Customer Reviews for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner

Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(805 Reviews) 805
(out of 805 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (805 reviews)
5 stars
666
4 stars
99
3 stars
21
2 stars
8
1 star
11
764 of 790(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Review 1 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:July 15, 2009

Great scanner!!

Pros: saves directly to pdf, easy sorting/filing of documents, ability to quickly change scanning profiles, great look and compact size
Cons: not as receipt friendly as neatdesk, organizes by keywords and not categories
Model Number: S1500
"I bought both this and the Neat Desk scanner for home and business use. While both have same res and speed, this Fujitsu has a much better look and feel. The Neat scanner looks a bit dull next to it. Primary difference is the software that comes with the scanners. This scanner's Snapscan organizer is good for those who store multiple document types and organize through their own folder system on their machines (i.e. contracts, invoices, etc.) Neat scanner stores all scans within the application's database. All document review needs to be done within the application. Also, the document categorization and filing is a little cumbersome and not as user friendly as the Snapscan.
One huge plus for the NeatDesk scanner is the receipt OCR ability which this scanner does not have. It can recognize vendors from the logos on the receipt and can identify amounts, dates and even automatically categorize the receipt with the card used to purchase it by the last 4 digits.
However for moderate to high volume use, the ability to store scanning profiles, and conversion/sorting directly to PDF the S1500 wins hands down. It even comes bundled with Adobe Standard which costs around $100 itself."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Date:April 8, 2009

BEST PURCHASE EVER

"I purchased the first generation ScanSnap from Fujitsui in 2001. It is a true workhorse. I have literally scanned thousands of documents since then and have transferred the scanner to at least 4 different computers over the years. It has never failed me. The worse thing that has ever happened is if you try and scan to many pages at once it may jam. It's an easy fix. Press the button to open the front flap, remove the pages and begin again.
I purchased five of the first generation scanners for the legal department of my company in 2002 and they're running great. Never had a repair call, unlike the different copiers my company has purchased and leased over the years. All the copiers no matter the brand required monthly service calls.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 26, 2010
Pros: fast, simple to set up, easy to work with
Cons: no twain driver, problematic with staples, different sizes of material slows it down
Model Number: ScanSnap S1500
"My main objective for the ScanSnap scanner was to make my home office as paperless as possible. I deliberated about purchasing the ScanSnap since it requires you to work within it own software and does not come with an ISIS/TWAIN Driver. The TWAIN Driver lets you scan directly from another program such as ADOBE or MICROSOFT products. I wanted that.
I purchased the ScanSnap since Costco was offering it at an exceptional price and the reviews everywhere I looked were glowing. After using this product to scan 3 bankers boxes worth of material, the software has been very easy to work with and has not been problematic whatsoever.
The main problem I have with this scanner is that it jams up each and every time I fail to remove a staple from stapled sheets. You must remove the staples from any corner. The other issues that slows the work down is when various sizes of papers are combined together or when something is taped to a page. The software stops and asks if you want to continue.
Otherwise, this is a fast, convenient, little scanner that is enabling me to have a paperless office. I'd recommend it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SW Florida
Date:August 16, 2010

Worth every penny!

Model Number: Scansnap S1500
"This is one of the very few items I've posted an online review for. I found it after wanting to get Neatreceipts scanner. I use this for receipts and everything else. It's incredibly fast, easy to use, and the included software works great. It was pricey, but I gave it a shot based on stellar reviews all over the net(very rare for any product!!). As a new small business owner, I find myself using it more and more. Hard drive space is cheap, so while you may not feel comfortable tossing every paper in your office, you'll always have a copy if you use this scanner. For me, it's easier to look for a file with included software than shuffle through piles of papers. Read the reviews, buy Scansnap, set it up and use it, reap the benefits!!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 6, 2011

No Longer Skeptical

Pros: fast two-sided scanning software
"You might be like me if you're ...
- skeptical of great reviews
- concerned about paying good money
for another inferior product.
- overwhelmed by too many choices
- seeking a multi-tasking device
I needed a device that ...
- would scan both sides of a page quickly
- would help my home office be paperless
- would be easy to use
This scanner has helped me achieve my goal of a (mostly) paperless office. I had it setup and running in less than an hour. Most of that hour was software installation (waiting). The software is easy to use and makes the scanner better (I despise cumbersome software). In less than a week, I've emptied a full drawer in my file cabinet.
Easy to setup, easy to use, compact footprint. Weird. It's just like the manufacturer's videos. Who would have guessed?
It doesn't multitask,but, I don't care. Why? It's because I don't have to flip pages over to scan both sides.
Outside of my computer, this is the best investment I've made for my office. I would buy it again and I'd recommend it to friends and family."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2010

The reviews are 100% TRUE!

Pros: image quality including photos, is perfect and accurate, so fast and easy to use, workhorse that keeps going and going
Model Number: Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500
"I purchased in July 2010 and this is one amazing, incredible, FAST and easy scanner. My goal was to go paperless and remove 30 years worth of "what if I need it" stacks and stacks of paper. I was hesitant to spend so much money but knew I did not want to be frustrated by a slow scanner or constant problems. It is so simple to use. Just plug in and go. I called the Costco concierge one time and they helped me change one setting from the default single page scan to multiple page scan in less than five minutes and I was off and working. I cleared it all out in 3 days, burned to discs and now have two CD storage boxes as the only evidence. I found a local paper recycler who PAID ME for the paper and recycled it so it didn't end up in the landfill!
I even scanned memorabilia and photos from youth so it will be preserved forever.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LOS ANGELES, CA
Date:February 5, 2010

Mac OR PC, not both

Pros: fast & easy to use
Cons: initial setup can be a little challenging
Model Number: S1500
"Fujitsu makes great, simple scanners that come with excellent software. Beware, though, that they work with PC or Mac (depending upon model), not both. If you have a Mac, order a model number ending in M (S1500M)."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Buenaventura, CA
Date:April 3, 2009

I like this tool

Pros: a must for office automation.
Cons: no cons
Model Number: S1500 Scan Snap
"A well designed and easy to use product. This is one fast scanner for B&W. I use it to scan "A size" blowbacks from microfilm, mylar scans, third a fourth greneration copies, old technical data packages, pretty much legacy data for manufactuing definition. Excellent resolution. The automatic duplex feature is remarkable. Copies both sides and cooridinates page sequence. Pretty cool. lots of selections and refinments in output file types and original document features for capturing color as well as B&W. Easy PDF creation thru NITRO PDF, ABBY Fine Reader and Adobe Acrobat 9 Standard."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hollister, California
Date:January 21, 2012

Totally Awesome

Pros: gets rid of a ton of paperwork fast
Cons: no off button. you have to uplug the usb, not a big deal
Model Number: S1500
"Wow this thing is soooo nice! Sturdy build and folds up nicely when not in use. I have a ridiculous mountain of paperwork and this thing flies through it like a dream. I set up files to "save to" on an exterior hard drive, organized paperwork and pulled staples, then let er rip. On some bills where you tear the bottom off to send you'll have uneven page sizes and/or where you've pulled staples pages may stick together when scanning. It has a nice window that pops up and shows the last document scanned and lets you decide to keep or rescan. Removing jams when this happens really isn't a huge deal. There's a little button right above the blue light that releases the sheetfeeder.
I don't have a crazy amount of time to read through pages of instructions. This scanner is really hands on easy to understand and if you get stuck on something pull up the help menu and you'll quickly find an answer....although most of the scan setting options are pretty self explanitory.
I'm a research nut and have read several reviews on scanners. I'm really glad I got this one. It's absolutely worth the money!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:April 30, 2009

Great Product - A No-Brainer Buy

"I purchased a ScanSnap two years ago for a non-profit I was running. Liked it so well I bought another one for home. It really delivers as promised.
I scan correspondence, bills, checks, notes, tax returns, bank statements, etc. in an effort to cut down on office clutter.
Having Adobe Acrobat (not "Reader" but the full-function "Acrobat" software) included with the product makes this a no-brainer -- Acrobat itself costs nearly $200 if you were to purchase it separately. You'll find lots of uses for your Scansnap and for Acrobat in both home and office settings."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2010

Great product - but can be improved

Model Number: Scansnap S1500
"I agree with the other reviewers, this is a fast scanner that produces quality scans with small file size. There is only one thing that I considered not well-designed. The input tray is too vertical. Since many pages that I need to scan have been folded before, they usually do not stay flat in the input tray. Because the tray is very vertical, the pages tend to fall forward and either fall out of the tray or interfere with the scanned pages exiting from the front. Fujitsu should make the input tray more flat and longer. To solve this problem myself, I place something underneath the scanner to raise the front side of the scanner so it tilts backward.
I also wish that there are two buttons on the machine - one for single side and one for duplex. Since the scanner is very sensitive, even a blank page with some light marks can be scanned in as a real page. Having a separate button for duplex will eliminate this problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque
Date:February 12, 2010

Best Yet

Pros: small fast good quality
Cons: none that i have experienced
Model Number: ScanSnap S1500
"This scanner worked better than I expected. The scanner does all of the sorting without any input from the user, what a time saver. You can scan documents of different sizes and types at the same time, without worrying about the settings. It automatically detects one sided, two sided, B&W, Color, and size, even within the same scan. Double sided documents scan just as fast as one sided. You just load the scanner and press the button, the machine does the rest quickly, I am very impressed. Before using it I was skeptical because it is made in China and I have rarely used a "Made in China" product that worked well. This worry was soon relieved when I started using the scanner. It is great! My respect for the Fujitsu Company is now highly elevated because of this product and I am now anxious to try more of their product line. You won’t be disappointed."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Goodyear, AZ
Date:August 4, 2009

Awesome Scanner

Pros: extremely fast, easy, great looking scans, comes with a copy of adobe acrobat
Cons: stacks of more than 10 gets jammed
"I have been messing around with one of those "all in one" scanner, printer, fax machines and scanning in documents took FOREVER. So we looked around for something more reliable that would make our ever increasing amounts of documents less of a headache to scan in. First we bought just a hp scanner. While it took excellent scans it was just as slow. And then we still had to wait after that to convert to pdf. Ahhh! (Luckily costco is great with returns.)
Then I saw this. Scans straight to pdf! Just press the button! Are you kidding me? I was kind of concerned that there was no twain driver, but really you don't need it. If you mess up a scan or left pages out, it is so fast that its actually faster to rescan it than it is to go thorugh the acrobat program and edit the pages.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who just needs to scan in papers to their exsisting files on their computer. The features are great for just fast, efficient, quality scans.
1. auto rotating pages
2. can stack papers of different sizes together
3. double sided feature
4. Scan to many different files types depending on what you need.
The only problem I had was trying to scan in a big stack of papers. Another reviewer said if you slow the speed down, then it won't get jammed but I have not tried that yet since most of my scans are only about 2-3 pages.
And it would be great is if it was wireless.
This is a great investment for anyone operating a small business."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:February 21, 2010

Fantastic Product!!!

Pros: everything
Cons: none i can think of
"I was a bit hesitant to spend the money for this little gem, being that I have another popular brand "All in one" machine already. But after reading the reviews I decided to give it a shot. I thought I might try it a bit, probabaly find it no different from my "All in One" machine and end up returning it. WRONG! This thing is such a good investment. It is about 10 times faster than my current scanner, 2 sided OCR scanning with one sweep... yes no more gears popping, and shifting to pull that sheet back through the scanner, ONE SWEEP, TWO SIDES. No more of the lighter papers or odd shaped getting jammed up in the doc feeder like my other machine. You can pile this thing up with all sizes and shapes and just press the button!! Another cool thing is if it does accidentaly pull two sheets through, it recognizes this, pauses and lets you correct the problem, then just keeps on going. Plus it includes Adobe Acrobat! and a few other great programs that are worth over $300.00 alone!!! Great Purchase if you are looking to get rid of those piles of papers! Great machine"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 20, 2010

Good but not perfect

Pros: neat small fast scanner
Cons: poor included software
Model Number: s1500
"Really good, fast scanner rates a "5" within its scanning limits. Included software rates a "2"-- reminds me of stuff I used years ago. Rack 2 Filer really should be included in the Costco price. (Shop and you can find the scanner and Rack 2 Filer bundled package for a few dollars more than the Costco price. But without Costco's return policy!) After you scan your stuff you still need to figure out a good backup scheme. I have an external hard drive but am now uploading to an outside storage company as extra insurance. After all, the whole point of going to all this trouble is to: 1. get rid of paper, 2. find something within your scanned stuff, 3. know that technology won't make your digital record system obsolete, 4. have confidence that you can shred your scanned paper."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:September 22, 2011

SnapScan 1500 - AWESOME

Model Number: S1500
"I thought the SnapScan 1500 was pricey for a home scanner... But I am finding out that the time savings was worth it!
This scanner is very versatile. There are settings that allow you to setup profiles for different types of docs so that you can scan 'batches' of similarly typed docs (such as 1 stack of one-sided single doc, another for 2-sided single doc, and another for multi-pages).
This version will perform conversion to searchable PDF during the scan or using the Organizer software that comes with it, you can run a batch conversion at your leisure.
The scanner is fast, fast fast!!!! even when it does two-sided copies. It is smart enough to throw away blank pages.
The software installation was straight forward, setup of the hardware was very easy. Total setup time from opening box to being able to scan was about 30mins!
Love it! It is the choice for me as I step into the 'paperless' world."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:April 24, 2011

Small! Good! Fast!

Cons: needs fujitsu software only, does jam quite a bit (my fault not fuji's)
Model Number: Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500
"In a few days I scanned and shredded THOUSAND of pages.
i thought it would be bigger - but wow - what a machine!! How such a tiny unit does such a job is beyond me :-)
fast, accurate and great quality.
Yes it DOES JAM. But! It jams because I am feeding crinkled, squished, weird shape/size paper in one go! FAIR ENOUGH - - now here's the good bit. it scans so fast... but when it jams you just stuff the paper back in and feed more - so you keep going! It is a very efficient machine.
NEXT BEST THING? - creates PDFs with searchable text: your documents are scanned and intact ...and text metadata is added. How cool is that!!!!
Recommend for anyone who wants to empty their office of paper!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newark, CA
Date:March 2, 2011

Very good, but there is room for improvement

Pros: good software, fast scanning
Cons: jams way too much, paper guide needs to be bigger.
Model Number: S1500
"As stated in most of the other reviews, this is a very good document scanner, but I'd like to see an improved version.
The first piece of paper I fed into the scanner jammed, and this is a recurring event. The machine does not like cash-register receipts or any other soft or small paper. It hates staples, and will jam every time if one gets by the user. It also doesn't like different sizes of paper. I've been able to work around most of the hardware problems by using the 'continuous-scanning mode.' This way I can feed in paper a little at a time, lessening the possibility of jamming.
I feel the software is very good. The only thing that would help me is if I could figure out how, in Acrobat, to move a sheet (or sheets) to a new location without dragging.
Overall, I'm satisfied with the scanner, and I'm keeping it. I have emptied my 4-drawer file cabinet and four boxes of documents, and everything fits on two CDs.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Somerset, NJ
Date:February 9, 2010

Great Hardware but Software is not robust enough

Model Number: S1500
"I bought this May, 2009. Great scanner. REALLY great scanner.
But the Fujitsu software that converts my scanned data into searchable PDFs (VERY important part of this) has started malfunctioning. It just decides it won't convert my files and dies. I don't find that particularly useful. Rebooting doesn't help, software removal and reinstallation doesn't help...I'm sure it's a bug."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 Two-Sided Document Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:February 21, 2010

Great Scanner Lousy Software

Pros: fast smooth quiet
Cons: lousy software
Model Number: S1500
"The scanner is quiet, fast and excellent. The software is worthless. You'll need to purchase third party software to get anything other than a PDF. Scans business cards quickly but can only find name, company, email and one phone number."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>