Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Professional-Grade Power
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Review 41 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Superior Colorado
Date:April 16, 2011

Well Worth the Money

Pros: water extraction, very effective hand tool
Cons: none that concern us
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"If you have rented the Rug Doctor to use in the past, and have been happy with the results, you will want to invest in the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro. We bought inexpensive Bissell model at Costco but returned it. The water extraction on the Bissell model was very weak and basically worthless. The Rug Doctor has powerful water extraction and the hand tool is very effective. It may be noisy and heavy, but who cares? We want results!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Howell, MI
Date:October 15, 2010

Exceeded our expectations

Pros: simple and easy!, deep cleaning., powerful extraction., not hard to maneuver
Cons: large initial expense!
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro honestly exceeded our expectations. We did a very large bedroom and office last weekend and the results were superior to the two previous professional cleanings. My wife has asthma and she is astounded by the improvement in air quality.
We were hesitant to spend this much on a home carpet cleaning machine, but now we wish we had bought one several years ago. Our cleanings will be far more frequent!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:March 11, 2010

Buy it

Pros: works exceptionally well compared to bissell prod, 5 year warranty, easier to fill than other steamers
Cons: fairly heavy, difficult to tell when soluntion is empty, need larger tanks
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"This is a great machine. You will not regret buying it. Very easy to use. We've owned Bissels and Hoover steam cleaning machines but they don't seem to last more than 2 years before it breaks down and were also more difficult to use. The initial price may seem steep but it has a 5 year warranty. Had to trouble shoot when it arrived. You must plug into the outlet before pressing the reset switch to power on the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:November 20, 2010

Worth the investment

"I bought this about a year ago and don't know how we lived without one. I have had a couple of the cheaper carpet cleaners but there is no comparison on results. This cleaner is just so much more powerful it cleans so much better. Do yourself a favor and make the investment it will add years to your carpets life. Costco has the best price I could find on this machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:January 28, 2011

Rug Doctor in the House

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"Professional piece of equipment used for offices and conference rooms in a Distribution warehouse setting.
Get's the job done just as well as hiring a professional to do your carpets.
Easy to set-up and use quickly.
Lightweight enough so anyone can handle without being intimiated by the industrial looks of the machine.
Makes me want to buy one for the house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Date:May 20, 2009

Good investment.

Pros: great warranty;, upholstry kit
Cons: motor is loud.
Model Number: The blue one
""I now see the wisdom of buying this machine" says the wife after recieving the Rug Doctor. She became motivated not only to do the carpet, but also the sofa and chairs. She now loves the clean carpet and furniture.
She admits that without the Rug Doctor purchase, who knows when she would've rented a machine from a local merchant."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009

WOW

"Choked at the price but knew Costco would stand behind this item. We borrowed our in-laws other brand home unit which was a couple hundred dollars less. After using the Rug Doctor, the in-laws are borrowing our machine. Biggest problem is keeping track of the machine because of people "borrowing" it. We should rent it out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca
Date:November 29, 2010

Most Powerful machine

Pros: it does what it advertise and demo, bigger tank of solution and dirty water, very strong motor to pick up dirt, very robust machine, longer warranty period
Cons: hard to manuver around the house, little to short
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"We have a day care in our home. I used many carpet cleaner in the past, as I recalled, I had up to (3) different brands and I thought Hoover was the best in all. My past experience was my last carpet cleaner only picked up 50 percent of liquid poured down on carpet or less and it broke down after less than 3 times in used. I was very dissapointed. I was starting to use Rug Doctor and I love it after the outcome over the Thanksgiving holiday. It works perfectly as it advertisement and demo. I only pull the machine back one time and it sucks more then 80 percent of liquid. My carpet looks almost like new. I'm serious about what I wrote here ... I rarely do this. The down side of the Rug Doctor is it not flexible to manuver but it look robust and very powerful motor. Thank, I found Rug Doctor."
Review 49 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Cloud, FL
Date:March 20, 2011

Awesome Carpet Cleaner!

Pros: great cleaning power, professional grade
Cons: loud
Model Number: MP-C2D
"I am very pleased with the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner. It has been WELL worth the money paid. Does an outstanding job cleaning dirty carpet. It is nice to have it to use as needed in the house. A tool well worth the investment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Front Royal, VA
Date:September 21, 2010

WORTH EVERY PENNY

"This is the 3rd time I have purchased a carpet cleaner and the others didn't come close to cleaning the way this machine does. It is easy to use and does a great job."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pahrump, NV
Date:September 19, 2011

Out, damned spot! Out, I say!

Pros: removed old pet stains., restored carpet to look new
Cons: hard to see "wet" area under bright sunlight.
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3
"If Lady MacBeth had this machine, she would not have a problem getting the spots out of her carpets. On the other hand (lol) it may not have taken the blood off her hands.
I have used this on two rooms so far, and using the urine spot remover, have restored some grungy looking areas to a very clean state.
I found that it is easier to follow the tracks if you clean without bright sunshine in the room. When we did the living room, we were washing the curtains so had a lot of bright sun in the room, which made it difficult to see where the carpet was damp. When we did the media room, following the track was much easier under room lights.
We purchased ours at the warehouse as model as the Mighty Pro X3, so I'm not sure if this is the same machine sold on line.
"
Review 52 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2009

Disappointed

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"This is a great extractor if you have a square room with no furniture. It is impossile to go around or under furniture and get int o corners without a struggle. I had to move all the furniture out of the room rather than go around it, which was NOT FUN! It did not remove ANY spots....even ones that were easily removed with a damp towel. The carpet was sopping wet and took over 24 hours to dry. My cheap Bissel did a better job. On the plus side, it does hold more water than other home models but I still had to refill twice just to do two very small rooms. I"
3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coupeville, Washington
Date:June 19, 2010
Pros: took the urine smell out of the carpet.
Cons: left yellow urine stain.
"I was impressed with the cleaning power especially with multiple doggie accidents on my bedroom carpet. The carpet is over 30 years old and it cleaned most of the pet accident up.
The con could be due to the fact that I did not wait the recommended 24 hrs for the urine eliminator to work before using the shampooer.
Did notice that I rinsed the carpet with hot water after shampooing and got more gray water up.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:September 28, 2011

Serious Machine: Serious Results

Pros: superb cleaning results, even better results on upholstery and cars, pro-grade construction
Cons: heavy and a bit hard to handle
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"You would think there were enough positive reviews about this machine - but here is one more.
I rented Rug Doctors for years, and if I had the chance to buy one 20 years ago I would have been ahead financially.
This is a pro-model machine. High pressure jets shoot hot solution into carpet. Powerful vacuum removes solution and dirt. The carpet cleaner has a vibrating brush to loosen dirt from carpet fibres. Does a great job at cleaning carpets. It does take some muscle, but now that I own one I don't have to do the whole house in 1 day so I can return the rental. Doing a few rooms at a time is easier on the old body.
I'm surprised more reviews didn't mention the upholstery tool for furniture and cars. We clean the carpets and fabric upholstery in our cars once per year, and the carpets and seats look brand new. Gets many of the musty smells out as well. Don't use the upholstery solution on the seats as it causes a lot of foaming and if your seats get wet when you open the door in the rain, you can get little white spots where the soap foams up. Instead use the rug shampoo - just a bit more diluted. I have been doing this for years and the seats come out great. Stay clean longer because there is not a lot of soap residue.
This thing is built like a tank. I will be leaving it in my will to my children."
Review 55 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:June 22, 2010

Wish I had bought it sooner

"I am amazed at how well this machine works and it is very easy to use! I have had the Hoover and Bissel uprights which both stink. This really works. The carpets are clean and seem to be deep cleaned. The others just got dirt off of the surface. I am very pleased! I think it paid for itself in one or two uses!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:August 7, 2011

At last - a carpet cleaner that cleans

Pros: one great machine
Cons: none
"We purchased our first Rug Doctor today, and we're delighted with the results. It cleaned our nearly hopeless downstairs carpet in one pass, and in about half the usual time. Truly amazing. We have wasted a lot of money on competitors' flimsy machines over the years - none of them cleaned carpet very well, and their cheap plastic parts all leaked or broke. The Rug Doctor is a sturdy machine, it cleans very thoroughly, the cord is long, and there are fewer tanks to have to empty and reassemble after each fill up. This is a serious rug cleaning machine, for people who want clean carpets and are tired of throwing money away on cheap machines."
Review 57 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2010

The only carpet shampooer worth having

"I've had many carpet shampooers and all but this one are jokes. There is no point throwing money away on others. This is the real deal. Pull it over a spot, even a tough stain, once or twice and it's cured. Super easy to set up and use too. Love my Rug Dr. And thanks to Costco they're quasi-affordable."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 15, 2010

And I thought Bissell was a quality cleaner

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: no cons
Model Number: MP-C20
"I purchased a bissell carpet cleaner two years ago which turned out to be the biggest headache ever. The pump is known for clogging and it clogged after the 1 year warranty. No repair shop with warranted repairs would repair it. I purchased the Mighty Pro from Costco and began cleaning one of the carpets that I most frequently cleaned with the Bissell. The waste water was as dark as chocolate milk (with extra chocolate). The old saying "you get what you pay for" is clearly true in this case. Depending on your cleaning speed will directly impact the number of tank refills for an area. The five year warrantly is a major plus."
Review 59 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 10, 2010

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Pros: easy to use., works great.
Cons: none
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"Unit did a fantastic job. Costo had the lowest price. Would recommend to a friend. The stair and upolestry attachment work great. Well worth the money. Had Stanley Steamer do the job months ago for the same price of this unit and when they left the rugs basically looked the same. Was very dissappointed with Stanley Steamer but the rug doctor cleaned the rugs and took out the dark dirty areas of our rugs. From now on I will clean our rugs myself with this unit and save the money. No longer have to pay for someone else not performing as expected."
Review 60 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 7, 2010

This is a TERRIBLE Carpet Cleaner

Pros: none
Cons: bulky, difficult to maneuver, difficult to see how much cleaner fluid is left, frequent water changes, expensive, heavy
"I'm amazed that others have rated this carpet cleaner with 4 or 5 stars. I have an upright Hoover Carpet Cleaner that is 10 times better than this one. I used it on a lightly soiled carpet and I had to go over it time and time again, and even then it wasn't clean enough. There is a small reservoir that you constantly have to keep checking. I got so fed up, I pulled out my Hoover Carpet Cleaner and completed the task at hand. This is noisy, bulky, difficult to maneuver. It went back to Costco the same day!"
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>