover and a couple of Bissels.
Invariably the Hoovers and Bissels (not cheap models, BTW) stop working effectively within the first year. It doesn't matter how well you maintain/clean them, they simply don't effectively remove the dirt or soap from the carpets.
That may also be the case with the Rug Doctor - it remains to be seen since I've only had it a couple of weeks - but already I can see a clear difference in the ability to clean carpets and in the sturdiness of construction.
Rather than rely on the marketing gimmickry of the aforementioned companies (e.g., barely visible soil, light soil, medium soil, medium heavy soil, kinda heavy soil, rinse - well, you get the point), this machine has one setting and one setting only - clean. It's your choice whether you want to use soap or water alone (rinse). Rug cleaning isn't (and shouldn't be) rocket science. It's up to you to determine the mix of water and soap to put in the machine.
All you need is a good brush mechanism, sprayer, and suction motor, and the Rug Doctor has all of these aplenty.
Sure, it costs a lot. But it provides professional quality cleaning which will pay for itself in the equivalent of two carpet cleaning service visits.
The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner is very well constructed, with heavy duty plastics and brass fixtures.
If you can part with the cash, I highly recommend it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 22, 2011

Must have for pet owners

"After renting the RugDoctor for years, we finally decided that the offer from Costco could not be passed up. We had never been disappointed with our rentals, so we were well-familiar with the RugDoctor before our purchase. Having the guarantee that this model is the same as in the grocery stores, as well as Costco's infamous return policy for peace of mind, made the decision to invest in one a no brainer. With 3 dogs, being able to deep clean the carpets whenever we want without having to schlep the RugDoctor back/forth from the store has been well worth the purchase price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2010

Amazing and easy to use, even for wimpy me

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"Okay first of all, I have a 2 year old which means I am battling constant mess. He also has major asthma and allergies so he gets into coughing fits to the point where he throws up from the gagging. This means the carpets are constantly destroyed, and also because of his asthma they need to be constantly cleaned (like once a week) to get rid of dustmites, pollen, etc and everything that gets tracked in.
Secondly, I am a wimp and when I opened the box for this thing I about had a heart attack. I was afraid it was going to be a monster to push, confusing to use, foaming all over the place if I used eco natural (i.e. non-irritating for my kid's frail lungs) carpet soap instead of rug doctor formula. I was completely wrong, hurray!
It's already put together - you simply take it out and pull down one little bar to pop out the water catch. I used a completely different all natural carpet cleaning soap from my local allergy supply store, mixed a few ounces with a few gallons of water in a bucket and poured it right in. Took me all of 2 minutes - snapped the water catch back into place like a pro (and I am usually the clown breaking everything we buy) and it was already prepared to clean. All I had to do was push a button and pull it along the carpet at a pretty quick pace - everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) came out. I was floored. We are talking about ground-in playdoh and pulverized crackers and old milk secretly spilled in corners of the playroom. Not to mention the slight smell of throwup that still lingers unless you get the carpet professionally cleaned (chaching, $200 a pop for that).
So for my 500 bucks for this awesome machine I completely cleaned my carpets just as well as calling in the professionals, AND it was really easy. It didn't take long at all - what I learned right away though was that you don't have to drag it over the carpet as slowly as lower quality models (like the 300 bissels and hoovers that I had owned and destroyed previously that did 1/3 of the job of cleaning). You can zoom it along at a nice little clip and it really sucks so much junk out of the carpet - it's very efficient so it doesn't need to be pulled superslow, and this way the carpets were dry within 6 hours with the windows open and a couple fans. I can easily do the entire house each week (as recommended for kids with asthma), and I had no issues with the machine foaming at all.
The machine will pay for itself and then some in 3 uses. Worth EVERY penny!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 23, 2009

Worth the Extra Cost

Pros: durable, cleaning, great hand tool
Cons: heavy
"We've tried virtually every brand of carpet cleaner, and this one is by far the best. Ours is going on 2 years old and still running strong. You will make back the difference in cost with carpet and machine longevity."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:October 20, 2009

Great carpet cleaner

Pros: heavy duty construction, 5 year warranty
Cons: awkward in tight areas
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro was ready to go right out of the box - no assembly required. It did a great job cleaning a variety of carpets throughout my home - berber, level loop, and dense carpets. It removed most of the water but I needed a second pass for some rugs. I also used a portable fan to speed drying. Large cleaning solution and recovery tanks are a big plus! Stair cleaning with hose and attachment was very effective.
I plan to try optional Floor Doctor attachment for tile floors.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago NW Suburbs
Date:April 29, 2010

Nice Machine-with suggestions

Pros: powerful relatively compact with handle folded
Cons: no seperate water/solution tank or rinse ability, difficult to tell once solution is gone
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"Bought this as a replacement for Bissell cleaner which kept failing after about 3 years of service. The Mighty Pro has great cleaning capability BUT as others have said it is hard to tell when solution tank is empty, and seems to run out rather quickly. I would like a capability to rinse with plain water vs. loading solution tank with plain water and going over area already cleaned. Overall though I would purchase again for the cleaning power of this machine. My dog threw up something in several places that was black like dirt on cream carpet! I thought for sure it would stain, but I grabbed the pre-treater 1st and sprayed the mess, then while that was soaking I loaded the Mighty Pro and went to work on the carpet - took it out with absolutely no marks remaining AND where one thought the floor was clean required entire carpet to be cleaned since there was such a difference between the cleaned area and adjacent areas."
1 2 3 4 next>>