Customer Reviews for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Contrast ratio: 2000:1 Brightness: 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
5 of 9(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Review 1 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento CA
Date:May 9, 2009

1 0f 2 worked

"Purchased the bundle pack and one works great. The other the screen goes black every so often. Sometimes as frequent as every few minutes. Audio is there, but no picture. I turn off the tv and then back on and the picture is back. Both tv's picture is great however both of the frames in bright light show many imperfections/dents in the frame. I will be taking these back..."
Review 2 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern VT
Date:May 9, 2009

Terrible Product

Model Number: Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
"I bought this bundle. My daughter took one, there was sound but no picture on hers. The one I kept wouldn't even turn on."
Review 3 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danbury,CT
Date:April 27, 2009

LUV IT! LUV IT!

"We bought the 1st bundle last month for our bedroom and family room and the pic quality and sound was so good that we bought a 2nd bundle this month for our other two bedrooms. You can't beat the price on these bundle sets guys. It's almost too good to be true...No complaints!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:April 25, 2009

Great TV

Pros: great price durability
Cons: none so far after 2 years
"I have had my Sceptre LCD TV for over two years and couldn't be happier. The picture quality is still impressive. I wasn't sure of the Sceptre name at first but now wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Looking to buy a larger one soon."
Review 5 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 24, 2009

Competent Tech Support

Pros: picture quality
Cons: audio out is muted by tv
"Great value. Had working after 1/2 hr; very easy. Sceptre has good tech support as far as product knowledge goes. Had to call several times to talk w/ someone.
I was surprised that the Audio out was muted when the TV speakers were muted. Had to either play w/ volume way low or plug audio into the receiver ( Direct TV)"
Review 6 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:April 21, 2009

Great at first.... Then it fails

Pros: nice picture
Cons: sound fails eventually, big red line crossing screen
"I bought the single version of this tv (back when it was $899 for just one of them). It was great at first.
After about 6 months, the sound started having issues. 70% of the time it's turned on, the sound does not work. If I turn it on and off 3-7 times, it eventually works. I thought I'd survive and didn't initiate the factory warranty.
Now there is a big red line going from top to bottom. Of course the factory warranty is now gone too.
Bottom line, stay away from Sceptre."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie Maryland
Date:April 14, 2009

Excellent purchase.

"I had just recieved the two LCD HDTV.s They are excellent. The easy setup instructions and the price is definately right. Especially since there is a two extra year warranty with costco."
Review 8 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:April 10, 2009

Poor Quality

Pros: great price
Cons: poor color quality, poor input design, tv set locked easliy, screen ratio options were not friendly
"I bought a Sceptre 40" TV set (not this bundle) about 2 months ago. After hooking up with my satellite receiver, at the same day, the TV went black screen. I thought it was caused by the satellite receiver. I reset the TV and receiver, things was all back to order. Another day, it happened again. This time the screen went RED. I simply thought the receiver caused the issue again. However, it happened several times during past 2 months.
Finally, a couple of days ago, it happened again – the RED screen. This time I tried to hook it up with my DVD player, but the component input was locked. And then I tried HDMI port, it was locked too. Each time when the input was locked, I reset the TV set and satellite receiver. Then I hooked it up with another satellite receiver with coaxial input, it locked too. Finally, I tried another TV set, it was all right. I confirmed that the problem was caused this Sceptre 40", not the receivers or anything else.
I am lucky that it broken down within 90 days. So I just returned the TV set today."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colchester, Vermont
Date:March 12, 2009

Great value and picture

Pros: beautiful picture, excellent value
Model Number: x400bv-fhd
"After two failures with Sharp 37" LCD tv's, one D.O.A. and the second the audio was bad and a line of pixels quite working, Costco gave me back a full refund on both. I then decided on this 40" Sceptre. The sound quality is good and picture quality is excellent! I have had the TV for about three weeks and it seems to be working well. If it continues to perform, then it is a very good TV for the money. It is light in weight, mounted easily on the wall and it looks great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.