Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Professional-Grade Power
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Review 21 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:June 27, 2009

Wow Does This Thing Clean !!!

Pros: very easy to use
Cons: a little on the heavy side but it is well worth it
Model Number: Mighty pro ( blue one )
"Have two Great Danes and nobody takes their shoes off when walking on carpet. We had a bissell proheax x2 for a year and thought it was a good cleaner. Well I had no clue what a good carpet cleaner was until this one came along. I give it 5 stars just because I can't go any higher. This thing is quick, sucks up water like a champ and with the vibrating brushes it really deep cleans. I know it's a little more pricey ( well more than double ), than the bissell but if you can make the sacrifice you will not regred it. This is really commercial grade and it will outlast and outperform any other carpet cleaner. I'm not one to post reviews but because I am so impressed about the performance, I just had to tell the world. hope this helps. Oh yeah I forgot, if you have stairs you will love the stair and upholstery tool, you will finally know what clean stairs look like."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OC, Cali
Date:May 3, 2011

Worth Every Penny!

"I will start by saying I currently have three BIG 85lbs labs. Before I purchased the Rug Doctor, I would rent it from Ralphs and was very satisfied every time! When I realized it was at Costco, I decided that it was worth my time and money ($30 per rental at the local stores) to purchase it from Costco. It does wonders for my house! I've had it for almost 2 years. Now my dogs are 3 and the Rug Doctor has cleaned EVERY potty accident that has ever happened on my WHITE carpet. I can happily state my carpets are still WHITE and they made it through my 3 dogs' stage and potty training. I also own rental property and use it to clean them instead of hiring a professional carpet cleaning company. I stand by the Rug Doctor as I am very OCD about my house! You will not regret the purchase and it's also exciting to see how dirty the water can actually get after cleaning."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:mountain view ,ca
Date:September 26, 2011

Disappointed overall

Pros: cleans well, powerfull suction
Cons: bulky difficult to maneuver, corners small nook areas not reachable
Model Number: mighty pro x3
"just returned the Doctor. for me, the machine cleaned well, but not better than the Bissell proheat, which is sold for 1/2 the cost. i found the Doctor cumbersome to use. very awkward to navigate around things, and under things. the bulkyness of the machine, and needing to pull it backwards resulted it slower cleaning times as compared to the Bissell. also, small nook areas and corners are not accessible due to the bulkyness. the doctor uses more water, but has more powerful suction than the bissell, so the carpet is equally wet after (as compared to the bissell). i find that the bissell breaks every couple of years, and needs to be replace. the Doctor appears to be more solidly constructed and may last longer. in my model however, the locking portion of the handle would slip into other positions, very irritating"
Review 24 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 7, 2011

Best Steam Cleaner I have ever purchased

Pros: works excellent, hand tool great in vehicles
Cons: price?, heavy to use if you don't have to good back
Model Number: 9531
"We have returned no less than 3 steam cleaners to Costco in the past 5 years. All of the Bissel junk etc. I finally decided to go "overboard" and get this one and am happy I did. It is quite a bit more expensive than the other ones but it appears to have the potential to last a very long time. I used the hand tool to clean my cloth seats and carpet in a 10 year old Toyota truck that has never seen a cleaning and was amazed. It pulled old coffee right out of the seat cushions and more black water than I care to share with the group :) It works very very well inside the house on the little bit of carpet and few rugs that we have. Our dogs drag their back-side now and again on the carpet, so we decided that this would be the quick fix for that nasty habit aside from frequent visits to the vet of course."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca
Date:November 29, 2010

Most Powerful machine

Pros: it does what it advertise and demo, bigger tank of solution and dirty water, very strong motor to pick up dirt, very robust machine, longer warranty period
Cons: hard to manuver around the house, little to short
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"We have a day care in our home. I used many carpet cleaner in the past, as I recalled, I had up to (3) different brands and I thought Hoover was the best in all. My past experience was my last carpet cleaner only picked up 50 percent of liquid poured down on carpet or less and it broke down after less than 3 times in used. I was very dissapointed. I was starting to use Rug Doctor and I love it after the outcome over the Thanksgiving holiday. It works perfectly as it advertisement and demo. I only pull the machine back one time and it sucks more then 80 percent of liquid. My carpet looks almost like new. I'm serious about what I wrote here ... I rarely do this. The down side of the Rug Doctor is it not flexible to manuver but it look robust and very powerful motor. Thank, I found Rug Doctor."
Review 26 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pahrump, NV
Date:September 19, 2011

Out, damned spot! Out, I say!

Pros: removed old pet stains., restored carpet to look new
Cons: hard to see "wet" area under bright sunlight.
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3
"If Lady MacBeth had this machine, she would not have a problem getting the spots out of her carpets. On the other hand (lol) it may not have taken the blood off her hands.
I have used this on two rooms so far, and using the urine spot remover, have restored some grungy looking areas to a very clean state.
I found that it is easier to follow the tracks if you clean without bright sunshine in the room. When we did the living room, we were washing the curtains so had a lot of bright sun in the room, which made it difficult to see where the carpet was damp. When we did the media room, following the track was much easier under room lights.
We purchased ours at the warehouse as model as the Mighty Pro X3, so I'm not sure if this is the same machine sold on line.
"
Review 27 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 25, 2011

Great little cleaner

Pros: quick to learn/easy to store
Cons: wished local costco stocked it. had to wait 1 wk
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"I did my research prior to making this purchase and was glad I did. I have a lot of berber throughout the house and was hesitant for years to clean it as i did not want the "factory" stain remover taken off. So I could not pass up the great deal price Costco ran. The machine setup in minutes. I was literally doing the carpets 8 minutes after I unpacked the unit (that is because it took a few minutes to get hot water). I was amazed at the BLACK water that I dumped out of the collector bin. The carpets were noticeably cleaner in minutes. I did have to empty and refill often but still completed 3 large rooms in about 1.5 hrs. Can't wait to clean again. Now that I own this, I will clean about twice a year."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano TX
Date:April 19, 2011

Best Machine So far

Pros: great hand tool
Cons: could be a little bigger
"I've owned many carpet clleaner machines over the year.
Hoover was good for a few cleanning.
Bissell Proheat stop sucking after a few uses.
I rented a Rug Doctor before and was not impress with the machine. It left too much water and feel like it didnt really clean because the brush is not spinning.
I decided to give it another try.
With COSTCO return policy, the worst I can do is return the unit.
I used the hand tool to clean the cushions for my out door furniture. it is amazing. 8 cushions in less than 30 minutes and they came out very clean.
I used it on the area rugs and the result is great. I remember reading one of the review and make sure I dont over spray the carpet.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 2, 2011

Good but could be better

Pros: it does a wonderful job of cleaning carpets
Cons: connections are awkward
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"The Rug Doctor cleans very well. In some ways, it could have been designed to be more consumer friendly. Since the cleaning solution is put into a container that is not removable, it's not easy to remove the unused solution. I just lay the machine on its side in my driveway and dump it out. Attaching the tubes for cleaning upholstery and stairs is not easy. Also, when the cleaning solution is in the Rug Doctor, you had better be a strong person if you're going to carry it upstairs. The two main reasons I decided to keep the rug cleaner is because it does a great job in cleaning my carpets, it's compact after the handle is folded down and it has a five-year warranty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:August 7, 2011

At last - a carpet cleaner that cleans

Pros: one great machine
Cons: none
"We purchased our first Rug Doctor today, and we're delighted with the results. It cleaned our nearly hopeless downstairs carpet in one pass, and in about half the usual time. Truly amazing. We have wasted a lot of money on competitors' flimsy machines over the years - none of them cleaned carpet very well, and their cheap plastic parts all leaked or broke. The Rug Doctor is a sturdy machine, it cleans very thoroughly, the cord is long, and there are fewer tanks to have to empty and reassemble after each fill up. This is a serious rug cleaning machine, for people who want clean carpets and are tired of throwing money away on cheap machines."
Review 31 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 15, 2010

And I thought Bissell was a quality cleaner

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: no cons
Model Number: MP-C20
"I purchased a bissell carpet cleaner two years ago which turned out to be the biggest headache ever. The pump is known for clogging and it clogged after the 1 year warranty. No repair shop with warranted repairs would repair it. I purchased the Mighty Pro from Costco and began cleaning one of the carpets that I most frequently cleaned with the Bissell. The waste water was as dark as chocolate milk (with extra chocolate). The old saying "you get what you pay for" is clearly true in this case. Depending on your cleaning speed will directly impact the number of tank refills for an area. The five year warrantly is a major plus."
Review 32 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Avondale, AZ
Date:July 7, 2009

Best Carpet Cleaner I've Ever Used

Pros: powerful excellent deep cleaning. easy to use., built to last. bigger tanks than any other brands., fewer refill trips. virtually no cleanup., awesome!
Cons: none
"I was hesistant at the price but compared many models and read countless reviews. This unit does all it says and it's obvious it is built to last! Five year warranty says it all. Amazing power. Cleaned most areas in one pass. I did, however, go over the traffic areas more than once, but boy oh boy did it clean thoroughly! Better than the last "professional" job I had done! Use the green bottle, it lasts much longer and cleans better than the red bottle, although both did excellent. Green bottle only cost a dollar more but covered 3x the area. This is without a doubt the last carpet cleaner you'll ever need! Buy it!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2011

Yes Doctor

Pros: really deep cleans, strong and sturdy
Cons: needs to be refilled often
"This is just what the doctor ordered for my carpet! I was a little concerned about buying this procuct since I have tried several carpet cleaners. Most seem to soak the rug but didn't really scrub or clean the carpets. The Rug Doctor is the BEST carpet cleaner I have ever owned or used. It has strong brush scrubbing action and does some serious deep cleaning. Yes. It is true that you have to refill it about 3-4 times per room. However, for the way this thing cleans I would be willing to refill it 10 times. I highly recommend this product. It seems like a well made product that will last a long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bend, OR
Date:June 16, 2010

Great cleaner!

Pros: very durable and well made
Cons: goes through the cleaning solution fast!
"This is the best carpet cleaner I have ever had. I was wary because some of the reviews said it left berber carpet very wet, and my whole house has berber. But the Hoover I had was no longer working and trying to clean up messes from 4 kids by hand was ridiculous. This machine arrived and I was impressed by the solid construction. Metal parts, real hoses, replaceable clamps, etc., all mean it will hold up in the long run. Used it twice, once in the hallway and bedroom, second time on the stairs. The carpet looks brand new and tracked in spots and wear patterns are gone. Carpets dried quickly, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 22, 2011

Must have for pet owners

"After renting the RugDoctor for years, we finally decided that the offer from Costco could not be passed up. We had never been disappointed with our rentals, so we were well-familiar with the RugDoctor before our purchase. Having the guarantee that this model is the same as in the grocery stores, as well as Costco's infamous return policy for peace of mind, made the decision to invest in one a no brainer. With 3 dogs, being able to deep clean the carpets whenever we want without having to schlep the RugDoctor back/forth from the store has been well worth the purchase price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2009

Disappointed

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"This is a great extractor if you have a square room with no furniture. It is impossile to go around or under furniture and get int o corners without a struggle. I had to move all the furniture out of the room rather than go around it, which was NOT FUN! It did not remove ANY spots....even ones that were easily removed with a damp towel. The carpet was sopping wet and took over 24 hours to dry. My cheap Bissel did a better job. On the plus side, it does hold more water than other home models but I still had to refill twice just to do two very small rooms. I"
3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 10, 2010

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Pros: easy to use., works great.
Cons: none
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"Unit did a fantastic job. Costo had the lowest price. Would recommend to a friend. The stair and upolestry attachment work great. Well worth the money. Had Stanley Steamer do the job months ago for the same price of this unit and when they left the rugs basically looked the same. Was very dissappointed with Stanley Steamer but the rug doctor cleaned the rugs and took out the dark dirty areas of our rugs. From now on I will clean our rugs myself with this unit and save the money. No longer have to pay for someone else not performing as expected."
Review 38 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:December 17, 2010

I am in love!

Pros: fast effective
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"I have owned many carpet scrubbers in the past. This is by far the best I have ever owned. My carpets look like they were professionally cleaned.
And the best part? It's significantly faster than other machines I have used. Instead of moving slowly, you are instructed to go at one foot per second, which is much faster than with other machines. If you follow that instruction, you will find that your carpet dries in a very reasonable amount of time. Mine was almost completely dry in 12 hours.
I would highly recommend this machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:May 20, 2010

Buy it Now...you already waited too long!

Pros: compact, easy to use, comes with all attachments you need, amazing price
"This is the BEST carpet cleaner you will ever own. We have purchased two other brands of carpet cleaners and have thrown both of them away after about 2 years. Crazy. I just finished cleaning my carpets with this machine and I am dancing a jig. Had the carpets professionally cleaned a few months ago and this did a better job. I cannot sing its praises enough. Have you bought it yet? Just press the add to cart button and you are on your way to clean carpets in your house, car, you will try to find carpets to clean!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 7, 2010

This is a TERRIBLE Carpet Cleaner

Pros: none
Cons: bulky, difficult to maneuver, difficult to see how much cleaner fluid is left, frequent water changes, expensive, heavy
"I'm amazed that others have rated this carpet cleaner with 4 or 5 stars. I have an upright Hoover Carpet Cleaner that is 10 times better than this one. I used it on a lightly soiled carpet and I had to go over it time and time again, and even then it wasn't clean enough. There is a small reservoir that you constantly have to keep checking. I got so fed up, I pulled out my Hoover Carpet Cleaner and completed the task at hand. This is noisy, bulky, difficult to maneuver. It went back to Costco the same day!"
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>