Customer Reviews for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier

Improve home health and comfort by eliminating dampness, mold and mildew growth with the Energy Star rated Danby Dehumidifier model DDR6009REE. With a 60-pint capacity, this model will cover up to 3,600 sq. ft. This dehumidifier is a market leader with its R410A coolant that makes it eco-friendly & EPA recommended. It also offers electronic controls, remote control, automatic humidity settings, two fan speeds, removable air filter and castors for easy portability. Features: 60-pint capacity per 24 hours   For areas up to 3,600 sq. ft. depending on conditions   Non-ozone depleting R410A coolant   Energy Star compliant   Electronic controls   Remote control- batteries included   Programmable humidity settings   2 speed fan   Auto restart feature   Low temperature operation- continues to operate until temperature reaches 44 F   Auto de-icer prevents ice build-up on coils   Removable air filter   Super quiet operation   Castors for easy portability   Direct drain option for continuous operation   CSA Approved   24-months parts & labor warranty; Carry-In Service   Dimensions: 15.25” x 11.12” x 23.62”   Weight: 43 lbs.   For product related questions, please call Danby at 1-800-263-2629. Model: DDR6009REE / 396020
Average Customer Rating:
3.348 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
15
29 of 46(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sterling, VA
Date:July 9, 2012

Humid out

"The Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier is what they said. Efficient, easy to understand, work very well, it is very quiet, affordable. I am very happy with my purchase. This dehumidifier works perfect for my basement."
Review 2 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:June 13, 2012

Excellent Dehumidifier for a Basement

"I purchased the Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
to replace a 4-year old non-Danby dehumidifier. The Danby dehumidifier is very quiet and is doing an excellent job dehumidifying our 1900+ square foot unfinished basement. The automatic drain pipe from the dehumidifier into our sump-pump drain makes maintanence a breeze.
"
Review 3 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2012

Works like a charm !

Pros: quickly operational, quiet
"Easy for a middle aged woman to have operational and draining to an outside source within 5 minutes of unpacking; having reviewed the manual, of course. :-) No complaints after approximately three weeks of use. Very happy that I relied on Costco again to bring me a quality product at a reasonable price."
Review 4 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, CA
Date:May 20, 2012

Dead After 28 Months

Pros: worked well while alive
Cons: short life span
Model Number: DDR6009REE
"I used this in my bathroom daily whenever I finished taking a shower, and sometimes while I was doing laundry, so it's not like I ran it all day. After 14 months, it suddenly stopped working. It still blew out air, but now the air was cold instead of warm, the % humidity displayed in the indicator would just remain the same, the air felt like it was still moist, and no water would collect in the bin.
So I called Danby to make use of the 2-year warranty. There were just about no servicing options nearby, but finally I talked to one place 40 mins away. I am trying to remember why that option did not pan out, but it was 14 months ago, so I am not positive about all the details.
Interestingly, sometime later, after I moved the dehumidifier around from one room to another, it suddenly started working again! After that, I left it right where it was in the bathroom, not wanting to risk shifting it and have it stop working again. It has remained there since.
A couple months back, it suddenly started rattling strangely. A few days later, a curved black piece of plastic shot out of the grid at the top of the dehumidifier. It still worked after that, though there was a strange rattling sound. Recently, the rattling increased, and a second piece of black plastic shot out of the grid. And then a few minutes later, the entire machine shut down.
I would not recommend this dehumidifier to anyone."
Review 5 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Charles, MO
Date:May 18, 2012

Keep looking

"We had this unit for almost two years, and thankfully it failed before the warranty ran out. I brought the unit in for repair after no water came out when it ran for a day with a dew point in the 60's.The unit was not used over the winter months. The repair person stated that it was cheap foreign (he stated country of origin) junk with cheap copper that failed causing a leakage of all the freon. He suggested I take the refund and buy something else."
Review 6 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Westchester,NY
Date:May 15, 2012

Poor

"Inside of unit rusted out. I thought this was strange for a dehumidifier two years old. I called customer service and was told that the filter was not cleaned which led to parts rusting inside due to accumulated humidity."
Review 7 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 27, 2012
Model Number: do not have it with me
"Best dehumidifier ever. I had a different name brand before, Danby is much better. It is in my basement and fills up daily. Great product. 5 star"
Review 8 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon Coast
Date:February 10, 2012

Excellent Product

Pros: faster than a speeding bullet
"This product really does what it was made for...dehumidify. At first, I couldn't believe how rapidly it got rid of the moisture. I have used a dehumifier for years. Living on the Oregon coast calls for some help in that area. This one is the best so far. I did worry about the fan running constantly, but I took the advice of another reviewer and simply set the timer for a four hour period. Many times, I turn it off before the timer goes off. I worried about it leaking as some reviews have mentioned, but I have never had that problem. Actually, I have never had any problems at all. It is great in my opinion. I have used it for about 3 months and like it better every day."
Review 9 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012

Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier

"It's everything so far they claim it is.
Delevery and product order process was quick. I havent seen much use for the remote control, but it works. The appearance is freindly enough to have out in plain view too. If I had to lint pick I would say the tube included for long term water dischage could be longer.
I like it and recommend it. A sharp product at a sharp price. Well see how many hours of trouble free use it gives. So far were at about 300 hours.
"
Review 10 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rockville, MD
Date:January 29, 2012

leakage!

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: leaking and noisy
"if you like a noisy and leaking dehumidifier then this is your dream machine! The unit leaks on and off. It ruined my hardwood floor. The fan continuously runs regardless of the humidity level. The only good thing about this machine is Costco's return policy!"
Review 11 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delaware, OH
Date:November 17, 2011

Best I have ever owned

Pros: removes moisture more effectively than any, dehumidifier i have owned.
Cons: hose connection should be easer to tighten.
Model Number: 805.54351400
"After reading previous reviews, I was not sure I should buy it. It seemed that reviewers either loved or hated it. Since it was Costco and I have been very pleased with the quality of previously purchased products and if I was dissatisfied with the dehumidifier I could return it with no hassle, I decided to purchase it. Good choice! Yes, it spilled water over the floor when I used the provided drain hose! Why? Because I had failed to tighten the connection enough to achieve a water tight fit. I used a pair of channel-lock pliers to finish the job and there was no more leak. Yes the fan runs continuously and is rather loud. Why? Because it is more efficient and effective and helps to achieve the energy star rating."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:November 8, 2011

Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier

Pros: continuous air flow, efficient in removing humidity, operates at low room temp., easy to clean filter
Cons: unit may fail within 1 year or less
"This is actually not a bad unit compared to other units currently on the market. Unfortunately, no matter what you're going to buy ALL dehumidifiers are more or less manufactured by one or two companies where other companies simply place their name on them (i.e. Kenmore, Danby, Whirlpool, etc.). And just as equally MOST units have issues with compressor failures not just one specific brand. Just be prepared for the possibility of a unit either working right out of the box or having issues within the first 8 months. It is a 50/50 chance on these. Years back you'd get 25 to 30 years out of a unit. Today you'll get 2 to 4 years...if you're lucky."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie, MD
Date:November 4, 2011

This was a great disappointment!

Cons: faulty design
Model Number: model DDR6009REE
"I read the reviews and decided that Costco has good products and sometimes there is a lemon in the bunch.
This was these worst product ever. I plugged in the unit and it ran for 1 minute and shut off, bucket full. I took out the bucket and readjusted place in gently. Turned it on and the same thing. This went on for about 15 minutes with the same result.
The floating device does not have flexability, it moves about 1/4" fooling the system thinking it is a full bucket.
I took it back to my local store immediately, I was tired from work and was watching my Grandson, but there was no way I was keeping that hunk of junk in my house to look at.
I hope that Costco removes this product from there line."
Review 14 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:north Jersey
Date:October 29, 2011

So Happy, I'm Back For Another.

Pros: set and forget!, easy to install., simple to use.
"I bought this unit for a very damp basement at my studio. I'm a woman and installed it myself in about 1/2 hour to pump out the nearest window (abt 6' high) . It's been doing a great job for the few months that I've had it so, I'm back to buy another for a new property.
As a rule of thumb, I buy everything I can from Costco, they stand behind their products.
"
Review 15 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 27, 2011

Compressor failed after 6 months

Pros: high capacity efficient, great (2-year) warranty
Cons: fan doesn't cycle with need for dehumidifying, compressor failure in 6 months
Model Number: DDR6009REE
"Purchased in April, it died in October. Had reservations at first about the continuous running fan but became accustomed to setting the timer. Ran the unit about 2 hours per day to dry out the towels after morning showers in a large bathroom. Great performance until the compressor failed. Danby gave me the name of a service depot but recommended I return the unit to Costco for full refund."
Review 16 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montgomery County, PA
Date:October 4, 2011

A very good product

Cons: unit does not recycle off and on like a thermostat
"Shipping from Costco.com was fast & free.Unit is attractive, effective. I like the remote control! I use it in my large unfinished basement - it also helps to add warm air plus helps the laundry dry faster."
Review 17 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:King of Prussia,Pa
Date:September 13, 2011

Danby 60-pint Dehumidfier

"This unit only wet the floor. We tried several times to see what the problem was, but it kept wetting the floor. We also hooked a hose up to the product, so we didn't have to use the bucket. This time it did pull any moisture into the hose. We returned the product. Probably a factory defect."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Grove, CA
Date:September 7, 2011

Who'd have thought?

Pros: highly recommened in coastal areas.
"The unit arrived on time, although the box was pretty beat up. But the unit works great! In 12 hours, we removed 5 quarts of water from our home. Amazing! We have it set up in a hallway so that it pulls air from throughout the house. The noise of the fan doesn't bother us when we see how much good it's doing. Hoping to improve our allergies! And I understand that plants love the distilled water it produces."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grosse Pointe, MI
Date:August 24, 2011

Returned in less than 24 hours

Model Number: DDR6009REE
"Floor wet within 1/2 hour or start up. Attempted trouble shooting to no avail. Tried switching to continuous draining feature, still leaked around base of dehumidifier, very little water drained by way of hose. Returned for refund the next day. Very disappointed in poor performance."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Essex VT
Date:August 23, 2011

Great Unit

"I bought this dehumidifier for the basement but it is stylish enough to place anywhere. The led readouts tell you instantly room temp and humidity. It is high efficiency plus if used in a cold area, has a heater to defrost. Works great. I've owned 3 dehumidifiers prior to this and it is the best yet."
1 2 3 next>>