Customer Reviews for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Contrast ratio: 2000:1 Brightness: 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
5 of 9(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Review 1 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento CA
Date:May 9, 2009

1 0f 2 worked

" Purchased the bundle pack and one works great. The other the screen goes black every so often. Sometimes as frequent as every few minutes. Audio is there, but no picture. I turn off the tv and then back on and the picture is back. Both tv's picture is great however both of the frames in bright light show many imperfections/dents in the frame. I will be taking these back... "
Review 2 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern VT
Date:May 9, 2009

Terrible Product

Model Number: Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
" I bought this bundle. My daughter took one, there was sound but no picture on hers. The one I kept wouldn't even turn on. "
Review 3 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danbury,CT
Date:April 27, 2009

LUV IT! LUV IT!

" We bought the 1st bundle last month for our bedroom and family room and the pic quality and sound was so good that we bought a 2nd bundle this month for our other two bedrooms. You can't beat the price on these bundle sets guys. It's almost too good to be true...No complaints! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:April 25, 2009

Great TV

Pros: great price durability
Cons: none so far after 2 years
" I have had my Sceptre LCD TV for over two years and couldn't be happier. The picture quality is still impressive. I wasn't sure of the Sceptre name at first but now wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Looking to buy a larger one soon. "
Review 5 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 24, 2009

Competent Tech Support

Pros: picture quality
Cons: audio out is muted by tv
" Great value. Had working after 1/2 hr; very easy. Sceptre has good tech support as far as product knowledge goes. Had to call several times to talk w/ someone.
I was surprised that the Audio out was muted when the TV speakers were muted. Had to either play w/ volume way low or plug audio into the receiver ( Direct TV) "
Review 6 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:April 21, 2009

Great at first.... Then it fails

Pros: nice picture
Cons: sound fails eventually, big red line crossing screen
" I bought the single version of this tv (back when it was $899 for just one of them). It was great at first.
After about 6 months, the sound started having issues. 70% of the time it's turned on, the sound does not work. If I turn it on and off 3-7 times, it eventually works. I thought I'd survive and didn't initiate the factory warranty.
Now there is a big red line going from top to bottom. Of course the factory warranty is now gone too.
Bottom line, stay away from Sceptre. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie Maryland
Date:April 14, 2009

Excellent purchase.

" I had just recieved the two LCD HDTV.s They are excellent. The easy setup instructions and the price is definately right. Especially since there is a two extra year warranty with costco. "
Review 8 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:April 10, 2009

Poor Quality

Pros: great price
Cons: poor color quality, poor input design, tv set locked easliy, screen ratio options were not friendly
" I bought a Sceptre 40" TV set (not this bundle) about 2 months ago. After hooking up with my satellite receiver, at the same day, the TV went black screen. I thought it was caused by the satellite receiver. I reset the TV and receiver, things was all back to order. Another day, it happened again. This time the screen went RED. I simply thought the receiver caused the issue again. However, it happened several times during past 2 months.
Finally, a couple of days ago, it happened again – the RED screen. This time I tried to hook it up with my DVD player, but the component input was locked. And then I tried HDMI port, it was locked too. Each time when the input was locked, I reset the TV set and satellite receiver. Then I hooked it up with another satellite receiver with coaxial input, it locked too. Finally, I tried another TV set, it was all right. I confirmed that the problem was caused this Sceptre 40", not the receivers or anything else.
I am lucky that it broken down within 90 days. So I just returned the TV set today. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Buy Sceptre 40" 1080p LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colchester, Vermont
Date:March 12, 2009

Great value and picture

Pros: beautiful picture, excellent value
Model Number: x400bv-fhd
" After two failures with Sharp 37" LCD tv's, one D.O.A. and the second the audio was bad and a line of pixels quite working, Costco gave me back a full refund on both. I then decided on this 40" Sceptre. The sound quality is good and picture quality is excellent! I have had the TV for about three weeks and it seems to be working well. If it continues to perform, then it is a very good TV for the money. It is light in weight, mounted easily on the wall and it looks great! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.