Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax Added Value: In House Marketing Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.531 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(309 Reviews) 309
(out of 309 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (309 reviews)
5 stars
120
4 stars
68
3 stars
31
2 stars
36
1 star
54
203 of 309(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:January 13, 2011

Great printer!

Model Number: Officejet 6500
"I've had no problems with this printer. It works great! I lost my software....so I had to go online to get download for my computer to go wireless....no problems finding it and downloading at HP website. Works like a charm! I've sent & recieved faxes, and I send stuff to the printer wirelessly all the time."
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Big Bear Lake, CA
Date:December 28, 2010

Reliable all-in-one that works well with Mac OS

Pros: ease of use
Cons: hp software doesn't work well with mac
Model Number: E709n
"Great printer, equally compatible with either my Mac or Windows Vista operating systems, but the HP scanning software is no good on Mac...easy fix to just use Image Capture instead of the HP app to scan. Buy the high capacity Costco ink cartridges and it lasts pretty well."
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Date:December 9, 2010

Cleans heads every power on

Pros: everything else
Cons: wastes ink
Model Number: OfficeJet 6500
"Ran out of ink the third time I went to print something. It turns out that it cleans the heads every time the device is powered on, which is why the thing takes forever before you can print. Way to go HP, your eco friendly printer burned through all of the cartridges evenly after 3 print sessions because you can't disable cleaning the print heads on startup."
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chelsea, MI
Date:December 6, 2010

a breeze to set up!

Pros: ease of set up, compact size, inexpensive, functions
Cons: tad bit noisy
Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless 709n
"Just installed my 6500 wireless and was very easy following their step by step instructions and wireless set up manual. Also, had a question and couldn't find a general manual in with packing; online has manual to look up any concerns. The unit is a little noisy when preparing to print (almost sounds like the paper is jamming) but no big deal and works very well. Can't beat it for the price.... ahhh, advances in technology:)"
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:November 27, 2010

doesn't work well with Macs!

Pros: wireless works seamlessly, good print quality
Cons: duplexer doesn't work with macs!, noisy, slow
Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wireless
"I chose this printer over other possibilities because of the duplexer (double-sided copying). I thought conserving paper would be great and easy but wish I'd read every online review first, because that feature does not work with my Mac. I am quite tech-savvy and confident about fixing glitches, read manuals and discussion boards, but was unable to get it to work no matter what I tried. I may be able to install Windows and switch operating systems to print, but what a hassle! Also, it's true what people said, that it's very noisy and kind of slow, but I don't care that much about that. Print quality is fine and wireless works seamlessly. So it's working except for the double-sided feature that I esp. wanted. I would not recommend it because of this."
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2010

Better than I had hoped for

"When I recieved the printer I could not get it to install. Although it would print from the computer, it said there wasn't a computer hooked up. HP stayed right with me through the whole re-install process, not once but three times. Offering me suggestions on trouble shooting. Finally a message form HP popped up on my screen and said they thought they had found the problem. I did the download on the suggested material and it did fix the problem. You can't find responsible people like this often who stick it out with you until they have a solution. Good for you, HP. I knew I liked your products for a reason. Printing is sharp and clear. Beautiful colors. Faxes beautifully. Outstanding all-in-one. I'm finally glad that I purchased it."
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ellicott City, MD
Date:November 13, 2010

Don't buy this one

Model Number: OfficeJet 6500
"After five months of self-inflicted torture, I returned this one. Every other day, the interface - be it Ethernet or USB or wireless - would go down making the printer non-functional. Both my wife and I spent many hours talking to HP on the phone. They could usually get it working after 1.5 to 2 hours on the phone, but after a day or two, it again became non-functional . I probably expended more ink printing network status pages than actual work."
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orem, UT
Date:November 5, 2010

Works great for us

Pros: easy to set up
"We were looking for an all-in-one printer with wireless capabilities in a particular price range and this one fit the bill.
Setup was easy to do. I just followed the step-by-step instructions and there was no problem except for the installer ran forever on my Windows 7 64-bit system. I was finally able to determine that it had completed all the essential installation functions, but didn't seem to realize it.
We only use this product wirelessly in our home and have had no problems at all. We've tried all the functions and everything seems work great.
I would recommend this machine to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Walnut, CA
Date:November 4, 2010

What a nightmare!

Cons: difficult to set up, unstable
Model Number: HP Officejet 6500 Wirelss
"When this printer works, it works well. But getting it to work took me 4 phone calls, spending more than 8 hours on the phone with HP tech support. HP tech support wasn't really helpful either because the first tech told me that it is a machine problem, so I took it back and exchanged for another one. The second machine had the exact same problem at set up!
When I finally got it to work, the printer worked fine for a week; then the scanner decided not to respond. I tried using HP's software to get it "connected", tried rebooting, tried resetting, nothing worked. I thought of calling HP again, but I was just too tired to speak to them again. This printer is just too much for me to handle! I'm returning it tomorrow.
"
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2010

Zero Star Quality

Cons: waste of time & money, poor color quality
Model Number: 6500
"Horrible photo quality. Color is way off. Could it be that it's actually a reconditioned product. I've noticed a lot of poor reviews from 2010 on this machine. It installs wirelessly just fine, but print quality is pathetic. PS you cannot refill the cartridges on this machine. Another waste of my time on a product purchased at Costco. Now I get to rebox it and take it back. Thanks Costco."
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:October 25, 2010

worst printer ever

Model Number: HP 6500 Wireless AIO Officejet Printer
"This is the worst printer I've ever bought. It did not come with the installation CD. Downloaded the driver online but could not print! constant paper jam.
Returning it to Costco ASAP.
"
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:October 22, 2010

Great printer for the price

"We've had this printer for almost a month and so far so good. The set up was relatively easy and we love the wireless and fax features. So far, we haven't had issues with the print cartridge running out. We're still using the same cartridge that came with the printer."
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:September 22, 2010

WORST HP EVER

Pros: good print quality.
Cons: terrible on ink usage very noisy lots fax errors, very slow to get started when you want to print or, copy something!!!!
Model Number: HP Office Jet 6500 Wireless Ink Jet AIl-In-One
"This product uses ink like DODGE VIPER would consume gasoline!!!! EXTREMELY INK INEFFICIENT!!!!!!!!"
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:September 16, 2010

Poor wireless performance

Model Number: HP 6500
"Wireless connection does not remain established with printer. HP says firmware update is in works. Printing is delayed with initiation."
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:September 4, 2010

Worst Printer I Have Ever Purchased

Pros: none
Cons: paper jams, poor connectivity
Model Number: 6500
"A problem from the minute I hooked it up. I purchased an HP printer that did not work well with my networked computers so I took it back and purchased the wireless 6500. 5 hours with the tech staff and 35 paper jams later it still stinks.
When I turn my computer off the printer goes offline and won't come back online without it being unplugged and reset. And not always then. On button won't work and it jams like crazy. Needless to say this piece of ---- went back. I am not and have never been impressed with HP.
"
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tualatin, Oregon
Date:August 9, 2010

Awesome for the price

Model Number: HP Office Jet 6500 Wireless
"I have windows 7 Ultimate and the set up was a cake walk.
During set up it found the wireless connection and connected
as advertised. Very easy to set up and was happy it included
an automatic two sided printer accessory (duplex printing)
I have always owned HP printers and would recommend this
to those who have a home office/den arrangement.
"
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston MA
Date:July 18, 2010

Fine for 6 Months

Model Number: 6500
"The HP 6500 did what it was supposed to do for about six months. And then--the fax stopped working, the scanner became temperamental.
And HP support? A complete misnomer. They wasted my time, were argumentative, and ultimately read the same useless instructions HP posts online.
I'm replacing this AIO immediately and definitely not with an HP."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 12, 2010

Best Printer that I have owned

Model Number: 6500
"I have had several HP Printers and swear by them. When I purchased this printer is was to replace an old one that I had. I am very please with this printer and would highly recommend it to anyone.
I have not had luck in connecting the wireless but, I don't think that the problem is the printer, it might be my wireless network."
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:scottsdale, AZ
Date:June 24, 2010

AVOID THIS PRODUCT

Pros: looks good on the desktop
Cons: flat out does not work
Model Number: HP office jet 6500 - all in one
"I purchased this multifuntion ink jet printer to replace an HP 4500. The 6500 DOES NOT WORK. I tried it wireless then used the ethernet connection. We tried everything including de-installing the software and then re-installing the software. It will not print or fax. I have never been so disappointed with a product from Costco. It is going back!"
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless Inkjet AIl-In-One
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 30, 2010

HP Office Jet 6500 Wireless AIO Printer

Pros: easy set-up, prints good, operates smoothly
Cons: a little bit noisy after printing complete
Model Number: HP Office Jet 6500
"I've had the HP 6500 wireless all-in-one printer for about a month, and I must say I'm quite pleased with it. I have Windows 7 on both of my computers, and I used the supplied CD set-up disc for both.
The set-up on both was smooth with the desk top installation taking under 30 minutes. This included interruptions, connecting cables, inserting ink cartridges, etc. I suggest using the CD because choices are given to include or exclude various options. Installing the software on the laptop took only about 15 minutes with no glitches.
As far as printer performance goes, I am very satisfied. The colors are true and bright, and the black text is distinct and clear. Printing speed is reasonably fast, and the duplex feature runs smoothly. The small LCD screen gives you all the information you need. Prior to getting this printer, I wondered if the LCD would be any good (prior printer had a larger color screen), but to my surprise, I found the new screen to be very satisfactory in both ability to read it and the information it provides.
When the HP 6500 printer completes a print job, it goes through what appears to be some sort of "checking" or reset process that seems a little bit long and somewhat noisy. This is not irritating enough for me not to recommend this printer to others.
So far I'm very satisfied, and I have no regrets about purchasing this product."
1 2 3 4 next>>