Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner

Professional-Grade Power
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Review 61 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 28, 2010

Good value

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"The Rug Doctor is worth the discounted $400 price. It will pay for itself after only several cleanings. The machine is very sturdy and well made, and it's basically the same machine as the red ones that are rented in stores.
This is the first time that I have used one and I am very satisfied with the performance and the results. You can't expect miracles and that it will clean up everything, but it does a really good job of cleaning and the carpet looks great, almost like if a professional company cleaned it.
One tip I recommend is that it is best not to use the machine many times over and over the same spot or section. That may cause the carpet to become very wet and take longer to dry. It may also cause old carpets to curl up (?). Thus, running the machine over the spot twice is about the right technique.
There is just one negative item that I would like to share with the readers. The one I purchased had a new box with new tape seal. When I opened and examined the parts, they looked new to me. However, when I removed the white colored output bucket, I noticed on the inside cavity, blue-colored horizontal surface there were some carvings on it, about 2" x 4" size. Though it was illegible, it looks like someone carved two words on the surface. It makes me wonder if the machine was 'refurbished'. I think I will need to exchange it.
Other than that experience, I think it is a great cleaning machine that will provide many cleanings and will allow one to save money over time."
Review 62 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DOVER, DE
Date:July 31, 2009

MAGIC DOCTOR

Pros: quick and complete
Cons: none
Model Number: 9531
"You can't go wrong with this doctor, it cleans like no other. We had a professional cleanning done and the rugs were still dirty, and were damp for two days after, went out and bougth my Doctor, puts the professional cleanning to shame and my rugs were dry in about 2 hours. I love this machine, its quick and complete. Why buy anthing else?, this saves time, money and problems, all pros and no cons. Money well spent."
Review 63 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Champlain, NY
Date:August 17, 2011

Great machine!!

Pros: heavy duty, works!
Cons: heavy (duh)
"The difference between a good quality carpet cleaner is in the weight. You need your machine to really wring out the carpet. The cheaper smaller ones are fine if you want to get out a red wine stain without getting on all fours and scrubbing for the next hour but if you want to brighten up your carpets (and essentially your home) you need something with more power (cue Tim Allen grunting)"
Review 64 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:June 4, 2010

Spend the money once and have this forever

Pros: best possible cleaning, 2-1/2 gallon water tank, built to last
Cons: it is heavy
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"If you have kids or animals you NEED this machine. I have spent hundreds on other machines that do standard cleaning and then break down after a year or two. This is professional equipment, built to do a professional job and hold up. You won't regret this purchase down the road and your carpets and furniture will be and stay cleaner than ever."
Review 65 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 17, 2011

Great product

Pros: easy to use cleanup and store, works as advertised
Cons: may put carpet cleaning companies out of business
Model Number: MP-C
"Comes out of the box ready to go to work. No setup except for adding cleaner and water. Did a great job on a quality but very soiled carpet. Easy to use without breaking your back.
Easy cleanup afterwards and it goes right back into the box for storage until next use.
Construction seems very robust so it can be expected to last.
"
Review 66 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Date:September 25, 2011

WOW

Pros: great price, no assembly, the best for less
Model Number: Rug Doctor X3
"This product is another reason I shop at Costco. My family laughs at me as most things have a COSTCO item number. Purchased less than 24hours ago and I have started cleaning my carpets....exceptional, very professional and my carpets are looking great not to mention how clean and fresh they smell. Costco has come through again."
Review 67 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pontiac, MI
Date:March 24, 2010

FINALLY: A REAL CARPET CLEANER!

Pros: cleaning ability, easy to use, durable design, long electrical cord
Cons: instruction manual not inclcuded, rather loud
Model Number: MP-C2D
"The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro is the real McCoy.
It does everything a carpet cleaner should do, plus if you follow the directions, it leaves your carpet fairly dry. There are other attachments available if you explore the Rug Doctor website. When you get tired of using the cheap junk from the other imitators, you'll buy a Rug Doctor!
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:June 16, 2011

Love it!

"Love this machine. It comes assembled, the directions are on youtube of all places and it does an amazing job. After spending $200 to have my carpets proffesionally cleaned I thought, buying this is a no brainer. I'll save a ton of money in the long run. So glad I bought it! Thanks Costco for having it at such a great value!"
Review 69 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 18, 2011

Buyer Beware.

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"You will spend more time filling the water tank than getting your carpets scrubbed.
The soap tank is inadequate.
The carpet is left so wet it takes two days to dry your carpet, you can't just go back over the wet spot and pull out the water because the suction does't work unless you are pushing the dispensing button.
"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:October 8, 2010

Should of bought this years ago........

Pros: great product, does the job better than expected, easy to operate, easy to pull over carpet, easy snap on upholstery and stair tool, oxygreen solution works great, adjustable handle, vibrating brush
Cons: none
Model Number: Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"I was a bit leary to pay this much for a rug cleaner, however once I decided on the purchase, I knew I made the right decision. Being able to go over the carpet once and have it clean is great. Great on day to day traffic dirt. I would never buy any other kind. This will last me and my family a long time."
Review 71 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie, MD
Date:May 25, 2010

Love this Rug Doctor

Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
"Easy to use and leave your carpet almost dry overnight. The Rug Doctor works just like the rented one from the the big box improvment centers. I was going to buy off the TV, but it was over 800.00 and when I saw in the Costco email, I could not wait to purchase for my own for the price."
Review 72 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:May 3, 2010

Commercial Grade for Consumer

Pros: powerful, effective, easy to use, effective extraction
Cons: smaller size means some stooping., tank size., difficult to know when tank is empty.
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro
"Great performance. Near professional results. Somewhat smaller than the commercial model you often see for rent, a slight issue, but results are as good. Much better quality and results from consumer units normally found in retail stores and catalogs. Worth the price in one use."
Review 73 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:February 8, 2011

Left marks on carpet

Model Number: Rug Doctor Pro
"This cleaner did a great job cleaning. However, I still have lines/indentations on my carpet, apparently where the brushes dug in. I have a low plush carpet and vacuuming still has not pulled the pile back up. I am returning this machine today."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura,CA
Date:February 5, 2010

Great product!!!

Pros: long hose for the stairs...
Cons: handle a little flimsy...
"Really does a nice job... And with two dogs it picks up what the dyson animal leaves behind..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:April 29, 2010

Best Carpet Cleaner Ever!!

"Our family has three small children and a puppy with very light colored carpeting throughout the house. It is a nightmare to keep clean!!! Last year I purchased the Bissell steam cleaner which was moderately priced. I was happy with it for the first 2 months then I started having problem with it leaking and not getting spots out of the carpet. It also left the carpet very wet and took about a day to dry which is not ideal since you are supposed to stay off the wet carpet until it dries. Reason being, if you walk on it, the dirt will go into the fibers and you're practically back to were you started. My husband who saw the value of having a carpet cleaner, suggested we buy the Rug Doctor. He said the stores wouldn't rent them out if they weren't heavy duty. I was hesitant because of the price. But figured if it worked it would be worth it since we are not going to replace our carpets for another couple years until our kids and dog are a bit older.
The Rug Doctor is the best carpet cleaner I have ever used! I waited at least 6 months to write the review to make sure I didn't run into the same issues as I had with the other brand. When I first brought it home, it picked up dirt in the carpet that the other cleaner didn't get. I know this because I used it on the same spot as I steam cleaned with the other vacuum the day before. It also has awesome suction power which is key because it not only gets the dirt out but it also gets a lot of the water out so it doesn't take long for the carpet to dry. It got stains out of the carpet that my other vacuum didn't. My husband spilled a whole cup of coffee the morning we were headed out the door to catch a plane for vacation of course on the white carpet. He blotted it with a towel but we couldn't deal with it until we got back. Four days later, we came home and I couldn't believe the mess! I thought for sure we were going to have to buy a rug to cover up a coffee stain that had set for 4 days. I pulled out the Rug Doctor and sure enough it got the entire stain out! I only had to go over it twice!!
Bottom line, this is a heavy duty professional machine that has great suction. The price is high but it is worth it for what you are getting. Besides, if you were to pay a company to come out to clean your whole house, it's several hundred dollars...you midaswell invest the money in a machine you can use when you need it. I would highly recommend this machine."
<<prev 1 2 3 4