Customer Reviews for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier

Improve home health and comfort by eliminating dampness, mold and mildew growth with the Energy Star rated Danby Dehumidifier model DDR6009REE. With a 60-pint capacity, this model will cover up to 3,600 sq. ft. This dehumidifier is a market leader with its R410A coolant that makes it eco-friendly & EPA recommended. It also offers electronic controls, remote control, automatic humidity settings, two fan speeds, removable air filter and castors for easy portability. Features: 60-pint capacity per 24 hours   For areas up to 3,600 sq. ft. depending on conditions   Non-ozone depleting R410A coolant   Energy Star compliant   Electronic controls   Remote control- batteries included   Programmable humidity settings   2 speed fan   Auto restart feature   Low temperature operation- continues to operate until temperature reaches 44 F   Auto de-icer prevents ice build-up on coils   Removable air filter   Super quiet operation   Castors for easy portability   Direct drain option for continuous operation   CSA Approved   24-months parts & labor warranty; Carry-In Service   Dimensions: 15.25” x 11.12” x 23.62”   Weight: 43 lbs.   For product related questions, please call Danby at 1-800-263-2629. Model: DDR6009REE / 396020
Average Customer Rating:
3.348 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
15
29 of 46(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Coastal Oregon
Date:October 10, 2010

Good unit (so far)

Pros: good fan and air circulation, on caster wheels, touch controls easy to use, comes with a long 110v cord
Cons: isn't quiet as a church mouse, mine didn't come with a drain hose
"We bought one of these 2 month's ago. I put it in our Greehouse to combat the humidity and thus Mold, Mildew and Fungus. It's done a good job, although it is always struggling to keep up. That's because the temperature in the greenhouse is automatically controlled by fans which such in fresh air to suck out hot air. So during a somewhat warm day, it's a losing battle for the dehumidifier, but at nighttime, it catches up. All in all, it's doing the job great. I went out and bought a hose that bypasses the tank and now don't have to monitor or empty the reservior. It now drains to the outside. I've read that this water is excellent to water your plants with. The unit isn't exactly 'silent', but as it is in the greenhouse the issue is moot. If you are looking for a good unit reasonably priced with the bonus of the Costco backing, I can heartily recommend this unit as it has worked wonderfully for us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Micigan
Date:August 15, 2010

not what I expected

Cons: fan runs and runs and runs and runs and runs and e
"I am not a genius, but I cannot figure out how to have this unit run for specified periods--it is either on or off-you can adjust the humidity, but, unlike other dehumidifiers I have owned, the fan runs continuously, and the directions for the timer is either when I want it to go on, or to go off, in which case it stays off--the engineers on this product should be taken into a small room and quizzed as to what they were thinking!--it does dehumidify, but, once the chosen degree of humidity is reached, the fan keeps running--air circulation is nice, but not in my basement when I go down there once or twice a week--look for a product that is programmed to go off and on once a chosen level is reached--I kept this out of necessity, but, looking back, should have returned it"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delaware, OH
Date:November 17, 2011

Best I have ever owned

Pros: removes moisture more effectively than any, dehumidifier i have owned.
Cons: hose connection should be easer to tighten.
Model Number: 805.54351400
"After reading previous reviews, I was not sure I should buy it. It seemed that reviewers either loved or hated it. Since it was Costco and I have been very pleased with the quality of previously purchased products and if I was dissatisfied with the dehumidifier I could return it with no hassle, I decided to purchase it. Good choice! Yes, it spilled water over the floor when I used the provided drain hose! Why? Because I had failed to tighten the connection enough to achieve a water tight fit. I used a pair of channel-lock pliers to finish the job and there was no more leak. Yes the fan runs continuously and is rather loud. Why? Because it is more efficient and effective and helps to achieve the energy star rating."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LI, New York
Date:September 25, 2010

Used in large basement & no issues

"I live in Long Island & have a reasonably sized 3 walled basement ( leads on to the back lawn) . We had issues with clothes etc suffering from been located in the basement. I bought this a few months ago & have had it on since . I have to say it has been great. The first few days it was sucking out a lot of water & now it has stabilised so I have to empty it ever few days. I only ever use it in a basement so I am not sure about how it would be in a living area. It does seem somewhat noisy but of course it does not run all the time.
I rated it 'good' as I feel thus far , it has done what I expected it to do. The filter is easy to clean and it is easy to move about.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 7, 2011

Not ideal if you are using the Drain Bucket

Pros: works great for first 6 months or so
Cons: eventually drains water all over your floor.
Model Number: DDR6009REE
"After using this dehumidifier for 6 months the water began to continually leak onto our floor rather than filling the drain bucket. This was very frustrating and strange and created a huge mess. I called Danby's 1-800 number for help. They told me to take a Q-tip and clean out the drain hole. I did this and it began to fill the drain bucket again as it is supposed to do rather than leak water all over the floor. Then again about 6 months later it began draining the water all over the floor again rather than filling the drain bucket. I tried cleaning the drain hole again but with no success this time. It continued to drain the water all over our floor. I'm returning this unit to Costco to get my money back. I think it's a horrible dehumidifier as it has caused large amounts of water (far more than the 60 Pint limit of the drain bucket) to leak and run all over our floor. Imagine someone spilling 3 gallons of water on your floor. I still don't understand why or how this happening. There is a major design flaw with this model. I would not recommend this unit to anyone who is not going to using the continuous drain outlet on the back of the unit that you would attach a hose to and somehow pump or drain the water outside of your home. If you plan to use the drain bucket to collect the water do not buy this model."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:November 8, 2011

Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier

Pros: continuous air flow, efficient in removing humidity, operates at low room temp., easy to clean filter
Cons: unit may fail within 1 year or less
"This is actually not a bad unit compared to other units currently on the market. Unfortunately, no matter what you're going to buy ALL dehumidifiers are more or less manufactured by one or two companies where other companies simply place their name on them (i.e. Kenmore, Danby, Whirlpool, etc.). And just as equally MOST units have issues with compressor failures not just one specific brand. Just be prepared for the possibility of a unit either working right out of the box or having issues within the first 8 months. It is a 50/50 chance on these. Years back you'd get 25 to 30 years out of a unit. Today you'll get 2 to 4 years...if you're lucky."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2011

The Dehumidifier

Pros: quiet
Cons: can't think of any
"I've owned three dehumidifiers and this is the first one to impress me with it's performance. This thing dried out my damp basement air and I mean fast! It's quiet, and frankly, it just does the job. I was worried it wouldn't be able to dry out my 900 sq ft basement and it handles this job with ease. Did I mention it's the quietest dehumidifier I've ever owned?"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Daytona Beach, FL
Date:February 23, 2011

DOUBLE THE WARRANTY OF OTHERS

Pros: quietest unit ever, can set timer
Cons: fan always runs
"Removed gallons of water the first week..
Much quieter than any other unit ever purchased or used.
Fan runs even when humidity percentage is reached but, you can set the units timer and when the time is reached it turns the unit off.."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Grove, CA
Date:September 7, 2011

Who'd have thought?

Pros: highly recommened in coastal areas.
"The unit arrived on time, although the box was pretty beat up. But the unit works great! In 12 hours, we removed 5 quarts of water from our home. Amazing! We have it set up in a hallway so that it pulls air from throughout the house. The noise of the fan doesn't bother us when we see how much good it's doing. Hoping to improve our allergies! And I understand that plants love the distilled water it produces."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:January 17, 2011

Very expensive to run

Pros: works great
Cons: $40 a month to run
"This dehumidifier works very well--it has really helped with the musty odor in our basement.
I'm not sure if we received a malfunctioning machine or if they all consume this much energy, but the past 2 months since we got it our electric bill has been $40 more a month--and we live in Utah, which has very low humidity, between 30 and 45% for the past 2 months. We used 450 KWH more a month and this did not change when we started using the timer to run it just at night. Our bill is higher than it was in August when we had the A/C running all month.
And as others state, the fan never turns off, and it is rather loud (although apparently not louder than other dehumidifiers). But we have been happy with the effect on the basement odor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:rockville,ct.
Date:April 20, 2011

excellent product

Pros: very effective
Cons: small holding tank
"this dehumidifier works great the only draw back that I see is the small holding tank. The machine is super quiet and easy to use and set up"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:January 19, 2011

excellent product

Pros: well made and efficient
"Works as stated. The Danby received a top rating from an indepeendent study.
It is well made and really wrings the water out of a room.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LANCASTER,PA
Date:May 8, 2011

PLEASED WITH PURCHASE

Model Number: DDR6009REE
"The Danby 60 pt. dehumidifier came to me much more quickly than I planned=) Setting it up was easy although the use of the timing schedule was awkward. It is quiet and reduces humidity quickly. The only thing that conerns me is the range of the setting, for example if set at 50% it goes from 49% to 58%. Nothing in the instruction booklet indicates this as a normal swing. It also runs all the time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grosse Pointe, MI
Date:August 24, 2011

Returned in less than 24 hours

Model Number: DDR6009REE
"Floor wet within 1/2 hour or start up. Attempted trouble shooting to no avail. Tried switching to continuous draining feature, still leaked around base of dehumidifier, very little water drained by way of hose. Returned for refund the next day. Very disappointed in poor performance."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:May 27, 2011

Danby Dehumidifier

Model Number: Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
"We like the dehumidifier. It is very efficient and quite. Highly recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie, MD
Date:November 4, 2011

This was a great disappointment!

Cons: faulty design
Model Number: model DDR6009REE
"I read the reviews and decided that Costco has good products and sometimes there is a lemon in the bunch.
This was these worst product ever. I plugged in the unit and it ran for 1 minute and shut off, bucket full. I took out the bucket and readjusted place in gently. Turned it on and the same thing. This went on for about 15 minutes with the same result.
The floating device does not have flexability, it moves about 1/4" fooling the system thinking it is a full bucket.
I took it back to my local store immediately, I was tired from work and was watching my Grandson, but there was no way I was keeping that hunk of junk in my house to look at.
I hope that Costco removes this product from there line."
Review 17 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon Coast
Date:February 10, 2012

Excellent Product

Pros: faster than a speeding bullet
"This product really does what it was made for...dehumidify. At first, I couldn't believe how rapidly it got rid of the moisture. I have used a dehumifier for years. Living on the Oregon coast calls for some help in that area. This one is the best so far. I did worry about the fan running constantly, but I took the advice of another reviewer and simply set the timer for a four hour period. Many times, I turn it off before the timer goes off. I worried about it leaking as some reviews have mentioned, but I have never had that problem. Actually, I have never had any problems at all. It is great in my opinion. I have used it for about 3 months and like it better every day."
Review 18 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Summit, NJ
Date:August 14, 2011

leaks

Pros: effectively dehumidifies when not leaking
Cons: user manual says don't run unattended
Model Number: Danby DDR609RRE
"Started leaking onto floor after 1 year 5 days' operation (instead of draining into bucket). Danby customer support recommended cleaning the drain holes with a q-tip. After doing this it behaved correctly for several weeks, then started leaking again. I placed Danby on a platform with big pan underneath and tried to figure out what was wrong, for several months, to no avail--after every q-tipping the leak eventually reoccurred. Seems like some internal catch basin would get stopped up, then overflow. Requested a diagram of the unit's internals from Danby, but they refused. I am happy that Costco returned my money."
Review 19 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, CA
Date:May 20, 2012

Dead After 28 Months

Pros: worked well while alive
Cons: short life span
Model Number: DDR6009REE
"I used this in my bathroom daily whenever I finished taking a shower, and sometimes while I was doing laundry, so it's not like I ran it all day. After 14 months, it suddenly stopped working. It still blew out air, but now the air was cold instead of warm, the % humidity displayed in the indicator would just remain the same, the air felt like it was still moist, and no water would collect in the bin.
So I called Danby to make use of the 2-year warranty. There were just about no servicing options nearby, but finally I talked to one place 40 mins away. I am trying to remember why that option did not pan out, but it was 14 months ago, so I am not positive about all the details.
Interestingly, sometime later, after I moved the dehumidifier around from one room to another, it suddenly started working again! After that, I left it right where it was in the bathroom, not wanting to risk shifting it and have it stop working again. It has remained there since.
A couple months back, it suddenly started rattling strangely. A few days later, a curved black piece of plastic shot out of the grid at the top of the dehumidifier. It still worked after that, though there was a strange rattling sound. Recently, the rattling increased, and a second piece of black plastic shot out of the grid. And then a few minutes later, the entire machine shut down.
I would not recommend this dehumidifier to anyone."
Review 20 for Danby 60-pint Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cibolo, TX
Date:May 16, 2011

Solid Performer!

Model Number: DDR6009REE
"Upon recommendation from two friends who have the same 60 pint model, we decided to purchase one for ourselves. We really noticed a difference at their homes and we wanted the same comfort they have.
It's been a month now and we love it! One wish would be that it was a bit quieter. Still, we are getting used to it since it removes 120 pints a day on the LOW setting!
We also benefit by using the water on our Texas plants and trees! Water conservation is a great side benefit!"
1 2 3 next>>