Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax Added Value: In House Marketing Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.531 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(309 Reviews) 309
(out of 309 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (309 reviews)
5 stars
120
4 stars
68
3 stars
31
2 stars
36
1 star
54
203 of 309(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rohnert Park, Ca
Date:January 12, 2010

Great Purchase

Cons: noisey while resseting itself after printing.
Model Number: HP Office Jet 6500 - 309a
"This has been a great purchase! However, I must admit that after reading some of the reviews on this site, I almost didn't buy this printer.
I've used this over a month now, and so far it has been great. I installed it first on my desktop which came with Windows 7 and then on my laptop which I upgraded to win 7 from Vista. I've never had an installation go so fast or easy, including the fax.
I have a USB connection on my desktop and a wireless connection from my laptop. When installing the wireless, didn't remember my ID and password, but the Wizard went out and found it from the network and set it up flawlessly.
I was amazed at the quality of the photos on photo paper and the fast draft mode is very acceptable, thus saving on ink.
I scanned a couple 25 page packets into a PDF document with absolutely no problems. The fax sends and receives effortlessly.
I highly recommend buying this printer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Inglewood, CA
Date:July 31, 2009

Great AIO!

Pros: large paper tray, fast, prints labels envelopes cards stickers etc.
Cons: none
Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless
"Like many people I too was a bit skeptical as I saw varying sites with great reviews, and others with not so good reviews. But the be truth be told, after 6 weeks of daily usage I've not had a single problem with any of the feature sets. It is not a photo printer so colors are a bit vivid but are bright and sharp. And for quick photos it does a decent job overall.
The scanner works very well-- slower than I like even for home use but it picks up a lot of detail especially for archiving photos and documents. Overall it woks as promised and is very convenient holding up to 30 sheets of paper.
The copy function works very well, and as with the scan function a bit slower than I'd like, but good. The color prints are vivid.
The fax works as it should, enough said.
The ink consumption is good, not great, but better than average. I will be using the XL version next.
The software is easy to use an intuitive with lots of options to adjust to your taste.
The wireless function is easy to set up (on three laptops and one PC. they picked it up right away).
It's fast, inexpensive and delivers what it promised. I would recommend for day to day use (home and small office). As for photos, go with a photo printer."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:November 4, 2009

Less then ok printer

Pros: nice design, scan feeder, price
Cons: error every 20mins, ink that it comes with has to be replaced quickly, too noisy
Model Number: HP 6500
"I bought this printer at Costco because I thought it would be a good buy even though it had negative reviews on several sites. I had a printer error as soon as I installed the printer head and the printer ink cartridges. The instructions stated that I had to clean the head but it was new so I new that it was an internal error. I finally got it to work properly after removing and reinstalling the ink heads. The other con that this printer has is that it makes too much noise even when you are not using it. I guess the print heads adjust after a print job and this is very annoying. The last con is that the printer gets an error every 20mins or so even if you are not using it. The error is cleared when I push the "ok" button but do you want to seriously so this every 20mins? The pro is that I was able to print and scan work in pdf format. I am going to return this printer this weekend and I don't know what printer to get next."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009

ehhh...

Pros: will help you learn pactience
Cons: you'll wish you just spent the $ on a better model
"You get what you pay for.... If you're trying to keep your start up cost low and/or you don't do a ton of printing, it'll last you a year TOPS. I MAYBE print 20 pages a week and maybe need to scan in docs 2-3 week.
We've got 3 laptops - one running XP, one running Vista, and the 3rd running Mac OS X. The driver disk for the XP was bunk & had to spend about 6hrs totals w/ online support before they FINALLY gave up a link to special online drivers.
Still doesn't work on the Vista - NOT spending the hours w/ tech support.
Luckily Mac's rock and didn't haven't to even put in the disk to get it to print/scan (granted, I have to unplug from Airport to into the computer to scan, but after the stuff I've been through with the other 2 computers - I'll take it).
The feeder is hit or miss... If you've got more than 2 or 3 pages, you're almost certain to jam or pull through pages wrong. I'm think mine is getting ready to be more Miss/Broken in the near future b/c horrible grinding noise has started.
Oh - and the thing has a Sixth Sense that whenever you need something important to be printed off "right now", it'll do it's 5 minute "Testing" run..."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 6, 2009

Will likely be a huge mistake!

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: failed installs (downloadable installer fails), poor documentation and toubleshooting (online), will not stay connecte to wireless router 6" away
"I waited nearly three months to write this review because I wanted it to be fair... After all this time, I still hate this piece of technology with a passion!
My computer literacy: Expert
It installed poorly (error messages), it destroyed scanner and printer drivers for my other devices, it only printed properly if I used a default driver from Microsoft (which did not allow access to all printer features), Tech support was limited or incorrect, and it would not stay connected to the wireless router literally 6 inches away for more than 15 minutes at a time.
The only thing easy about this purchase was the return to Costco (Thank you Livonia MI store).
Buy this printer/scanner for your enemy and he/she will cower in fear from that day forward at the very utterance of your name."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta Suburb
Date:March 14, 2010

Good Value In A Printer

Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless
"This printer is a good performing printer at a very reasonable price. There are some things with which new owners need to be aware of.
First of all the driver and software installation time for this printer is quite lengthy. It's not hard but it will take over an hour to unpack the unit and to then do a full installation.
This printer comes REALLY well packed. Egyptian mummies aren't wrapped a whole lot better. When you first open the box there is a large pictorial sheet on how to unpack the printer and get it ready to operate. For the most part these instruuctions are adequate. Be aware that it does take considerable force to remove the orange levers covering the ink port on each of the four cartridges.
Once the printer is unpacked you're ready to install the drivers and software. There are two CD's, two 'getting Started Guides' and one Additonal Information sheet in the box to help guide you through the installation. One CD is for Windows 7 exclusively and the other CD os for all other operating systems. One getting started guide is for the wireless installation while the other guide is for the FAX install. IF YOU READ THESE TWO GETTING STARTED GUIDES FIRST THEN THE INSTALLATION PROCESS WILL GO SMOOTHER AND LIFE WILL BE BETTER.
All of the installations went smoothly particularly the wireless interface installation. This was the EASIEST wireless device add on that I have ever done. The printer supports supports both wireless networking (with DSL and a router) as well as ad-hoc wireless with no wireless netwrok. With ad-hoc wirelss any number of computers can directly access the printer without being connected to a home network.
During the installation you simply tell the printer which wireless method you want to use and the install software does the rest. It will even read the necessary WAN parameters without you havning to know anything about these parameters.
Once the wireless installation is ocmplete you then can move on to the FAX installation. This installation is dependent on you to specify several paramters - FAX number, header info, distinctive ring tone, separate FAX phone line and so forth. Like the wireless installation, the FAX insatll software will perform a self test at the end to make sure everything is working. Once finished you're ready to use the printer.
Print quality is very good on all of the text and graphics I have printed. I have not printed any pictures so no comment on picture quality. Print speed is very good and so far I haven't experienced any paper jams. My typical print job runs between fifteen and twenty five pages.
This printer does conserve power by going into a sleep mode if not used within a certain amount of time. Startup from the sleep mode takes about 5-8 seconds. Startup when not in the sleep mode is very quick and in the neighborhood of one to one and a half seconds.
Currently two laptops and two desk tower computers are using this printer. So far there have been no hitches at all. I haven't owned this unit long enough to need new ink cartridges so I can't comment on cartridge life.
The real test is that if I had to do it all over again would I still buy this same printer. The answer is yes."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando
Date:May 2, 2009

Nice Printer (for 1 month)

Pros: duplex printing, highly multi-functional, easy web browser interface
Cons: died after >1 month's use, no image display for pictbridge
Model Number: HP OfficeJet 6500 Wireless E709n All In One Printer
"I bought this printer on 4-7-09 and it has worked great for >1 month. Today, I turned it off (using the power button) for the first time since then as I am leaving on a trip. Because of the printer's EnergyStar compliant power features, it's not necessary to fully power it off as it goes into a low-power state automatically. Also, with wireless connectivity, I wouldn't recommend cycling the power as this can make re-connecting a major pain. I decided to power it back up though as I needed to print one more thing, but it will not power up at all. I have followed all the FAQs and troubleshooting guides and chatted for a while with an HP rep, all to no avail. Curiously, HP had to terminate the chat function due to technical difficulties, so I'm finished with them. All that they had me trying was plugging it into other power sockets in the house, etc.; things I'd already tried.
Anyhow, I really did like this printer. I found the wireless connection setup, including WEP encryption, easy, straight-forward and rock solid. I never lost the connection in a month of use. The only problem I had was wirelessly connecting an XP Pro system to the printer. I later found that the issue was due to having the XP system set up in a "workgroup" network, and once that was cleared, it connected. However, the documentation never mentioned this oddity. I love the automatic duplex printing, use it to scan occasionally and copy often and make use of the fax capability weekly. It all worked without difficulty. I really like the web-browser interface that the printer runs, making it extremely useful for faxing documents from whatever PC you are using. All in all, it's a richly featured printer at a reasonable price.
However, I have to rate it as "Poor" due to it's all too quick demise. I will be returning the printer to Costco once I have returned from my trip. I have to think very hard about replacing it with the same item though, as this sort of problem is completely unacceptable and indicative of shoddy manufacturing and QA processes."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 15, 2009

Works great, but has some issues

Model Number: Officejet 6500
"I got this for the office. I use pretty much all of the features it has, fax, scan, and print. I haven't the need to set up the wireless yet, but might come in handy latter. I like the extra large Black ink cartridge option. All the features seem to work fine with Window Vista. But, here are its weak points: The document feeder has trouble keeping the document straight while it's being scanned or copied. My scans and copies tend to come out crooked. It has an even harder time keeping thinner than normal paper straight. It might be that I have a defective unit. I need to bring it back. Also, the document feeder tray does not flip up. When I scan half sheets I have trouble retreiving it from underneath. Now, I just copy and scan one sheet at a time from the glass. It defeats the purpose of having the document feeder."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Bernardino, CA
Date:April 16, 2009

Great Product for the Price

Pros: great style, quick and easy set-up/installation, prints fast, great picture quality
Cons: fax/scan feeder is noisy, scans slow when using auto document feeder.
Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless
"I just bought this HP 6500 with integrated wireless and I am very happy with it. I had initially bought a 4500 series HP that is similar to this, but the print speed was terrible (about 4 minutes per page) so I took it back and stepped up to this. This machine had gotten some poor reviews on other sites due to the installation and functionality of the software. I have a Mac and had absolutely no problems. Installation and set up was easy and quick. Print quality is great. Most of the issues in reviews from other sites stated that they were running to a PC with Windows Vista. The auto feeder is a bit noisy and slow when faxing and/or scanning documents."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:February 17, 2010

wanted to like it--couldn't align printer

"I purchased this product at a cash-and-carry price at the Eugene, Oregon, Costco. I wanted to like it, this was to serve my home office. In addition, my husband and I operate four computers with different operating systems throughout our home, this printer would allow each of us to print from wherever we wanted. Also, the cost of operating my older HP PSC-1200 was more than the initial cost of this printer, so it seemed like a good value.
Unfortunately, I tried four different times to align the printer head. First I followed the instructions that came in the box (very user-friendly), then I followed the instructions that came in the software that loaded onto my computer (also very easy to follow), then two tips provided online. The last tip, to clean the print head, resulted in the printer displaying a significant amount of ink had been used. However, each attempt resulted in blank pages, as in no ink used.
So, rather than continue wasting time and possibly using ink, the whole thing goes back today. Thankfully, Costco makes it easy to be a consumer, as this is a risk-free purchase for me (except for 2 hours of my time unpacking and setting up). I will update my review after getting a new printer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:January 24, 2010

Simple to install and everything works

Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless
"I have a history of bad luck with HP Printers. The print quality is always great but keeping connected by using a single machine as a print server has always been troublesome.
The last straw was when I spent a couple of hours printing stuff at work for my wife because she could not get connected to the printer down the stairs.
So I went for the Officejet 6500 because its wireless and prints double sided .
Physical setup of the machine was easy and the one double sided quick start instruction sheet was perfectly fine to get you up and running. I was a bit nervous about snapping the orange clips on the bottom of the ink cartridge at first but once you’ve done one it makes sense. The printer once powered up takes a good 10 mins to prepare after installing the ink cartridges. So be patient.
Setup to the network was really easy it detected my network and asked for the wep key. I entered this via the front panel of the printer.
Software/Network installation was easy although the Windows 7 Drivers had to be downloaded from HP as they were not on the disk.
In an hour I had set it up and installed it on.
2 XP Pro machines
1 Mac Mini
1 Windows 7
I had FAX, Scanning OCR and printing all working on all machine ( I never got the fax going on my last HP printer ). It prints both sides of the paper so make sure you have a little room at the back
All my machines then found the machine during installing of the software without any issues.
Yea no more printer server required."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:July 26, 2009

Great install

"I only review if a product is very good or very bad. This product is very good, if only from the install perspective. I have not had it long enough to evaluate the performance, but it is typically the setup that is frustrating. I installed this for a friend who has a HP laptop with VISTA Home and with super Norton blocking the way. I am not familiar with the laptop or VISTA, and fear Norton. The setup took about 90 minutes, of which 30 was getting closer to the wireless router. The startup program walked me smoothly through the setup until Norton put up the firewall. By going the "Advanced" path, the program asked if I would let it "handle the firewall" to which I agreed. The rest was easy install and wireless printing/scanning & faxing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2009

Decent Value, Some Issues

Pros: features
Cons: buggy wireless, very high ink usage
Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless
"Overall, this printer is a good value for all the features it offers.
However, ink usage is not looking very promising. The black ink cartridge that comes with the printer is advertised to print over 1000 pages. This is *way* overstated. I printed around 200 normal grayscale pages before it ran out. I just purchased the XL cartridges which advertise 2,200 pages. I hope this turns out to be true. Otherwise the value proposition really starts to head down hill.
The wireless connection becomes disconnected frequently and you have to reboot the printer for it to re-establish the connection. Granted, this could be related to my router, but it should have been easy enough for HP to monitor the connection and re-establish when needed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pleasant Hill, CA
Date:July 31, 2009

Literature misleading poor quality, failed

Pros: connected with network withouot problem
Cons: failed to scan in vista, real cheap quality, noisy, sound like it's completely made of plastic
Model Number: HP 6500 wireless
"I bought this for my home office to a Hp scanner that wouln't work with VIsta and to upgrade my printer and Fax machine. Initial installation was fairly easy although it did take over an hour to complete. Everything seem to work ok except it was sound like plastic gears grinding when printing and took a long time to prepare to print and was very noisy. Final nail in the coffin was when I tried to scan, it failed. I followed instruction in the solutions center to solve the problem. But after about 8- 10 hours of removing all the HP files and reinstalling the program files and other recommendations I gave up. It's just not worth it! I will never buy HP again. When I tried my original HP 4700C scanner on my Vista machine, I was directed to the HP site for updated drivers. The site simply said we do not support this scanner for VISTA but here's some that you can buy to replace. I should have known not to buy another HP product after that. When the 6500 failed I went on the HP Website Forum discussion and found it was a universal problem with the HP all in one machines the scanner did not work with VISTA machines. I replaced it with a Canon MX 7600 and it worked perfectly out of the box. Thanks to COSTCO and their return policy I was able to return the HP 6500"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, CA
Date:June 27, 2009

Pathetic product

Model Number: HP J6450 All In One Family
"Causes endless frustration and problems. Cycled my hard drive until I couldn't use the computer at all and had to remove from the system. Setup a nightmare. Mechanics of paper feed a disaster with constant jams. Have never bought a printer from HP that is such a constant headache. Don't even think about buying it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:June 22, 2009

Great Printer with Robust Features

Pros: wireless printing is seamless, can work as a network or wireless printer
Cons: large footprint takes up a lot of deskspace
"Set up the printer in a little less than an hour. Got the wireless set-up in 15 minutes on the spare laptop. Duplex printing and great features for a great price!
Set it up out of the box on my router and can print from the patio on the laptop."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:December 7, 2009

Clunker!1

Pros: looks nice
Cons: noisy, slow, hard to set up
"This pirinter/scaner/copier/fax is a piece of you know what! I am very computer savvy and it took me 3 hours to set this up. The problem was it would not scan...I kept getting a "scanner not found error". I finally had to go out to HPs website to get the most recent firmware and that seemed to fix the problem.
I haven't yet tried to connect vie WiFi but have heard from other people that it is very difficult as it will drop the connection.
This thing takes WAY to long to scan documents. It took me almost 10 minutes to scan 8 pages in black and white.
The machine is also very noisy and makes strange sounds even after it is done scanning or printing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Davis, CA
Date:January 17, 2010

Should have been good

"Got a top rating in Consumer reports. Good price at Costco. Seemed to do everything I want. Install takes too long, but I can deal with that. It is quite a bother that nobody can be in my house with their laptop and use the networked printer unless they also spend 30 minutes installing the driver...
When it prints correctly, it prints GREAT. Photos are awesome. But the problems I've had are many:
I try to print in draft mode, and the output is jumbled. I try to print with all defaults (auto everything) and it often prints so light that you have to literally look twice to see if there's any ink at all on the paper. Often the top line of text is smudged and smeared (with everything set to auto).
I'm not sure what is wrong or if I just got a lemon. When it works correctly, the output is great. Yeah, it bangs and knocks and goes all crazy, but I don't really care what it doesn when it isn't printing. I just want it to print correctly every time. At first I thought it was something I was doing wrong... but after two weeks, I'm all out of ideas, and don't think I can keep it, as this is the only printer in the office."
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:American Fork, UT
Date:February 9, 2010

HP Never Again

Cons: loud, wifi is not easy to setup, multiple errors and problems, did i mention it is loud?
Model Number: HP Office Jet 6500 Wireless Ink Jet AIl-In-One
"I bought this from Costco last summer. I have never been so unhappy with a printer. Everything that could go wrong with a printer has gone wrong with this printer. Right from the box it gave me trouble. I have now spent a total of 8 hours with HP customer service over 4 different occasions resolving issues. Each time they are able to fix it until something else goes wrong in a month or two. These problems were just to get it to print. The sound it makes when it is actually working properly is horrific! I am surprised it doesn't spit a few bent wires, screws, or bolts out with the paper...it is loud!!! I am fairly certain I cannot return it at this point in time so my only satisfaction will be to take it to the shooting range and fill it full of lead...at least then it might finally bring some satisfaction. I would not recommend this printer to anyone!"
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:September 4, 2009

Not as bad as others say

Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless
"I've had very few problems so far. The quick start guide could be a little clearer. Also, the first time I tried to print a single page document, I had to do it via the support center. I'm using Windows XP Professional.
But every print job since has been a wireless delight. Also,both my first scan and fax went off without a hitch. I have not done any copying, but that's because I usually don't make copies at home. I'm sure 260 copies can be made cheaper elsewhere.
And unlike my Officejet K60, it's obvious when the power is on or off. Energy Star compliant or not, a device turned off will draw less power than one in standby."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>