Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Professional-Grade Power
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Review 41 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:September 11, 2010

Extradinarily Simple, Extraordinarily Good

Pros: very simple and sturdy
Cons: incredibly heavy
"I have a dog and cat - say no more - and I've had a number of carpet cleaners over the years to deal with them - a Hoover and a couple of Bissels.
Invariably the Hoovers and Bissels (not cheap models, BTW) stop working effectively within the first year. It doesn't matter how well you maintain/clean them, they simply don't effectively remove the dirt or soap from the carpets.
That may also be the case with the Rug Doctor - it remains to be seen since I've only had it a couple of weeks - but already I can see a clear difference in the ability to clean carpets and in the sturdiness of construction.
Rather than rely on the marketing gimmickry of the aforementioned companies (e.g., barely visible soil, light soil, medium soil, medium heavy soil, kinda heavy soil, rinse - well, you get the point), this machine has one setting and one setting only - clean. It's your choice whether you want to use soap or water alone (rinse). Rug cleaning isn't (and shouldn't be) rocket science. It's up to you to determine the mix of water and soap to put in the machine.
All you need is a good brush mechanism, sprayer, and suction motor, and the Rug Doctor has all of these aplenty.
Sure, it costs a lot. But it provides professional quality cleaning which will pay for itself in the equivalent of two carpet cleaning service visits.
The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner is very well constructed, with heavy duty plastics and brass fixtures.
If you can part with the cash, I highly recommend it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2010

Amazing and easy to use, even for wimpy me

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"Okay first of all, I have a 2 year old which means I am battling constant mess. He also has major asthma and allergies so he gets into coughing fits to the point where he throws up from the gagging. This means the carpets are constantly destroyed, and also because of his asthma they need to be constantly cleaned (like once a week) to get rid of dustmites, pollen, etc and everything that gets tracked in.
Secondly, I am a wimp and when I opened the box for this thing I about had a heart attack. I was afraid it was going to be a monster to push, confusing to use, foaming all over the place if I used eco natural (i.e. non-irritating for my kid's frail lungs) carpet soap instead of rug doctor formula. I was completely wrong, hurray!
It's already put together - you simply take it out and pull down one little bar to pop out the water catch. I used a completely different all natural carpet cleaning soap from my local allergy supply store, mixed a few ounces with a few gallons of water in a bucket and poured it right in. Took me all of 2 minutes - snapped the water catch back into place like a pro (and I am usually the clown breaking everything we buy) and it was already prepared to clean. All I had to do was push a button and pull it along the carpet at a pretty quick pace - everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) came out. I was floored. We are talking about ground-in playdoh and pulverized crackers and old milk secretly spilled in corners of the playroom. Not to mention the slight smell of throwup that still lingers unless you get the carpet professionally cleaned (chaching, $200 a pop for that).
So for my 500 bucks for this awesome machine I completely cleaned my carpets just as well as calling in the professionals, AND it was really easy. It didn't take long at all - what I learned right away though was that you don't have to drag it over the carpet as slowly as lower quality models (like the 300 bissels and hoovers that I had owned and destroyed previously that did 1/3 of the job of cleaning). You can zoom it along at a nice little clip and it really sucks so much junk out of the carpet - it's very efficient so it doesn't need to be pulled superslow, and this way the carpets were dry within 6 hours with the windows open and a couple fans. I can easily do the entire house each week (as recommended for kids with asthma), and I had no issues with the machine foaming at all.
The machine will pay for itself and then some in 3 uses. Worth EVERY penny!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:June 30, 2010

It's a beast!

Pros: sucks up the water incredibly well., compact with a long accessory hose, built like a tank, easy to add water too., it's very simple
Cons: wish it held more water., hard to get under some items
Model Number: 267156 Might Pro
"We have had many Hoover Pro-Heat cleaners over the years. Dogs and young children makes it a necessity. Our carpets were not coming clean anymore. I rented a Rug Doctor to see if it made a difference based on a friends recommendation who does commercial carpet cleaning.
It worked great. Things of significance: Since it doesn't use a beater bar, we weren't pulling up a lot of the carpet with the shampooer. The key is to go slow and be patient. Some people mentioned that they felt it too long for the carpets to drive. We moved the cleaner at about 1 ft per 3 seconds. I would then go back over it again with just the vacuum. Talking with Rug Doctor they said that is what is recommended, as you will not see any more water come up, but it gets rid of the moisture. Carpets were dry in an hour. If you have berber, it will tell you in the manual that they do take longer to dry. Bottom line on this is because it is sucking water at a much higher pressure, its doing a much better job. We were really impressed.
Another nice thing was that you have an 800 number to Rug Doctor for questions. It helped. The upholstery kit is really heavy duty. All the compression fittings are brass, very heavy duty.
I did the car tonight, Nasty stuff came our, and it was dry in about an hour.
Very impressed, Costco clearly has the best deal on this machine. Our Hoovers wear out after two years because of heavy use, I don't know what is going to break on this. It's a beast!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:June 22, 2010

Wish I had bought it sooner

"I am amazed at how well this machine works and it is very easy to use! I have had the Hoover and Bissel uprights which both stink. This really works. The carpets are clean and seem to be deep cleaned. The others just got dirt off of the surface. I am very pleased! I think it paid for itself in one or two uses!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coupeville, Washington
Date:June 19, 2010
Pros: took the urine smell out of the carpet.
Cons: left yellow urine stain.
"I was impressed with the cleaning power especially with multiple doggie accidents on my bedroom carpet. The carpet is over 30 years old and it cleaned most of the pet accident up.
The con could be due to the fact that I did not wait the recommended 24 hrs for the urine eliminator to work before using the shampooer.
Did notice that I rinsed the carpet with hot water after shampooing and got more gray water up.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bend, OR
Date:June 16, 2010

Great cleaner!

Pros: very durable and well made
Cons: goes through the cleaning solution fast!
"This is the best carpet cleaner I have ever had. I was wary because some of the reviews said it left berber carpet very wet, and my whole house has berber. But the Hoover I had was no longer working and trying to clean up messes from 4 kids by hand was ridiculous. This machine arrived and I was impressed by the solid construction. Metal parts, real hoses, replaceable clamps, etc., all mean it will hold up in the long run. Used it twice, once in the hallway and bedroom, second time on the stairs. The carpet looks brand new and tracked in spots and wear patterns are gone. Carpets dried quickly, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:June 4, 2010

Spend the money once and have this forever

Pros: best possible cleaning, 2-1/2 gallon water tank, built to last
Cons: it is heavy
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"If you have kids or animals you NEED this machine. I have spent hundreds on other machines that do standard cleaning and then break down after a year or two. This is professional equipment, built to do a professional job and hold up. You won't regret this purchase down the road and your carpets and furniture will be and stay cleaner than ever."
Review 48 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie, MD
Date:May 25, 2010

Love this Rug Doctor

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"Easy to use and leave your carpet almost dry overnight. The Rug Doctor works just like the rented one from the the big box improvment centers. I was going to buy off the TV, but it was over 800.00 and when I saw in the Costco email, I could not wait to purchase for my own for the price."
Review 49 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:May 20, 2010

Buy it Now...you already waited too long!

Pros: compact, easy to use, comes with all attachments you need, amazing price
"This is the BEST carpet cleaner you will ever own. We have purchased two other brands of carpet cleaners and have thrown both of them away after about 2 years. Crazy. I just finished cleaning my carpets with this machine and I am dancing a jig. Had the carpets professionally cleaned a few months ago and this did a better job. I cannot sing its praises enough. Have you bought it yet? Just press the add to cart button and you are on your way to clean carpets in your house, car, you will try to find carpets to clean!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 15, 2010

And I thought Bissell was a quality cleaner

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: no cons
Model Number: MP-C20
"I purchased a bissell carpet cleaner two years ago which turned out to be the biggest headache ever. The pump is known for clogging and it clogged after the 1 year warranty. No repair shop with warranted repairs would repair it. I purchased the Mighty Pro from Costco and began cleaning one of the carpets that I most frequently cleaned with the Bissell. The waste water was as dark as chocolate milk (with extra chocolate). The old saying "you get what you pay for" is clearly true in this case. Depending on your cleaning speed will directly impact the number of tank refills for an area. The five year warrantly is a major plus."
Review 51 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:May 3, 2010

Commercial Grade for Consumer

Pros: powerful, effective, easy to use, effective extraction
Cons: smaller size means some stooping., tank size., difficult to know when tank is empty.
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"Great performance. Near professional results. Somewhat smaller than the commercial model you often see for rent, a slight issue, but results are as good. Much better quality and results from consumer units normally found in retail stores and catalogs. Worth the price in one use."
Review 52 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago NW Suburbs
Date:April 29, 2010

Nice Machine-with suggestions

Pros: powerful relatively compact with handle folded
Cons: no seperate water/solution tank or rinse ability, difficult to tell once solution is gone
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"Bought this as a replacement for Bissell cleaner which kept failing after about 3 years of service. The Mighty Pro has great cleaning capability BUT as others have said it is hard to tell when solution tank is empty, and seems to run out rather quickly. I would like a capability to rinse with plain water vs. loading solution tank with plain water and going over area already cleaned. Overall though I would purchase again for the cleaning power of this machine. My dog threw up something in several places that was black like dirt on cream carpet! I thought for sure it would stain, but I grabbed the pre-treater 1st and sprayed the mess, then while that was soaking I loaded the Mighty Pro and went to work on the carpet - took it out with absolutely no marks remaining AND where one thought the floor was clean required entire carpet to be cleaned since there was such a difference between the cleaned area and adjacent areas."
Review 53 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:April 29, 2010

Best Carpet Cleaner Ever!!

"Our family has three small children and a puppy with very light colored carpeting throughout the house. It is a nightmare to keep clean!!! Last year I purchased the Bissell steam cleaner which was moderately priced. I was happy with it for the first 2 months then I started having problem with it leaking and not getting spots out of the carpet. It also left the carpet very wet and took about a day to dry which is not ideal since you are supposed to stay off the wet carpet until it dries. Reason being, if you walk on it, the dirt will go into the fibers and you're practically back to were you started. My husband who saw the value of having a carpet cleaner, suggested we buy the Rug Doctor. He said the stores wouldn't rent them out if they weren't heavy duty. I was hesitant because of the price. But figured if it worked it would be worth it since we are not going to replace our carpets for another couple years until our kids and dog are a bit older.
The Rug Doctor is the best carpet cleaner I have ever used! I waited at least 6 months to write the review to make sure I didn't run into the same issues as I had with the other brand. When I first brought it home, it picked up dirt in the carpet that the other cleaner didn't get. I know this because I used it on the same spot as I steam cleaned with the other vacuum the day before. It also has awesome suction power which is key because it not only gets the dirt out but it also gets a lot of the water out so it doesn't take long for the carpet to dry. It got stains out of the carpet that my other vacuum didn't. My husband spilled a whole cup of coffee the morning we were headed out the door to catch a plane for vacation of course on the white carpet. He blotted it with a towel but we couldn't deal with it until we got back. Four days later, we came home and I couldn't believe the mess! I thought for sure we were going to have to buy a rug to cover up a coffee stain that had set for 4 days. I pulled out the Rug Doctor and sure enough it got the entire stain out! I only had to go over it twice!!
Bottom line, this is a heavy duty professional machine that has great suction. The price is high but it is worth it for what you are getting. Besides, if you were to pay a company to come out to clean your whole house, it's several hundred dollars...you midaswell invest the money in a machine you can use when you need it. I would highly recommend this machine."
Review 54 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit
Date:March 25, 2010

Love it more than my luggage

Pros: works great.
Cons: heavy, expensive
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"I've rented Rug Doctor cleaners before and always liked the results so I decided it was time to bite the bullet and make the big purchase. Yes, it's an expensive applicance, but I'm convinced that the cost-per-use will end up being much less than the cost of rental. I did a lot of shopping around before I made the purchase - other physical stores, online stores and online auctions - Costco definately had the best price. People are paying hundreds of $ more on the online auction sites (these folks must not be Costco members and don't know that it can be purchased cheaper). Simply, I love this machine. I have a dog who doesn't always distinguish between indoors and outdoors (we're working on it) and the Rug Doctor thoroughly cleans up the messes from my off-white berber carpet. Much better than the other carpet clearner I had been using (that was a waste of $200). I've had no problems with long drying times - my carpet dries within a couple of hours - and no crunchy residue - carpet looks and feels like new. The machine is a bit heavy but I have carpet only on second floor so I just leave it in a closet up there. I'm so in love with the Rug Doctor!"
Review 55 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pontiac, MI
Date:March 24, 2010

FINALLY: A REAL CARPET CLEANER!

Pros: cleaning ability, easy to use, durable design, long electrical cord
Cons: instruction manual not inclcuded, rather loud
Model Number: MP-C2D
"The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro is the real McCoy.
It does everything a carpet cleaner should do, plus if you follow the directions, it leaves your carpet fairly dry. There are other attachments available if you explore the Rug Doctor website. When you get tired of using the cheap junk from the other imitators, you'll buy a Rug Doctor!
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:March 11, 2010

Buy it

Pros: works exceptionally well compared to bissell prod, 5 year warranty, easier to fill than other steamers
Cons: fairly heavy, difficult to tell when soluntion is empty, need larger tanks
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"This is a great machine. You will not regret buying it. Very easy to use. We've owned Bissels and Hoover steam cleaning machines but they don't seem to last more than 2 years before it breaks down and were also more difficult to use. The initial price may seem steep but it has a 5 year warranty. Had to trouble shoot when it arrived. You must plug into the outlet before pressing the reset switch to power on the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:February 16, 2010

Good, but not excellent

Pros: good scrubber design, solid construction, big dirty water tank
Cons: leaves the carpet too wet, have to lift-and-move
"I already have an old Hoover SteamVac that is about 10 years old, and was impressed by the suction rating on the RugDoctor's box. So, I decided to give it a try.
The brush system of the RugDoctor is a motorized back-and-forth mechanism. It works better than the spin brush of my older SteamVac. One pass cleans more.
The dirty water tank of the RugDoctor is also a bit easier to empty compared to that of the older SteamVac.
However, the RugDoctor leaves the carpet much wetter than the SteamVac. I know this because I could use the SteamVac to "clean up" after the RugDoctor, and collect quite a bit of water. This was surprising and disappointing, considering the superb suction power of the RugDoctor. As an engineer, I wanted to find out why that is the case.
It has to do with the shape of the suction nozzle. The shape of the SteamVac's suction nozzle is better shaped, so it can such more water from the carpet despite a lower suction rating.
Since I have to keep my SteamVac to make the carpet dry faster, I just found it difficult to also keep the much more expensive RugDoctor. To compensate for the lack of cleaning power, it is cheaper to use a floor polisher/scrubber (Hoover used to make one)."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura,CA
Date:February 5, 2010

Great product!!!

Pros: long hose for the stairs...
Cons: handle a little flimsy...
"Really does a nice job... And with two dogs it picks up what the dyson animal leaves behind..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Canyon Country, California
Date:January 20, 2010

Mighty Pro

Model Number: MP-C2D
"This Mighty Pro machine has earned its outstanding reputation with me. I don't know anyone who owns one, but I took a chance and bought one because the previous machine (competitors name withheld) wasn't doing the job satisfactorily. I only own the Mighty Pro for three weeks now and I have used it only three times. My house has multi-level, nylon carpet throughout, and is a real challenge to keep clean; mainly because it is a very light color. Secondly, the previous machine wasn't removing the embedded dirt because the vacuum wasn't powerful enough to do so. But, this Mighty Pro is absolutely fantastic! It has great vacuum capability which is really sucking up the embedded dirt; and the recovery tank proves it. When I dump the recovered dirty water, I can't believe how filthy the water is! The carpet now looks brand new again. I never got those results with the competitor's brand.
This machine is going to give you very satisfactory results. If you follow the instructions, you won't regret its performance. That is, don't saturate the carpet, keep the machine moving while holding the spray button, and let the machine do its job. You'll agree that this is a very wise investment that will pay for itself in no time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2010

happy so far

Pros: easy to use, leaves carpet nicer than bissell, carpet dried quickly
Cons: price ?, wish the tank was larger
"OK sorry my bad writing :)
but we have a bissell cleaner we purchased some 5 years ago
the probs with the bissell are small water tank crunch carpet after so I have to go over and over with water to remove or extract the cleaner/water that is left
I get tons of fluff from the carpet almost like its ripping the carpet apart or ?
the dyson would pick up loose fluff
also the bissell leaves all these carpet clumps all over
with the new machine so far no clumps of shredded carpet and seems to leave the carpet softer and fluffier with no crunchy feel
I am going to do some comparisons but so far it is easier to use and quicker to work with
the large water tank is needed cause it tends to throw down a lot more solution but it sucks it back up just fine
go to fast wet carpets so a bit slower pace seemed to do the best
carpet was quite dry and by morning totally dry
I use heavy foil under my furniture and just move my furniture around to clean under it
I move it back about 8 inches off where it normally sits so it dries where the furniture sits all the time then move it back to its permanent position that way its dry where it sits (I hope this makes sense)
so compare to my bissell
easier to use
have to fill about the same amount
carpets dry about the same (wife thought the rug doctor was dryer quicker)
left the carpet nicer feeling and fluffier
did not rip up the carpet and leave carpet fiber clumps so I feel it might be easier on carpets ?
going to do the stairs next as the hand tool for the bissell is a JOKE !!! so hoping the hand tool works well will report back !
so for a small time I have used it I would tell people pick this over a bissell"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>